Premature babies support group

kkf,

kkh recommend pigeon but they allow me to bring my stuff to try out... esp since the pigeon teat doesnt work that well on my son...

Daec,
I remembered reading that we must 'empty the breast' so that our body will know that the milk is not enuf, and will hence produce more milk. But I think frequency is very impt too. Last time I'll pump like 3 hourly even in the night I would set alarm clock to wake myself up to express. And I would express till the breast is as empty as possible, nvr time the duration.

After you have establish yr supply then can relax a bit at night like 5 hours once or so. This is just my method. Don't know whther will apply to others or not.

lindah, thanks, the reading for my elder boy which was taken by the emergency clinic nurse was 38.1 that's why me and hubby was worried
now it is about 36.5 etc hope he is fine....

Jacelyn, think I will have to get the Bfree bottles too, as my boys have BAD colic and never fails to cry every evenings
can I know BFree is it same as Dr Brown ? any difference between the thin and long types compare to the wide-neck ones ? thanks

Mich
Yap, i saw that at pine garden. It was very simple and nice.

Actually i can see that his teeth is decaying, initally is only one teeth then become two. Have ask the PD about it and they said could be the medication that he took when young. I could see that his teeth is not strong and it took a long time for the teeth to grow. Till now his teeth is not fully grown yet.

Not enough calcium caused before he can take in any, he is already born. So Pd ask me to give him more cheese and milk.

Think is necessary for the extraction, if not it will affect other tooth as well. Hope eveything goes well. Feel very heart-pain too but no choice....

daec,

ya, actually cheaky is right. sister choo says strictly every 3 hours (cannot late; i kena marah once because i did 4 hours). Once supply established, skip one pumping session at night (so, 1 six hourly, the others still 3 hourly). if supply OK, then can skip 2 pumping sessions (2 six hourly, rest 3hourly)...etc...

didi,

just to interrupt, hehehe... basically from what i read on the web, Dr Brown, BornFree/BFree and Tommee Tippee have the same 'technology' because of the tube in the middle of the bottle that gets rid of wind. But, BFree teats are extra soft. I just bought one BFree bottle to try the teat (and the bottle if the teat and Avent bottle combi do not work on him) on my son this weekend. I actually tried to suck from the Avent teat and the BFree teat (yes, I am weird). I actually feel the difference. BFree is much softer. So no need to suck hard. And flow feels lesser too. I think Dr Brown's teats are not as soft as BFree, altho sole flow as well... But I havent bought to try.

And BFree is free of some chemical which is commonly used in other brands' bottles. You can read more that website if you want. But I din really read abt the chemical lah.

www.babybfree.com

Mich,
wat a lovely cake.....

rgding books to read, i read the book we mentioned but i guess for new born preemies, its hard to find a book just on raising preemies....

but i can see d and e vy kuai and well behaved...

my second one crawls all over the place and cant keep still....

Chloegal,
my frens just had a joint birthday celebration and they had a cake by pine garden..its double layer wif the top level for the little boy... and d bottom level for the little girl and in blue and pink respectively..

the blue layer was lychee flavoured wif martini and the bottom was chocolate..

i tasted both layers, to me, i find quite not bad as i dun like too sweet stuff and the cake was designed by the company when my frens called....they gave the cake company free rein to design and there were sesame characters on it and a mini bunch of baby balloons (plastic decor) on the cake which i find quite cute..haha...

kkf,
i bo pian but to chk the notebk..if not i wun noe wat is happening as my son is the simply bo chup type...

another reason is i dun want my son to cause problems in school...i hv already seen the form teacher and hv even met his chinese teacher....and i can tell you, i really pity her for hving such notti students nowadays....and my son's chinese teacher just changed to a male teacher...i also pity him...its not easy...within 1 yr and changed three times liao...

i also want to relax but with my son lidat..cant leh....like for eg tmr got ting1 xie2 and i just remembered it tis morning and tonite i wun be home early..sure gone case, ask him to study, he wldnt want to....i really hope my son can be kuai kuai and i can work in peace....if not, i sure one day must quit my job if lidat...

my son's handwriting dem terok..and i always ask him to write and rewrite, he can write until like dun noe wat...if i tell you how he writes his name and can omit certain "sides" of the character "becuz got no space"....really buay tahan...his handwriting i think wld b yr nitemare..

anyway, my handwriting and mandarin are not much better...my chinese teachers always said my mandarin is "dun see coffin, wun drop tears"

chloegal.
u are vry right rgding the teeth thingy, i heard pple sayg tt about preemies...i asked my neighbour who is a dental surgeon..she said that teeth is formed and affected by the food we take and also antibiotics will affect the teeth....also may cause it to decay easier and yellow...

anyway, i m a full term bb and my teeth are very yellow also..haha..

Didi,
ya,Actually Bfree & Dr.brown was quiet near. Before that i was using Dr.brown long and thin type as last time my boys still small, i dont want to give them neck teats as too big for them, after they grow up i change to neck teats, which fat botttle. So i need to buy new bottle, between Bfree&Dr.brown i need to choice. My friend told me Bfree bottle more tahan to steam as i steam every time i use, Drbrown bottle more soft. And some more the tube which inside bfree bottle got one small blue button which can prevent milk leck into tube, but dr.brown dont have, so i change to Bfree. And as i know Bfree bottle can use for dr.brown teats too, two of them quiet same. For me, i dont like avent, i feel the teats very hard and the bottle not so good as bfree, last time when i steam the avent bottle, as much i steam the bottle like turn colour, so i never use again.
Didi,
you can try to give bfree if you want, dont know kiddy place still got discount or not, if not try to go kaki bukit the baby hypermarket to buy, got 20% of twins pack 260ml bottle and 10% teats. ya, i also but the 120ml for them to drink water too. This type of bottle very good for baby prevent colic, as my boys seldom got colic now.

yikes ! I guess I focused too much on time than frequency.

thanks for the many tips
I doing pumping more and try get her suckle more.

Lindah - e PAS one at clinic K is for hernia. only 2 checks - a) two weeks after op b)6mths later after first appt.

Jacelyn, ok will go Kiddy Palace to check out, think the 20% discount period is over, I have the VIP card, at least got 10% discount. Hmm.... already have many milk bottles, wasted
Colic no joke, they can cry and cry, we parents will be stressed too.

Didi,
No choice one, we must find the best for our baby. I have many many bottle and teats too. I just keep inside the cabinet.
Ya, they will cry if their stomuch not feeling well, go and try , you will feel it when he use the bottle.

Hee hee costa, now I understand why my kids sometimes spelling can get 100 marks, sometimes suddenly drop to 20 marks...haha.

Haiz...nowadays not easy to raise kids. Kids are very stubborn, and too many things distracting them like computer games, xbox blar blar blar. My p6 PSLE this year, but seems like nobody business like that. I everyday got to nag and nag, yet they still hack care.

Hi lindah, wow getting all the things ready for your boy already?

what is a rocker cradle? Me english not powerful really...

Mich, the pine cake is really nice. Can the shop design cakes? I am thinking of car theme for my boy's 2nd year old birthday, looking for a car cake leh...Have bought car decorations from overseas spree, now looking for a cake. Kiasu right? My son's birthday is in october! 3 months more! ha!

Talking about teats and bottles, me going kiddy palace to buy new bottles for my boy, and teats too. Used my current ones for almost 2 years already, time to change! I am using nuk bottles with tollyjoy teats, funnie right? haha. Thats because have bought nuk bottles, but the teats dun suit my boy, so change to tollyjoy. Me remember was like you lindah, switching to different teats to see which suit my boy most.

kkf, i bought this from a fellow mummy:
888499.jpg

then i realise the FP one got toy, this one dun have... hmmm... how to entertain my son...

<font color="0000ff">mich</font>,
my son failed the hearing screening test today. Have been referred to ENT. Is it anything to worry about? Dr said the ENT test is more accurate... is it so? Any treatment rqd? Experience to share?

is there something wrong with this forum? I realised I couldn't get in the whole of yesterday evening and night.
Btw lindah, dun worry, think maybe that your boy is not paying attention to the sound?
See how is the ENT test, hope clears!

Lindah, Jacelyn, I have bot the Bfree bottles, but my elder boy doesn't seem to like the original teats so I have it changed to Pigeon peralistic ones (the wide-neck).

Lindah, I also thought of getting the FP cradle but too ex when I need to get 2
so I just bot 2 net bouncer from Kiddy Palace instead.

kkf, for birthday cakes, maybe you can try ecreative ? as my ex-boss alway order from them for their children's birthday.

Didi,
oh, you need to buy the variounble teat which got 1,2,3 drop that one, I always take out the original cos hole vey small, you can try to use that variouble flow, you will feel very good after you baby use. If really he dont like it, never mind, just use the one he like,at least he use the bottle can prevent the wind.
Lindah,
dont worry , no problem one, last time my 1st twins also slow motion, when we go back for follow up by doctor, doctor play with him the toy and sound, he no action at all, but his brot yes, than when at home, when we play with him, he no action at all, we also worry,but after one day we take photograph, suddenlly he look at the camera, than he smile, from that day nward he got action to sound and us already. So you see, take time and relax.
Play with him more and call him more.

Jacelyn, hmm, no choice lor, btw when did you start your bbs on cereals or 'mi hu' (think it is rice paste ?) Thanks

Costa
I personally try the lychee martini and the blackforest. I perfer the blackfores as it is not too sweet but I find the lychee martini abit sweet maybe not used to the taste. My ger will be celebrating her birthday with my elder sis. They both born on the same day.

Mich
What flavour did u ordered? Did u design your own cake and how much does it cost? Still not sure where to get the cake. Been thinking of getting from emicakes cause will be celebrating at Downtown East. Collection will be much more easier and no storage problem.

How do u know if your bb got hernia problem? Can it been seen physically?

Chloegal, my boy got hernia before. Yes, can seen physically something burging out like that.

Costa
D&E were well behaved because they knew that was not their territory. They are monsters at home!

Chloegal
Wat do u mean his teeth not fully grown yet?
Dylan has one tooth at the side which is missing. So, there is a space in between 2 teeth.
I think i better bring him to dentist soon.
How did u manage to get edric to say AHHHHH during the check?
I ordered the black forest flavour.
I gave them with the design i wanted. Can't remember exactly how much. Less than S$100.

kkf
I drew for them wat i want, including the colours and they managed to make it as per my expectation.
I think most of the customers provide the designs to PG. They take pics of the cakes and show the designs to other customers. Dats how chloegal saw my cake at the shop.
Your cake: i saw a nice car track cake. Email u the pic another day.

Lindah
My boys were referred to ENT.
A more detailed test will be conducted to check if the babies are hearing ok.
Nothing to worry abt now. They just want to be sure.
If possible, request to see Prof Tan. We were very comfortable with him because he addressed all our concerns and answered to our questions. Be prepare to wait, his appointments are very packed. But i think inpatients get priority.

Cheaky,

hi, read ur post. i bought my son to a baby show on 15th july too, and was very piSSed with a doctor there.

The doctor whom was assessing his progress gave us a SHOCK look when we told him NO, he can't walk YET. But he is trying to, as he is trying to stand on his own.

I have make up my mind NEVER to bring him any baby contest as i do not want to be bother by such comments and looks again.

Mummies of premature,
i just want to share this.
a doctor from NUH once told me, do not worry about our little early starters' progress, as they will only be on par with their peers when they reach puberty.

and if you observe close enough, you will be amaze by what hidden talent they have. we might sometimes be too busy with the things they can't do, but overlooked at the things that they can do and is doing so well, even better than FT babies!

like kay, maybe becos he was used to having so many different care-takers taking care of him in the first two months of his life (the nurses and doctors in the NICU) that he is never shy of strangers. he do not cry or wiggle away or scream when one attempts to carry him. Instead, he loves giving them a welcoming smile!

Mich
Not fully grown means that there is some teeth that is not out yet. They will ask u to carry him and lie down on the chair together. Then they will tried to open his mouth and see. They will try to paficy him by giving him stickers. They are quite patient with him. From the brochure that i read, its say that parents should start brining their child to see a dentiseas soon as 1 year old.

Try to get referral from polyclinic. For consulation from referral is around $33+. If u make appt on your own, it cost around $75+ for consulation only.

Chloegal
Dylan has the same problem. He has one tooth not out!
I drag to bring them for reviews at KKH cos they will cry the moment they step into the doctors' rooms.
Hence, I dun think they will cooperate with me during the dental visit.
At least not for now.

If we are to ask Dr Argawal to refer them to the dentist at cleft center, will they be considered as subsidised patients?
How much did cleft center quote you? I want to do price comparison.
I hate the long queue at polyclinics.

I agree with Kayton's mummy. I have to constantly remind myself not to compare her with FT bbs and that premmies have talents hidden somewhere waiting to surface.

My dd's obvious talent so far is to scream at her mummy. Her screams can be heard from 10th floor.

As for bb show doctors, how can they assess bb against their age and milestones. It is a very well-known fact that boys take slower to reach some milestones than girls. Plus our bb's are premmies after all. I know of a FT bb boy still cannot walk at 1 1/2yr old. His mother is as cool as a cucumber about that.

Stressed, hmm you have a little soprano singer in the making
the reason why I am awake at this hour is my elder boy is 'cranky' and I couldn't sleep after tucking him to bed

Mich
U will not be considered a subsidised patients. I think it cost around $75+. U can called them to find out the actual cost.

The dentist who is seeing edric preferred to do it in KKh caused all his History are there. She only do extraction on friday at KKH. Not sure if she is one of the dentist at KKH. Heard that there is only two dentist at kkh. One is on Monday and another is on Friday.

didi,

I always kenna scolding from my mother because she thinks I bully her precious granddaughter. From 10 floor, she can hear dd screaming. Then she'll come up and scold me. :/

I pai miah. My mum never think her precious can bully her poor mummy.

Hi mummies, just look at me! I am a life example of a premature baby who grew up to be ok! I am not in any way losing out to my peers.

Stressed, I understand, my mom also don't like to let my boys cry, cause the air will 'go' in but what to do ? sometimes it is hard to pacify them
you stay so near your mom, so good

stressed & didi,
same here..whenever my ger cry, my mom will scold me :p

kaytons mommy,
my ger only started walking 16mth (non-corrected age) not v steady yet, but at least she's walking..dun b bothered by wat others say..must b confident of our own kids

so long nev post alrdy. been v larthagic last wk. went to zoo ytd. had a wonderful time. ltr will try to post some pics

got to get back to work now..

Hi didi,

My mum stay far from me. She takes a cab to my place and from downstairs she can hear my dd cry. Then when she comes up to my unit, I keena scolding. :p

Disney Mickey.
We just went to the zoo also last Monday. So many animals to see. We are soooo tired after the trip because the zoo has many slopes. Me and the daddy very chuan. DD was very happy to see the animals tho. We applied to be their members so we can go again for free. We intend to go this Sat. Hopefully it doesn't rain. :/

good morning mummies,

jane is back from 8D 7N holiday at Hokkikdo...joking la. my boy hospitalised at KKH for excaberated CLD -- aka.. wheezing (asmatic)

wow...really been a long week for me. i was there the whole week. eat sleep everything there.. sorry. have not had a chance to read thru all the threads. got to rush my work first

my boy discharge last friday..now home ok. just coughing. so pity... he like lost weight too.

but hor, i wana tell mummies, my boy can prounce 'mummmmm' i think its more like mum-mum than ma-ma haha..but still..its amazing keke...

lindah - congrats on your boy gg home. am sure his hearing be ok. don't worry too much.

Harlo, kaytons mummy,
so long never see you here..hows kayton?

you are right, our preemies are very good in public relations...my son can be carried by anyone and he is well trained by KKH during his almost six months of BMT there....to be sociable and to meet any one .....

stressed,
my son is also vy good in screaming if you take smthg away from him, he wld really get mad....and shake his body so violently...haha...

Jane,
hows yr boy now? wat did the lung doctor say?

how was yr 8D7N at the KK Hotel?is it he confirmed asthmatic or just asthmatic prone but not really asthmatic...

when to bring him again to the doctor for review?

jane,
hope ur boy is ok? poor thing. feed him more to put back the lost pounds

stressed,
ya, all tired out. my ger "forgot" her morning nap & became cranky abt 1.30pm, so we left after she fell asleep on my shoulders. we were there q early, abt 9.30am, cooling & not crowded. we chk out the frends of zoo, but q x cos i can get free zoo pass frm my office, but must book in advance & not always can get the dates i wan..

share w all a pic of her in zoo..

892742.jpg

Hi Jane,

*pat* *pat*. Hope your boy boy feels better... U also must take care. Ya?

Disneymickey, mine slept whilst going to the most important and fav part of the zoo - farm animals. hiaz. So we have to go again.

here my scary monster.

892929.jpg

She's attempting to dig nose. hahaha
Hiaz. Still look like boy. At least ur's look like girl. And she is pretty!

Stressed,
Your girl very chubby too, see his hand!!!!very cute too,
Disney.
Your girl very pretty too, and know how to pose too.ha..ha..
Didi,
hows your boy?like the new bottle?
Oh, I start them when they was 7month, as corrected month 5mth, quiet early ha, they ask me dont so early, but my doctor suggest me can start , dont too late. I gave them nestle plain cereal first,after that brown rice. Actually can try to give nestle gold stage 1, very nice and good.Your boy age quiet near my boys right?
Jane,
Oh, sorry to hear that, what happent to him? cough or flu? must take more care ha...try to give him some brown rice & cereal wth milk as more nutrition, i think better than porriage, actually today my doctor told me, porriage not very important to our baby, as cereal & brown rice wth milk was more nutrition and more good for our baby. She suggest me gove one time only the porriage, so now my boys schedule was:
8.30am-120ml milk
10am-210ml milk with 2 spoon of brown rice-spoon feeding.
12pm-60ml water
1pm-half bowl of porriage-abt 6 tablespoon.
3.30pm-200ml - milk
5.30pm-60ml Fruit juice
6.30PM-180ml milk wth 3spoon of nestle rice cereal.
9.pm-60water.
9.30pm-10pm-210ml milk with half packages of soya bean supplement food.
You will notice now their milk intake deduce, as now they not really take more milk lei. I am also headache.
So, try to give cereal if you can. You can try nestle gold, really good. got rice,apple and canberry. easy for digest too.
My boys now know to crawl front to get their toys, they use their body to push, very funny, sometime they will crawl together to get the same toy, if one of them get, the another one try to take from him too.
Ya,ya, want to share wth you, my 2nd twins the hyperactive boy fall down from bed last two day at 12.30am. Very kongpu ha!!!That one my hubby still watching tv down stair, that why no double block for him, i already block them 4 bloster for each person, but he still can sleep until roll and roll, until fall down from bed, quiet high, abt 2ft lei, I hearded the sound like pop, than i quicky wake up as i can feel that he fall down , he not cry in high volume, i quicky hug him, no time to see how he fall and in waht position, after that trying to find the place which he kena floor, but cant get it. after drink water he fall sleep again, i monitar him 24 hour and he ok. aiyo, reallly taboleh tahan him lei. His brother not like him. later you see his photo than you will know how active he was.
Share some photo which can see me too.
893015.jpg
893016.jpg
893017.jpg
893018.jpg
893019.jpg

Jacelyn, my boys have gotten used to the milk bottles but 1 prob - they are using different flow for the teats so how should I differentiate ? hmm, hb suggested using stickers from label printer but think they will detach after numerous steaming, so how do you differentiate the bottles since you have twins too
my boys are 5 months (corrected about 3 months).

Didi,
Oh, I never take out the teat when i steam and i got use scissor for write their name as T & B at the white color cover which putting the teats. This is how i do the marking, and now my 1st twins he like the big hole, more easy for me now as just see the hole of teats. They using 3drop which quiet fast flow, now his one i cut some more to become big. very fast flow, more fast to finish as my boys drink milk is super slow, i will bulp for them half way they drink, if they can finish in 20 minit, i alreadfy thank gods!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh, your boys 5 month? maybe you need to wait when they turn t 6month? but if they reject the milk, than you can try the cereal slowly...Did you change teats? variouble teats? or you cut at the original teats?
How many kg of your boys now...
Show me their photo too, my 1st twins now 8.6kg, 2nd twin been catch up his broth which at 7.8kg as last time he diffirent with his brot abt 1.3kg. Now he like milk more.

Alamak, all your babies sososoososo cute! Wow stressed, your gal very very chubby leh.
Disney your gal soo pretty.
Jacelyn, envy, you got two boys, both so good looking.

Jane, I used to stay 5 days 4 nights too at kkh, ha! Yucky place. My boy got bronchitis last time...sooooooo scary. Rushed to kkh after work everyday, lucky I am a teacher so can be there around noon time. Is your boy better? What happened to him?

My boy lost weight during that time too, kept vomiting food, and crying. Haiz...lost 500grams, I still remember. He slowly then picks up his appetite. I am very very very phobia now. As I said, I faithfully bring him to YU GUO for tui na, every week, then also force him to drink vitamin syrup everyday. I really hope his immune will become stronger.

Mich thanks for your website. Will check it out. I haven't got time to do so, also too early, ha! My boy's birthday in october. I already printed out invitation cards liao!
893158.jpg

Btw, I hope to bring my boy to zoo like disneymickey and stressed. I bought him to underwater world and he is sooo excited. I am afraid zoo may be too hot for him, and mosquitoes?

Btw, lindah, how's your boy? You attended the first aid course by kkh liao and the 4 sessions of dunno what course (I forgot, I think is to prepare parents to take care of their premature babies). I still remember attending the courses, haha. I know the last course is bathing!

Jaceyln hope your boy ok. My boy used to fall down from the bed too. ha! I have downgraded by bed to just a mattress to avoid that.

kkf,
thanks, my boy ok liao. Aiya, I cant bring down the mattress as my bed was built in one, and my friend told me dont sleep direct on the floor without the bed, a lot of duct as we cant see, will costhem sensitive. So what i can do now is put the mattress at the floor , if really he fall down again, only kena mattress, not so pain.haa,haa. Actually they got babycoat, my sis ask me to give them sleep inside, but i really pity them if they sleep there alone, no bear to let them sleep alone. ha..

Jacelyn, I didn't change to variable teats as the sales girl at Kiddy Palace told me they are for 'mi hu' ? I am using Pigeon Peralistic 'S' for elder boy and 'M' for my younger boy so far ok leh so wouldn't take chance and change 1st

kkf, you are a very 'On' mommy, where did you print all the invitation cards ? Cool !