Support group - Miscarriages

i tot i was well... but i sense my period is coming and feeling super low. if things were alright then, you would be 11wks old and i would be holding u in my arms in early apr 09.

Nike,
Sorry about your loss.. I understand the pain as I went through twice.
don't worry.. trust your gynae.. Stay strong & take good care..
Mostly importantly, eat more tonic to get back to best of health..

I have a bb full month to attend end this month & I don't know how.. In fact most of my friends are already parents and will sure bring their kids along...
how i wish I am still preggie and can proudly annouce to them.. sob sob

Nike - i suppose its normal so long as gynae has checked and your womb is now back to normal. do take care and stay positive meanwhile

smurfy - like you, i thot i was ok til last weekend i broke down again when i suddenly thought of my 2 lost babies.. it was hurting to think that i lost 2 babies this year. i told myself i want to wait 6 months to TTC again but when i was crying and breaking down, i suddenly had the urge to try immediately! but of cos, i held back. sigh... i guess only a successful pregnancy can help to take away these pains,even then the next preg is gona be rather scary too...*shrugs*

carebeary - it certainly takes lots of courage to attend such functions. by attending it, could be that youa re helping urself come out of it. but it all depends on you really. if u really are not comfortable, maybe can skip it meanwhile if its not a super close friend.

Aileen, *HUGS!!!*
my cousin's wife just gave birth and t am green with envy...but t still want to go and wish them well and bless them and etc...

my a/f hasn't report yet and i told myself to wait for 6 months as well. meanwhile, i am trying to find out more about the nutrients i should take in more and etc etc...trying hard to stay positive~

Thanks everyone for the encouragement! Been taking chicken essence to 'tiao' my body.

Both physically & mentally got over it.
However it still hurt when friends & colleagues around me kept asking when I'm planning for a bb or asking if I am already pregnant.

How i wish I have the courage to tell them what have happened & shut their mouth.

Aileen, you are right. Only a successful pregnancy can help to take away these pains we have.

Hope to hear positive results soon from this website. JIA YOU!

hi ladies...

tink i some time nv com in here liao..

was watching the taiwanese idol-drama 命中注定我爱你 when there is an episode where the gal gotta go thru a D&C in order to save her own life after an accident as she was bleeding badly. the hubby beri sadly signed the letter for D&C while the gal cried n pleaded him nt to sign the letter. after the D&C the gal was crying hysterically. i see liao cry like mad coz it reminded me of my M/C.. if oni bb was still ard, i would haf been 22wks..

tis cycle i confirm no O, really lose motivation to TTC coz hopes are so low.

Bluberi - dun lose heart, u never know if you will O soon. and even if u dun O tis month, im sure next mth u will
i heard out of 12 mths a year, we only O 10 times, so tis mth could just be that 2/12... jia you!!!

Aileen, i went for Blood test this morning.. didn't go to Dr. Adrian Woodworth liao, went to my other gynea Dr. Adelina Wong. told her my current AF cycle reported w/o taking medication after CD38, she said i must haf O late last cycle, dats y e blood test result was not good. she also said if nv O, AF will not report by itself. izit true?

maybe is a consolation to me.. today I have received a letter from NTUC Income, that my claim amount has been improved. Considered myself lucky, they have passed this "pregnancy complications benefit" only on 1 Sept 2008, even though I had my d&c on 20 Aug, I am valid for it. The claimable amt is up to $2000. Anyone has tried to make a claim successfully too?

i think my a/f reported. but it was regular flow to now very very slight flow. not sure if its a/f or not...

i normally get this sorta menses when i am in my healthy status. as in with regular exercise and etc..was it becos of all the bu stuffs I took?

babythad,
Are u having NTUC incomeshield plan too? Maybe u want to call their office to check.

torayme,
for my first few af after my first D&C, the flow was quite heavy and got bad cramp too, compare to my normal flow. As long as there are no clots shd be ok.

Hi Stephy,

Yes, i have my plan with incomeshield. i've called them up and apparently, they dint receive my form for claim. TMC will check whether they have submitted my claim form and get back to me.

bluberi,

I did some research b4.. wat yr gynae says it's true.. but there are veri rare cases where the the woman got AF but nv O.. BTW my gynae is also adelina wong.. I really find her reassuring

sasha
your letter was shattering... it brought back my memories and tears... even though i had a pair of adorable twins now, i still can't forget that i had a D&C done last year before...

the mc is just like a scar in my heart which cannot be removed and forget...

But gals, cheer up and be positive... then the chances of conceiving will be greater...do continue to take care of your body and soul...

Sorry for MIA-ing... Went back to school and busy busy busy!!! My 1st menses after my D&C last month came on 21/09 (Sun). Looking forward to trying this cycle.

I agree that only with a successful pregnancy and delivery will we start to nurse our wounds after our M/C...

Let's be strong and press on!!!

Hi, ladies
I'm new here can someone advise me, after D&C need to go thru confinement anot? What can or cannot eat?
Because i'm doing D&C this saturday, can I bath as usual? And my gynae said can TTC again after 2 menstration
cycle is it true cos my 1st gynae said better wait after 6 months.

Hi Sasha - congrats on ur first menses coming.. i also just had my first menses aft D&C.. but somehow this mid cycle, discharge abit light pink.. think the body still adjusting... hope next mth will b normal again.. all the best to your TTC this month

Elmoo - sorry to hear bout ur D&C this sat. basically you gota take bu stuff for ur body like ba zhen tang and chicken essence.. try to eat more ginger stuff and hot soup, no cold drinks for the moment.i bath as usual so i think its up to u cos i think some others used the herbs to bath... as for TTC aft hw many cycles, i tink its really up to urself. Meanwhile perhaps wait til ur first menses after D&C comes and gynae done a scan to check that everything is fine and uterus shrunk back to norm. do come in if you need to talk
* pat pat* take care...

Hi, Aileen
Thanks alot really appreciate that!
So must eat BU stuff how long? Also 1 month like confinement?
Actually this is not my 1st D&C the previous 1 I didnt really take care so wana make myself healthier then try again.
Dont why its happens again is it because my body is weak? My mil keep saying because I drank too much cold
drinks then body not good..

Hi Elmoo,

I've also heard that cold drinks are very harmful to us, though I still drink a little now and then lo. The BU stuff is up tp individual, between 2 weeks - 1 month. Eat more stuff with ginger and drink chicken's essence, bird's nest, DOM etc. I didn't follow strict confinement though. Heard from many that if you dun BU properly the 2 weeks after birth or D&C, nothing you eat or do in the future can BU back. But of course, western medicine doesnt believe in confinement at all lo. Moderation I guess!

As for TTCing, it's really hard to wait so I'm trying this cycle, my 1st cycle after D&C. according to the statistics I've collated (previous page), there are mummies who conceived first cycle after D&C and successfully delivered

Hi Aileen,

I've been having brown discharge during midcycle ever since my 1st menses after my dnc in end march. I've been looking forward to see clear discharge for a long time. I've no clue why??

When I went for pap smear in june, no infections.. gynae said it's old blood. Hope it'll eventually go away.

Hi, sashamama
I'm thinking of getting the confinement home delivery food but charges very expensive, so i guess need to go back my
mum hse to trouble her. Really dont like to do confinement again but no choice
Haizzz...
Thanks alot!

Hi, sashamama
Actually I'm planing for 2009 baby but hope gone guess this type of thing cant one, now abit scare
to try again. Sob sob...

Hope everyone in this thread jia you, jia you and good luck to all!

Just want to share my painful experience with my 1st baby, which turned out to be ectopic.

My hubby & I got marrried in November 2007 and had been trying for baby since then. However, due to work stress, I had got Shingles around end January 2008. On the 1st day of CNY this year, I saw stains on my panty, so I thought my menses had starting, which meant our baby making failed again.

However, the bleeding went on for 2 weeks, which slight pain is accompanied. I got worried & went to see my prevous gynae, who cleared my endometriosis in Dec 2005.

She spotted a cyst inside & only gave me some medications to shrink the cyst. I asked her about the possibility of ectopic pregnancy, because I experienced the same signs as another colleague who had ectopic too. This gynae didn't do any check on me and just answered me it was impossible. Actually, I did a check in December 2007 with this gynae and I was perfectly allright. I couldn't believe a cyst could grow to a size of 4 to 5cm in 2 months time. I started to suspect whether she did a good job when checking on me in December 2007.

My colleague insisted that I seeked another opinion & recommended me to her gynae, Dr Peter Chew. He's a very careful man. He said any treatment could only be decided after I'm confirmed to be not pregnant. Therefore, he did multiple tests on me, such as Beta HCG & urine test.

To my surprise, Beta HCG showed that I'm pregnant. But ultrasound scan couldn't see anything. Dr Chew said he's worried that it may be ectopic, but asked me to rest & be bed-ridden for 3 days.

The 2nd Beta HCG gave us the bad news that it's more likely to be ectopic.

Dr Chew insisted that I admit into the hospital immediately for the operation. I was so disappointed when I heard the news of I couldn't keep my baby. I broke down in my hubby's arms.

27th February 2008, a date that I will never forget. It was one of the longest day that I went through. After the operation, Dr Chew confirmed it was an ectopic pregnancy & it was in my right tube and a 5cm emdometroic cyst. I was already having internal bleeding, which means I was lucky that I went to Dr Chew for 2nd opinion. If not, I might have died or have other complications, due to the overlook of my previous gynae.

Till today, I still cannot come to terms that my baby is gone, especially when I know endometrosis is one of the cause for ectopic pregnancy. I keep feeling like I'm the one who killed my own baby. I feel guilty & lousy.

hi nic
thankfully U had sought for 2nd opinion in time. Otherwise things would have been unimaginable. have u went back to dr pete chew.. did he give further advise on future ttc-ing? pls be strong..

Nic - sorry to hear what happened to you, do stay strong and hopefully you will be blessed with a healthy baby soon...

Elmoo - i did take them after my first D&C but cos it was too yucky for me, i stopped.. heard its good to take them. as for the bu, try to take for at least one week, if can take for 2 weeks will b good.

Bride0712 - for me,funni thing is after bout 2-3 days of brown, now its clear/milky again but wf bit of red streaks... i rem the last time after my first D&C mid cycle, i also got red streaks. and when i told gynae bout it and he scanned, he says shld b ok. hope tis round will also b ok...

Hi, I would like to seek some advise. I just had a D&C done last week. Was told by my gynae to wait for my next menses b4 ttc again. However my frez has been advising me to wait for at least a couple of mths for the womb to heal. But I am getting impatient. Anyone can advise if its ok to ttc soon? Is it true tat after D&C our womb lining will be thinner? I read thru e previous page & come across some ladies who miscarriaged liao & managed to successfully conceived e following mth..erm.. would like to check is it a natural m/c or D&C? sorry for my many many qs.. as I am quite anxious & lost right now.. thanks in advance

Dear Nic,

I have endometriosis too and went for 2 surgeries to remove the clots. This time round, my M/C was not caused by the endo but simply the bb didn't grow beyond 6 weeks. Having a reliable and professional gynae is very impt, am glad you sought a second opinion fast enough. For your previous gynae, I wonder if there's a way to 'warn' him/her against his/her irresponsible and unprofessional actions. It's been about 7 mths for you and we can sense your scar is still very raw and fresh. Eventually, it WILL heal, heal enough for us to move on and embrace our next successful pregnancy and delivery

Hi Charm,
My gynae told me to wait til first menses come (not the one right after D&C). Reading the stats on the previous page, we can see that many conceive successfully after 1-2 cycles after D&C, they did not state if it was natural M/C or D&C but I guess it doesn't matter much? Most natural M/Cs would also have to go through D&C cos rarely will a natural M/C clear all clots I think.

I will be trying this month after my 1st menses after my D&C last month. It's up to the individual when she wants to try again, some gals wait 6 months, some 2, some 1. I trust my gynae when she says after 1st menses can try, moreover, like you, I don't have much patience left :p

dear all, i had 2 miscg last year... i also have endometriosis. june 07 i miscg realise got a big blood cyst. aug i operation oct i got preg again but lose it at 8 week in dec,also no heartbeat like sashamama.. but i realised during the last 6mth(which started ard march 3mth aft my 2nd miscg), i start to have panic attack, generalize anxiety disorder... every little bit of stress end up mk me felt tense whole day. at first i thought was becos i trying to conceive again. but on certain mth when i was taking a break not trying to conceive, i felt the same.. i read that it could be post trauma that causing brain simultant imbalance... and probably also cause me to have thyroid problem.

The final episode came when my colleague and 1 started cold war 3 weeks ago.i felt extreme tension whole day for the past 2 weeks. i felt feeling nausea, stomach & neck contraction as if being strangle. i really cant ctrl my tension. well that fatal day, i replied her question in a frustrated tone. now i feel very stress seeing her black face everyday. i tried to apolognise and explain my plight and i under stress but she wasnt sympathetic. she said she dont owe me a living and it's my own problem i should brace up stop bothering pple. i dun have right to vent my frustration... i know she's right but it's like a knife pierce thru my heart...

but i really couldn't ctrl.. ever since then i started taking the anti depressant medi from my psychiatrist but it doesnt seem to help. i still felt very tense, getting out of control. i'm worried it will worsen my thyroid condition and cause any other major illness. stress is definitely not healthy but i dont know how to get out of it. i thought of getting drunk, slapping myself, watch movies to have a good cry but nothing helps.

i felt so hopeless.. i felt i can never be calm again and i can never be a mother again. it's a vicious cycle. i know i couldnt stay less panic even though i knew it most likely was the cause my last 2 miscg and the next one if ever it comes i think i gonna panic even more. yet to be a mother was my greatest hope. i know my hubby is contented even if we really cant have one.but i can never live with such regret.

i thought i will be strong. in fact 4 mths after my 2nd miscg although i notice i already showing sign of tension. i push myself to see gynae try for another baby, i believe i rested enough and was ready. i tried 1 round of natural conception with doc's help to time ovulation period and 1 round of SO-IUI, i was actually relieve i didnt succeed getting preg especially after the SO-IUI cos after that i was very worried i will miscg if i'm preg again. the fear was very realy very frightening..

any one taken medi for depression? xanax & prothiaden? at this stage i really felt like giving up everything, i wanna quit my job and hope minimise stress will improve my condition but will that help?? i know deep dwn this job is not that tough and i need the income. i cant expect my hubby to bear the financial burden besides it will be tough to support both of our expense.but i really dont think i can handle a job and be preg cos i get panicky easily, does this soft character of mine means i will never have a child... sigh..i really felt like a failure, i dont have the courage to seek death nor do i have the faith to brace up. life to me is a zombie i really dread going to work...

Sashamama,
Thanks for ur advise. I think I will also start trying after my 1st round of menses.I can't wait any longer.Read that after D&C e 1st 3mths we will be very fertile. I don't wanna miss this chance
I believe only a successful birth can heal my pain.Hope both of us will be successful in conceiving & delivering soon.

createjoy,
Look forward..Its alright to mourn for your loss but its not e end of the world.Give yourself some time.Try again when you are ready.Don't be scare of failure.One day we will all succeed de.There are so many successful stories around.Don't you find it encouraging?As for your stress & tension..sorry I never been thru this so unable to share anything.Take care

Sorry would like to check something else.. after my D&C my 'menses' only come for 1 day.. the very same night end liao. Slight spotting for another 2 days.. is it normal? I noticed most ladies after D&C menses come for many days..even to 22 days.. erm is it true after D&C our womb linning will be thinner? How long it takes to go back to the same thickness b4 D&C?So can I assume womb thin liao will not affect another pregnancy?

Hi, charming cham
I also got the same problem as you, i got my D&C done this morning (27/09) but now already dry up. Dont know is it normal,
I've ask my gynae how long will the "Menses" last he said will last about 4-5 days leh...

elmoo,
Hope you are doing fine..rest well.Btw do you have short menses? My regular menses usually last 1-2days..I never had heavy flow during menses b4. So wondering if this could be the cause of my 1 day menses after D&C.I just asked my gynae..he said few days but when I told him mine only 1 day he said also ok de.

Charming cham,
My 1-2 days more, 3-6 days abit only..Even when I had my 1st gal after delivery also 2 days only, heard some mummy "COME" 2 weeks leh! I'm abit abnormal..

Need some advice from u.
I juz had D&E 2 wks ago. This method of abortion was preferred by my gynae over D&C to reduce scarring of the womb.
After my checkup last wk, I was told to go for a washing of the womb when my first regular menses after D&E ended to prevent scarring of the womb.
Juz to check, is this practice normal?
Thought the washing of the womb shld be performed during the abortion procedure?
Appreciate ur inputs wif thks.

createjoy,

perhaps you can consider taking up part-time job. thou income is lower but at least it helps to sustain your daily needs. cheer up girl!

Hi createjoy,

I agree with Avocado, getting a part-time job, especially one that doesnt feel like a job, something you enjoy, would be better. Giving private tuition? High pay, flexible hours

Hi Charm,
My 1st menses after my D&C lasted about 5 days. My usual menses is about 6-7 days. FYI.

Hi atticflower,
Sorry to hear about your loss...
I've not heard about D&E before though, so sorry can't help much on this. Why do you still need to do a washing of the womb again after the D&E? Wouldnt that means 2 procudures? How's the D&E and wash done?

Hi Sashamama,

It's okie, no worries, I will try again.
My miscarriage was due to blighted ovum, juz a growing gestation sac.
D&E compared wif D&C is juz having the added process of vacuuming the uterine lining, apparently so as to minimise scraping.
My D&E was done in the doc's clinic under tranquilizer.
I'm puzzled too as to why can't the chemical washing of the womb be done during the D&E instead of having to perform two procedures under tranquilizer.
To me, it's like going through the abortion process again

Hope others wif similar experiences can share.

dear ladies.

so sorry to learn about all your past experiences.. But be strong. As i always remember a quote " Miscarrage is God's Method of quality control" God loves his children so much that he only want to give them the best"

Hi createjoy,

I have been thru lots of tension & stress after my 1st M/C...In fact my recent 2nd M/C, I developed anxiety as well due to constant worry and stress, but I thank God for helping me to pull thru the tough period.. Also, my husband & parents gave me lots of support..
I find it is helpful to continue to work as you get to interact with pple and helps to distract your feeling as well..
You could engage in exercise too, as this is the best way to reduce tension and stress..

M now starting to go jogging with my hubby and I love it ; )

To all gals,
Take good care and strive for best of health to conceive again ; )

My AF came on 21 Sep, exactly 1 month after M/C..but my sinseh didn't give green light to ttc as i need to 'tiao' my body.. need to wait for at least 3 mths..m getting so impatient already..

Jia You everyone!!

Hi Sashamama,

Have you starting ttc again?

Just to update u ladies tat I din wait for my next cycle (suppose to come next week) I was getting real impatient,I did asked my gynae since its only 3 weeks after my D&C,he said I can try, there is no harm nor side effect eg infection. So I just went ahead & start ttc liao...
Good luck to me & all of you ya!!

Hi Cham,

Yes, I started after my 1st cycle after D&C. This cycle came 40 days after the D&C. I wonder if this cycle will be my usual 30-31day-cycle or change to 30+ days liao. Cos my first month this month using OPK strips from UK and from CD11 to CD18 all negative le... Sigh...

Any advice, gals?

Sashamama - my was stil the usual 28 days after 1st DnC, but now hor, my AF haven come tho was supposed to be on Wed.. perhaps, its stil regulating so give ur body some time. im sure the OPK will show a positive soon
jia you!

i had heavy spotting on 25 sept after my d&c on 20 aug, after that i have spotting for the following few days, called up my gynae's nurse, she said doesn't consider menses at all. haiz, quite demoralized.

today, i went to see a different tcm, dr tan at clementi, he told me to ttc only next year. i guess i have to put the "project" on hold.

hi stephy,
u visited the famous dr tan huh? i yet to visit any tcm doc le, and started trying this 1st cycle liao... if u decide to put the 'project' on hold, must 'bu' as much as u can in this period of time before ttc-ing, those ttc-ing would try to 'bu' along the way lo, like me...

we keep one another updated on our progress

Stephy,

Guess there will be alot of similar people like us cant differentiate whether "the bleeding" should consider as our 1st menses or simply spotting after D&C.
I also have similar issue. Mine came 3 weeks after my D&C. Not sure if I should consider that as my 1st menses.

Any reason for change of tcm? Thought you have been seeing Dr Tan @ Ying Chuan for years? Heard she quite famous in this area too.

*Hugz*
We sure will have healthy babies.