Sengkang/Punggol Mommies Club

thanks all. hope to get more active in forum once i settled down...

still tryin to catch my baby's pattern.. haha.. she doesnt nap well in the day..

Hi...anyone know a good enrichment class for chinese language around sengkang? My first son (K1) can't follow chinese lesson at school. I'm looking for the enrichment center.

linx reporting :p just came back from hb's homecountry.. fiuhhhhh....... havent finished unpacking yet....
(

Ladies, Where to have a nice CNY dinner? But not too crowded cos i nd to bring my baby's along! I don't mind to go on the second day, tough.

Plus, where to see a lion dance-i mean a real show- not a demo show which is always at the malls? My first son wants to see the show and the ritual -if any.

hmm... dun think there will be those actual lion dance unless u engage one to perform at ur house where they will pray to the god in ur hse etc.

i'm movin into my sk home this fri. hubby busy with the painwork.

kresentia> i think every chinese new year, outside taka will have lion dance performance. else chingay usually have. this year chingay has phonix instead of dragon dance.

Ha..Ha..Augboyz..you are so hilarious! Actually, I don't like Lion Dance! In fact, I am quite scare with them. The sound of the drum makes me shivering. I don't think i wanna them to be in my house.

But my boy is fond with them. He thinks they are fun. He likes the acrobatic moves and the dances. Yesterday, he made me to buy him the lion's head...

Pkum, thx for the info.

Hello...
just browsing the forum and spotted this thread.

I stay in SK (near rivervale mall), SAHM with and almost 2 year old boy.

Are there many SAHMs here? Or mostly FTWM?

My current dilemma is "should I send him to playgroup" and "where".

actually i also dunno how many sahm here.. *curious*

what do u do with baby in the day? i seems to pay 90% attention on her that i cant do much housework... maybe because she's still young? mine babay is 3mth old.

PKUM
my bb oso want a lot of attebtion.. now everytime i move a step away fm her, she'll cry *headache* she's going 2 b 6 mths

<font color="ff0000">Dear ALL,

Wishing you a Very Happy and Prosperous New Year.

"Happy 牛 Year"

As We MooOooVe FrOm Year of the Rat tO Year of the Ox..MaY You HavE No WorriEs AnD MoRe JoY...DuN Let StReSS TriP You OvEr AnD SpEnD MoRe TiMe WitH FaMiLy AnD FriEnDs..</font>

<font color="ff6000">HaVe An OX-CiTing &amp; OX-PiCious NeW YeaR..!!</font>

mikael, its true lah~ i mean abt the lion dance, if u wanna see those really traditional performance.

Pkum, moving house just before the CNY? WOW~

LengLeng, so good~~ I also wanna be a SAHM

lingling, engross ur ger in something so tt u can move away to do ur things. When my son was younger I let him watch TV haha~ not very good but then tts the only way I can get him to be attracted to something long enuf for me to do things.

Lynn, thanks for the well wishes~ May u have a good year this year too~

Lynn

Happy Niu year to u also n for all the cute mommies n babies ..

Augboyz
I tried leh but nothing really work so far..
Now we just bought an exersaucer.. let's c if she can b there herself for sometimes .. :p

young babies need a lot of attention lor...and around 6 - 9 months they can get some anxiety if they don't see you...

hang in there, it gets better (where this is concerned). heh.

Breakfast club? Tea club?

D
really ? til just around 9 months uh ?? So mayb I should start ordering for tingkat cos wont b able to cook properly during these months :p

Breakfast club ? Tea club ? window shopping club ? :p

AugBoyz: THks for the well wishes too

Lingling: Or ask hubby to buy back for U lor .... I dun really like tingkat personally. MAYBe my taste buds sumting wrong :p

Breakfast club ? Tea club ? window shopping club = COUNT me in :p

Anyone interested in Kite Flying?? hehehe~ I was passing by one of the big field (forgot which part) n I saw pple flying kite~ its not those normal diamond shaped kites, its those with LONG LONG tails~~ So interesting... I wanna bring my son for some kite flying but then dunno what time is best (not too hot or too bright lah) n wind direction??? What if I go there n did not managed to get my kite flying? So embarrass right? lol

Augboyz n Lynn
Heheheh bring hb lahhh.... or ask ppl there who oredi flying their kite to help u guys get a start.. or just ask ur son to try.. children do no embarass mahh :p

ling ling, hb maybe not free to join wor~
Ask other guys arh... paiseh lah haha~ ask son to try? He probably bug me instead *faintz* But i think must try ya? I see the pple flying the kites look so happy. so anyone keen??

Lynn &amp; Augboyz
hehehehe... cheers for independence :p heheh

Augboyz
tell ur son to run with the Kite lor then u just try to fly them hihihi

ur ladies go ahead.... I wont b able to join cos my bb just 6 months :p so cant run ard yet

How was your CNY ?
Mine was not so good.. my kids fell sick one after another..

AugBoyz,
re: Kite flying
Count me in ! i m sure my boy will be interested..
Maybe the men will know what is the best time to fly kite ? Let me go check with my hb &amp; i get back to u.. :p

lingling,
Agreed with Augboyz, u can bring ur gal out for a walk or to enjoy the wind with us..

Lynn,
Me too! Tried tingkat before and dun like it..

mikael,
breakfast?
Most prob I'm still in bed... hahaha...

AugBoyz,
join me, join me.

jessesmom,
our 7mths old is ok with strangers,
anyone can carry him.

lingling,
actually, if bb just needs to see you, then just put him/her in the bouncer to lie there lor...

I haven't cooked in a long looong time! Always tabao. I only cook for my son his porridge. When he started walking, he always walk and ram him head into my butt or try to insert himself between me and the stove. So not safe to cook either! If you want can get a gate lor...but we don't bother to.

Kite Flying...

I don't know how to fly kite.
But I've seen some people flying kites near "Cheng Lim LRT" and opposite SPC in Punggol.

LengLeng,
my boy has always been okay with strangers. Then for one month (I think 9th month) he didn't want strangers to carry him...by after 4 weeks, he's okay again.

Anyway, the "anxiety" previously mentioned is "separation anxiety"...the one you mention is "stranger anxiety". I think it comes and goes for both. From 6 months, separation anxiety seems to be quite strong for many babies but it goes away once they understand that not seeing mummy doesn't mean mummy won't come back. But then, most kids go through it again when it's time to go to school!

My boy can't sit still one...anyone free in the mornings around 9am? Wanna meet at playground? hehe.

think tea club/breakfast club must wait till end Feb then free to join...CNY period more busy...

jessesmom,
our #3 is also ok when mummy is not around... hahaha...
He'll only look for me when he's sleepy or hungry.

I'm located at Compassvale Road,
anyone near me?

AugBoyz: Me duno where to get too wor...

Lingling: Yalor join us... SEe our embarassment :p

hppymum2b: Guess we no luck wif tingkat bah *lol

Lengleng: Me Rumbia lrt stn

H@ppymum2b &amp; Lynn
so tingkat is not recommended uh ?? My concern is for lunch oso... for dinner can try do tapao.. but sometimes hb came back very late leh n my stomach hungry oredi :p

Jessesmom
my bb wants to see me n wants me to play with her.. Once I tried to carry her in her rocking chair to the kitchen so I can do something, she's calm only for a couple of minutes... Haiiizz...

Lengleng
I stay in Punggol...behind PG Plaza :p

i am staying in punggol.
i am self employed and there are certain days when i need someone to care for my 18 month old son for 3-5 hours while i work.
but no childcare around here provides such service lei, and those that have, they charge sky high rate.
any SAHM willing to help? i am willing to pay a certain amount for each time.

h@ppymum2b, my CNY arh... quiet coz we din go visiting as some of the relatives went overseas.

Leng Leng, i WISH arh! I wish n wish till the star falls down n still i m slogging my life *haiz*

Kite Flying
Ya ya the fields @ Cheng Lin LRT, thats the place I saw the kites flying.

h@ppymum2b, lingling, Lynn n me~ yeah~ so which day? time? h@ppymum2b, u check with ur hb n get back to us hor. Then I shall go n hunt for kites, see where can get. They should be available at CP or some where near, otherwise those pple staying in SK how to grab a kite n fly?

Me @ tongkang lrt.

separation anxiety
lingling try giving her some noisy toys? Or when u do ur things talk to her (even if its far far away), let her know tt u r around. Dun go to her the moment she make noise, wait for like 5mins then go to her, ensuring her tt u r ard etc etc. then drag mins longer gradually.

Babies at 6mths still feel insecure so they need to see someone they trust to feel safe.

I agree with jessesmom, when my son was 1yrs+ he dun like it when i leave him alone even to go kitchen or wat, I have to tell him I am going kitchen to do wat then come back after I m done etc etc. By assuring him, he will wait quietly, but sometimes the min i stepped out of the room he will start screaming MUMMY MUMMY~! *faintz*

hi people,

yes i just finished shifting into my home on last fri. FINALLY! i would be free once i settled down after cny bah. i still have lots of boxes to unpack..

breakfast/tea/windowshoppin club
haha i prefer lunch or tea. coz i get really busy with my baby in the morning, plus need to do the laundry..blah blah blah... windowshoppin in the noon is good too! *wink*

baby
durin the new year visiting, my baby enjoys people huggin and playin with her.. yrd &amp; today, we didnt go out, and it is OBVIOUS that she is so bored and cranky.. poor baby.. as i need to do chores, how can i give her 100% attention? *headache*

kite flying
opp my house lots of people flyin kites. too bad my baby is too young to appreciate it. but i think no harm to join u guys for a stroll.

h@ppymum2b >> hope ur kids get better!

Tan Leng Leng >> i'm opp the policestation. quite near u right?

i just got to know tt there is a shop selling kites in RM! But still waiting for the person to tell me exactly which shop... my guess is tt bicycle shop.

ling ling,
if u r having lunch alone, perhaps u can cook some thing simple like noodles when ur gal is sleeping/playing or u can have sandwiches which is even more convenient.
as for dinner, if ur hb needs to work late often then u might wan to try out the tingkat as they will deliver the food promptly so u wont go hungry..

AugBoyz/ling ling/lynn/pkum,
re: kite flying
is a Sunday ok with all of u ? maybe we can meet ard 5+ / 6pm when it's not too hot ?

pkum,
thks.. i oso hope they get well soon..

MTDT,
haha, gd question.. anyone knows ? :p

Stranger anxiety
my gal is coming to 1 soon but her stranger anxiety is very strong.. she will not allow other pple to carry her except me, hb, maid, my mum..
i remembered my son was ok wif pple carrying him when he was younger.. i guessed each baby has different level of stranger anxiety? lol

AugBoyz: Izit e one opp Fila?

hppymum2b: Shd be fine... cfm wif u again.
Btw where's Cheng Lin LRT... Sk or Punggol Route?

hppymum2b, ya a shop in RM selling.

Lynn, i think its tt shop but then i haven got an answer fm that person.

Others are saying Daiso have, i was like HUH? have meh? i dun see any when i go there.

some say toyrus have but think this one will cost more heheh~

Lynn,
think Cheng Lin is the west loop of the SK line, right?

I'm also at Rumbia!

myboyjovan,
usually wat time you need help?
I also face the same problem (in the past)...I don't work lah, but wanted some "time off". Anyway, if timing works out (which is always the hardest thing), I could help you out, but I'm in SK.

Tea Club
Then I guess it's late lunch or tea for me. The earliest I can get out of my home everyday is about 2:30pm.

Every morning, my boy and I will be pounding the pavement around our estate though...if anyone wants to join us. He loves "little friends".

AugBoyz,
work things out.

pkum,
not too far.

I'm at Blk 245...

mtdt,
we bought our kite from Rivervale mall, a hobby shop at level 1, on the "outside"...

I am quite desperate looking for a cc for my gal in SengKang. My gal has been attending Merry Kids cc in SK for 3 weeks + and so far, they have changes so many teachers and supervisor already. Find their management a big problem. Spoke to a snr teacher that just resigned and she told me that the mgt is not supportive of educating children there so very disappointed with them - empty promises so far so she decided to leave. They sometimes leave the kids to play and not much teaching.
Feel very disappointed with this cc and so looking for another cc but a lot of cc are full.

The few cc that I called that still have vacancy are:
1) Everland CC (pte house)
2) Faith Educare Blk 260D

Any mommies have any feedback on the above or any good cc near Compasspoint, Rivervale Crescentre etc. that can recommend ? Hope to find a cc that does not have such high turnover rate for teachers, quality of teaching is good.
My gal is currently in N2.