Support group - Miscarriages

hey roxy, thanks for the tcm contact.

Hi porky, are u feelin ok? here's my experience to share:

yes , u will be put to sleep before the procedure. procedure is quite short, about 10-15min. some doc will wake u immed after the procedure, while some may let u sleep for about 1-2 hrs then wake u up.

as for pain, it might varies with individual. i din feel as much pain for my dnc last yr. but my second experience last month, i felt some pain and cramps after i was woken up.

my 2 dncs were about 1-2k plus. bills can cost from 500 and above in structured hosp to 1-2K plus depending on the doctor, the location (eg done in pte clinic or pte hosp). i guess some might cost more if it gets complicated.

i m not sure on the condition to claim medisave,but i could claim for my 1st dnc but not for the second. not sure if it was due to the cost of it, as it was done by a different gynae. perhaps other girls can share more on this.

Sheryl, piyobaby and others who were discussing on AF. my AF came about 1 month after my Dnc last month. I was kinda expecting it as i tested myself ovulating about 2 weeks ago... i hope my Af next month would be regular.

the last time, my Af came about 6 weeks after Dnc, and it kinda took a while before it regulate..

come to think about it, mickey/minnie bb would be nice, my hubb is also born in year of mickey 36 yrs ago... but now kinda scared to try again... we are thinking of getting another dog...

wah, piyobaby, got 2008 ttc thread? mus go and visit..

irene...thanks for sharing....im observing to have sum EWCM....today is 14 days post surgery so hopefully it will cum 2 weeks later....=)

yes irene...2008 TTC thread is realli active....the whole bunch realli frenly & helpful too....=D

Hi Porky,

I had 2 weeks MC back then. Take this oppportunity to rest your body and do a mini-confinement. It is impt to prepare it for the next stage.

Porky: *lots of hugs* I just did Evac of Uterus on Monday... Not too sure what's the difference from D&C. But must remember to do mini confinement... cos it's the best time to correct the condition of the womb as well and make it a friendlier environment for the next pregnancy...

Rabbit: Hi, Resting at home now and my mum don't allow me to bath for 1 week... She says it's the best time to 'tiao' my body and who knows, I might conceive without having to go thru IVF again. My sis's colleague's friend also had a miscarriage after IVF but a few months later, she managed to conceive naturally. Will hope for the best, if not will take a few months off before going for FET. Before my surgery, which I waited about 5 hours, I kept crying on and off, I guess to know that my little one didn't make it and was still inside me make me feel really bad. I kept saying to him,' Mummy loved you and has never given up on you.' After everything is over, I manage to control my emotions better.

hi cynthia,

Glad you are feeling better...can understand how you feel as I am an IVF patient under Dr Loh.

I was shivering so hard before the D&C previously, not sure scared or cold.

My sister taught me to bath using 'Da Fong Chao' with warm water after the D&C. Remember to drink water brew with red dates, dried longan, ginger.

My sister had miscarriage before but she has her kids now (conceived naturally). It is good to follow up with TCM to tiao your body.

hi Cynthia,

Apologises that I wasn't being clear.
I conceived naturally previously before miscarriage. This time round i have undergone IVF considering I am old and also been trying many years for kids.
I am hoping and praying very hard that everything goes smoothly this round with the pregnancy and hope that I do not have to go for FET [I have only 1 frozen egg].

I remembered that my little bleeding ends very fast, and I don't feel much discomfort after the D&C. But mine was not a normal case as I had some complications with the D&C. It is important to monitor if you have your mens subsequently, not sure if you will also be visiting Dr Loh for follow-up. Ensure that everything is ok.

hi cynthia, glad that u are fine after D&C. rest well too. so are u also on hospitallisation leave now ? i am still shivering at the thot of my D&C tmr...

Hi Cynthia and porky...i m from sep 2008 thread too. Had done the evacuation of uterus on monday..now feeling better liao. Porky, sorry to hear abt ur miscarriage, dun worry too much..everything will be fine soon. Guess, u must be very nervous abt the procedure..me too initially, as i never been admitted to hospital b4..so i m very very scarred when i think abt it. In fact, the whole procedure was quite fast. I was admitted in the morning ard 8.30am, then was put on medicine ard 10.45am(for the cervix to dilate, as doc said i never give birth b4, so cervix will still be very tight). My surgery started at 1pm, i was put into sleep, so i couldnt remember and feel anything abt the surgery. Just that after putting the medicine, i have painful cramps (like those period cramps), and i felt it too after the surgery. But the pain wears off once i m alert for abt 1-2 hrs, and have my meal after that.

As for the confinement part,..i dun think i can do a good job on it. Dun really know wat to eat, except for porridge and sesame chix. Can i ask if u gals here still shower and do housework as per normal? How long do we need to do the mini confinement?

Hi Shirley, cynthia, porky and piyobaby,
i am from sep 2008 as well. I didnt go through the D&C. Is that normal? My sac just flush out by itself. B4 the sac flush out i still tested positive is the kit though i was bleeding.. After the flush out i tested the next day and is negative already. I knw my baby was gone when i go toilet cos the "sac" look diff..I was looking out for it cos both the gynae i visit say i dun have to go through D&C and the sac will be flush out automatically.

hi jappoh..i think i remember ur nick. Were u still in the very early stages then? since u have visited ur gynae, and she said it's ok..then dun worry too much liao. Did the gynae confirm ur sac has been clear by some scan or test?

Rabbit: Oooops made a mistake :) I'll be praying for you as well..

Porky: I'm on medical leave.... I understand how you feel. At the
operating theater, I was crying so badly, the nurses ask me if I was nervous about the operation. Honestly, I was silently saying goodbye to my little one... I actually resisted falling asleep for a while just wanting to feel him in my tummy a little bit longer.....
I'll be around if you need a listening ear okie....

Shirley: Hi, I'm sorry to see you in this thread.. Did you have yours done at KKH? Mine was also done on Monday.. Are you still bleeding quite a bit?? Cos mine has turned to spotting today... As for mini confinement, my mum is not allowing me to bath and wash my hair for a week and NO CARRYING OF HEAVY THINGS AT LEAST FOR A MONTH. But every morning, she will throw a packet of herbs,you can get this from Chinese medical shop, just tell them it's for confinement, into a big container and poor hot water over it. I'll wait for it to cool down and use it to wipe my body only. Any water I touch now needs to be boiled so even washing my face, I use boiled water. Every morning, drink a warmed up bottle of Chicken Essence. Try not to eat porridge or noodles as they don't really fill up our tummy and might cause "wind". You can try cooking chicken/pork with ginger slices and sesame oil and eat with rice. Have your Hubby go to the medical shop and ask them to pack some herbs for confinement to boil with black chicken and drink every night. If not you can double boil a black chicken with one capful of DOM for about 45 minutes. Try not to catch 'wind', wear long sleeve and pants even at home and if you must sleep in air con, cover yourself well. Rest more in bed as well. Hope I'm not too long winded.... ;-)

Jappooh: Sorry to see you here too.... My sis-in-law who was pregnant the same time as me had a miscarriage 2 weeks before me b=and she didn't go thru the D&C as well.... She was bleeding and cramping and when she went to the toilet, she passed out 2 large piece of blood clots which the gynae say it's the sac and 2 weeks later when her gynae checked, her uterus was all cleared. Guess for yours, your body assisted in rejecting the sac. If both your gynaes have given you a all clear sign, it should be fine...

hi cynthia...thanks for your information...it's very informative and helpful. But i think it would be difficult for me to follow..as i m alone at home, and no one can help with the confinement. B4 i saw ur post, i still have fans blowing on me..hmm..regretted now!

I had my surgery on monday too..then start to bath on tuesday, today then washed hair. No more red spots at all today..yesterday still have some spotting. I had mine done at mt alvernia. Did they discharge u only after u urinate. I admit the hospital at 8.30am, and discharge only ard 5.30pm.

Mine if i ask u, is this ur 1st pregnancy?

Most welcome Shirley:)

Don't worry about the fans now... What you need to do now is to eat ginger to let go of the wind in ur tummy. After my surgery, I had some fried rice with lots of ginger and that night I kept on farting... My poor hubby...

Try to drink a bottle of chicken essence in the morning and a small cup of DOM at night. And please bath with warm water.

I was admitted at 9.20am and discharge at about 5.30pm as well... they did check if I urine... 1 lady beside me had problems and they didn't allow her to leave til she did....

Yes, it's my 1st pregnancy and I conceived thru IVF.... But I'm trying to move on now.... Planning to take a short trip to relax?

Cynthia,
I can understand how u feel.I was crying on & off b4,during & after dnc.Though it was a fast surgery,but it was a surgery to flush out my baby.Very very heartpain....i wish it was a nightmare.It took me some times to convince myself.As my 1st preggie was smooth-sailing,i find it hard to believe tat i've had m/c.

Rabbit,
Yup,i was feeling cold during the ops.The aircon in the ops theatre was very cold,even my gynae & nurses were complaining.They covered me wf 2 blankets but I still felt cold

hi shirley, u also in this thread now. at least i feel better here. i also did not been admitted to hospital before... mine will be at TMC tmr at 7.30am. urs is not D&C ? cos u mentioned evacuation of uterus ?? need to pop 2 pills to dilate the cervix tonight...sorry can i ask, what i need to bring to the hospital tmr ? need to bring pad anot ?

Hi porky
I had a dnc done in Mar last year... done by Dr Adrian too.. I cannot remember the total bill, but I brought all the pre-natal receipts I spent so far with Dr Adrian as maximum can claim $450 from Medisave and I actually hit the limit.. hence TMC even gave me a cheque refund of $100+ for my whole dnc operation...

Dr Adrian will give you some pills to take, which in my case, caused quite bad cramp and bleeding in the middle of the night.. so dun worry about it if you experience this.. pls take care of yourself

hi Xbliss...
Baby Isaiah is not gentle, he's just a lazy boy :p but we still love him to bits... seeing gynae tomorrow... hope to find out his weight then... help me give baby bryan a big kiss on his cheek too

hi roxy, so u are preggy already now ? congrats to u ! i am glad that u are having the same gynae as me. i keep asking Dr Adrian whether the procedure is pain or not...and i even told him that i wan to do it the natural way. but he discourage cos he say i wont know when my womb will start to reject the waterbag and might have severe pain & bleeding...u mean after taking the pills, the bleeding is like menses flow ? btw, anyone can tell me, need to bring a pad to hospital tmr or not ??

Hi porky, yup, u can bring 1 or 2 pads with you, and perhaps one pair of comfort long pants as well. Even if u dun bring pads, the nurse will give it to u also. Can also bring extra panties just in case u might need it..

Hi cynthia, any idea whats the difference between evucation of uterus n D & C?

Hi porky, cynthia and shirley, sorry to hear about yr loss. do take good care and do a mini confinement to recuperate your health ok? I had a MC 2 wks plus ago and did an evacuation of uterus as well.

hey ladies....so sad dat so many of us are from sep08 thread....but cheer up cos it's over le...look at the bright side...we will hold our next baby healthy & happy.... in our arms veri soon....=D

anyway ladies who have just done ur D&C....if u are on antibiotics or medication...gota be careful on the 'bu pin' u take...e.g. cant take DOM bcos it contain alcohol....might wan to check wif gynae for more advice....=)

sheryl....evacuation of uterus and D&C should mean the same thing cos my gynae uses the term D&C but on the bill it's reflected as evacuation of uterus...=)

cynthia...u are veri detailed...i din follow alot of 'rules' of confinement....i still bath & wash hair as usual cos i cant tahan but i try to do it in the noon wif warm water....ate onli sesame chicken / pork wif lots of ginger....in fact i just decide to stop my red date tea so resuming back to plain water tomorrow....=)

Hi Sheryl,

Still trying to find out the difference... Asked the nurse the other day but she was mumbling so didn't really understand what's she is saying.....

Hi piyobaby,

My mum say this is the best time to tiao my body cos only during this period we can take a lot of heaty stuff.... So got my MIL to come to my place everyday to cook for me to eat....
Oooops I'm on antibiotics and last night took a small cup of DOM... but there's a 2 hrs break in between...

Hi cynthia, just check with u..are we taking the same antibiotics? doc gave me DOXYCYCLINE and FLAGYL. I remember the nurse told me one of them i cant have milk pdts including milo(can only have it after 2hrs), and the other one cant have alcohol at all..just be cautiuos..so i didnt take any dairy or alcohol pdts for now!

yes..i would like to go for a short break also...thinking of bali now, coz never been there b4. When i was pregnant, i missed the thai mango salad so much..how i wish i can fly to bkk just to have it..hehe..

these few nites, me not having good sleep, dunno why...alwez wake up in the middle of the nite...sianz!

Hi Shirley,

I'm taking Co-Amoxiclav... Nurse did't tell me not to take any alcohol or diary products....

I'm also thinking of going to Bali... haha... thot good idea to go somewhere relaxing and don't have to walk too much... Any idea when an we fly?

I'm not sleeping too well too... usually sleep about 11pm but wake up by 7.30am.... Maybe it's due to the heaty stuff zi'm eating...

shirley/ cynthia,

It's normal to not have a good sleep. I remembered I will sleep at abt 12+ and wake up at about 4am. Then i couldn't get back to sleep again and cried and cried till abt 7am when my hubby wake up and bring me to my mum's house (cos i did my confinement at my mum's place). This went on continuously for abt 3 wks. Even now the moment i think of my baby Owen, i will still tear.

cynthia...im not too sure if it's ok so i totally avoid till my antibiotics are completed...=)

just started to drink plain water after 2 weeks...phewss...dun need to boil red date tea anymore..

hi pegsfur..cheer up ok? sad for too long is harmful to us! As long as nobody ask me abt my preggie or baby..i think i m fine! I try not to think too much abt it..try to keep urself occupied..watch some movies or reading..dun be too sad liao..

hi cynthia..hehe..u also thinking of bali? u been there b4? i m not very sure when we can fly? my next check up with gynae is on next tuesday, hope everything is fine after that..by the way..i have some spotting again today..strange..as yesterday my pad was very clean!

hi piyobaby..i also wish i can go back to my normal diet soon! Missed green tea and iced lemon tea now...u back to work already?

piyobaby: Hope it's okie...

Shirley: Been there when DH and I were still dating ;-) and love the place there... Esp the massages.... Cheap and GOOD! hahaha... I'm also having spotting on and off... But read on the net it's okie..... My appt with my gynae is only on the 5/3.....

today i am feeling a bit upset..

Yesterday evening receive the sms from my ex colleague his wife give birth to a baby boy. that make me tear for my baby last nite. This morning, i was appt by my colleagues to look for gift to be send to me ex colleague.. Feel quite down.. Now to look at those new born stuff.

Hi Jappooh,

Why not tell your colleagues frankly that you are not in the position to look for the gift.... Don't think you should push yourself to do that....

Hi jappooh..cheer up! If really find it hard to do, then let ur colleagues know that u not comfortable doing it, otherwise just said sorry..u too busy and dun have the time to do it.

hi sheryl
I tink evacuation of foetus and dnc is the same... coz last year when i went for my operation, they also put it as evacuation...

hi porky
How are you feeling after your operation now? Dun be sad k? Let your body rest a bit, have some TCM then can try TTC again. Dr Adrian will prob ask you to go back see him in 2 mths time for a follow up visit to ensure everything is cleared. Thanks, Im 25 weeks pregnant now..just came back from gynae visit, glad everything is normal. But currently not seeing Dr Adrian now coz I find him not detailed or thorough enough for me. My dnc was done last Mar. Only managed to conceive again 6 mths later. In between AF was pretty screwed up, sometimes can have 2 AF in 1 mth. And there was once I had spotting for half month. It took me 1.5 mths of TCM to regulate back my cycle and soon after striked again. This pregnancy so far has not been easy as well but Im glad to be blessed with a second chance. So you dun give up too k?

Hi pegsfur
Pls cheer up... Im sure baby Owen is in heaven right now with all our other little ones. And we will all be blessed with a second chance again soon.

Hi Cynthia and Shirley,
cos i am the close to my ex colleague.. He was my previous boss. Among those are sharing the gifts i am the only lady who have a kid. so they say i should knw wat a new born need loh.. So hard for me to reject.

Hi roxy,
dun knw u remember me.. are u the one selling away your ovulation kit? I think i PM u rite? Congrats on your second bb.

Hi, i just came across this thread, as to share my experience and hopefully it will encourage all TTCers.

In April 2006, i was so happy that i was expecting my 2nd baby. However, my joy was shortlived, i m/c my baby naturally (without DnC) during 5 weeks into my pregnancy. It was very devastating to us. But we thank God that there were alot of ppl praying for us, support & encourage us.

Once my menses stop (abt 1 week) we tried again. At a post mc check up at 5 weeks later. I told my Gynae that i picked up positive in my HPT. The Gynae told me that it could be my old hormones that yet to back to normal after the mc. However, i told him that after mc, i did a HPT, it is already negative. Therefore, my Gynae quickly order a blood test for me. The hormones result come back higher then my last hormones when mc. So it could be a new pregnancy. At the ultrasound, it still cannot be detected. And was told to come back a week later. God is good and amazing, at the next visit, the ultrasound detected my feteus. We really want to praise God for his providence and his amazing grace that I conceive 1-2 weeks after i mc. My son was very healthy and bouncy and birth weight was 4.12kg. Now he is already 1 yr old.

For those still trying, please do not give up hope coz, all things are possible and continue to trust in Him who is our Giver of Life. God Bless

Hi Chloe,

i hope i can be like u. I have a MC at 5 wks as well also naturally without any D&C. I test with the HPT after MC and get a negative as well. Yesterday i suspect i olvuate cos i see white muscus but too bad didnt manage to BD cos my hubby is working these 2 days and wont be hm. If not maybe i have chance like u. But for me cos i have irregular mense i also dunno did i really O anot. Cos i need clomid to help me O when i try for bb.

yes shirley....i went back to work on tue....veri nua le cos i was almost absent for work near to a month...kekeke

jappooh....pls dun be sad...wat i did was to bring myself to face anythg & everythg dat has got to do wif pregnant...babies etc....after a while u would have realise dat u are taking it easier than yest....i bring myself to talk abt it in front of others too.....=)

Hi piyobaby,
i am upset last sat as my boy carry my sis 4mth old gal and tell me he wan a meimei.. How i wish i have a meimei for him.

Yesterday evening after receive the sms i am still ok. When teh nite falls i suddenly cry. So this morning mood still affected. maybe i should be like u face the new born stuff.

jappooh...it's onli natural for us to feel sad at times but pls dun weigh urself down wif ur emotions...bad for ur health too....u will have a meimei for ur boy lor...jus a matter of time...coming veri soon....=)

Hi piyobaby,
thanks i am trying cos sometimes i still cant blame myself cos i carry my boy 2 days b4 i bleed and go site for testing with laptop the day i bleed. I dunno is that the cause for my bleeding. My hubby keep telling me those are not the cause is cos the foetus is unhealthy so it choose to abort naturally.. I am still trying to think positive but i find my mood swing loh..

Hope i can be as strong as u.

jappooh...ur hubby is right....tis is a natural process and seriously even gynae cant do much or have any control over it....it's onli natural to go thru a denial stage....blaming ourselves for the mishap but hey it's over and tomoro will b a beta day....=)

dun b silly...dats wat we are here for...to lend each other support when needed....

hi all, i am discharge at 1pm but slept till 5pm when reached home...feel really exhausted cos did not have any good sleep since i know my bb is gone at 8 weeks (last nite could not sleep at all due to the pain after taking the pills to dilate the cervix....)

piyobaby, the procedure is indeed super fast until i also cant rem what i has gone thru. i was feeling very down and tears keep dropping...the nurse even pass me tissue and comfort me while waiting for Dr Adrain. then Dr Adrian came and ask me any discomfort or not, i tell him got terrible cramps below. so he say not to worry, the cramps will be over very soon. the next moment i saw myself resting on the bed in the day surgery room already...

those that has went to TMC for the surgery, did u noticed a lot of mommies holding their new borns waiting at the registration area ? it was so heartbroken when i saw them holding their babies and waiting to go home together. i really cant control and began weeping again...sorry if i have made any of u tear...but i realise i feel better now and everything is like back to normal...

hi chloe, sorry to hear abt ur loss but glad then u have a 1yr old boy now. can i ask u, u mean u start to TTC after 1-2 weeks of ur mc ?

hi jappooh, i can understand ur feeling. i choose to inform my boss & col abt my mc and they are very kind to comfort me. my boss even send me a fruit basket today...

hi jappooh.. yes, I remember you.. and I am very sorry to hear about your loss. Your hubby is right, the foetus was unhealthy and sad though it seems, it might be better to let it go now then in later stages when discover there's something wrong with baby...

hi porky.. yes,it is very sad.. for the longest period after the mc, i feel so sad seeing pregnant women and couldnt help tinking it could have been me with the big tummy... but like what Chloe said, God is good, so dun give up! Remember to do a mini confinement now to bu your womb and you can always start trying again immediately

Hi Chloe.. glad to hear about your baby boy and your testimony. You are absolutely right, our God is good. My current pregnancy has been plagued with severe bleeding, low lying placenta and low amniotic fluid level. But I am glad that everything is ok now and God is taking good care of baby and He is listening to our prayers. Baby Isaiah is a miracle baby

hi porky..i m glad that u r feeling better now. Everything's over already...dun get to upset liao ok, tomoro will be a better day
In the meantime, rest well and take care!

Hi gals, realized that i have diarrohae yesterday and today? isit becoz the food i ate is too heaty...those cooked with sesame oil n ginger? anyone got same plm? but i no stomach pain, no vomiting...only pass out those watery things lo...

hi shirley, thanks. finally is over now. u got diarrohae ? i got constipation....my stools like become so hard that i have to keep forcing...but i also scard to force too hard. i thot at this moment our body should be heaty thus cos constipation ? do u experience slow flow of urine the first time u go toilet to pee after the surgery ? am i normal ??

btw, my gynae also give me DOXYCYCLINE and FLAGYL. do u know can take the antibotics with hongzhao water ? or take with plain water ? and my mil add rice wine to the food she cook today...is it consider as alcohol ?

Hi Porky..remember to do a mini confinement. I had my evacuation of the uterus last thur..currently resting at home. Had been drinking some herbal soup and DOM and also taking BAI FONG pills to strengthen the womb. When I had my D&C last yr, i cried every night for quite some time cos i really really envy those who carry baby in their hand. I saw my son being passed out and was lying motionlessly on my hospital bed..i was really heart broken. This time round, the hurt i felt is equally great as the first lost even though this time baby is only 8 weeks old. I kept on asking myself how can i possibly lost 2 children within a yr? If everything has went smoothly, i will be a mother of 3 now...how happy even though i know it is not easy...sign...

Oh..Porky, forgot to mention...i think better to take with plain water for yr antibiotics. Take the hongchao 1/2 to 1 hr later just to play safe. I suppose rice wine is consider alcohol too...but gd for yr health. Take care!

Chloe...i am so envious of you. Currently i am still having my menses..wondering if it is safe for me to try if menses stop cos my gynae told me to rest for 3 months before trying leh...

Hi piyobaby,
ya i always have to tell myself that the foetus is unhealthly that why it choose to auto abort.

Porky,
actually 3 of my close colleague as well as my immed boss knw abt it cos i have to go KKH immed on that day so have to inform him. but my immed this morning still ask me can i fly to beijing tomorrow morning.. I say no cos i need to bring my boy to school this weekend..

i still feel my stomach very bloated and have nausea feeling lei.. Sometime i wonder is my baby still inside me. Though i knw it already gone cos i test negative with HPT after i suspect the foetous have flush out. My hubby keep saying i think too much..

He always ask me to be strong becos of my boy. When look at my boy i am very comfort.. Everyday he will greet and hug me the moment i step into the hse.. When he see i tears he will bring tissue for me and wipe my tears away and ask me "pain pain"? Hw will bring his ball with a smiling face and tell me "siao siao lian". So i also tell myself to be strong for him.

Thanks after "talk" to u gals i feel better.