Premature babies support group

kkf,mich,
thanks for the concern, appreaciate. I hope just a temperaly only, if no, i going to cry as mine is twins. Ya, just let your know that. yesterday night he use bottle to finish 200ml milk, balance 40ml i never give spoon as he already try to use bottle. i am so so so happy!!!but, very funny, he never suck, he use to swallow the milk as the teats hole very big, i think he dont like suck, but, anyway, he drink than ok la.. this morning, he dont want again, never mind i give spoon again, just now 3.30pm, use back bottle and drink 150ml..miracle right, i hope this happen again....yeh,yeh, ia m so happy....
kkf,
hows your baby? still running nose?
go an dtry gaolishen, really effect , my boys stop running nose... must try.
didi,
ok, i use the ikea bowl which white colour one. i remember sell at $0.99.
Actually, i do milk first, example when i give nestle plain rice cereal, i put 180ml warm water to bottle, after that add 3spoon of similac milk, use spoon to stir, finally add 3 spoon of rice cereal in bottle and stir it, than put in the bowl, abt full.
actually, i am quiet cruel, what i say that, because i will force and try to let my boys finish whatever i prepared for them, than after 3hour i give them food or milk again, that why my timing can fixed there. meanwhile, my boy now a day wake up at 8.15am, as i am very laizhuang, we all will lie at bed, until 8.30am i will give milk, ha,,ha,,i am very lazy right. after that every 3 hour i give milk. and night they sleep at 10plus, actually my boys sleep very late, normally baby sleep very early one. I dont know my answer can help you or not? how's you boy timing?
Mummylian,
congratulation to you.take care yourself.
Lindah,
ya, how are you, no news from you. Are you ok?

My boys usually wake up around 9am plus, then every three hourly for the elder boy and two hourly for the younger boy. The older one will still wake up in the nite around 2am and about 6am, whereas the young boy will have his last feed around 11plus then sleep throughout the nite

Didi,
Why you dont feed them in same time? are you alone to take care them, if yes, than you have to give them in different time, if got someone help, than better in same time. For me, i all the while in same time, one my maid give & one me. If different time , very tired.
As you say there, sure your elder boy was bigger than his brother right? For me too, my elder son was heavy drink than his brother when they small, even my youngest one never finish or never take so much milk, i still give in same timing. So my twins weight different a lot, you see the photo which i attach than you know, when they two month ago more serious, they different 1.3kg, but now the youngest twins like milk know, he caught his brother weight as now different only 850gram, and now the elder one dont want bottle feeding & teething as cause his weight gain very slow.

Jacelyn, actually I have a maid and my mom to help me out and I am not working, luckily
the reason why I feed them as it is under the instructions of the PD, the younger boy can't take in so much milk at one shot
and the younger is the heavier one at 7.2kg (now 5 months old and corrected 3 months) and the elder one is at 6.5kg only
so I wants him to put on more
will check with the doc again on tuesday.

Didi,
Oh, i see, tham you have to follow pd say liao.
But, your baby in good weight, My twins only , 1st-8.5kg And 2nd 7.7kg only, now they was 11month,corrected month 9month. consider small. So you no need to worry as your baby very good weight now.
And, as i say before, my 2nd twins before that too slow drinking & bad appetites too, they different abt 1.3kg before that, pd say , not to worry , twins always like that, as long he healthy. But, now, he become heavy drink than his brother as only different 800gram now, cos now his brother less drink. Many people told me, if they drink more when small, they will drink less when they grow up, and when drink less small, big they will drink more, so , take it easy.
Wah, you was very lucky as got two person can help you, for me, only my maid help me, in the night , i take care my own, we must jia you, as our baby is twins, we will be more tired & worry than other mummy.
Jia you.

didi,
ya, forget to tell you, when my boys 5 month,corected month 3mth. Their weight only 1st-5.14kg & 2nd only 4.4kg.So not too worry, your baby very good weight.

Jacelyn, Thanks for your assurance
my hubby always very concerned about their weight
kan cheong lor. Btw, just now I went to Baby's hyperstore at Kaki bukit and bought the bfree's training cups (so that I can make use of the coloured trims that holds the teats to differentiate their bottles, hope you know what I mean
) Ya, we will be more tired than mommy having one at a time, but most of the times, I felt it is worth it lor

didi,
never mind , just ask your hubby dont kanjoing, tell him my boys weight when they 5month. show them my boys photo to your hubby too, sure he will relax. Oh, did you buy the bfree bottle and teats too, that side got 20% discount. Oh, bfree got trainning cup? i thinking to buy the trainning cup for my boys too as he dont like bottle now, how much?

Mich,
added you into msn already..thanks...hope tt yr new maid doesnt give you headaches

Mummylian,
Congrats..yr dream is coming true..really peifu at the way you handle yr kids, career and home..dun tink i can ever manage like you....i got no energy seriously, man.....eh..can i go to europe on yr behalf? just joking...so guess you must stop expressing bm liao lah..me also stopped liao..really no perserverance.

take care of yourself well....

Jacelyn, oh I didn't bought the extra milk bottles and teats (my boys don't like the teats
) yep, the training cups is at S$14.90 but no discount for that though

bz since fri cos my ger sick. today juz moved into new office, no internet connection yet. home now so reading all ur posts. oso, this is gg to b a super bz week for me, a lot to do in office & i dun wan to work OT, cos new office is VERY FAR away (in changi & i'm staying in CCK!)

but keep posting. will read & reply when i'm free..

kkf,
u dun scare me leh.. my ger alrdy 17mths & can't talk..u say speech delay is sign of autism??? anyway, last fri when i brought her to pd, asked him when shld we start worrying abt her not being able to talk, he say 2yr onwards. so i need to pray hard tat she'll start talking in another 7mths time..

mommylian,

congrats & i salute u!!

jacelyn,
think u dun need to worry. it's prob a phase tat ur boy is not eating. sometimes, we face times when our kids refused to eat. juz last nite, i coaxed until fed up, she oso dun wan to eat porridge. then MIL cooked some yellow noodles (her favourite), she oso dun wan to eat..n u know wat she wans?? chkn wings!!! haha

jane,
ya gg HK next wk. haven't packed anything yet!!! last yr when we went taipei, my ger's stuff fit into 1 big luggage, while hubby & me only hav 1 haversack haha. n guess wat? at the airport, somebody mistook our haversack! the lucky thing is, mistook our haversack & not my ger's stuff.. jia lad hor.

Harlo, mummies,
good morning......read Today newspaper page 26 on a feature on one of the KKH nurses.....

Its vy heartwarming and i personally noe her to be one of the loveliest person around.......

Mich, Jane and Mummylian,
Read the article if you are free....sure you noe her, one..

hello mummies

just went for review with the neo nat yesterday. everything seem ok. except that the physiothereaphist say my boy shld be more on tummy exericse and try to let him sit up more (as my boy at correct 8.5 mths still cannot crawl).

the occupational therapist also review him, everything ok except must try train my boy to hold things with two hands. thou she comment that my boy motor skill (hand) is quite good as he can pass toys and turn and flip and also is able to pick up very very small objects.

the eye doc will see him in one year time...

wow mummy lian, CONGRATS!

costa - seen the article...wow she look so sweet as she is :)

disneymickey - you must be looking forward to the trip.

jacelyn - hope your boy take in bottle again...think will cos bb suckle by natural pah

something exciting to share. i give my boy white bread yesterday while at KKH hahahah!! i just dip with plain water. he seem to enjoy it very much :))

the dietrician say to give my boy more protein thou his weight is quite ok :)

Sorry to disturb your thread. I am a little perturbed now and hope to get some advice as it seems like I might have a premature baby too.

I am currently 31+ weeks I have been having countless braxton hicks for the past few days and they are coming at 10-20 mins intervals. In fact since 5th month I've been having abt 20 braxton hicks daily. My gynae has prescribed medication to slow down the contractions but so far, it doesn't seem to be working. My gynae says there's a high chance that I might deliver prematurely. I just wonder if any mummies here have a similar experience?

Really appreciate all your advice.

hi bena,

i cant say i had your exprience but for me at 24 weeks i was having contractions, and as it was my first kid, i thought it was merely pain.

anyway by the time i reach kkh, all the drips and pills could no longer stop it anymore so my son was delivered at 24weeks 5days. I met a fellow mummy in kkh though who managed to stick it out for 5weeks in KKH from wk 24 to give birth to wk 29. I hope you can stick it out longer too... maybe the other mummies have some advice?

mummylian,
congrats on your pregnancy!

mummylian/mich,
yes my boy came home on 22 July! happiest day ever although i was very stressed that day because i keep feeling scared in case something would stop his discharge. thankfully everything is OK and my son is home!!! Have been on leave since, and that's why I havent been online. My PC was kaput so I sent it for repair. After one week, it was finally diagnosed as beyond repair and I bought a new compaq presario. hopefully no more problems.

Anyway,

<font color="0000ff">A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL THE MUMMIES HERE FOR ALL THE ADVICE AND LISTENING EARS LENT FOR THE LAST FEW MONTHS!!! *MUACKS*</font>

Naddy,
can help me update? My son was in KKH and SCN for <font color="ff0000">5mths 18days</font>.

hi lindah -- haha welcome online :) don't need thanks us. i have had numerous suppor here too. i think we are all mothers...so ... all are here for each other :)

bena - for me, my waterbag just suddenly leaks one morning when i was in my 24 weeks ..i stay for 12 days in hospital and eventually my boy came out during his 26 weeks gestation. you are in your 31+ weeks...try get more rest. talk to us more, this is a very fun and motivating site

Jane,
Thanks, ya, now this two day he use back bottle on afternoon and night only, morning he still dont want. Hope he can carry on.
Actuaaly not to worry, maybe you let your boy lie down or put him at alphapha matt or mattress, and he will try to crawl, dont always let him sit at the walker, for me, my boys they already know how to crawl front as i let them at matress more, and now they can hold the hand with two hand, can pass the toys to another hand, some more, when he get new toy he will thrown away the previous toy.Ya, they can sit alone now, they sit and play the toys , so, you need to let him sit more and put him down, he will have chance to learn.
Try to give him wholemeal bread, good to him if compare wth white bread.
Lindah,
congratulation on your baby back home, must take care your own health too, than have energy to take care him.

hi jacelyn -- hmm maybe morining he wake up..he don't recognise the bottle :p (just joking) don't worry..soon he will start to love the bottle again.

ya. that is what the physiotheraphist say too. other motor skill (like passing etc, my boy is very good), so now is more tummy and sitting. i don't let him sit walker too. there was one period he was on exsaucer thou. now i rent the bumbo seat, hope to let him practise seating (with correct posture)..

Costa
me went back to see gynae in kkh le
they say can still breast feed... Am still expressing for my gal... 400 ml now only per day .. very pathetic.

Lindah
Really happy tat ur warrior is home. Do enjoy ur little one.

Chloegal
Dr Tohs name is not on kkh website.
Please check your email.

DisneyMickey
Enjoy your shopping in HKG!

Costa
Thank you for forwarding the article to me.

Lindah
Glad to hear that bb is home. You must be busy.
Take care of yourself too.

Kkf
Lao shi.... Need your help.
Please advise how does MOE/ Schools allocate the seats for P1 registration?
Priority goes to Phase 1, 2A1 and 2A2 right?
Then how they distribute the remaining seats for Phase 2B and Phase 2C. Thanks!

Which government website do I go to check the number of births per year? Thanks!

thanks for the well wishes. i am not busy. in fact quite bored. and sleepy. napping makes me more tired. at nite, my hubby can hear him crying but i can't! so at 2.30, 3am, my hubby will do the feeding and grumble at me. hehehehe.

mich, i think it should be mcys... but i not sure.

Hi Hi lindah, congratssssss!!!!

Bena, both my pregnancies, I experienced contractions. First time, I got tightening of my womb that extends to my back. i cannot sleep for the whole night, n I knew something is wrong. It couldn't be false contractions, and I was right. It was real contractions. I ate pills to stop, managed to stop for a day, next day came back. haiz, I lost my boy who was borned 23 weeks plus, stayed 2 days in NICU.

My 2nd one, also contractions, this time, like something pushing down.

I think contractions different on different pregnancies and for different people.

Mich! I will love to answer your questions leh, but frankly, I also dunno leh! I only know priority given to siblings in same school. Then give to parents staying within 1 km. By then, for good schools like mine, will already taken all up. Those who live more than 1 km usually no more chance leh. Sometimes, if good schools within 1km also must ballot! Does that help? So you see why go sooo many parents volunteer.

wah mich... you are planning for D&E already?

thks kkf.

bena, all the best! there have been cases of mummies managing to prolong the pregnancy for weeks... but your baby is 31+ wks already. quite developed alrdy as long as gynae nvr detect things like low birth wt kinda thing. nevertheless best to keep baby in, yah! ;)

i havent been here for so long. i hope i didnt miss anyone new!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender </TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thanks, Lindah,

Doc just upped my dosage for Nifedipine to reduce the Braxton Hicks contractions that are now coming at 3 an hour. Really hope can "tong" longer...

Lindah,
so nice to hear from u again and glad that you are coping well wif everythg.....

last sat i was near siglap side for my son's school fun fair....hope the noise there din drive you mad haha...thot about u and wanted to go to yr house to visit you...haha just joking lah....

wah, so many "on" parents here.....for me, onli worried abt which school my son had to go when he was 6..tink i machiam not vy on.....

i oso dunoe if studying in a so called better school means better for the child..tink a well balanced childhood is more important..

go read yterday's forum page where a parent mentioned tt he forced his first kid to do well..ended up the kid din do well academically and yet went to an IVY LEAGUE university....for his second child 12 yrs later, he din push him and he also did vy well...

So i guess alot matters not onli on academics..but other factors....alot of pple can come from good schools and colleges and yet not enter U...but find their niche in doing things they excel in.....

for my younger boy, i onli hope he grows up to hv a happy childhood and to be a healthy child

mummylian,
wow, you still can get q a gd qty of bm..for me, i stopped last wk..its really pathetic....guess at some point, u wld hv to stop ?

did your PDs give iron supplements to your babies after they were discharged from hospital? Last week, the PD gave us Ferrum (iron drops) without doing any blood test on Caca and Coco.

For the past week, Coco has been passing out green stools. Brought her to a GP today. he said the iron drops are too strong for her. and he said he doesn't understand why the babies have to take iron drops cos they don't look anaemic.

is anyone in a similar situation?

hi, myfab,
my son was discharged wif polyvysol...which are iron pills...later on, i think he din need to take any more....

for preemies, tink their body cant produce much iron on their own....and thats why when in hosp, my son had blood transfusions (he was really a preemie) but as they go along, their body wld produce and thus build up their own iron stores....so after sm time, my son din need the iron supplements..

why dun u chk back wif the neo nat at the hospital u gave birth at or chk wif the paedi? are you still bfding?

no. not breastfeeding anymore.

after discharge, the babies were given Polyvisol with iron. Then, last week, the PD said there's no more stock of Polyvisol with iron. So he gave us Polyvor (vitamins) and Ferrum (iron) separately.

Costa, I just called the PD. he asked me to continue with the iron drops.

The GP said stop, the PD said give. So who should I listen to?

Lindah
Education hb is from an all boys school and the boys will enter as Phase 2A. But I prefer the boys to go to a co-ed school so I need to find out more about the different phases in registration.

Kkf
Thanks! Maybe I can check with MOE.

Costa
My richest friends are non- grads. Some are O levels and all are entrepreneurs staying in properties worth millions.
On the other hand, in Singapore everything is about the paper qualification!
How?
Let the children live their dreams and not ours.

Myfab
My boys were given iron (ferrum) for just a very short period of time after discharged.
Maybe you stop for a couple of days and observe the stools.

myfab,
i read smwhere that bm do not contain enough iron for bbs after six months and thats why must supplement wif semi solids..m i right?

yr bbs shld hv started semi solids right?then shld hv enough iron, right?

wat mich said is right, maybe stop for a few days and see how or else .maybe ask the paedi if they can get iron from semi solids like spinach, meat...instead

mich,
eh,true...my richest frens are non grads or those born wif silver spoons in their mouth....when i read of ITE grads make good, i also feel that perhaps dun need so high education..a good EQ also helps i guess.....but as wat u said, everyone needs THAT piece of paper....or maybe as wat everyone says..go get that piece of paper and then do wat they want ??

mich,
so cute, why you want d and e to go to co-ed school?so that they can mix well wif the opposite gender?

hi costa and mich - indeed some of my frens who manage to earn much $$$ is non-grads. in fact, i got one very good female friend, she is a non O-level holder yet she manage to start a retail shop and is doing quite well now...

well...as costa say, get that paper and see how haha!!

hallo!

costa, if you want to come see my son, can... not a problem at all. i cudnt hear the carnival though... but my sis went with her daughters and came back with henna-stained hands.

mich,
oic. i think you can find those info from the MOE website or call the MOE hotline...

myfab,
my son is taking both polyvisol AND ferrum as he had anaemia when he was in hospital. and ya... his stools are green... but as long as soft and we know it's green due to the ferrum, it should be ok rite? personally i'd listen to PD coz GP may not have full history...

on the paper qual thing, to me, paper qual trains us to be workers. tt's y cannot get rich. very dependent on salary and employer...

lindah,
ha ha,just joking lah...must give you some days of advance notice before i land myself at yr place......haha...in case scare you...din noe the school also sold the tickets around the neighbourhood also...it was to raise funds for the underprivileged students in the school..it was marred by the rain, though....

how are yr kkh appointments?u went for the eye review onli right?any appts wif the SLT?

lindah,
ha ha,just joking lah...must give you some days of advance notice before i land myself at yr place......haha...in case scare you...din noe the school also sold the tickets around the neighbourhood also...it was to raise funds for the underprivileged students in the school..it was marred by the rain, though....

how are yr kkh appointments?u went for the eye review onli right?any appts wif the SLT?

seem pretty quiet today here keke.

can i post a question then. is it ok for bb to look at the mirror??

Any mummies here were on Nifedipine before delivery? My doc prescribed this meds to stop my contractions and I'm wondering if it has any long term effects.

Appreciate your advice!

Hi Bena Neo

cant say much as my case was becoz of preg induced high bld, birth abt 32wks. Wish u all the best though..Hope can prolong.. take care and stay strong ya..

myfab,
my gal is taking both polyvisol and ferrum. her stools are soft and dark green too. Dr Agarwal did say the stools will change color coz of the supplements. I been told to double her ferrum to 4drops a day coz the blood test shows that e haemoglobin is low. I quite surprised coz she looks ok. yeah i'd listen to the PD too coz got the full case history.

What is that bena? The pills to stop contractions? I took it before, and I can tell you, I feel my heart is weaker now...always pain here pain there.

Hi mommies, can advise pl
my triplets born at 34wks , now 37 wks....

trip 1 is home n 2.4kg now...how much milk shd i b giving him? Shd we consider him as 3 wks old preemie or 1 wk old ft bb now?

anyone heard of nec and mrsa? My trip 2 is down with these n in isolated scn now.

kkf,

Yes.. they are pills to stop my Braxton Hicks contractions.. is your heart problem due to these pills? How long were u on them?