costa,
for ikan bilis powder:
1) wash the ikan bilis (if u bought those with head n stomach, remove it first)
2) dry it under sun, or put it inside oven n let it be till dry n cooked (it'll be very crispy once cook)
3) if u dun use oven, after drying, pan fry it till cook without oil
4) grind the ikan bilis using grinder till it turns to fine powder form.
5) keep the powder in a container.
porridge wise, i do the following:
1) 2 chinese spoon of rice (for 2 meals of my boy daily), add 2 chinese bowl of hot water. cook in slow cooker (we dun hav time to keep looking /stirring at the porridge if cook using gas, so slow cooker is our best choice)
2) shred/chop fine 2 vege into the porridge, rotate among: carrot, potato, pumpkin, brocolli, cabbage, spinash, corn
3) add 1 small piece of cod fish or soup bone into the porridge. for fish, we mesh it and feed the boy coz he got teeth liao. soup bone is purely for the taste only. u can oso chop in the dried scallop or 'yin yu' (small silver fish, either dry one or the raw one) into the porridge if u dun use fish/bones. Sometimes we use frog leg.
4) after the porridge is cooked and before feeding, add 1 small teaspoon of the ikan bilis powder into the porridge n stir it. since the ikan bilis is already cooked, then u juz mix it up with the porridge will do.
5) serve the small king (my boy) with some marmite. He has past 1 YO n he got golden taste bud, so we add a bit marmite for the porridge to taste better.
tat's my lazy way of cooking porridge
but for start, my PD was advise to give porridge in fine texture n with only vege inside first, then slowly ikan bilis, fish, meat....
we so far do not use chiecken to cook, my in law said chicken tend to give baby 'wind' (old ppl thought, but better dun offend