Premature babies support group

hi costa,

thanks, my boy's ok now. he just recovered fr the cough bug thingy at the start of the year.

i usually bring him to outside PD 1st. unless still no better, then back to KKH Children's Clinic.

yr boy's phlegm/vomiting is really quite worrying

since western medication can't help, maybe shud try to seek TCM treatment.
can checkout SM threads on who's a good one to go to...

i've learnt fr my boy's latest episode of cough phlegm that Inflammide puff could help.
i've thought it's a medication for bronchitis but seems fr PD, it helps with cough phlegm too.

Inflammide was a standby medication prescibed by neonat since his mild bronchitis episode last april.
i was never keen to use it on him until this time when PD suggested that it'll be more effective than oral medication.

it's probably a different issue altogether but no harm asking neonat abt it.

if bb ok, can take oso. mine one take either bao yin dan or jin feng san daily, in small amount. onli when he vomit then give more.

nowadays the boy's appetite is so poor. can barely finish 100ml... i'm so worry, dunno if ut's due to teething

yvonne,
good morning, if you bring yr boi to the kkh childrens clinic, which paedi to you go to or you go to the childrens clinic on the first floor which is private

will ask the neo nat about inflammide 2mr...

irenelovej,
will go buy the pearl powder and the baoyin dan...
tink maybe yr boi is teething thats why he dun wanna drink...

costa,

dunno wats the brand of the iron supplyment...cos it is at my mil's house now..cant check....her PD didnt tell me to stop taking the supplyment..so i just continue to give...

morning costa,

yes, it's the private children's clinic on 1st flr, entrance next to 7-11.

we were recommended by NICU's Dr Melissa to see Dr Yong Yin Peng, lady PD.
understands that she attends to all walk-in patient at the clinic too.

yvonne,
Thanks for your answer,that means you can onli go and see her during her clinic hours, correct?

we cant see our normal neo nat for small illnesses?wat happens if yr boi is sick and the paedi got no clinic, then how?

costa,

Dr Yong does mainly consultation, so easily available for usual doctor's office hours, not sure when's her day off.
the good thing abt going to private children's clinic is that yr boy's medical history file can be easily referred to.
no need to answer or repeat history.

ya, it's lay chey to see our neonats for other illnesse with only 1 fixed clinic day weekly.
that's why with small illnesses, i just go outside PD.

costa,

don't be so ke qi leh... we're all here to share relevant &/or not so relevant stuff

do keep us posted of yr boy's condition.

good morning to all,

been busy lately hence has not been chatting on the thread.

everytime after bringing my boy for his review at KKH, when i come back to work, there is always tons of things to do..then before i know, my boy is due for his next review and i have to take time off... but never mind all the rush, so long i see my boy is progressing i am happy.

i was telling costa that my boy is down with block nose (like cold) since last friday... today is still like having block nose, i rang up Dr Agawara of KKH (saw her just last monday for my boy monthly review)... and she going to prescribe nose steriods for my boy.....how i wish my boy recover soon

anyone any special cold recovery formula can share with me?? i really hope my boy can recover fast fast...

hope all kiddo doing well...

then hor, dr agarawa say...if my boy still not recovering...may have to bring him see lung specialist.....sob sob...i dun want him to see all that specialist thing (then more and more medication)... i just want him well...

hi jane,

welcome back!
time really flies with a kiddo ard. i remember the early months were reviews, tests, plenty of supplements & more reviews & tests!
but it will definitely get better as bb grows strong & healthy.

re block nose, u can try burning some eucalyptus oil. it worked for my boy.

i had the same concern abt medicating too easily & quickly for every little illness,
esp since kids fall sick easily & it seems like they're always on some sort of medication.

hi yvonne,

thank you :) really feel at home at this thread with all the discussion going on. at times i may not have time to join in the discussion, but i make it a point to come in and read through the various points of discussion....

my colleagues was telling me that kiddo will outgrow this stage of medication... i hope our kids grow out of it fast fast...

i hope my boy recover fast...

jane,
how did you manage to call Doc Agarwal?She does not have a direct telephone line, right?

Really different docs say different things....

I just came back from my son's medical appt..he did a brain scan and later went to see the neo nat...

I showed her the medicine that my son took for cough and she said for bbs so small, dun take so much medicine and told me to let him stop taking as his lungs seemed clear...
ha ha my boi likes to see her, cant stop smiling and babbling at her...

yvonne,
i feel the same about medication but ever was told by one neo nat that the preemies body may b too weak to fight the illness..so smtimes better to get a doc's opinion...

jane,
yr boi boi cough not tt jialut...right?

hi costa,

so yr boy boy's review all ok today...

agree totally that different docs say different things. i'm just as confuse abt when to & not to medicate.

my boy's neonat & PD seems to have a common stand to let bb "self heal" if possible, only intervene if it's causing too much discomfort for him.
they always say "as long as he's still active & happy, don't worry, give it(illness) time to recover."

so usually, i asked doc to prescribe medication for me to standby lor.
now, i don't bring him to doc immediately; rather i self-medicate 1st & see how he progress.

yvonne,
next appt wif neo nat is in two months time together wif a hearing test..she din ask for him to take brain ultrasound again...so hopefully okay...

i asked for medication to stand by, the neo nat said dun need....sigh..

hi costa,

i rang KKH Operator to ask them to 'page' for the doctor for me... no, she does not have a direct number for me to dial...

likewise when i show dr A the medication that was prescribe by the Private PD, she told me to stop the medication and only continue with the medication for the stomach wind...

hehe..think ur boy can recogise the neo nat...

costa - how's your boy review??

My boy cough...no i would say its not that jialat (touch wood :p) but i was told to montior very closely...cos Dr A say...sometime their condition changes very fast...

i came in..see all that threads about bb have phelgm...really hope my boy get over this soon...

jane,
yah, correct, i call them neo nat dun noe whether correct or not as they are the ones whom saw our kids..correct?

or maybe paedi is the right word?

she said cannot be too dpdt on the tube and yet scared he use bottle to drink..he wld be breathless..

ha ha dun noe if he can recognise her but when she carried him..he kept giggling and cooing....and opening the eyes so big..so farni

if coughing not so jialut then prays he gets better on his own and oso she heard his lungs and said it was clear,,.

was it mentioned on tis board to hv a humidifier wld be good for preemies ?anyone remembers?

hi costa...

oh haha..ok ok. then Dr Agarawa is my boy 'neo nat' / Paedi...

but now they are recommending you change your boy teats? so far,... they have not recommend i change my boy teat (so my boy is still on Pigeon Silicon S Size orh)

hahahah.a... think your boy recognise her...

i hope my boy be able to recover on his own too...

oh ... is it? humidifier helpful for phelgm??

hane,
my boi changed to the M size pigeon but still he rather sleep than drink...

i oso not sure about the humidifier..i saw smthg selling at best denki the other day..it has a vent and got air come out, one..dun noe whether is humidifier better or air purifier..

doc khoo said can bring him out but not to crowded places..so i guess east coast beach HERE I COME..hehheh....

costa, jane,

think neonat is correct lah.. they are neonatologists, rite??

humidifier is good for sleeping in aircon. the air will not be too dry, nose will not be blocked so easily.
but yr bbs are not sleeping in aircon room, rite?

costa,

bring kiddo to the beach & park is a good idea

1 of the earlier premmie parent i know brings their 24-weeker girl to parks
(MacRitchie, Botanic, etc) just once a week in the morning.
apparently, it's the clean, fresh, dewy(=humid) air that's very good for the lungs.

their girl had all the u-name-it premmie issues & stayed 6mths in KK.
now she's a active, happy & very healthy 16mths old.

hi costa & yvonne,

i was planning to bring my boy to my house nearby park...but it been raining lately hence been putting off the plan.

i wonder at which week did they bring their girl to the reservoir and etc..

actually i live very near Pandan reservoir keke..of course the air is not as fresh as the one at botanic garden...but hehe, its an option haha

yvonne,
other than my boi's feeding pblem, everythg else seems manageable......
maybe tis wkend can bring him downstairs for a walk first....

so many neighbours say never see him before and some say never even see me pregnant before..so tempted to show them my son's birth cert..ha haha...

jane,

they started bringing their girl as soon as she's settled back home, so within 1-2 months lor.
they were extremely worried about her lungs cos she was on CPAP for very, very long.
poor girl had many initial problems; had infection, PDA ligation, ROP laser op, hernia op, etc.

they stay in Sengkang & actually bother to travel to MacRitchie every weekend... must kudo their effort & commitment.

even a stroll downstairs is better than nothing.
it's more important to at least let bb get some outdoor air. if weather permits, a daily evening walk also can do.
of cos big parks & beaches will have fresher air.

hi hi yvonne,

wow kudos to the gal parents really....

if the walk at the park really help...i will go all out to bring my boy for the walk too. i read in books about its good to bring bbs out for fresh air too.

haha...my neighbour too very excited every weekend when i bring my bb home ;-) they also dun mind the distrub when my boy cry at night... cheers to such good understanding neighbours really.

yvonne,
yah man,thats a good one..ha ha..

my neighbour came to my hse and saw me cleaning up the breastpump actually asked me if i was pumping bm for my 6 year old son..i nearly pengz on to the floor and she said she never saw me pregnant etc etc...

jane,
u're fortunate to hv understanding neighbours.
yes, start bringing yr boy for walks. u'll see how interested he gets, trying to absorb everything in sight!
just remember to apply mozzie repellant or patches on him.

my boy loves his early evening walks. after his dnr, he'll go to the shoe rack, takes his shoes & heads for the door!

costa,
u sure hv a classic neighbour! so near yet so blur!! hahahaaa...

yvonne,

ya...really..some neighbours is really not that friendly towards midnite noise... ok ok, i shall make big attempts to bring him out... maybe i start with the parks / playground near my house...

your boy so cute....

wow...day coming to an end..me gotten rush back see my boy. shall give him the nose steriods given my dr agarwa to try...hope he recover after taking it...

good night mummies...shall continue tomorrow..

morning mummies.

didnt have time to log in for some time.

ask you all this..does ur babies stretch alot till their face goes red after feeding? cos my girl does that after every feeding...seems like she is pressing against her tummy, like holding her breathe, thus making her spit out milk. wonder why she does that...

my mil is trying to give my girl some chinese thingy for her phlegm today....her fren told her it works for their kids..dunno if it is ok to take or not...sigh

hi puppypuddy,

my boy alwasy stretch till face red red...but never split out milk...

hmm...is it jin feng shan from yu ren sheng that ur MIL is giving ur gal? my mum give that to my boy ... works quite well.

hi jane,

dont know the name of the herb, its like a beige colour powder...

dunno why my girl always like "gek" till she spit out milk...

hi puppyduppy...

beige colour? not brownish? the jin feng shan is brownish...oh oh...ur mil could be feeding her the pearl powder...(i am not sure what colour is that). if u are unsure..think u can harmlessly ask your mil what is that she is feeding your gal (so that you can learn too...)

think she over exert herself. i ever ask KKH PD. she told me if spit milk is when 'geking' then its ok... so i think (i think) that is ok....

oh puppyduppy,

just to share. sometime when my boy want to poo poo..he also gek till he split out milk :p...cos he kanjong cannot wait :p (cos my boy is potty trained..so he will gek till he get to be 'sitted' at the potty then he happy he will poo poo)....

puppyduppy,
not to worry. my boy used to be like tat too. half way or after finish his milk, he'll 'em....' stress his face turn red, like wan to 'poo poo' like tat. at the end vomit milk if he can't tahan the reverse flow. wat we did is, if he vomit the milk, then give a bit 'bao yin dan'. if not, juz leave with it. no choice, u ask him not to do so he oso dun understand

after a period they no longer do this action.
i oso think the beige powder is pearl powder. you can ask ur in law if doubt. dun think she'll do anything harm to the grandaugther, so dun worry so much.

hey jane,
sorry its like very light brown colour...almost like beige...think its the same thing.i asked my mil yest but i forgot the name :p

yah my girl always over exert herself...but its always after feeding she will be like that..she also gek alot and make alot of noise when she wanna poo...but was thinking will she ever grow out of it..cos cannot everytime carry her after feeding so that she wont spit milk...then we will be forever carrying her...sigh

ur boy so cute...:>

my girl also make alot of snorting sounds..like got something stuck in her nose...but when i see..her nostrils are clear...wonder if full term babies are like that...

hi puppyduppy,

hehe..so irenelovej boy also gek....so your girl shld be ok...

by the way...my colleagues girl who is a full term baby also merlion and spilt out milk...so erh..the answer is majority bb will pah...

ours maybe premmiers but do treat them like normal bb..they are really just cute bbs...

my boy has the snorting sounds too...but my mother give him the pa bao shan...since then he is better...

i always heard that pearl powder is good and its not cheap ler...ya, like irenelovej, i also think your mil will only give the best to your gal..so dun worry :)

old pple they have their 'secret receipe' for treating certain things...have faith in them..

irenelovej,

thank goodness ur boy also did that last time..my mil keep asking me why she like "erm" and gek till her face all red then spit out the milk at EVERY feed...wah i also dunno how to ans her....really hope she outgrow it...i keep telling her stop doing it..she of course dun understand..haha....the only way to stop is to carry her till she fall asleep..very tiring loh..

yah im sure my mil wont anyhow feed my girl harmful things...just being a kiasi mother..haha

jane,
yah pearl powder super ex....my mil gave me to take when i was preggy....suppose to have good skin for me and baby....think it worked..hehe

hi puppyduppy,

the ba pao shen from yu ren sheng also very ex..but i let my boy take cos got good effect...

wow..ur mil really pamper you. think she lagi more sayang her grand daughter...

envy u ler

jane,
yah my mil is very good to me...treat me like her own daughter..will boil herbal soup for me to drink when i was preggy and during confinement also...

yah she very sayang my girl...:>

yah guess we are willing to spend alot for our babies..as long as it benefits them :>

harlo,
puppyduppy,
vy lucky to have good inlaws, m sure you are a good dil...

jane,
so i shld buy the ba pao shen from eu yang sang and pearl powder to stand by...been so busy...really got no time...

hows yr boy after seeing the doc near your mum house?must go back for review?

hi puppyduppy.

ya...like what costa say..u really very lucky. good heart for good returns, am sure u are a good dil too..

costa - erh.... not sure how comfortable you are to let your boy take the pearl powder and ba pao shen ler... its really quite old practise...both is 'known' to remove phelgm in bbs.... (hear say hear say one). no actual scientific prove...

my boy ah...actually he still got phelgm (then last nite he merlion...i had wanna bring him see doc today...but my mum say NO, NO...then she say she gg to give him ba bao shen...this morning after taking it...my boy poo poo..then like so much better ler..). i shall monitor and see how he is tonight...

jane,
like wat the doctor said if our boi is still active, dun need to take medicine for phlegm..despite me asking a few times for medicine...

he dun sleep in aircon room right.....?

puppyduppy,
first, apologies for being direct. i dun like u used the word of "Thank godness ur boy also hav it last time" in the thread u posted yesterday. it sounds to me u feel happy on my boy had the gek n spit out milk. i'm sure u as a mother don't wish to see tat on ur own daugther. we are trying to relief ur worry by sharing our past experience n not for u to 'feel glad' that someone oso hav the same problem and yet u 'thank godness' for that.

hi costa.

no ler..my boy does not sleep in air con room (the one time i let him sleep in air con room is when he was having a fever after taking the 5-1 jab)....

i dunno when this phelgm thing will go away really....jane sing : phelgm phelgm go away far far away'...... sigh!

irenelovej - i am sure puppyduppy dun meant that...