Support group - Miscarriages

hi einnoc,
i was wktan before and when i was pregnant. i then went to see another gynae cos my baby has faint heartbeat. thought the 2nd gynae might be able to save my baby. but he says the baby is dead and had to remove. on top of dat, he says i have either fibroid or endometrisis. told me i did to do a lot of test and surgery. the total bill for just the d&c is more than S$4k. don't know how much more will all the tests cost. sigh

joan,
sorry for replaying late. been very busy taking care of my girl lately. For the she quan da bu, i just cook the entire packet with black chicken. I dump everything inside and cook using double-boiled method. may be you split into lunch and dinner to drink if it's too much.

yes, i think you should go for a scan and consultation with your gynae to ensure your womb is clear and no more residue left.

bryest,
watever is done cannot be undone....Gleneagles n Mt Eliz r always higher compared to TMC or Mt Alvenia.

NOw,what is impt for u is to seek 2nd opinion.I suggest u can look for Dr Ann Tan n Dr TC Chang.I've seen both of them n they r experience.I didn't choose Ann Tan coz she is ex.Since Dr WK Tan has ur history,u shld go bk to her.She is very experience.

Einnoc,
Ya,cannot eat 6hours b4 the ops.My ops is scheduled at 5:30pm.don't tink i've luxury to sleep....coz nid to tak care my son after the ops.But I am quite used to it...i mean DnC :p

I know exactly how u feel.I feel very sad to c all the preggie women n women wf babies in their arms....A lot of envies...I regret...regret tat i didnt spend enuff time wf my boy when he was a baby.Regret tat i didn't tak care of my health.

The recep n nurses were even insensitive,they were talking loudly abt the costs of my DnC n chromosome charges..etc...Seems like wanna announce to the whole world tat this lady is going to hv a DnC.I saw a lady looked at me...wondered why is this healthy looking woman nid to go for abortion....

i am sure ur hb is equally sad as u.It'll tak them some times to understand n work wf u.I used to hv the same prob...felt my hb bo chap.After the 2mc,he volunteered to do sperm test..out of my surprise.Coz i repeated told him that it tak good eggs+sperms to produce healthy baby.He was ego....didn't wanna admit he might be cause of my mc...Then i kept telling him,i am not blaming him,i just nid his support.If u don't wanna see me suffer,then we've to work 2gether to improve the chances of having healthy baby.Whatever past is passed,we can't turn bk the clock.We've to move forward to build our health.Try to persuade ur hb....

Freesia,
the chrosmome test for POC is abt $450(b4 GST).How come urs is $600? Since our gynae r fr. TMC....they shld b using the same lab n charge the same cost.U may wanna double confirm

hi avocado,
dr chris chen spotted a 4x6cm fibroid in my womb as my baby is pushed to the left top corner of my womb. dr wk tan didn't even spotted my fibroid. i was with her for more than 2 yrs. she told me in my yrly checkup that i have no cyst and fibroid. went to see her last nov, she told me i'm perfectly fine can try for baby. dat's when we tried for baby. even when i went for check on my baby on 3 feb, she didn't notice the big fibroid. i'm very disappointed with wk tan. have feedbacked to the nurse of wk tan today. she told me she'll check with wk tan.

I had an M/c last April and was very encouraged by the mothers in this thread.. was about to give up but mothers here really push me on..
Anyway, Im now in my 35 - 36 week pregnancy.. I got preg rather quickly, 2 cycles after my m/c.. very surprised too.. I think I tried too hard 4 my 1st bb so the 2nd one, we kindda of let things go naturally.. of course, I ate more healthily and tried to keep a positive mind.. I also had a good " mini confinement" after my m/c and my menses came shortly.. in short, I recovered quickly and well.. it's impt 2 do so that yr body gets enough "rest" b4 u try..
i hope my story will encourage mothers here.. Jia You!

freesia,
the chromosome test for me n my hb is abt $650(b4 GST).

bryest,
why not seek 2nd opinion?U may wanna try Dr SF Loh fr. KKH. I heard the scanning machine plays a part in diagnoising any abnormality in the uterine.KKH has more advanced scanning machine.

Alternatively,request ur gynae to give u a detailed for transvaginal scan at Xray dept.Gleneagles has such facilities.I did that many times under Dr Chew.He always sends his patient for such scan.

PM me if u nid more detail.

Hi Joanne, Bryest & Freesia

I am also 33 this year. Agree my hubby has been very supportive.
My SIL went to TCM in Johor Bahru and the physician asked her to buy a bottle of wine. What I heard from my MIL, her menses didn come after the miscarriage. After she drank the wine, her menses came and the following mth she is preganent. Guess this is her 2nd child moreover, she is very very fertile.
I will going back this Sat to see the TCM.
By the way, I dun trust KKWH as I did my SO-IUI 2 years ago by Dr. Kelly Loi. She did not find out that my uterus lining is think. Luckily, this M'sia Gynae reactify this problem and did an op for me. The following mth I was pregnant after taking clomids & hormones injections (my 1st miscarriage)
I did not have any confinement after my 1st miscarriage as the following day, I went to Bali for Holiday (booked 3mths ago)
For this time round, I ask my MIL who is a confinement nanny to cook 'Ma You Meat' & 'Black Vinegar Meat' for me, of course 'Red & black dates & dang shen water'
Will keep u updated after I visit the TCM in M'sia.

Hi Freesia & Avocado
So sorry to know what had happen to you too... sigh... let's jia you together k... there's another thread say GNC royal jelly is good for fertilty, maybe you gals want to try that?? I just bought the jelly together... will start taking it tomorrow.
Hi Gals
hadcall my gynea today telling him my bleeding has stop. Am I suppose to see him for any scanning.. he says that I will just need to do b/t to confirm that my hcg level had drop to less than 10, then is confirm ok liao... no need go thru the uncomfortable feeling of viginal scan as he see that my menses had come last week and stop few days ago... so shd be allright le..
not sure is it he try to save $$ for me.. as gleneagles is quite far from my place, anyone ever know can I just do the b/t in any polyclinic or any gp?? As I just want to know the reading so no need go all the way to gleneagles just to do b/t ba??? any suggestion? I just worry that the results will take lloooonnnng time to come out if go polyclinic..

Sashamama

Can add me to list
Nick: Joanna Tan
M/C: 1
No of cycle: 0
Due Date: 12 may 09

I m/c last August at 7 weeks. Started with bad cramps for 3 days but no bleeding. Then started bleeding on the 3rd day. By the time I went to my doctor, the baby was gone. I checked with my doctor, she says I can try straight away which I did. I got pregnant again next month. Now 27 weeks liaoz.

But this pregnancy lots of ups and downs. My health is pretty weak in the 1st place due to asthma and bad sinus. Got cramps and bleeding in the first tri. Improve in the second tri. But now got early contractions. Now on bedrest. Due to my complications, I'm seeing Prof Mary Rauff who is an expert in pregnancy complications. My SIL who had a previous M/C now have a healthy girl also saw Prof Mary Ruff.

I juz lost my bb at 10 weeks on 12 Jan when it was detected to have no heartbeat...I had D&C the next day. My 1st AF have came and I was thinking if I can ttc after my 2nd AF...

Right now I am seeing a TCM to bu my body but saw a post here that TCM herbs can affect future pregnancy, is it true? I am still thinking of going this wkend to check after i finished my herbs...Really hope to ttc soon..

hi jo and joanna tan,
congrats. so happy for both of u. i'm still resting at hm from the d&c i did last sat. gynae say my AF will only come about 6 weeks later. how long does it take for ur AF to come after the d&c?
i really hope i can try to tcc soon but gynae suspected i might have fibroid or endometrosis. so need to operate and might take about another 6 weeks to recover after the operation.
btw, which hospital is prof mary ruff's clinic's in? Are her charges very expensive?
my gynae's charges are very scary. he asked us to see him regarding some results on my dead baby yesterday but when we went down, the results were nt ready. yet, he charges us S$100 for the 1hr wait and less than 5 mins consultation.

Hi Avocado and Freesia

I am sorry to hear of what happened. Hope that your will have the faith to carry on and believe that your due blessing will come soon. do take care meanwhile and may god bless you.

bryest
I didn't get do any D/C. Went for ultrasound, everything was cleared. So Doctor said I can try immediate.
Your gynae charges are really expensive. It's unreasonable for him to charge you when the result is not ready.
Don't worry too much, Most impt now is to built up your health again.

hi joanna,
i still have a few visits with my gynae cos he's doing some tests for us. also checking my fibroid or endometrosis. planning to see another gynae after all the results are out. he just told me yesterday that i fall under high risk pregnancies cos my progesterone level is low according to him.

Hi avocado,
Do take care. Coz after dnc, i felt very tired for the next 1 wk. Maybe diff for each pax ba. Must be tiring for you to look after yr son at the same time too.

Btw yr receptionist n nurses were very insensitive wor. I guess i was weeping throughout so they din dare to say anything in front of me lor. Even my gynae had to say "You still crying ar?" in the operating theatre :p

Btw my gf had a difficult mutliple pregnancy in KK before and all unborn babies cannot be saved. Thus, i got phobia of KK le....

Hi Jo,
Thanks for your encouragement. Very happy for you too.

Hi SimMama,
i lived with my mil. I asked her to cook Ma You Chicken for me too...but she said MC cannot eat. i was like huh....i thought i am suppose to do a mini confinement? In the end, i just drink red dates & longan drink, chicken essence n Yomeishu for 2 week lor.

Hi Joanna,
i have the same question as Bryest. Which hospital is prof mary ruff's clinic's in? Are her charges very expensive? Eg: how much is a normal vaginal ultrasound?

Btw gals, i have a sensitive question. Maybe some kind soul wld like to pm me if she is comfortable with the below question?

Question:
1) After dnc, when can partners resume intercourse?

2) Does anyone find "it" (resumed intercourse) painful and tight?

She's at NUH or Mount Elizebeth. I'm seeing her at NUH. She's pretty expensive. First time visit consultation alone is $120. after that $80 then $55. Her prenatal package is $890, can take only after 22 weeks. Not sure how much her vaginal ultrasound, normal one is about $70. Per visit I spend near $200. Now I'm under package, so no need to pay anymore. She's expensive but it's worth the money. I got bleeding and cramps in my 1st tri, I though i will lost my second baby also. Luckily, everything turn out well. So money is well spent.

can anyone who has undergone d&c advise how many daya will the bleeding and cramps stop? today is my 4th day after my d&c on last sat. been having cramps and quite a lot of blood. yesterday just blood stain and no cramps. is it normal?

hi Joanna,
could u share wf me how did Prof Mary Rauff handle ur n ur SIL pregnancies?

Einnoc,
My MIL was awared of my 1st 2m/cs,she didn't reali care...She just said:it's pretty common.even since that time,we didn't bother to tell her...so she is totally not aware of my 3rd m/c....

my gynae advised can resume intercourse as long the bleeding stops..but beta wait till 1mth.Did ur gynae insert any tablet to soften ur cervix 3hours b4 the surgery?

Aileen,
i feel disappointed but not dishearted.We'll still continue to follow up wf gynae for chromosome n other test.
I did my DnC today...the nurse was very kind...she encouraged me by saying:"don't give up,i hope to c u at labour ward next time"I was touched...even cried more b4 they pushed me into ops theatre....
hmm...well..at least,we r blessed wf one child

Hi Bryest,
For my case, my blood staining stop on the 3rd day. But staining came back on 4th day. Subsequently, got clotting then little staining on off wor... until abt 2 weeks....

Thanks joanna.$200 per visit is a high wor. Does it accompany with vitamins or an tai pills?

Avocado,
Yup a tablet was inserted. But it was abt 5 hrs before the op, coz my gynae had to perform an emergency op before me. so i guess it shld have been abt 3hrs ba. Why leh?

Avocado

I went to 2 doctors before I went to Prof Mary Rauff. No one know the cause of my cramps and bleeding. My SIL recommend that I go to Prof Mary. Just one visit, she's able to diagnose my problem. My womb is low plus I also have low lying placenta. So my womb always rub at my cervix which cause the bleeding. So i had to go thru injections weekly till I'm stable plus bed rest. Luckily my placenta move up in my second tri. But now I still have cramps cos my womb is too tight thus causing cramps and early contractions. I'm on medications and injections also.

einnoc
It include the pills but no vitamins. It's expensive but for my baby's life, no choice. Most imptortant is that she's good.

Avocado - tats really nice and encouraging of the nurse! im sure one day you will see her in the labour ward too
yes, i understand your dissapointment and despair, in fact i cant help feeling sad when i see your postings... we have been through soooo much. but like wat u said, we are still considered blessed to have one kid.. do take good care of yourself.

Joanna,
how did u make appt wf Dr Mary at NUH? do u always hv to wait long for ur appt?

but mine case is more unique,i nid to find a gynae who can help me to deal wf my recurrent m/c.. i don't hv fertility issue nor other illness.

Haiz... i don't have any child.
But nevermind lah, i believe in fate. And i'm thankful that i have supportive hb, parents and in-laws!

Avocado, you are right. The POC testing is $400+. My gynae says to wait for the POC results first. If there are no chromosome problems, then don't have to do the testing on hb and me. She will test both of us only if there are chromosome problems from the POC testing.

So have to wait 2 weeks for the POC results, then do another testing on me and hb and wait another 2 weeks. Total one month of waiting and agony.

bryest,
how did the gynae tell ur progesterone is low?fr. blood test?

it is normal to hv on n off different volume of blood.Just when u thou the bleeding has stopped,it might come bk a day or few days later.

I don't experience any post ops cramp for my 3x DnC.But experienced a bit of cramp when my actual AF came 3 to 4wk later.

freesia,
$450++ is charges w/o GST.Thus,the total amt is ard $500 marginally.

we r the same boat...my gynae oso told me the same thing.He refused to do any chromosome tests on me n my hb until the POC chromosome report is out. He advised us to tak step by step...no choice lor....

anyway,we r going to on hold ttc till a year later. Give ourselves a break to build up our health n spend time as couple n wf my son.

freesia,
When u've a child,ur life will change drastically.In fact,ur life will change the moment u find out u r preggie.U can't do thing as u like..whatever u do,u've to tink for ur bb.It is a heavy responsibilty.So..why not make good use of this time to enjoy urself or wf ur hb while u don't a lot of commitment?

Imagine...my hb n me hvn't traveled for 5yrs liao(since my son is borned)...

When ur mind not stress up with all the days/months/weeks counting down,plan for TTC thingie,who knows u might be happier,stress-free n find urself preggie the following mth,get my point??

Thing will come when u least expected!

hi avocado,
my gynae did not insert any tablet on me. i just went there at 8am and the op is at 9.30am. is it necessary to insert the tablet? i bleed a lot and have cramps on the 1st 2 days after the op. 3rd day not much cramp and not much blood. but yesterday was the 4th day and cramp was so bad that i need to take painkillers. cramp was worse than the 1st 2 days and there was more blood yesterday too. is it normal? very scared there is infection or the womb not cleaned properly.

bryest, did you take your antibiotics regularly?

I don't have cramps or much blood flow after my D&C.

My gynae also didn't insert any tablet. Just gave me 2 oral pills to eat before the op.

Hi Bryest,
If really too painful, how abt calling yr gynae and seek her advise? i oni had cramp on 3rd day. On n off pain so i tried to tahan.

Wow avocado! u guys din travel for 5 yrs? That's pretty long.

avocado
I just call the clinic directly. Most of the time, the waiting time is quite long about 1 hour. Cos unlike most doctors. She's pretty detailed about her checks. But sometimes, I wait only 15 mins.

NUH Women's Clinic
Emerald
Tel : (65) 6772 2277

hi Joanna,
thks for the info
i'll make an appt to c her after chromosome result is out.

freesia,
i did dnc at TMC.what oral pills ur gynae gave u?

bryest,
the pill is to soften the cervix.Which gynae did the dnc for u? the nurse told me the pill costs abt $130.when i did my 1st 2 dnc,gynae oso nvr insert pill.I tink most more "senior" n "experience" gynae will nt insert the pills.I am not sure what is the reason...mayb they r skillful?While those more "modern" gynae will insert the pill.It's all depend on the gynae.

i tink the bleeding depends on the stage of ur pregnancy.I oso experienced quite heavy bleeding for my 1st DnC coz i was oredi abt 8wk,baby got heartbeat but stopped later,thus more forming of tissues(such as placenta),more bleeding to be expected after dnc.

but this time,my bleeding oredi stopped today(i did dnc yesterday) coz there wasn't any growth of fetus/fetal pole(just sac).

einnoc,
did u experience any bleeding or cramp after nurse inserted the pill?I didn't feel any cramp or bleeding...gynae oso found it strange.

avocado, i think the pills is called cytotec? Or something starting with cy... Didn't really take note.

Now i'm wondering how i should explain my 2 weeks disappearance to my colleagues. They know abt my first m/c but i don't feel like telling them this time round. Plus one of them is preggie, a few weeks ahead of me only...

hello Ladys
hope all of you are coping well, the thread is moving very fast, i hardly can't cope :p

bryest,
i lost my pregnancy at 8 weeks, and miscarriage naturally. Still do DnC after it, and experienced normal bleeding for 6 days. But no cramps at all.
Are you with dr Chris Chen? he is very popular gynae, you should not worry, give him a call to update about your condition and tell him that your worry.
After DnC, my mum advised me to take Pien Tze Huang pills to help heal the wound. And i also did mini confinement and drank DOM for one month

Avocado,
i am very sorry that you lost your pregnancy. Be strong and think positively. I am sure one day all of us here, will be able to carry our baby.
I am thinking positively that it might be a chance also to take care a good care of ourselves so we gave birth to healthy baby.
which gynae did your DnC? TC Chang? how you find him?
i heard good comments also for Prof Mary Rauff, but she only delivers at NUH and Mt.E, i dont like both hospital.

Freesia
sorry for my ignorance, what is POC test?
dont be dishearten about your m/c, and hope the test shows good result. Rest well and replenish your body

Hi..

I only feel cramp for the initial first 2days... and was experiencing slight bleeding for about one week... before it completely stop... and I didn't take any painkiller thou I was precribed with it in case it becomes unbearable... but I am ok... and got migraine easily earlier ... don't know why but now.. think all are better...

Going back for my review this Sat...

hi freesia,
dr chris chen did a blood test for me and told me my progesterone level is very low. think min is 20 but mine is only 16. went to pass the sperm and mucus test to dr chen today. paid about S$400 for the test.
my gynae did not insert any tablet or ask me to take any pills before my D&C. i still have cramp on the 4th day and still got blood. cramp was very unbearable yesterday sso i had to take a painkiller.

Hi bryest,
how are you... didn't seeyou at the otherthread today.. anyway, i am thinking of getting the opk strip soon.. u want to get any?? where are you staying?we can meet up after purchase.... if we can meet the 100moq, can get it at 55cents..
anyone who need the opk strip?? i will getit locally so which means can have it within this week if purchase soon.. i am staying at Yishun area and my mum place is at central.. so we can meetup at this two area whichever is convinent for you. let me know howmany pcs you need if you want soon... ;-) thank you...

hi joanne,
went to my gynae's clinic to do the sperm and mucus test today so was not online. i don't mind sharing. how many are u buying? thought rugrat is buying too?
i stay in jurong west but my mum staying in yishun. can meet u in yishun.