Support group - Miscarriages

Congrats to you Puipui...
u have to stay positive and happy and dimish all negative thoughts.. its bad for u and ur unborn child..

Hi Puipui,
Congratulations
I am truly happy for you
It's really a good news... haha... I dunno I have sixth sense or what... I just pop by and I see good news from you

What your friend said is true to a certain extend. Do try to stay positive, happy and relax
It's not easy. Despite telling myself to be happy and positive, sometimes the negative thoughts do come back. Try not to read negative things if you are affected
. It will help. I am following "tai jiao" by Makoto Shichida. Do you read Chinese?
Baby can feel what the mum and dad feel right from conception. So be happy and positive
. Talk to baby now to ask baby to grow healthily and you are thankful for it's existence

Hi Ryes,
Last time, my AF came 10 weeks after D&C. It will vary from person to person
. Dun worry too much. If you are worried, you can see your gynae to get it checked out.

Hi Charis,
Do you have problems of endo, fibroids, cysts, PCOS, etc? If you do, it's not advisable to take evening primrose oil.

puipui,
To reduce the stress from other people, try not to announce the pregnancy so soon till you feel it's stable
It will help in giving you more peace to "yang tai".

Hey Puipui,
been waiting for you to come in n share the goodnews,
saw ur bloodtest results in other thread, so happy n congrats!
ya, I can understand what u mean, keep worry if you will make it thru n bb's health etc...
However, do think postive n make ur body relax more ok?
Talk to ur bb cos he/she will be able to sense ur feelings one...
well look at Droppy,she manage to overcome n give birth to a beautiful n healthy bb gal now

so you can do it, jiayou!
update if you hving singleton/ttwins/triplets, so excited for u!

Volf,
wat hormone pills did your gynae give u?
hmm..understand u taking TCM also, will it crash?
I am thinknig if my 3rd AF nt here next week, also need to go see gynae again, hmm...

Woof,
hmm SGH ah...yalor dunno isit long or nt
find out more frm ur fren, hmm think waiting time, maybe u can choose weekday instead of sat?
weekday waiting time is shorter, hehe best is Monday cos v few ppl one :p

Hi Pui Pui
Congrats! agree with Lyn, dun announce first.
Hi Ryes,
My mense also not here yet, going to 5th week, anyway my mense has always been irregular.

Can share more about Usana Muti Vits?

i just checked, i have some info on the multi vits from usana- it contains soy isoflavones - which are abundent in soybean, and regulate estrogen hormone in our bodies, thus helps to sooth women hormonal cycle problems.

Hi Lyn,

yeah, I keep tellnig myself yours came at 10th week, so i sld still be normal. but then you know lah, worry for nothing.

Hi thewife, yeah, my menses also irregular one le. Still waiting. Had initially tot april come, may come, I can TTC liao, but then aiyo....

HI Ryes,
me too..very sianz..measuring my temp...but its so consistent at 36.2 every morning. are u taking chinese med or vits?
actually to cure irregular mense will be good for our health in the long run.

Hi Volf, I also took the med to stop lactating, but it did not cause too much disturbance to my system, so don't worry too much.

Puipui, I think almost all of us here have the same fear. We'll just have to fight it. I remeber fearing to go toilet as I'm afraid to see red. Then I live in fear as I count down to the 8th wk as that's when I started spotting in the last preg. The I fear to go scanning. And now I still fear for my detailed scan in wk20. But we just have to find ways to not think about these. My hb will change topic when I talk abt these. He refuse to indulge me in these fear and I thkn it helps. I also did not announce to inlaws and did not allow my parents to mention my preg. As I think the extra concern by pple will add pressure on me and affect my preg. I'm going in to my 14 wk, still working on staying positive. But I'm glad so far bb is doing very well. So I shall be a good mum and do as well as bb. You too. Jia You!
Charis, my ex-gynae advise me not to take EPO as he say it hinders conception.

Hi puipui..

CONGRATS! Really so happy for u..Do take care n dont worry too much..GOD is with u & baby.

Hi puppy, lyn, coral, thewife,

Thanks for more info. Puppy..dont worry also..anyway my MIL is selling Usana..so buy form her lah..easy..I actually bought GNC's prenatal muti-vits but she say no good..So no choice i didnt take it. Lyn..dont have endo, fibroids, etc..so shld be ok to take EPO..but coral say not so good also leh..but thing is I ever take BUT i cant say it worked for me..Wat really improve my cycle, n menses cramps n general health was exercise! So now im slowly starting back my exercise regime.

Hi Charis, juz to share an info I found out about EPO quite long ago...

"NOTE: Evening Primrose Oil should only be taken from menstruation (cycle day 1) to ovulation (around CD 14 or when you confirm ovulation has taken place by bbt charting / thermal shift), as EPO may cause uterine contractions. Since essential fatty acids are important, you can also use fish oils rich in Omega-3s or flax seed oil in place of Evening Primrose Oil after ovulation (during the luteal phase). "

I actually did not take EPO once I hit CD14... only start it when menstruation starts again.

Hope this will help you better... I guess what coral referring to by her ex-gynae is that if you take EPO after CD14, it will somehow hinder conception.

Some info found on the web on EPO might help the rest... Ways to enrich your knowledge...:p

"Evening Primrose Oil (EPO) lowers cholesterol, helps to alleviate pms and most importantly here, aids in the production of fertile quality cervical fluid. EPO is an essential fatty acid that contains gamma linolenic acid (GLA). It is converted to a hormone-like substance called prostaglandin E1 which has anti-inflammatory properties and may also act as a blood thinner and blood vessel dilator. The anti-inflammatory properties help people suffering from rheumatoid arthritis. We want to discuss the effects EPO has on pms and cervical fluid.

If you suffer from pms - this is a sign that you are deficient in the fatty acid contained in EPO. EPO can help the body to alleviate the pms symptoms. EPO does a world of good in treating aliments of all sorts.

EPO helps the body to produce more fertile quality cervical fluid also known as "egg white cervical mucus." This is because fertile cervical fluid is thin, watery, clear and "stretchy" and easily aids the sperm to swim through the uterus and into the fallopian tube, and to the egg. If there is a lack in this type of cervical fluid, it can impede and/or prevent fertilization. Some women are very dry, and have problems in producing an adequate amount of fertile quality cervical fluid. Drinking a lot of water and taking the EPO can certainly help in the production of fertile cervical fluid. Also, this type of fluid helps the sperm to stay alive for up to five days inside the fallopian tube, thus enabling conception to happen even if you don't have intercourse again by the time ovulation occurs.

EPO should only be taken from menstruation to ovulation. This is because EPO can cause uterine contractions in pregnancy. The dosage taken should be 1500mg to 3000mg per day. I usually took around 2000 mg of EPO. Since essential fatty acids are necessary, you can take flax seed oil in place of EPO after ovulation. This may be taken throughout pregnancy. Check the label to see the correct dosage.

There are many remedies out there to help with fertility, but few are as good as EPO. EPO is excellent for women because of the help it gives in alleviating pms symptoms, and even menopausal women can benefit from taking it. I have heard of many praises to EPO and the fact that it definitely increases the fertile type cervical fluid. This may take a month or two to build up, and produce the results you are looking for. It is imperative that you chart your fertility symptoms and signs, so you can know when you have ovulated. By knowing this information, you can discontinue the EPO after ovulation and start the flax seed oil. Unless you are very regular, charting your fertility signs is the best tool to determine where you are in your cycle."

Hope it will help...

Puipui, stay positive attitude... = 100% ;)

puipui,
yippee.......so nice to hear tat...take gd care of urself..dun give urself too much stress.....

val,
ya lor....waiting time is the damn thing tat i dun like lor....she said tat she is a very experience doc..she's gng to deliver soon so mayb after she comes back fm maternity leave den ask her lor....

Hi Valerie

Gynae gave me 2mths worth of STRI NORDETTE 21 to regulate my hormones. He said it is a form of contraception & will help regulating my system. He also told me not to try now, as I really nd to rest my womb etc.

I will go back for a full womb & blood check up in end May, and gynae will start with me on family planning in Jun / Jul. So, am really looking forward to that!

Am also taking TCM - cordyceps & Ginseng. Think it is ok cos it's not some special herb that may cause my sys to go haywire? What do u think?

puipui - Many congrats on yr pregnancy! Do take care and try to relax .. I know its easier said than done after what you hv gone through. Am sure I will go through the same thing as you are now when I do get preggy.

Ladies - I read recently that for those TTC, try not to give your hubbys & yrselves drink or eat any soya stuff during yr fertile periods. Heard soya has some chemical that affects the speed the sperm swims, and may even cause the sperm to die off. Dunno how true..but better to take precaution right?!

Hi puppy & volf..

Thanks for the extra info. It would help. Cos im getting Usana's Omega 3 too..very good. Fish oils are good for building up the immune system..everyone's getting flu nowadays.

Charis - ya. Gd to take fish oil. In fact gynae said can still continue to take Neurogain, iron and calcium tablets now to build up body. Am still taking these. He also said to start taking folic acid 1 mth before trying to conceive. Helps reduce the incidence of Down Syndrome for bb.

oh i see Volf,
hehe the name so chim :p
thks, think I will go back to see gynaer and ask her too...
great, u nw tio hoa ur health n start ttc in June/July if you are ready

well can start multi vits too,
hehe, nw all my chix essence my hubby drinking, esp the cordecepys:p
ya the soya thingy I think is true cos Droppy also mention before

ok la, we all just avoid soya stuff!

Volf..oic im taking folic too..but still waiting for 2nd AF & then 3rd AF before TTC.

Hi ryes..I didnt hav to do a blood test, womb scan..it was my choice too see gynae 3 weeks after m/c. I had a natural m/c..i heard for natural m/c if everything/most is expelled out, then the gynae no need much to follow up on. Anyway, he did a blood test jus to make sure HCG is very low or 0..then he did a tummy scan..He told me to see him again this week or next for another scan..to make sure everthing's ok..i guess to see if lining is growing back as normal, womb has shrunk, etc..I feel im ok actually..I think once i get my 2nd AF, everything should be normal again. How abt u? HOw many cycles alrd hav u got after m/c? U didnt do a D & C am i right? and u dont have other underlying problems like PCOS, fibroids, infection, etc. MAyb tat's why u dont really need a so thorough check up, which is good i guess.

BTW, latest news is tat soya is STILL good...BUT...take it in the traditional forms, like tofu, miso soup..Avoid taking soya tablets/supplements..its bad. Not too much soya milk..unless its the traditional kind..those that dont use chemicals, but those that use natural fermentation of the soya beans.

I think the estrogen hormone in those soy tablets is fine if u need a boost with yr cycle..like us after our m/c..BUT not so for men or babies.

ya i heard very contradicting feedback on soya, i bought 1 but dun dare to eat. Another supplement which has good feedback is vitex, but read somewhere that it raise LH hormone, while reducing a little of FSH hormone, so i dun dare as well as i already have elevated LH. Then, I heard that B-complex is not bad, includes folic acid, helps to reduce stress etc

hey hey ladies!!!
Good Friday is such a blessing! My menses is here!!!!

I'm so happy!

hi Charis,

today is my 1st AF only. I did a D&C on 18th Feb

Hi ryes..

Good for u!

I got my 2nd AF 2 days ago also..Yeah..less heavy than the 1st one..things looking gd..May TTC soon..may not wait for 3rd AF.

hey ryes,
yippee......ur AF is here liao...so tis is ur 1st cycle huh? so hopefully urs wun go haywire for the 2nd one...gd luck!

doggy,
no worries ok...it will come...itz a matter of time........as u noe it varies fm pple to pple....dun stress urself or else it mite cause the delay.

charis,
wow...2nd cycle is here..gd gd gd...my 2nd cycle is juz over..but den seems like my cycle is quite long...1st cycle is abt 10daes before it clear n 2nd one is 8daes....wonder wat happen....is urs regular?
i m quite hesitant leh...in my mind i wan to take it naturally (no protection aft this cycle) but den on the other hand...afraid of failure again.....

HI doggy,

I was so afraid that it wont come and even bought a test kit to test if I was pregnant again. Haha, am now so happy and yet suffering, because it is very heavy flow and severe cramps leh. Seems like it keeps flowing non-stop kind.
How long on avg does 1st AF ends?

Hi Charis, ask u,what's the days apart from ur 1st af and 2nd af? Is it 28 days or diff alot? I am afraid my 2nd af would arrive when I'm on honeymoon...You not gonna wait for 3rd AF? Meaning this time when 2af finish, u will start TTC har. I also tot of my 2af finish the start too leh, which is about in May too, provided it comes in May.

Hi Ryes/D woof,
I hope mine will come soon coz me going for honeymoon this early May too. As it will be my 1st AF after my M/C, worried it will come during my holiday

hello doggy,
where will u b gng for ur HM? well, i guess it will come soon.......i m now planning for a trip in JUne wif my hb but den i can depart on the 2nd wk of june...according to my last AF is on 4th Apr, if itz regular den i mite strike it when i m on the hol but den i cant do anything as well...so haf to take it when itz here....maybe it will come after ur trip..no worries ok?

Hi thewife,

yeah, my menses is always irregular one. I think 5+weeks may be abit early. Maybe you wait somemore, sure to come one.

Hi Doggy, where u gg for honeymoon? I'm flying on 12th to Spain & Portugal. I think mine will come during my honeymoon ah, coz I am going from 12th all the way till end of the month.

HI ryes,
wow spain and portugal! how much is your package? I'm hoping to travel (long trip) if im not preggie this year. at least its something we wont be able to do if we start to have kids.

Hi dwoof & ryes..

My cycle was all along regular..ard 28-30 days.
1st AF after m/c was 4 weeks after. Lasted for ard 7 days..but spotting continued till CD10.. too ryes..first few days rather heavy with bad cramps..looks like its pretty normal so dont worry..
2nd AF is on CD 33..but flow more manageable, cramps not as bad as 1st AF..like normal actually. Now is day5..flow taper down a lot. I think 3rd AF should go back to 28 days cycle.

Im also going for honeymoon end of april-early may..jus before 3rd AF is due..I hope it wont be early..cos then its not regulating back to 28 days then. But even if it arrives during holiday i think 3rd Af shouldnt be so heavy anymore.

I also read up that the first few cycles after m/c is usually not very regular..Most women seem to get it after CD28, usually CD32, some even CD35. But after that it should regulate..
For me, I pray & hope lah..that all be well.

Ya doggy..im quite fearful too..But i guess we'll jus try..unprotected..if conceive then good lah..if not its ok..wait after 3rd AF. U know..we should jus enjoy our holidays, relax, eat well, exercise..& i believe we can conceive naturally.

Hi ryes,
I will be flying to Italy, Germany, Holland, Italy etc etc...all the Eastern europe countries....mee too will be back on end of may...my menses has all along been regular and hopefully it will be on my honeymoon period if not, yes, like wat Charis said, fearful and very troublesome!!!

Hey Charis, where you going for your honeymoon? You just got married too?

Hi doggy..
Wow..europe! Tat's fortunate.

Im going to tasmania, melbourne, sydney..should be all 3 cities if can..But we still deciding..cos tasmania is pretty tough for me..cos of all the hiking..health not as good after m/c (i have asthma). So we should be going to sydney cos its more relax..

I got married last nov..planned honeymoon in feb actually..but found out was pregnant..tot of going ahead cos we booked the flight alrd..but then had the m/c, so cancelled the trip, Qantas gave us full refund.

Hi Ryes,

My menses flow was as usual as before... Lasted for 5 days... 1st 2 days as norm... heavy but no cramping... the 3rd and 4th day.. norm and 5th day flow is light... That's what I have been experience in the past...

Hi thewife and doggy, don't stress, your AF will come... ok... relax a bit...

To those going for your honeymoon... enjoy...

hey gals,
me planning to go on a trip....korea or japan? feel free to give comments as i cant decide b/w these two places...

doggy,
enjoy ur trip! i travelled to Swiss, Paris n london...dun tink i will get to go to other parts of europe liao.....

hi d woof,
me personally went to Korea and Japan before and i wld recommend Japan.....

Hi Charis,
Ya, better dun go those hiking blah blah....Sydney is nice, used to work there for a while, miss there in fact..tho alone but enjoy my stay there....u enjoy too

Me went to see chinese physician yesterday, one of the TCM recommend by IVF Support group thread. Ws given medicine to strengthen the womb....hopefully my next try will be a success!!!

Hi thewife (thewife)

My pkg cheap leh, 12days just $2798. It's one of the cheapest europe tour pkg lah, as compared to swiss lah, italy lah, etc. Eastern europe is cheap too, $2698. Go to Chan brothers hor, dun go to ananda. We are still waiting for our refund of deposit from them ah!!!

thanks girls for contributing on how your menses flow is like. Mine is day 4 today and it does tapers much lesser liao. Phew. Cramps also gone liao. Hubby got so worried that I'm losing too much blood, he brew the red-dates longan for me.awww..so unlike him.

charis, what does CD stands for? is it the same as like CD1 = menses day 1?

Hi ryes..Yup..CD-cycle day 1 - so on. Good things look normal for u..Day 4 flow should taper down..

Im suppose to see gynae this weekend..but i didint cos i tot easier to do scan after menses..right?

Hi doggy..

Really..u worked there..cool..how are the roads there? Cos my hubby wants to drive up to Blue Mts, Wollongong, Port Stephens.

just finshed my 4th cycle of AF after D & C, and finally, this cycle, the flow seems to be getting back to normal. the 1st 3 ones were super heavy and last v long , but this time was almost back to my pre D & C flow.
So think our cycle might take about 3-4 months before they regulate...
and am on my 2nd mth of ttc. this month, i used OPK, and BD on the 3 days after got the dark OPK line..am currently on my 2ww... hopefully i'll strike.

Hi charis,
we went to sydney last june and drove up to the blue mts, hunter valley and port stephens. the roads were good and we had lotsa fun. let me know if you need anymore info...
me planning a trip to melbourne in june...anyone been there?

hi athlete,

what is this OPK thing? Can share? You said you are on 2nd month of ttc. meaning to say u start ttc on 3rd cycle is it?

Hi doggy(mar bride),
which TCM is that? Im seeing one at yio chu kang, took medication for a month, mense still not here. I wonder for pple with regular mense, how should you determine whether the TCM is effective anot.
Hey Ryes,
wow so envious leh...i want to go too..sob sob.. Oh and your hubby is sooo sweet....

hi ryes,
OPK is Ovulation Predictor Kit. Its like the pregnancy kit, but instead you test to find out when is your most fertile days.

yup, i started TTC again after my 3rd cycle...

hi thewife,
Its at Marine Parade....i wont say TCM is effective or not...or rather TCM is slower in terms of healing and is more of "tiao" our health. According to his "da mai", my AF will be here soon...hopefully he is right!!! Like wat i said, i was given medicine to tiao my health thats to stregthen my womb. He was recommended by my fren as she got pregnant after seeing him, so, just give it a try lor....

Hi Charis,
The road is not very rocky and is rather safe to drive. Enjoy....