Support group - Miscarriages

Pui Pui, I guess when u stop spotting, u can have intercourse again. You are going back to yr gynae for another chkup right? Can chk if the womb has contracted

Ladies, I didn't read through all the posts but I am sad to see some new nicks here. Please dun lose hope, everyone. What is important is to stay healthy and positive.

BB dust to all !

hi droopy,

thanks, i will be seeing my dr tis friday and get him to do a full check up..he says a min of 3 mths is sufficient to try again..but i rather take things slower to let my lining build up otherwise same thing will happen again, so rather not take any chances

Oic...
Seems like I oso had light spotting on & off, some times nothing at all & it's only my 5th day today.....

Yes, I do feel some light cramping occasionally, think it shd be the contracting of womb bah.... Going for the check-up next Thurs....

hi tattybear,

same here on 4th day now, sometimes have light mucus blood or thick sticky brown discharge with occasional cramps..at times, nothing at all so i tot clear liao, but it comes back on and off.

did ur dr give u any antibiotics? mine said no need..but i avoiding sex for now since i read on internet, to abstain for 2 weeks. but i will ask my doc tis friday if safe to proceed.

tattybear and puipui,
Its my 10th day already. And its the same. Suppose to go for check up today but got soemthing on. So will only be going on this thurs.

juz wan to update u abt me....I had my 2nd cycle after D&C and now waiting for my 3rd cycle. B4 preggie, my cycle is very regular(b/w 28-30daes). however, after tis m/c, my cycle goes a bit haywire.....the 1st cycle came almost on the 4th wk after d&c n 2nd cycle came on CD36...as for the 3rd one, i m still wondering..todae is CD29...
i rem on CD24 or 25, there's veri little light brown discharge den on the nx dae veri light pinkish discharge...izzit normal? itz nt the whole dae thingy but den i find it weird...rite now no symptoms of PMS too but juz tat get hungry easily....i oso experience slight pain (on n off) on my rite side..i guess itz ovulation....wat do u gals think?

hi d woof, my cycle also went haywire after D & C.
B4 that, my cycle 28-30 days, now its about 31-35.
Also, like you i don't have any PMS symptoms ..and i used to have vv bad cramps, but now, my menses is pain free...

hello athlete,
u mean there's no sign of PMS symptoms at all...i rem the last cycle i haf bloated stomach.....did u take any TCM or any medicine? so r u worried abt ur cycle like me? anyway i try not to think n b more positive...nx mth on the 5th i will be gng for a hol..so if this mth my cycle is delayed, it will be beta for me too as my last cycle is on the 4th...however, i m worried tat i will haf difficulty in conceiving...

hi dwoof,

have u taken a pregnancy test just to confirm? unusual cycles doesnt mean u havent ovulation problems and u can still get pregnant anytime..in fact, its those with unusual cycles tat have to take extra precaution cause u can pregnant without knowing. why dun make an appt to see ur gyne to check and at least clear ur fears and worries.

valencia, have u stopped bleeding yet? i was onli spotting on and off but i b\noticed tat i have increased blood stains..not a heavy flow but more on the fresh red than brown staining..is it normal..still have 2 more days to my doc appt.

hi puipui,

yup, the doc prescibed me antibotics & i have just finished the whole course today.... for me, i think better to be on the precautionary side....

yes, same... i oso have some increased blood stains (fresh red) yesterday & today.... dunno how come.... thot it's spotting on & off & suddenly some blood stains? is it normal too?

hello puipui.
hope tat u r on the road to recovery.....
pregancy test? u mean u suspect i m pregnant...not possible lah..din "do" during the "dangerous period"
from the previous review, my gynae asked me to see him in 3mths time which is end of the mth....so i guess i will make an appt wif him nearer to the end of the mth....today is CD30 so i guess i will wait for another few more daes..
tks anyway...take care

puipui,
I wasnt bleeding. Its juz spotting. On off having brown discharge. Yes, ard the 4th to 5th day, there were blood stains together with mucus like discharge. Going to see gynae tmr morning. Hope I m well.

want to share my experience, i just went for my d&c last week, it was my 2nd miscarriage. As I had seen this gynae for my 1st mc, I had my full trust in him. But this time round , i guess things didn't go so well.
A week after my d&c, I went back to work. I was in the midst of my meeting when I felt i was having lots of discharge. (For the past 2 days, I was only spotting lightly)But that morning, i realised that I was bleeding like I was having my menses. When I tried to get up, I realised that my skirt was soaked with blood. It was a horrifying experience for me as nothing like that happened for my first d&c. Then when I went to clean up in the toilet, large blood clots started coming out and I rushed to see my gynae immediately. After a thorough check, gynae found that a scratch at the cervix was the cause of the bleeding as a sharp instrument was used on the cervix during the d&c and may have caused the scratch. My gynae said that there was no bleeding at the cervix during the d&c and usually cuts at the cervix heals pretty quickly on its own and mine was a pretty rare case. Anyway, he stitched up the cut and my bleeding stopped.

I wrote this just to share that something like that may happen though it is supposely pretty rare.

since this is my 2nd mc, i'm really pretty worried abt my chances of having children. So can ladies with 2 or more mc but subsequently suceeded in having children, give me a few words of assurance that ultimately, I'm able to have children?

divine,
That was exactly what happened to my mum. But hers wasnt fm d&c. But from her c-section of me. So, I woulnt say its really "that" rare.

puipui,
Went to see my gynae already. He told me its normal to have the "spoting". Would expect to clear in another week time.

thks valencia, feel more reassured. was wondering why its taking so long for the spotting to stop.

divine, thks for sharing ur story..at least it helps to make us more aware and be more cautious as well. my aunty oso had a number of miscarriages and an abortion cause her baby was abnormal..after tat she had 2 kids who are all grown up in secondary school now..i guess sometimes things are very difficult to say..im oso worried tat i cant carry a child normally..tis oso my 2nd miscarriage..i heard repeated d&c can affect fertility so i really hope tat i wun suffer the pain and disappointment again. dun worry, i think for us, its normal to have such fears but we can onli help to encourage one another and be strong. take care

puipui,
I was complaining to the gynae's asst abt it before I went in to him. She explained as its something similar to the "discharge" after delivery.

divine,
Forget to add. I did expres my concern to my gynae on the d&c. He said that wouldnt impair the chances of getting preg. But gotta wait at least 3 mths before trying.

dear gals,

i am so sad to come back to this thread again. i don;t know how i can deal with this second loss.

after resting for more than 3 months, i' ve gathered the courage to go for a another round of IUI last month and to our surprise, it worked and i got pregnant again.

i am around 5 weeks plus with a good hcg level as of tuesday, however yesterday i started spotting in the afternoon, though by late afternoon, the spotting stopped, feeling worried, i went to TMC 24 hr.

my regular gynae is on leave and another gynae took over. he couldnt find the sac and the blood hcg test showed that the hcg have dropped.

this is not a viable pregnancy. the gynae doesn't recommend that i go for D & C as i already done one just 5 months ago.

at this point in time, the spotting has stopped with no medicine. anyone knows when is it likely for the uterus to contract and expel the tissue?

dear ladies, all we can do is to really take good care of ourselves, keep praying and keep trying, isn't it?

val, thnks for sharing. so at least i'm not the only 'unfortunate'one to experience that!

anyone has any good chinese physician to share?

sorry to hear of what happened to u bbmaking..
pls stay strong and any doubts, do consult ur gynae..
they are the best person to consult and advise u..

Hi everyone here,

How have everyone been? D_woof, thewife,charis?
I'm waiting for my 2nd AF which is supposedly to be due next week and I'm flying off for my Honeymoon next Friday. Doubt can have a made in Europe bb liao, coz calculated my estimated O date seem to be end of May where Im back in Sin liao. Sigh. We arent intending to wait for 3 cycles. Will try on 2nd cycle and we may not strike even.

Anyway, just to share, Im tracking my BBT and using OPK to start tracking when I'm gonna ovulated, so that in May can have rough estimation. I'm bringing in OPKs at affordable prices, so if any one is interested, can pm me.

Ryes,
Maybe I am not of any position to say. But I would like to suggest to wait for the 3rd AF b4 u try. Cos need to build up the lining etc. My gynae said 3rd too. I am sure there is a reason behind it.

hello ryes,
i m fine here...gng for a hol nx mth.....currently i m waiting for my 3rd AF....cycle goes a bit haywire liao..cant predict when it will come....the 2nd AF came on CD36 and todae oread CD32...so i guess the length of my cycle oreadi gets longer as compared to the length of my cycle b4 m/c....wat to do...

well, now i take things easy lor....let it takes its nature coz my cyle is not regular liao....dunno when it wil be back to regular cycle....haiz
hope tat urs will be regular....

bbmaking,
I hope tat miracle will happen .......maybe itz a mistake made by the gynae....take care!

beary, hama,

thansk for yr consolation. this is so hard to bear not just because it's the second time it happened, but because it's after so many months of hormones treatments and two IUI.

d woof,
this pregnancy was going so well, hcg has risen over the days, no cramps, no spotting, even MS has started, then out of sudden had spotting.

i've seen anohter gynae yesterday and she said it's not a good pregnancy and advise us not to hold too much hope. there is no known reason for this happening.

will decide on monday on what to do.

thru out all...one thing going through my mind is..why must this happen again. how many times must i lose my baby before the gynae will act to find out the cause of it.

Hi babymaking,
I am sorry that you have to go through this again
Hugs...
Do take good care of yours and your hubby's health in whichever method (western medicine, diet, chinese medicine, alternative health, complementary health) you have faith in. I dunno if you will agree with me, but I do have a strong believe in health in both husband and wife is very important for future problems free and successful pregnancy, cos I personally went through that stage...

Hi babymaking

So sad to hear about your loss. Take Care!

I remember reading an article before about someone who kept having miscarriages and found out later that she had some form of diabetes. After treatment, she conceived successfully and carried the baby to full term. You might wanna check that out.

hi babymaking,

sorry to hear abt ur case..i knw how u feel cause i experienced exactly the same thing as u..had a very good hcg level then ard 5 to 6 weeks, had spotting for 1 day then stopped..no bleeding or cramps at all..so onli ard 7 weeks, had a scan and the baby had no heartbeat..but i was allowed to have a d&c done as my 1st miscarriage, i delievered my triplets naturally..i understand ur frustration cause my both pregnancies were by ivf and i conceived 4 mths after my first loss. i always cry and ask why tis is happening to me as well..i even worry tat i may not conceive again..but wat to do, we have to be strong and have faith..do take care..pls have a 2nd opinion in ur case, cause my gyne said its not good to leave the baby inside for too long as its likely to cause an infection..u can try asking if there are any alternatives.

dear lyn,

thanks for yr advice. will work towards improving our health before we try again, though i must say that the gynaes did say that IVF will stand a better chance as the embroyos can be graded before implantation.

chances are that the previous two pregnancies didn't work because of either poor egg or sperm quality plus high LH levels.

and IVF will address those issues.

mashy,

thks for bringing up that article. i read something similar to it, that diabetes thing which can be cause by PCOS which high level of insulin in the body which causes or may lead to type 2 diabetes.

i am already on treatment for that but sighs, too bad it didn't prevent it from happening again.

dear pui pui,

i have read your story here before and i am really grateful that despite your loss you can offer me consolation.

you are much stronger than i am. all the strength i have now is being conserved to control myself..that i dun do soemthing silly much less console another person! kudos.

the gynae who did my last d & C suggested that i do not do it again as it's quite soon after the last d & c about 5 months and he did say that it's vry damaging to go thru it again.

i understand your concerns abt infection because i feel the same way. but then i am also worried that repeated d & c will cause infertility.

will seek another opinion on monday and see how it goes.

HI valencia (valencia_val) and d_woof,

I understand gynae also suggested 3rd cycle too. But then, we thought of trying at 2nd cycle, because I have rested for like 3 months + already leh.

i saw my gyne for a checkup last friday..my womb was alittle tender and i was telling him i felt alittle hot/fever on wed and thurs..so he put me on a course of antibiotics just in case..but i wasnt sure if it was a fever or just my body too heaty as i was taking alot of tonics as well..

but my spotting has stopped since last friday, exactly 1 week..now just have quite abit of yellowish with egg like discharge..does tat mean im ovulating? but im not using any protection leh, so not sure if safe or not..did any of ur gynes give a pap smear? im thinking of requesting for 1..is it necessary?

babymaking, oh no lah..im not strong..i still grieve for my loss just like everyone here..i jus feel its not the end, maybe i have personally seen my relatives lose a number of their own babies either through miscarriage or abortion cause abnormal. 1 even at 6 mths, twins. they could suckle and drink milk like normal babies and were growing..but they were like in a coma and so in the end, they were taken off oxygen and passed away..so maybe i see how alot of women suffer just to have kids but their peservarence paid off and many of them are mothers now..

hello ryes,
go wif ur heart,as long as u feel comfortable..

feeling fustrated......todae oreadi CD35 n den my AF has nt turned up...last cycle, it came on CD36...y is my cycle is long.....itz so difficult to predict my o daes..

Hi d_woof,

the more i read the more i get scared at times what if my 2nd time I fail also. Haiz..think too much also no use.

Will give it a try this month and see how. May not be so lucky to strike also...

How come your cycle is much longer for 3rd one..mmm....tot by 2nd or 3rd, it should go back to normal liao? dun worry k

hi d_woof,

heard tat it will take some time for the cycles to normalise again, sometimes even many months..its definitely frustrating but my gyne said tat sometimes taking birth control pills for 1 to 2 mths can help to normalise periods.. as to how effective and true tis is, im not sure.

im oso waiting for my first cycle now.

Hi puipui / d_woof

Am on birth control pills to regulate my sys. My gynae said that they are actually hormone pills. I think it works cos it stopped my non-stop spotting after mc. Looking forward to TTC again in June when I complete my pill course end May

puipui - My gynae will do a pap smear for me when I go see him in jun. He said it is necess for me to check if all clear and clean to TTC again
I also took antibiotics for a wk after mc to remove any remaining infection / germs inside..

hi volf20,

tats great, end of may is coming real soon..my gyne didnt say if he will do pap smear for me in june..but i think i will advise him to give me one jus in case.

so far, i asked him when my 1st cycle will come, but he say hard to say leh..so i can oli wait and see..he didnt give me any birth control pills but if by 1st of june, tats my appt with him, still not here, i will ask him if need to prescribe..but thanks, at least, i knw its impt to do a pap smear.

hey ryes,
i m not sure too...dunno y itz dragging to come...all i can do is hope for it to come....tml i m gng to KKH for checkup..will ask the gynae for advise..moreover, i will haf to make an appt wif my usual gynae tis mth for review...itz oreadi 3mths liao..so fast hor...

puipui,
taking birth control pills? will it den affect our fertility? will seek advise from the experts...

volf,
hw long do u haf to be on the pills before conceiving again?

hi dwoof,

which gyne u seeing? im going to kkh for an appt as well but on june 1, she is dr shiela loh..i tot of switching to sf loh, heard he is quite good oso..but i pai seh cause sheila loh with me for some time. but her waiting time is atrocious, always min 2 to 3 hours.

mm, yeah u should seek more advise from the experts so tat they can give u a clearer picture..i used to have a period every 2 to 3 mths..so my gyne always put me on a pill for at least 2 mths to help me mensurate mthly and refresh my ovaries before going on fertility treatments..so far i dun have any side effects and i still manage to get pregnant after coming off the pill the next mth..so i dun think it affects fertility.

can i jus ask, today is my 9th day since d&c and i completed my 3 day course of antibiotics just yesterday..but i noticed tat i keep having tis really thick and yellow discharge now..is it normal? im not having any pains or foul smell..

Need some advice. I am currently preparing for FET, went to see gynae to scan the lining, discover some polyps along the lining and suggested D & C to remove the polyps. Should I seek 2nd opinon? I seen someone post that after D&c af only come after 10 weeks, is that normal? when can I start trying after D & C.
Really dun know what to do, proceed or not??

hi d_woof - my gynae put me on 2 mths worth of pills. 1 daily. He said that I can try again once I complete the pills + after an all clear check-up with him in 1st wk jun. The pill has regulated my hormones I think, but just that it puts me on mood swings ... I get cranky and touchy and sensitive v easily these days.. and sad to say, I do take it out on my dear hubby. I get rather snappish at times... altho I consciously try to stop myself. Maybe it is a side effect fr these hormone pills...

Val - just wrote back to you already...

hello puipui,
my gynae is in private practice...gng to KKH coz i m holding on a civil service card so it will be cheaper....appt was made by the polyclinic so i m nt sure which gynae i m seeing tml....hopefully a good one n the waiting time is not too long as there's appt time but i m prepared to wait....no choice...
tks for the assurance...mayb i will find out more y this is happening before i make any decision...

volf,
the irregular cycle happens onli aft ur m/c rite? i m quite upset by it as it really affect the plan...u cant predict which dae it will come...haiz
take things easy ok...anyway i try to look on the brighter side lor...will be gng on a hol nx mth....so the delay has prevent it fm coming during my hol...

Hi d_woof,

review for? my gynae nv ask me go back for review leh. We tot when strike liao then go back to him...

hi d_woof: Actually I dun have any menses since my mc. I went to my gynae as I was spotting for 7 wks after mc. He checked and found that my sys went haywire ... so now on hormone pills to reg. it. He said if sys cont to be haywire, v hard to predict fertile periods etc.and affect TTC. ALso said that once off the pills, can try cos sys will be reg....

Ryes- gd to go for review. Gynae can check if inside clean and gd... and can even check if your follicles are ripening / forming and if you lining is of a suitable thickness. ie. too thick or too thin - no gd. U can't get preggy. Go armed with your period cycle dates and let gynae know if period was heavy or light etc.

i went for a check up today at thr raffles hospital clinic cause i was concerned abt my discharge. seems that since i had already done a pap smear last december and the result was normal, its was unnecessary to do another one until 1 year later..

she explained tat the right test is a HVS (High Vaginal Swab) to check for germs and infections.. a pap smear is onli for checking cancer/abnormal cells, esp in the cervix.

so far, she said it doesnt seem like thrush or fungal but more like an overstimulation of mucus due to the hormone changes..so nothing to worry abt.

hi babymaking,
I'm very sorry to hear about this and I dunno what to say.
Very impt to take good care of your health now... dun think too much... I know it's hard but you must be strong...
Take good care gal... *hugs*

I'm new here. I lost my bb last tuesday. I was in my 12th week then. This is my first pregnancy and never think that miscarriage would ever happen to me. It was devestating esp when there is no symptoms at all...bb juz no heartbeat. Was really sad ... but getting emotionally better now. ..
Just wanna chk with you ladies. Is it normal to have bleeding until now since last tuesday. I didnt bleed on the 2nd day but 3rd day onwards continuosly until now. Its not heavy though. Is it normal? Would appreciate to have some advise. Thanks!