Premature babies support group

Maykel,

I agree with Grace, I changed the membrane of my pump and the suction became stronger as the old ones used few months already, able to get more milk after changing.

day-C,

Your gal and boy so pretty and handsome...very nice features, u must be a pretty mum...

David,

I wasn't used to the SCN staffs in the beginning too, esp. the SCN PINK staffs at that period...I ranted here alot about this issue at that time...
but as after one week Jerlynn was transferred to SCN Blue and I was much much happier there esp. at the growing prem room...

Jerlynn has been coughing alittle these few days, wonder if I need to bring her back to KKH as I was told to do so when going for the "bringing home baby" course when she was still in hospital. The nurse and Neonat who gave us the lessons reminded us that coughing is no small matter and to bring them back to KKH should it happens...My hb was thinking just bring to the PD near our place...Hmmmm...What should I do?

Hi Day-C,

Congrats. Your children are so charming.

Hi Sam,

Well done. You are a strong mummy. Continue to believe, think positive, fight strong, fight hard.

Hi Maykel,

Have you try to increase your fluid consumption?

Hi Gingal,

Danya is in the blue team. Yesterday, she finally promote to open pan. Hee Hee. Her fracture thigh seems to have recover fully but looks kind of not straight. It really break my heart. Danya must have suffer alot of pain. Wish that I am the one that should bear the pain of what she has gone through.

HiHi Sam, be strong. Hope Josiah will overcome all obstacles and grows well. keep us updated.

David, Danya is a brave gal. She has progresses well, and may she continues to do so. congrats! she is in scn now! that means home soon!

Day-C, wow, finally sees photos of your children. Your boy sooo cute leh! He is so alert.

gingal, I think you can just bring your gal to see padetrician? Sometimes, I feel padetricians (those good ones) are even better than kkh doctors. Do bring her to see early. Violet garna cough from her brother too. The padetrician gave her some medicine, now better I think.

Kai, I have the same case as u. I was seeing mount E gynae, then at 29 weeks, threatened preterm labor, so I went kkh and was admitted. when I was discharged, I kept my record at kkh, and on the same time, still went back mount E gynae. You can try seeing both? I was admitted in class C ward, so was under subsidised rate in kkh.

Grace, another 24 weekers warrior! your gal had done well! great job!

Bliss, going to give birth soon??hee. maykel, bliss is a friend of mine, think she just pops by to say hello. hee. the fatvp u mentioned, haha so funny! she is the flower, not the lau lau leh...hee. but both are of good sizes though. haha.

bloom and afcai, i agree! bpa free avent bottle leaks!!! i was pondering why!

afcai, violet is taking rotavirus and Pneumococcal jab.

gingal, ur gal soo cute! really looks stressss. haha. btw, so envy, u lose weight? me still trying very hard to leh. har, saw ur nick at the cheers and tears studio bulk. hee. I am also bringing violet for 1/2 year old shot. haha. last time, i brought my elder, so thinking I should bring her as well.

btw, when violet started to have the pattern of shaking her head away from milk, she is about 2 months too. just saw that jerlynn is corrected 2 months liao. soo...hmm...

Jas, cheer up, not your fault lar. tell u, so many nurses around, how u noe it is not one of the nurse? hope Xavier gets well soon!

YAN, yilin sooo pretty! black and white photo somemore. hee. nice photo!

Bloom, dash hasn't start the new cc. he is still with the old one until end of june cause needs to give one month notice, else will have to forgo deposit.

sooo busy with work n family nowadays...still trying to adjust back to working life. but actually I prefer working (for the time being lor). hee.

seeing u all post photos, let me posts violet's photo as well! Saw u all talking about "drumsticks". yah yah, violet loves that too!

2471237.jpg

david..heavy industry..wow.. how heavy (u might have biz dealings with my company :p)?... 24 beds does not seem enuf leh..with so many premmies nowadays...

Yan...ahaha..ask ur hb to reopen loh..my colleague said her new non BPA free bottles also leak sometimes.. *shake head* the sarong is such a god-send for our little ones right?

afcai..if u duno if ur bottles are BPA free then it should not be... avent BPA free bottles are honey golden in color... there have been alot of complains about the bottles since philips took over... men got bad memory so that they can complement their wives whose memories went bad after child birth :p

Sam, be strong!!!!!!

daec, nada is soooo beautiful!!!! umar is good too!
so u have settle down in ur new home?

kkf, is ur bpa-free bottles from SG/US? if from SG can call in, complain and exchange? haha..ok. does dash's new cc have their own playgrd or they use the public playgrd??? Whenever I see violet's pics, she always reminds me of you...

sam,

it is common tat the feeding go on and off.. cos their gut still need time to adjust. last time yilin also on and off for so many time.. their was even twice she was out from drip already but because of cannot digest properly, they put her back on drip again.. heartache.. that doc and nurse so rough.. yilin cried like dunno wat,, but they ignore her crying.. still do slowly and chit chat happily.. sigh... after they finished with it, she looked so exhausted, tat makes my heart ache more..

but now, she is a lively little baby girl.. 6mths old corrected.. like people to play with her .. dun like to be left alone in the stroller.. very chubby, bubbly and cheerful
now she can drinkl up to 165ml of milk, not every meal la, but an average of 140ml.. we feel very contented already..

tmr she will be going for the sleeping test for the ear... no matter wats the result, i m prepared already.. she is forever my happy lovely girl..

david,

ya, think not enough stuff.. sometime 1 nurse to 6 babies or more.. there was once they din realise tat the monitor is alarming.. there were so many trainee docs there at a time, so noisy like a market.. luckily the baby's mother was there when her baby desat.. the face even changed colour liao leh.. scary..

oh 1 thing i would like to remind all parent whoes baby still in hospital. make sure the monitor alarm volumn is ON.
when yilin in the MRSA room, the alarm of the monitor was OFF dunno since when!! she desat and the nurse din realise cos the alarm volumn was OFF. so whenever u all go there, just check the monitor. when the number blinking, the alarm should sound.

kkf,
wah violet also enjoy munching her little fingers ah.. haa..

kkf,
oic, i tot is the fatso lau, so it was the auntie song? Heehee...
So you must be in full alert working mode by now liao.

Maykel,
I am here actually becoz I was told about Sam's boys... I was worried and visited here to encourage and give some moral support. Then also happened to see you here too... but didnt see Cale here hor.

Sam,
I hope everything will get better for you and your little boys. Pray for you.

gingal
see PD first lah, unless the cough is affecting her so badly? go first thing in the day so u get no.1 in queue. nowadays see PD troublesome cos got temp checks etc.

kkf
welcome back to work! good to still see u posting! means still surviving. heee.. really tough with 2 hor? i can almost imagine. I am still thinking whether to have no.2, whilst trying to chuck bryan in a childcare nearby. He finally learnt to walk at non-corrected age 18 months lor.. gave us a scare cos we thought he won't be walking.

Violet's drumstick is really drumstick lor!!!! hahahahaha.. so CUTEEEEEEEEEEE.. i wanna pinch pinch!

<font color="119911">Grace</font>,
thks for sharing yr premiees experiences. oh, yr gar born at 24 weeker, a bit scary wor....must be very worriedsome for u at that pt of time...she is quite tiny at 24 wker....

yup, may god blessed all the premiees to be a good warrior fighter, in pink health and etc...

re:pump
as for Maykel, she is currently on homo pills so will sure affect the flow of the ebm. I like the hospital pump, super fast man....

<font color="119911">xbliss</font>,
my sil daughter (not premiee) also started to walk at her coming to 18mth only. think boy shd develop slower than gar loh.

<font color="119911">Maykel</font>,
hmmm Channah weight gd wor...my boy coming to 4mth is only 4.8kg (weight today when he went to his neonatal checkup. glad that no need to follow up mthly liao and next review is his 6mth corrected age review).

thks for the explanation what is snuggler?

re:feed.
think yr gars still need time to tell them not to scream etc. now my boy dun scream (happened when he is 3.5mth non-corrected age) when he is hngry unless he is supwr hungry and no one attended to him. if not, he will self entertained himself by trying to suck his fist and thumb.

re:physio
hmm..is it a specialist to see physio instead of neonatal doc (my boy neonatal doc Dr Chua went for delivery liao and dunno when she will be bck. so currently, another new Doc - Dr Tan took over)> hmmm neonatal doc cannot monitor their development meh? where is the plc to see physio? pai seh ask quite a lot of qns but just curious only...

re:dietian.
that'y I am so curious to find out any critia to see dietiian since my boy also born at wk 31 (same as u). my boy did not ask to see any of the specialist other than the neonatal doc and his surgery doc(for his hernia surgery but already discharged so won't be seeing him).

re:bm
i guess so, it depended on what we consume. my wee hr pump out milk is much thinner like barley water. but after my dinner, my bm will be the most thickness man.also I can pump out more than usual. now, I have problem storing my ebm cos boy like to slp more than drink. he can slp 4-5hrly during day time. night time, 4-7hrly....so now, so much ebm (tough I dun have thta much) liao.

re: labour.
yup, mine was heavy for the first 2 days and then mild bleeding cum spotting with fresh blood until 3rd wk then gush out like urine. so scary....hmm is it bec yr menses coming liao....

re:rash.
me dun have problem when i use during my 2mth-6mth. then 6mth onwards, rashes so jialat...itchness can compare to the pain like contraction man....

re:shave hair.
yup, normal barber can esp those opened by malay. will be brining my boy early june only cos he will be taking his jab on 29/5. he will sure kana fever for 2 days one.

<font color="0077aa">gingal/Maykel</font>,
had asked the pharmacist and neonatal doc ab iron drop issue again. they told me the same answer that cannot mixed with milk cos iron drop will not absorb when consume. maybe u wanted to check with yr neonatal doc or pharmacist again.

<font color="0077aa">gingal</font>,
hmm changing membrane help to affect suction? dun seems to seen anything suck there...hmm...that's why I needed to pump longer i order to get a higher amt.

re:SCN
hmm yr gar at PINK section last time? initially, I dunno they are divided into BLUE and PINK. I blur blur tell the ward nurse that my boy in BLUE section cos boy mah...shd be blue. luckily, my boy really in BLUE section if not when they sent ebm to SCN then can't find....dunno how they classify the BLUE and PINK? any idea?

<font color="119911">kkf</font>,
hmm QC fail lah that's whjy bpa free avent bottle leaks. my normal avent bottles ok, no problem.

<font color="119911">David</font>,
oic. 11 wks that's mean coming to 3mth(non-corrected age) liao. so Danya is born in Feb 09?

re:scN nurse.
agreed that SCN nurse got shortage esp in hose smaller rm, only 2 nurses is to 14 babies. how to take care of 14 bb? the nurses really thks us if we go to feed our little ones if not, they will let the bb cry. saw bb cry to slp loh. poor things...

<font color="119911">Kai</font>,
kkh NICU will based on the vacancy rate at pt of time. they gave priority to their kkh patient first and if got vacancy, they sure take in other premiee fr other hospital. of cos, u can opt for subsided rate.

<font color="119911">Yan</font>,
give Yilin some time loh. how old is Weng? haa think feeding kids must need lot of patient.

<font color="119911">Day-C</font>,
congrats for yr preservance for making to full term. cheers.

<font color="119911">sam,
u must take care of yrself loh. yr confinement still not over, dun get chill. bring jackets, wear socks etc to keep yrself warm.
cheers keep it up....</font>

<font color="119911">bloom</font>,
haa..yr posting make me laugh. yeah,finally, I realised that Avent bottles got BPA. went kkh today to see what's the different between normal and BPA one.

<font color="119911">KKF</font>,
What brand/ type of vit C or any 'pu' for yr no#1 before sending them to ccc or school? if so, any recommendation of Vit C which can booast up immune system for a 2.5yr old toddler?

Long time never post, too many posting to catch up already.

A short update, my boy is already home with me abt 4 weeks ago, been very busy taking care of him. Not enough sleep. My dark circle now really looks like panda bear liao.

Bring him to see Dr Quek 2 days ago for his neonate follow up visit, he is now 3.4kg already

Last time i mentioned about the non-stop lochia, eventually I went for the Evac of Uterus procedure, as doctor suspected there are some retain placenta. Turn out it's not, just some blood clot at the implantation site. Anyway, after the procedure, now the bleeding totally stop liao.

Hi Maykel,
Agreed with Gingal and Grace, may be you should really check out if your pump still working fine.

My milk supply also reduce, think due to lack of sleep. I just bought a medela harmony manual pump, its better compare to the single deluxe electric pump i am using now. I find that it can empty the breast better. After pumping, i can really feel it's much softer and i got like 15ml more compare to using the electric one.
The downside is that it's quite tiring to the hand and took longer time to pump, but it's quieter and handy to bring around the house. Can pump anywhere you like.

Are you still consuming the fenugreek? Does it help to increase your supply? I also thought of giving it a try.

David,

Danya has been promoted! Yeah! '
U mentioned her fractured thigh has recovered fully, but seemed not straight...in the first place should our babies' thighs at this age be straight? Cos Jerlynn's thighs also abit crooked...hmmmm...
Don't worry, once Danya's bones started to become stronger, might straighten it out...
I remember the nurses at SCn always comfort us saying babies at their age won't know pain, so ask us don't worry...don't worry, she might not felt pain cos she is strong wor..maybe stronger than u...:p

kkf,
She is better now after i gave her the medicine that the PD gave me last time to clear lungs and prevent asthma de...today nvr really cough.

I lost weight but I still look as fat as before and have bigger waistline...
Just a smaller number on the weighing scale as compared to last time.
Yupz, me saw u booked the package too, hope it will look good...
So cute hor when they shake their head off the milk bottle, Jerlynn also learnt to push away bottle with both her hands now...keke, very strong wor, I can't hold tight enuff, the bottles will end up on the floor...
She is 2 mths + 1 day old...
keke

Violet still looking as chubby as when she was borned...So cutey...
Why they all love to taste their drumstick ah? and can suck sooooo loud somemore....

Yan,

Hope Yilin pass her hearing test! She is indeed blessed with lots love from mummy...

afcai,

yah I think I might call up and check about the iron drops thingy...
Why diff ppl say diff things..Hmmmmm

afcai, you can get vitamin C syrup from padetrician. I got it from my padetrician. But I tried vit c syrup from gnc too, childlife brand. I dunno which is good, haha, cause my boy always sick!

gingal, glad yilin is better! yah lor, babies are like testing our patience and giving us a hard time leh...

xbliss, yah yah, still surviving...haha.glad that bryan can walk now, cute to see him walking about right?

Yan, all the best to yilin's hearing test. yes, as parents, really, we accept how our children turn out to be. we bring them to this world, we love them no matter wat.

Bliss, yah yah, its that soooong lor...she is always soooo straight forward. that lau lau doesn't even bother to talk much one lar. haha. But good now pm session, they seldom come and bother us cause pm only 2 levels, so little students and teachers, good good. hee. i like pm!

kkf, Jerlynn is also using the support cushion that Violet is using too! Keke...that one good hor? I put machine wash and dryer to dry also won't go out of shape...

afcai
you might like to try babyplex. can get from vitakids. My girl is on it since she was 3 months old.it's multi vit. given to her when she was in nicu. I continue after that.

Ya. agreed the hospital grade pump very good. I'm using it. Milk out every drop..

Hi cale,
happy to hear your prince is 3.4kg now!

How come milk supply will decrease? You said you pump out often and regularly rite?

thx all!
thx also for e mums who help support me during this preggy and nada 1st two yrs

xbliss
hope urnext preggy will be fine.

maykel
dun worry,willbe ok. my girl start out smallest but now already overtake her two fullterm cousins hehe

gingal
thx,heh i thk they take my gd looks.feel fat old hehe

kkf
he sleeps most of the time now.'jetlagged'zit ? dunno if later will change and keep me bz at nite hehe

bloom
still adjusting.v diff here.

re BM
only hosp grade gd enf ithink coz our use heavy duty. also must massage breast well b4 pump. my baby was in hosp 2 days for jaundice.kena pump like old days. reminded of this..

hmm.so quiet today...
can't resist but to post my boy sucking thumb photo.haa got style even stuck thumb.

2478745.jpg

<font color="119911">Cale</font>,
welcome bck. think dark circle (I also got deep one) is part of mummy's life....hai....

how old is yr son?

<font color="119911">gingal</font>,
so interesting, Jerlynn can push the bottle off and roll onto the floor until mummy not fast enu to catch the bottle. will Jerlynn become angry when one kept placing the teat onto her mouth and force her to drink? my boy will. dunno these few days, he just like to slp, play and smile a lot but dun want milk. even 5hr, he still not hungry, can consume only 40ml out of 120ml. so need to coax him by bringing him 'touring' ard the hse (imagine hand will be 'suan') to drink and it will take up to 1hr.

when is yr next neonatal visit? mine will be 4 mth later in sept. my neonatal doc went for delivery liao.

<font color="119911">kkf</font>,
my kids dun have any PD. my elder only saw PD once only. hmm..ppls also told me childlife. hmm maybe for yr boy case, the childlife not strong enu for him.

hmm.Violet will want to wear the hat? my boy cannot place anything on his head and dun ever touch his head or any part of his face....he will scream.

where is vitakids? tot multi vit is for infant?? my boy is currently consuming it. now, am searching for recommendation of vit C to booast up my elder one (29mth) immune system. she still got some running nose and coughing with pheglm after attending ccc for a wk.

yup, even it is a single pump, it is very fast. I use once at SCN and few times during my stay in hospital. better than my electric medela pump.

<font color="119911">Day-C</font>,
why must massage breast well b4 pump?

saw yr kids 's photo. hmm...boy really look alike like sister wor...

afcai,

Ah Boy soooo cute....Love his fingers on his nose too! Chubby Chubby also liao!

BTW, wat's ah boy's name? we dunno yet til now...care to share?
Same loh, Jerlynn also drinking lesser and lesser, dunno why, very hong sim also, and will use tongue and curl and curl ard the teat and play and smile but not drink....like playing tricks with us...
She also sometimes drink 40-50ml every 3-4 hourly, but she will make up with more milk in hourly later in the night, very shack to feed her hourly...Her total intake now about 500-600ml which is worrying me.
Just bought her to see Chinese Physician to do baby massage, hope helps her to poo better and eat better...today will be 2nd session, Tues's 1st session was fantastic, she poo right after the session when we reached home, and also pooed normally ytd...
And yes, sometimes she is very fierce and will get angry also if we force-feed, and will hit us in our chest or face if she can reach...very bad-temper, daddy say she is like mummy...hahahaha
My mum when feed her will tour ard the hse too, i won't cos my arms and wrist and hands already got some aching problem...now I go for massage too, hope will help...
What is Ah Boy's weight now? Got still increase? Jerlynn's weight keep maintain at 5.5-5.6kg, these 2 weeks never increase...

My next appt will be Late June, actually when your neonat not ard and if ur boy's case is urgent, they will arrange MO to see ur boy, just like what they did last round for Jerlynn...So it's good to know ur next appt so long later, means ah boy is doing very well...Cheers!

hey afcai and gingal, your babies patterns now like violet who started this pattern two months ago. I thought now 4 months, she will be better...but then hor...erm...i was sooo worried about her weight gain.

Anyway, padetrician said can give her cereal when 4 months...maybe i will start her on that.

daec, prepare for the next month...haha, violet was sleeping throughout first month too but from 2nd months...erm...

gingal, haha, that support really good!didn't wash yet, lazy mum.

afcai, think all vitamin C syrup the same regardless of brand. they provide same vit C just that you have to know how much to give...they recommend 100mg for 3 years old for example. Violet still can't struggle off with the hat thing. haha.

I m currently in school liao...so sianz...oh oh die. started to feel sianz liao haha.

kkf,

Violet grow faster than Jerlynn wor...keke that's why her patterns come faster...So fast u starting her on semi-solids liao ah? me so anxious and really dunno when can start...Violet can support her head upright when sitting with support liao?

That cushion thing I also never wash yet...hahahahaha, same la, me also lazy...

kkf,
i tot violet weight is good... Paige is 7+mth corrected and weight only 6.8kg, was even got refer to feeding therapist.... Dr A think she has problem eating... sigh... But it all turn out ok....

afcai
you can find vitakids at united square, paragon and forum. not sure where else has it.

shellow
7 month 6.8kg very good already( atleast for me). my girl is only 7.7kg now at 11+months corrected. how do the feeding therapist do?

dun worry about the weight lah.. my bryan at 16months corrected is only 7.7kg.. i self discharge from dietician cos i find it pointless. Bryan can only eat that much, and the best part is, he can only retain very little one. Even paed also dun dare to say me cos they know we have been trying our best already.

We believe they will have their own time for growth spurts. Being overly concerned about it just didn't help, but make it even more stressful.

hi Grace and Gingal,
Thanks so much for your advise, i'll change the membrane later.

Hi gingal,
Glad that Jerlynn's cough is better now.
My gals oso has occasional cough now and then but i think shld be ok cos not consistent type.

My mum oso say their age dun know pain. But i was thinking whether they dun know or just cos they dun know how to tell. I'm sure they can feel pain...

Hi David,
Yup, drinking like a water tank now...
Think Danya would be able to go back quite soon
Did the doc mentioned whether her thigh is alright and would there be any adverse effect when she is older?

Hi kkf,
oic, so coincidence that Bliss is ur fren heehee....

Hi Bliss,
So nice of you
Cale still around, just very busy bah, me oso very busy. Ur turn would come soon hehe...

Hi Yan,
Had posted in ur BP.

Hi afcai,
how many mthly checkup did ur boy went before dragging to 6mths? He looks so cute!

they can really understand if we tell them not to scream? Channah's scream is getting louder wor, even when we attend to her liao, she still screaming, hiaz...
Ur boy so guai hor heehee...hope that Channah would be better like him when she's older.

No problem. Its a physiotherapist who saw the gals. They specialised in assessing the physical and functional development of the babies. Furthermore now Channah has torticollis, so would have to continue to see if it gets better. The therapist would do simple rotation exercise for her. They came to see the gals in the neonate doc's clinic to see the gals so we dun have to go down to their department.

re:dietian.
wat was ur boy's birth weight? Cos my gals are considered as VLBW (very low birth weight). They are born 1.46 and 1kg. I think the birth weight plays a part in whether your boy needs to see dietician or not.

re:bm
i really envy pple who has problem storing ebm cos mine nvr stays in the fridge more then 1 day hehe....
so usually you let ur boy slp and dun wakes him up for milk? My mum oso say better to let them slp, but i wori they may not get enough feeds leh. But at nite they can go without feeds for up to 5hrs, you think its ok?

re: labour.
initially i oso thot mine is menses, but its not leh, cos it stop few days then come again continously.

ok thanks. So by early june ur boy is abt 4mths liao right?

Thanks for the iron drop info. So you mix in water for your boy? Can it be fed to the mouh directly?

Hi Cale,
Nice to hear from you. Ya, i'll check my pump later. I agree that lack of sleep could be 1 of the factor for reduced bm. Fenugreek seems to work initially, but not anymore now leh. Oso dun know is it cos i'm on hormones pills. Anyway, you can try and see if it works for you.

just a quick posting.

<font color="119911">gingal</font>,
thks for the compliments, all bb are cute and chubby.but they will lose their bb fats after jab.

hmm...u got visit my blog?? got lot of photos and video there. recently, got video him on sucking thumb but not yet upload. my cow prince name Hao Xuan. think his papa give him christian name called Xavery (someting like that, dunno how to spell (dunno ended with ry or er), need to check with hubby first).

finally, y'day, i spent sometimes touring ard facebk and saw jerlynn chubby photos with lot of action wor...

a high 5 goes to u. my ah boy called him HX. HX also make up more at night. 500-600ml already better than HX liao. like today, HX only drank 480ml.

haa..Jerlynn action so cute hit u if she can reach...

re:weight.
weight taken on 19/5 is 4.8kg and height is 57cm. only grew 0.7kg and 5cm within a mth(last taken on 28/4). will be gg for his 2nd dose of 6 in 1 jab next wk liao, got to weight him again to see got increase or not. but Jerlynn weight gd liao..not fat and not slim, just nice....

re:neonatal checkup.
haa..he co-operate well with doc. but at hm, will be like 'ong de' or 'shao ye' need to be served. esp he will bully his papa when came to feeding, merlion at him, slow in feeding and burp too. thta's why hubby scared or feeding him.

re;bb massage.
how Jerlynn react during massage? wow, the bb massage so effective to make bb poos....

hai..dunno why HX prefer slp more than consume milk. my mum called him litle pig pig in chinese. really feeding him these few day is very challenging even my caregiver and hubby scared of him. so can't help, tired mummy still got to take over the feeding cos dun want my precious ebm (more than50%) go wasted every feed.

any idea my bb behave this way these few days. he like to slp more than consuming milk. he slp more than 4-5hr and woke up.he goes 'eh eh eh'(no scream liao) for milk. but when gave him 120ml ebm and he drank 40ml then refuse to finish. got to coax and make him finish by walking ard the hse (hand almost dropped man...carry him for more than 30mins). he will either smile, push away the bottle with hands, struggling (usually see him like that will burp him), push away the teat, shake head and scream etc to avoid milk(ask him to finish the rest of the milk as if like poison to him). this only applied to daytime feed. so today, only gave him the following feed:
8am: 120ml (last 40ml continue to feed at 0840am).
0930am: 3 drops of iron drops mixed with 10ml of water
11am: 40ml of ebm
1240pm: 50ml of ebm
3pm: 90ml
then he slp all the way and woke up at 0620pm.
0645pm: 120ml (took 15mins to finish)

my mum said maybe teething...err...

my no#1 dun have such problem wor....

<font color="119911">KKf</font>,
when shd we give solid food to our premiee at their corrected age or delivery age?

re:slp
hmm violet seems opps fr other bb leh...shd slp thru 2mth or later onwards mah...no wonder yr blog
mentioned that something like not easy to take care of 2 kids esp with violet being highly need attention etc...:p.

re:hat
even at SCN, my boy always wriggle out of the swaddling and also take out the hat.

<font color="119911">gingal/kkf</font>,
hmm..realised that Violet, Jerlynn and HX are Jan bb wor.

oic.thks for inform on vitakids. wow...all are in town areas wor...

<font color="119911">Maykel</font>,
so far, HX only gone for 2 neonatal checkup (not counting the checkup at surgery ctr for hernia) before his next appt dragged to 6mth (corrected age). luckily, he co-operate during the test when doc test him for sit up/stand up, head support, tummy time....

haa dunno leh...my mum and I kept telling him lot of times. think he listen until sian and surrender blar...:p. did u place channah upright during the waiting of preparing milk? we always placed HX upright one with his head lying on our chest.

hmm gg to physio and dietican must u pay extra beside consultant doc fee? if so, quite dear wor....

HX born at 1.72kg. hmm dunno Gingal's gar got go dietian or not cos i remember her gar weight is 1.xkg.

re:bm.
oh, currently, my boy dunno why just like little pig want to slp than drink. so that's why got to freeze more ebm now if not ebm expiry liao.

yup, usually, will wait for him to auto wake up. now he dun scream only go 'eh eh eh' if not suck his fist and thumb (cover his face and nose as well).

yup, it is ok. I did ask the neonatal doc, why my boy recently can slp more than 5hr - 7hrly dun need drink. the doc said it is ok and weight show ok. when bb grow older, they can slp longer. one of the forum mummies, her bb last feed is 8pm and onyl woke up next morning at 5-6am for feed. so dun worry...

my boy will be 4mth next wk (28/5). but got injection next wk so might be bringing him for shaving in early jun. he sure get fever after jab.

re;labour
i saw posting that mummy got non-stop lochia so did a wash up. now, it clear.

re:iron drop.
err..feed mouth directly, not sure. pharmacist only said multi-drops vitamin can feed directly.for my pt of view, I will not feed the iron drop feeds directly cos I already can't stand the smell. so diluae with water loh. anyway, it will be heaty type.

yeah yeh, hormones pill also affect bm supply.

<font color="119911">Daivd</font>,
where's our dear David?

afcai
Iron drops can put into the milk feed, this applies to multi-vitamin if prescribed....as advised by KKH NICU nurse previously.

Another senior nurse at KKH clinic taught me to give 1 doze of paracetamol to baby/child prior to taking jab that might cause fever. I've been using this for A (4 ys old now) and with GOD's grace, she never had fever after any jab including pneumococoal. It worked well as A did not take those combined jab, she took each jab separately, can u imagine how many rounds of injection she went through... Try it....no harm!

Introduce solid food based on corrected age.

Your boy has such chubby cheek....so cute!

For those who like heavy duty breast pump, contact Madela as they have it for rental, that means no savings on milk cos breast milk is supposed to be "free" (not counting in the good food that we have to consumed, haha).

Seeing all the new mummies posts on baby care, ebming etc. really bring back memories....I'm thankful that A is four years old now, less fussing around her but another area of challenge.

I am Lin..new to this forum..i am a new mummy of a 29 weeker...find this forum really useful n encouraging..

My bb ger is a 29 weeker n has been in KKH for the past 1 mths+..now still in SCN but shld be back by these few days..

Would like to check up with for those who given birth in KKH..who are ur neonatal doc for followup checkup? is that any gd PD to recommend?

Lin
Your neonat doc. follow up with be assigned by KKH. You will know who upon discharge. My girl doc. follow up is Dr Lim Siok Bee, she heads KKH-Child Development Unit.

For private PD, it will be good to have one near your home or caregiver's home. More convenient.

afcai,

ya.. now yilin is learning how to eat cereal. today i ask my maid to give her pureed apple, hope with some extra taste, she will be more hardworking to swallow her food.. hee..

Weng is 3yrs and 2mths old..

gingal, kkf
yilin failed her sleeping test, both ears diagnoised with severe hearing loss
gotta wear hearing aid. we will be bringing her to Gleneagle to seek 2nd opinion. my hubby not very happy with the audiologist in kkh. anyway.. just see another doctor also no harm.. we already prepared ourselves tat she need it la.. we are very happy that she is with us. She is growing very well beside the hearing prob.. we should be contented le.

Hi precious one..

Thanks for ur response..do you know how they assigned doc to us? which ward grade r you in? class A? since ur bb doc is some big shot..=)

as wat i know the bb doc assigned to me shld be a registar..dun know is she good or not..

i downgraded from class A to class C upon admisstion cos the nurse say my bb shld be staying in hospital for quite some time so will be super ex if i m going to stay in class A..dun know does the class affect the doc assigned to my bb? i supposed i am free to change my bb doc to a senior consultant next time?i assume just pay more for the consultation will do rite?

yan,
dun give up. miracles can happen. They will be blessed children as they have put in so much effort and will power to grow.

lin
They will assign you a pd upon discharge. usually is the pd i/c of that particular scn on the day your child admitted to scn.

yan,

wow i guess.... you and your DH are very brave and strong parents... But when yilin in hospital, when you call out to them or even at home does she response?

It really scares me as after this NICU stage, next is HD stage than also all these stages there bound to be more boulders ahead of me too...

Hi Xbliss

Thanks..i will wait for the assignment of the doc then..

Hi Sam

Strike on..everything will be fine..need to have faith on this...tink most of us here went thru this stage n we will see the light soon..take care...

<font color="119911">precious_one </font>.
thks for the compliment of my boy. every bb also habe chubby cheek, nice to pinch...:p.hmmm thta's mean yr darling A is same age as KKf darling boy....

I have asked the (different) pharmacist and neonatal doc twice and both of them said cannot place iron drop into milk feed cos iron drops will not be absorbed by bb cos milk got a dunno what substance which prevent iron drop fr being absorbed.

re:jab.
yeah, my no#1 also got fever for every jab except MMR and chicken pox. now, my no#2 shd be the same. first dosre of 6 in 1, fever came in the middle of the night and then gone the next noon. give thrice paracetamol. thks for the advise, will give him a dose immediately after the jab and not wait for the fever.

re:introduce food.
oic. Have been telling my mum (the caregiver when I go bck to work) and she just said just give him 2 teaspoons in July when he turned 6mth (non-corrected age) loh...will be reminding her again that my boy is a premiees.

<font color="119911">Lin</font>,
welcome to the thread. this thread is indeed an encourging with lots of support and learning thread.
my neonatal doc is Dr Chua Wei xx (forgotten liao) but she has gone for delivery last mth. dunno will she be bck to continue as my bb neonatal doc. she is such a nice and friendly doc. currently, see Dr Tan on tues.

think shd be able to change doc. cos during my bb first visit to neonatal doc, I asked for the 2nd appt to be other day than tues. the counter staff told me, only Dr chua is available on tues unless u want to opt to change neonatal doc.

<font color="119911">Yan</font>,
OIC. do she has teeth?

did u test Yilin by calling her or using those musical instrument sound? what's her reaction?

tot, mmr jab is supposed to be taken at age of 15mth.

<font color="119911">xbliss</font>,
hmm got PD assignment upon discharge meh...my bb dun have leh...only Neonatal doc and surgery (the same surgeon who did the surgery to him) follow up at surgery ctr.

Totally lose track with the thread...Anyway, thanks a lot for consoling me when i complaint about me passing flu to Xavier.

Until now, still unsure if it is me...
Anyway, it doesnt matter now, since what was done was done. Good thing is he is recovering now, but still on CPAP. Hopefully he will be off CPAP in a few days time...He actually went back to warmer bed again, so sianz...and until now my husband still dun dare to carry him because he always struggle with the CPAP, a very angry baby....

It is already 121 days in NICU, i wait wait and wait.....waiting patiently for the day he discharges......lets hope it is soon. Really breaks my heart to see him unattended to when he cries (what can i say about nurses who have to take care of quite a few babies at one time?)

ANyway, how's other warriors doing now?

Welcome Lin and Grace

Giving out free EBM

Btw, i am giving out my EBM, dated early March to end march, around 20 litres altogether (all packed in Pigeon milk bags, Blue egg milk bags). Really got no more space to keep them as both my chest freezer and normal freezer at home are all full with April and May milk.

The March milk is in NUH (takes up 5 racks of their freezer, a bit paiseh...), i need to give them out and bring the newer milk in....so, if anyone is interested, self collection at NUH. Changi also can.

Pls help to pass the word around ya? I am very desperate liaoooo...thinking about buying one more deep freezer but really think it will be no ending....

p/s: oh ya, share with all mummies, I found a better way to store BM -- milk tray! Maybe it is not a new method, but for me i jus found out..hehhee...It is more cost economical in long run since it can be reused and can save a lot of freezer space! I have yet to order but will do it sooon....will let you know whether it is good.
The product website is: http://www.sensiblelines.com/shop.html

Hi Afai

Thanks...i will go for checkup with the assigned neonatal doc 1st n see how it goes...if i dun feel comfortable, maybe i will change..btw, ur doc Tan..is Tan PL?how u find her during ur visit?

still alot to learn when bb is back...now have to start to prepare for her return..hope her wt will increase to 1.95kg soon..these few days have slight drop..hope today will increase liao...

Hi KKH mummies

do u all know how KKH managed the milk in SCN? cos i ask the nurses..some say First in fist out(FIFO)..some say last in first out(LIFO)...finally i get a confirmation from a sister that is FIFO...so these few days i stop bringing milk over liao since there is still some milk in their freezer n no pt to bring over the new 1 if they are FIFO..

Can we request for LIFO since understand fr some website..the newer the milk the better it is even for frozen milk...

<font color="119911">Jas</font>,
Nice hearing fr u. stay positive. god will bless the premiees. they are good fighter.

as for the milk tray, hmm something new to me, think it will be a gd idea for u to have it since it is storage saving.

for the FOC ebm, u need to inform NUH if u are giving away cos they will not give away yr frozen ebm unless there is constant. did u post in the forum thread to give away? tough now, my ebm not a lot but bec my boy is a small drinker, now, my storage also got problem. currently, I have 33 glass bottles of frozen ebm (stack up) which take up half of my freezer compartment. hai...

<font color="119911">Lin</font>,
hmm..not sure what is Dr Tan full name. only get to know fr the counter that she is Dr Tan. she is a young lady. dunno leh cos first time visit her during my boy 2nd appt. I still hope I will with Dr Chua W...Xxx.. dunno what is her full name? she is a very nice, friendly and chatty lady. she will give lot of advise and answer any queries.

yup, very soon, yr gar will be bck, do take lot of rest before she came bck.

re:manage milk in SCN
think they anyhow take one of the bottle. cos when we request our same storage glass bottle bck, I see different dates. yup, the newer the ebm is, the lesser nutrient it will lost.

Grace Lim
My girl is 4 mths pre-matured...due date was supposed to be 25 May 05, she took MMR on 23 June 06...based on birth date she took MMR on the 16th mth....

She had her all jabs separately as KKH NICU gave her 1st DPT/DT a week before discharge, BCG and 1st polio vaccine on discharge day....so we have to follow thru the other jabs separately with all dates arranged by and taken at KKH follow-up clinic.

Lin29
I felt that my girl was assigned to Dr Lim Siok Bee because she was very ill when she was a baby, she always had departmental head attending to her..ENT, Eye, Respiratory etc. she was discharged from NICU directly. I was at B2 downgraded to C...I believed assigning pd. to a baby, which ward the patient stay in is not a consideration. Dr Lim is very busy usually, so our consultation time with her is always pretty short...don't know if this is good or bad. I heard other pd is better....envy!

At KKH, I went up to the nurse who's in charge of milk on that day to give the fresh milk (I expressed milk in KKH always as I'm there full-time usually)to my girl at every feed if possible. They will oblige usually.

afcai
oh didn't u notice that kkf and I always wrote here such as dash gf or A's bf is down with cough etc. we teased each other as they are born in the same year. Actually when both met for the 1st time, they did't even play or look at each other and boy they only meet once.
Hopefully the next time they meet again, they can talk to each other cos then, my girl can't speak mandarin and dash can't speak english...now both can....

hmmm, it seemed that KKH gave different advice, don't tell me all the iron droplets pumped into A, gone into the drain....I was advised to put iron and multi-vit into milk then, perhaps my girl was a tube feeding baby ...she was on tube feeding for 18mths????

yan
Ah Neo's Siang is doing very well despite slight hearing impairment...I always look up to her for her optimism, love and support she gave to her boy. Actually, from her blog, I don't see any difference in Siang and my girl, they are doing the same thing like any children, playing, interacting with people. And I believe Siang is a very clever boy, he learns things very quickly. I believe Yilin will do very well in life. I always believe that our GOD is a very fair GOD, HE gives everyone a special skill and talent as a means of survival.

Yes, always go for 2nd opinion for any diagnosis. Yilin is in good hands as she has a set of very assuring parents.

hmm,.. the doc assigned to my boy is Dr PC Khoo. she is also a paed.. that's how i interpret the assignment of a pd. They will see my boy about monthly for first few months, then slowly stretch longer. My PD is also the neonat, and yes, like afcai says. And also got the surgery doc for hernia follow ups. But if u are talking about your own pd outside KKH, then they do not assign. You have to find your own..

sorry if my interpretation is different!

sad sad sad, y'day went coffeeshop to buy makan, fishball noodles stall auntie asked me if I'm preggie. ai-yo, I told her before that I delivered 3.5mth ago....arrr...how to get rid of wobble/bloated tummy which look like 3-4mth preggie.

kkf...see who is pump wor....me being mistaken for preggie..sob:p.

<font color="119911">precious_one</font>,
hmm I didn't notice loh that dash gf and A 's bf. :p.hmm...Yan 's elder daughter also same age as both of u mah....

yeah, multi-vit can be place into milk but not iron drops loh. I just wanted to be assured so during 2 visit I asked, I also get the same answer fr different pharmacist and neonatal doc (Dr Chua went for labour on my 2nd visit).

<font color="119911">Jas</font>,
u live at east side and travel to west side - NUH. wow, that's really far for u...why not choose changi hospital or east shore?

Precious one
Your girl had her MMR on the 16th month(not based on corrected) right? My girl is also 4months pre matured.EDD supposed to be in 05 June'08 but came out in Feb'08 instead. Think she due for MMR but not sure if there's a need to delay the jab.

afcai
Don't be sad. I delivered 15months ago. Am still lugging with the pregnancy fats!!! I gave up already..

Hi Mums,

Wow, the threat are moving really fast. Just came back from Shanghai and still trying to catch up with my queen and princess.

Hi Jas &amp; Sam,

How our warriors? Continue to believe in them. Have faith.

Hi Afcai,

You are correct, Danya born on 26 Feb. Love your boy drum stick skill leh.

Hi Grace &amp; Lin,

Welcome to the threat.

Hi Lin,

Yr GG in PINK or BLUE Section? My princess in Blue Section. She is already in KKH for 86 days.

Hi Maykel,

Glad that you drink like water tank. Ha Ha. How your lovely twins princess??

Hi Gingal &amp; Maykel

The Doc say that they are not too confident about Danya's legs and development length when she grow up. As usually, negative advice. Just simply ignore the bad thing and only hear the good one.

Hi Mum,

Danya update.

Achievement - out of incubator, successfully finish her bottle feed during the first try, full bottle all the way. Even the nurse are impressed by her performance.

Roadblock - Have been losing weight, thus would not continue with bottle feed try. If Danya continue to lose weight by today, maybe back to incubator by tomorrow.

Danya move a lot. Even wrap up, she has the ability to free one of her hand within 10 minutes. Move so much even when sleeping, so burn too many calories.