Premature babies support group

ha ha haaa...disneymickey...Ur dd cannot be more "fierce" than mine.

Mine got reputation in Mt A one. She maybe small size but wah lau....when she screams, the entire nursury all wake up to sing choir with her. The poor nurses's ear drums suffered alot. :p

now she's still like that. hiaz.

ha ha haaa...disneymickey...Ur dd cannot be more "fierce" than mine.

Mine got reputation in Mt A one. She maybe small size but wah lau....when she screams, the entire nursury all wake up to sing choir with her. The poor nurses's ear drums suffered alot. :p

now she's still like that. hiaz.

long time never come in here....been busy with my gal.so much to catch up and read....:>

my gal has recently developed some kind of rash...my mil say its "feng moh", brought her to the docter and he also say could be that. the rash comes and goes....hopefully it disappears soon...

Good morning,
Puppyduppy, welcome back..feng moh quite common, i myself hv it when i bathe at nite smtimes..its quite itchy...and i dun noe whether correct or not, i put calamine lotion to make it cooling but for bbs, better dun as i scared they touch it and put into the mouth

maybe try applying cornstarch.it may help..

hi disneymickey,
welcome to the thread.
my boy was born at very same size as yours, at 1.6kg, 34 wks. also stayed NICU for 3 wks. He just passed his 1 YO.
He's about 9kg, also small size. Eating n drinking wise, not very good. lots of younger baby here drink more than him. each meal he takes about 150-180ml milk, 2 porridge daily, and still wake up for night feed. His pd quite ok for his food, asked us to give any kind of food we take to him, so sometimes he drink our soup, eat some toufu, meat, fish, vege, bread, cake... but everything in small little amount.
His development skill quite ok, so his PD declare no corrected age required on him. He can walk now, n can say few words, although i think those got no meaning to him. everything he shouted: pa pa pa pa. he doesn't know pa pa is the father. sometimes he can bye bye and clap clap his hand. It's fun.
When i think back the time when he was young, it was a scary experience. Glad that we hav passed thro that hard time....

Wish all mummies here a happy mother's day.

hi irenelove,
can i call u irene .. shorter to type

hav u tried other food like rice, pasta, mee sua or noodles? my mom cooked porridge 4 my ger everyday for lunch & dinner, i scared she eat until sian

ya, pd oso say can eat anything, except seafood & nuts. but i still dun give her salty food.

wow,ur boy can walk alrdy? my girl can only hold onto side of table & 'cruise' , but she sometimes wan to let go n walk towards u, i so scared haha.

ya,she oso babbles a lot, sometimes say pa pa pa pa, but nobody teaches her to call her father pa pa, so she's juz babbling la. tot i heard her say 'car ' 2 nites ago, but she refused to repeat it last nite. this morning,when we were in the lift, she tried to call her daddy, but the sound came out sounds like 'uncle' so another uncle in the lift tot she's calling him. cute.

pd din comment abt her development but i tot it's ok, can bye bye, clap, can point to many things which she identifies. except can't walk & talk yet.

ya,those 3wks @NICU was so scary & tiring hor? i rem calling up pd & NICU every mornign to chk her weight gain. even 0.1kg gain oso makes me v happy. i cried when her wt dropped during the 1st wk (though it's common,even more normal birth bb),but she's alrdy so small & yet drop 0.1kg oso v big deal to me.

happy mother's day 2 all too..

costa,

thanks will try putting cornstarch..my mil also suggest putting that....think safer than calamine lotion cos now she puts everything she can grab into her mouth..haha...

disneymickey,
yup she wears longsleeves and long pants to sleep..but dunno how come the bumps still appear on her legs..sometimes so much that it looks so scary....

puppyduppy,
similarly,my gal got bites on her leg & arm sometimes,though she wears l/sleeve top & pants 2 zzz. it's so big tat it's swollen & doesn't look like mosquito bite.hope it's not some super bug.

disneymickey,

same for my gal....the bites are like bigger than 50cent coin leh..very scary...i also thot got some gigantic bug running around the room...
so i sprayed the room and seached high and low for that darn bug..but cant find...

puppyduppy,

same here. i changed bed sheets liao oso no diff. my FIL bought a tube of cream,q effective.but i 4got the name.will go back & see then tell u tmrw.her bites not only big but swollen kind.but i apply the cream 2-3 times (i only apply at nite,cos day time not wearing l/sleeve or l/pants,i dun let my mom apply 4 her), then the swell disappear.

hi costa

My gal has lots of heat rashes... Can i check with u how to apply cornstarch? Do i need to add water? i apply calamine lotion for her, but as she has the habit of chewing her mittens and rubbing against her face, i am worried that she could be swallowing calamine lotion...

today i take leave bcos my EBM vol getting terrible (after one week of gg back to work). i dunno how to bring it up. how to make it to 6 mths, i oso dunno.

i ask you all ah, after oxygen hood, still got nasal canula huh? my baby still inconsistent. today the best, he needed 22% at one time, then move up and down 24-26%. When i left 27%. 3rd day at SCN liao. I dunno how much more patience i have. *stress* but now they say they try to convert him to 3hrly feeding. when i carry him, his sats go down so i have to put him back...

hi lindah,
if ur EBM vol drop, u need to rest more, eat well and pump regularly, eg: 3-4 hrs once. It's very tough, i still remember those time which i wake up midnight to pump. wat pump do you use? get a good pump to help u stimulate milk suppy and with good suction. I was using medela PIS, it's a very good pump.

Disneymickey,
Sure. call me irene.
The 3 wks of bb stay in NICU, was a very terrible experinece to me. PD called us everyday, so i was very nervous when he called me. I scared anything happen. ya, his weight was up n down, my heart oso go up n down...
i still remember when PD called and said my boy can discharge 2 more days later, i was so happy....n another worry hits me... coz i dunno how to take care of bb, esp such a small one. luckily my in law helped me all along. we've passed thro lots of sweet n bitter memory.
my boy starts to walk at abt 1 mth ago. now running everywhere in the house. he is active, but his appetite is poor, always, since young. he didn't drink much milk n everytime cannot finish it, need to force or feed him when he's sleeping, else he'll nvr finish his milk. we chg the ingredients we used for the porridge everyday, but he still fussy, dun quite like it. feeding him is the toughest part in daily caring.

morning disneymickey,

thanks...me too also done everything to get rid of the "bug" but still got the rash...i brought her to the doc and doc gave some meds for the allergies.last night she didnt have the rash...so the meds should be working..

morning mommies,
the cream which i mentioned ytd is called HYDROGERM, says on the box, it's for relief of itch, rashes, insect bites, skin allergy & irritation. maybe u would like to try out.

lindah,
can try to drink fish soup to get more milk supply. my mom boil fish soup w small papaya & it helps to get more milk. & ya, like wat irene says,need to pump regularly. i oso did it @ 3-hr interval, even in weird hrs in the middle of the nite.oso need good rest & drink more milk (for the calcium loss in the milk u pumped out).juz relax & rest well.the milk will come. however,if really,the supply is low,dun b depress,there's always FM outside which is good for our babies,so dun b 2 worry or saddened.u hav alrdy tried your best!

irene,
ya,how to 4get those tough days?tat's y my hubby & me always say,if we can survive the first few mths (esp this is our 1st born,we hav zero experience in caring for a bb,wat's more a pre-mature bb!) there's nothing we can't do abt her

if ur boy is happily running ard & growing well, don't b 2 bothered abt his weight. think we alrdy did so much & all we can, by giving variety to their food.maybe ur boy got low metabolism rate. maybe u wait till he's real hungry then feed him?tat's wat i did. initially i c time then feed my girl,sometimes she doesn't wan to eat & i got to run after her & the whole bowl of porridge became so cold.now i wait till she's hungry then feed,make feeding much easier

lindah,
did you try fenugreek or buy the raw seeds to make tea to drink...
my bm also dropped drasticallly already..tink gonna stop soon..
if really no more...can try similac neosure...

disneymickey/irenelovej,
my boy feeding still slow..his sucking is still weak..i also dun noe wat to do.....even i tried to give him a sippy cup, he also cant really suck well....but when it comes to milk, still give him thru the bottle...

solid food also he dun really like..headache to feed him as the food gets thrown on the floor or ends up on my clothes..heh heh..

Disneymickey,
Ya, we norm give my boy food when he's hungry. When he was young, we always feed him every 3 hrs, sometimes it becomes a so difficult process to feed. so now we give when he want to eat. still, he has a very bad habit. He eat some till full a bit then he'll start all his tricks of not eating properly. same for milk.

May i know which hospital did u delivered ur gil?

hi irene,

i delivered in mt a.
looks like most of us here got prob when come to feeding time.but now,my gal is better cos i really wait till she's hungry. ytd i was carrying her while heating up the soup for her pasta.i asked her wat u wan, she pointed to the pasta haha.so ez feeding.another thing i noticed, my girl is exceptionally guai & ez to feed when her cousin is ard or when we feed her outside (ie. in restaurant,etc).maybe she wans to show off haha. esp when her cousin is ard & if the boy is mishaving, she's super guai haha.wan to show off la. last nite, we were having dinner @ a japanese restaurant, she's oso v good girl while i fed her dinner there. eat bit of her mee sua, then kept pointing to my rice. so juz feed her my rice with the veg/meat which was intended 4 her mee sua haha

guess we got to 'know' our babies pattern, & find the best way to feed him/ her.

good morning mummies,

costa - my boy like down with 'ashmatic'... but over last few days he better liao. today just went for SGH appointment. fruitful session.

my boy phelgm still there ler...i trying chinese medicin (ho zao shan..seem to help a bit). if he still not ok by tomorrow, think i will bring him back to the PD...

i just came in .. so have to rush do my work. but i thought..cheer all mummies up with my boy latest trick hehe...see below...opps!! wacky jane...

799792.jpg

seeing all the chat about solid..my boy still have not really start on solid..then he like chesty lor...so..hope can really start solid really soon.

and oh oh i finally went toy S'rus to buy the ABC mat for my boy hehehe...

hi fairytale, my boi...he ok to start liao cos this month he is corrected about 6-7mths. but he is not very well now..so i hold back the solid...

really hope to give him solid soon wor

oh, hows ur boy?

Hi, Jane,
was about to text you..hows everything?yr boy vy cute hor..looks different now....u tink he looks like who..?u or yr husband...

hows yr boy?u brot him to the paedi last wk or not?

for me, everytime i hear cough sound, i noe must increase his ventolin puff..nothg more i can do

fairytale,
hows yr boy?everything better?

hi costa, keke..my boy chicky look hor. he ah..think look like me??? but i not that chicky ler..dunno who he take after wor.... :p you know, now he got 2 white one..wow, he so hao lian..think he can 'bite' pple. he 'bite' my mother mouth that day... :p

ya, brought him to PD last week. but am thinking..if by today or tomorrow his phelgm persist and cough still there, think i will bring him to the PD again...

hmm... the PD stop his ventolin (oral medication not puff) cos his feet shake after taking...

hope his cough go away soon...so that he can start solid..

Jane, my boy hor..till now no signs of teeth leh..i oso not sure when are teeth supposed to erupt leh...but so far, i never see any white buds leh....

which pd you brot him?the one near yr mum house huh...

oh dear...how come his feet shake after the ventolin leh?

disneymickey,
ya, when we fed my boy at restaurant, he'll eat guai guai, i guess like what u said, he wants to show off, or he saw everyone there eating so he also eats. but at home huh, different story

although my boy still doesn't behave well when comes to eating, but he already 'turn well' compared to last time. did u know last time he spent 1 hr for every feeding, either for milk or for solid? it chews up lots of our time. everyday just clock his feeding, and struggle, and he won't take his milk unless he's going to sleep, so phobia, and after the feeding, it's almost time for the next feeding.... it was such a terrible experience to feed him. now, at least better, he finish his milk faster (although still slow la), and porridge, need to play some tricks like singing, watching tv, give him things to play while feeding...

Jane,
ur boy very cute leh, he looks big
y his leg shakes after ventolin? can change to other medicine or use the puff?
i'm not sure if u dare to give ur boy this chinese medicine called 'chuan pei'. I heard fr the medical hall ppl said good for phlegm/ lung. U can ask them if u keen. Or give some Yu Yan Sang 'Bao Yin Dan'. can puree some pear for him too. if u dun wan to give in solid, either boil the pear in water or squueze out the juice. pear oso good for cough n phlegm.

hi costa,
dun worry abt teeth. my ger got her 1st 2 teeth ard 8mths. bottom 2 came out, then 1mth later, only 1 on top came out. asked pd, y not come out in pairs? he say not 2 worry, every bb is diff. sure enuff, soon, 2nd tooth on top came out. then another 2 @ bottom, then again, 1 more on top. weird hor, but since pd say ook,then ok lor

hi jane,
ur boy looks cute & cheeky, w tongue sticking out. legs shaking is it med 2 strong? need to let pd know b4 he gives other med.

sorry har, mommies, like i've said, me & hubby v kia si & careful when come to feeding my ger, cos she's a preemi. so we did not let her take any chinese med until now. not saying they r not gd, but felt tat shld c pd if she's sick. to kill the virus ASAP. when she's bigger, then give chinese med to build up her immunity/health. juz my point of view.

irene,
b patient..think our kids r juz 2 playful 2 sit still to eat.sigh. was joking w my hubby, maybe it's the genes, cos we were both like tat when we were young - need to walk ard the neighbourhood b4 finishing porridge haha. retribution i told him.

my ger used to hav her last feed of milk ard 9-9.30pm, then she'll drink 2 sleep. but nowadays, we try to feed her slightly earlier (b4 she's real tired).then brush her teeth, then let her play a while more b4 patting her to zzz. sometimes it work, but sometimes,she still drink 2 zzz. sigh. again, must b patient..

costa - ya, brought him to the one near my mum house (think u know which one). about the shaking of feet...i think its the medicine too strong. PD has since advise us to stop.

hi irenelovj - hmm i am now giving him ho zao shan..which seem to works better than the western medicine...at least after eating the ho zao shan, my boy can sleep better. and he can poo poo out all the phelgm... oh pear work???? but is pear 'cold'?? cos the chinese sinsen say my boy got CLD so cannot eat too 'cold and sugary' fruits (eg orange and such)...

hi disneymickey - yes, if my boy sick..i still bring him to PD/KKH to check for lung and such...afterall, its important to check for internal organs...

me giving my boy chinese medicine cos...the western medicine like not working for him (not say which is better). Frankly, i just want to give him what seem to work better for him.

and...(touch wood) my boy does not merlion out the milk after taking chinese medicine..but he merlion after taking western medcine...so....hmmmm..... :p

jane,
u r his mommy,so u r the best person to know wat's gd 4 ur son.

my ger oso merlion when we force feed her med.cos she'll cry & use all her power & scream & thus merlion. sigh.then pd suggested we put the med into her milk (small portion, 2 make sure she finished all). ur son merlion is it cos of the same reason? else is it becos med 2 strong? but true lor, merlion is no good, so u know wat's best 4 him

Jane,
Wah.ur boy look different liao. like big boy now. cute and handsome now.
this few day was very busy cos my 2nd twins kena cough and phelgm last week. he cough quiet serious last monday, cough until vomit out all the milk and cereal too. I was bring him to see pd and was given him the cough medicine and ventolin too. the cough was better after the medicine, so I stop it next day, but only things is the phelgm, I can hear his sound like king kong sound. He was trying to cough out the phelgm and sometime will cough out the phelgm. Now still continue the ventolin. I am so worry as this is the first time so serious, what is ventolin puff?is it better to let him cough out the phelgm? Do i need to stop the western medicine and give him chinese medicine? I have baoyin tan at home?
Any advice to me, actually now he no more cough and fever, only a lot of phelgm.
my 1sttwins stll ok, not kena, they all say if one sick, the other one sure kena one, so, i am quiet lucky. if two of them come together sure I pengsan first. Now my 2nd twin very active, even he sick, but he still jump jump non stop. really ta boleh tahan, the weight stop there since he cough.
disney.
My boys very funny one. they like the medicine, I will use jab to give them, they will autimatic open the mouth. last time I also put into milk, but doctor ask me try not , next time they will reject milk.
Irenelovej,
I was try your way to do paosen to my sons, they was taken last month. Do i need to give them every month?
I was give them apple, pumpkin, potato now, they like it, I do it when they need it, cos I am not working, free for me to do it. YA, need to check wth you, my boys dont like porriage, I try potato, carrot porriage, they dont like it, so I try to give them pure porriage, they only eat 10spoon only, sometime I force them , they willcry, what should i do ? but if I do caomifen/milk and cereal wth milk , they will finish all. Do i need to stop the porriage 1st? is it mean that they will reject the porriage forever?

hi disneymickey, hmm...actually it is by chance i start to notice that he take in chinese medicine quite well. keke..after taking it, he can still make the 'ta ta' sound (like as if it is very yummy :p when actually i think chinese herb does not taste that nice... (i personally prefer western medicine taste keke).

oh..so u put the medicine into her milk. that is a ideal too...

i think my boy dun like the taste basically keke...but as aware, once they merlion out..we have to 'assume' that the medicine already goes into the stomach and we cannot give it again (until the next 8 hours or so..).

to me...phelgm..PLEASE go away man....

hi jacelyn, hehe...he no handsome la. like old man haha...

ya ya..my boy also..now is the phelgm lor...how har??

Hi Disneymickey,

My dd got her lower teeth only when she's 9.5months actual, 8months correct too. Only recently, at 11months actual, 9.5months corrected then she sprouted her 2 upper teeth.

I wait until my neck long long leh. hee hee. Then hor, I'm such a forgetful mother. Sometimes, i forget to brush her teeth! Alamak!

jane,
u know,when u make a full bottle of milk, pour out a bit,add milk,finish feeding this bottle,then continue with the non-medicated milk. ya, like wat jacelyn say, not a good choice, but no choice when she merlion whenever we force feed. but hor, when she merlion out, we 'assume' nothing has gone in so we gave immediately.then we were told no, must wait for at least 1-2 hrs.but since then, we put into med,so far so good (touch wood!!)

stressed,
dun b so stressed lor

like i say, sometimes she drink milk until zzz,oso no chance to brush her teeth heehee
recently, my mom pointed out that my ger's lower gums got some white white thingy,she suspect is teeth!! oh no, how to hav tooth growing out frm there? gg to pd next weekend. must ask him.

jane/disneymickey,
my boy oso merlion out when he was taken western medicine. Last time when he had throat infection with fever, a PD nearby my place gave him so much medicine. he kept struggling when we fed him, and after the struggling process, vomit out everything include milk n food. so poor thing. after that we went to his PD (the one that saw him since he was born), then stop all oral medicine, gave suppository for the fever, and use neubulizer. only taking antibiotic via oral. everything turn better.
my boy's taste bud is too good till u add medicine in his milk he'll refuse the whole bottle.

Jacelyn,
Pao shen can be given quite regularly. in fact my boy is taking it like 3x a week. dun give too much, few chinese tea spoon is fine.
about the porridge vs cereal, i thnk ur boys probably still prefer the cereal at this stage, coz cereal w milk smell nice n taste nice too. glad that they like the puree fruits/vege. maybe wat u can do is cook and puree the porridge to soft n fine texture, and use some tasty ingredient to cook it, eg: ikan bilis, carrot and potato (as start). in the beginning baby takes not much. maybe after the porridge u hav to give them the cereal to 'top-up'. Slowly, increase porridge n reduce cereal. it should work. the main thing is u must always alter the ingredient to cook porridge, else they get bored easily.
As start, like wat i said, u can cook porridge with ikan bilis (just use the stock, dun feed them w the ikan bilis), vege like pumpkin, potato, carrot, cabbage (all thse must chop/shred fine). Later, once they accept porridge more, can cook the porridge w fish or pork rib. Alternatively, u can cook porridge by using ikan bilis powder, which u need to wash, dry, fry (or oven), grind the ikan bilis to powder form first and store it in container. during cooking, add some into the porridge. it taste nice too.

disneymickey,
thks for your advice on teeth..guess i just too anxious smtimes..heh heh..

irenelovej,
how do you cook the porridge huh..was tinking of cooking it for my son...

can give me some ideas..the ikan billis thing sounds good, man..do you use dry and do the ikan billis powder?

costa,
for ikan bilis powder:
1) wash the ikan bilis (if u bought those with head n stomach, remove it first)
2) dry it under sun, or put it inside oven n let it be till dry n cooked (it'll be very crispy once cook)
3) if u dun use oven, after drying, pan fry it till cook without oil
4) grind the ikan bilis using grinder till it turns to fine powder form.
5) keep the powder in a container.

porridge wise, i do the following:
1) 2 chinese spoon of rice (for 2 meals of my boy daily), add 2 chinese bowl of hot water. cook in slow cooker (we dun hav time to keep looking /stirring at the porridge if cook using gas, so slow cooker is our best choice)
2) shred/chop fine 2 vege into the porridge, rotate among: carrot, potato, pumpkin, brocolli, cabbage, spinash, corn
3) add 1 small piece of cod fish or soup bone into the porridge. for fish, we mesh it and feed the boy coz he got teeth liao. soup bone is purely for the taste only. u can oso chop in the dried scallop or 'yin yu' (small silver fish, either dry one or the raw one) into the porridge if u dun use fish/bones. Sometimes we use frog leg.
4) after the porridge is cooked and before feeding, add 1 small teaspoon of the ikan bilis powder into the porridge n stir it. since the ikan bilis is already cooked, then u juz mix it up with the porridge will do.
5) serve the small king (my boy) with some marmite. He has past 1 YO n he got golden taste bud, so we add a bit marmite for the porridge to taste better.

tat's my lazy way of cooking porridge

but for start, my PD was advise to give porridge in fine texture n with only vege inside first, then slowly ikan bilis, fish, meat....
we so far do not use chiecken to cook, my in law said chicken tend to give baby 'wind' (old ppl thought, but better dun offend

irene,
feeding med is real pain man. juz hav to take gd care & hope they dun fall sick so often. whenever my gal got nose block, we dun turn on air con & sleep, but our rm will become like an oven. so we'll move her to her rm (she's noramlly sleeping w us, her cot is in our rm), 1 of us will sleep with her on a mattress in her rm. hubby will sleep w her 1st, then ard 3am, he'll come wake me up, then it's my turn to sleep w her. macam shift work.. no choice, else next day, can't go to work.

costa,
b4 my gal turns 1 yr old, my mom will cook porridge w veg (spinach), pumpkin, potato, carrot, broccoli,cauliflower,tomato, baby corn. will chop all the ingredients & coook them till very very soft, then use a sift & mesh them. she'll oso grind the rice into powder form,then cook them (faster,takes abt 5mins 2 cook) then put all together & feed. gradually, she doesn't grind the rice anymore, but cook everything (rice + ingredients) for abt 1hr (u can use the double boil method oso). then everything became so soft & juz gently press them then can feed liao. if u r adding fish or meat (chop up finely), add them last, cos these cook easily & i read frm books, dun overcook.

tried adding ikan bilis powder to her porridge when she's abt 10mths old,noticed some rash appearing ard her lips,so we stop.we din give fish to my gal till she turns 1yr old,scared of allergy.

if ur kid is ok w ikan bilis, u can use ikan bilis (wash & soak awhile) & boil soup & cook the porridge. v tasty 2. if u dun hav time, u can oso put everything into the slow cooker & cook 2 meals at one go.

Irenelovej,
thanks, m printing out yr post to put on the fridge door so that i can use it as a reference..

yr advice is vy handy..thanks..me din hv maid for last five years until last year and alot of things i really clueless..

wish me luck..tis sunday my maid hving off day and i hv two to handle on my own...
hope i m still in one piece on next monday...

tink she wun be around on sunday, i shall try it on sunday.....so that i wun appear like a fool and direct her to do smthg i cant do.ha ha...

disneymickey,
thanks, tink you all really noe alot....i will also print out yr post to put it smthg to use is a guiding point.....i think last time, i everything chuck into the pot and switch on and let it cook...but now, since my boy is a preemie, i better be more conscientious....

irene,
cannot give chkn har? recently i use chkn breast & ikan bilis to boil soup.then use the soup to cook either mee sua or pasta 4 my ger leh..find it v tasty

btw, any mommies try giving beef? wan to give (cos good source of iron) but dunno which part of beef to buy. any suggestion?

disneymickey,
according to my in law, dun give chicken till the baby turn 1YO coz it causes 'wind' . Dunno how true, but since she's the main caregiver, no pt argue for such small thing rite? i juz follow

i used fish before my boy turn 1YO else u don't, another way for the chicken
guess every family has own way to grow the child. so long they eat n it's healthy, it's ok already.

I heard my colleague said use beef bone to boil soup. It's very nutricious. i haven't try yet

Costa,
ur elder boy is already 6 (or 7?), should not be a problem la. u act as commander ask him to help u out to take care of the brother lor

ya, like wat disneymickey said, can use ikan bilis to boil the soup too, but remember dun accidentally scoop it to feed ur boy hor. unless u chop fine it then they can 'swallow' it.

u can get ur maid to mesh the porridge till fine n soft texture to feed. for us, we dun hav time, so juz use spoon mesh a bit then feed liao

Dear mummies

I came across this thread and would like to befriend all of you...I'm currently being warded at KKH (this is my 4th week here) trying desperately to keep my 2nd twin in my womb for as long as possible. She just turned 22 weeks gestation today. As for what happened to me and my 1st twin, please read my post on 27 April on this thread:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/288309.html?1179201003

I'm taking a big step of faith to post here by believing that I can at least bring home my 2nd twin (baby Ashley). Docs say we have to keep her inside me till at least 28 weeks. Even then, she'll be such a small premie and most likely be in NICU for 2 months...and her chances of developing complications are rather high...I can't help being worried

Would love to hear how you fellow mummies cope with the heartaches and stresses of premature babies so that I can have hope to press on...Thanks for your support in advance...

Love,
angie

Dear angel, welcome ! sad to have heard about your bb
I believe Baby Ashley will be fine and you definitely can hold her in your arms and bring her home as she knows that she has a mummy and daddy that loves her so much, be positive ! I delivered my twins at 30 weeks at KKH, and was sad and stressed initally but having the support of the fantastic nurses at NICU and SCN really makes me positive and relieved and now my both bbs are at home already
(didn't know that KKH have such nice nurses). If you have any queries, you can check with the experienced mummies in this thread, they are so helpful .... ke ke

hi angel!

i tried to post while at office tdy after reading your post but somehow encountered error. so here i am now.

i felt very sad reading abt all that you have been thru, and i hope and pray tt baby Ashley will be ok and bring you much joy. stay positive, ok!
Congratulations on reaching 22wks! I hope you make it to 28weeks as that's when baby's lungs are more mature.
strive on!

my son came 2 days after my 24th week checkup. The contractions came without warning. the only thing they found was tt my placenta slightly inflamed. din even check my cervix, too late already. i figured the placenta inflammation cud be from the long-drawn flu tt i had while i was in my 5th mth of pregnancy. anyway, my son was born at 24week gestation and 680g. I spent every night of the first week crying. but the crying then got less frequent as i saw him grow. he did fall sick for a few weeks and stopped putting on wt then but he recovered and started putting on wt again. He spent 3 mths in NICU, and is now in SCN. Everyday I pray for him to get better and be discharged soon.
. Seeing my bundle of joy grow and respond to me and his surroundings made the pain of giving birth to a micro-premmie, more distant.
. There are times when you feel the doctors keep giving you bad news, but it gets better.

Take care, ok. We're all rooting for you.

Hi Angel,

Congrats on reaching 22 weeks! I am praying for Ashley and I believe that she will be strong and healthy and soon you will get to see her....

My daughter was delivered at 29 weeks at Mt E....she usually is very active in my tummy...but over the weekend...somehow i didnt feel her move as much....so i went to see my gynea..luckily i went..cos her heartbeat was no strong...gynea gave me a painful steriod jab to strengthen the lungs of my gal...i went for emergency C sec on the same day...my gal was born at 1.14kg and stayed in NICU for 2 months....All the nurses were fantastic and took care of my gal very well...
if you have any questions pls post it here..im sure all the mummies here will be most willing to help...

take care and i will be praying for Ashley

Angel,
How are you today?

I pmed you wif my old nickname and emailed to you my experience......You have my hp, feel free to call me anytime you need advice now as we experienced the same thing...

Everyday in mummy's womb is a victory in itself..u must perservere..

You are in good hands with very good doctors..without the faith i hv in the doctors, i wldnt noe wat to do..

Doc Kwek's reassuring manner and his constant visits to my ward to talk to me during my long stay in kkh...made me perservere thru out and I was very lucky that he was there when I delivered my second child when the labour ward activated him...

The doctors have to tell you the risks of hving a micro preemie but I would dare to say that kkh has one of the best or the best Neo nat experts and nurses etc and preemie wld be in good hands there..

I can tell you when the doctor came to the ward to tell me about the risks of hving a preemie, my world came crashing down on me......it seems so real but the doctor is onli telling you "it may happen tis way" but whether "it will" happen tis way..well, may not be likely, correct, wif all the medical advances even a tiny 284gm preemie can make it...

The doctors just want to tell you two sides of a story but my boy proved me otherwise...onli on a small side but other that that...still a notti, cheeky and noisy fellow like all babies.....

I have seen a 23wker wif my own eyes..doing so well and truly a miracle...

Any questions, do call me on my hp..believe you shld have my number...or post here...

hi angel

i am sure u are going thru a tough time now... i went thru the demise of one of my triplets in week 30 gestation. It was discovered in week 28 that his development was far from expectation, 900g i remember. We had 2 choices, deliver all the triplets in week28 or let heaven decide wat to do with him and hope that all three can be delivered in week 32. We decided to go for the second option cos we din wanna compromise the other 2 healthy babies... It was the most painful decision i have to make in my life. Till now, i still miss him. Just last night i was consolidating my babies' ultrasounds... really heart wrenching to see his ultrasound again...

angel, u have to be strong cos there's another life inside u that u need to look after. i've been through it and i'm sure if not for my other 2 babies, i would have collapsed. That 2 weeks (week 28 to week 30) were the most tormenting moments in my life, as we see our baby drifting away... u've got quite a bit more to go, so please pick urself up. My 2 babies were borned in week 31, they were discharged after staying in NICU for 6 weeks. They are 5 months old now, and nothing can be more rewarding than seeing them happy and healthy at home!
Have faith, i am sure u will be able to hold ashley in ur arms too!

hi angel

good morning :) i wanted to post yesterday but think the forum was down.

just a short note to share what i gone through (think other than costa who stay for quite a number of days at KKH), i could be one of the longest stayers.

My total stay at KKH was 12 days. day one i go in on when my boy was in his 24/25 weeks due to my waterbag give way...

luckily my cervix was not open..hence marks the 'rest in bed' in KKH. till day number 11 (midnite) i was hit by high fever (infection). hence my boy came out on week 26 weighing 980 grams.

angel, i know the days of having to stay in the ward. i know ... i really do.

fight on is what i wanna tell u. Ashley...u hear auntie jane ??? hmm ... let auntie jane boy give u a star. be good gal...grow well in your mama womb...stay in there...

angel...move forward...see my boy...believe. hold to faith. ashley be ok

801991.jpg

Chloe,

*hugz*..its never easy to let a child go..every mum who has gone thru wat we did will say that...

Me also keeping the ultrasounds and vy heart breaking as there was no way to keep the one i lost as he was really too preemie already...

Jane,

U cld be right..i was the long stayer there at kkh for 40days and 40 nites at the KKHotel and Resort....everytime i go there..sure bound to run into someone i know or those whom know me but i cant remember..eh, you not long stayer lah....

Angel,
try to read some magazines or watch some tv to while away yr time and get the nurses to monitor you more if you feel more assure lidat...

do all you can to rest more...jia you okay..i am behind you all the way......