Support group - Miscarriages

bluebells, i was also comtemplating if i should watch the show tonight
but i think i will, eventually. what time is it?

qwer,
ya lor... my MIL also told me " ask yr mum to cook something good for you lar" when i M/C. My mum very angry because my MIL not only NOT visit me during tat time, somemore request this & that.

hi qwer, chikako, i guess there are no ways to change MILs thinking mentality.. The only solution and method is to bear them a grandson and with it, can shut up their mouths hopefully forever.. Just dun understand why are there such MILS.. sighhhhh.. feel sooooo
273684.png

My mum never pressure me at all.. A boy or girl is prefectly alright for her..
273685.gif

My parent too... never pressure at me.
Why ILs always treated daughter-IL as outsider? b'cos we are not their real daughter??

Dunno leh Chikako... Guess they still treat us half-daughters but not as thoughful and understanding as our own flesh & blood parents...

At times, I feel that, Maybe MILS treat us DILs as baby-making machines nia..

beautiful,
the show is on ch5, tonight at 8pm.

yah gals,
mine 2. my MIL didn't visit me during my mini confinement also.
It's my parents who brought lunch for me everyday! (cos i'm staying outside on my own).
She only told my HB wat shd i eat, and left it to us whether we want to cook or not.

anyway, all these are dual-way.
PIL will not treat DIL as their daughters, and neither will DIL treat PIL as their parents. Maybe that's why they are called in-laws.
273707.gif

I totally agree with bluebells. In-laws will always remain as in-laws and can never be part of us.
Jus to share abt in-laws. My PILs both are dead. Only left with SILs and BILs. Very KPO too.
When my boy was born, 1 of my SIL came over and carried him, she is mother of 3, and my boy dont know why threw out milk not from mouth but nostril. So started crying, she just dumped baby back to me and never even help out leh.....so pisst with her.
My brother on the other hand, not married and in early 20s, once helped me to feed med to son. my son vomitted, like merlion, and my brother, jus use his T-shirt to wipe off vomit frm my son and went to wash-up. Came back very concerned abt him,leh. My husband was very impressed, with my bro...kkekeke I said thats my family for you!
Sometimes dont understand this pple, why inlaws behave this way?

Oh... After reading your stories, I think I am quite lucky so far with my in-laws.
My MIL boiled "yang sheng" for me everyday when I was in hospital. And bought lots of bird's nest for me. I went back to my parents' place for my recovery. My MIL did call and ask my mum how I was feeling...
But my MIL will be happy if I can bear her a grandchild. She's waiting to retire to look after her grandchild... She told me in my last pregnancy, boy or gal also nevermind and she prefers gal gal cos she dun have gal gal... But she never pressure me la... You know, the "suan ming" lady told us to "jia you" to have a kid this year, and my MIL was so happy laughing. And she noted down wat "bu" preggie should take... I felt quite sad cos I got problems conceiving... Actually I dun blame her... I only have one brother-in-law, and they also got problem conceiving... Think they have been trying for 3 years already...

sigh....why this, why that, why MIL like this etc...<font color="0000ff">Hamasaki,</font> you're right. There's no way to change MIL's mentality. I've to psycho myself to 1 ear in, 1 ear out. How to bear a grandSON for MIL? Teach me?? Hee...hee...

Sometimes when I cook dessert - red bean soup or white fungus with longgan etc....I boil more &amp; give my parents some &amp; MIL some. Most of the time my parents juz eat but my MIL sure a lot of comments. Say too sweet, too much ingredient, not enough soup, this &amp; that.....aiyoh!! Everytime when she said such things to me, I tell myself, no next time. I won't cook for her anymore. But when the time comes, I still cook more &amp; bring to her leh. Then she'll start again!

Every year's CNY, whatever things I buy for MIL, expensive abalones, mushrooms etc...she'll say no good for health blah blah. I know she likes CNY decoration. 1 yr I bought some decorations for her, she said I bought those ornaments for her to hang, later dropped &amp; kana her head. 1 of my best fren anlaysed &amp; told me, she believed my MIL doesn't like me at all. That's why whatever &amp; no matter what I do, she'll sure to comment &amp; say bad remarks abt me. Think MIL is unhappy that I 'snatched' her favourite son away. I know MIL likes to receive ang baos during CNY instead of all those expensive gifts. But I purposely don't want to give her ang bao! Hee...hee....think I'm very bad too :)

I believe in one thing... Dunno if you gals think the same. SILs are the worst lot. My mum suffered a lot cos of all the KPO SILs. I tell myself not to be bad SIL next time to my brother's wife... just let them live their life and dun interfere.

My sister suffered in her last relationship cos the bf has a bad and KPO sister, and a nasty mother. Lucky my sister ended that relationship... otherwise she gonna suffer man... cos being gf already so bad, cannot imagine become wife already dunno how. And the bf cannot go against his parents. Now my sis happy in another relationship. Also same as me, her bf only has one brother... Then his mother very nice to my sis...

qwer,
Maybe take her suggestions as comments for improvement? My MIL also teach me when I boil desserts. If I like the idea, I just remember. If I dun like, I just 1 ear in and 1 ear out and then forget... but nod nod nod... haha...
Maybe you dun try to please her, she will be nicer to you... Less interaction, less friction also... I dun talk a lot one when I visit the in-laws or go out with them...

chikako,
Dun interact too much lor... Dun talk to them too much nor try to be too friendly... kekeke... If your SILs read this, sure come after me... I think coming from different families, sure will have different upbringing and different views one. Sure will have friction one day if both parties dun give way...

ok thanks lyn, will try out your tips...hee...hee... You're indeed very lucky!

Tell u gals something, my SIL staying same block as MIL. During SIL's confinement, cos hers was caeseran, they didn't employ confinement lady. SIL's mum {M'sian) came to do confinement for her. During the CNY wk, SIL's mum returned to M'sia. During that period, MIL never help SIL to bathe the newborn baby! SIL cooked &amp; bathed the newborn by herself! Nobody told me abt it &amp; SIL didn't ask me for help. After the whole incident then SIL told me. I wonder how SIL managed, the wound so painful still cook &amp; squat &amp; bathe baby. If the MIL is good, even not staying same block, she'll still make a trip down to help up a few hrs, like bathe for baby. I really dunno what to say....I told my HB abt it &amp; he kept quiet.

Then after a few days, when I brought my gal to visit MIL. MIL told me, last time when she gave birth, she also bathe the newborn &amp; cook 3 meals for herself &amp; her HB. She said now the woman too lazy, pampered etc....everything dunno. I zipped my mouth &amp; act I never heard what she said.

Oh I think must stop here....now becomes nasty MIL support group, ha ha!

qwer,
wa... ur MIL not very nice le... Maybe she's like that, not that she dun like you... She suffered last time, and maybe want her DIL to suffer like her also...

I found something very interesting... Some one actually "invented" a calculator to calculate the risk of having a caesaerian based on our height, weight, age, fetus birth weight, and pregnancy weight gain... interesting hor? Based on my height, weight and age, I got a 27% of having a caesaerian!

Qwer, seems like yr MIL kept using "her times" to compare with now. Mmmph...I agree with Lyn, maybe she wants her DIL to experience what u did, but I think u can "ren" quite well waht, u still bought her things during CNY &amp; visit her.

Lyn, like u, I belong to the "lucky DIL" camp. My MIL is very nice, during my mini confinement, she cooked for me &amp; told me not to think too much. As for SILs...I got 4, hee hee...so far so good, maybe coz I dun see them often loh.

lyn/ bluebell,
In other words,I think kids' business can earn alot. A friend paid like $700 plus/mth for infant care, wow, alot hor.

Me going home already...chat later...I know at night usually only hamasaki &amp; lyn around...hee hee

hi qwer, me too hope to get some info on how to increases chances of bearing a son.. I think the men got to take more fish, meat and seafood..
Sex position and timing do play a part as well.. Not sure if these methods are accurate or not.. I saw these info at a website.. (read till blur blur)

hi lyn, I do agree that ur in-laws are understanding, kind-hearted people.. Really envy U too have such great in-laws who never pressure U anything... Esp: concerning abt bearing babies..

hi qwer, like what Droopy eyes had said, i do agree that ur MIL had a hard time last time after giving birth, so she wants her DILs to follow her old time ways and methods.. (sob sob)..

hamasaki,
I heard that guys cannot eat sour food also if wan a boy boy... But I havent read about the scientific evidence about that "theory". hehe...

hamasaki, according to a book I read, have sex a day b4 ovulation or on ovulation itself can get a boy boy, because the "male" sperm swims faster but also dies faster.also ejaculating too often will increase the proportion of "female" sperms.So if want gal gal, can make love often &amp; a few days before ovulation, since "female" sperm swims slower &amp; lives longer. The book carries a disclaimer though...no scientific proof, try at yr own "risk" hee hee...
273817.gif

Before my pregnancy, I wanted a gal gal. After I lost my boy, I now hope I can have a boy boy,(it's strange but human beings are like that) Haiz...but since bb is a a gift from god, as long as I have can already...I soooo want to hv a bb.
273818.gif

Lyn, I have been thinking abt what u said just now...&amp; I asked myself on the way home, why exactly do I want to have a bb? Is it becos of the media hype or becoz alot of people around me are proud parents? More or less loh but when I was pregnant, there was really a lot of joy so I guess having a kid gives me a kind happiness that cannot be replaced by other things loh.

Droopy,
Wa... You got your answers
. During my pregnancy, I was not happy at all. It's full of worries and getting nervous. So I haven't experieced the happiness of being pregnant.
Sometimes I am still very confused... On one hand I want a baby, on the other, I am scared.

hi lyn and droopy, I manage to dig out these info from the web.. Dunno how true and accurate it is..

1st factor: Food
If you want a baby girl: Husband must eat more alkaline food, wife eats more acidic food.
If you want a baby boy:
Husband eats more acidic food, wife eats more alkaline food.

Alkaline food: vegetables, fruits, egg white, milk, algae, etc.
Acidic food: meat, seafood, etc.

2nd factor: Timing (When to do it?)
If you want a baby girl: Frequent copulation during pre-ovulation period.
If you want a baby boy: Copulating just before ovulation or just after ovulation.

How to confirm ovulation period:
Body temperature increases (you may want to use SPC chart to monitor your body temperature here).

3rd factor: Penetration (How to do it?)
If you want a baby girl:Husband to avoid deep penetration in the female vagina during copulation.
If you want a baby boy:
Deep penetration by the husband is suggested.

4th factor: Stimulation
If you want a baby girl:Wife should avoid stimulation during copulation. Secretion from female vagina becomes alkaline when stimulated, therefore this promotes the activity of Y spermatozoon.
If you want a baby boy:
Husband ejaculates after wife has been stimulated.

5th factor: Positioning
If you want a baby girl:
Female to be on the top position &amp; male to be on the bottom position.
If you want a baby boy:
Male to be on the top position &amp; female to be on the bottom position. This posture allows the Y spermatozoon to reach the destination faster.

hamasaki,
yup, i think i have read this somewhere b4.
but quite a hassle hor.. 2 remember all these 'techniques' during BD.

i've also read somewhere b4 there's this Chinese calendar dated many centuries back which can predict the sex of ur bb, by using ur age, and the date of conception. seems that it has been quite accurate so far. [but this is more of a after-result than a before-result].

okie gals,
have a good weekend and friday.
i'll b bz 2day so won't b popping in.
ai.. wish today will end fast.. it's going 2 b my most stressful day 2day!

<font color="ff6000">Gd day gals,</font>
273924.gif

How's everybody today? I'm fine!

<font color="aa00aa">Droopy, Hamasaki, Lyn</font>
I also believe that since my MIL 'suffered' last time, she wants her DILs to experience the same like her. Anyway, lucky I'm not staying with her. Once in a blue moon then visit her. So I still can 'ren'.

<font color="119911">Lyn,</font>
Today u hv to teach again? Btw does the OPK work? So far can it detect anything??

My gal makes me smile last nite
She seldom speaks Mandarin. Last nite my mum taught her how to greet neighbours (those auntie &amp; uncle) whenever they see her. My gal will say auntie 'hao', uncle 'hao'....so funny. The chinese sound a bit weird.

qwer,
Nope.. no teaching today... back to boring routine writing my report.
I have tried the OPK since Tuesday when they arrived. Still negative... Now I wonder if I do ovulate. I have been experiencing pain and spotting since Wed... dunno what's wrong with me this time. It should be my ovulation these few days... but... dun seem to be...

Chikako,
OPK = ovulation prediction kit.

qwer,
It's not normal to bleed during ovulation, I think. I know one of the symptom of fibroids and endo is mid cycle bleeding. I have not had this before... I am worried if my endo has worsen...
Sigh... God help me...

Good morning gals,

I'm back. Good to be able to talk to u gals again.

Op started a bit later than 6 yesterday. Around 615 then gynae came. A reassuring man. Told me not to worry and listen to what I've said. But he seems abit "blur" maybe due to the too many patient he attended to during the day. Cos he said i have fibroid when I had endo! My eyes open big big and tell him "no no" u told me i have endo the last time and suspect its at the back of the womb...then he said dont worry, let me checked for u.

Phew...this is my gynae...he can be very experience but maybe due to his very hectic schedule and his age, he seems abit forgetful at times.

Anyway, the op was quite fast. It started around 620 and by 720 i was already back to ward.

Pain is much lesser compared to the appendix op i had in jan 05. Maybe that is also attributed to the skills of the gynae.

Was able to walk two hours after the op.

Special mention also goes to my anathestist, Dr Ernest Lim. I told him i always experience great pain when the anathesia was injected into me in previous op, he really did it slowly and there's basically no pain at all!

I feel relieve that the op is over. Thank you to all gals here who has given me support and encouragement.

hi starlite, good to hear from you
glad that everything is ok now
so, you taking any bu now? must take hor! so, when will you be going back to work?

Hi starlite,
Hope you will get better soon
273999.gif
and can start TTC journey real soon
274000.gif

Last time my op scheduled at 6pm, but started at 6.30pm. I thought it's scheduled earlier for them to prepare.

Maybe he ran to the operating theatre (OT)... I saw him running before, very fast though... Last time, my hubby also saw him running down the stairs to the OT when hubby was sitting outside and waiting...

I think the sewing skills of gynae is very important for a painless recovery. I read about that in some medical journals.

I think the anaesthetist got the exact position to puncture... that's why no pain...
the best one is no feeling at all cos I did not feel anything at all when I had op at NUH. But at Gleneagles, I can see while the aneasthetist poke and inject medications... scary...
274001.gif

<font color="0000ff">Starlite,</font>
Rest more now....

<font color="aa00aa">Lyn,</font>
I can understand the worries &amp; fears u facing now. Why dun u see your gynae &amp; let him check on u again? Dun postpone it again..... See what he says.

Hi beautiful and Chikako, no dont intend to take any bu for the time being. That time gynae did advise not to take any dang gui cos that would worsen my endo. condition. so i only took stuff like dang shen, pao sheng to bu the qi only.

Hi Lyn, so cute you mean your hubby can still see the gynae running? My hubby said he never see the gynae at all leh. So was thinking there's another entrance for doc into the OT.

This op gynae said no need sewing one....but he did said if the op takes longer (like the one i had for the appendics) one will feel more drowsy after that and more pain maybe.

I will be going back to the clinic tomorrow around 10 to clean the wound though. Still got blood.

Hi Lyn,

I just remembered weeks back i was also experiencing brownish discharge for a couple of days. It started on Tue i think. And the last sunday i had "bed activity" with my hubby and Monday I went for an evening jog. The stain started on tue. I also worried and panic that time cos the discharge seems more when i pass motion in the morning.

Then i went to see gynae. He checked me but never really prescribe anything. I asked whether the staining could be due to the endo. he said might be and the sex and jog might have also cause that so he advise not to do too strenous exercise for the time being.

Starlite,
I think gynae goes in at the main entrance also. Last time hubby saw him entering from there. Then he knew my hubby waiting outside and he brought the bottle of "specimen" to my hubby after the op.
Oh I see... So the longer the anaesthesia the more pain... I always wake up in a lot of pain after op.
Oh... Maybe I will not bump into you tomolo... my appointment at 11am.

Did you get pain when there's discharge? Mine is red blood discharge. And I get pain. scared scared...
274023.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Lyn,</font>
But if u wait &amp; wait, you only give yourself more worries &amp; stress. See gynae will give u assurance of what's 'happening' inside. I believe early treatment is better.

<font color="ff6000">Starlite,</font>
I agree with u. Chinese 'bu' medicine cannot anyhow take. Some of the pple cannot take dang gwei. I myself cannot take it &amp; those yomeishu also cannot. 'Ba zhen soup' for regulate menses I also cannot take. My physician had told me b4 already. For instance, woman doing confinement will boil alcohol with black chicken &amp; lots of 'bu' things. I didn't take all these stuff during my 1st confinement. Instead I took ginseng. I'm very careful in all these &amp; always get advice from my physician.

Hi qwer, I thought can't take those chinese "bu" medicine and yomeishu is b'cos body is weak and unable to take it. Before M/C, I can't take all the "bu", even ginseng. Too heaty to me and I will fall sick. After M/C, my body very very weak. My mum cooked a lot of bu for me and I took yomeishu as well. Right now, i can feel tat my body is better than before. I can take those bu and feel fine. I still continue taking yomeishu everynite.

Good day ladies!!
It's Friday, my fav day of the week!

Good to see u back Starlite &amp; glad everything went smooth. Take care &amp; rest well. Can TTC soon, yeah!

I think taking 'bu' really depends on individual, I visited a chinese sinseh who said I m not one who can "da4 bu3", he said as long as I exercise &amp; have a balance diet, can already. So now I plan to take 'bu' moderately, maybe aft AF, I also dun take DOM every night already.

Hamasaki, wow, thks for the info, that's alot to digest! But lookin at all the factors, quite true for my case. Eg, my hubby is a meat &amp; prawns eater, while I eat alot of vege. T

<font color="119911">Hi Chikako,</font>
Droopy is right. It really depends on individual. Some pple are able to take it but not everyone. Some pple if too weak, also cannot 'bu'. Hv u heard of 'xu(1) bu(4) shou(4) bu(3)'? There're many types lor....

I've PCOS, so was told not to anyhow buy chinese herbs &amp; 'bu'. I was told not to follow what others normally do for typical confinement. In my 1st pregnancy, I took ginseng every alternate days during 1st trimester &amp; I don't feel heaty at all. I was also told to juz maintain a balance diet &amp; exercise a bit can liao.

hi bluebells, yes there are such calendar ard.. but I'm a bit confused if the calendar is based on the mum chinese or english age.. Really quite blur in all those methods..

*HENG* qwer that u're not staying with ur MIL.. can imagine how worse it could be if U're staying together.. Bound to have many conflits..

Hi Starlite, glad to hear from U.. Be careful now and rest well if U can.. May U Recover soon gal..

hi Lyn, i agree with the gals that its best to seek a doc soon or call ur gynae up . dun wait..