Support group - Miscarriages

lynn, gynae didnt told me is permanent genetic egg problem. just told me that if egg or sperm genes not good, then may have to consider either donor egg or sperm liaoz.
i dont about birth control pills cos never take before. gynae only told me take hormone pills. hehee

hi yaya

may i know what genetic test you are having? Because i also had 2nd time MC, but didn't do any genetic test
so i am wondering if we can find out, should have any problem with the genetic

mildstrawberry, i am not sure about the teesting. cos we will further discuss with my gynae this coming sat. how about i let u know after discussion this sat then?
what is the problem for ur MC? mine is 1st : blight ovumn and 2nd time is missed abortion.
*sigh*..

Hi Yaya, WOW... UR gyne can actually note both your MC...cos i reckon many will just mark it as "bad luck " either it's an unhealthy egg or sperm in that cycle that's why we MC!!!

by the way, what is blight ovumn and missed abortion - was it already egg meet sperm and become an embryo already....but then???

Hi OP...

2WW is 2 weeks waiting lah.. after ovulation wait 2 weeks mah.. heee heee. Hope AF doesnt tag along during the holiday =)!!

Lynn, Doesnt mean you on birth control pill is for permanent. Lotsa ppl take it to regulate period for a couple of months before embarking TTC esp those with irregular mense as advise by gynae.. In fact I have friends who use birth control pills to control their acne problem by their derma doc. You can read up on it if you are interested.. lotsa information in the net =)

Hi yaya
1st mc due to no heartbeat till 8 weeks
2nd mc due to baby stopped growth at 7 weeks and heartbeat stopped

hi miko
my gynae also said that it was bad luck. And though I have asked to do testing, he didn’t encourage me to do. Because most of the mc, the reason remains unknown
When I asked him if it is because of unhealthy sperm/egg, he told me that unhealthy sperm/egg won’t cause pregnancy. If pregnancy happens, meaning both quality of the sperm/egg are already above standard

Sigh….. I supposed, every gynae have different opinions, that we need to find it out ourselves, where the problem lies

miko, what u mean my gynae can note my mc? i find that she already quite 'mild' when breaking the news to us that bb is not going to make it. the second opinion i got is straight away said mine is not healthy at all already.

blight ovumn is empty sac.
missed abortion (which i just learnt) is got yolk sac, fetus but it stop growing/heartbeat stop
mildstrawberry, i think maybe ur gynae is not so "$" conscious ba? cos the 2nd opinion i got is ask me to do this test, tat test etc. and they cost alot of $$$$ lor. my gynae assistant said probably mine is just bad luck (i faxed her the report to pass to my gynae)

shann, the nausea sympstom fade away lor.so i suspect its a failure this time and true enough.

Ling: i can't take birth control pills. I went on the patch to regulate. i vomited and diarrhea like MAD. only felt better after removing the patch. and can't take pills cause the pills dosage higher. lol. so now not taking anything. not even TCM.

yaya: better get throughly check, it might just be a one- off thing and hopefully not like mine. - Balanced tranlocation (the bad egg thingy), where everything is left to luck.

all 3 m/cs of mine had 1 thing in common. i would get a severe headache before finding out. i think its cause of the drop in hormones...

Lynn,

You no more going to see TCM? I thought you were going to Pauline still. I guess different people have different reaction on medication. On the contraceptive patch. That is one of those thing I heard of in US, way before it made its way into Singapore. There was some complication related to the patch and it was not as simple as the pills... hence some gynae wont even recommend the patches to their patient.

On problematic genetic makeup of egg or sperm sometimes it is not isolated egg or sperm it is everyone of them. I used to know this family with 3 kids. Mum and dad are all normal but the siblings are all deaf.It is just the gene that you cant control no matter what we do. Hence some people use donor egg/sperm when their own fails. I hope non of us here fall into that category because it can be so tiring mentally and emotionally.

Gyne advise should go to them ONCE we tested preggie the next round, as it may save any unnecessary losses...BUT as you gals know - too early also cant see any sac or fetus or heartbeart and just made us more anxious...AND WORRIES!!!

BUT what to do ...we just had to listen to the experts SINCE we are not...LETS just try hard and stay postive in our trying for baby journey
GUESS in whatever we do as well ( it will made the whole stiuation better )

If it is mean to be yours, it will be...
Whatever will be...will be.

Ling,

nope currently stop. I find it very tiring and not like its going to help in situation.. i feel.

yaya: yeah nothing. if strike just got to pray that its a normal and sticky baby.

no idea if it runs in the family. didn't get mom or dad tested.

but gynae did mentioned its possible to run in the family if not it could be de nova (one off) that just happened to me.

but all i do know is that, every pregnancy i have higher chance of MC and a chance that it gets pass down to him/her.

Have been missing the thread these few days cos feel so tired to online...

I guess i am emotionally ok now, had to come to term with it. Thanks for all the concern from sunbelle, yaya, irma, shann and the rest...

Can I ask, after the D&C, how long can we start to ML? I mean ML not for the sake of TTC...so will use protection if i am worry about all these matters that you all discuss, about how to know if preggie if never wait for AF to come..

Cos i really feel my poor husband so long never wat liao...*shy*..(although he never say anything)...hee..

Tmr me going back for review....hope everyting is fine..and hope not another big sum of bill...

lynn, so that means u find your actual condition when u went for further health checks or through the testing of fetus? sorry for asking so many question ah. if u dont want to answer, is okay

faithe, i start ML 7 days from Ops le. use protection lor. hehehe.
u send the fetus for testing?? i will be going for checking up and more discussion on this coming sat.expect going to spend $$$$ again.. *sigh*

yaya: its alright. mine's a rare genetic condition, that not much people have heard about it, in fact my gynae has only seen 1 other patient with the same condition.

through testing of fetus, that came back with the results, then tested for me and my hubby before finding out i'm a carrier of the chromosome abnormality.

Lynn,

I agree. I also suddenly stop my visits abt 2-3 weeks after my gynae visit. I just want the dowager to report dutifully and decide if I should go back to TCM. It is emotionally and physically tiring for me to keep seeing the doc frequently. That is this additional stress unable to describe. You will make it one day!

Faithe, glad you are looking up =) On ML I think it varies individually. We resume only after 1 month. My hubby was a little worried if I was okay and ya dah ya dah. As long as you feel you are up to it I think should be okay ba.

Hi Girls,

Just want to share another tip on BBT. Happen to read it yesterday evening. If you starting to chart your BBT during your normal cycle.Take note of the luteal phase which is the period where your BBT rise after ovulation.. If it is shorter than 14 days it could be due to luteal deficit which indicate not enough hormones. Hence doc might prescrible prostergon which will correct the defect or clomid even depending on gynae. Luteal deficit if not diagnoise can also cause early miscarriage. However this one is a little tricky because is that 2 weeks after ovulation and most wont even realize. So start charting your BBT and see if you have a normal cycle.

The waiting is killing me, i think I will go KKH now to do a V Scan.. Cannot tahan already, actually just 5 more days to my 1st appointment.

If can't see anything, i know i will become even more crazy.. =(

Ling, I have read about the luteal phase. The luteal phase must be at least 10 days long to support pregnancy. Anything lesser than this is consider a luteal phase defect.

Shann, dun be so tense. Are you having the pregnancy symptoms?

Shann,

Dont overstress...Find something to do these 5 days that will keep your mind occuppied? If you go now they cannot see anything because not big enough yet you even more stress!

Shiseru,

For us with mc before I think as long as lesser than 13 days better seek intervention. Never know how it can help...

hi ladies, for those who are TTC or want to know more about BBT charting, you may go to www.fertilityfriend.com

the website allows u to record ur daily temp and it will tell u when u have ovulated. aft 3 cycles, it aids in predicting when ur ovulation is approaching and when u can start testing. a lot of information available there too.

Went KKH already! Went to the 24 hours women's clinic. I told the lady i just wanted a V scan, then she said cannot, the visit is for A & E only.. Then I told them my first visit i didn't even get a scan, plus I had mc b4, then i just told them I had light brown discharge (actually even myself not very sure, very very light like dark yellow i guess, happened twice when i wiped after i passed motion, 'push' too much) but luckily i said that lor then i get to see a specialist. He did a scan for me, i was soooooo anxious, i told him "i don't even know whether the sac is there....." he said "the sac is there!" I was soooooooo relieved...

Couldn't see fetus yet he said it's too early, but i am already very glad that the position is right and everything seems normal, he said the yolk sac is there too.

Last time, everything was wrong, wrong position irregular shape =(

So he asked me to follow up with Irene Chua on 1st dec, hopefully can see more.. I put the bb scan in a book titled "supernatural birth".. Put the picture in a prayer's page haha..

Hi Shann,

congrats! you are really our motivator. your good news realli inspire us. i am thinking of changing gynae. the problem is the fees are too costly.

anyone seeing dr fong yang huh? or dr thong from raffles hospital huh? what are their charges huh?

headache now cos wanted to change gynae but there seemd to be like a emotional barrier. sign..

any views gals?

Hi Shann...congrats... hope ur mind is more at ease now and that is the start of more good news to come =)

Sunbelle - any reason why u feel an emotional barrier to changing a gynae? Me also tempted... cos current one quite ex.. every time go for normal consultation plus scan is already 100++ But think will hold on for now cos my records of the m/c are wif this gynae and he has quite good reviews..so will just stay on and let him see thru till my condition stabilise.. if i manage to get preggy again, then at least he will also know to handle me wif more care...

had cramps early morning on 26 Nov and went to a hospital's 24 hr women's clinic after seeing some stains/spotting on the same evening. doc diagnoise as missed abortion and DnC done on Nov 26 at 11.30pm. just came home yesterday afternoon. was 7 weeks preg..

Ling,

No Aug bb for me - AF reported today. :D My cycle is really haywire after MC. 29 days, 30 days, 26 days and 27 days - I had a crazy week of strange cramps before that and I never have pre-M cramps before. So it's really puzzling. Anyway, I bought a basal thermometer today.

Now, I'm waiting for your good news!

Shann Yheng,

So glad to hear your great great news! Keep going woman! :D

Hey gals
I chanced upon this thread a week or so ago then a few days later, learned that I had an anembryonic pregnancy (blighted ovum). So funny huh? Anyway, I opted for a medicine-induced bleed and passed the sac within a few hours. Now just bleeding away (Day 4), but it's not painful or too heavy. I am really doing okay. But it's nice to have such a knowledgeable support group here to turn to!

Ling - I am very interested in your BBT experiences. Have never measured or charted BBT in the past. Am a fan of the CM method and it's worked for HB and me. Both my pregnancies - we conceived first cycle of trying just based on my CM observations. But with the recent experience, really keen to learn more about the TTC process so thought of adding BBT to my arsenal of TTC tools. Can I ask - do you really notice an increase in BBT around the time of ovulation? what were your BBT patterns like in the run-up to getting your first AF after the miscarriage? you mentioned that there will be an increase in BBT around the time to BD - how big a surge are we talking about? 0.5C or less? Thanks for the info!

Cin Cin and Picotin, rest well ok? you can read the older posts about what "bu" we can take after mc. DOM, red dates tea, ba zhen soup, and those confinement food etc..

Op, October baby is good too hee, 10.10.10. Aim for that day!!

Hi pico,

pls take good care of urself and do a mini confinement. all the ladies here are veri helpful and i have managed to stand up with their advices. feel free to come in and pour out ur emotions at times. it helps in the road to recovery.

shann : rest more and you are certainly our inspiration. when did u start trying huh?

ppcc : frankly is the cost, cos every visit is like $250 or $350 weekly seemd a bit too muchie for us to handle. furthermore, we are just tinking whether shld change a gynae so as to put the past behind. now looking into seeing dr fong yang or dr thong from raffles hospital.

wondering whether any of the ladies have any experience with these two gynaes? can share share

ladies : my menses reported alreadly. jus wondering what do you all do after the first mense come huh? goin to see gynae again this week. wondering what are the tins to tell him.guess is a good sign that my menses are here and afterwhich i can go and visit my chinese physician whom said that to see him after my menses.

can we continue to take the red dates tea huh? any of you have endometrosis issue huh? mine is more severe so now taking more precautions too like diet.

sign jus heard my hubby's fren's wife oso have miscarriage. sign why are all these bad news around us?

one good news is that my good fren jus delivered to a boy. so happie that she did it after a miscarriage of twins last year. she is indeed my inspiration. just that her boy got admitted GP6D issue and stayed in hospital for few days. i am reflecting that god indeed give different challenges to human beings. there are always ups and downs. i guess is for us to treasure the ups and also to understand that not all tins come naturally.

Hey Sunbelle, if you are having ur period now, better to stay away from the red dates tea... i had very very heavy flow on the 2nd day of first menses after the D&C.. and i suspect it's prob cos of the red dates tea that i was drinking that day... googled ard and realised that red dates promotes blood flow so it's probably better to stop drinking it for a while during menses..

as for visit to gynae after menses, mine was to do a pap smear only tat i was still spotting that day so he couldn't do it and i've to go back tomorrow.. afraid i dunno anything abt the two doctors u mentioned.. but since raffles hosp is private, won't it be quite ex too?

cin cin - hugz... take a gd rest okie? can drop by here if u need a listening ear...

picotin - u take care too..great that u are so positive =)

gals.. just to share this site that i found.. it's a TCM take on infertility... (not entirely applicable cos hopefully we are not infertile.. just super suay this time round), but quite interesting to see how we shld take care of our other organs to help our reproductive system along..

http://www.shen-nong.com/eng/exam/specialties_womeninfertility.html

Hi Girls,

Hope everyone had a good break ...Also very sorry to have cin and picotin join us at this thread because of mc but glad that you guys should be able to seek support from here =)

Shann,

Glad you get relieve of mind. I wish everything will go smooth for you. I cannot imagine what will pacify me if I get pregnant again to assure my baby is safe =(

OP, Me counting down to either AF or BFP .. 3 more days! As long as either come I will be a happy camper!! Start with your BBT thermometer. It will definetely make you understand your cycle better. We try together next cycle if this one fails =)

Picotin, The thing about BBT is that it can only tells you that you have already ovuluated after the temp rise. It does not give an indication that you should BD now to get pregnant. However I have read before that once your BBT spike a little you can try to BD and might get a boy. I am not sure if there are any truth to it just sharing what I have read.

I use BBT with CM. Before BBT rise you will always notice CM (for most at least) to increase prior the few days. Normally after the egg white consistency I would notice that my BBT will rise after that. BBT is a confirmation or sort that you have ovulated because as you would know not everyone ovulate every month.

For me after my mc, this will be my real cycle because I had not have my period since my 1st Sept D and C =(. For this period which I am charting now I have notice a consisteny low temp for at least 14 days and when I went to my gynae to check why the dowager was not here she show me my endo lining and told me I was right in the middle of the fertile period. Prior to this month, my temp cycle was all over the place after my mc and nary high.

Increase in BBT varies from person to person. I have hypothyroid hence have very low BBT below 36 from CD1 onwards. Whenever after ovulation my temp will hover around 36.25 and above. A consistent 0.2 and above increase often indicate to me that I have ovulated.

BBT charts should be shown to your gynae if you suspect you have not ovulate and will indicate late ovulation or whatever nots. I was after much coaxing from my gynae that I embark on charting and on my first cycle I was quite lucky to strike in June 09 after TTC for a good 6 months.

Hello ladies!

I am so sorry to hear about your loss, cincin and picotin. I hope you are coping well, it is gonna be a tough period but please do not lose hope.

I just started taking BBT, and i find it quite interesting, here goes mine. http://www.fertilityfriend.com/home/shiseru
Anyone care to share theirs?

Anyone taking 百凤丸? I read a post by ffaith under the thread 222-for those TTC. The advise from her gynae and chinese sinseh said to stop taking 百凤丸. coz if taken at the wrong timing it can lead to endrometris.

Hi Sunbelle, actually we only wanted to start trying after 3 cycles, wanted to have complete 3 mensus before we started trying. However, i only had 2 mensus then tested BFP liao.. I did not see any TCM too, so really not sure whether my body is ready/strong enough for this pregnancy, but then again, luckily i have you gals who keep encouraging me, my negative thoughts become less each day and everynight before i sleep, i will imagine my bb's heartbeat pumping strongly in the sac, i tell my body to function well, and believe that everything will be good, so leave everything to God.

I had planned my bb making trip to taiwan on 18th dec rem? now dare not to BD somemore, bb making taiwan trip has lost it's purpose haha! If we don't go, we will waste our air ticket, cannot refund too =( tmr will be my official 1st appointment at KKH, will ask Dr. Irene whether we can still proceed with our taiwan trip. At most, just stay in the hotel/ motel, walk a bit then rest whenever i want. I think just to go there to stay in their motel is already worth the air fare, their motel is DAMN BLOODY NICE!! check this out http://www.chateauco.com.tw/index.asp
You would not want to stay in hotel anymore heee.. maybe you would also like to plan a trip and spend quality time with hubby!?! They have rooms for family too.. and it's not expensive, per night is about 100 or less. So hubby said we will also avoid walking too much during the trip, just rest whenever i want to..

Ling, next time you BFP, will be my turn to pacify you hahahhaa!

ppcc, Dr. Fong Yang is quite famous, a lot of the july thread mummies are under him, he has VERY good reviews. I'd also recommend him. The reason i don't go to him is that hubby insists on going to KKH, so far no unpleasant experience.

my hubby's friend's wife also just had miscarriage, lost her twins.. so sad right, I gave away all my 补汤, bought last time but never cook in the end, lazy.....

Hi ppcc,

yes, you are rite, when u take the red date tea, the menses become heavier. yesterdae din take the red date tea, everything was okie. this morning took one cup before i saw your posting. tink i dun dare to take anymore cos realli quite heavy and i dun noe whether isssit a good tin.

hi shiseru,

you are rite. the bai feng pills cannot anyhow take. guess last time i anyhow take so now got endometrosis lor i guess.

hi shann,

is okie that you din see the TCM. cos todae when i went back to the chinese physician in the morning, he said my condition does not need to have the chinese herbs cos last month when he prescribe, my body is not suitable so i onli take one packet of it.

he asked me to take red date tea can liao cos of my condition. did felt sad cos wanted to bu my body and do something during this period to let my body more fit. so in the end i din take any medicine and i left. i guess another angle to look at it is becos he tink the medicine is nt suitable for my body now.

the strange tin is i got preggie when i jus stop for that month not taking his chinese medicine. so funni i guess at times. guess jus have to depend on myself to take some normal tonics liao.

hi shann, keep on having the positive mindset. it reali helps. yeah a trip realli helps to relax out mindset too. wow the hotel which u recommended is so super nice and cosy and of cos suitable environment for ML. wow so nice and cosy. did you all book the hotel thru the web huh? how muchie did u all pay for the airtickets huh?

yeah we wanted to plan a trip but have to wait til next week when the work schedule is out. oso wanted to go for a short trip in dec but guess hard to get anywhere cos all fully booked.

seemd like recently keep hearing miscarriages not sure cos we are more alert after our own experience or what. i wanted to hear more good news. yeah oso for the sake of having a good positive image in mind means cuddling own baby in one's hand.

yesterdae there was a special show on TVB8 shows a lady without arms gave birth to a healthy baby gal. she is a lady with strong will whom is willng to go thru so much hardship. i realli salute her for her perservance and strongwill. it is a touching show realli. i teared cos i tink is so touching.

wishing all a good month in dec. time for all of us to meet up with old frens and be merry heheh

Shiseru,

I think the pills must be taken within 3 days after AF cease. Anyway I was on it for a couple of cycle before I strike and I thought it have some uses afterall. This kinda.. all heng suay I reckon.

Shann, For me I think even scan right size right shape whatever also wont comfort me because my mc was missed abortion. Babies was jumpin all around the sac when I had my 2nd scan. So at least you have something to reassure you that this is it. For us without any hints or clue of mc will only know when we hold a baby in our hands ..

hi ling

thanks so much for that very informative and detailed post about the use of BBT and CM for determining our fertile periods and ovulation! i'm definitely encouraged. btw, you have a very clear way of explaining things which is great and really helpful - thanks

i am on day 6 of my m/c bleed - today passed another bit of placenta! - looks like i still have a way to go. will start charting once my BBT thermometer arrives in the next couple of days. going to assume day 1 of m/c is CD1 and do a chart to note CM, BBT and OPK results. who knows? maybe i will ovulate soon!
so interesting....am quite enjoying learning all about this.

btw gals - am enjoying the food from natal essentials so far, portions are huge and the food has been very fresh and tasty. i don't know all the herbs i'm eating but just consuming them in the hope that they are nourishing. can consider for post-natal, maybe? the company is great for m/cs too - because they just need one day's notice and are happy to deliver meals for any duration which is great for mini-confinements

Hi Picotin,

Glad you are taking everything in stride. I am the laziest person there is so if I can do this BBT I am sure anyone can =)

I just want to clarify that since you are bleeding now this is not really your period. For natural bleed out you have to wait until you have no spotting for say a couple of weeks than your period will be activated. I started charting regardless of my CDs because after mc the cycle is so warp.

Rightfully once you have AF visit you on day 1 which is also known as CD1 (Cycle Day 1)than you start charting on a new sheet to see the pattern for an entire cycle. =)

Hi Ling - Thanks for the encouragement! Yup, am just charting this bleed and the subsequent days for fun and to get into the habit of charting. I am aware that 1st day of MC is not CD1. Guess I shall call this my "MC Cycle"

Was initially thinking of trying to BD even before I got my period, but was reading the archives of this thread last night and that website which explains why we should wait until post-1st AF makes a lot of sense. So I will wait it out.

Hope you get your AF or a BFP soon! You're expecting one or the other in a couple of days right? All the best!

hi Lynn (dreamiez)

may i know WHAT does your gyne suggest to you AFTER u diagnose with this
"chromosome abnormality "?

...so that you can have your own baby???

SO far from what i know, they will suggest eggs from donar?

May i know who is your gyne...and from where???
THANKS

Picotin,

I have read a lot of girls get preggers again right after a mc. So they definetely have BD right away. However most of this sites are not local so they are probably more gutsy. I chicken out. I and hubby only resume after 1 month as neither of us were in the mood. Ridiculously long in my opinion!

Yes most likely my dowager after much coaxing will be here rather than BFP.. this wait is killing me!!!

Everybody jia you!! I pray that everyone will get BFP soon!

I think cannot just aim for one day to BD during your ovulating period ya? at least must do alternate days or some ppl told me, everyday.

We striked, because that period we 'thought' we were safe, we BD 3 days in a row *shy* Usually i can be quite reluctant to BD one.. those days dunno why i was so accommodative.

Good news! I could see bb's heartbeat today! But she didn't let me hear though, probably should ask during next visit.

on 26/11, the gestational sac was 7mm, with a yolk sac inside. Based on this scan gynae said might not be able to see bb yet, cuz the sac must be around 2cm then we can see the fetus. Usually the water sac will grow 1mm per day. By right, the water sac should be 7mm+5mm=12mm today.

But she still did a tummy scan for me, to her surprise she said she could see my bb and heartbeat! i was soooooooo glad, i just LOL. Bb's water sac grows to 19mm today, which is 2mm growth per day, so amazing right? It catches up! and now my pregnancy week is accurate according to my LMP, ard 6 weeks 3 days. bb is 4.6mm now.

They usually count like this, if bb is 5mm, then your pregnancy week is 6 weeks 5 days. Cuz bb will also grow 1mm per day, just need to add "6 weeks".

Thank you girls for being so encouraging.. without u all, i think i am still having my anxiety disorder. You know ah, everytime i have discharge, i have to show to my hubby and ask him, "dear, what colour do u see?" for me, i will interprete as light brown, to him, is a definite yellow. you see? negative thought was ruling my mind.

Thank God i have you girls. I will continue to pray for everyone here.. =)

Hey sunbelle, my air ticket to taiwan cost $752 for Singapore Airline, including agent fees, i booked through travel agency. Is a free and easy trip so even if just to stay in the motel whole day also 我愿意 haha!

Yeap i booked all the hotel/motels online, some required me to fax some particulars, some don't.
Only need to pay when we check out i think. So far i have not made any payment yet.

another one we chose to stay is http://www.takaomotel.com.tw/main/iframe.html, also not bad!

if you don't mind spending a bit more, that is 200+ per night, (that is still consider cheap if you compare to hotel price in singapore) some motels have rooms that come with a private swimming pool, just for the 2 of you, awesome right?

Go go!

Hi Shann Yheng
Thanks for sharing the good news with us - so happy for you! Sounds like your pregnancy is going along really well. I know it's hard after a M/C but try to stay positive. We can only do our best right? Get the rest you need as best you can and take all your supplements. The rest is in God's hands.

My water bag was 2mm too, but no yolk sac or baby - by then, as you have found out, there really should be a fetal pole, so i knew it was definitely a blighted ovum. Oh well, next time there will be a yolk sac, fetus, heartbeat, etc in my uterus - I just know it *wink*