Support group - Miscarriages

dear mummies,

i had my D&C yest, i lost my baby at his 8th wk time n i only found out at 11 wk.. i am very sad n lost now, dunno wat to do.. feel like toking to somebody but not the people i know..

can I ask some question??

1) Is it necessary to do D&C?? (that is not cheap), can't we wait for teh baby naturally come out with menses?? I think my mensus coming very soon cos i have very bad brown discharge.. My gynea say if natural scare got infection..

2) Is the bleeding after D&C consider 1st AF??

3) any side effect by doing D&C??

4) do you guys feel anything after D&C?? me feel nothing..

5) are you guys ready to TTC again?? I am kinda lost here, this baby is my plan baby, i thot everything go smoothly with my plan n sudenlly everything just gone like that.. i have lost my target n dunno wat to do next..

my office got 5 pregnant ladies (including myself) this year.. 1 giving birth in March n 4 in August.. worst thing is i just annouce my pregnancy in Tuesday then found out my baby nomore heart beat in Wednesday n done my D&C in Thursday.. now i really dunno how to face those ppl in the office.. i lagi dun wan to see those mummies' tummy keep growing yet mine is empty.. stress..

Hi prawnmee,
Just tell yourself..you can be strong..and it will get better as days go by.

The other ladies will be at a loss of whether to share their details with u..it is up to u whether u can take it..if you r not ready to hear it,just walk away or alternatively u can see it as good info for ur next pregnancy ok?

Just to share with u..when i had my d&c in Jul,my sil was also pregnant.it was hard at first..to see her growing bigger whereas i have lost my little one.

She was super insensitive,being super obnoxious of her pregnancy,behave like a queen and expecting everyone to wait upon her..i got very agitated and amazed at her insensitivity since we were quite close before.

It got to me many times tat i jus refused to talk to her anymore..then it struck me,for me to harbour resentment towards her will only weaken my own health..why shd I since i wanna have a little one one day so i shd take care of myself..so i let it go.

So let's all be positive ok?

Dear Ladies,

Ignore what people say & ask... Be strong!

I had my D&E last month, baby Gracielle was 19wks old. Complications developed and if we carry her to full term, she'll hv to go thru massive surgery after birth & there's no guarantee that she'll be alrite after that. DH & I felt that it's too much pain for her to go thru knife cuts at such tender age, we decided to let her go. It was a 2-months ordeal b4 we made our decision.

Yes, we took our DD's life away! Nothing is more painful than this. Sometimes I wished that accident might just happen or DD's heartbeat just stop by herself rather than I have to stop her heartbeat!

It has not been easy... I hv to stay strong to assure my folks that I'm ok. My sis was due in 2 wks time when I had my D&E. My SIL announced her pregnancy. Elder DD (3yo) asked abt our baby...

My tummy was really prominent at 19wks, people ard us knew abt my pregnancy. When I came back to work, they asked. Just have to say that you do not wish to talk about it & walk away! Don't hv to be embarassed that you'll offend them or whatever. If they are so insensitive towards you, then don't bother.

Cry as much as you can, it's alrite to cry. Talk to someone if you feel like it. Blogging does help, I set up a blog for Gracielle. Whenever I miss her or elder DD talked abt her I'll blog it down. www.angelyiting.blogspot.com

I am still grieving, still cry when I miss her, talk abt her when I feel like it. I can't let go, but I am learning to accept it slowly.

Alway remember..Forget about what people say, but never forget the blessings that come each day!

Cher,
reali so sorry to know abt ur loss.

May I ask...what complications? I can understand how u feel. When my gynae told me tat my baby heartbeat has stopped,i was reali lost & couldn't believe wat I've seen & heard.

I felt i was a killer.I even asked my gynae if there is any other alternative surgery other than D&C.Because I feel it is very cruel to scrap & flush the foetus away.

My ex-colleagues were even so insensitive.Though I've resigned soon after knowing my preggie,some of my close colleagues knew abt my preggie.When I told them I've had miscarriage,they said:no big deal,why cannot tell other ppl?
i was reali fed up.Well, since they couldn't understand, i dont bother to explain further.Sometx,they've to go thru the process to know the pains.So now I've stopped contacting wf them.

U r absolutely right.Forget abt what ppl say.Initially,I felt very angry & disappointed with them.but now,I don't reali bother..after all,they're just my ex-colleagues,not ppl whom i close with.

Hello Cher

Read your blog.. cant help crying. Is never easy for us to go thru these.. and i know i will make the same decision as you. Have faith and God blessed you...

I look out into the sky often looking at the 2 most shinny stars above too... hoping thats my 2 little angels that i lost... Our babies, so have company i am sure... Stay cheerful.

hi mummies to be,
first of all, i wish us all great luck in our ttc journey in 08 and smooth pregnancy and deliveries.

kitmumtobe,
i am sorry to hear about the experience. pls stay strong and take good care of ur body in mean time. my angels will be playing with yours.

prawnmee,
D&C will help to clean up better.. sometimes natural mc wont clean out everything and in the end, will still require D&C.

i also planned very meticulously for my 1st baby and when i lost him at 19wks i was devastated. but u know something, we all have the ability to recover with time and support. So don't ever give up. i am now blessed with a baby boy who was born very prematurely at 27 wks. He was less than 1kg at birth and went through a lot in neonatal ICU. But, he has already come home and is doing well now. It is so good to have a child finally, but everyday i am grieving for my 1st boy, and the 2nd boy (for the second pregnancy where i delivered successfully, i lost one twin). there are good and bad days. when bad days come, just cry it out. u will feel better.

Cher
i also lost my 1st at 19wks also due to medical reasons. or rather, we chose to give him peace. i know how it feels. it hurts truly and i cannot recover from it ever. But life goes on, i have learnt to keep him in a portion of my heart where i can talk to him as and when i like and then tuck him away safely when i am busy. this is the best we can do for them. i am sure they will understand. My 2 angels are playing and taking care of ur gal now.

angela
how are u doing? do take care of yourself and little one there. be positive and talk to him/her loads k? it will be smooth and over soon. patience and rest is the key!

Hi Cher,
Sorry About your loss and the pains you have gone through.

I really admired your courage to do up such a nice and touching blog for your little angel. For me, it has nearly been a year and i still don't dare too pen down my thought. I'm afraid my tears will drop again after so long.

Gracielle's liver & intestines were growing in the umbilical cord, it ballooned up as big as her head. Due to this condition, her heart was deviated to extreme left, out of place.

At least for some mommies here, your babies heartbeat stopped & you've no other choice but to give up. For my case, we optioned to terminate the pregnancy...Gracielle was still alive when I entered the operating theatre. I literally took her life away.

Some pple debated that we shd gv her a chance to survive & go thru the ordeal of surgery.It's a high risk one which involves heart & liver. I cannot imagine...when elder DD was sick wz fever & taking jabs as newborn, I already felt heartache, dun even talk abt knife cuts. What if she cannot make it? Hw abt our emotional state of having her & losing her within short period. What abt the financial aspect? Lots of implications involved. That's y we made this decision.

I had a fair share of insentivities amongst colleagues. I hv one cannot stop talking even when I say I do not wish to talk abt it.I had to raised my voice to shut her up. Some stared at my tummy the moment they saw me. I felt angry too, but just ignore.

Everyone has different way to cope with their loss. I blog as I want to pen down what I want to tell Gracielle. Honestly each entry was posted wz tears. We didnt claim back her remains, thus there's no niche set up for her. The blog is a special place for Gracielle, somewhere that I can go to when I miss her. This is something I can do for her - to honour her.

We've set off some balloons on her 7th day anniversary. It does help as I felt that I was reaching out to her in heaven thru the balloons. Next Wed is her 49th day, we'll probably to the same.

Mommies, we will probably not be able to let go, but it's ok!

Hi Xbliss

I am doing fine so far.. 3 more weeks to 28weeks and that is consider my stable period. For now, i have to go for injection once a week and constanly checked on the stitches.. Staying positive as much as possible and look forward for my princess arrival.. hopefully full term. Not being working since Oct 07... time passes by slow... but guess is better to rest at home for this period of time....

Hope all is well wz you and ou bb boy...

angela, excellent job there!! i am so proud of u. when i started bedrest from wk 20 to wk 27, everyday was a torture. it was so routine.. like bathe, eat, play laptop, read and sleep. I couldn't even do what i liked cos i was at mother in law's place (din bring all my hobbies from my home to there cos no space). To make things worse, i could only lie on the left which gave me bad bedsores and stiff joints. when my ordeal ended, i was so relieved physically.

u are already in safe stage as long as past 24. of cos, we are all hoping for full term to avoid complications. u can do it! dun even think about setting up bb room if u are confined to bedrest ok? i suggest leaving such things to ur hubby. u should try to lie on the bed most of the time and eat nutritious food all day round to let bb have a good weight! :D

all is well with my bb, except due to his severe prematurity, he has to go through an op next week. crossing fingers and hoping all will pass smoothly soon.

Hi Cher

Sorrie to hear d loss.

Cant help or stop myself from crying after reading ur blog. Still tearing as i m writing dis msg. u r brave by putting into words how much u miss Yi Ting.

Yeap, pple whom knows abt my MC advises HB & me to let it go, in front of them, we seem ok & even agreed with their advise. But deep down, i know i haven let go, at least not now..

As what Avocado said, i too felt like a killer.
Somehow, after d D&C, i starting having d thot dat if i had been more careful, if i had a more healthy life-style... we may not hav lost d bb.
& yes there r pple whom give replys like '..MC no big deal.. blah blah.."
They will not feel/understand d pain, think they r just plain insensitive.

Remember d first day when i return to work, one of my colleague, asked me how was my leave. Since i didnt told anyone abt my pregnancy, so i didnt even bother to clarify dat i was on medical leave & not annual leave, i just smile & said "..ok lah.." Her next question hit me off d ground, she said something like, "oh thot u go on leave, cause u pregnant.." I paused, smile & went to d ladies to cry.
I cant blame her, she wasnt aware of my situations. I cant b angry with her too it not her fault for our loss, but it really hurts.

CNY is nearing, was telling HB on friday nite dat during CNY visits, there bound to b relatives & frenz (whom r unaware of our loss) asking when r we planning for bb. Me dun know what my reactions will b, told myself dun want to cry in front of them nor esp on d first day of d lunar new year. HB & me now bracing ourselves.

Hello Xbliss

Your bb will be fine... will keep my prayer on for him.... I am ok and dun hv to bedrest... but i do hv bad water retention now and the joints at my fingers are aching now... is a bit early for me but i will pull thru.

Keep in touch and god bless.

Hi xbliss and gals, its been a while...

I m/c at about 8+ weeks, that was 2 weeks ago... from the scan, can see there was a sac and a small grey shadow but nothing very much grew from 5-8 weeks. i had hormone pills, jabs, bed rests, but to no avail... at 8 weeks i started to spot and have cramps, so doc advised dnc since there was nothing prospective..

this is my second dnc in 9 months... i m not sure if i have the courage to ttc again...

i just could not come into the forum as i was dealing with my emotions... i m back to work after 4 days of mc and din realy do very much confinement... din tell many people as i was not sure about it, hubby was so bz with his work and din really bother much about me... was disappointed and so confused...

at least this week feeling better... still get some ocasional cramps and dull pain on my lower right ab... but i guess i m still coping... doctor say next time if want to ttc, mus ttc under supervision... i m quite tired about this... really not sure if i wana ttc again. hubb also very tired about it... dunno wat to do...

and i was so hoping i could flaunt my tummy this CNY...

all gals and mothers to be out there, hang on...

Hello Irene

I am sorry for yor lost.. you hang on too. I know is not easy for you for the time being but please be strong. Dun give up trying if you really wanted a baby so much... like me, 3 MC and 1 after another i still tryin and now hanging on and hope all goes well too... Can only pray and have faith. Mentally you must be strong ok.. If you need someone to talk, msn me anytime.. [email protected]

Hey moms,

Don't give up hope ok! After hearing my case, maybe you will become more hopeful. I had one mc last yr and went on to do a full workup as I was already in my early thirties. The discovery caused my world to collapse initially. I was diagnosed with a genetic translocaton. I have all the necessary genes to function as a normal person, but there is a 66% chance that my offspring will either end in mc or be born with severe disabilities as some parts of my genes "translocated" to wrong positions. I cried buckets.

My doctor told me that cases like mine are very rare (0.1%) and even if I keep trying, there is no guarantee that I will strike that 33%. My doctor even told me not to tell anyone about my future preg and also try not to bond with my future baby since my mc rate is so high. If I am lucky, I might be able to get a normal baby but must be mentally prepared to suffer multiple mcs and do aminocentesis in 2nd trimester. One of her patient had the same translocation as me and she braved through 4 mcs before carrying a healthy baby to term. I cried buckets again. But after thinking hard, I decided to wear my most courageous outfit and try try try. There will surely be tears but so will there be hope at least. So pls be brave ladies, if a person like me who has such a serious problem does not want to give up, all the more you should not give up!

So Irene, please don't give up. Maybe you can tell ur hubby that you know someone like me to inspire him not to give up too.

Can I ask a question, do your cycles return back to normal length of 28-30days after the mc and how soon is the cycle expected to return back to normal? Does it get harder to return back to normal after multiple mcs? I think I ovulated in the 1st month after the mc but did not ovulate in the 2nd month after that. Its really one hurdle after another but if give up now, will never see rainbow after the rain.

hallo to all the brave mums to be here,
i am just in awe of our ttc spirit. having to go through so much pain and yet to choose to willingly do it again. I do think we have chance, some of us may just take longer as long as we dun give up.

irene
i am sorry to hear of the loss. i do not think u have cancelled ur trip in vain. Dun ever regret. nothing matters more than ur health. I shall continue to pray for u that ur efforts will pay off one day. in the mean time, pls do take good care of urself.

angela
yet another week is finishing already. hang in there! do consult ur doc about the water retention. it's very common from 2nd to third trimester, but for my case, it was due to excess amniotic fluids which was reflective of the twin twin transfusion complication i was going through.

Hi Bubbleteahut,

you are not alone, I am like you as well and had 3 m/cs due to translocation problems,
what is urs? if you are not comfortable to share, can pm me

I hv many info regarding translocation info and links
Mine is robertsonian translocation, I have 45 chromosomes instead of normal 46, but I am a healthy normal person like you but just that our offspring maybe abonormal and hv higher m/c rates, it is really like betting every month strike with the follicle or not...
HOWEVER, there's hope and I am positive that I will have a miracle healthy bundle of joy holding in my arms one day

do you belive in TCM? Tiao well ur body and pray hard for correct chromosome follicle to ovulate

Read this link and it will give you more psotive thoughts

http://www.healthline.com/blogs/pregnancy_childbirth/2007/08/robertsonian-translocations.html

pls PM me and we can share more

For cases like us,
we need alot of love, support frm our hubby and my family...

I keep this frm my in-laws but only reveal to my family, they are very supportive. Are you seeing any genetic counsellor? I did not
The moment I dignose with this chromosome prob, the 1st thing I react was asking my hubby do he still wants me..his replied: remember our vows? For better or worse and I will stick through thick and thin with you..I wont mind if we are childless and do not want your body/health to be affected again.

I was so touched and cried after hearing this,I feel our marriage is stronger after 3m/cs and this prob, it is indeed a huge test of our marriage, thk God for that

Hey PositiveHope,

Thanks so much for willing to share
My heart skipped a beat when I read ur posting. Because I have robertsonian translocation too, with only 45 chromosomes in all my cells. Yes, u are absolutely right, its like throwing a dice with every possible ovulation. The norm mc rate is 15% but ours is 66%. Alto' the condition that we have is really a major problem, I am really thankful that you hve stepped forward to share with me. When I sent out the 1st posting, I merely wanted to encourage others, I seriously never expected to encounter anyone who has an identical problem and is willing to share as our condition is so rare.

I believe in TCM and went to consult one. But maybe I did not drink enough water or the dosage was so strong that I developed a bad sore throat that become a cough and had to go on mc today. The feeling is like playing snake and ladder, two steps forward and one step backward. It can be disheartening but must never give up. Maybe I will ask you which TCM you visit when I pm u

You know something, I also came across that fruit of the womb website while researching and yes, it was great consolation to know that our chance is not zero at least

Same here leh! I also dare not tell my inlaws. In fact, I asked my hubby if he wants to tell his parents and he said no need to tell them. Think our hubbies are trying to protect us. Your hubby is a wonderful guy having given you that support and assurance thru'out these ordeals. You are very brave yourself too. My hubby is wonderful too and he never once make me feel less worthy because of this condition.

Yes, I went for genetic counsellor that is only offered by KK. The doctor was very kind and she explained everything in detail to me. Will tell you more later

Seeing that you have gone through so much and not giving up, I am inspired and encouraged. Thanks
Will pm u

hihi Bubble!
ya thk God found you same condition as me,
I did asked my gynae if she ever come across any cases like me, she said no..so I was feelign quite hopeless & was wondering any female sporean hv exact condition like me?
Glad I found you and you are willing to drop ur experience here.
But count our blessing as we do not hv endo, PCOS or infertility like other women cos ours case is already heartbreaking liao :p

Let us share more in private and it's my most willing to share wif you ALL my experience

Thanks angela, bubbleteahut, xbliss and everyone...

thanks so much for your encouragements... i m currently waiting for my hubb's chromosome test results (my gynae has advised it as hubb has a sister who is Down's, infact we should have done this earlier, but hubb was kinda resistant to the idea until now) ... and next week i m supposed to go back to my gynae for my first review since my dnc...

check with all of you this.... i casually checked with a nurse at kk today, she said mine is called missed abortion (did i spell it correctly?) , but why did my gynae said i miscarried?

bubbleteahut, did u refer yourself to kk. or are u seeing a gynae from kk? Today, i also saw the brochure on genetic couselling. i wonder if my gynae would be able to tell me the same thing compared to going to the genetic counsellor?

my blood discharge after the dnc cleared about 10 days after the dnc. A few days ago, which is 2 weeks after dnc, i think i probably ovulated, so i m expecting my mensus in about 2 weeks time. the last time i had dnc, my mensus took a longer time to come, i think it was about 6 weeks...

i did not gv up hope, yesterday i suddenly feel so ready to be preg again (of cos my body is not ready yet). but my hubb din wana talk about it... i think he needs time to cool of... i will probably mention this to him again in 2-3 months time. anyway, my doc say if we wana ttc again, we have to do it under supervision... anyone here did IUI or IVF before?

i m also thinking of seeing a TCM to regulate my health. i had worked very hard and very long hrs since my early 20s and had not have a chance to relax and slow down... i think i better do something about it now...

thanks again gals... for giving me the courage to hope again...

Hi Irene,
since you had 2 m/cs, it is better to do a detail karyotype, read the links below:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karyotype

topic_id=40http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/units/disorders/karyotype/robertsonian.cfm

do update us ur results and feel free to PM me

Bubbletea,
think i will setup a thread and see any ladies like us hv robertsonian translocation but silent reader, hope see miracle stories
Ours is not the end of the world case as even ur gynae had one patient brave thru 4 m/cs and finally being blessed with a healthy bundle of miraclejoy!!

Hey PositiveHope, the other Singaporean female is me loh..
hehee..I am glad we can still retain that hope under such circumstances. The only support group I came across for our condition is in UK called "Unique". Am glad I found u too
, totally unexpected. Hve pm u.

Hi Irene,
Great that you rekindled ur hope. Must hang in there. Yes, its called missed abortion or missed mc. In medical terms, its called missed abortion because the bb hb just stopped or bb stopped developing without mom bleeding or cramped prior to that. So the word "missed" is used. But its really a mc essentially.

My gynae was the one that found me the contact for KK. Only KK offers genetic counselling I believe. A genetic counsellor can explain more precisely to u the risk of mc or abnormal bb on case by case basis compared to gynae who may not be trained in genetics and can only offer general risk advice or none at all. U can get ur gynae to write a ref letter or I can pm u doctor's name & tel no and u just call directly. It does not matter either way as if ur gynae is pte, u will still pay the unsubsided rate (abt $85). But if ur gynae is govt, it will be a subsidized rate I think. But wait for ur hubby's results 1st as that is only meant for those with genetic abnormalities. I want to wish u well & hope u don't hve to see the counsellor ultimately. All the best hor. Don't think abt genetic counselling till result or u might be worrying over nothing. One question, did ur cycle return back to normal after ur 1st AF? thanks and rest more and stay hopeful
!

Bubble gal,
I read ur PM, wah so long :p
hee...but too tired to reply you, I forwarded ur mail to my office acct and I will reply you tomr
you are right, though this is our 1st time posting here but we seems to know of a long time!

gdnite and sweetdreams!

'See' you tomr!!

you hv MSN?
let us chat in MSN as well

If you comfy, meetup even better,keke...but email and msn 1st la!

I'm from the Stillbirth and Christian Infertility thread. Thought I'll just inform you that the Singapore Child Bereavement Support (CBS) will be organising their their <font color="ff6000">2nd ANNUAL CHILDREN MEMORIAL on 1st MARCH 08 (Sat), 5pm at EAST COAST PARK</font>. It will be an informal, outdoor event open to all bereaved families and friends (be it a pregnancy loss, stillbirth or death of a child at whatever age), to come together in a beautiful setting to remember our beloved lost children with music, poetry and readings, and a mass balloon release. They will also read alous our children's names before we release the balloons together. My husband and I attended their Mass Children's Memorial last year and found the event very meaningful and comforting. We've lost 3 babies to premature births in the past 3 years and such events are good ways to affirm our babies' existence and our memories of them. Our babies' blog is at http://ashleyisourangel.blogspot.com

You can read up more about CBS at www.cbss.sg. If you would like to attend this special memorial, please PM me your email address so I can send you the details. Take care and let's press on in this journey to Motherhood.

Hi Irene

Remembered b4 my initial scheduled D&amp;C, d gynae said it was a "missed abortion". After d visit &amp; confirmed d date of D&amp;C 2 b on 26 DEC, went home, dat was on 24 DEC. But kena cramps &amp; extreme pain near 2 d abdominal &amp; was bleeding at pass midnite on 25 DEC, so called up d gynae, whom advised me to take some pain-killer &amp; d gynae will arrange for d D&amp;C on 25 DEC instead of 26 DEC. Remembered d gynae said can wait till 26 DEC as d gynae suspect a miscarriage may happen any time &amp; worried dat i may bleed heavily.

So actually me too dun really know d difference btw "missed abortion" &amp; miscarriage, to me all i know is i lost BB, no longer preggie.

Mayb during my next gynae visit, will ask in details.

Hey PositiveHope,

Great to hear fr u again
Don't stress, take ur time to reply. We cannot stress becoz our condition already created enough stress. Me jus back in office so facing wk stress now. K, will go read ur reply and we speak fr there. Sure can meet up &amp; msn. And I saw ur new thread, great job! Will probably be the "1st customer" of that thread.
Speak soon.

For the rest of persistent moms here, have a great day ahead.

there are several types of miscarriage:

1)Missed miscarriage
Occur when the baby dies &amp; the placenta stops glowing but bleeding has not occured.

2)Incomplete miscarriage
occurs when only part of the uterine contents hv been expelled

3)Complete miscarriage
occurs when all the uterine contents hv been naturally expelled

4) Threatened miscarriage
women bleed vaginally during the 1st 3mths but the miscarriage is not inevitable.Bed rest is usually recommended

Death of foetus fr. natural causes b4 20weeks is a called spontaneous abortion.

After 20wk,it is called stillbirth.

just a quick chk...

I visited the TCM yesterday(Eu Ren Sheng).I told the physician abt my miscarriage &amp; he said my womb is weak.He gave me a 2weeks supplies of chinese medicine(mixed wf water) to "pu" my womb..The medicine costs me $120(2weeks supplies).As this is the 1st time I visited TCM,is the price like this one?Quite ex leh.

But I found it a bit weird.He explained tat the reason of early m/c is chromosomes abnormalities.but how come he gave me medicine to "pu" my womb?

Hi BubbleteaHut and PositivenHope,

Would you all care to share the cost of the test which you went through? I had 3 m/c and am contemplating of doing a chromosome test. My previouse gynae told me that there is no treatment for chromosomal abnormalities and one would still keep trying even if the result shows certain abnormalities. Therefore, she does not encourage us to do the test.

Hi Kiwifruit,

it really depends on you comfortable and ready to go thru these detailed bloodtest,
for me I need to find an answer of causing me to hv so many m/cs, and now at least I hv a closure and do not felt hanging in the air and hv better understanding of my special condition.
I am sure Bubbletehut share the same sentiments with me as well

Do pm me if you hv more concern, take care!!

Hi Kiwifruit,
A full workup would cost somewhere around SGD2000 (SGD1000 for karyotping, SGD100 for thyroid and the about the same for hormonal imbalance and other immunity system tests with several types of tests for immunity systems).

Yes loh, fully share positivenhope's sentiments. U will feel more settled mentally if u know the cause of multiple mc. Besides, while its true that chromosomal abnormalities has no treatment, its important to know as the knowledge (touch wood first) will affect how one manages her future preggie. If ur religion allows, ur doctor will surely encourage u to do amniocentesis. Even if you do not want to abort no matter what is the outcome, knowledge of any adverse outcome (abnormal bb, touch wood first) will allow u to manage and prepare for the child’s arrival. So if ur finances allow and if u don’t suspect other possible causes like hormonal imbalance, consider going for the test. But hope u are ok really. Best wishes.

PositiveHope, will post on the thread on translocation when I reach home later.

bubbleteahut, thanks for the info and advice. my cycle generally return to usual after the 1st af, but my af is not very regular, ranging from 28-33 days, always been like that..

pinpong and avocado, thanks for the info.. actually it does not matter anymore, since i lost the bb anyway, but i jus wana know for my knowledge... and of cos for closure.... which was of great importance to me..

i understand that tcm will always give med to "Bu" and "tiao" because tcm focus on the balance of our body properties... mayb that's why he tell you to "bu" your womb first. so that u will get better and be ready for the next pregnancy..? I see a tcm in Toa payoh, his charges are about $20-40 each visit... do u wana explore other tcm?

Kiwifruit, we did my hubb's chromosome test at Mt E, i think we spent about $500+. results in about 2 weeks. I truly hope everything is ok with him!!

my gynae also mention he might wan me to do thyroid test or some other tests later, cos my grandma and my mom and my sis all hv some thyriod prob, my sis had her episode when she was preg, so i think i might need to do one...

i share similar sentiments to the rest of the gals, you need to know where you stand when you know of the results... For me, should the test results come out to be (touch wood first) unfav, then of cos i would not try liao... but if its jus incidental, then i may wana consider IUI or IVF.

BubbleteaHut and PositivenHope, thank you for sharing the information and your thoughts here. Really appreciate it.What both of you mentioned is true, will give a serious thought about going for the tests.

Irene, do hope that everything turns out well for your hubby's chromosome test. Like you, I was actually looking forward to this year's CNY as I was pregnant last CNY and thought that I would be able to bring my baby for visiting this year, however I miscarriaged shortly. It had been a tumultous year for me, having quit my job and stayed home since my 1st pregnancy, only to have 3 MCs in 14 months...

Hope that the year of the Rat will be a much better year for all of us here and may all of us eventually 'graduate' to the MTB thread soon!

Irene,
Ya, I am keen to try TCM at Toa Payoh.could u PM me the name &amp; address?My email is:[email protected]

Regarding Thyroid..I've been on medication to treat for hyperthyroidism abt 6yrs back.During my preggie wf my son 4yrs bk,I was on PTU to control my thyroid.My grandma did has thyroid.However,amazingly,my thyroid had been under controled since a yr bk so I've stopped my medication.

For my 2nd preggie(the M/C one),I went for thyroid function test straight away knowing my preggie.The result showed tat my thyroid is under-controled.After my M/C, i called up my specialist &amp; he said tat it is unlikely tat thyroid caused my M/C.

Generally,M/C due to thyroid will likely to occur during 2nd trimester onwards.However,my M/C happened ard 8weeks.

Since ur mum &amp; sis hv thyroid prob,I strongly recommend u to do a thyroid function test, esp b4 TTC.I am planning to do the test after CNY,b4 i ttc again.However, in the event if u r preggie &amp; diagnose wf thyroid disorder,not to worry,bcoz u can still carry on wf pregnancy while taking medication to control the thyroid gland from being over or under active.

Actuali,I suspect i've hypothyroid bcoz I felt cold &amp; put on weight(abt 3kg)during my preggie.But the blood test result indicated tat my level is alright.

Kiwifruit,
I can understand how u feel.I was hoping to kinda "show off" my tummy this CNY.But I am not giving up.Now my jobs r to eat healthy,rest well,exercise...to keep myself fit.But unfortunately,I was downed from sore throat &amp; flu few days ago &amp; now still in the mid of recovery:p....it is not my fault..it is the weather:p

kiwifruit and avocado

when i was preg last yr, i thought i could bring my bb to CNY visits this yr, he would be about 3 months now.... Every CNY, many of my old relatives ask me when i am gg to have a bb.. and some of them are so old in their 80s, i was hoping i can bring them some joy.

when i got preg last yr end, i thought i could still flaunt my tummy this yr... so in the end i can only flaunt my fats cos i put on some weight during both my preg but din get to lose them... this yr, i really dun feel like gg for CNY visits but bo bian mus go visit the elderly relatives, so they will sure ask me again... i m so sian...

avocado,i will let my gynae advise me what tests to do. they are afterall not cheap. for my 2 pregnancies plus the test, we already spent close to 5k, financially, emotionally and physically drained... my hubb dun even wana talk about ttc-ing now..

i will try to find the actual add of the tcm, i only know how to go there, but dun hv the actual add.. will email u..

Dun mention it Irene and Kiwifruit &amp; thanks for answering my question too

Heehee Irene, u r so humorous..made me laugh
My tummy also bigger lah, dare not do exercise during preggie so end up got tummy. Same here, nowadays I always bump into a friend who always ask me out of concern "Still not having a kid?". I also dun know how to tell her. Just smile smile and say thinking abt it. Don't worry abt CNY now, reach that day then start worrying &amp; the visits will be over in a few hrs before u know it.

i had a miscarrigae today. YEsterday was bleeding. Have the jab and hormo pills but i didnt help to stop the bleed from bleeding. I was very early in this preg only 5wks. But i have been trying for more than 1.5yrs. I was so happy when i tested positive. And that is the best birthady give for my boy and the best CNY give for me..

But now all is gone.

hi Jappooh

so sorry to hear about yr loss.. i also miscarried about 3 weeks ago...

u probably will be very sad for now and this is very normal... pls allow yrself to grieve and cry it out... and then concentrate on getting well...

take gd care....

Jappooh, sorry to hear about your MC. Feels terrible whenever there are 'new members' joining this thread. Do take care of yourself and build up your body constitution. Like what Irene had mentioned, do let it out if you have to.

Avocado, hope that you have fully recovered from your flu and sore throat. Remember to go easy on the CNY goodies in case your sore throat comes back again...

Irene and BubbleteaHut, I do share your frustrations whenever relatives or friends ask when you're having a baby...which I'm sure all of them mean well. In fact, all my relatives around my age are already married with kids. I've decided to skip CNY visiting this year, cause I can visualise myself sitting there alone while the rest of them tend to their children, which makes me feel so depressing. Therefore, I'll be having a stay-home CNY this year. Luckily my hubby understands how I feel and doesn't force me to go visiting with him.

Hi.....im 'new' here....lost our 7 weeks baby on thur wen scan shows no heartbeat...another scan on fri confirm it so gynae say most prolly suffer a miscarriage.....=(

was veri upset and cried real hard for 2 days as it was veri sudden wen 2 previous scans detect baby's heartbeat..... but after sum comforting words from family &amp; friends....feel much beta now....for the 1st time in my life....i realise wat is 'heart pain'......=(

I have not been posting here though I have been a silent reader here...

I'm sorry to hear of all the "newcomers" rest assured our babies are safe in heaven...

Hi Cher, Im sorry you had to make this painful decision.. you are very brave and strong and I'm sure baby Gracielle is in heaven right now.

Hi Angela, glad to hear everything is ok with you now.. hold on strong k. Few more months and we can see our little ones...

Hi xbliss.. glad to hear baby bryan is home! Can bring him around for CNY visiting. All your efforts have finally paid off. I'm now in my 24th week... expecting a boy. Baby Isaiah is a source of joy to us right now.. even though I am still very worried but I'm learning to trust God. Something to share about God and miracles and not to give up hope. When I was in my 5th and 7th week, I had very bad bleeding and was hospitalised twice for threatened miscarriage. There were a few blood clots in my womb. We prayed for womb to strengthen and blood clots to be gone and Praise God, my next scan at week 9 really showed all the clots were gone. Unfortunately at week 13, I bled again, this time due to low placenta. We prayed for placenta to go up and my 20th week detailed scan showed placenta is now normal. My detailed scan showed however, I have lower than normal amniotic fluid which is not good for baby. Been praying eversince and last week scan, gynae says seems alright now. Seems like everyday, every week is a fresh worry for us.. but we been praying and learning to trust God. So, dun give up hope everyone!

roxy...u are realli brave and im sure all will turn out fine for baby Isaiah...he's a strong boy and are waiting to arrive safely in mummy &amp; daddy's arms in full term.....=)

hi piyobaby, glad to see that u r offering encouragements to other gals here.. it is through this that we learn and cope, become stronger and move on... I m very sorry for yr loss, and hope that u r moving towards the healing journey.

xbliss, glad that bb bryan is home... all yr efforts has paid off!! wish u all the best!!

roxy, u hang in there, u r doing gd k? babe..

kiwifruit, i can't dun go for NY visits, but i m keeping it to the minimum, only the very close relatives. so i hope it would not be so bad for me...

HAPPY NEW YEAR to all the great moms &amp; moms to be!!! May this year be a better and more PRODUCTIVE year for all of us!!!

Hi Jappooh, Hi Piyobaby,
I am very sorry to hear what had happened. It might be a rough ride for a while going forward. Hang in there alright.

KiwiFruit, me also avoiding visits this year. Those days of going back to office already experienced some stares aimmed right at my tummy. So dun want more.

xbliss, it feels very assuring to hear your successful stories. Thanks

Roxy, all the best, u have already come very far, u will make it!