Premature babies support group

Harlo, morning mummies,
Hi, kaytons mummy, welcome here....good to see "old fren" like you here.....thanks for your pong chan at tis board..

kayton is big boy now..he must be very active thats why cant put on much weight...

tinking back, i do cry smtimes when i think back on the five mths in the hospital...it really brings back alot of memories...

wat did the doctor say abt his development? he lookes on track to me....

Adeline,
I don't think we will ever forget those days. Anything that triggers those memories make me cry too.I just smile when people ask me why i'm not having another baby soon. My boy will turn 3 years soon.

Hi Adeline, Welcome ! actually I cried on the day my younger bb was discharged from SCN, I felt so emotional and it's more like I have gotten used to going there everyday and chat with the nurses so maybe I missed the nurses

Mummies, I was just thinking that our 'understanding' and 'friendship' seems to be stronger and you mummies are more helpful towards each other than the other threads (maybe I am too sensitive
) Once again, so glad to have found this thread, otherwise really don't know who to ask whenever I have a question.

hi mummies,'

welcome adeline, your boy really have progress well. look at his lean limbs... you have taken very good care of him. kudos to all your effort.

my boy is a 26 weekers. born at 980 grams. stay in KKH for 3 mths (2 mths in NICU and 1 mth in SCN).

sometime...thinking back...wow...yes its over whelming but...

we have all come so far...so march on mummies :)

let this threads be forever so full of new information and new ideas.

welcome to this thread,adeline.I'm sure your boi pic really encourage all the mummies here.I agree that sometimes we always think how nice if our bb can be like other full term bb.When I see your son,I feel so comforted and really looking forward to the day when my boi can be like yours.

didi,
can understand yr feelings leh...was so frightened tt i cant handle baby without the expert care of the nurses..Luckily, they gv vy useful tips and let me hands on plus told me to observe his face colour etc as we wld not hv the help of machines once we are home
everytime i go to kkh, it feels like so familiar..choy choy choy!!!!but still, after spending so much time there...i feel a tinge of sadness..the nurses also told me hey,after discharge after work dun come here already hor...go home....

lindah,
hows yr boy's hernia?did doc say anythg?

fairytale,
hows yr boy now?

Hi Mummies, need to check something with you, do we calculate our bb's corrected age after 40 weeks ? do you usually tell people their real age or corrected age ?
and do you still it's tough for our bbs to put on weight ?

didi,
tink for eg our bb supposed to be born on Jan 1, so you calculate their adjusted age based on Jan 1

it dpds on how close you are to the person who asked..for me i wld just say a few months old and if its someone whom is close, i wld say he is ten months old but corrected age is 6 mths becuz he is x months premature...

in short.. it dpds on wat you are prepared to tell pple..

i got neighbours (read tis:plural..more than one neighbour) who asked me when is my second child coming and when i said i gave birth, they said they never saw me pregnant...ha ha..i nearly wanted to ask them if they wanna see the birth cert..ha ha.....

stressed,
i cant see leh, my company got firewall..must go home...

yr bb really hits the milestones fast..maybe she likes to walk but dun like to crawl...

hello !

i din go during lunch today but my hubby did. baby is 2060g now and they are planning to transfer him to SCN at 3.30PM today. ;)))))

his hernia will be operated on by the end of the week. ROP is ok, still btw stage 1 and 2.

;)))))

Feeling happy.

lindah,
Congrats, so happy for you that y r bb is making so much good progress.....

gg to scn is a vy positive move and from then, the nurses will ask you to come and hands on and learn from them....

ROP between stage1 and 2 is vy good..wait for the regular visit by the eye doctor to see wat she says..if she doesnt say much...its good news..in any case, she is a vy nice doctor also, frenly and caring....

Hi Costa, ok, think will tell those relatives based on their date of birth
easier, cause think they don't know about 'corrected age' thingy one lah.

Stressed, your bb is cute
with the little perky bum
how old is your bb ?

Lindah, congrats, this is moment that every mummy here is waiting for
after SCN going home will be very very soon...

hi stressed..wow where u buy the walker? my boy show no sign of crawling too...he seem keen to stand thou....

wow lindah - hugz congrats! soon ur boy can go home... yeah!

haha...all thanks to Nepia diapers, her bum is perky. I bought the walker from a mummy in this forum but u can get the same walker from Tokomama. I like this walker coz it has brakes. So she can stand on the walker and the walker won't run.

She's now 11months 1week actual. Corrected is 9months 3 weeks.

It's been a long long challenging 11 months 1 week....how did I survive so long?

stressed
Your bb is really cute!Can walk steadily leh.Don't look like a premmie to me.I think I will buy such walker for my boi.

costa
thank God that my boi hv cut down on the By Pac.But still on oxygen.

didi
doc say once our child hit 2 years old.He is considered the same age as those who are born in the same month.

thanks costa. yup will look out for the eye doctor. ;)

thanks didi. ;)

but you know what, i still am slightly worried because (touchwood!) i know some babies return to ICU after SCN.

hi stressed, i love that walker..its design is better than those.. put inside one. but...this one, it wld be only useful when my boy can really stand on his own rite....

and yes..ur gal does not look like a premmie... my boy now is 9mths actual but corrected only 6mths...think be some time before he can walk pah keke...

hi lindah - ah yo yo..don't think like that. your boy be ok....now what u have to do is encourage him to breath and suck and bottle...and hehe..he can go home liao cos given his weight..all go well, he really can be discharged liao...

oh didi about the question of how old...i always tell 'not that close pple'. my boy old man liao hahahah...can use cane to cane liao hahahaha....

but like costa to pple i am close to...i answer upfront abt his actutal and corrected age lor.

Yes Jane I agree. I don't like the "put-inside" walker. I got her an exsaucer instead. I put her inside since 4 months corrected. Now she dun like the exsaucer coz it restricts her movement. But I still put her inside when I need to go toilet - much to her protest!

hahaha...

If u want to see if your boy likes any toys, no need to buy. Rent can already. I rent most of her toys.

lindah,
i noe that some bbs go back to icu but its different cases and some are perhaps they are more used to closer monitoring in the nicu and request to go back there....so dun worry too much.....

just be aware of wat the nurses are doing and the progress of yr boy.....

stressed,
which company is good for renting?if not convenient to post here, can pm me..?i lost touch wif the modern toys of kids already..since my elder one already 7..all i noe is i dun buy so many toys like last time...

hi stressed...oh i see. wow this exsaucer sure is ex wor.

ok ok. will tag these two web...:) thanks for sharing...

hi stressed. wah so cool, i din know can rent toys. but for walkers and exsaucer, how long does baby need to use ? 3 months ?

any site rent out little tikes mobile? it plays classical music. and is $99. have been thinking of buying if not for the price.

Actually it's called the exersaucer. I think I type too fast. haha...

hi Lindah, it's up to the baby whether to use the exersaucer for how long. U can try the rernt-that-toy. i think they have mobile. But I'm not sure if they have the little tikes one.

Oh mummies can try this too. But I've not tried it before.
http://www.babytown.com.sg/index.cfm?SessID=30164.

hi stressed...hehe i am aiming at the bumbo seat (so that can train my boy to sit keke...I heard the bumbo seat is good for their posture??

lindah .. i personally felt for such things, we can try to rent when they are about the 'age' for it. like the exersaucer...think rent for one mth ok liao hahaha...they really do get sick of things quite fast hahahaha

maybe one mth u rent the exersaucer, another mth the mobile type hehehe

hmmm... good idea, jane. then he would get a variety... but like i'll be spoiling him!!

but i was thinking if i planning for another one soon, then buying is not a bad idea. did any of your gynaes say anything about trying for another one? are chances for premmie again very high? do they recommend trying?

by the way, although my baby is in SCN and is >2kg, they still haven't started bottling him yet. Y huh?? is it because of oxygen hood?

but funny... yesterday was his first evening at SCN. immediately i thought 'haha... his bed is downgraded from deluxe bed to standard bed'... the cot for newborn is so small compared to the bed he had at NICU...
I see him like crammed like that!

hi lindah, about trying for another one. i personally won't do it so soon (because my boy erh..he need some special attention) my gynea did say there is a possibility BUT but...it may not be so too..so do not be too panorid if u wish to try for one...

oh....i think pretty soon they will try to bottle... ur boy is till on oxygen hood? start cycling liao mah? once on hood actually very soon things will move... :)

hahahaha....i know what u meant and i can imagine as your boy is quite big at 2KG plus for the new born cot (which is a good thing to see lindah ;p).

by the way...once they start to bottle...try bottle yourself. mummies is best at it...

i got a question. my mum just put one small teaspoon of cereal into my boy milk..then after drinking, my mum tell me my boy like got lots of phelgm!! (i meant like lots of sound of phelgm).

may i know if this is possible??

lindah,
tink yr boy may want to take things slowly..sooner or later he wld learn how to bottle......and they hv to monitor whether he desats or not...

yah, noe wat you mean by the bed so crammed..sure lunga here and there wif his leg..

me already got an elder kid..so i dun tink i wld be having another one already....factory closed...

jane,
sound of phlegm but is not phlegm, tio bo?

hi costa....hmmm i dunno if got phelgm ler....but thesse 2 days (think weather no good). i do hear phelgm sound lor...

only way to confirm (shall see what my mum say later) is to bring my boy see PD lor

stupid phelgm...go away man....but if he got sound? means got phelgm.. .no mah?

actaully...that time he also got the sound..but doc say no phelgm...(now i remember)..why is that so? any mummies here have a answer to help me?

i juz discovered this thread & would like to join in. i had a pre-mature bb ger, born feb 2006.she was born @1.45kg & stayed in NICU for abt 3 wks. it was a tough 3wks cos u c ur bb soooo small & vulnerable & w feeding tube in her mouth cos can't suckle.i got to deliver breast milk to hospital daily during her 3-wk stay.

but luckily,she has grown over the past 14mths.however,she's still considered v small size - she's 14mths & weigh only 7.6kg.but she's eating well & happily crawling ard.

but bit worried cos she's not walking yet. mommies with similar cases like me, when does ur bb start walking?

lindah, yup even the atmosphere at SCN is really govt hospital style compared to NICU
and more crowded and noisy as well. For me, like Costa factory closed too, unless hubby decided to re-open, also scared of another preemie
too

hi adeline,
juz saw your post few days back & saw the pic & looks like ur boi & my ger sama sama - 14 gg to 15mths & weight ard 8kg only. is ur boi v active? cos my ger is & so, my mom say tat's y she's not putting on weight. does he hav good appetite?

disneymickey, welcome to the board....

hows yr bb now?does she drink alot?

hope to learn more from you..

didi,
at scn, they hv alot of babies to one nurse..no choice...
me is confirmed factory closed becuz my body cant take the stress oreadi...also the gynae scared of me asked me dun pong chan anymore...

costa,
thanks,we learn frm one another!
yes,my bb drinks & eat a lot.her 'time-table' is something like
8am - bfast (bao, or bread w cheese)
10am - 170ml milk
12.30-1pm - lunch (porridge or rice mee sua or pasta)
3-4pm - 170ml milk
6.30pm - dinner (porridge or rice or mee sua or pasta)
9pm - 240ml milk

sorry, i din hav time to read all archives.how big is your bb now?

disneymickey,
did you hv yr bb at kkh?

my bb was born at 24wks at 750gm now he is about 11 months old but actual adjusted age is about seven months..

who is taking care of your bb?

wat type of pasta and how you cook for her?
she drinks quite alot of milk, huh..which is good.my boy cant drink so much as his sucking is not powerful...thats why he can only drink bit by bit...

Wahhh...disneymickey,

Ur dd eat more than mine. She's 3 months older than my dd. Mine only take in 120ml BM. Eats ok.

My dd is 8.62kg. The PD says shes's short although i cannot remember how long she is.

costa,
i had my bb @mt a.kkh NICU crowded then,cos my gynae found out a triplets juz delivered there,so all incubators used up.she scared my bb come out need incubator.luckily she doesn't need, (save a lot more $).but she has sucking prob,so got to tube feed for awhile.

my mom taking care of my ger. i went back to work when she's 4.5mths. u working?

i cook the abc pasta (can b found in ntuc). i used ikan bilis,chkn & boil soup,steam fish,broccoli,corn then mix all together.but i only gave her pasta after 1 yr.cos pedi say wait cos pasta is made of wheat..

we were v careful when come to feeding my ger (cos she's premmie). we din give her cereals till she's 6mths. no meat till she has teeth. no fish till 1yr old.no choc till 1 yr old.only after 1yr old then free to all adult food. but even now,still no-no to seafood (except fish) & nuts.try to avoid soya sauce or sweet stuff. i'm sure ur pedi will tell u all these?

do u breastfeed? drink slowly nev mind.got to hav patience. dun 4get the more difficult times we had when they were small bb. let him drink as much as he wans.maybe u give lesser each time,but more feeds. i rem feeding my ger more than 10times a day when she's on full milk.

stress,
ur ger younger than mine,drinks less yet heavier.i can't rem her height,abt 75cm i think.many pple commented her skinny but tall (my SIL say she got long legs).maybe it's genes,cos my hubby oso tall tall skinny skinny.

wow,u still breastfeeding? i stop @8mths..

disneymickey,

my bb stayed in kkh for 5 months plus...it was vy tiring for me then...

i heard abt the abc pasta but dun really noe how to make sure its cooked leh..since its so tiny....

im working...and now at the office..i took a vy long time away from work last year and now my maid and mum help me to take care...

i think i will take yr advice on no meat till got teeth etc...the paedi din tell me all this but i read up in books....

last time for my elder son, i also anyhow hantam one..gv him all kinds of food to eat..but now i more concerned as my second is a preemie....

i quite anyhow hantam one..i even let my preemie try coffee and indo cafe...anyway...if got kkh nurses reading tis, sure scold me one...ha ha...

i dun bf directly but i express but now the factory is running out of supplies..

i tink patience is the way to go for feeding but i dun hv much of it....

costa,
i use water to boil the pasta till soft,then put into the soup i cooked w other ingredients. dun worry abt the size.when cooked,it's 'juz nice' size 4 my ger.

ya,if ur kid is normal,can anyhow hantam,but preemie,better b careful i think.

wow, u still bf?? good man.. was so tired & wanted to give up, but bf gd 4 bb,esp preemie need it even more, so die die tong until 8mths. i salute u

Bor pian lah disneymickey. I every morning wake up at 5am to express. My expresso milk cafe closes at 12mn. So technically I have only 4 or 5hours sleep. But sometimes I take a bit of nap when she sleeps.

I think dd has me and hubbie's fat genes. hiaz. There goes our dream of her being a supermodel.

disneymickey,
thanks will do that for my boy when he has teeth..tio bo?since now he bo geh..so cant eat tis...

if i just express, i dun noe if that is considered as bfding or not..but can tell u sadly that my milk supply has dropped very drastically as i dun express during lunch nowadays and i only do it morning and nite..

but tink factory going to stop supply soon....

i oso dun noe if my bm got any good nutrition as i eat rubbish also.....

kkh really encourages bfding..at first i oso sian sian but they called the lact consultations to talk to us and teach us etc and since i alrdy invested in the breast pump..better do it..heh heh..

stressed,
u vy hardworking..i cannot imagine waking up at 5am..i wake up at 6 am to prepare my elder son for school.then express and then go to work and already i find myself vy tired..maybe age is catching up wif me..

ya,can still rem got to wake up early in the morning & at weird hrs to express. but think abt our darlings,then it's all worth it.
dun worry,your ger still young.u won't know how they will turn out when they grow older. as long as healthy can arldy. even my MIL always say my ger skinny, i oso dun care. healthy can liao. my FIL even call her chilli padi haha