Support group - Miscarriages

Ling,
i am in sg
my sleep has been much disrupted ever since this pregnancy.I can sleep as early as 10am,wake up ard 5am,then sleep again in the AM or PM.Though my hb is wf me all the times,I can't be keep telling him how worry i am.I've to "control"my emotions.Furthermore,my mother n MIL do not noe abt my pregnancy,so basically this is only channel i can express my feelings freely.In fact,I oso feel beta by helping n encouraging ppl.
Though we can't do much abt autoimmune,we can still improve our lifestyle,diet n emotions.Personally,i feel the contributing factor for autoimmune is ur "emotions".I always look back the kinda lives i had when i was "thyroid-free".Then I realise i led a good happy years.No doubt i've had stress fr. job,i was pretty happy wf my family n my inlaws only gave me little prob during tat 2yrs.
That was once my blood pressure shot up n i got sick easily due to stress fr. inlaws.
So for ladies who suffer fr. autoimmune disease,other than looking after ur lifestyle n diet,try to be "happy".
To tackle autoimmune disease,we muz 1st understand how it was triggered from.However,there is something we couldn't change is genetic.Unfortunately,my grandma has thyroid.
It is a relieve to noe that u r not going china.Last time,i always "siam" when my boss hinted me to go to china plant.I went to Huzhou once,the food,the air(very dusty),their traffic,reali turned me off.

Hi Avocado!

I know what you are going through.. me too didnt tell anyone about my 2nd and 3rd mc... My 1st mc also only my folks knows about it only. At least save us the trouble to have to explain what happen. Loads easier in my opinion. If I can have a good pregnancy I also will not tell until ppl can see it. Save me some grief I reckon.

My hubby ever stayed in china for 2 years... posted overseas but no choice we really no money so he have to go. ={ so we know how it is... but then again now is a different ballgame. Although not rich but that is okay.

Anyway you still have a last scan to go maybe the baby did grow =) So look forward okay..

I am a generally cheerful person with little or no angst unless when I talk abt the in law. Hence I dont think that could be it.. but I do believe diet have some links to it so I have been ensuring all good nutrition to bu myself now.

My in laws give me grief often but it helps that I dont have to visit them due to travel schedule etc. MY last disappointment with them was during my hubs maternal grandma wake. After the cremation etc my mil right there and then distribute what was leftover money from the funeral. Right in front of the cousins etc say each family 500 bucks. Than each person should get 100 bucks and turn to me and told me but because I have not given birth yet can only give me 50 bucks!?!?!?!? What the heck! So mad loh!I went home told my hubby I cannot tahan this sort of nonsense and throw the 50 bucks at him and told him to pay back his mum for that month allowance. Really too much and then I ask my hub why he allow the mum to say me like that in front of so many ppl. My hubby told me.. huh got meh he never hear because he switch off and suggest I switch off too when either of his parents talk. =_______=; I dont rebute my in laws no matter what they say I just nod my head and agree with whatever they say no matter how awful however at times really feel damit upset. My folks treat me like princess and they think I am the step daughter or something! I just wish they know how much pain I go through to try to get a good pregnancy. However all my 3 pregnancies my hubby was keen not to tell the parents only after it proceed out of 1st trimester. I reckon I will get blame if they ever know so it all might be as well. In laws.. sigh!

morning girls! i am now at home.. had work till 3plus this morning so managed to get time off tdy.

right now baking cake for my sis in law niece.. tomorrow morning going to see gynae.. got mixed feeling now.. like dun want to go lidat

Thanks Jaraine and Shortyncute!

Jaraine, hugs, i feel so angry for you reading that tactless colleague's comments! Nevermind treat it as they are ignorant, forgive them. What goes around comes around so good luck to them! With medical help now, i pray will have breakthru for us all, then you conceive and they will slapback their own faces and eat back their insensitive words.

Ling, is there a need to retest to make sure its really 7000 and not happen to rise that time you took the test? Pardon me if ask silly qn, i am thinking is it like FSH will fluctuate one. Good that COQ10 can help abit. I am taking that too. I took the 150mg one. Good thing you dont visit your ILs often. We really dont deserve such treatments but they are elders, what can we do, can only try to avoid. I am your opposite, i can lash back kind if i cannot take it. Cus i believe our parents didnt raise us up to be treated badly by others. Sigh, thats why i think i wont make a good DIL, i m just hoping the day my ILs have to stay with me dont come soon.

Avocado thanks for the link. Actually good also that your MIL dont know? At least she wont have things to think about. My 2 MCs my ILs know and i bet among their generation sure gossiping that its my womb useless cannot hold babies blah blah blah ... so next time if preggy, i wont tell them already, wait till tummy shows. Older folks always like that, they cant understand that sometimes the guys play a part in miscarriages, not always the gals get the blame.

Hi Yaya,

Bake what sort of cake today =)) ... Go tomorrow lah.. see where you are at. Give you power~

Sunny, No need to retest ald.. once positive for the thyroid antibodies than let it be. One thing the endocrine and the rheumatologist all agreed was that doesnt matter in what numbers as long as positive or negative is good enough to know. Not much studies been done on the count. Also is not the coq10 that lower the antibodies it is actually selenium. Somehow I am taking coq10 with selenium so is just 1 pill compared to 2 lah.. =)

Abt in laws I also vocal kinda but I know my mil is really scheming sorta and always will behave like kenna bully by everyone and my hubby always says so the whole family bully her *my ass* I have witness her tekan my elder bil, fil and sil tons but somehow she softspot for my hubby so in front of him she always meek like lamb. This kinda classic one.. if you retaliate she sure make you look like the tyrant. Better just act dumb for my own good. Ya agree any pregnancies just keep to ourselves... must get your hubby to buy in..=)

Ling,
ya lor,if hv good pregnancy,don't mind to let ppl know.However,frankly,ever since 4m/c,if i ever decide to hv another one,i'll keep quiet until i deliver

hmm...i believe most men will choose to keep quiet at that situation.As for we women,hv to "suffer in silence".if we kick up a fuss,put hb into difficult situation,then all of us oso won't be happy.I oso don't argue wf my inlaw no matter how i find them so unreasonable n not being understanding.It is difficult to get one to understand our situations unless they've been thru it.
I've tried many yrs to get my mil to understand our situation:we do nt hv helper,thus we're busy all the times n might nt able to help them.My inlaws r staying wf hb's bro n sil,hv a capable helper,yet,always ask us to help them.Yet,i always see the sil goes shopping,hv her manicure n facial while i'm down here struggling wf housework,cooking n taking care of my son.

Actuali,i feel it might be good to retest coz ur reading is high.Few yrs ago,i nearly went for radioiodine.The appt oredi booked,i took another blood test b4 the treatment,then suddenly my endocrine rang n stopped me from going coz my reading suddenly dropped to normal level after i stopped the medication.Maybe bcoz i was on TCM.

I did my whole spectrum of autoimmune tests 2yrs ago.Results all -ve but prof biswa wanted me to retest.

Sunny,
my mil discouraged me to hv another kid.Ironically,she always says my m/c might due to stress,yet,she keeps adding stress to me n my hb.I oso hv a problematic sil,if she noe my m/c,think she might be too happy to call for party

Hi avocada,

how's your situation now?

Yaya? You okay?

About in laws I don't convert them just listen because cannot be bothered. They want to think I purposely spite them by not having grandkids be it. They have asked my folks a few times why I am not pregnant. My folks were too not thrilled ESP the last one being at my materal grandpa wake. My grandpa had a fall in town and passed away same night imagine our shock and our frd ask my mum in her daze why no grandkids. Faint

the docs all agreed don't need to test because can't do anything whether is high or low. I just tested it anyway abt a 2 months back.

I think 2 years back need to test ba see any new things develope and old things died down. I am just surprise so many ppl have this autoimmune disease

hi Ling,
i've had brown spotting since last friday.I don't hv any cramps but feel a bit bloated.I think the m/c process is starting soon.I'll hv scan tmr n if confirm m/c happens soon,then get cytotec to standby.
Ya,i am oso surprised to noe that there r quite a no. of ppl suffer fr. autoimmune.It muz be the pollution.there r reali a lot of construction everywhere.
I told my hb if reali wanna try again next time,we might go to NZ.We went to Melbourne 3mths ago,found the it is very city-like compared to NZ.I conceived my son after my honeymoon at NZ.It was very relaxing there,no interuption from jobs/inlaws.
actuali,feel very sianz to go thru all these blood tests,need time+$$.

Avocado, if really is mc once have spotting will come fast for some. However once fever etc must see doc immediately.

Wah cannot lah suddnely shift to nz or oz... How to survive if both don't work... We are not self employed hence difficult to relocate unless is company posting and chance is literally zero for both of us. Chiamz...

Could be worse so make do ba.

Ling,
actuali i quite worry too.I hope i can tahan until tmr.If m/c tonight jialak,coz later nid to go A&E.
if ur blood test can't find anything,m/c likely coz by chromosome abnornality.Mayb take a break from TTC then continue to take TCM to boost ur health,then go for a 2 to 3 wk break at NZ or OZ to make bb??coz very difficult to travel once u've kid,unless u've caregiver.Look at me,took me 7yrs later to travel.My 1st trip wf my hb was 7yrs ago.After i've my son,we basically couldn't find time to travel coz no caregiver for my son,busy wf our jobs n my inlaws always sick(sianz...
enjoy ur couplehood!

Ling, I am okay. i was freaking nervous and worry infront of Dr Tan. then she cut me off and immediately ask me to go for the scanning.
was finding high and low for it and she managed to find it! though she insisted me that duphaston is enough but i want to get the injection. will be going for weekly injection lor. Dr Tan almost tear also.

unlike the KKH Dr Khoo who attended to me last time. sucks.. make me worry like hell!

i am going to see her 2 weeks later. i am praying hard my baby will stick to me hard!

Yaya!!!! See worry all in vain!!!
this will be it ald just don't over tire yourself ESP all the cake baking.. Look forward to the 8 weeks scan!!

Avocado, won't have to go a and e.. If it really happen it will be like a big period. For my case I don't want to wait too long ald because to stable my thyroid hormones take times after that wait again I probably will end up with nothing if I Kenna those fsh show early menopausal thingy.

Am here to encourage and share my journey with your. I used to be in this thread too and I have had three miscarriages,two in 2008 and the third in 2009. I was devastated after the third mc and din even wan a post about it. Hubby and I decided to take a year from trying. However our girl who is five yo kept asking for sibling and it was not easy to tell her why she doesn't have one. Nevertheless just when our so called one year break is almost up,we fell pregnant again unexpectedly. Am truly thankful,surprised and of course fearful that the nightmare might happen again. But because it was a surprise,I left it to god. I prayed and kept thanking god for this good gift. My gynae prescribed me aspirin which I have never taken before during my last three mc.I was glad he gave me that,I took it all the way till week 34.and gynae actually got me induced at week 37 as he thinks it's good to have baby out sooner. I have just delivered my second child and hope to give your some hope and that there is light at the end of every tunnel.

Take care everyone and I really hope one day,your can come in and post your success story

Saw Mahesh on Thurs for blood test results. He can't find anything wrong with me. He was staring at the results & the results done by my gynae. He noticed that Protein S test done by my gynae is normal but on the low side. Then the Protein S test done by him is perfectly normal. So he feels that there is nothing wrong with me. But he still run 3 more blood test on me just to make sure. He prescribe Asprin 100mg & Folic Acid 5 mg. He told me to eat a balance diet, take the med he gave, stay away from TCM as he in not sure how it will interact with the med he gave. So gals, if NUH gave you any med, you may want to consider staying away from TCM. As for other supplement, you may want to check with the Drs to ensure that it does not interact with the med.

Also asked Mahesh if there is any way to improve egg quality, he said no way. egg deteriorate as we grow older. The only way is to slow down the deterioration by having a balance diet & exercise.

Aileen,
thks for sharing.it is reali encouraging.I remem i've communicated wf u in this forum back in yr2008.Did u take any TCM b4 ttc?May I noe who is ur gynae?In which week of pregnancy u took aspirin?Coz i heard it is beta to take aspirin b4 conception.

Yaya,
Luckily u switched to another gynae.Pray hard n soon u'll feel the baby kicks.

Ling,
i've had peaceful sleep last nite.luckily my spotting stopped in the evening.I realise the spotting increased when i move ard.But i can't avoid moving ard coz nid to cook n tak care my son.
if fsh shows menopausal,might be hypothyroid?

Athen,
that was exactly what happened to me.Did all the tests:chromosome,autoimmune,health chk,at the end results showed nothing wrong.
how frequent do u nid to take aspirin?
Egg quality is like our skin.If the sign of aging/saging show,cannot switch it back to baby skin,no matter how much moisturizer we apply n how much collagen pills we take.But still hv to keep applying skincare n tak supplement to prevent it from further aging n sagging?
but i saw somewhere in this forum that eating more egg whites n chicken essence b4 ovulaton help to improve egg quality.

Another inspirational story!! Thanks Aileen for the booster we need! =)

Hi Athen, What is the 3 additional blood tests? Are they the same? At least the basic tests show otherwise. Did he send you to TTC right now or would you rather not try anymore now? I agree balance diet and exercise is key now. Also remember to rotate your food choices as well so you dont repeat food twice in a week. My last gynae told me that will purge all the poison if any presence in the food we take.

Avocado, Sounds promising! =) Maybe you see your late bloomer grown apace.. with Yaya's story I am sure you hold a litle more faith!

no lah FSH is to see the egg reserve.. if is diminishing it shows your ovaries are near menopausal stage. Hypothyroid have no link to that at all.. just another condition I afraid to have.... ;) I a bit over the top..heh heh heh

Hi Avocado,

I think you should try to rest since is some how reduce the spotting. I know easier said than done when you have a child to take care of. Must try ok?

All you tests show nothing wrong? Then how did you find out about your problem? I'm also a bit concern as in why I keep MC but there is nothing wrong with the both of us. Just plain bad luck?

Asprin is 1 tab a day.

Hi Ling,

The 3 add'l test are :
1. Anit-Nuclear Antibody
2. Factor V Leiden Thrombophilia
3. Prothrome G20210A Thrombophilia

He did send me to TTC though my hormones are still haywire (spotting in between menses). I thought of getting the hormones sort out 1st. But he said no need. Hm... My next visit with him is 24 Jan together with Dr vasoo in the Preg loss clinic. This clinic is held on the 4th Mon of the month. I believe your joint consultation is from the preg loss clinic. From experience, once I'm tested +ve, I need to be on hormone support. But how do I get hormone tabs when I only see him in Jan? Go to my regular gynae? I still not confident in TTC now. Maybe I'll wait for these 3 results & see what Mahesh has in mind for me.

I'm very confused now.

hi ladies, been reading the posts and not writing. so sian to be in school when everyone else is having school hols. i'm seeing dr mahesh this thurs. any pertinent questions to ask him? i hope i can ttc soon. sigh. but first menses after mc is not here yet. it's been about 3 weeks i think.

yaya and avocado! jia you!

aileen, it is indeed inspiring! thanks for sharing.

athen, i'm +ve for anti nuclear antibody for certain. but what about nos. 2 and 3. what are these tests for?

Hi Athen,

Once preggers immediately call the clinic =)They will presribe you the medication. Yes yes I think I went to that clinic and if it was I am enlighted because I saw a few mummies entering that room all with big pregnancy incubating in them =)...

I think for sanity sake maybe skip this month and TTC after your next AF. I know what you are thinking because after my last mc in april I dont dare to try even though I thought I should.

Tub,

You are a teacher? Really demanding isnt it!!!

Must remember to bring all your medical reports etc to show Dr Mahesh so he will not ask you to repeat some tests. Maybe he get you to do some scans as well. I was told to do some standard gynae tests to rule out more stuff for my next visit.

yeah. i'll bring my most recent blood test, my hb's SA and probably my girl's blood tests to show him. i hope and pray i dun add more stuff to my list and hope he gives the green light to ttc once menses is here. BUT is it true we have to wait for 3 cycles b4 we try? And anyone knows if dr mahesh does iui? or do we have to go to prof biswas?

ling, i'm a teacher. demanding? ok la... just a job. haha

avocado- i started aspirin immed when i tested preg.was supposed to do the mc profile test b4 ttc so was rather worried when i tested +ve since it was unexpected n gynae said it was too late to test aldy. my gynae is dr woodworth,he has been really patient n caring.due to my history,he sees me more often to check on bb.n yes,i took tcm an tai med fr eu yan seng at week 4,so it was alot of timing to do btw western med n tcm.i had hormone pills n jabs oso up til week 14. Gynae actually wanted to stop my aspirin at wk 14 but aft a week of stopping,i felt uneasy n asked him to let me continue. and bcos aspirin can cause excessive blood loss during delivery if not stopped early enough b4 delivery,i started cuttin down the dosage progessively fr week 30 til wk 34.

ling,
gynae oredi confirmed my sac is not growing.He gave me cytotec to standby.I still hv some spottings.He said i can choose to take now or can wait until the bleeding gets severe.I feel a bit of nausea n bloated,in fact, i felt very mild contractions this morn but stopped later.

Athen,
it sound to me that Dr Mahesh is more patient than Prof Biswa.I feel like switching to Dr Mahesh but is it possible since i oredi started my 1st appt wf Prof Biswa?

I oredi suffered from thyroid many yrs,then only recently my endocrine told me that i am more prompt to other autoimmune diseases since i've pre-existing thyroid for so many yrs.My previous m/cs r due to chromosome abnormalities,thus,it is not my thyroid that causing the m/c.

it is ur body so u make the decision.If u feel more comfortable to ttc after u feel u r physically ok,then go ahead.Most gynae will advise u to go ahead to ttc right after dnc.

For my case,Prof Biswa insists i shld come n do all the tests b4 ttc.I don't feel the urgency to try coz 4m/cs r no joke.My body nids a good rest.

my gynae keeps telling me that i might eventually nid to come bk for DnC coz natural m/c or wf cytotec is not a good way.But Prof Biswa told me our bodies hv the capability to abort if the preggie not going well.shld i wait or go straight to dnc?
my spotting is very little.i wonder how long i nid to wait.I've had spotting since last fri.Shld i exercise more to trigger m/c?

Hi avocado,

I think u can take cyotec to trigger miscarriage. For me was fast once I taken it. I recommend once you start spotting more enough can take ald. Both times for me I was lucky everything purged after a few hours and I have had no downtime. Personally preference I took too long to recover after d&c and not to add expensive too. Thus both the natural miscarriage was much easier on me..

I agree dr mahesh was very patient with me but dr biswas is also a very good gynae so you are in good hands

Hi Tub,

I'm not sure what are the test in 2 & 3. Was busy the last few days so not much time to do research.

Hi Aileen,

I've been seeing Dr Adrian since 2004. I would say he is very patience & very good. Due to my many MC, he sometimes see me twice a week. He also put me on asprin the during my last preg. But sadly, it did not work out. I would very much like to go back to him if my blood test is cleared in NUH. I feel more comfortable with him than at NUH. More convenient for me to see him too. His clinic is only a few bus stop from my place.

Avocado,

My Dr advise to try again after 2 - 3 cycles. I guess to let our hormone level go back to normal & also get prepared mentally.

Different people react to natural MC differently. I had a slow one so I did a D&C.

Yaya,

Hormone pills & jab helps to stablise the preg. I spent abt $700+ on the tab when I had my boy.

avocado-i see dr adrian at sengkang clinic.. He had wanted me to run the mc profile test before ttc but i got preg unexpectedly..so he said will just c how it goes.aspirin norm given for pple wf 3 mc he said.n i read online tat its vy common in western countries to take it even wf only 1mc n there r quite a no. Of success stories so i wasnt worried bt rather happy he gave me tat,n he said no harm for mother n baby so its safe.. Sorry to hear tat ur preg is nt going well,hope u can recover soon fr it. *hugz*

athen-i hav been seein him since 2005 and simply likes his style.he doesnt talk much unless necessary.the times when i wept in his room,he remained patient n shared wf me bout his personal story even tho there r tons of patients waiting outside.hes truly my angel doc.. I wish u the best n hope ur dream of a second child can come true soon

Aileen,
dr adrian is so nice.When i was crying over my 1st m/c,my gynae asked me to go outside to grieve over it then decide when to go dnc

how old is ur baby now?Ur girl muz b very happy

Ling,
my gynae asked me to alert him b4 starting cytotec.I am still waiting for bleeding to start to get heavier.
r u taking any TCM right now?
Actuali,i reali feel so unlucky why i keep m/c.Mayb mine r "rotten eggs" n no point to try again?And everytime when we ttc,my inlaws prob will flag out n my hb n me would got into argument soon after i conceived.Bad timing.
I've been thinking if it is reali fated to hv one child,shld i just stop trying?
We oso can't afford to take long holidays since my hb is going to start on new job.

Athen,
u don't hv to worry.I am equally confused as u.Let's just face this step by step.U r under good hands wf dr mahesh.
I hv not been to the preg loss clinic.I'll b seeing prof biswa mid dec for further blood test.He didn't mention he'll assign any rheumatologist for me.But since i oredi half hearted,i just follow his instruction.

mornign everyone.. i am going to rest at home tdy.. had experience a steak of red discharge yesterdae evening. scared me to death.. nausea not 'obvious' as last week.. i am a little scared/worry... shd i go and see my gynae about it?

Morning Gals..

Athen, did they put you for a blood test that test the range of natural killer cells? Some of these aggressive cells go into attack mode when one is pregnant and will attack the foetus.

My take on choice of gynae.. if you are not high risk I think the mainstream gynae are good.. but if you are high risk with some complication I think it would be good to stick to a high risk specialist. Asprin for some works for some it doesnt. Sometimes have to take steriods in light doses to tame these so called natural killer cells. This is not something say Dr Woodsworth might prescribe. That is just my take because I go to Dr Heng and I like and feel comfortable with her plenty but sadly these doctors are too busy to take up our cases.

Avocado, I am taking TCM with Dr zou have temporarily halt it now until I established a clear link if anything else is wrong with me. Once cleared will resume back because the Dr Zou also on vacation soon ald. I not sure how to advise you also.. but my want to have a child is very strong and I will put up a big fight. My gynae shared she have a patient mc for 5 times and now with 3 boys.. told me not to give up. Esp now with some help I put more faith in the docs. It was Gods will that resulted in me having to read that article even though I wasnt in Singapore. Hence hope is here =)

About cytotec I just took it after my visit to the gynae to confirm it is blighted ovum and when I started to spot I took the medicine and some antibotics was prescribe to prevent infection. My gynae just informed me if fever etc have to go back. I went back for a review in 2 weeks time to confirm everything was cleared after that.

Yaya, go see gynae maybe will give you proluton or something

Hi Aileen & Avocado,

I see Dr Adrian in CCK. He is indeed very nice. I guess he understand how we feel as his wife also had a few MC. They now have 3 kids. Age gap is far apart due MC. Every time I MC, he'll tell me his personal experience.

Furthermore, Dr Adrian is only a phone call away. I can even call him in the middle of the night due to bleeding. He'll advise me what to do in his very "sleepy" voice. If I see Dr Mahesh, I guess I'll be speaking to the emergency hotline gals & ask me to go to NUH A & E. My worry is if go to Dr Adrian & my condition say Protein S change during preg, it may go undetected. I'm really confused. Maybe I'll see Dr Mahesh till say 20+ weeks then go to Dr Adrian for the rest of the preg? Or maybe I should just give up.

Aileen, you are up so early to feed your bb? I'm really tempted to go to Dr Adrian after seeing a successful case. My son is going 5 yrs next Jan. Quite easy to handle liao. Can bring him for holiday liao. In fact, we just went to Bintan last month. Just need to go to places suitable for kids. 1st overseas trip without my parent's help. I'm so proud of myself. Cannot imagine going thru the breastfeeding process, change diapers all over again. Confused...

Hi Ling,

Dr Mahesh did "Lymphocyte subsets" it includes NK Cells, NK Cells Abs & quite a no of other components. Is this test for Natural Killer Cells?

hi ladies, im new to this forum. Yesterday when i visited my gynae, he told me the most shocking news abt my pregnancy. He told me that i had a miscarriage. It comes unexpected as i have 2 kids who are aged 4 and 2 respectively. I did not expect that this 3rd child wil turn out like this . I miscarried at 9 weeks.

Tomolow will be going for the op at 10am. I feel scared, and depressed, as i had already told my family members abt this preg, and was even happliy planning for the arrival of this child, where he will sleep, what he will use etc...

Actually i feel anrgy with myself. Cos I heard that during 1st trimester, we should not travel on planes. But i went ahead, and flew. I dunno is it i miscarriaged during then? Cos i expereinced a severe terrible pain in my head and face during then. Sigh....

Heard that after the op, we have to do a mini confinement, is that right? how long should that last?

Hi Lilian,

Did your gynae mention the reason why it is a miscarriage? No heartbeat or cannot find feotus? Did you seek 2nd opinion.

Do not angry with yourself for the MC. If the preg is not healthy, even if you stay in S'pore, stay in bed for the whole of the 1st trimester, also no use. Like my case.

I did not do a mini confinement after D&C. Just eat as per normal & avoid cooling stuff. There are also some mummies who do confinement. Duration ranges from 1 week to 1 month.

avocado-my bb is a week old now.. Yes my gal is vy happy wf her meimei.our family is reali thankful for tis bundle.. In fact,my ger has been faithfully every day for a meimei n i tink god heard her..had it nt come as a surprise,seriously i dare not ttc tho my hb tinks its time... The fear is so real n each visit to gynae is filled wf mixed emotions. Coming out of it now,i really hope to lift up hopes in this thread n get to see more sharing good news.

Ling-i agree tat dr adrian will nt b the specialist for complex cases like what u mentioned.hes a happy go lucky gynae,he din suggest any testing til my 3rd mc.to him,its a matter of luck,50-50.anyway i feel reali comfy wf him thus hes stil my choice gynae,his personal sharing nv fails to make me feel normal n more at ease

Athen-yes,dr adrian is really patient in sharing on his own encounter. when he said i can c him mthly in 2nd tri,i went:eek:h but im gona miss u hee.. He replied if i wana chk on bb,can just walk in.super nice! well if u have started consultation at nuh,maybe can let them access first b4 deciding if wana go bk to dr adrian?

Aileen,

Your gals must be getting along very well.
My son also wish to have a didi. I really agree that each time I see Dr Adrian, I'm filled with fear that he'll announce that the bb is not healthy. Sigh...

I'll decide what to do after my next appt with NUH in Jan. Tiger yr is not a good yr for myself & hubby. The superstious way of looking at it, we "fan tai sui" this yr. After the appt, it will be near CNY. Hopefully, next yr will be better. I'm really paranoid with this superstitious things & pantang after so many MC.

Athen,
Same,i was freak out n sleepless the night b4 my 1st appt wf gynae,i believe everyone who went thru m/c will share the same fear as us.
Tiger is oso not a good yr for me n my hb.We just went to temple to "return tai sui".
U r not the only one who paranoid.I am super paranoid.I forbidden my hb cut his finger or toe nails during my pregnancy.No sweeping of floor underneath the bed,no repair(even my water heater was spoilt),etc...I was so careful this time yet i still lost the bb. I wonder if it was bcoz the "haze" that i breathe in just weeks after i conceived?I can't stop blaming myself.I oso wonder could it be my constant crying after quarreled wf my hb due to my inlaw?

pls don't give up.Carry on what Dr mahesh asked u to do,then see how.Take 1 step at a time.Even if we're not going to hv another child,we still hv to stay strong n healthy for our kids,aren't we?

I console myself tat buddha has everything planned for us.Mayb this is not the wrong timing.We did a lot of things b4 ttc this time.We shifted to a smaller hse,thought of changing fengshui could help me to hv bb successfully.We went for tour b4 ttc n my hb even quit his job to take care of me.
At the end,we still lost the bb.However,my son got into good school by chance.If we still stay put our old hse,he won't be able to get into this school.
I believer everything happened has its reason.I noe it is easier to say than done.I oredi half hearted coz i think it is very rare (1%) for woman like me who experience 4m/c.

Let Dr Mahesh runs all the tests,then u might wanna sit down with him to review thru all the results.Go for 2nd opinion if u r nt comfortable.

Yaya,
keep ur gynae informed abt ur status.If necessary,schedule a scan immediately.

I oso hv light to heavy spotting on & off.My gynae insists i've to call him b4 taking cytotec.

Ling,
I admire ur courage!

Avocado,

May I know how to pray tai sui & return tai sui? When to pray? I did not go to pray tai sui this yr until it was after CNY.

I'm also under a lot of stress from my MIL during all my preg. She blame my difficult preg on not resting for 1 month & did not take TCM after my previous MCs, etc. So after my 3rd MC, I went to EYS TCM & was faithfully drinking TCM med. Things still happen. When we told her Dr Mahesh's view on TCM, she also don believe. Faint. I don like to go to her house on sundays. But to keep her grandson away from her is not fair right?

Athen,
my understanding is u nid to chk whether ur chinese zodiac signs u r born under will "fan"(offend) "Tai Sui" for the coming CNY.For e.g.if ur animal sign conflict wf Tai Sui for coming CNY,u can go to temple,pay some tokens to seek prayers to Tai Sui till 15th of the lunar mth.But remem to return Tai Sui end of the yr.U can chk wf the temple the timeframe(for e.g. Nov till Dec)to return the Tai Sui.

Which EYS did u go?I went to EYS twice at Tiong Bahru Plaza,ended up bad sore throat after taking their medicine.I stopped taking.

I share the dilemma as u.I oso don't like to go inlaw home,not bcoz of my inlaw but due to his SIL.My hb's SIL is a monster.Nobody likes her,including my MIL.But they've no choice coz she stays wf my inlaw home.I hv not visited my inlaw home for years but i go there few times per wk to drop off my son so i can run some errands(buy groceries)n do some hsework.While my hb will pick up my son n dinner after work.Since my son will be P1 next yr n with all his enrichment classes n ECA,which make it impossible for me to put him at my inlaw home.I even thought of cooking dinner everyday so my hb doesn't nid to go bk to collect dinner so keep minima contact with them n avoid gossip.But like what u said,we cant keep the hb n grandson from them,right?
But i oso find it sickening whereby my inlaw n his SIL always try to find out our personal lives from my son.

Athen,
i think we just save our energy to recuperate our health than trying to get the elderly to understand our situations.They'll nvr understand.My mum just brushed me off n said:"U r fated to hv one child,stop trying"
My MIL said:"since u always so stress up,one child is enuff"

u r still young,u oredi half way thru,i am sure Dr Mahesh will able to treat u.I am worst,i am oredi in mid 30s.But my gynae very cute,he told me his wife gave at age of 43.

avocado,

I only got to know my hubby & myself fan tai sui in Mar or Apr this yr. Went to pray. I guess a bit late liao. So do I need to return Tai Sui? Very confuse with this Taoist practice. My mum is a buddhist so she also don know. What do I need to bring to return Tai Sui? When I did a late prayer, the temple lady said to bring a bot of oil & 4 different fruits (not sure if I remember wrongly).

I went to EYS paragon specialist clinic. I was seeing Dr Zhong. She gave me an tai med when I was 4 weeks. But stopped drinking after I started bleeding heavily. I started to see her after 3rd MC. Initially was a bit heaty, I went back to her to adjust the composition. Then ok liao.

Even if I don go to MIL place, she'll call my hubby & make some stupid comments such as shd go KKH, Dr counted the LMP wrongly, etc, on my preg. It really gives me lots of stress. When I was in hosp in TMC, she calls me everyday to check if my bleeding or spotting has stopped. I know she is concern of me. But really giving me unncessary stress on thinking when the bleeding will stop. This DIL & MIL problem will never end. Sigh..

I'm not young anymore. 36 yrs old liao. Eggs stored in ovaries for 36yrs. Imagine stock stays in warehouse for 36 yrs. Quality sure not so good rite? Ha...

Athen,
i am not sure if u nid to return Tai Sui,perhaps u might wanna to chk wf the temple u went?I believe u've to seek prayer to Tai Sui b4 15th of lunar mth.For my case,i just followed my mum n frd instruction,i remem i went to temple soon after CNY.We gave them our names n token,then the lady will give prayers to us.There is a notice pasted in the temple stated the dates u can return to return the prayers.We didn't bring anything to return prayers.We gave an ang pao to the lady after she helped us to return the prayer.We oso gave some donation as usual.

I heard abt Dr Zhong,is she the one who always go bk to China frequently?

Hey,my frd,same!my MIL oso will call my hb during the day we're not going bk.In fact,my hb goes bk everyday except wkend n public holidays.When we 1st got married,she called my hb the 2nd day AM after our customary!I understand she can't bear to leave her son,but she once told her relatives during my presence:"my son has "married away",no time for us"We actually went bk for dinner after work everyday,it was her dear SIL who chased us out n asked us to get a house outside.How can she expect to c her son more often since we're not staying 2gether?
To be frank,sometx i wonder if our MILs reali care abt us or they're just putting out of a good show.I ganna many times.When i was having bleeding during my 1st m/c,i asked my mil came to help us,she didn't bother n said bleeding is normal.when i called n asked her help to tak care my son coz run out of milk powder,she said she can't help.Then later asked my hb if i nid help.So now i clever,if i nid help fr. her,i just go to the "normal mgmt protocol" n her manager who is my hb,to ask her for help.

I can understand exactly how u feel,U oredi felt so frustrated n worried for ur preggie,yet,her constant calls became a nagging n pressure to u.I am more nasty,sometx,i just ignored my MIL call or i told her i am busy.

If i've made an effort to try to get a person to understand,yet,he/she couldn't understand,i just gave up n start giving excuse to avoid or entertain him/her.Aiya,i think we've no choice coz we can choose our partners,but can't choose the inlaw.I keep telling myself afterall they r the parents to my hb,they raised him up n it is his duty to tak care his parents.So i've no choice but to endure for the sake of my hb.

At that time,u wished ur hb could stand up for u n tell his mother stop calling us coz we nid rest n oredi felt so trouble.Unfortunately,they'll nvr do that,right?

u r still young,Athen.My frd,40yrs old,just gave birth to her 1st son last yr after trying for years.She has infertility issue,nvr hv m/c,but just cannot conceive.Whereas my case is different,can conceive easily but don't know why my eggs r all rotten or either my good eggs do nt good "filtering system" n let bad sperms went in.