Premature babies support group

irenelovej,
its true, i heard of tis before....smtimes dun say old wives tales dun work cos many times, they JUST DO !!!!!

irenelovej,

u mean wear her clothes inside out when she's going to sleep or when its night time?

costa,

my girl keep making grunting sounds at night and squirm here and there after she merlion...then whole night like that...during the day she sleep so well...come night she;s wide awake and always want us to carry...in the end hubby say maybe when she in the car she will fall asleep.so we went for a drive at 2am...true enough she sleep..but cannot everyday drive her around till she sleeps...very drama ..haha

irenelovej,

sorry i didnt read ur post properly, ignore my question in my last post..:>

will try it out 2nite and let you know 2moro :> hopefully she will sleep during the nite...

harlo, good morning, mummies..
brot my boi to see the speech and learning theraphists..was advised to let him bottle for 1/2 hr using bigger pigeon teats...the rest still must tube feed...

then da da came the drama part....went for the heart appointment..the doctor instructed a lady (i presume is doc) to hear his heart..then she said okay and the male doctor said..if everythg okay, can discharge him but must still take an ultrasound...

THEN, an ultrasound was taken and it took a vy long time...i was gettin nervous and frightened and kept asking the ladies dg the scan whether it was anythg serious and life threatening..they kept saying no...

THEN, they called the male doctor in(it was in an adjoining room) and the doctor scanned again and then said that there was an extra blood vessel to which he couldnt find the source as to where it came from or where it goes to...so he called another "tua loh koon" (more senior looking doctor) to come in...he took some more time to scan and then said that it was common for preemies who were on ventilator for such a long time to develop tis extra blood vessel and many pple cld hv it without noeing it...

He and the other doctor came to same conclusion : Leave it as it is without doing anythg and next appt in four mths time...worse come to worse, must operate...hope not, i cross my fingers and toes....

i asked him if we shld take any special precaution or anythg..he said just treat him as normal..being paranoid as i am, i was worrying whether tis is affecting his drinking time or not....

sorry for lengthy post...just want to get it off my chest...

Hi Costa,

My dd also had an extra kidney. But the doc says it's not because she's a premmie. She just has an extra kidney for no reason.

BTW, all her kidneys had reflux problem. :/ We've been in and out of NUH for the longest time.

morning costa,

wow... sure took the docs some time to figure out yr boy's heart!
can understand how worrying it was for u

is it possible to get a clearer picture fr the neonat?

hi stressed,

how's yr dd now?

how do kidneys have reflux? (if u've posted earlier, i must hv missed it... sorry to ask again)

yvonne,
neo nat appt next wk...must see wat she says...
hope to get clearer picture or second opinion if i can...
but tink kkh is the best liao..wat will be will be..

Hi Yvonne,

My notti girl is now 7.5mos. At 4 months she had UTI. After investigation and many horrible tests, we realised she had an extra right kidney. The valves connected at the kidney to the bladder is weak. Hence her urine tracts back to the kidney and infects it. If left untreated, she'll get repeated fevers and worse case scenario, she needs a kidney transplant.

Lucky we detected early. I've read cases of late intervention, and poor baby lost one kidney.

costa,
yes, kkh by far has the best know-how.
as long as yr boy is happy & active, u shud not worry too much now.

anyway, u know how terminal-sounding the medical terms are... it's probably the same tis time round.

stressed,
can dd's condition be treated/controlled with oral medication? will it she outgrow it?
or just treat symptomatically as & when? like panadol for fever, etc.

yvonne,
u r right, man....thats why yterday i din even bother to ask the loh koon wat the term was...altho i heard some term which sounded like "fissular" or smthg...

the pda is closed..so that rules out the pda...so guess its only tis blood vessel thgy which is worrying....

he's active and happy but still need tube..sighz...

stressed,
u bringing yr dd for another test, correct?

hi yvonne,

No lor. Even after her minor op, she still needs to go on medication until they certify her clear of any possibility of UTI. Regardless how old she is...

Treating symtomatically won't help coz it'll still come back again. But treat at the root level. That's why they say fevers are only symtoms and not an illness.

Costa,
We are bringing her to an ultra sound test soon to see if the op worked or not.

I so sim tia to see her suffer again and again.

morning all,

costa,
just read your post, im sure all will turn out well and the blood vessal thingy will go away without having to op...did the doc say it was serious to have the extra blood vessal ?( sorry for asking again if you have already explained it earlier)

my girl is now at my inlaws house...cos im having a sore throat and slight flu and dont wanna pass the germs to her...thought i would be happy to be able to get a good nights rest...but actually i miss her very much :<

puppyduppy,
good morning...the docs say common for preemies who hv been on ventilator for so long to have it...tink my boy has been on ventilator for much longer than any of the other preemies of our mummies here.....

the two docs cldnt find the source of the vessel or where it was leading to..it can disappear by itself or sm pple can have it without noeing it..he told me to treat my boi as normal....if affect other thgs then may need to go for simple surgery (tis is wat they said but surgery sounds scary mah
to us parents of such preemies)

hp you recover fast..take lots of vit c..many pple down wif flu bug tis few wks...

costa,
thanks for your well wishes :>

yeah any form or surgery even if they docs say its "simple" is very worrying for us...did the doc say what the extra blood vessal might affect, so that u can look out for the symtoms and signs?
look on the bright side that your boy strong and is doing well now :>

puppyduppy,
the docs din say but when i asked is it affecting his drinking time...(as he's still on tube feeding)..the doc said dun affect and treat him as normal

i asked the same thg as you, wat r the signs and symptoms, they din say much but i guess must be the shortness of breath or blue in the face like wat we always mention here...

thanks for your optimism..hope that it rubs off on me..heh heh....when you gg to bring yr gal back?any more check ups to go for?

costa &amp; stressed,
look at the bright side. ur baby will get all our wishes

i'm not get it, costa. u said ur boy has extra vessel due to ventilator? how does tat causing to? and it doens't has any symptom? sorry for being asking question...

stressed, besides fever is your dd has any other symptom? so it gets detected by the fever n fr there started to test it out? do u hav to giv things like panadol to ur dd during her fever? i oso sim tia to hear tat....

take care of urself... be strong....

irenelovej,
me oso dun noe why an extra long use of ventilator causes tis extra blood vessel?i din ask in detail oso....

think it doesnt have any symptoms as tis was onli discovered two days ago and not during the five months he stayed in hospital..

it cld not be detected thru stethoscope nor cld they hear any heart murmur and now kena tis..i oso blur, man....

tink ventilator helps our preemies to grow but yet there are side effects like damages to other organs etc which we may not be aware of..i ever heard the nurses say that being on ventilators is like a vicious cycle..they need it and yet over long time, can cause other things...

costa,
maybe will bring my gal back on mon...cos i want to fully recover 1st..the only checkups for my gal is the eye one...just went for the 3rd one last week...everything was fine...follow up in 6 weeks time....going to bring her for her jab next friday...

that day my MIL slept in aircon room with my gal...was telling my MIL that better to sleep with fan cos my girl like cant breathe in aircon room...my sis in law was saying that snorting and nose block in babies in aircon room is normal...so am so worried that in my MIL house she will sleep in aircon everyday then will have difficulty breathing..sigh

Puppyduppy,

Your SIL doesn't have a preemie to worry about. That's what I told people who tried to give me advices. It's not right for anyone to say if your dd sleeps in aircon or not. U are the mother. U have the say.

puppyduppy,
glad yr bb okay..better to fully recover before bringing her back if not it wld be a tough and vicious cycle of passing the bug around...

put some vicks drop on her bedding or tell yr hb to tell yr mil.....no good to sleep so much aircon...

irenelovej,

My dd had fever one day and it didn't subside that night even though I fed paracetomol.

actually the few days before, prior to her fever, she was sleeping alot during the day. But she had no fever.

So that night at 11pm, we went to KKH and they tested her urine. They found abnormal high white blood cells. She was admitted that night. It was sooo unexpected that I cried in front of the doc. Then I cried again when they poke the plug into my dd.

Aiyooo...I really cried alot during that period. :/

stressed,
ur dd is ok now?

costa,
i asked the pharmicist(dunno how to spell) about the vicks thingy..she say for bb < 3 months not very good to put it, even on a towel and place it next to her.cos the scent may be too strong...

puppyduppy,
how about snuffle babe?tis is the one recommended by the pharmacist...

stressed,
i will pray hard for your dd...dun worry.i noe its easier said than done...try to hv some positive thinking...yr dd will feel it too....

costa,
even snuffle baby the pharmacist say quite strong..she suggest bringing my gal to PD instead...
my mil say its normal sounds...hmm..

puppyduppy,
i guess its normal sounds but still worrying i guess..
how about nose drops?this was prescribed to me by my elder son paedi for my younger son..

costa,
my gal's PD prescribe the seawater nasal spray..but it doesnt seem to work as she still snorts like got something in her nose...
the nose drops that u got works for ur son?

puppyduppy,
the seawater nasal spray is it quite big bottle one?wat brand?

the nose drops onli help if nose is wet and it helps to dry..but the thing is i still put for her...bec i kiasu but since he doesnt sleep next to me, i dun noe if completely he doesnt snort or not but i think he still snorts....

Stressed,
Sorry for replying so late. You were asking me why starting late on the solid will have side effects.

I checked with my ds speech theraphist and was told that not advisable to leave it too late. Cos there's window of opportunity and it gets harder for a child to accept when older. Studies have been shown to affect oral motor and speech too.

I was told by nurses in SCN that private hos have the jab on the bottom. KKH will jab on the left arm for BCG.

My ds also perspire when in air-con room of 26deg c. Currently still have to put a timer fan in my air-con room. If no fan, you will see droplets on his head. No long pants or blankets. Only wearing his romper..... Tried to put socks and was taken off....

He's used to turn from sleeping on his back to being prone on tummy. But he's always clever enough to turn his head to 1side even when he's very young like 1-2mths old after birth. But of course, must monitor him every now and then.

FYI, any muumies whom want to buy those cooling mattress in bigger size and could not find them in hos pharmacy. I had bought 1 almost adult size cooling mattress from TOYOGO warehouse in Toa Payoh Industrial Park and cost only $10+. Cheaper than what the hos pharmacy selling. No leaks after bought for 2-3mths.

For Neosure milk powder is normally added to breastmilk. So I'm not sure whether full dosage will cause reflux a not.

Extracted from a mummy whom share in Mel's thread on how to increase EBM:
========================================
hi hope i'm not intruding... but just like to share a personal method that works for me to produce more supply of BM. i b'fed my son till he was 34mths then he self-wean :)
1) 3 full tsb of fenugreek seeds boiled with 1 litre of water.
yes, i drank 1 litre of this fenugreek water in additional of 1 cup coffee/tea or fruit juices, green tea....
frankly i dislike plain water, so i tend to drink other drinks as mentioned. i love fruit juices and had that all sorts everyday.

2) how long do u need to boil it?
3 tbsp full of seeds to 1 litre water, boiled within 10mins and store in my flask. the seeds will expand in the water so that's fine. at times, i just carry on and add hot boiled water and just let the seeds soak in it. the flasks i bring along to work &amp; home every day.

3) how long did u drink it b4 ur supply increased?
hmmm.... with in a week, but must drink everyday inclu weekends.

4) must it be drank hot?
no.... i drank it warm and cool

5) did u take any other stuff to boost supply at the same time?
i ate ALOT of fish.... every dinner must have... usually steam, but i love fish all sorts....
i tried fenugreek caps. from GNC but doesn't work as well as the drink. the drink is very much effective.

6) what was ur supply like b4 drinking this?
ds was on total bf and on demand since birth... i wasn't working till he was about 11mths old (b4 his 1st year) so that helped alot !! as i was able to stock up alot of b'milk. i did had a good supply of milk to start with. but due to going back to the workforce, supply dropped... even though ds was eating solids but he still wants b'milk. so a mummy intro me to the seeds and it worked real well.
most of the express milk, i don't give ds, it's my maid and dh will feed him only when i'm busy or not around. every chance i have i will direct b'feed ds. especially the moment i get home from work 6+pm, have a quick shower and b'fed ds. he will drain and empty both breast and very quickly by 10+pm my supply will be filled for his bed-time feed. also before i leave for work, i will b'feed him too for him to empty both breast. at work, by 10+am i am able to pump out a good 8-12 oz and again by 4+pm.
by the way, fenugreek is a natural food source so can start on it at any time for the increase of the milk production. you can buy pkts from spice-shops, wet markets, etc... i don't see it in supermkts though.
hope these info helps.
hang in there and don't worry so much.
stress is the no1. reason for supply drop. good luck.
=============================================

Information is in the link below:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fenugreek

Hope this will help mummies whom want to increase their EBM supply.

costa,
yah the seawater is quite a big bottle " Tonimer" baby spray.

my mil say the snorting is the phelgm(duno how to spell) not cold..wonder how to get rid of it leh..bringing my gal to the PD tihs friday for jab so will ask him about it...
anyone has any suggestions on getting rid of phelgm?

pris(jadonmum),
Thks for your advice on ebm..i cannot latch on directly as my boi's sucking is weak..wondering if tis is the reason causing low supply..

i bot the fenugreek seeds but so far too lazy to make

puppyduppy,
will check out the baby spray...

my boi next neo nat appt is on coming wed...cant wait to ask the doc why my boi is still coughing and hving phlegm despite so many wks of consuming medications

costa,
wat pump r u using? a good pump can help to stimulate milk supply too. i use Medela PIS advance. so far so good. milk supply can maintain, even though my boy didn't latch ever since he's 2 mths (now coming to 9 months). so in this 7 mths, i've been fully pumping. maybe u can change to a good pump see if it helps.

get ur maid to help u boil the fenugreek lah

irenelovej,
i using pis also......
wif the backpack right?

does yr boi take fully bm or mixed wif fm?

tink i will make the fenugreek in office..no need to boil oso can right, can just "chong1" or "pao4" in a cup, can right?

Hi Irenelovej,

U also a pumping mummy ah? Me too. Hiaz. So sad my dd refuse to latch on. I also been pumping for 7.5mos liao. I used to use Medela Dual electric until a GF pass me her PIS.

Whoa!! It's soo good. I said bye bye to sore nipples. Lately I tried to use the Dual Electric once on Sunday (I was else where). Aiyooo the output is tooo miserable....

hey all,

good tat all of u still pumping milk for ur bbs...for me my ms stopped when my gal came home..must be the stress and lack of sleep...really guilty not being able to give her BM

jia you to all in your pumping

costa,
i heard abt fenugreek but never take it, so cannot comment on how to make it

i start my boy on 1 feed of FM per day at his 7 mths to let him adapt to the formula taste. or else, tis golden mouth boy when he grow elder he even fussier...refuse FM then i jia lat liao
he's now on Friso Gold 2.

stressed,
ya, pumping mum me
the boy is so fussy, no choice...

puppyduppy,
u stop BF? so which formula to give now? think the stress is main contributor to dip supply. i experience tat before when i alone take care my boy...anyway, dun feel guilty, u hav done ur best

yes, it's much tougher for us premmie mummies when it come BM supply.
Without direct latching fr bbs, add on stress &amp; worry, lack of rest...
it's oredi amazing that we still managed to pump watever we've got.

don't be discouraged if supply is running low,
yr little ones know that mummy has done her best

irenelovej,

im giving her Nan1 to drink...yah was so stressed when she 1st came back...

does your bbs have phlegm? heard that we can give pearl powder to take, but my gal is taking multivits and iron supplyments, dunno if its safe to take pearl powder too.

harlo, mummies,
hi, yvonne..hows yr boi boi?ask you smthg..where do you brg yr boi when he has coughs and normal childhood sickness?i dun noe to bring back to outside paedi or go back to kkh...

my boi still has phlegm and cough leh..already two wks liao and still hvnt okay....i worried as he cough out, got phlegm and smtimes wake up in the morning will either cough up or hv phlegm after he throws up..

dunoe wat to do leh...any ideas?

puppyduppy,
din noe pearl powder good for babies..tink maybe when i go medicinal shop, i will ask the pple there...

i heard abt pearl powder but dunno how effective it is. for me, my in law gives Eu Yan Sang 'Bao Yin dan' (Bo Ying Compounds) for the boy if he vomit, got 'stomach wind', sounds hav phlegm....

not even when my boy first back home i was so stress, even till now i still feel childcaring is more stressful than work . hahah.. such a bad mother.

costa,

my fren gave her boy pearl powder for phlegm and it seems to work for her...so i was also thinking of giving pearl powder..maybe u can try for ur boy?

irenelovej,
does the bao yin dan work for ur boy?

my gal also vomit out phlegm sometimes...

Puppyduppy and irenelovej,
I will take note of the pearl powder and the Bo Ying Compounds..smtimes no choice...alternatives to western medicines we hv to consider oso...

how to give the pearl powder and wat proportion?

costa,
mix it with some warm water and feed direct to your boy...thats what my fren does...not too sure about the proportion though...think u can let the medicine hall people know u giving to ur bb..they will know wat to do..

does ur boy have to take multi vits and iron supplements?

puppyduppy,
thanks for advice on pearl powder, will go get some to stand by...

my boi is only taking the poly vysol and nutricomp protein which he was prescribed wif from the hospital...

wat does yr gal take?

bao yin dan works for my boy.
for such young age of your baby (<6mths), just pour it to amount to fill half the cap of the bao yin dan tube, transfer tat to a teaspoon with some water n feed to the baby. once a day, or whenever she/he puke milk or vomit