Premature babies support group

gingal....
when i m stress, i'll nt have enuff bm for my gal... dunno y old ppl thinks tt bm is nt filling, must give fm.... my mom n grandma kept nagging me to switch to fm.... now my gal on 4 feed fm n 3 feed bm... she hates fm, so i've to dilute a bit then she will finish it...
for eczema (my gal drool alot) i used aloe vera gel on her , it cleared v fast, can get form kiddy palace....

kkf,
agree with Yan, the sling is v useful. Paige likes sitting in the sling...

daec,
gd job, both u n bb doing well.... no high bp, wow... gd news for me

gingal,
nan ha will give green & smelly stools. but if u think of the goodness (ie. helps prevent allergies), juz endure it. anyway, when bb reached the age when they start taking solid/adult food, their poo will oso b smelly haha

1 advise: if u decide to give nan ha, pls do so together with or right after ur BM no more. try NOT to let bb try out other milks first. cos, nan ha is bit 'bitter', as compared to other milk powder. once bb exposed to other powder (ie. sweet), they'll reject nan ha. n nan ha is the closest to mommy's milk

bloom,
thanks 4 helping to 'advertise' for nan ha
i hav another supporter with me..

mums
thx for ur cheers & encouragement

bloom
maybe u wait a bit longer till health more stable? its norm kids get sick when young even tho some is v bad. then later grow up is ok. my hubby, #1 is sickly as a child (even no but he has to take charge own health as big already)but his sis #2 is very healthy. dunno if this will help - but for my elder sis, her kid was v sickly. always wheezing, runny flu, often sick. now ok, she take care the diet coz some foods not suitable for the kids. when cut out or reduce to minimal, the health improve a lot. also give supplements olive leaf extract, multi-vits & elderberry

kkf
I used MIM sling until nada was ard 8-10kg then switch to ergo. I like being hands-free.

oh yan gingal, dun worry about baby slipping out of the sling, the sling we bought quite safe.

- been busy so no chance to log in

kkf
thanks thanks
looking forward to meeting you all mummies

day_c
caught in your FB about the check up
continue to jia you okie

yan
i read abt your post on yilin hearing test results. later i PM you okie. need to rush some work

Oh happy birthday to the March Babies :-
Reyden & Reyes - RR(irin) boy and gal, naddy (telly)'s gal, Kayden - smiggleprincess's boy.

such a coincidence. naddy(telly)'s gal(06 bb) and smiggleprincess's boy (08 bb) share the same birthday. exactly 2 years apart

<font color="aa00aa">
anyone encounter this when one feed bb and after 10 mins or later, milk will drip from the nose?</font> my mum and mil saw this and got scared. )(&amp;(* CL said it is ok. aiyo, my mum told mil that where got ok, scared if serious later milk go into nose then into brain and out of ear man...

just now, went SCN to collect my left over frozen ebm. forgotten to ask the nurse, later got to call and ask them why.}

<font color="119911">gingal</font>,
oic. yup, so far, I latched on thrice. since CL is ard, let her feed my bb. will only latch him when she left next mon.
at first, my right b can't even pump out up to 1 oz, after my bb latch on thrice, now can pump up to 40ml the most wor...but left
b always produce double milk than right side.

oic...I just surf my aerola and nipple and pushed my boy towards it as quick when I latched on.

re;milk supply.
my milk supply one day high, one day low one...dunno why. I also did not keep to schedule pump every 3 hrs liao. like today, went kkh for checkup,
by the time, I came back, it 's already 5.5hr past since my last pump.

do yr bb make so much noise? my bb like to stretch and stretch with so much noise. when disturb during his slp due to nappy cloth change, he will
make noise.

<font color="119911">Yan</font>,
even latch on, my bb also zzz... never,let my bb get used to the teats since we already had the avent bottles
and bought a few teats liao.

afcai,
the supply is not consistent becos your schedule is not consistent. The body only tells your bs to make as much as milk as required.. the signal it gets to make milk is when the milk is being emptied (i.e. expressed or latching). So if you have full supply inside, it will get signal to make less. One side usually produces more.. but i think not to extent of 2 times leh.. If you want to enhance production, be diligent to express even after you have latched on. this will help empty the supply so body will produce more.. hope this helps
I got enough of lecturing from Sister choo so i do it out of fear! heheheh

Premies love to splay, i.e stretch. It's due to muscle coordination and if i remember correctly. the physiotherapists will always ask us to help baby keep to centre or bring the hands to mouth, i.e. move two hands to middle in a secure position, to help them regain control of their muscles and balance. in long run, if splaying is not corrected, may lead to poorer physical development.

DM,

Mummies Breast milk bitter meh? U say nan HA is bitter and closest to taste of Bm... I tasted my own milk, it's sweet leh!!! Hahahaha, maybe I still having diabetics, had gestation diabetics when pregnant!!!

Good to hear that it prevents allergies... i will check out with the Neonat on Friday. See what she says...my girl's neonat is Dr. Mary Daniels, is she good??? Anyone also with her???

afcai,

Is your baby having reflux? maybe he spits milk while drinking and went up his nostril... are u all feeding him is an elavated position? Don't lie him too flat when feeding wor, and I have heard it will cause ear infections also...definitely not ok.
Maybe u try feed him in his sitting positions, have u seen the nurses do it before? Let him take breaks in between more often and burp him more often?
Maybe you can read about reflux online and will understand better...

Re: Struggling and stretches

Yes, Jerlynn stretches alot and struggles alot when sleeping... also make alot funny noises...I find very cute wor. Let them stretch, it means they are growing...the more they stretch, the faster they grow!
Jerlynn also likes to arch her back, I read about it before, might be due to reflux, but she is doing it lessser and lesser liao, it was said that they will out-grow it soon. Don't worry too much, if it is really a concern, ask the Neonat on your appt.

Is your boy on MCT oil supplement? Jerlynn stopped it after 3 weeks and now she doesn't arches and struggles so often liao, guess mayeb the oil too oily and makes her gag too and uncomfy on the stomach.

Another thing is as Jerlynn has lots phlegm, I can hear her clearing her throat at night too...Poor thing, if the Pearl Powder don't work, maybe need to check with Neonat if need do suction anot liao ...

If one side of your breast producing so much lesser, u might want to stimulate it more, try latch on more on that side and I'm sure it will balance out soon. Or maybe it is blocked? Try massage more...

gingal, i rec the huggies liao, very good, rec on the same day i ordered. for xl huggies comes with free promotion packs as well.

gingal,
think mommy's milk differ frm 1 mommy to another, depend on wat tat mommy eats. sometimes, when i pump at diff timing of the day, i noticed tat the 'concentration' of milk is oso diff.

but sorry, i can't ans u y nan ha is bitter &amp; is closest 2 BM .. u can ask the doc

kkf,
thanks... I will order now...

DM,
thanks also, yah loh I will ask doctor on Friday...Hope she also recommend nan ha so that it will help my girl's eczema...

I just came back from my girl's ROP check. Abit scary loh the procedures...she cried hard &amp; loud but quick and short cries, I didn't dare go near to see what the doctor was doing, but my hubby did. He said the doc clipped opened her eyes wide and then insert something into the surronding of her eyeballs and checked her.
Good news that she has passed the test very good results, no need any follow-up as doc said her eyes are very mature liao, the next follow-up will be when she turns 4 years old...Thank God!!! After the check, she felt so uncomfy that she did not want to open her eyes, abit swollen on her eyelids due to the clips that they used, but the swelling subsides now liao...Just fed her and she happily opens her eyes wide, and she kept smiling non-stop, maybe cos she knows she is at home now and the ordeal has finished.

gingal

Congrats on Jerlynn's clearing her eye check. Happy for you
Your hubby is brave. i too witness the eye check procedures. Well, its over and everything will be just ok

gingal, dont think u have to worry abt nan HA giving constipation..cos the stools are loose (lan4) type.. in fact..its the only thing preventing my gal from having constipation .. so at one pt, i mix nan HA and those normal milk (gain IQ/normal NAN) cos normal milk give her consitpation.. not sure abt the water part cos i gave my gal water since long ago.. be careful of the fart though..its a bio weapon :p btw that time i also use this MLM malelucca (sp?) moistueriser called Renew (white tube with blue words, i tink there is another one white tube with brown words) which helps in clearing her eczema toO! good taht ur gal pass her ROP!!!!!

dm, np, good things must promote :p

daec, now my gal is on colestrum and cod liver oil too..but blur mommy always forget to give cos they are in teh fridge :p

<font color="119911">mummies,
just check if we can apply ru yi oil to our premies?</font>

<font color="119911">xbliss</font>,
dunno leh, last time when I bf also like that, left side of b always produce more than right side. so far, when
I latched on thrice, I did pump out after that (everytime, I pump for 50 mins then can get 90ml). think bb when latch on does not drink so much loh. now, my bb drank
60ml within 2-2.5hr. dunno shd I increase his milk intake cos scared he will 'er ni' again as he can't take so much
in one go. so give him small meal but shorter hr (he will ask for milk).

hmm who is sis choo?

oic, last time, my gar (born wk 38) does not have this stretching issue. this boy now hor, stretch with noises and gek till face red red.

so cute, u taste yr own bm. I smell already dun dare to taste. so fishy smell.

my referal letter to neonatal checkup (31/3) doc is Dr MC chua. tml, will be brining my boy for his hernia surgery checkup.
fri still need to bring him to polyclinic for his jaundice level (last check on mon is 14x).

not sure how reflux work leh....heard before.but will find out more abt it. CL is the one who feed him. when I checked his handkerchief, the handi
always wet wet. saw CL feed him almost lying flat type. told her before but she.....last time, my mum always feed my gar and let her lie flat on the bed.
u know old folks, told them alot of times dun let bb lie flat and drink milk on bed etc...if drink bed on bed, at least place pillow under their head.
but they just dun listen. when my mum came to help out next time, I will tell her again cos I told her preemies is diff fr full-term bb.

yup, I saw nurse feed bb in sitting post, they are very steady man.... yup, nurse did tell me that this boy needed 2 burp and dun let him drink at one go.
that's what I had been telling everyone (so far, CL is the one who feed him) the feeding habit.

what is MCT oil supplement? he did not have any supplement when discharged.

hmm...bb so small can consume pearl powder??
my boy when discharged got running nose. the day before he discharged, they took his 'pi ti' (yellow and green) to test to find if there is any
infection. thks god, nothing wrong.

what is ROP check? is it a must to check?

re:b
not block. when totally empty after first pump, right side b produce abt 15-20ml of milk and the other side will be double.
dunno why also.....last time, I also like that.

re:nan HA.
SIL told me that NAN HA is bitter. she is giving her gar NAN HA as her gar got eczema . heard fr other forum mummies also.

<font color="119911">disneymickey</font>,
agreed, sometimes my bm is oily but sometimes not. ebm and fresh milk have different taste too (heard that).

kkf and all mummies here,

Sorry I couldn't attend the gathering liao.. Today I went to my gynae and found my 6cm+ cyst has not shrink.. So he scheduled me for an operation to remove it on the 21 Mar.. Not sure if I will be fit enough to attend so better remove me from the list..

Hope u all enjoy the food and the chitchat that day..

afacai,
dun worry.. they grow out of their splaying pretty soon. its just that very scary to see cos they really sound like they are in pain and the expression like so painful lor! hhahha. maybe can hold tight tight give lots of reassurance.

i suspect you have blocked ducts? maybe can massage more.

afcai,

I apply Ru Yi oil on my gal since she came back. The nurse at SCN said can apply, but since it is abit hot, only rub one drop on our palms and cover her tummy lightly with it. Cos dun want to aggitate them too much with the hotness and their delicate skin. Good for her wind, she farts alot alot...and sometimes she farts while she poo when changing her diapers and it will shoot!!! Me and hubby genna a couple times liao...me on my clothes and hubby once on his face!!! Wahahahaha

My Milk supply is also low... now is also about 120ml every 4 hourly, my girl is feeding on 70/75mls every 3 hourly, abit just nice liao...sad...I used to need to pump only about 20 mins to get same amount of milk, now due to lack of slp, i need to pump at least 40-50 mins to get the amount...getting more tired...

I just increase her intake whenever it seemed not enuff, I want her to keep to her 3 hourly feeds, if I let her take 2 hourly feeds with shorter meals, me lagi no time to pump or do other things...esp. when I'm handling her and the chores alone.

Re: EBM
yah I taste it almost everytime, cos when I warm it, I want to make sure that it is not too warm for her, so i drip a few drops on back of my palm and I lick it up! Keke, mostly sweet..why urs got fishy smell? U eat alot fish??? I eat alot fish also leh...keke...even with the plastic storage bags smell, it still taste sweet...
Anyway, I prefer to taste what I put into her mouth first, don't want to let her take what we can't even put into our mouth.

The hanky wet might be due to the flow of the milk too fast for your baby? Have u try to see when he is drinking, will the milk leak out from the sides of his mouth? Maybe not due to “Er Ni”… If it’s too fast, you can consider changing teats.
Yah loh, u gotta remind them dun lie flat and feed leh, really no good…we also dun eat our meals lying flat in bed right? It feels uncomfy for us adults too, then why do it on the kids?

Yah I can feed my girl also whilst she is in sitting position!!! Wahahaha, she actually like sit too, guai guai sucks and falling aslp. But must be very careful cos sometimes they arch their backs a lot, and might lose balance.

So good u no need supplements, my girl needs to add on MCT Oil (To help her grow faster), Poly-Vitamins, Protein Powder and Iron Drops! Now all dropped liao, only left Protein Powder to cont’d with.

ROP check is to check their eye cos they premature, they want to make sure the eye is developing well. Maybe they did it for ur boy when he was in hospital liao thus u no need follow-up with it…for mycase I need to cos they did not do it for her when she was still in hospital.

Tree_Ice,

Splaying:

True leh, Jerlynn splays much lesser liao…

shellow,

I don't know leh, the instructions on the Vits and drops say to stop at 3 weeks and 4 weeks respectively. Maybe after Neonat's review might have to cont'd with it???

tree ice, sure, take care.

Amy, welcome to join us with ur family.

The Party Gang
Dash and Violet and family (kkf and husband)
Siang Siang and family (Jane and husband)
Nada and dae-c
Bryan and family (xbliss and husband)
nana *ryan's mummy*
Kate and bloom
Ezann and family (mummylian, hubby and 3 other kids)
Irin and family (hubby and 2 kids)
Angel and precious_one (pending)
Dyland and Evans with Mich (pending)
Ruby and family

Hi hi, so i will go ahead to arrange for reporter to come?? Anyone disagree???

Anyway, yesterday bought both Dash and violet to see padetrician. Both of them really want my life, i m really going crazy. Sigh.

Dash is still coughing. It gets better then worse, gets better then worse. sigh. So this is the dunno how many times he is seeing doctor again. I think i am going to bring him tui na. If it is not so far, i will bring him there every week, but its so so so far...sianz.

Violet leh, she got very cranky at night, crying while drinking milk. Obviously she is hungry, but when she drinks, she cries, and in the end, can't finish...and gets hungry again...padetrician tot its colic or blocked nose. I think its because she got a scare when swimming.

But anyway, really sianz. everyday, I throw my temper at everyone, poor dash is the worse, cause everything he does is just not correct. He will cough on his mei mei, take things to play without asking, insists on his own way etc...really gets scolding almost every minute!

I remember dash was on a lot of vitamins lar, iron lar, dunno wat lar when he was discharged as well...

afcai, just treat ur baby like normal baby, u dun have to treat ur baby differently. Once they are fit to go home, they are actually just like normal babies liao. Can apply ru yi oil.

Feeding wise, yah, sitting position is better.

really stressed up and super tired with 2 kids.

hi KKF,

Need your help...
Do u havethe contact details for the seller that sells the diapers? I hope to go direct and buy from them instead of registering with Gmarket...Can PM me? Thanks

gingal,
icic, my gal was discharge with MCT oil, polyvits and Fe drops.... was on MCT oil for 3 mth, then was told she will b on polyvits n Fe drops n neosure till she 1 yo... diff doc give diff advise ba, n bb condition also diff ba...

kkf,
think weather is bad la, tt y every1 sick... paige also flu for more than 1 wk le.... ok le then worst again.... hope dash will get well soon

kkh,

u have the sarong sling right.. maybe u can try to sarong violet, put her in such a way tat her boby is stick to your body vertically ( her 4 limbs are spread on your body) and her head is resting on your chest. u get wat i meant? tilte her head side way, then try to feed her. if she refuse, give her pacifier if u did give her, else pet her till she settle down then give her milk. this position will calm baby down and give her a sense of sercuity too. (at least it works for yilin) and with sarong sling, if she want to be carried for long, u won't feel so tired too.
and especially at night.. feel so sleepy.. will reduce the risk of dropping the baby in case u fall alseep while feeding her.

yilin used to make a lot of noise during feeding. according to the PD, she got colic. she always arch back. so we tried this position, somehow managed to calm her down then she can drink her milk. till now, sometime she will still wayang a bit here and there, then we put her in the sarong sling again.

you have to try various position, see which position she refered best. there was one she refered we carried her in sarong looking face to face with us while drinking milk.. then we gotta use 1 hand to support her head, very shiong.. but bo bian lor..

the position she refered is very funny 1.. when she wanna sleep, she even want us to carry her in such a way tat she is lying horizontally on our arms with her face under our armpit.. ha.. maybe our armpit smell can make her sleep better.. haa....

hope my method can somehow help u a little.. no harm trying la..

hehehe yan, ur yilin so cute!! i mean her sleeping position! lol. bryan likes to put his hands under my armpit for warmth sometimes.. :p i make sure he dont do it on the day of chalet, if not cannot shake hands with his friends! heheh
he also like to kangaroo still..

kkf
y so stressed"? single handedly taking care of both of them? got mil or mum to help? i have to say sahm is really tough.. at the end of confinement, i couldnt wait to get back to work. heheheh... cos the mind cannot relax at all one.. one min here mummy, the other min there cry.. haiyohhhhhh. hahahaha!

xbliss..

yes yes.. kangaroo care position.. alamak .. i describe till so complicated.. haa.. for a period of time she like to be fed tat way..

how come they all love armpit? hahahaha....

<font color="119911">xbliss</font>,
true, my boy gek till face red red and also make so much noise. so now and then, CL will go and see him, scared he
dripped milk fr nose or mouth. just now, even the surgery doc told me that bb like to stretch so it is normal.

so far, 2 mummies also like me produce more milk fr one side of B and the other. on the third day after I delivered,
I suspected I had block ducts cos my b are hard and no matter how I pumped, nothing come out. so it took me 2 days to clear
the 'ducts' till my b red red and nearly blue black. on the 6th, my massage lady finally cleared both b for me, so relieve then.

today, my Cl applied ru yi oil on my boy's foot. oic....my mum last time,when i had my gar, she will drop a lot on
her palms (no rub) then directly apply on the bb's tummy. got to tell her when she care for my bb that she cannot do that anymore.
got excuse cos ah boy is preemies need special care mah....

yup, most time, when my bb fart, it will come with little poos.wow, yr gar pooing so powderful, dun play play,see our preemiees so
tiny but......my boy will anyhow 'treat' ppls his 'tea". my CL got twice.

re:milk.
so u pump every 4hrs? me sometimes 3-4hr(night time 4hr only) unless gp medical checkup then will delay for 4-5hr.
for me, if i pumped 4hrs (depend on timing), I can only get 90-100ml. but if pump 5-5hrs will get 135ml. goven 60ml to my boy since he discharged on 28/2, he seems not enu
and will make cry and grab something to chew(tat's the cue he want milk milk) within 2-2.5hr. so this wk, he is on 80ml and will ask for milk after 3hrs. but he took 20 mins to feed him.
wow, yr supply not bad mah...did u drink fish soup etc??

true, u super gd can handle yr bb alone, I dunno I can handle or not. so far, I have not being alone with bb before.

re:ebm
even when one drip a few drops on bck of palms, one won't lick up. u special wor...I only just use the ebm as a lotion to rub ,y hand.

yeah, saw cl fed him before we set off for his surgery checkup just now. milk leak fr his mouth cos in betw his mouth and teat got hole grap, tat's y leak.

do yr gar doze off when drinking her milk milk?

just now, when the indian surgeon doc(quite nice of him and ask me to send my rdgs to hubby) asked me how's bb? I told him the 2 issue - er ni
and stretching with noise issue. he told me burp him few times and let him sit upright for 15-20mins after feed.

u know olk folks are stubbon. not only this issue on lying flat to consume milk but when I told my mum that if bb can slp thru night, dun need to wake them up. but.....
that's y my gar now still had night feeding.

agreed, I scared I lost my balance and can't hold my bb properly if feed him in sitting position.:p.

re:supplements
any idea yr gar need so much supplements? what do u mean by all dropped liao, only left preotein powder? meaning all finished??
maybe u call scn to check. they did ask me if any qns can call bck.

re:ROP
err...duuno leh, never heard nurse mentioned.

<font color="119911">kkf</font>,
me still can't 'accept" that my boy still need special care bec he is preemies. scared this n that mah.dunno can give jin feng sang to bb or not. that's what I told cl not to till
his next review and past the edd date.

afcai,
yilin used to er ni too, now still er ni but not tat much liao.( she is almost 4mths correct age) sometime she will even still er ni after her feed 1-2hrs later even we burp her well and carry her for very long. exceptable amount, i think is very common. we always highlight to her neonat, but she always tell us it is ok. unless is tat kinda of almost all er out, then no good. if you dun feel good about it, can always raise your concern whenever u visit her. we always do tat.. ha..

so dun be too worry about it so long as she din er all the milk out and she is increasing weight, then should be ok. she will slowly out grown this stage.

hi babymaking, was on bed rest before...

thanks yan, but my back a bit painful when carrying baby in sling. ever since i gave birth, back no good, so i am selling my sling away liao. use pram better haha.

anyway, mummies, sorry no time to call reporter yet, because i was soooo troubled with the 2 kids. one got so cranky at night, cried while drinking milk, the other coughed for 2 months still coughing...

i also went for my friend's hubby wake today. died at age 31 due to accident...sigh. she has a 18 mths son...dunno how can she cope...

gingal, i ordered directly fr website, didn't contact them leh...worse, when they delivered the diapers, they never even called me, just came. lucky i am home.

kkf,
last time after i gave birth to my no.1, i also backache for quite some time. when i try to straighten my back after bending it, is like needle poking me tat kinda pain. especially after carrying her, becos i tends to hunch my back. then i went for tui na massage. feel much much better after tat.

if u use the sling right, u shouldn't feel the pain.. keep the sling 1st la.. after u treat your back, if still pain while using it then sell lah.. it is really very useful. no regrets buying it

my no.1 used to have prolong cough too. cough till merlion in the middle of the night.. we gave her the chinese herb, dang sheng. it is useful on her. very easy to prepare. wat we do is.. put a small piece of dang sheng in a small rice bowl with about half bowl of water. then put it in the rice cooker to boil it when u cook the rice. when the rice is cooked, so is the dang sheng. dang sheng is good for pu qi.. can give about twice every week. maybe u can try.
try bit by bit 1st.. the leftover u can drink too..ha... i always do tat.. ha..

hi yan,
hahah. .ur reply so funny. yar somedays all of us disappear.. too tired nearing the end of the week. i am very stressed at work...

xbliss,
too stressful? then should come to the forum more often to reduce stress..haa... i like to surf SMH whenever i m bored or stressed.

kkf,

I tried the balboa sling liao, it is good!!! I like the cushioning on the shoulders and back!!! Actually I never put it on with baby, instead my hubby put it on with my baby in it...and can fit her comfortably with support on the neck nicely...but the sling abit too long for me even when adjusted to the shortest...Boh Pian cos me short short mah, standing at 1.58m only...

Talking about being short, today we went for Dietician follow up, Jerlynn is between the close to 90th percentile range for her Head and Weight...but guess what, for her height she is nearer to the 50th percentile range! Then the Dietician asked for my HB and my height and deemed it as being generic, hahaha, my HB only 1.70m...Luckily that is the case wor, if not will worry cos she is like abit unpoportinate...

I also want to share something I learnt from the Chief Dietician and also her double confirming with the Lactation Nurse!!!

WE CAN MIX OUR BREAST MILK EXPRESSED FROM DIFFERENT TIMINGS!

Criteria:

1. Milk must not be already thawed at Room temp when mixing, must be still chilled in fridge.

ANOTHER FINDING: WE CAN EVEN MIX FORMULA WITH BREAST MILK!!!

1. We can mix eg. 30 ml of BM with 50 ml of FM into the same bottle to feed baby!!!

I wonder if Mummies here already know this, as I was previously told by some nurses that we cannot mix BM from diff timings and cannot mix BM &amp; FM on the same bottle. So idiotic right??? I actually sometimes throw away my remaining BM that cannot make up the feed my baby required, what a waste! Eg. I pumped 120ml and after my girl finished her 80ml and not asking for more, I will pour away the remaining 40ml!!! Imagine I have done this for a month, until today....!!!! I'm glad that i have learnt this today and hope this is helpful to all!!!!

babymaking

I'm still on bedrest !!! Now 31 weeks 5 days.

Was just admitted to NUH again on Tuesday. Luckily everything was okay.

juz saw gynae tis morning bb weight is 2.5kg @ 34weeks. gynae suggest c-sect may be will deliver in early april.will be seeing gynae 2 weeks ltr.

kkf,xbliss
i think i can come for the gathering next sunday.can count me in?tks.

hi jo,

I'm only 16 weeks plus and was advised to go on bedrest. I try to avoid walking except to the loo, bathe &amp; eat, but most of the time, am sitting/slouching in front of the tv or laptop.

i find it impossible to lie down/slouch on the bed all the time. How do you cope?

wow fairylander, good weight! think u will sure carry ur boy full term to 37 weeks and above.

babymaking, i was on bed rest twice before for my 2nd and 3rd pregnancies. terrible, and i hated it, but bor bian.

yes yes, see u all next sunday! time flies, wow!

btw, any mummy using avent? me waste money! i was using nuk previously, but found that violet drank very slowly (can almost an hour), so i switched to avent, yes, she drank faster, and milk was flowing out of her mouth, and worse, she vomited quite a lot after using avent. i bought a lot of bottles and teats liao, now switching back to nuk. really waste my $$$....

Now i dunno wat to use? maybe use back nuk....

kkf, don't waste your Avent bottles, you can always find teats that can fit wide Neck Bottles and use them on the bottles and try the flow with Violet. I used Pigeon Wide Neck Teats on my Avent Bottles and it worked fine with Jerlynn.

kkf,
there's trick to using Avent. Are you at No.1 teat? i.e. one hole? that's the slowest. then they have 2,3,4. If still too fast, what you can do is don't tip the bottle so high.. i.e. don't hold it perpendicular to violet mouth. Hold it about 45 deg, just making sure milk covers the hole at the tip so she don't drink air. This will reduce the rate at which milk flow out. means she cannot be in a lying down position, maybe about 45 deg upright as well.

Try different ways of holding the bottle. it's not really the bottle/teat soemtimes.

Babymaking

I was off and on bedrest since I gotten pregnant. 1st tri, was due to bleeding and cramps. Had to bedrest for 3 weeks. Then around 20 weeks, had to bedrest due to early contractions.

It's not advisable to be sitting for too long as per advice of the mummies here. It's very boring at first. My hubby gotten a nice counch for me to lay on the living room so I can watch tv. He subscribe to plenty of channels for me to watch. I also have a laptop table so I can lay down and use. Also took up some hobbies like cross stitch and knitting to pass my time. I did about 6 cross stitches to give away as presents. Now knitting a blanket for my baby. Luckily I also have frens who actually chat with me online while they are working. My Sisters also come over to my place to accompany me. I also play online mahjong at www.viwawa.com. Mahjong is a good way to pass ur time ! Also took up playing Warcraft. I also maintain a blogsite, www.joanna-shawn.blogspot.com. So there's actually plenty of stuff to keep me occuiped.

KKF
Have you heard of Dr Brown? All my cousins and aunties are using this brand. Very good feedback from them. I will also be using it. But the BPA free range is only avaliable in USA. I just ordered some online.
http://www.handi-craft.com/

tree ice,... take care ...

kkf, u wan to try tcm for dash's cough? think u better start planning some timeoff every week (eg, go aerobics/swimming) away from the kids... something for u to look forward to and exercise toO!
i rem my gf's bb last time is like violet too.she will be hungry but when the milk comes, she must cry for a few minutes (very gek sim kind of crying) before she will take the milk...my fren is understadnly upset esp when we are outside and everyone stares at her... she outgrow it later...

Yan, I am busy with work hehehehhe... u mean u let ur gal drink the water from teh dang sheng? what is the 'gong xiao?'??? or can just put in porridge (lazy me :p)?

gingal..ahaha..so means balboa sling is not for me too..i am 5cm shorter than u ahahhaha... so at least MIM is versatile enuf for short pp :p but good excuse for u to always ask ur hb to carry bb ! :p

fairylander, congrats that bb will be fullterm soon!

xbliss.wah..i never know that there is so much xue2 wen4 in using avent...

yeah! we will meeting one another this weekend!!!
kkf, can u pm me ur hp just in case i cannot find ur chalet or is late? :p