Premature babies support group

mich (twinds mummy) hmm.. me considering to let my boy wear socks too (hope its not too late :p)

costa - yup...he is more ok this morning when i left for work. really worry me sick over the weekend... i really was like hand is leg, leg is hand like that...

jane,
i noe how you feel, my elder boi last time oso lidat,fever almost every month and forever sick, one, not onli due to fevers...

tink fevers are vy common in babies..but of cse must not let them go too high....for me, i bot the cooling pillow (wif water) type to let my boi sleep on....dunoe if it helps or not but i tink it draws the heat away....

hi costa.

i was really worried on over the weekend...kept on monitoring his temperature...my boy down with it due to the jab...

really hor, our kid sick, we also worried sick... first time i see him like so not well.. did not even smile at me (normally he will give me the naughty toothless smile)...

ya, think i should buy some of those 'reduce heat' things as standby at my home.

the cooling pillow is good ideal..

jane,
the pillow by right shld not be able to break but last time i bot one and after my elder boi used it for some time...guess wat happened..

we threw it at each other and i din realised it burst and ha ha my bed became wet and literally became a water bed....ha ha..so be careful, for my smaller boi, i bot the one from kkh..the one wif the "hole" in the middle....

having fever after jab is common. mine one oso hav it on the first jab. after tat, we learnt. we boil 'pao sen' for him before the jab, and immediately taken the jab, let him take paraccetomol even no fever. it helps to supress the fever. on his 2nd n 3rd jab, no more fever

fever till 38.5 degC in 24 hrs is still ok, give paracetomol, put cold towel, drink more water..., otherwise must alarm the PD for further treatment

costa...really it broke! gosh.....

oh ok ok. i shall go find one as standby too :)

oh .. how your bb feeding? better?

hi irenelovej,

yup. i heard of the pao sen method...too bad i did not do it. i shld have let him take the paraccetomal but i did not (cause the nurse say take only with fever).

my boy temperature over the weekend was highest at 37.7 degC lor

Me first time mama...really i was lost ler..

jane,
his feeding is erratic, smtimes can drink 70 ml by half an hr which is considered vy good liao...

Smtimes he gets too sleepy and cant drink that much and wanna sleep...

my elder boi last time fever can be up to 39 plus degree and had to take two kinds of fever medicine (when he kena tis Roseola virus thingy -which they call ka ma in cantonese (fake measles)......

some say shld let the bb take the fever medicine to stand by before fever but of cse, not good to depend on medicines too much oso....

maybe sponge him as wat irenelovej says or stick the anti fever cooling gel "sticker" on his head...

can understand how you feel lah...hv been thru tis last time and still going thru....

hi costa,

:) at least your boy is drinking. keep up the good work. send jane auntie hug to you boy.

think all bb will wanna fall asleep while drinking milk..try kajiao him and make him still awake... (i alway play with my boy ear or hand when he drink milk keke).

oh ok ok...ya, i thot of getting the cooling gel too (heard from my colleagues its very useful).

jane,
heh heh, my boi hugz you back...

i usually tickle his face or giap his face to wake him up but smtimes he really cannot be aroused from sleep. ha ha..

yah, get those cooling gel to stand by..oso, if you sponge him, dun sponge wif too cold water.......

hi costa,

me really got lots of things (in term of taking care of bb) to learn. luckily my mum is around to help me..

i salute all new mama :)

jane, me still learning...u lucky yr mum is experienced in taking care of babies...my mum can only manage bigger kids and not smaller ones..

nevertheless must be grateful to her for staying wif me on wkdays...

:) mother is the greatest on earth.

ya, i guess i am kind of lucky in that sense...

costa - u ever bring your boy out ? i mean like shopping or such?

jane,
i onli brot him to a restaurant which was not too crowded on new years day...after that, came home liao...

i dun mind bringing him to the beach but so far...i hvnt got the chance yet

guess open spaces with not many pple around shld be okay..but i guess we need to be more cautious as our warriors may be more suceptible to viruses...

hi costa.

wow..u planning to bring him to the beach...

i really wanna bring him to some places too, cos kind of boring to be always at my mama house and my home...

any other interesting but safe place that i can bring my warrior?

jane,
the reason being the beach is near my house, haha and walking distance nia...

tink walk walk around the neighbourhood wld be okay, bah but not at nite lah..incase catch cold..or maybe earlier in the morning not so many pple around...my two cents opinion...

hi costa... i see. envy ur boys get to feel the sea ...

oh .. good ideal. i shall find one day, when wind is not too strong and sun is not too hot..bring him down... let him feel the nature.

jane,
i say only but hvnt brot him there yet...i can walk there fm my house for about 20 minutes but the problem is walking down the underpass down....its a headache...i hv to carry him down the stairs and someone has to carry the stroller..so tink my maid wld hv to go...

just had the time to log on..

jolene,
im thinking of bringing my gal to a ENT specialist too..cos her nose like always got mucus..and very snorty esp at night,was wondering if the mucus will forever me there..tried using the pigeon sucker..but cant suck it out....any recommendation?im so scared she has caught a cold and not just sensitive nose...
yah i dont let her sleep in aircon room now...but she seems to hot with just the fan on...

im giving my girl Ridwind to take 3 times aday as instructed by her PD..seems like not working leh.sigh...

my girl seems to be grunting alot...like trying to poo sound..usually happens at nite..she will make the sound on and off for a few hours at nite...very worrying leh..dunno if its common for premmies to do that...i alwasy cant sleep cos i keep hearing her make the sound..but the thing is..she does poo during the day..so cant be constipation...

Hi Puppyduppy,

I've tried Dentinox for colic and gettting rid of the wind. It works for my dd. Can get at any pharmacy.

stressed,

is that better than ridwind? dunno if i should use dentinox instead of ridwind...do i need to get prescription from PD?

Err...My dd didn't like the taste of ridwind so we never really got to try if it works.

No. U do not need a prescrption but it cost more than the ridwind. U tried putting Ru Yi oil already?

puppyduppy,
welcome back...my boi has the snorting sound from the nose for a long time altho his cough has become less...other than that, he's ok..so i dunnoe wat to do abt it oso..

the rub is called snuffle babe...which i got from kkh...i also got karvol drops from the watsons pharmacy the other day..it comes in capsule form and supposed to cut it and drop it on a hankerchief near him...but they say its only for 3 months and above baby..but i supposed since its not to be taken orally...i also used it...

Puppyduppy,
PD gave me Dentinox leh... dunno y he gave u Ridwind. It worked for my boy. but dun give too much, or else he get used to the sweeteness of the medicine n will refuse to drink water later. tat happen to my boy n we get months for him to start drinking plain water
If u r very worry about the mucus, do wat Jane has done -- suck the mucus by ur mouth. i did tat too before, better than sucker definately.

Anyway, i dunno how serious is the block nose of ur dd. mine one juz mild one and happen once a while when he was young.

Dun think this happen to preemie only, coz the method was 'practised' by my in law n she didn't hav preemie...

hi gals, my factory running out of milk soon... My son is on 50ml while daughter is on 35ml, they need 8 feeds a day, so each feed, both will finish 1 glass of milk bottle. i guess Formula Milk will come into the picture soon. Any recommendation on FM?

My boy will be coming home this weekend!! He is over 2 kg so will be heading home.
He will be taking his BCG one day before discharge, any idea whether there will be any side effects? i heard babies will get fever after taking BCG, is it true?? Hopefully everything will settle soon, and i can bring my daughter home. She is now 1.7kg and we hope soon she will reach 2kg like her brother.

Harlo, chloe,
good morning....i just started my son on Similac Neosure which was recommended by the neo nats for "premature and low birth weight babies"

my bb just had one feeding of tis milk last nite..seems okay, he just pooed..hope tis info helps..of cse trial and error also helps in choosing milk powder...do share yr queries and thots here....

alternatively, try to pump more often and see the lact consultation to see if more can be done to increase milk supply...

Costa, I have a friend whose premmie were oso on Neosure. The older one slight refulx, younger one i think got into serious reflux with milk spilling out of nose. Does this happen to your baby and is this OK a not?

mel(babybliss)..my baby oso slight reflux, after doing a probe test, no medicines needed after discharge and he is on tube feeding but still he spits out..

i oso not sure but must make sure the baby is getting enuff nutrients and not dehydrated i guess and see whether baby poos/urines enough..
thats my personal opinion, dun noe correct or not?

Hi Mel,
Good to see u here...u really do so much care to your collegue...

Mel has a close collegue who gave birth a twins in 26-27 wks. She helped the mum in another thread n i happen to see it thus invite her/the collegue to join our thread. Hope whatever we share here can give some idea to the new mum too...

Irenelovej,
welcome mel and her close collaegue to join....we are happy to learn from her oso...

hi mel

My twins are in their 36th week this week. i gave birth to them in their 31st week.

costa, can share how to tell whether babies ok by looking at their urine and stools?

chloe, guess must monitor and see whether their urine is vy yellow and whether he's constipated....n whether pass motion enuff...

irenelove, i mix the ridwind into my gals milk..if not how to put into her mouth?dunno why he gave ridwind leh...maybe i should change....i asked PD if bb got a cold cos she keep snorting he say its normal..sigh...very pekcheck dunno wat to do..

i dont dare suck mucos from her nose leh...wait i suck too hard then pain how...

btw my bb refuse to sleep at night leh..driving me nuts man..she will fuss around kick and punch and make grunting sounds at night...yest night was like that from 3am-7am...anyone;s bb was like that before?will it help if i dont let her sleep so much during the day so at night she can sleep?she also merlion yest nite..from the nose as well..sigh...

stressed,
yah i put ru yi oil but she still cry leh...

smart, add medicine to milk. last time we so dumb to add medicine to water n let he drink fr bottle. next time give plain water he refuse to drink...

i hav no idea abt bb dun wan to sleep at nite. for my boy when he was young, i think he can't differentiate day n nite, so he drink sleep drink sleep only. now elder, always wan to play till almost the time to sleep, we;ll hug him tight and force him to sleep. of course he still turn n flip here n there n hav to wake up for milk..

irenelove,

i put in milk cos i scared my girl refuse to swallow if i drop into her mouth...n my girl refuse to drink water so cant put in water :>

when my girl move alot..i try to hold her hands down to stop her from moving..she will scream and cry...
btw do u let ur boy sleep face down? my girl seems to like sleeping this way..but i scared of putting her prone at night...

irenelovej,
before he can flip over did u let him sleep face down?my gal can move her head from left to right when sleeping..u think its safe to let her sleep face down?

yah she will jerk alot when she sleep face up and also move alot and grunt alot..haha

wow, lots of write up today.

welcome mel and colleagues. by the way, mel, i give birth to a boy (26 weekers)... so ask your colleagues not to worry...her twins be ok...

puppyduppy,
before he can flip over, we didn't turn him face down to sleep, coz not safe, can suffocate if u do not monitor closely. once they can flip over n their neck is stronger to lift up the head, then is safer coz if anything happen to block their breath, they can lift the head.

my 2 cents worth opinion

irenelovej,
wat u said is correct....because thats what the nurses told us oso as in hospitals, they hv the equipment to monitor if bb not breathing or smthg but at home, we cant....

puppy
for me,I will use a sypringe to feed my boi medicine when feeding him milk.Which means,I will feed the milk & hubby will push the medicine from the sypringe to his mouth.The reason why we did this is becoz juz in case bb din't finish his milk if we put the medicine in the milk.

As for letting the bb sleep facing downwards,I won't advise esp at night.There is 2 nights when my boi din't want to sleep.I feel so frustrated that I hit his backside.Aft which,my heart felt for him.Since then,I placed in a rocker to rock him to sleep.It helps.Now at least how to tame him.Another way is to let your gal suck pacifier.Better to buy the pacifier which the teats is the same as the milk bottle teats.

My boi also make alot of noise from his nose.But I gave him a nose drop prescribe by a PD.By the way,does your baby breathe very hard?My boi seems to breathe very hard.Aiyo really don't noe whether caught flu or wat.

my gal can lift her head now..but still better not put her on her tummy at night...better be safe...last nite i also beat her bum cos she wouldnt sleep...sigh...

yah my girl also breathe very hard..sometimes like out of breathe...dont think its cold right...her PD say its normal breatheing for premmies...

re giving medication
i put medication in my boy's milk when he was younger.
now i try to feed him directly with a syringe since most medication are sweet, he's quite receptive.

to make sure that he'll finish the medication, i always pour half the milk feed into another bottle.
so it'll be 2 bottles to give, ie, 1 with medication (to give 1st), 1 without.

jolene,
can stuff cotton wool into the teats and let our bb suck, thats what they did at kkh..

regarding medication in the milk/water, i was advised by the kkh nurses to dilute the medicine in a little milk and give direct incase he drinks only partially and you dun noe how much to re feed him.....

and if feeding by syringe, think maybe can squeeze the cheeks and just slide in the syringe in at the side of the mouth..?

of late, my girl has not been finishing her milk and falling asleep when drinking milk..think i will seperate some milk with the meds and make sure she finishes it...

my girl didnt sleep last nite again and was crying and fussing the whole nite..think her day and night is upside down...during the day she sleeps well...at night she wakes up...sigh..

puppyduppy,
my boi oso lidat...at 4 am after drinking milk, he merlion a little bit out,tink its phlegm and then he couldnt sleep

i carried him to my bed and let him sleep there and he twisted and turned and made noise..i pretended to sleep and yet he still turn here turn there.....onli after 1 or 2 hrs when i was gg to work then he slept.

tink perhaps good to draw the curtains, darken the room and let them differentiate between morning and nite if not they really ter baluk..then we oso jialut....got no rest...

Hello Mummies
Hows the mummies and our warriors doing?
Was busy for the past few days... lots of posts to catch up.

Mel
My twins were born at 25 weeks. They are doing fine.
Feel free to check with the mummies here if you have any questions.
Regarding Reflux - are the twins on medication? Are they home or still in hospital?

mums,
tell u all a very unscientific way to treat baby of having day n night upside down. my niece used to be like tat n my in law let her wearing her clothes upside down too when she's going to sleep at night, meaning inner side wear at outer side. hahah.... sounds unscientific rite? but... it works for the niece. i think no harm trying, coz not involve any think to rub or to take, juz the dressing is funny. can try? let me know it works for u.

again, it's very unscientific, dun critic me ok, i know it, but the elderly ppl said it works.

i oso want to laugh.hahaha...