Support group - Miscarriages

Jo just make appt for next week!! Super KS....lol actually not too far maybe abt 10 mins drive ..
of course will share with you girls..

Jtml, try again okay must be persistent!! ;) may you strike next cycle....

Hello everyone... thread moves so fast that I have a hard time keeping up.

AF finally reported today !!!!! A small part of me was a little dissappointed and sad because it reminds me of the painful past but another part of me is glad that it came and can put a closure to what happened and I can start all over again....

I was thinking should I be like you Ling to take my temperature and chart my cycle dilligently to at least try to strike.....

Hi vivi
congrat that ur af is here..;) be prepared that it maybe abit heavy than ur normal af but still depend on individual.. U trying this cycle? Then u shd try chart ur bbt if u hope to strike soon..;) hope we can all strike together this cycle.. Jiayou..

Ling,
nope. it's not here yet. close to 2 months late alr.

I really can't cope with all these new baby news that's gng around me.

I wanna just hold up and hide at home. just did that for the past 3 days...

Hi Lynn,
2 months is quite long. Maybe u should reconsider to c ur gynae?

Hey gals,
visit my gynae today. All seem ok but he wan me to do another round of hcg test next week to ensure it clear.

Anyone heard about a test call miscarriage profile? I asked my gynae about anyway to check why miscarriage occurs . He mentioned tis but I a bit blur didn't asked for mire details. 

Hi Lynn
me too.. Dun feel like visiting this yr... Glad i manage to siam most relatives places visiting.. Only meetup with my parent and in law and my hb sis and bro who already know i hv mc recently so didnt say anything.. Glad all this visiting is ending soon..;) pls go and see ur gynea to checkup wht happen to ur AF k..

Hi Jovial
for mine, gynea got suggest kyrototyping.. Never heard of miscarriage profile too..

Girls,

This morning had a bad dream! Dreamt that hubby have a woman outside and I suspect is because I cant give him a live baby anyway the dream was too vivid that made me shuddered. Woke up crying. Hubby was so pissed because he insist I too stress and said if I continue we will not TTC because he dont want to see me like that. Dont know why I become like that.. Sigh.. I am definetely stronger than that!! Anyway is wu liao lah..

Vi, I am glad you have closure.. earnestly waiting for my turn!! Although I have sub consciously took my bleeding as a period. =P. Try BBT works rather well in my opinion. I went without protection more than 1 year never strike. The moment I monitor my BBT strike both within 2 months. Go and buy today because BBT should take on CD1 onwards.

Jovial, who is your gynae.. I also thinking of doing a miscarriage profile but my gynae insist dont want try 1 more time because she say will add additional stress and worries which is not good. Are you feeling better ald? If natural bleeding hope everything is out ald.

Lyn,Go make an appt with the gynae.. just for peace of mind.

Anyway I have done a lot of readings after the 2nd mc and decided to try and see if I can prevent mc on my own..I will take baby asprin on my own once I get BFP and from ovulation onwards will start applying progestrone cream if AF report than will stop... Both have no side effects on health infact recommended for ppl to maintain a healthy lifestyle. I have reached that stage where I will try just about anything... if my hubby knows about this I am so going to get it.

Hi ling,
hugz. Guess u may not know it but u r quite stress or trumatise over the whole incident. Ur hubby muz be very worry that's y he so worked up.

My gynae is doc Ho sk from mt A. He only mentioned miscarriage profile when I ask If there is anyway to know more why all these happened.

Anyway, I have decide not to do it. I read up a lot after my
mc. N I feel the more I know that more I worry... For me I guess knowing more things make me more stress cos I come to know having a healthy baby is really not easy. I had a easy 1st baby gal 3 years back. At that time, I just go along with it. Enjoying the whole pregnancy. Put all trust in my gynae's hands. But this round I feel stress.... All these are not doing me any good. So now I decide to try again without doing any test.

Just take good care of our health n the baby will come when ready. Ling, try to relax. I know it's difficult but try. Our hubbys will be worry n heartache if we so stress up.try again, together.

Hugz

Ling,

*hugs* They say ri4 you2 suo3 si1, ye4 you2 suo3 meng4 (what you think in the day, you will dream at night). Maybe hanging around here is a bad idea cos while it's a support group, we are constantly reminded of unhappy things...

Surely your HB loves you more than whether you will bring him bbs soon enough or not! Have a bit more faith in him lah!

Btw, you stay in Punggol? I'm around there too, but will be shifting out next month to YCK.

I have to agree with Ling on BBT. My good friend tried since Sept 09 cycle and only started charting BBT in Jan 10. She based on CM to gauge fertility and said her peak CM is normally 2 days after her 7 days menses, which I thought is a bit fast (her normal cycle is 26-28days). After I gave her my BBT thermometer to encourage her to chart, she realised from her charting that her O day was way off from what she thought was her supposed O day! She's not very hardworking when it comes to BD (work stress, back problems, plus she has a active 1+yr old boy to take care), so this helps her to know when to BD smartly instead of blindly.

I personally think it's less effort to pop the thermometer in the mouth every morning than to BD blindly every other day. Super tiring man! And I'm not a rabbit!

Jovial and OP

Frankly this recent mc really didnt get to me leh.. I keep trying to internalize that it was just a really late period which I also sorta accepted it. Dont know how come have such a bad dream.

Anyway I was thinking maybe yesterday watch a bit of the wu liao tv show at ch 8 when I was channel surfing where the hubby married a mistress than at night dreamt all these. ;)

OP,

Become a habit to check here ald.. =E dont check and chat with the ladies cannot help but will feel damn sian at work! When I got preggers the 2nd time I was actually ban from accessing here at home because the hub said I read too many things into everything. Duh.. Anyway will control will control!! Hee!

Me stay at 161B.. you nearby? =) YCK condos and landed properties I heart *drool*

BBT advocate all over this thread man!! =)) OP your baby bump how big ald?

Ling, what does baby aspirin help to do?

I think mine AF missing could be due to PCOS strike back in full force. hai.

just when after this cycle, i was thinking of charting.
cause need to chart from AF day 1 right?

Lynn,

Baby asprin thin the blood to prevent clot to the uterus and is known to stimulate blood flow to the ovaries.

Progestrone cream can help up the progestrone in body so if you suspect luteal phase defect which in my case I suspected I have it due to late O than might increase baby survival.

However having said that if the egg or the sperm have chorosomal issues both wont help anything.

PCOS have no AF? You sure? Sometimes is hormonal issues so might not be lah. Anyway you can start charting anytime just to see what is normal. Than when AF visits can start on fresh sheet again.

Once you visit gynae confirm what is going on than wont be so taxing. dont be so hard on yourself ya.. *hugz*

Ling:

yeah. about the PCOS thingy.my gynae, she say i got mild case of it. cause sometimes i only have 11 menses in a year. but that was before TCM thou.

yah. got chromosome issues. everything based on luck already.

Ling,

Stop watching those crap TV drama serial then! :D

My place is at 101C, opp a coffeeshop and Econ Minimart. Currently, my parents are staying there (to take care of my boy in the day) and I'm putting up at my in-laws vacant apartment at Hougang, just 5mins drive from PG. My in-laws thought it's a good time to cash out on the apartment, so I have to move out. In the end, sold PG flat (sad...) and bought a 3-storey terrace at YCK so that everyone can move in together comfortably (6 of us, including helper) and have sufficient breathing space so that we will not get on each other's nerves. :p Nothing to drool about cos I'm slave to Ah Gong henceforth, and will have to work my ass off until I retire at 62... or longer if Ah Gong so decides that we must continue working and not idle at home lest we turn senile. :p

I really like PG so much... especially with all the big plans coming up for this town. So hate to move away... *sob*

I'm approaching 12wk. Gynae stopped my progesterone 2 days ago, and I'm feeling a little "insecure" now. Oh well... I trust that he knows what he's doing. Am still keeping my fingers crossed and praying hard... :S

OP,

just happen to watch a few minutes of it.. who knows dream all these! haha.. anyway that program is crap lah!

Anyway I was also considering selling our place and buying a land property so my folks can bunk in. However spiralling price too expensive right now. Still I would really like my own garden. Some day! at least when you are home you are Queen mah =) PG is nice.. peaceful right now..cant say about the next time though LOL. I know where your block is at =).. Mine is further down along pg central facing the pathetic sliver of sea view for now...

No need proesterone liao lah.. placenta taken over production ald.. =) I am too praying with you.. everything will be just fine =)

Lynn,

Dont double guess.. go book appt with Dr Wong. It wont do you any good pondering this and that. You know what is wrong you try to rectify now. We can cont to pray but also need human intervention when clue is given that something is not right.

I am not familiar with PCOS actually so I really cant comment.

Hi ling,
wan to ask u how long ur natural bleeding last? Mine was on, off last week. Now more. 1 week now. Hope it will end soon.

Sorry, it took me a long time to write this..cos I was too fearful of a repeat of the last two miscarriages before 10 weeks. Some of you would remember me and my postings from around July/ August 2009. I am now nearly 12 weeks pregnant - should be due early Sept. Nausea has been (and still is) bad, and I am always feeling pukey.

Just wanted to share some good news. Let's hope this one sticks around.

I went to Dr Tan (TCM at Clementi)and started an exercise regime to destress after my last miscarriage. Not sure if these helped me to conceive, but it sure gave me something to focus on other than TTC!

Hi Jovial..

I had on and off spotting but start having light bleeding on a monday- thursday. Had cramps on Friday morning and purge most of the clots tissues etc etc out on that day. After that bleeding started to taper off. By monday when I see my gynae bleeding was like light bleeding and despite gynae giving me the cryotec or whatever of no use the heavy flow never did come. It stopped exactly on Thursday night than no more ald.. not even spotting. So I think it is clear. My gynae say abt 2 weeks is right.. Did the gynae scan your uterine lining to see how thick it was? My sac was abt 6 weeks size so probably wasnt too big

My D and C procedure previously spot for 1 month plus!! arrgghh! So I thought this was really like a regular period just a tad heavier.

Thanx ling,
mine just start to be like period these few days. My gynae cannot see anything this round. No sac. Hope the bleeding will stop soon. Sian.
Ya this is different from d&c. More like period. If I didn't check for pregnancy, guess I probably tot it's late period. I try to think it's late period. It makes me feel better.
Haven start work yet. But very bore at home. Will do some housework to keep myself occupied.

hI Chin

are u feeling very stress when got bfp? May i know what did u do when ttc to diversify ur attention? I try stay relax but diffcult..;( wht exercise did u do? So happy for u that u hv a sticky baby with u now..;) Congrat..

Ling,

Oh, yours is the sea view facing behind Punggol Plaza! Now I know where... :D

Unfortunately, I'm not a garden person - no green fingers. Resale prices of HDB is quite high now. Condo prices also high. But landed appears to be not as crazily high compared to condo. *shrug*

Yes, placenta shld take over production by now. But also got stray cases of m/c after stopping progesterone... perhaps due to unhealthy preg anyway. Oh well... see how it goes lah.

Jovial,

No sac means out ald ... it probably crumbled out or something. Actually most say the bleeding very heavy etc. I dont know but I sometimes have menses more heavy than that with clots..

I also took a home pregnancy test a couple of days again to gage my HSG and it read negative pregnancy test so I think it is all over. Phew! Of course waiting for my dearest dowager to wane her way. The last time it took her 3 freakish months... let's see how long it take her old legs to find me =))

OP, You got it right.. its along the punggol central road. We almost upgrade to a condo but at the eleventh hour I took a reality check and realized landed property is probably only a few hundred K difference so decided PG is the best for now while we look ard for a land property. The agent was so super pissed with us LOL... Anyway is not buying a bag or a pair of shoes.. surely we must ensure we are not making a wrong decision mah. *ignore angry agent*

Ai yoh wont lah..baby steps to security okay ;)

Thanks, Ling, OP and Joanne.

Joanne - I am not sure yet how sticky this one is, though things look ok for now. When I first got the BFP, I was elated of cos, but also very paranoid/stressed. You have no idea how many times I go to the toilet each day just to check that I am not spotting. You see, for my last 2 miscarriages, it always started with spotting. This may sound weird, I have taken to just wearing light coloured undies so that I can see any spotting immediately whenever I pee... The fear does not go away.. I can not say that I am confident. I think I would only rest easy when I carry the baby in my arms (not in my tummy).Whenever I read of stories of miscarriages in second trimesters, it sends a chill down my back.

To destress, I went to the gym for workouts and yoga. I got myself a personal trainer, trained 2x a week with him. I have my older boy and work to focus on, so those help.

But I just wanted to come in here and share so that there is some hope of conceiving for those with recent losses.

OP - when I last went for my scan at 11weeks, my doc pointed out to me a wee bit of the yolk still left. And mentioned that my placenta is not fully in operation yet. So she has asked that I continue with the duphaston for another 2 weeks. Have faith in your gynae - prob he saw that the yolk sac is already completely gone hence you can stop your progesterone.

Hi ling,
u r so funny, the way u describe af.  i will be going to do the hcg test again next sat before i see my gynae again for review. Hope by then bleeding have stopped.

Feel better after my housework! Good workout. Was a bit depress just now.  on off blues.

Will pick myself up.

Thanx cin. It really make me feel better when hear ur good news. Enjoy ur pregnancy. We will join u soon. 

like to chk with anyone if ever done chromosome test? how is the test done? wat is the cost and can we claim medisave for such test? tat time after my second consecutive ms, the gynae mentioned to me b4, but i didnt question further as i had no mood. currently on 13 feb 10(last day of cow year), i had 3rd ms (all the 3 ms is the same, sac stop growing ard 5-6 wks, dragged ard 9-10 wks plus drop naturally, i nvr have any chance to listen to any heartbeat at all, all the 3 ms happened in cow year, which is really a very sad year for me..)

i tink mayb my hubby and i shd go for the chromosome test, cos heard frm a frd tat her gfrd and hubby gave birth to 3 babes, and 3 babes could not grow, and died ard 4-6mths...their blood could not match at all...tis is really scary news to us...

i had a miscarriage about a month ago. AF is back and it is very heavy. Thought some of u mentioned that the first AF after the miscarriage is very heavy... how long did the AF last? Mine is already a week and it is still quite heavy. thanks.

Hey gals yeah so glad that Af finally come. I think I almost cry out with happiness and this is the first time I think I am so glad that AF came.

Joanne I think this AF can easily linger around 10 days ba since my normal Af is already about 7 days. But I think I got a mild shock when the blood is not those fresh red kind but rather dark brown, so wonder if it is normal.

This is my first AF so maybe will start to start the trying after this AF. I know some say that this is too soon but just want to get to the mode of trying.

Ling oh dear so what I should buy now? A thermometer and what else? So what should I do now? I am not in Singapore right now so does that mean that I have missed the timing to start measuring my temperature?

Just to share something sad, just this morning, I heard from my hubby that one of his cousin's wife is supposed to deliver a baby this CNY but just 10 days before the CNY, the baby died in the womb and the whole family is very sad about this.

Chin and Cin congrats and remember to spread baby dust to all of us here. Hope to see more good news around here and we put all the sad past behind us since this is the new year already.

I AM BACK! Back from Japan, back from gynae check up after the D&C, back to TTC soon! Geez Hokkaido is freaking COLD!

How's everyone, Happy CNY!? (sorry if you are reading this twice, coz I participate in 3 threads in Sgmotherhood!)

I am gonna stick with Dr Ann Tan, I am very comfortable with her and she is very detailed. I went for the check up yesterday, didn't know she actually did some tests for me, yeah i guess that is call the miscarriage profile testing, to check the risk of recurring miscarriage.

She said I am healthy, no thyroid problem, blood count's good, no deficiency in Folic acid, just only not enough zinc coz i dun like to eat meat la!

Did a scan and she said everything is quiet in there, lining is still thin from the D&C, but I still got eggs so not that old la. No cysts or big ovaries so all is looking good! She said my menses ain't gonna return soon. WHY? Coz i too tense and stress! I need to relax (okay it's tough but I will try)! Anyway, she said there is nothing from my body system that shows i am at high risk of recurring miscarraige, so I think that's good news, so F*** off and begone, rotten luck!

Dr Ann Tan said she is gonna help me coz early support is important. She won't be able to do anything if I got pregnant then start looking for her. So when my menses return later, i shall call in to make an appointment to see her on day 10, scan to see if i am ovuating. Then a blood test on CD 22, probably to check my progesterone level.

I asked if my hubby needs to do SA test. She said there is no need to becoz i have been pregnant 2 times, with the first one carry to mid term though i lost it. Dun want the SA test to make my hubby feel bad la haha!

So Xu xiao xiao, you should consider doing tests if you have been experiencing multiple miscarraiges!

quan gie, if you do confinment and have been eating a lot of tonic after your miscarraige, yes your first AF will be heavy.

And yeah congrats to those who BFP!

Shiseru

Welcome back - I am glad to know that you are feeling good and optimistic after your trip. I really believe our state of mind is very important. Your doc sounds nice! I have also heard nice things about her from another friend of mine. Mine is Dr WK Tan..who refused to do any testing after my 2 miscarriages (cos I have delivered a boy in 2005!) and insisted that I try again and not give up. Nonetheless, I am sticking with her, cos she has been taking good care of me.

Anyway, I am confident that you will get your BFP soon enough. Eat well, be well.

Hi chin,

Thank you for your advise... i will love to work out too to remove my fats...but as am ttc, i don't dare to work out for the last two weeks after ovaluation.. so this means can only work out 2 wks.. how can i reduce fat like this? sigh..
how about you, did you contine to go to your training centre every week even after ovaluation? is it safe? which centre you goes to?

did you track bbt this cycle when ttc? i feel stress to track bbt and ithink this is not able to help me to relax myself.. sigh. I hope to conceive soon but yet can't be too stress. very diffcult...
Wish you the best to your preganncy.. same for Cin Cin... congratulation..;-D so happy for you but yet can't help to feel envious too..

Hi Vivi and Xiao,
My first af after mc last around 10 to 12 days too... if continue bleeding for two weeks, kindly consult a doctor... take care.

Wow Shiseru I think you must have enjoyed yourselves in Japan. Glad that all is ok for you now. Your gynae is so good and assuring.

shiseru,

Welcome back and happy to hear that optimism and positivity in your posting! Hope you have had a good break!

chin,

Thanks much for the explanation! Gynae did point out to me the placenta and said that it looks fine, but didn't say anything more than that. But he knows my history cos all the previous 2 m/c were with him. I've previously asked about m/c testings but he said not necessary cos not consecutive m/c (I have a boy in b/w the 2 m/c). He'll generally order a test if it's 3 consecutive m/c. You don't go to the Sept10 thread, ya?

Joanne,

Why is tracking BBT causing you so much stress? Cos you keep forgetting? Or?

When I first started, I place the thermometer beside my alarm clock. When the alarm rings, I hv to stop it anyway. At the same time, I will grab and pop the thermometer in my mouth and snooze for another few minutes. After that, I'll just leave the thermometer on the table - sometimes I don't even look at the temperature until after I shower. Then I record it on my PDA phone.

I treat it as gathering "data" which will tell me if I did O, when did I O, how long before I O, etc.

Hi OP,

Ya, I have been doing that too.. just that by looking at the bbt especially after ovaluation, i keep stres and hope that the bbt go high high....and that's why i feel is not so healthy.. maybe is ok to take bbt to predict o.. did you take your bbt the month you conceive too?

Joanne

Thank you! I did not actually try to TTC for the first 4 months after my miscarriage in July - so that's when I really exercised regularly. We started trying 2 cycles ago, but yes, my TCM doctor told me that I can exercise normally before ovulation, but not the 2 weeks after. So at that time, the schedule got quite messy. My trainer was quite upset with me as I kept making all sorts of excuses for missing sessions! I joined Fitness First, but really you can just exercise anywhere, with or without trainer. It is just that I only have lunch times to do it, hence, I needed someone to push me.

I charted BBT for a few months to understand my cycle better, but I used it together with OPK testing. However, during the month that we conceived, my BBT testing was quite weird, as my temp did not go up after OPK tested positive, so I thought I did not ovulate, and hence, this cycle was also a write off. Little did I know.. anyway, I gave up charting and only used the pregnancy kit after my menses were late for 3 or 4 days.

Personally, I think charting BBT and testing OPK helped me to understand my cycle much better. That helped. Don't be stressed out about it, just take it as getting more information and knowing yourself and your fertile period better. The rest will come naturally.

OP - I did hop over to the Sept thread to take a look, but was/am not comfortable joining the chat yet. Just worried, I am sure you know what I mean. I am due for my Oscar next Friday (Feb 26) - I will join after that. Paranoid, huh?

My additional concern is the result of the Oscar (as they initially wanted me to go for Amnio, as I am 35 this year). Staying positive in the meantime that all will be ok.

Hi all ...

no need to be envious. we will be getting reports of BFP soon so just wait and see!!!

i guess with my previous m/c experience i am more jumpy this round.

when i dun feel the need to hug the toilet bowl.. i get worried. when i feel a little energy surge instead of being drained.. i am like oh oh.. and just like the rest who tested BFP - each time i go the toilet..i scrutinise the toilet paper for any trace of anything that shouldnt be there!
Didnt join the OCT MTB thread.. just like Chin-not comfortable to be in that thread yet for now...

HA!... guess being 'vigilant' or in another not so nice word 'paranoid' is the only way i can react....funny to some extent but i guess this is a reaction to the previous m/c...

am praying that this one will stick like super glue!!

oh ..i am not that young... am 36 this year and yet to hold my own baby...

so ladies - jia you okie! dun give up!

hugz and muahs to all.... loads and loads of BABY DUST!!!

Joanne,

I strike during my first cycle of charting BBT. However, I do not think that it is the charting that helped me to strike, since this is just the first cycle of charting. Just that by charting, I know exactly when is my O, and I ceased being "hardworking" from that point onwards. For this cycle, I BD just twice before O (2 days and 4 days before O).

If it is the charting past O that gives you the stress, presumably cos you hope to see a BFP from the chart, then how about stop charting like 6 or 7 days past O? Then begin charting again from CD1 if no BFP?

Pinpointing O is good cos if BFP and gynae feels preg don't seem to be progressing fast enough and wonder if it's due to late O, we would be able to advise the O date so that gynae can make better judgement with the info.

chin,

I always thought they will look at the age you conceive rather than the age you will deliver the baby to suggest amnio or otherwise. In this case, you'd be 34 when you conceive, isn't it?

OP

Is that so? You are right, we did conceive when I was 34. My gynae however asked me to consider the amnio. I have my reservations for obvious reasons. When I told the doc/nurses subsequently that it is my pref to do the Oscar and see how the results turn out, they had me sign a declaration that I am opting out of the amnio for now. We will just take it step by step and hope for the best. Wish me luck!

Hi chin, op and cin cin
thank you sooooo much gals for ur advise..;)
my tcm also want me to take bbt so that can feel assure when o.. Hence, will still take till o ;) U gals pregnancy will be fine this time.. All the best for u to hv a smooth delivery..

Hi chinchin
when u least expect it and u strike.. Due to no stress..;)

Hi op
i guess ur this baby is a gal.. As u bd before ur ovalution and strike.. So lucky of u..;)

Hi girls!

So happy to see some good news in this thread. much needed..

Cin, Looks REALLY good to heart the hb at just 6 weeks +! dont stress about everything and enjoy the pregnancy!

Jovial, My Dowager will kill one loh. Imagine 3 months after the D and C I everyday worry will she be gone for good or what. When she really came it was like the mother of all closure.

Vi, 1 step at 1 time..Buy a basal thermometer first to pin point your O date of a standard cycle. The point of BBT is so you understand when you O and you can spot LPD in your cycle if it exist. Just count mense 1st day as CD1..

Shiseru, Hope you are recharged!!! =) How much does a consultation with Dr Ann Tan cost? I am actually really keen to go for the progestrone test but my gynae insist I skip all these unnecessary stress ordeal she think I am putting myself through. Although I really think I am a recurrent miscarriage case.

So long! Been through a very busy CNY phew~

Cin,
Congrats on your goods news!

Shiseru,
Hope you have recovered well!

Haha now my turn of missing AF. Due for a week liao, but body is aching all over, sore breasts, bloated. I really wonder when it's going to come. Arg!!!~

Hee Hee Ling to buy the one with 2 decimals point right? I saw from some website that if temperature soars high that means o has take place therefore that will be too late for BD right?

Should BD before that right? I am just a bit confused.

By the way, AF gone haywire because my cycle is usually 7 days average but yesterday day 4 a bit no more flow liao.