Support group - Miscarriages

Avocado,

U have problem with your sleep again? Have u tried aromaterapy? It works for my son. I got Deep Sleep essential oil from body shop. Not sure if preg can use. U may want to check with gynae.

There are also times where I did not pick up her call. But I'll try not to do tat as she has depression. Sometimes she just need to talk to someone to relief her depression. There were twice when she called me, she was crying. Saying that she feels very terrible & always very sad. I'll usually ask her to listen to the mantra "da bei Zou". She usually feels better after tat. I very scared if I don pick up her call then she jump off the building how? BTW she stays with my SIL. I believe in Karma. What goes around, comes around. Sigh... Just got to live with it lor.

My hubby keeps telling me I'm lucky she does not stay with us. She'll move over with us eventually as my hubby is the only son.

I also don have problem conceiving. Just have problem keeping the preg. I sometimes strike with only 1 try cos I know when I ovualate. But now, my hormone haywire, not sure if can strike so easily or not. Sigh... I'll worry abt it after CNY.

something to share:

Xenohormones: causing our current hormone imbalance epidemic?

Is your fertility being affected by xenohormones?

Xenohormones are substances not found in nature that have hormonal effects on the body. They have an estrogenic effect on both the male and female bodies causing a progesterone deficiency. These toxic substances are easily absorbed through the skin and build up in the body over time.

We come into contact with xenohormones on a daily bases. Once you know where and what they are you can avoid them or not use products that contain them. There has been extensive research on the connection between xenohormones and hormone disruption, which leads us to fertility issues and imbalances.More…

I wrote this article to bring you to awareness so you can avoid these substances, especially when you are preparing for pregnancy and are pregnant; they need to be avoided at all costs.

How xenohormones have an estrogenic effect :
They combine with estrogen receptor sites and activate the estrogenic action
They induce the formation of extra estrogen receptor sites
Inhibit the ability of the liver to excrete estrogens
Common sources of xenohormones
-Solvents and adhesives – These enter the body easily and can be found in paint/varnish, nail polish and in dry cleaning. Solvents can damage a developing fetus and should be strongly avoided by pregnant women, in any amount.

-Car exhaust

-Almost all plastics

-Meat from conventionally raised livestock (non-organic)- They feed them estrogenic drugs to fatten them up

-Petrochemically derived pesticides, herbicides, and fungicides

-Emulsifiers found in soaps and cosmetics

-PCD’s from industrial waste

NOTE: You can absorb xenohormones by ingestion, inhalation and direct skin contact.

What you can do…
1.Stop using pesticides of all sorts, bug sprays, lawn sprays. – Instead use organic treatments for your lawn and garden, and natural bug sprays made with essential oils

2. Eat organic, especially your meats, dairy and coffee.

3. Avoid exposure to solvents, plastics, cosmetics, and soaps made with petrochemical based emulsifiers – a.k.a. mineral oil. Switch to a skin care line that is safe and pure

4. Do not use mineral oil products on your body. Mineral oil is made from crude oil (the same stuff we make motor oil, gasoline, and plastics out of) and is like putting plastic on your skin.

5. Do not microwave your food in plastic. This will release the xenohormones into your food

6. Stop wearing polyester clothing (it is made out of plastic).

7. Do not use air fresheners, fabric softeners, fake wood paneling when building a house. A healthy alternative would be using air fresheners that are made with essential oils.

8. Don’t use spermicide.

9. Avoid all synthetic sex hormones.

Natural Alternatives for Xenohormone Exposure/Estrogen Dominance :
Progesterone Cream or Sublingual Progesterone – helps to balance the estrogen dominance by balancing the hormone levels. Learn more about using natural progesterone here.
The Fertility Cleanse- aids the body in eliminating excess estrogens and toxins in preperation for conception.

Athen,
No la,i don't hv problem to sleep.I slept very early last nite,ard 9pm.I was woken up by my son ard 11pm,then cleared some emails,surf net n watched TV.Doing things tat i couldn't do when my son is ard.
Hey same.My MIL oso has mild depression,i pity her.But i pity her,who pity me?She ever told me how pitiful she is.But i can't figure out,coz she has maid to take care all the housework,cooking for her,she doesn't nid to worry abt her financial.When she is free,she just go shopping,unlike me,i hardly hv time to shop coz i nid to take care my son,doing house chores n cook.Since my hb is the only one who support the family(i am sahm),i've to tighten my belt n think twice b4 buying things.

yes,it's indeed we're lucky tat we r nt stay wf our inlaws.

Don't worry,since u do nt hv problem to conceive in the past,continue to hv healthy diet n exercise to improve ur hormone.R u taking EPO?It helps to regulate hormone oso.Few months ago,my menses oso went haywire,i exercised n went bk to normal level.Exercise does help a lot.

Hey ladies, long time hvnt logged in. Actually i feel all of us very brave....but at the same time i also feel sad for all ladies including myself for having to go thru so much to hv a kid..

Ling, u r a great fighter n i think i m a much weaker opponent to u. I feel that i m slowly losing hope liao n dun have mu urge of having a bological child as strong as before.

Sunny, so have u got any blood works done so far?

Avocado, i suspect my mum aslo got mild depression. Elderly nowadays tends to get depression easily maybe coz of loneliness.. very sad too

Ladies, cheer up in no matter wats ur situation are. Life is short..

I was sick and staying home yesterday. Switch on TV and it was a documentary film about recurrent miscarriage. I cried while watching. Seems like this is so common now everywhere. The Q for that clinic appointment is at least 3 months!!
Those that visited the clinic miscarriage > 5 times. There was one mother after miscarraige 6 times, finally get a baby girl. You can see the joy of that family. Throughout her pregnancy, she denied the fact she will have a baby until she delivered her. Every moment, so scare that pregnancy will cease anytime. One mother also trying for 2nd child. She mentioned " sometimes you will question yourself why you want to go through this again and again and put yourself in such pain and mess. But the urge to have a 2nd child just will continue to push you to keep trying". I cried and this is exactly how i feel. Anyway, just write to release my frustration. Life still go on....got to work tomorrow and looking forward for the appointment in NUH next Monday.

Avocado,

U r doing quite a lot of research on the net. Dr Mahesh was telling me not to read too much into the net cos the more I read, the more confuse & worry I get. He said that cos I raised quite a no of concerns during my appt. He probably feels that I'm very paranoid.

Yaya,
How's things at your side?

Bibi,
Feel free to come in to vent your frustration. Which channel is it? Starhub chanel 425? My bro told me this channel is good. But I did not subscribe.

thks for a listening ear here. yesterday i had my abortion done at TMC. After that felt quite relieved. I heard the months after MC, will be quite fertile. I dunno whether wanna try to ceonceive again, as i feel that 2 kids already keeping me quite busy, and i scareed cannot handle a 3rd one if it comes.

My mil really get on my nerves. Instead of showing some concern, She just keep on saying i must try for a 3rd one after this MC, cos 2 kids are not enuf!! Really unthoughtful i think.

Hi Lilian,

Hugs hugs. Hope you are recovering well.

2 kids 4 & 2 yrs old can be quite a challenge. I suggest to recuperate 1st b4 thinking whether to have another one. You must be physically & psycholically ready.

Ignore your MIL. Most MIL are the same. Does your MIL help you with your kids? My MIL also keep pushing me to have a gal. I'm so angry with her. Though she stays near me, she did not even come over to help out during my maternity leave 4 yrs ago. Imagine a 1st time mum got to take care of a baby ALONE for 2 whole months (after confinement nanny left). Got to cook my own lunch & sometimes only manage to eat lunch at 3pm as my son keeps me occupied the whole time. My hubby sometimes got to take leave to help out so that I can rest. Those days are nightmare!! During those time, my mum will come over to help me with dinner though she is working. Heng ah. MIL did not even call to check if I need help now has the cheek to ask me to have another one. BTW, my hubby is still angry with his mum for doing this to us. I can still remember her handing my son over to my confinement nanny or myself the moment my son cries. What kind of grandma is this???

Hi Athen,
I watch Channel425 all the times.U shld subscribe,there r lot of informative shows abt pregnancy n health.My fav is "I didn't know i was pregnant".Quite interesting show.

I went thru the same journey as u.I took care of my son ever since my confinement lady left.No helper.I've to do hsework,washed baby bottles/clothes while my son was sleeping.My lunch?mosty breads.I admit that those days r nightmare,esp when children fail sick,stress!No wonder our eggs turn older,coz of that stressful period.

No la,i wasn't doing any researches,just surfing internet for fun,since now i can't go out of the house too often,*awaiting for my natural m/c to happen*sianz....I did a silly thing last nite,i kept jumping,hoping that the sac will drop out:p

Bibi,
yes,it is the determination to drive us going thru all these obstacles in spite of having going thru the roller coaster emotional rides:agony,disappointment,worry,frustrated.

I've to admit i'm almost give up.But i told myself i've come so far i cant just let it go like this....Just keep a "pin chang xin"..I hope to hear more successful stories to inspire us there is still hope

Hi avocado,

I really salute SAHM like you. Take care of your son, do housework, etc. I almost went mad during my maternity leave. Sometimes even if I work at home, I still send my son to CC. No way to work with him around. I would have gone mad if I'm a SAHM. I feel that being a SAHM is more stressful than working.

hi Athen,
It took me some times to adjust to SAHM lifestyle.Initially,i felt very unappreciated coz my hb took me for granted at times.Now,i am a happy SAHM coz my son n me r very close.When i was not feeling well,he'll sayang me,rub my tummy n ask me to lie down n rest.But it oso made me feel useless coz i can't give him a didi/meimei

Avocado, Athen,

I didn't subscribe for 425. I will check how much i need to pay for this channel. I watched the show in 404 i think....
For me, both my parents and FIL, MIL are in Malaysia. So, don't have the same issue like what you all face. Actually, i always envy my colleagues , everyone has MIL around. Although there is conflict on the way of handling, but still, it is better than no one around in the house and need to rely on maid. When i went back to HB house for holiday, my MIL will just let me decide everything relates to my son. So, haha...i really wish my parents and my MIL/FIL can come and stay with me.... But all the old folks prefer to stay at their places. Only my mum came to visit me on and off. Well, since young , i always like my grandmother and uncle and aunty( who had cancer and stayed at our places when seeking treatment till their last day) who stayed with family and i hope the same for my son too to have a chance to stay with old people. Old people with lot of funny rules , with poor hearing , sick...etc..But i feel it is through this we teach the younger generation to learn to be patient and forgiveness. Only my personal ideal view as still, i haven't experience staying with my MIL/FIL ever...See them only 1 or 2 times a year...and everytime see MIL, she will say...quick , go for 2nd kid...i just ok ok ok...but i know she knew about both my MCs...

morning ladies, i am fine.

my sysmptom getting a little quiet as before..i am quite worry in this case..not sure if i shd push my appointment earlier.. what u all think?
*sigh*

i do take bbt and this morning read 36.78 deg.. shd i not be worry??? sigh.. i am getting crazy soon.
really pengsan le..want to get have baby..and now worry to death with sympstom seems to fade off..

yaya,

When r u due to see your gynae? Having little sympton does not mean that preg is not good. When I was expecting my boy, I'm perfectly fine though I was on max dose of duphaston. The only sympton I have is sore breast. All unsucessful ones are hell. Almost full blown symptons with duphaston & jab. If you really feel uncomfortable, call your gynae.

BTW, why r you taking temp?

athen,
my sympstom is like slowly fade away..which make me worry lor... sigh.. make me cant sleep well, can sit well without a 'disturbed mind'.. i am currently on weekly progrestone injection and 3x duphaston. whilst gynae told me 3x duphaston is good enough, i told her i dun mind to go for injection to act as tailsman to my current pregnancy.

these 2 days, breast not as sore as before.. so gets a bit troubled...

I am taking bbt lor... cos i read online that bbt can tell wehther ur pregnancy is okay or not...just take to double ensure..although i am not sure hw much assurance will it give me..

yaya,

Frankly, I think taking temp is not an accurate sign of whether ur preg is ok or not. Body temp is affected by many factors. The more accurate test on whether preg is ok is hcg blood test or 1st trimester viability scan. There is really nothing much you can do other than wait & see how. Call you gynae for appt if you r really unsure.

athen, oic... okay okay.. i will take note.. i dunno whether i can endure till my appointment date or to push forward...
i dun think my gynae would be able to do anything if anything happens.... *touchwood*.. i just pray and hope for the best.

yaya,

How many weeks are you now? When is your next appt with your gynae? If you see your gynae, she'll probably do a scan to put you at ease if can see heartbeat & monitor bb's growth or do a blood test to confirm everything is ok. You'll need to do another blood test a few days later to compare the results. Still got to wait. In my opinion, as long as there is no fresh bleeding or spotting, you should be fine. Just pray & be strong. I know easier said than done. But must try. We're all here for you.

athen, i am currently going to 7week 5day... appointment this coming sat lor.. i super sianz and moody now.. feel like smashing something or the world is falling around me.. (wonder y do i have such a nasty feeling???)
my last 2 scan detect good heartbeat which i am pretty optimistic that it will work through this time round.. these 2 days of quietness ( meaning the sypstom like nothing much) give me creep.. although i do got feeling that all will be well... but i cant help feeling worse....... thanks alot. i just need a lending ear at this moment... as u all know, i am super scared and worry to hear things that are not right..

yaya,

I presume your last appt was on last Sat? If you see your gynae today, she won't give you a jab to boost your symptoms. She'll probably give you assurance that the heartbeat is healthy by doing a scan. If you need that assurance, do go ahead & see her. Tat's what my gynae will do. If you need somewhere to vent. Just pop in & vent. Don't worry. I understand how you feel.

athen, my last appointment was last tuesday.. i went in last min cos of my spotting...
i just now told my hubby.. n he kept telling me everythign will be fine and ask me nt to think too much. he told me lidat me wasting alot of $$$ by going gynae weekly...

<font color="aa00aa">hi ladies,
just chanced upon this thread the other day.

yaya,
hi dear!
good to know that u are doing fine in your pregnancy. i hope all will go smooth for u. if u want a peace of mind then take hpt.

im back to square 1.
lost mine last monday at 8wk.
today im going back to gynae to scan if still got any tissues left..if have then must still do d&amp;c..heart pain.
been twice this year..sigh</font>

lynzi!
how are u? did u went for check up on week 6? got heartbeat?

urs is natural or go thru D &amp; C?
aren u going for further testing? i dunno what stage am i in right now la.... i do hope and pray v hard god give me a baby this time.. but then, who knows right?

I do understand ur feeling v much.. cos i lost twice in a year last year. 1st was blight ovumn and 2nd was heartbeat was quite slow and growth quite irregular... so eventually it stop lor.

Yaya,

If you really can't wait till Saturday, just bring forward your appoinment. I can understand how you feel as i been through that. Must remember to stay optimistic and cheerful so to give best environment for the baby to grow too. I know it is difficult. But as Athen say, must try. Well,it is holiday and sales season now. Go find some activities to do so your mind is occupied with other things.

bibi, i guess i will stay put my sat appointment..cos i have already took leave for my friday.. my built in oven is coming finally..so i guess i can only look forward to that lor!

Lynzi, how much is hpt? i am thinking it wun be use to me since i will be going to visit my gynae this week... also will be spending around the same $$$ i find..

<font color="aa00aa">yaya,
i saw my gynae every week from 4wk.
its a hell lot of money..with duphaston 3X a day and jabs.
my first one was chemical preg.
this second one was like your second one.
yup at 6wk hb was very strong.
10 days later hb very weak and bb not growing.
my gynae said can do the antibodies test but im seriously getting very tired.
the emotional rollercoaster is too much to handle.

i suggest to give u peace of mind..just go and see him..money doesnt matter as long as bb is fine.
i know the feeling cos i was only pacified after seeing my gynae.</font>

lynzi,

Sorry to hear about your loss. Me too had 2 MC this yr. From your post, I believe yours is a natural MC. If tissues left is not much, your gyane may prescribe Cytotec to expel the remaining tissues. You may expect some cramp &amp; increase bleeding. Take care.

<font color="aa00aa">athen,
thanks dear.
my bleeding has stopped.
it started on tuesday..very heavy bleeding then wed morning i felt like going to toilet.
i sat down and felt something slipped out of me..not sure if its the sac.
i tried to look but very hard to see cos my toilet bowl is black.
after that my bleeding stopped.
skali on thurs nite bleeding came back on and off but not a lot.</font>

wa.. lynzi, we were in so similiar situation before..... dun give up okay.. if this time i still cannot make it, i will go for TCM for a try liao....

<font color="aa00aa">yaya,
are u the one quite active in the baking thread too?
will pray that u will get your healthy baby this time.</font>

lynzi, i am not.. i only active in certain thread... but not really frequently.. i think i am the most active in MC thread among the SMH post...lol!

Lynzi,

Sorry to hear about your loss. Hugs. Take care.

Athen, Ling,
I just came back from NUH. Seen by Dr. Kanika. Anyway, she refers me to Dr. Mahesh and Vasoo high risk pregnancy and MC clinic. So, i will be visiting them on 27 Dec. The waiting time is not long, but the consultation + ultrasound (i don't know for what purpose) cost me SGD 95 even after subsidised.*_*.
May i know did they scan you when you visit them? Ling, how much you pay for the joint consultation? Looking forward for the next appointment. The TCM and all this consultation, blood test is really costing me a bom..

<font color="aa00aa">im back home from gynae visit..got another 5 days of hospitalisation leave. he scanned and said mostly all clear..left thin lining so will definitely be out within this week.

my nice doc said my first wish of having the bb might not come true but looks like my second wish of not going thru d&amp;c comes true. took the antibodies blood test..4 test tubes..results will come out next week. im asked to come back next monday for another check and the test results. thank u all for being so supportive!!</font>

i've taken cytotec twice today.Have had very terrible cramps n bleeding in the afternoon.Can i chk if i shld continue to take cytotec?Coz my gynae gave me 4 tablets.

Bibi,

Good to hear that u r referred to Dr Mahesh. Did u request to be referred to Dr Mahesh or is it the Dr who did the referral. At least u won't be spending a bomb.

During both my visit, Dr Mahesh did not do any scan. I show him all my scan result from my gynae though.

Lynzi,
Glad to here that u don need to do D&amp;C. Rest well. Keep us updated with the test results.

Avocado,
Any instruction from your gynae with regards to cytotec? Did he say to complete all 4 tabs? Suggest you wait till tomorrow morning to see if u pass out anything &amp; give your gynae a call to check.

Hi lynzi, take it easy and it let go....may I ask how old are U?

I had 2 miscarriages in 2 years also and I am more worry and anxious cause miscarriages chance increase as we age....

And I am coming 40 Liao!!! What's more can ii say....
I just can PRAY

I guess all the girls here and much much younger than me and u all will be blessed, NOT to worry

Hi gals, saw dr mahesh and he told me to go for blood test when my menses is here. Do u gals hv to wait? I dunno when my menses will come after d and c ... And I hope to try soonest.

By the way, I asked dr mahesh why I managed to hv my girl and he explained tat it's just like flu. First time the anti bodies didn't recognize the flu bug so we get sick but when the same strain attacks us again, the body will defend successfully. In this case, our babies r akin to the flu bug. First one, the body didn't recognize the foreign obj but for subsequent pregnancies, it got " smarter " and abort the baby automatically.

Miko, did u find out bat your recurrent miscarriages? U will be blessed too. My cousin gave birth at 38 and the boy is coming to 9 now. But most importantly, try to find out why u miscarried twice.

Tub,

What blood test is that? is it to be taken 2nd day of your menses?

Athen,
No, she referred me to Dr. Mahesh without me requesting.

<font color="aa00aa">tub,
yes i hope we will be in mtb thread together again.
wouldnt that be nice esp with susu and faiq being in dec thread

the antibodies blood test done by my gynae cost me $188. he said if this bt shows something wrong then will do further tests.
he also said he will usually prescribe low dose aspirin in the first tri to those who mc twice before, be it whether the lady has antobodies prob or not.

miko,
have u checked why u have the 2 mcs?
im going 30..i hope i can get sticky bfp soon as i will need to focus on my boy p1 regn in few years time.</font>

Hi all, I already done all the suppose major lead to miscarriages tests

1 Chromosome for me and hubby
2 all diff types of blood test
3 antibodies if auy
4 .....others following gyneo instruction

I do everything...I spent...I didn't count
Can't be bother all the cost, all I wanted is if there is an answer!!!!

What I get in return is - me and hubby is perfectly all right in all the test

In fact, gene and ll the nurse has discourage me to do those tests...cos according to them, even those test show that Either of us got problem, if the baby is strong enough, he will survive cos.gene said it's all fated....it's an act from GOD

As log as we have no major peroblem in us then miscarriage are normal and he even use the word - common to have miscarriage

That is why I said earlier what else can I say, but I just can pray

It's just like, even u have a healthy body and lifestyle u might till get CANCER!!!!

It's all in our fate and destiny

In addition, gene also said, this pregnancy u got this miscarriage problem, the next might be different cause how to keep checking....it's just a waste of money!!!!

He said in his 40 years of practice, he has seen and delivered couple with problem in themselves BUT they still manage to have and give birth to perfectly and healthy baby

Couple who are perfectly all right can have many miscarriages and abnormal baby!!!!

Those who went though the IVF journey also got to accept they might not get pregnant and again NO reason given

We just got to accept in our tic journey, many times we know there are no reason....why some couples have perfect body but just can't get pregant???

U can just keep asking why why why and answer is don't know don't know don't know....

We just can accept accept accept ....

And keep trying to fulfill our wish, to finally have a baby of our own...

Hi Avocado,

Did the doctor say anything call him/her and check to be safe? For me I was told to take the cyototec in 2 dose I think a few hours apart. Please take the antibiotics if you are given. From the sounds of cramp it looks like you might purged everything soon.

Lynzi, I think they done a standard test miscarriage profile test for you right? If it a private gynae an extensive antibodies test would definetely cost more than 188.

Bibi.. joint consulatation is what you paid today times 2... they probably not put you through scan next visit so you will save on that. Purpose of the scan so that Dr Mahesh can "take" over the gynae health of you in check and see if there is anything else in your womb that might increase risk of mc.. i.e septum etc...They are unlike private gynae scan at every visit so next visit you probably wont scan.

Hi Tub, Be patience and the stupid dowager will come... mine after D and C gone for 3 freaking months! Arrgghh...I think Dr Mahesh right on about the antibodies thingy.. so do a check just to ease every one minds.

Hi Miko2006, we hear you... we will get there. Are you seeking any help from NUH? They have a recurrent loss clinic conduct by Dr Mahesh and Dr Vasoo.. I have done tests outside but nothing compared to the comprehensive one ordered by Dr Vasoo which at least cancelled out more possible causes if any..

HI Athen,Ling,
I taken 3 cytotec so far.I took two last monday,the cramping was terrible.I lied on the floor n moarned in pain.Then i took another one yesterday,slight cramping n bleeding like normal menses.How do i know if i've purged everything?I saw some thick blood but no blood clot.When the bleeding gets lesser?Now I am having normal menses,not spotting.I'll be seeing my gynae tmr.I'm taking antibiotics.

Hi Miko,
For us,ttc journey is like trying our luck in the casino.But we've no choice.DOn't give up.the next round,i'll be go on intensive TCM/supplement n go overseas ttc.
Courtney Cox suffers fr 7 miscarriages n finally got hv a healthy baby girl.See her report:
http://www.celebitchy.com/89837/star_says_that_courteney_cox_is_pregnant/

hihi, yes... it't to be taken 2nd day of menses then another one on the 22-25th day i think.

Hi ling...if u read my past..My wish to fulfill to have my own baby was 10 years ago....though out this 10 years, I hv went to see 6 different gynae....in 4 different hospital...

Not to mention all the money I hv spent, cause I only hope to fulfill my wish for my family....I really hv run out of energy to see a new gynae already

Furthermore ALL the major result done by my current gynae has shown that me and hubby are perfectly all right and he just encourage me to try again with an easy and stress free mind ....adding on exercise and a balanced diet....he din even ask me to take any supplement, just Folic acid ....will do

I hv try manymanymany different supplement in my 10 Yeats of TTC journey but none has succeed yet.....and so when he told me, each individual has. Different needs....how others can eat and success doesn't ganrantee me also can take

And I m already on TCM....I guess my body also don't want meto stress them further

Since I have 2 miscarriages with this gynae And he has all my records....I feel he can monitor my situation better on my next round....and I hv decided not to do anymore CHECK or TEST already as each progency is different ....now that me and hubby has no major problem....we will continue to try with a positive mindset...which I feel is MORE imporant rather than
Worrying too much here and there