Premature babies support group

costa,

i have been sleeping aircon room since young..so not use to fan...luckily im dead tired so can sleep anywhere now..haha

i bought the pigeon one..think same as yours..cant fit through her nostrils..haha..

crying spells good ah? thought bbs will develop colic if they cry alot...aiyo my girl voice so loud...can hear all the way from outside my house..

nope she doesnt need to use any of the medicine to help her breathe..will it help?

Costa
Which Neonatologist is your boy seeing at KKH?
Did he or she advise it could be reflux?

PuppyDuppy
Regarding Jabs - Which hopsital is your gal born?

My boys take their Jabs at Polyclininc after their discharged from KKH. The nurse will advise when is the next jab.

My younger boy made deep breathing sound too when he was sleeping. I put saline drop into his nostril once a while. The situation improved as he grows older.

Air con room - we set the temperature at 26 degrees celsius. Just to keep the room cool. They are in Long sleeve/Pants PJ.

mich(twins mummy),
My boi is under Doc Khoo, they did a probe test but din prescribe any medicine for reflux leh...see next appt wat she says?

must yr twins see doc often now that they are bigger already?

the saline drops that you got for yr boi is it Merck brand in a tiny bottle?

mich,
my gal was born in Mt E,u didnt bring ur boys to a PD to take their jab after discharge?

can just get the saline drop from pharmacy? cos i feel like dropping in her nose as she is snorting alot...and having the wheezing sound..

do u cover ur boys with a blanket when u wear long sleeve and pants for them? maybe my girl too hot thats why reject the aircon room.

puppyduppy,
the nose drops that my son is using is from this brand Merck, i saw it sellg at kkh pharmacy, costs $2 or slightly less...After factoring the paedi's fees, its not cheap to get it at paedi..

tink you better ask yr baby's neo nat before you self medicate...

i only cover his legs wif a cloth diaper as im scared he gets too warm as he sweats alot even when i din cover him much..

hi ladies, Happy New Year!

long time no login, so much to catch up...
good to see more graduates home for the holidays
and all the mummies coping well too.

Costa
I think we are talking about the same saline drop. Yes, it costs around $2.00.
The reviews are not as frequent as before. Seeing Dr Argawal at the Child Development Unit on 18 Jan for an IQ Test.
Does your boy has any major health related problems?
He is a 24 weeker right?

PuppyDuppy
We didnt take the jabs from the PD. KKH arranged the first jab with Polyclininc. Subsequently, all jabs were taken at the Polyclinic.
Saline Drop - Please do not self medicate.
I dun use blanket.
How premature is your baby? How many mths corrected age now?

hi , my son was like that before cannot tolerate sleeping in air con, sleep better in open well ventilated with fan seem to breath better, wonder is it because is it too dry but interesting lei when they are in icu it is air conditioned there too lei.
costa, when my son is with tube, he gain weight too but when off tube with bottling, he is very tired after sucking, have the same thought too that tubing is better , ask the pediatrian , he say since the baby can suck and breath well , we should be patient and let him suck eventually they are able to suck more . i was thinking and the nurse did suggest that since in the day caregiver are more patient than night , should bottle him and at night if the baby is not satisfied as not sucking much due to sleepiness and tiredness, than we can tube him at night so he can drink better.
hey did you all read the story in motherhood i think, this issue feature on premature baby doing well , that is very encouraging.

emily, good morning,can you email me again..i never received yr email leh..dun noe is it my server got problem.....

mich(twins mummy),
i wonder how they take IQ test for your babies...by the date of the IQ test, wat wld be yr twins' corrected age?

Yes, he is a 24 wker baby and he has CLD, reflux, ROP stage two and PDA (clinically closed but have to see heart surgeon next wk)...

hi mommies

i delivered my babies at week 31 + 3 days. They have stayed in NICU for almost a month, boy's weight is now 2kg and girl's weight is now 1.5kg. My boy is ready for discharge, but i am not sure whether i should wait until he is heavier... i heard that it is better to discharge when babies are 3kg... The nurses have started training me to bathe and feed the baby, but i must say i am really lousy at it... Any advice when is a good time to bring babies home?

Chloe,
welcome to the board.....hope to learn more from you and hope we can help you wif wat we can...

tink the most important is whether you are mentally and physically ready to take the babies home..of cse, tink to have the doc's go ahead is important

one one hand you hv to factor yr readiness and on another hand, the risk of exposure to germs in the hospital....

and oso, if you bring one baby back, the other one you have to see her in the hospital,can you manage it or not?do you hv good family/maid support at home?

hi chloe,

welcome :).

just to share with you my experience. it is true as what costa say, most important is if you yourself is ready.

as to bath and feeding baby, all this take practise and lots of patience...

Mich,

my baby was a 29+weeker, she is just a few days old if its corrected age...actual age she is 2 months....
went to see her PD today...he gave some anti colic meds...Rid wind..and saline nose spray...but she is still crying now after feeding...wanna pull my hair out liao....

Hi chloe,welcome...

my MIL is helping me bathe my girl as i dont have confidence in handling her...Jane is right..it takes alot of patience and practise...

Costa
My boys corrected age is coming to 20 mths. IQ test - i think motor skills, fine motor skills etc will be tested. i am not sure how are they going to fair. Shall let you know.

Chloe
If you have the go ahead from the Doctors, home is definitely better for the baby. I was hands-on at KKH for a few days before bringing my elder twin home.
Nobody expect a first time mummy to be able to do everything like an expert. Takes time.

hi mich,
wud like to know is the IQ test a standard checkup or specially arranged?
my boy is 14 mths corrected, been following his physiotherapy sessions & Clinic K checkup with Dr Anu.

hi costa,
how's yr boy doing so far? any results fr his follow-ups?

emily, thanks, will pm you later...

mich(twins mummy),yes, do share wif us your knowledge after your twins hv undergone the test ...

yvonne,
welcome back....the next appt to see the SLT and the heart surgeon is next wk

must scan the brain again and then wif the results see the neo nat

may i know what kind of follow up do KKH premies required? seems lots of follow up and check up requried from what i see fr mummies here. but for mine delivered in private, nothing at all. juz the schedulled vaccination and the PD will check the normal stuffs written in the health booklet.

hi irenelovej,

depending on premmie's individual conditions & track record in NICU/SCN, KK will schedule specific follow-ups upon discharge.

the basics are neonat, eye, hearing, physiotherapy & speech therapy. specific follow-ups will be brain scan (bleeding), heart (PDA), etc.

if yr bb is doing well with no complications, it shud be fine to be checked by PD alone.

yvonne,
he still merlions sometimes and sleeps halfway.....but not so breathless nowadays...as usual, a step forward, two steps backwards...

the rest of the milk still has to be tube fed as he wld be under nourished if we din do so..

irenelovej,
wat yvonne says is right..if your baby generally is okay, tink normal check ups wld do..maybe kkh is a hospital that more specialises in a bigger scale for children and women's care, so they need to be more careful and maybe they need the results to do further studies and statistics..

oso, i guess early intervention is needed since preemies may not develop accdg to the time lines (even if based on corrected age)..so guess they are more careful in tis area...but after a certain age, tink no need already altho they recommend to check till 8 years old

costa,
really heartache to see him like this... take heart that he will improve as he grows stronger.

my boy still merlions whenever he's sick, esp when there's phlegm.
the phlegm irriates him so much that he'll always cough till face red red, not giving up till he succeeds in inducing it out, along with milk & food. the situation is worse during feeds & meal times.

yvonne,
tink we in same boat....my son got alot of phlegm and he either cannot cough it out or coughs it out with his milk

how do you solve his cough and phlegm problem?
oso, my son breathes vy loud and i cant do anythg except put some rub on a piece of cloth near him...it has been one wk and his cough din inprove

wat medicine do you give him?

two weeks ago, i suspect my son has phelgm too..so i brought him to see doctor but no findings and doc declare him ok...

i think most bb have phlegm... i wonder how true it is...

costa & jane,
i believe most bb will have phlegm. they don't know how to get rid of the slightest mucus accumulation.
some have it perpetually like a friend of mine. her bb has lots of phlegm, even after western & chinese medication, neubilising, etc, still have.

i've tried rub, aroma oil, non-air con, raised pillow, etc. so far, my boy only managed to recover through neubilising.
The phlegm was greatly dislodged after a few sessions. but the cough will persist for abt 1 week longer.

yvonne,
neubilising sounds familiar?is it the thing to breathe in?

how wld you noe the phlegm is removed?
so you dun give oral medications for his cough?
is yr fren bb a full term or preemie?
tink full term bbs got alot of pblems oso but still as a parent of preemie, we are extra careful and worried

i notice my boy would have the 'block nose' sound when he wake up in the morning...does any of your bb have this symthom?

ya..like what costa say, as parent of preemie we need to be extra careful

costa,
sorry for not being clear... it's a machine (neubiliser) that cools the medication into mist form, then bb/kids breath from a mask, no smell, slightly cooling.
most kids will cry out of fear of the quite loud motor sound made by the neubiliser.

u'll know the phlegm is gone when he doesn't need to cough so hard & has no phlegm sound.
PD says cough medication will not add value with the neubiliser. with lesser phlegm, naturally bb will cough less.

do u realise cough mixture makes bb cough even more? i did give Rhinathol but he cough alot more, "shang qi bu jie xia qi", so scary that i stop giving after 1st day.
PD then explain that most cough mixture helps kids to cough more to dislodge the phlegm.

my fren's full term bb shud be turning 1 year old soon. his phlegm problem started ard 3-4 months old & still has it. he's seen 3 different PDs but no still no recovery.

jane,
does yr boy sleep in aircon room?
maybe try use Vick's rub like wat costa did.

my boy must sleep in aircon (maybe it's ME who needs the aircon more) so i usually burn eucalyptus oil to help ease the breathing.
another method is use humidifier.

hi yvonne,

nope my boy does not sleep in aircon room (not since he go home). oh ok ok...i shall try that

hey...any mummies tried "yu ren sheng" che feng shan?? i tried that once one my boy...i think i think it works.... but really expensive. one small bottle cost $59 :p

Thanks for ur advise.

costa, i think i will have lots to learn from the mommies here. i can still manage with feeding, but when comes to bathing, really surrender, panic like anything when my boy starts to cry and struggle... He clings on to my shirt and then on the bathtub desperately whenever i try bathing him... My girl is going to be very lonely once her brother comes home with us. i think i will be so occupied with my boy, i may not have time to visit her as frequently as wat i am doing now. My hubby will have to look after her at the ward when doing the daily milk delivery. Really dunno whether i can cope, but will try my best.

Talking about follow-ups, i was told that i will have to bring my son back for review one week after discharge.

Can i also check whether it is common nowadays to inject BCG at the buttocks rather than on the upper arm?

Yvonne
The IQ Test was part of the standard check up. My boys are discharged from Clinic K. Subsequent review by Dr Argarwal will be at Child Development Unit (CDU) located on the 5th floor, Women's Tower.
Shall keep you all posted.

Regarding Phlegm - I heard from some of my friends that certain FM will cause a lot of Phlegm.

For bbs who are one year old, mummies can try to introduce cod liver oil. My boys take one tablespoon each a day.

good morning, gals,
Yvonne,
did you get the neubiliser from kkh?is it the one that almost all preemies are discharged wif?the one where you pump in and then put over the bb's nose and then he has to breathe in 10 times and the flap has to move 10 times also because it moves when there is breathing....

some cough medicines are expectorant.....that means help us to expel it out and some are suppressant, helps us to suppress us down....

maybe thats why after taking cough medicine, smtimes we cough out more...

jane,
put the vicks rub thingy on a piece of cloth and put near him..thats wat the pharmacist told me although i thot it was ok to rub directly on his chest..(older bbs more than 3 mths then can rub directly, wor, accdg to pharmacist)...
how do you give yr boy the eu yan sang cha feng shan?is it liquid or powder?

chloe,
harlo, maybe you can chk wif the neo nat or nurse as to where they jab bcg because my son has a mark on his arm (upper part) but i cant remember which hand...

bathing takes more practice, can tell you although i got an elder kid, i also kalang kabuk when i bathe my baby......if you are still worried, maybe you can buy that type of safety bath tub either wif a board where you can put baby down or there is a "stand" wif a net which you can put over the bathtub to help you to bathe..

either of these two items are not really a must..but just to give you a piece of mind thats all.....

morning ladies.

mich,
i see. was told at my boy's last visit in Dec that if all goes well, Clinic K & physio will discharge him after next checkup in June (he'll be ard 20mth corrected then).
i had thought that meant there'll be no more followups except for annual eye checks.
Appreciate u keeping us posted.

did think of introducing cod liver oil but was afraid my boy don't like the taste & i'll be wasting a big bottle.
doesn't seem like smaller bottles are sold anywhere.

costa,
my boy was also discharged with the puff canister. that one is to help them to breathe easier the puff medication.

neubiliser is a different thing and treatment. mine was prescribed separately by PD, it's much bigger, portable motor machine. usually on rental for 3-day period (length of treatment).
think neubiliser is solely to dispense the liquid medication into mist form & breathe in by the kids.
try to check with the doc at your next visit. meantime, i'll try to get more info or pic to show u.

chloe,
which hospital is ur bb born? I think depends on hospital n PD abt BCG jab. Mine one oso on buttock.

i initially has totally no clue on how to bath bb. after few practices at home u'll get familiar w it.

yvonne,
thanks for the clarification..tink i will check wif the neo nat on the next visit...tis morning, cough and vomit out some milk..dun mind if can rent it if can relieve him of his coughing....

wonder why he lidat?i dun on air con and its not hot and just have a fan just blowing air and yet he sweated and the back of his tee shirt was all wet.....

costa,

my boy also perspires very easily... even in air con room! i'll be hiding under comforter & he doesn't even want to be covered at all!

not sure if it's true.. was told before that bb's body temp are naturally higher.

Jane,
my girl also has blocked nose in the morning..in fact when i let her sleep in aircon room...she snorts more and like have trouble breathing...dunno if she got something stuck in her nose or its a cold...i hear her trying to breathe i feel so poor thing..when she sleep with fan...it seems better...

irenelovej,
the nurses at our hospital was telling me that after discharge, our bbs wont have physio or speech therapy follow ups...just the usual jabs...only kkh would have such things...

costa,
regarding the vicks rub thingy..can get from guardian?there's one specially for babies?

want to try that to improve my girls block nose...

Yvonne
Young Babies are pretty receptive to all sorts of taste.
You should start young if you are keen to introduce Cod Liver Oil. Once the kids are older and their taste buds are more sensitive, they may reject it.

hi costa - about the yu ren sheng "cha feng shan" - it is suppose to get ride of phlegm (accordingly to my mum). my mum put the powder on her finger...push into my boy mouth... (please don't try if you are not comfortable).

just to share...

puppyduppy - nope my boy does not sleep in aircon room....

hey..i want to tell all mummies something that i done one night when my boy was like choke by his saliva/phelgm... I SUCK AT HIS NOSE (my mum ask me to)... and erh....seem all is ok as at now (just some morning he wake up as if got block nose)

thanks, mich.
will go buy the cod liver oil this weekend.

jane,
u're very brave. hv to admit it's very effective to suck directly from the nose. i'm not brave & am afraid to choke bb while trying.

instead, i use the apparatus from Pigeon.
the most effective one so far comes with an extended tube to suck, so no fear of direct intake of the mucus.

hi yvonne,

i am very careful when sucking at my boy nose. rally have to do it once correctly and cannot be scared scared like that... not that i brave... i see my boy so poor thing. after i suck once (gently) he like so relief...

but mummies (those who reading this thread). please don't any how try unless you got someone at home who know the way (my mum knows)

jane,
u're definitely right abt having only 1 chance to get it right & also experienced guidance to do it properly.

puppyduppy,
mine is not vicks brand although i tink they have one for babies.i go back home and check then let u noe....

jane,
wat do you use to suck the mucus out of the nose..

yvonne,
hv seen the apparatus you mentioned from pigeon but i cldnt buy that as my son nostrils to small for that one.i just bot the bulb like thingy to suck

Do your babies wear socks to sleep at night?
My colleague who has a 5yo son taught me that. I followed her instructions diligently for the first year. Bbs hardly fall sick (touch wood).
Remember to keep the chest warm too.

Puppy Duppy
Your 29 weeker is probably doing better than the smaller bbs. Hence, no follow up required. If you are concerned, you may check with your PD or polyclinic.

Happy New Year!

Was really busy wif my boi lately as he wan pp to carry him always.When I place him in his bed,he will cry esp at night.Thank God,my sis lend me her rocker & I will rock him to sleep.If not very siong.

puppy,
don't let your girl sleep in the aircon room.My boi hv the same problem.Brough him to see a ENT doc & was told that it's better for him not to sleep in air con room.I think it has got to do wif the mucus being stuck in the nose that make them diff to breathe.She prescribe some saline drops also to soften the mucus.As for the colic,my sis recommend me Infacol for colic.I gave my boi once & he was alright.But I think it depends on how much wind your girl hv.Cost ard $5 plus.

So far,my boi went for follow up check up such as heart,ENT and eye.Everything is good.So will only see the docs again in 6 months time.Really pray that he don't hv to see doc again.

hi costa... i used my mouth to suck at my boy nose...

saturday i brought my boy to take his first jab of the 5 in 1 vaccination...who know after going home he come down with fever...ah yo..... really worry me sick...

today he seem better... really panic me over the weekend...kept on measuring his temperature...scare the fever get too high...

hi Jolene - nice of you to come back and join the thread.

mich(twins mummy),
yr idea of wearing socks for our bb seems good, leh..i let my boy wear socks also last nite...

jane,
thanks for your reply...is yr boi okay liao...tink taking fever medicine shld be okay...