Premature babies support group

Hi afcai,precious one n xbliss

thank you for ue advices..just came back fr KKH..bb today is 1905g..hope she will reach her 1.95kg milestone soon..

btw,when ur bb come back..did u all latch on or bottlefeed all the time?

have been practising latch on for the past few days but bb always suck abit then sleep liao..so dun know how much she drank..now wondering when she is back..how shld i managed her feeding...start to stress liao...

Hi afcai..

tell u some "comforting" thing..i m fat to begin with..when i m pregnant...not many pple know tat i m pregnant..n now i give birth prematurely..pple are surprised tat i have a ger liao..i really feel like i m like the teenage ger who go tou sheng (give birth secretly)...tink when bb is back..more sleepless nite,hopefully i will slim down..haha

Grace Lim
Non corrected age. I believe a nos. of my girl's jab were delayed as Doc. would ensure that her health is in tip top condition, that is no fever, no flu or cough etc. before any jab is administered. When she was discharged then, her health was not at her best....many hospitalisation thereafter... For your case, just check with her doc. in charge, some senior nurses can give sound advice.

How's your girl now? Hopefully she doesn't have breathing difficulty like my girl previously.

Precious one
I see. I'll call up her pd to check.

My girl is fine. very active girl.There's only 2 issues now we are facing. Her small build and her development. She's only 7.8 kg now at 15months(11months corrected) and she's not walking yet. She has been cruising for months but have yet to let go of her hands. Other than these, everything is fine. She can take simple instructions very well (wave, kiss, clap, stick out tongue etc..)

Lin
I didn't get to latch my girl on at that time cos she was on feeding tube until toward the last 2 weeks her stayed. We were taught to bottle feed her. It took almost 2 weeks to get her to drink. After discharged, I engaged a lacation nurse to my place to teach me how to latch baby on. But in the end, I bottle fed her cos I was afraid I did not fed her enough through latching. Bottle feeding give me a clearer view on how much she drinks.

Hi Grace

i oso feel bottlefeeding will give us a better judgement of the amt she drink n we have to jia liao i.e add in the proteins, MCT oil etc into the milk..so bottlefeed will enable that..

But i feel in the long run,latching maybe more convenient..lesser bottles,pump accessories to wash n sterilize, better bonding,going out is easier...

i scared if i dun let her latch now..next time she may dun want to latch anymore when older as she is used to bottlefeed n i heard drink fr latching is more diffcult for them..so they may want an easy way out by bottlefeeding

considering both the +ve/-ve pts of bottlefeed n latching..i may want to try both fr the start..i.e maybe alternate feed...but i dun know will it be too siong to me or not...haha

Lin
Yes. you are right. If you don't latch her on now, she might not like it when you want to do it later. This was one of the reason why I couldn't latch on too. She kept biting and pulling. I personally wish to latch on. Lesser cleaning to do and don't need to bring hot flask out to warm up the ebm.Maybe you can do 1 bottle feed so that you can take a rest while your hubby can help you to feed.

Lin,

i also want to do latch on when Xavier discharges, not sure if he can do it or not, never tried before.....I've been waiting so long, really want to try
But on one hand it is true that bottle feed can give a better view on his feeding amount...I will try both as well, we can share info later ...My boy is around 1.9kg too, guess may discharge quite soon too...

Btw, for the milk thingy, it is better to do Last in first out. Like precious one, I express BM in NUH to satisfy his whole day need. The rest of pumping do at home and keep loh..
Talking about this, salute to Precious_one, Angel stayed in KKH for half a year? must be a tough journey, but it is all worthwhile! By looking at all the preemies that grown so well, i am full of hope...

Afcai,
I talked to a doctor about giving out my milk. SHe is very okay about it, but she said if i want to give babies in NICU, it will be very troublesome since they need to go thru procedures and test, but i can give to mummies outside hospital....I posted a thread in the forum, a few mummies responded...but due to logistics problem, very hard to arrange for collection this week, sianz...I am going to throw away some soon, i feel pity since most of them are in PIGEON bags, very ex leh, and of course we are talking about BM, the liquid gold here....

Regarding the hospital, my private gynae referred me to NUH, he said the NICU team there is good. Never heard about Changi NICU or East Shore lehh... No choice lah, I always think the travelling part is a patience test for me since I am a very impatient person, hehe.

Yan,
I will pray for Yilin for her test results, she is a very blessed child with you as her parents, i am sure she will do well in life no matter what....

Afcai and Lin,

Well when i touched my belly on MRT, some ppl will give up their seats to me.....hehee....I guess i m still grieving for the loss of pregnancy experience, i touched my belly unknowingly....:p

David,

u went to Shanghai??? That is where I lived for 5 years, until my complications happened..Aiya, if know u went, would have asked u to get me some stuf...hehehehe....
my husband jus came to SG from SHanghai and half his luggage is my stuff....

Hi Grace..

thanks for sharing ur experience..i will try both latch on n bottlefeed when she is back..hard to rely on my hubby cos he travels quite alot for work..n he still not bery zhai in carrying the bb..dun say feed her liao..

Hi Jas

let's try the feeding mtd together when the bb is back n share the experience n see wat we can learn fr each other..=)hope they will be more skilful in sucking during latching then the milk they drink during latching can dong for 3 hrs..so far for the trial i have in hospital, the milk which my ger drink fr latching can at most dong for 1 hr..cos dun tink she drink alot..after 1 hr cry for milk liao..so the nurse will top up with bottle feed...i intend to use this mtd at hm..alternate latch on n bottlefeed..but before the bottlefeed i will pump out the milk so tat she can get "fresh milk" for each bottlefeed..hope i will have the time to do tat...

i m still wearing my maternity pants n bermudas now...cos i have very sensetive skin n always have rashes after i deliever..so i try to wear loose clothes n bottom..scared jeans will make my rashes worse esp under this hot weather..so some pple still give seat to me on MRT..hehe..

btw, do you gers start to have ur menses liao? i delievered in 6 Apr n my menses is back after a mth (dun know y so fast come back liao..maybe cos milk not too much)..now i still have abit of menses(after abt 1mth liao)...like spotting..i check up with my gynae..he said some pple will irregular menses for a few mths after delivery..so troublesome..do u gers face this "problem"

afcai,

yah J, V and HX all Jan babies...J is smallest though if comparing Corrected Age..

J also cranky and consume little milk, and we also thought teething...
But turned out after the baby maasage her appetite is back and she not cranky liao. The physician say it's wind in the stomach...True, now her tummy not so bloated and she sleeps better, and her poo poo regular liao..hope will stay this way...
YTD she consumed about 700+ml of milk, going to be back to normal, I'm so glad...and she is also slping longer hours during the night abt 4+ hours...Yeah! But she will make up for more milk when she wakes...

Lin,

Welcome to the thread, hope you will enjoy sharing here...
My ger is also a 29 weeker borned on 1st Jan, stayed in KKH for 6 weeks, almost like your girl.
If you are a subsidised patient, u cannot choose your neonat, mine is Dr. Mary Daniel...
PD wise, I only bring my girl to her for vaccinations and minor things like her sensitive/blocked nose...I go to Kidslink at Bedok cos very near my place...

Yes, u can upgrade urself back to Private patient next time, but as a 29 weeker mum, i advise you not to unless u super dun like the neonat assigned to u...For 29 weeker borned less than 1.5kg, there are alot alot of appts that we have to go to, and if not taking subsidised rate, I can tell u the bill will be WOW! kekekeke...Same tests (X-ray/blood test/eye/hearing/physio/dietitian) and to pay as private patient is very "boh hua", cos it's not about the Neonat only...

Latch On:

I latch my girl on when was back for a couple times a day then gradually to once a day then now no more liao...
She prefers bottle then my breasts, haha...now latch her she will gag and turn her head away or push my breasts away as though I'm feeding her poison...so i gave up! Also cos I'm lazy la...

Yan,

Don't worry for Yilin, I'm sure she will grow up well too...It is good for u to bring her for 2nd opinion and see about how later. There are also many "invisible" hearing aids available in the market...Have the audiologist at KKH told u what kind of hearing loss Yilin having? I was working for an audiologist before, and I have seen many kids communicating very well too with the right aids...somemore if it is certain "pitch loss", we can always talk to her in certain pitch to train her hearing...

WOW, we have same batches of mummies that can group together to share, how nice...
kkf/afcai we promote liao, cos there is a newer batch now...keke...

BTW just wanna share, Jerlynn still coughing, and like not any better, PD all closed on weekends, later bringing her see GP, hope she gets better...somemore we have been bringing her out more often and longer hours, dunno is it the virus outside...she also abit over-stimulated, so excited to look look see see when outside, today after seeing doctor, still bringing her out to grab somethings and shopping..hope won;t deteriorate her cough...

Grace Lim

Good to know that your 24 weeker is doing fine. BTW, what's your princess' name? FYI, my girl started to walk at 18mths, i think she very gu niang, scared of falling, one of two maids then used their filo standard i.e. to join pcs of bath towels together and fastened one around her chest. Then made her stand and walked by controlling the towel so that before she fell, she's pulled up already....somehow it worked... I didn't put my girl in the walker as advised by KKH.

Jas
Very tough indeed, almost lose my sanity... Preseverence reaps reward, today we are enjoying each other company.... Very soon, Xavier will be home and he will fulfil you in many many ways too.

Lin,

yup, we can exchange experience later...!
Btw, what's ur gal's name? Since she already tried latch on, I suppose she is totally breathin on her own liao?

haha, i also wear my maternity pants and bermudas, and looose clothes to cover my fat tummy..Initially i got rashes very easily also, especially my breasts....now all recovered liao, but left some ugly scars , sianz
Luckily i dun normally wear those revealing clothes, if not will scare a lot of ppl..hahaa...

My lochia stopped after about one month, and since then nothing. U sure urs is menses, not lochia?

Gingal,

Where do you do the baby massage? btw, when u go back for the follow up apointments for Jerlynn, do they register her under her own name or still under "Daughter of..."? I am concerned becos I am a PR, i jus applied PR for Xavier not long ago, and may take months to approve. I scare later go back for follow up appointments, if register under his name, he will be considered as foreigner and receive no subsidies....That will be scary. Up till now, he stayed for 122 days in NICU liao, the medical bill is getting very unaffordable now

I hope Jerlynn will get welll from her cough soon! and maybe u shouldnt bring her out so much nowadays as the virus in the air is quite scarry...
My fren jus got abortion after her 9 weeks baby stopped heartbeat. Doctor said very common nowadays, and maybe due to the air pollution..Very funny explanation right...so better play safe lah..

Precious_one,
I am losing mine soon if Xavier doesnt discharge any sooner...He spent 4 months there already, every time i left him, i felt sad...Really want to bring him home with me and carry him all the time...

Btw, last time u mentioned that A had seizures, did doc give any prognosis or jus said "lets observe her growth later?" For Xavier, there is some mild abnormal ventricle size in his brain, but doc jus said:" oh, it is hard to say, lets see later...." Hang me in the air.....

Jas
After the seizure attacks for 3 times in the span of 6 days, A underwent MRI scan of the brain, the result, nothing to be concerned, so the neuro-specialist said that it could be triggered by the scar in the brain as baby's brain will grow. Still they put her on seizure control medication for almost 3yrs...medication was taken off only last Jan. Will go for review in one year's time.

Can understand your misery of not having our baby with us at home after months. A, as a trachy baby, will not make sound as the trachy tube blocked the vocal cord...my neck was as long as giraffe waiting to hear her voice....it was really an agony. Thankfully, now she is very chatty....

Xavier at 1.9kg, will be home real soon, could be this week. Your hands are going to be full, meantime, please take every opportunity to rest well to take the challenge ahead...no joke....lack of sleep usually. Baby will grow very well in home environment.

Hi Jas,

Aiya, if I would to inform U earlier, can get something back for you from Shanghai. Well stage of sanity, we are already living in one. He He. Be strong, Xavier will be home in no time.

Hi Sam,

How's our 3 warriors? Stay strong and focus.

Hi Mums,

Danya update. Today, Danya manage to put on weight. Danya is 1550gram. Today is also the first time Diana bottle feed Danya. Danya manage the bottle feed well, 24ml in less than 10 minutes. Some pic taken earlier.

2491273.jpg
2491274.jpg

To All Mums & Earlier Bird Warriors, JIA YOU.

Hi gingal..

Thanks for your advices..luckily u tell me tat..didn't tink of tat before u say..i will take note of the "consequence" if i want to change the neonatal doc..

Hi Jas

Xavier will be discharged soon..dun feel sad..can start to feel stress liao..when the bb is back,we will be busy n that is the real "confinement"..dun tink will be out or bring bb out too often..better to stay at hm when they are back cos they maybe still very weak..

yah..my ger can breath on her own now..My ger's name is Jolie..meaning cheerful n pretty..choose this name cos her chinese name has a "Le" so wanted to choose a "cheerful"name =)

my gynae told me is menses when i went for my followup checkup with him..i oso have lochia for abt 1 mth..after tat stop for a few days, then my "menses" came liao...=( sian to have my menses back so fast..

Hi David..

Dayna looks very cute n alert..tink she will be discharge soon..=) tink all premmies have "long" head..my ger oso..anyone know of anyway to make their head become round? or shld just take nature by its course..wait for the head to round themselves...

Danya is in SCN now?pink or blue? maybe we met before..my ger is in pink SCN now..

David,

Danya is progressing very well!! tat time yilin not so soon bottle feed leh.. and will desat somemore.. keep up the good work Danya.. Jia you!!

Brought Jerlynn to see GP ytd liao... Wanted to bring her to one that alot children go de, but the wait is sooo damn long, take Q-no liao and went down an hour's later, then gotta wait like 2-3 hours, and the ppl there all coughing and sneezing, and no air-con, weather so damn hot...so we went to nearby 24 hours clinic.
The GP there not bad, as he has a 6-mth old daughter himself, thus he really knows alot about newborns..keke...
He said Jerlynn is ok, lungs are cleared, just got abit blocked nose..haizzzz (her sensitive nose again loh), then the mucus might have went down to her throat and she coughing to clear them, which is good...no medicine for her cough, he say let her build up her own immune system better, but gave her something for her nose. If she is putting on weight, eating and slping and pooing well and no fever, he say ask us don't worry, let the baby work it out herself...
Also checked on his immunisation package, turned out much cheaper than kidslink and can use baby bonus card, think will go there for the rest of her jabs...cos he is a nice doctor and Jerlynn likes him, keep give him shy shy and smiling so much in there, even when he checked her throat with a stick pressing against her tongue, she gagged but still happy after dat...Thumbs Up! What's more the consultation plus medicine only $20...cheap...

Jas,

I brought Jerlynn to Yu Guo Chinese Physician...
For Jerlynn's follow up appts are recorded by her name...for your case, I also dunno, u might wanna ask someone there. U can also talk to the social workers, sometimes they can help better on the subsidies matters.

I keep bringing Jerlynn out nowadays, cos she will Look Look see see liao, and like having fun, so I thought bring her out and expose to new places and ppl and learn new things is good...somemore i want her not afriad of new place and strangers next time...
But she comes home will have night mares at night...Faintz... Never thought of the virus going ard, silly mummy right?

Your fren's gynae really funny leh, 1st time I head of this explanation leh...

David,

Danya Looks Good! So Alert, I remember Jerlynn's pics taken in hospital is always with eyes closed, always sleeping and sleeping even drinking milk...so dificult to take her pics with alert mode...keke

Lin,

Jerlynn also has long head, i soh soh everyday loh in clockwise motion, dunno if it will help...but also boh pianz...
Jerlynn also sleeps on one side too much till her head shape unbalance...

the thread suddenly moves so fast!

Yan, wow..scary thing abt the monitor alarm being oFF!

welcome lin!!!!

precious_one..ahaha.. me too.. me matchmake my gal with another boy from another thread..they also bo chap each other when they meet :p....

david, good taht danya is on bottle feed!!!

grace, i think lower wgt is common among the premmies..my gal is only 10kg at 2.5 yrs and i tink and dash & gf also not that heavy either... so longer as they are progressing well we have to close one eye loh :p re walking..maybe she is afraid thats why refuse to let go of her hands???

Yan, u may want to talk to aneo (aka jane) abt the hearing issue....

gingal, these few weeks the weather is not good..alot of kids are sick..my gal started coughing yest too

<font color="aa00aa">xbliss, sam, afcai, precious_one, jas, gingal</font>

thanks for all your encouragement, care and concern.

we brought her to gleneagle, and at least the ENT doc there explained more in detail on y she was dianoised with severe hearing loss. both her cochlear are sort of damaged, so most of the frequencies going into her ear can't reach her brain. this will be permanent. might be due to the medication given to her when she was borned to prevent infection. nobody knows whether she will improve over the time.. but of cos we stay positive.

she still respond to us when we talk to her or call her. she will still get a shock when her sister, Weng, shouted. she will still k-po while falling asleep when she heard us talking.. so she can still hear.. this is more important.

i have seek advise from ah neo, aka Jane. i m so grateful to her. <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">thank you so much Jane for your support and information..</font></font>
today my hubby bring yilin to polyclinic to get a referral letter to see SGH. hope she can get better treatment and service there.

Yan,

As long as she can still Hear and I think there are chances she will improve! Glen's ENT is good to explain and so u know what is going on better!

All the best and May God be with u all!

Lin,.

FIFO is not true.. they sure tell u tat because they should do tat.. but in actual fact, they did not..

when my friend wanna collect the milk back home. she was surprised to see those tat was expressed when her son was borned is still in the freezer. actually a couple of time, she caught them red handed. sometime the nurse will use back the bottle with date tat we gave it to them. she saw the date which is very recent.. cannot be lor.. cos her supply is very sufficient.. impossible to be using tat milk dated tat time. then the nurse gave her some lame excuses la.. oh.. take wrongly la.. din see properly la.. bull shit!

Hi Grace, Lin, Yan &amp; Bloom

Danya will definitely progress well with all your well wishes. We are constantly challenging Danya to hit 2kg so she can be back home with us.

Once Danya reaches 2.5kg, she will go under the knife again for her STOMA closure. Feeling deeply hurt to see her bearing so much pain at such a tender age.

To All Mummies &amp; Daddies,
How our child will turn out to be in the future, they are still our flesh and blood. We must continue to believe in them and treasure every single moment with them. They may not be the same as most normal kid but they are always special in our heart. Have faith and be strong for them. It is even more important for us to nature them well in character so that they will be compassionate to all life and matter and lead a righteous life as a good person.

Hi Lin,

My princess in SCN Blue.

Danya today update. Weight 1565gram. Hooray, No more ROP, Hooray, confirm by Surgeon that her right fracture thigh bone is fully heal, will take another X-ray before coming home.

David,
Yay!! home coming soon!!! I m so glad u remained positive and hopeful throughout becos Danya has caught onto that!!

The surgery will be another milestone for Danya, it means Danya will become healthier. It will be painful for you and Diana but trust me, the babies heal very fast and forget about their pain easily cos they dun have so many nerves. My bryan came out of surgery a super hungry boy, and didnt flinch even when we touched his wound.

Hi Xbliss,

What kind of surgery did Bryan went through?

Hi tigger,

Good article. Xavier, Danya, Mattias, Josiah &amp; Jeriel are belong to the same group of Sub 800gram warrior. Ha Ha.

Let us continue to pray for all our pocket hercules warriors, continue to believe in them and the mighty one up there.

Hi gingal..

Yah..i oso tried to soh my ger head when i go visit her..heard sleeping on the dounut pillow will help to make the head round..but i scared the dounut pillow "edge" is still too high for her neck..maybe i will try when she is abit bigger..

Hi Yan

Yah..i know the nurse maybe some crop up sometimes..so i just try to tell them to use the latest milk when i pass the milk to them..if they never do..we oso bo bian..when bb is back hm, we just ensure we give them the freshest milk to "pu" them back..

Hi Jas

I just heard from my colleague saying that her 2nd kid last time latch on too much..in the end, now abt 2-3 yrs old liao,still dun want to bottlefeed or drink from cup, she has to use syringe to feed her son milk..so her advice to me is not to latch on so much..she said whether we start to bottlefeed or latch on, ultimately the bb will be just specialise in 1..we cant expect them to like both..n bottlefeed, bb will be fatter cos we know the amt they drink n better ctrl..tink espeically for our case,we need to jia liao into the milk..n she said when she latch on last time, her boy can wake up 5-6 times at nite to latch on..her nipple has become a pacifier for her bb liao..

after hearing this, tink i will still try both but more focus on bottlefeed..maybe for 8 feeds per day, i will latch on 2 times ( at least let her practise n build bonding)..the rest i just bottlefeed..my plan at this moment...see when she come back, how the situation is

Hi Grace,

Maddy is soooooooooooo sweet. I still remember at that moment when I was reading that article, tear start rolling down as they touches me in many ways. Cheer to Maddy, sweet girl.

afcai
massge breast to loosen milk then easier to come out. if engorge, simpy massage will have some milk drip out already. can ask lactation consultant teach u. v impt step from wat i was told.even if got very gd pump, wont help unless massage

kkf
tt wonder i wonder..2nd month how baby will be ? some mums tell me it get worse then. some mums tell me urs boy shld be ok, baby boys easier take care, dun cry so much. hehe dunno true or not.

Thanks for your compliments.. We are very proud of her..she's a real fighter!! If Maddy can do it, I'm sure all the babies can. Must have faith.

Just to share, this verse kept me going at those moments.
"A woman,when in labour,has her sorrow because her hour has come;but as soon as she has given to the child,she no longer remembers the anguish, for the joy that a human being has born into the world. Therefore you now have sorrow;but I will see you again and your heart will rejoice, and your joy no one will take from you.And in that day, you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly,I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you.Until now you have asked nothing in My name.Ask, and you will receive,that your joy maybe full."

<font color="0077aa">precious_one</font>,
wow, 4mth pre-matured. how long she stay in NICU? must be quite tiny?

re:jab.
is it true that even got cough cannot jab? my bb is due for his 2nd dose of 6 in 1 jab this fri. he got lot of pheglm irriating his throat. so per day, he tended to cough less than 5 times, dunno still can jab or not.

hmm why not walker...cos my mum luv to place bb in walker. I knew that walker is quite dangerous and might easily topple.

<font color="119911">Grace</font>,
oh...think wobbly tummy is part of the package that we had.

dun worry abt walking. y right, yr gar is 11mth (corrected age) only. my sil's daughter (full term at wk 39) only started to walk in her 17.5mth. so every bb are different.
did u try this method of making her to walk with confidence? ask hubby or whoever sitting or squatting facing u. then U hold yr gar and ask her to walk towards the other party. keep encourging her and praising her even she walked successfully for 1 step only. ensure her that the other party will reach her so to gain her confidence. we did this for my no#1 last time. it took us 1mth to train (haa that bec we wanted her to walk before the arrival of CNY). and she finally succeed with lots of encourgement and praises.

re:article.
when I started to read the article that tigger posted, i was wondering is it grace' gar. oh...then that's it. so touching to read the article but felt so sad too to see her tiny body all wrapped up. glad that yr gar is progressing well now.she 's so sweet looking esp her smile. may god bless.

any idea what cause yr preterm?

<font color="0077aa">David</font>,
oh...no wonder u MIA for days....hmmm the photos of Danya feeding milk looks serious. my boy will not open his eyes during milk feed at SCN.

<font color="119911">Lin</font>,
oh, that's gd...progressing of yr gar. her weight will increase very fast one. like my boy last time, when he is coming to 1.9kg, his weight suddenly shot up by 60g per day that making me hardly believe and kept asking the nurse are u sure?

when bb back, my CL still ard for 2 wks so will 'throw' bb to her to look after cos I just discharged fr hospital (due to massive bleeding so went D&amp;C) 1 wk ago after my bb is bck. so did not latch on for 2 wk until my CL went bck. I tried to latch on but it depends on my boy mood, sometimes gd, he will latch, but sometimes moddly, he wil scream cos milk flow slow causing him to be impatient, then he will gek until face red and sweat and then struggle. so give up latching and give ebm. anyway, fr march till 8/5, I will latch on my boy once a day at night before his bedtime at 7pm. fr 8/5 onwards, no more latching liao cos he dun want to latch and get impatient. also waste my time cos he will doze off after suck a few then still need to wait and wait. so might as well give bottle and let him drink full full.

just to share my experience when I had my no#1(she is a full term bb of wk 38). I latched on her for abt 4mth. I'm likke 24hr/7 milk bottle loh. my gar will drink and then doze off. then will feed either every half an hr or 1hr...siong right....I did not think of pumping out to let her drink cos I dun have pump that time. tough it is tiring, but the bonding between me and my gar is gd. till now, she is quite close to me.

for bm wise, my boy usually will drink 1 day behind milk.

ha all 'ah lao'(except exceptional case) are like that scare one...they tot we mummies very gd..we also learn from experience mah, why men cannot learn fr experience...hai...sigh.

are u a sahm? my boy neonatal doc said usually latch on, we can't determine how much they drink.so her advice is to top up with ebm after that.

re:weight
oh...my mum said when I go bck to work, sure slim down due to work stress etc....but hor, thik after having my no#1 2yr+ ago, think my tummy still bloated, dunno why. I did ask the gynae during my post-natal checkup why tummy sitll bloated. she say it is common.err....

re:skin.
same same. now after my delivery, my skin become more sensetive. rashes will break out easily.

re; bm.
did u pump? if so, how is yr quality of milk and how many time u pump? mine also not so much. for yr case, since yr delivery(6/4) till now, only 1mth+, so milk shd be slowly increasing loh. during my 1mth after my delivery, I cna only pump up to 40-60/80ml of milk only (every 3hrly). hmm...so fast, yr auntie reported liao..sian wor...when 'auntie' reported, it will affect milk flow.

what color is yr spotting? for me, my spotting(sometimes a bit more) after 1mth is fresh red. till 2mth+ then turn to brownish only...so mine dun really considered menses loh...

re:head.
old folks said just kept on placing yr palm ard the bb head and move ard. this will make their head rounder. ppls said place bb into yao lan then head will be rounder.

<font color="0077aa">gingal</font>,
HX is a boy mah so shd be heavier than J. V different bec she is born at wk 34 so shd be heavier than HX. but now, J weight is heavier than HX liao.

my mum said no wind cos bb tummy flat flat leh. but still cranky. recently, when my mum clean HX's mouth, he like to chew or bit onto the towel.when wash his hair, he will turn here and there and look ard. wow piang, how to cut his hair like that....hmmm....at least, J is guai wor....

think HX prefer slp more than milk. now, dunno when he will wake up fr feed cos his last feed today is 0510pm (120ml).

hmm...J born 1/1 gd wor...can join the 07 bb to sch next time.

haa...HX same as J, think feeding him with b like poison. also waste my time too....just give ebm and make him full full.

yeah yeah, we 'promoted' liao....last time, we are the junior wor....

re:cough.
how bad or how is J coughing? HX dun really cough. it is bec he got lot of pheglm irriating his throat so tended to make him cough. but he only cough less than 8 times (i think) per day.

re:eek:utside.
wkend, first time bring HX downstairs and to mrt staiton(10-15mins walk) before his bedtime and after his bath. he wanted to slp liao and cry. but when I said go gai gai and take him and my gar with out to buy ice-cream, he looked at me. once outside, wow....eyes big big like goldfish wor....kept looking ard like mountain turtle....haa same, came hm got night mares, think over-stimulated.

what medicine did PD give yr gar?

kidslink got lot of colorful decoration, that's why kids are more attracted to it. polyclinic also can use bb bonus card. I already used it liao. hmm...so cheap meh...consultation tot at least $40 and above and also depending on the time with the PD..kidslink at CCK charge $60 dunno for how long.

<font color="119911">Jas</font>,
oh...giving out ebm in NIUC so 'ma fan' one wor...hmm...why not ask the mummies to self collect loh...hmm why not buy cheaper milk bags. heard fr mummies thta blue egg (something like that) is cheaper. can purchase at BP.

hmmm tot kkh has the best term of professional than NUH. I gave up NUH cos they treated me like guina pig.

not only travelling part, taking care of our littles ones esp premiees also need lot of patient and attention. now my caregiver and my hubby so scared of feeding my boy cos feeding him is the major task. I can't imagine if he is on solid.

haa even fr my hse (west side) to kkh already very far liao...evne took cab also need 20-25mins.

sorry to hear yr loss of pregnancy experience. no offence, just wondering will tummy would be more wobby when one having twins right??

re:register name.
u need to request to change to register under yr boy name. if not, they won't change for u.

<font color="119911">Yan</font>,
as what gingal mentioned, there are chances yilin can improve. pray hard for u....

<font color="119911">xbliss</font>,
as like yr boy, my boy also like hungry hippo when came out of the surgery. so doc just gave the green light to give him 20ml and he drank so fast that he cry for more.

<font color="0077aa">day-c</font>,
oic...I seldom massage b unless super engorge before pump. no wonder milk flow when pump so slow.

ai-yo...who say bb boy easy to take care? hai, my cow prince really stubbon ox....if compare to my gar, my gar much more easier to take care.

Hi Xbliss,

Is the scar still obvious for Bryan?

Hi Afcai,

Danya is always angry when hungry and mostly she is awake during feeding.

Hi Sam &amp; Jaz,

How is our warriors?

afcai
My girl is a 24+4 weeker, 710g and 30 cm long. Stay in NICU for 6mths and discharged directly from NICU with oxygen support equipment. Her major difficulty was breathing on her own then. Intubated from birth till 38 week when she had her tracheostomy ops. Her trachy ops led her to be tube fed for the longest time, hence lose the natural ability to suck (never bottle-fed), bite and chew. We have to teach her to bite and chew after her trachy tube was removed. She has improved on biting and chewing food, it is still a bit weak, hence she doesn't eat rice or fried bee hoon, noodle etc.

Then she had reviews with:
1) Physio therapist
2) Occupational therapist
3) Speech therapist
4) Neo Nat follow up
5) ENT
6) Eye
7) Neuro
8) Respiratory

Now she is seeing
1) Once a year follow up with CDU
2) Quarterly with Respiratory (chronic lungs)
3) Once a year follow up with Neuro (should be
able to be discharged by next visit, as her
medicine is taken off already)
4) Once a year with Eye

Hi afcai

My bb just back..start of sleepless nite..last nite sleep for abt 1/2 hr only..=(

i tried both latch on n bottlefeed but focus is on bottlefeed cos need to add in supplement...latch on is both for comfort for her..n hopefully can build some bonding..

I am on maternity leave now..will only be back to office in Aug..so now full time looking after bb...my hubby see bb pass motion..quickly shout for help...he can only help to carry her abit..cant expect much fr him...n his job need to travel so i cant rely on him..so now my mum come n help me..when i m back to work, my mum will take care of her..

re:weight
hopefully i can slim down with all these sleepless nite n breastfeeding...now oso not "free" to tink abt slimming down when the bb is back...tink of sleep 1st..haha

yah..the gynae only say is hormones changes..my hormones is driving me crazy man...abit then itchy n have rashes..damn jialat

re; bm.
yah..i pump...i pump abt 7 times per day..now bb is back..have to pump 8 times per day liao..cannot cheat liao..when i pump 7 times per day..i got abt 700ml per day...bb only drink abt 300ml per day..so my fridge is full of stocks now..now bb is back,i tried to pump 1hr before the next feed..so far still can managed for these few feeds..need to monitor to see how well the "feeding system" works

my spotting is red..is like the last few days of menses kinda..damn sian..i ask gynae n LC, they say maybe cos my BM not tat much initially..tat y my menses come back liao..really sian man..
skin so sensitive liao..still got menses..worse man..tat y i say my hormones driving me crazy..

now my mum n i tried to soh loh..still not very comfortable for her to sleep in yao lan yet cos still so small...maybe when bigger then see how...=)

David,

My boys are doing fine as of now.. Mattias weight remains as it is for the past 2 days at 935g and also on and off feeding. Josiah had an xray done today and there are some chronic lung changes but doc suggest giving anti biotics first just in case, his brain bleed had been controlled, but hopefully the blood clot will resolve itself without any injury to the ventrical of the brain. Jeriel have stopped feeding totally for the past week already as his gut and intestine not ready yet..

Wow, saw the article, yes, believe in miracles!

Our babies are all miracles here!!!

Sorry, too many posts to catch up, a bit lost. Been busy with school and dash, as some of you know, yes, dash is sick again! soooooo sianz...

Welcome LIN29, so who is your gal's padetrician now? My boy was dr argawal, the head of SCN, I find her very good. But my girl is seeing a dunno who in KKH. sorry I really dun get her name. I think she is lousy. I think they allocate according to seriousness. Not so serious one, anyhow allocate, more serious one, will allocate better one? I also dunno. But my boy 27 weekers, so has dr argarwal, girl 34 weekers, not much of a problem one, anyhow allocate? Or is it because my girl is under subsidised rate....??

Sam, glad you boys are doing well! they will become another 3 miracles!

Yan Yan, Dun worry, i just saw the news few days ago, a boy who has hearing impairment, plays the piano soooooo well, and performs everywhere!!! Your yilin will be another miracle! Provides her with lots and lots of love and supports, just like Jane to siang, and your gal will strive well and be outstanding in future as well!

Hi Grace welcome too! wow! very inspiring! hee. thanks for your article as well as your blog...Dun mind i put the chinese article in my blog. Won't be putting yours in case you dun like it.

Really happy to meet so many mummies with premature children here.

haha...btw, just let me introduce myself again (no no no, not showing off as a premature baby status, but just to encourage new mummies here) I am a 27 weekers, though not talented, but at least doing ok, holding a nus degree. haha.

afcai, dun worry lar, ur tummy will slim down slowly.

btw, update: blisstan has given birth liao.

wait wait, go take my vit c then come back to read thru the posts again

hey, just realised the girl featured in xin min...hmm is studying in my school!!!

dash woke up liao...will post more later...

btw, grace, hope u dun mind, have put the chinese article in my blog, so that next time, can inspire my children. hee.
http://ido.per.sg/theincredibles/

Hi Xbliss,

Thanks a million for yr encourgment. I like my gg to grow up and be Ms Universe leh. So scar not beautiful at all. Ha Ha.

Hi Sam,

Yr 3 warriors are strong and bless. I am very happy for them as they are fighting strong and brave. Continue to praise them, continue to fight along with them. In no time, they will be home with you and your DH. Have faith.

Hi KKF,

LOL. I like yr intro. Never fail to impress me with yr cheerfulness. School holiday coming, should be more relax right(I don't think so)? It seems to me that all teachers are workaholic. My sis is teaching in a school for Autism kid. Even Sat &amp; Sun also work. No life, sian.

haha david, yes school holiday coming, but first week gone with meetings.

btw, asked around the girl featured in xin min, yes proven, she is a smart girl, she is in P5B now, good class! and teachers said she is doing very well!

Hi kkf..

Tink my neonatal doc is Dr Tan PL...she is the doc in charge of my bb since birth..tink she is at my delivery suite when i give birth..cannot see cos never wear spec..so far only tok to her once in SCN..=)

I oso subsidised rate..hehe

The xin min article is very encouraging...there are alot of famous pple e.g Newton,Einstein etc who are premmies oso..n they are borned when medical is still not that advanced..

Anyway, all things are destined..even if the bb is full term,it does not means that he will be great person n premmies doesnt mean he will be a failure..all things happen for a reason..we do learn alot from our premmies also..=)

I really need help here.... can you all tell me how do you all settle the huge bill from hospital? This is really terrifying as the bill is very very huge...

<font color="119911">David</font>,
hmm...a hungry bb is always a angry bb.

like xbliss, my boy also underwent for hernia surgery. got scar (like finger nail slice onto the flesh type) but not so obvious if one dun notice it at both side of the thigh.

<font color="0077aa">precious_one</font>,
what is tracheostomy ? hmm so she consume porridge since not eating rice and bee hoon etc....it will take her sometimes to improve her chewing blar...my no#1(wk 38 not premiees) also dun like to chew.

<font color="119911">Lin</font>,
yup, initially, I also, the most timing I can rest is 20-30mins then continue my 3hrly pumping....then feeding again etc...so got to ensure for at least 2mth before bb slp longer at night.

my boy only started the supplement when he went for his first neonatal visit 1mth later after his discharge. normally, supplement given once a day during morning time. so for me, I will only latch him at evening time till he doze off. also I wanted to watch tv that's why latch him while watching tv.

gd that own mum is a caregiver (pros and cons). ai-yo, ask yr hubby to learn how to clean bb loh....before discharge fr hospital, nurse will teach both of u how to bath etc bb mah...did u attend any antental class? hai..think all hubby except for exceptional are the same. anyway, give yr hubby sometimes to learn.....my hubby also like that when I was having no#1. is it yr first child?

my ML just ended last wk, now on 1 mth paid leave (clear last yr leave plus gg to clear child sick leave and care leave).

re:weight.
yup, think if sg was to hold the slp contest, sure mummy will be the winner. I also hope I can slp thru the night. so no choice but to ta han till 1 yr till I wean off bf.

think weather also hot, sweat so salty will tend to prone to rashes. now I got rashes on my neck and fold of my arms and side thigh.

re:bm.
gd time management. yr bb gd liao drink 300ml at her age. my boy small eater dunno 'hong xin' or just dunno why evne after 6hr give him 120ml and he drank only 40-50ml so the rest got to force him to drink by taking him to tour ard the hse (till my hand almost dropped wor..) etc. now think touring ard the hse dun really work. he will need to play his jie jie's electronic music instrument and then lie him with pop up pillow so that he can drink. of cos, fans must be on. haa sound like 'ong de' or shao ye.....so the total intake of his milk ranges fr 420ml-500ml++. so now, feeding him is the biggest project man...ask for milk when hungry but dun drink. now, my caregiver (including my hubby) scared of feeding him and making me so busy....even need to cut down my slp time to go online if not I also go insane.

re:spotting.
hmm got this kind of reason mah. my bm also not much initally that's why fresh red for 2mth,1-2wk.gynae did mention that as long as bf, it is normal for spotting.

menses will reduce bm.

my boy is a exceptional case dun like yao lan. we gave him yao lan only 1 mth later cos he is quite small then. he so scared that he grabbed the shirt of us or side cloth when we lower him down. till now, he still dun like.

<font color="0077aa">kkf</font>,
hmm...I'm also subsidised rate mah...think most of us here are under subsidised rate. sad that my boy's neonatal doc went for labour liao...hope, she will still be his neonatal doc when she is bck.

did u give dash more 'pu' fr tcm??

<font color="119911">sam</font>,
for us, KKH will auto 'ask' couseling (financial and medicial one) - social worker to come and find the mummy. just give them a call or talk regards to any problem faced. usually, bills is paid thru medisave. my col 's son ask his dad to top up with his medisave.