Premature babies support group

hi purebliss
congrats on ur twins. how far into preg are u now? in kkh? diff hospital got different rule, but generally 1.5kg -2kg without much issues go special care in KKH. it's just for monitoring and putting on weight. other hospitals i dunno got special care or not leh. most prob is still NICU.

shelllow
congrats!! i hope everything is well prepared!!

yan
i recently went to cut hair.. long overdue for 10mths!!! the hairdresser ask me how come so little hair! so u see,.... hai.. and i dun comb my hair anymore.. too depressing at one point. i also didnt want to "trigger" the hairloss.. maybe u can get those wide tooth comb and be more gentle lah..

kkf
i envy u can be bored ok?! i saw the spree for mooncake.. how come can have such lobang?! so weird! i lazy to buy.. taste doesnt matter to me so i buying from the Bake Inc at my void deck. got 50% off per box.. so is like $20+ per box only for 2 yolks. i tried and is not bad. so shall just get it there lah.

Oh yar, there is some set up of stalls at my void deck, there is a seller of children's books and charts.. the stuff are pretty cheap leh. u can shop shop around. it's just next to the buangkok mrt.got few other stalls selling other stuff like cushion covers, ladies and girls clothing...

Paige can go home.. great..
so you take leave to look after her?

old folk says.. when your baby is about 4-5months old, mommy will lose hair.. my 1st one.. i think so.. but not as much as now.. i start to lose now, by 4-5 months.. jialut ah...urgh~~

thanks shelllow, she will jia you..

today i gotta carry her for almost 1hr.. ha ha ha ha.. i m so happy and contented.. she look so calm and relax in my arms..

oh yes, the so call high density in her brain is gone! doctor said she is normal and it will not reoccur! yippy!!

oh, i have not tell u all my girl´s name. her name is Yi(4) Lin(2). and guess wat.. her surname is Cai.. ha... sound familiar like a taiwan pop singer? ha... but the chinese character is different lah, and the Yi is prononue different too..

just now saw a husband wheelchair his wife out of Yilin´s room. i think their baby just get in there. she was crying,.. this remind me of myself when i 1st saw my baby there.. i feel like crying too when i see her like tat.. hope she can get over it and pull herself together soon.. dun let herself fall into depression.. we can´t affort tat.. we need to be strong to take care of our baby.. we are their support..

i used to cry too, especially when i express milk.. i even sit on the hospital bed cry for half and hour non stop when i taking the medicine..

jia you jia you all mommies!!

xbliss,

think we better check regularly see our scalp got hole anot... my hair will drop even i use my fingers leh.. or even w/o touching.. can use those hair growth product when breast feeding anot?

Yan,
It is normal, I remember I cried too when I am expressing the milk at the wee hours
as I paste all my boys photos on the wall so I will face them when I sit on the couch and express milk
hmm.... cai yilin, your gal wants to be a diva too

Shelllow big day today! congrats on paige going home!

purebliss, if you gynae decided to let your babies come out, think he/she must feel that they are of good weight and healthy enough, so dun worry. anyway to me 36 weeks are not premature at all. they already very good weeks. dun think they even need to stay in hospital.

i think i m one emotionless mummy. when I saw dash after he was borned, i did not cry. Maybe because my mum kept telling me i am 27 weekers too, and can survive, so i thought no problem for my boy.

even last time i saw my 23 weekers in nicu, i also did not cry. I was too gong that time. I did not even know what was happening to me.

Yan, i did not lose my hair leh. My hair is a lot one, very messy. Now is still very messy and a lot. But i did hear of that before, my colleague after giving birth also loses hair. Maybe you want to do some scalp massage.

Costa, my boy opposite, if the teachers or me speak to him in english, he will blur blur look at us. I suspect he doesn't know what is going on in school because the teachers speak english.

haiz... another boring day for me. this morning woke up, felt like if I am preparing for work now, how nice it will be.

But then I only like to be with my colleague, not with my students. haha.

xbliss, good morning! I am already coming to my 33 weeks pregnancy. Girls weight generally okay, 1.8kg each @ 31 weeks 3 days. My gynae going to give me steriod jab next Friday cos I am due to csection on 29 Sept. I am nt in KKH, from tmc. My gynae assured me that so long they cross 2kg marking, they should not be in NICU already. By then when i give birth to them, they are 35 weeks 6 days.

oh btw, colleague told me she has difficulty getting into dash's website, like will hang there. anyone has the same problem?

hi purebliss

yes as mention by xbliss different hospital has different practise... maybe u wish to check with your gynae. but in KKH, baby above 2 kg without much complications will be at SCN for observations and care. Let us know your progress

Yan
Am glad to know that Yilin high density issue has been resolved by itself. she is really a brave ger. send my hug hug to her. and tell her to breath and breath and drink milk milk
jia you!

i also remember...when i was first wheel chair bound to see siang in NICU (during his first few days of arriving), i cried and cried looking at him through the incubator too... i know how the mummy must have felt. i hope she will stand up bravely soon. it takes lots of courage but i am sure she will

yan, you are very brave & strong. i really toke quite a while to stand up and learn to be brave...

shelllow

today is busy but definitely happy day for you and paige
congrats and hope to see paige home taken pic soon ;)

Jane,
I was also in the wheelchair when I went to see D&D, the next day after I dellivered, I was too gan cheong, I stand up and hold their hands, ouch... too painful
then I cried after seeing my tiny babies, but my parents and hb consoled me (I still remembered), me nowadays still will cry whenever I see those preemies on Ch70....

kkf, no problem accessing to Dash's blog.
I'm not preggy but have been getting migraine these few days.....sianz.

fairylander, tks for your concern. A is also down with cough, didn't attend sch since last Monday, just keep her at home.

shellow
Congrats....Paige is going home....get excited and busy soon.

jane/didi...same here I was on wheelchair when I first saw A. I also stand up to take a clearer look at her. I was too stunned to cry cos I have not come across a baby so tiny but then when I turned around and see other babies also as small as A, I felt consoled. I felt heartache and quilty though. That was then!

purebliss,
i personally think >2kg & >35wks shld b ok. i gave birth to my ger @34wks & 1.4kg. gynae gave me a jab 2 strengthen her lungs. n luckily, she has no prob breathing after birth, so she only need 2 stay in NICU 2 learn 2 suck & gain weight. she stayed in NICU for abt 2wks then transferred to normal SCN for another 1wk.

juz in case u need a guide, her total stay @Mt A is abt $10k, out of which, the bulkis off-set by medisave.

didi/jane/yan,
i didn't cry when i went 2 c my ger in NICU. but i cried badly at nite, at home, when she couldn't come home w me. i rem crying, y other bb can go home but she can't..sigh..those were the days..

kkf,
y dun u pick up simple hobby, such as cross-stich, or jigsaw puzzle? can keep urself occupied. but of cos, i guess dash is keeping u bz
or can u take a stroll 2 nearby mall? go to the lib & read oso can pass time rt?

Poor Craydon is down with heavy flu and cough.. I also kana the virus from him and was sick for myself.. Lucky now I got better and can take care of him.. Sighz.. almost a few feed he will vomit and I m afraid this will be a repeated case of him losing lotsa weight..
My hubby and fil took him to see a doc yest and came back with 4 medicines
Hope he recover well and gain much weight for his coming 1yo birthday

I suspect I preggy *scared!*. I waiting now for my sis to buy me the preg kit. keep feeling sick and nausea. thot its just coz I am sick and recover slow coz I am fasting now. but then menses late leh

dm
same here. when I there, didnt cry. cry mostly at home when she not with me or when not enuff BM, then I felt really guilty

I feel ok, better when i see her coz I know she was doing alrite. when she in tummy, dr kept saying stuff scare me. the uncertainty was worrying. heartbeat was gone for while that;s why ermegency c-section

didi,precious_one, Dm,
those were the days... i also cry at night when i am home (after visiting siang everyday)...

didi
does Ch70 show premmies?

daec
wowhoo! i am so excited for you

hi powergal
oh oh.... think gotten keep craydon warm. take care ah.. don't worry, i am sure craydon will get well in time for his birthday in October

powergal,
do take care. u need to be well enuff then u can care 4 craydon. ws oso juz recovered frm her flu & cough. hope she won't kenna again cos we r gg bali end of sep..

jane,
somehow having a premature bb gives me motivation 2 pump more breastmilk. i think if my bb is not premature, i may not hav the motivation & determination 2 give her breastmilk for 8mths!! cos i know she's premature & weaker, thus hav to give good stuff

hi DM

You are going bali end of sept (2nd visit right). may i know..is bali suitable for toodler of siang age?

somehow, u hit a corner of my heart ... me too. honestly if not if siang is premature, i think...i am not sure i would persist that much with pumping BM...and crying when i could not have much during the initial stage...and feeling over the cloud when finally i have enough for him...

DM, Jane
Yeah, what's worst is when the lactation, nurses, neo nat told me that A being very premie can only drink breast milk.....I was so pressurised, so I pump I pump and pump until sore nipple etc. Come to think of it, engorgement is worst than pregnancy.

Daec
Good news coming.....so happy for you. Went to your blog just now...Nada is getting prettier and prettier and so is her mummy, still can't see your fats...lei!!

I recalled I didn't really cry when A was hospitalised for 6 mths but I cried a lot more when I brought her home cos nursing her is so so tough. Faintz....I'm so grateful that she is what she is now.

Precious One,
Ya, I also ask my hb why why I can't see my babies immediately I delivered ? actually I wanted a epidural c-section, so we can witnessed the birth of D&D, aiyah guessed that time too emotional and none of friends or relatives gave birth to preemies

Jane,
Ch70 not exactly has any solely preemies features but as there is a lot of programmes on giving birth to twins/ triplets, sextuplets etc so they tend to give birth to preemies so I always watch, do you have ch70, good thing that my gf recommended this ch to to me, there's quite a few programmes on parenting, etc.....

hi precious_one

all the tears have paid off... that time my confinement see i cry, she also dunno what to say, except tell me, all will be ok..all will be ok..

yes me too am just grateful for siang as what he is now...

didi,
i see. erh ch70 is under SCV? haha i really am one who don't watch tv :p... i don't know if i have ch70 at home. i can go home and press 70 and see what comes out hahaha!!

funny jane keke

i like to watch channel newsasia but i don't know its under channel what. i only press and try and happy when i see the A word on the screen hehe (that's when i know i got the right channel). sometime i watch news and yes, sports news....

i have given up catching up with tv series because i am really never able to catch up. i like to watch documentation (wild life, geographical etc). there was one series about penguin. that is really touching...

haha what am i sprouting here keke... awww i am tired and want to sleep and work is never ending..can i go home?? keke

fairylander..then rest more.. maybe also bcos u have to juggle older kid.. (not as if can zzzz the moment u reach home..)

powergal..ahaha.. thats what i am thinking too... if its 3 more oz at night... let her drink and fatten up faster :p but now after almost 2 yrs..i am tired liao.... try the rub-bb-vicks-on-soles-and-wear-socks method ... hope it will help crayon recover faster...

kkf, u can play ball with dash once bb comes out.. its not a daddy thing u know... or maybe i am chor lor mommy... i bought from raffles hotel last yr..nice..ehehe..this yr going to try goodwood....

costa..one thing i notice hor..seems that pd loves neubiliser .... but does not seem to work on kate... hahaha..the way u desc is so funi..that bern looks blur when u speak mandarin to him...

jane, xbliss.heheh..the 2 boys really look alike... next time bring them out and pretend they are brothers :p

jane, didi, precious_one, why r u on wheelchair then? the nurse force me to get out of bed on day2 already leh... day1 on drip so never leave the bed...

shelllow, mmmm.. bring her to see nanny when she is discharged to see how nanny handle her loh.... congrats taht paige is going home!

dm. right now my 'soln' is nanny loh..but like waht u say..its like she is not learning anything... sighhh

yan, i tink its 'common' to drop birth after birth due to hormonal changes..

xbliss, many credit cards have 15% off mooncakes too... plus more disct if > 20/50/100 boxes... staff might have more disct too

yan, congrats on the brain density disappearing!

i also din cry when i see my gal in scn leh..but of course she is much bigger at 1.8kg.... and of course i am ignorant didn't know that hospital got many germs too...

daec..dont be scard.its good news right? ur gynae is so bad to scare u!

dm, jane... me too! the nurse tell me, my bb will not have antyhign to drink if there is no bm (cos she canot keep FM down.. always regurgitate)... nightmare!

bloom,
u are right, different kids react differently to nebulizer..tts why the paedi gv him one shot of it and then see his reaction to it...sigh..

yah, bern lks vy blur when i talk to him in mandarin..i ask him "ni jiao she mo ming"(what is yr name in mandarin)...he will repeat the last two words "mo ming" hahhaha....dem hilarious...

hmm...i got up to walk after birth....and i fainted..when i went to nicu..it was on wheelchair...cant even stand up properly....but if i m not wrong, they try not to let wheelchairs go into the nicu/scn becuz they said the wheels will dirty the floor there wor....

daec
Congratulations!
yippy! another mother to be after kkf, fairylander
this forum is having the mood for baby

actually now u kind of as a SAHM be good to conceived too... nada is going to be very very happy

bloom
I guess gynae just say wat is going to happen. but end up scare me coz thk baby not growin well, born so soon

Bloom,
I was on wheelchair cause I wanted to see the boys on the second day so I needed to sit on the wheelchair and go to ICU with the drip etc
on the second day I got up from my bed while waiting for the amah to change my bedsheet cause I was told that if I don't try to get up from 2nd day, sunsequently it will be quite difficult to get up from bed, and I stay about 3 nites in the ward and was discharged (I requested for it and doc say he rarely discharge patients that soon), cause I know I will recover better at home

costa & kkf,
dun worry abt bernard & dash's language capability. they'll pick up very fast once they go sch. initially, ws oso refused to speak mandarin, after few mths in sch, she can speak both languages well. my mom told me, she can pick up her chinese book & narate the whole story to herself. she can even say the story in english. think she memorize the story, after hearing it zillion times haha.

juz now my mom told me, she asked ws (in chinese) ah gong's bday wat r u gg 2 buy 4 him? she ans her, wan to buy a cake, then she go dig $ frm her piggy bank & give to ah gong, say ur bday, i give u $ buy cake haha

dm,
ws so clever ger.....can pick up so fast and tell story somemore...can say want to buy cake some more...her chinese sure vy powerful

didi,
sigh, who wants to sit in wheelchair..me oso mah see bo bian...had to be on drips for two wks and everytime get out of bed must be wif everythg and must express bm whilst struggling wif drips..realy not easy

daec,
congrats....

daec
Congrats, congrats and more congrats...meantime...take plenty of rest and chat more...so good kkf, fairylander and your kid will be born in the same year...have play mates already.

Bloom
Throughout my pregnancy, I was confined in bed and wheel chair bound so after giving birth, I cannot walk steadily on my own due to prolong lying down. I felt funny when my feet touch the ground, machan "soft leg wind" in Hokkien. In fact I fell on the 2nd day when I thought I could walk and stand on my own but the leg just don't listen to you.

precious, costa, bloom, didi

think mine shld be 2009.

hehe precious, my fats hidden in lower body heheh. face small. think nada is like me too, small face but chubby thighs hehe

bloom
me too wheelchair, only saw babe on 3rd day. no drips. but c-section mah, can walk very slowly then NICU so far. wanted to go earlier, but cant coz under observation

Costa,
ya lor, the 3 days while I was at the ward, aiyoh, looked like a messy woman
hair oily and didn't bathe, you two weeks drip, wah you are a super mommy, me 2-3 days already tak boleh tahan

Jane,
ch70 can be found on digital set-up box, previously I have the 'black' box so dun have the channel

hi mums

going to have to cheong my diet to eat better.
just found this on some forum for pre-enclampsia.

>---------
My birth coach said low protein diets caused preenclampsia and had
all of us in her class on a high protein diet.

I second the suggestion to follow Dr Brewer's recommendations. I was diagnosed with pre-eclampsia at 31 weeks, and they thought I was going to have to be induced within two weeks. But I made it all the way to
week 37 on bed rest and mountains of protein. In a nutshell: 120 g of protein a day and salt your food to taste. That's it. His baseline is a
quart of milk and two eggs daily. I didn't want to see another egg for a couple of years!
But Josie, my daughter, was a healthy, healthy
baby and is a very healthy 10-year-old girl now, rarely getting sick---

links
pre-enclampsia http://home.mindspring.com/~djsnjones/id36.html

premature labour
http://home.mindspring.com/~djsnjones/id38.html

Jane, Bloom & DM,

Thanks!! I will try the rub-bb-vicks-on-soles-and-wear-socks method.. Hopefully he can recover fast!! I hate cleaning up the mess after he "merlion"

didi,

Mine is the digital setup box one and ch70 has to subcribe then can watch leh.. not free de..

shelllow,

Congrats!! And now u can start tidy up Paige's cot liao.. I rem that time when I learn Craydon is coming home the next day, I m so happy looking at the baby cot telling myself, from tomolo onwards, this bed won't be empty again..

daec,

Congrats and congrats!! I hope next yr this date it will be my turn to announce it here.. Stay positive..

Hello, wow so many posts here today, very re nao.

First congrats daec!
Yeah, our babies will be year 2009 babies (if mine will be good and stay inside my womb till year 2009). Mine is feb, think fairylander's one shd be around april or may, and yours will be around june?

After giving birth my first one, I was still very strong, could walk around 2nd day leh. But for dash, I felt dizzy once I stood up. I think I lost quite a lot of blood.

Coming to think of it, me quite scare of giving birth, I kept thinking for us women giving birth is a dangerous thing. You know what, yet a mummy (the same mummy whom I had mentioned before) in the feb mum to be thread said she intended to give birth at home!!! Thats her 3rd child, she said she doesn't like the way the nurses handle her. I was thinking "wat a crazy woman!". For me, I am soooo worried to give birth elsewhere other than hospital, cause I will be very gan cheong, and also, I want all the professionals to standby to give me help if necessary. Of course, another concern is the health of the baby.

Dm, you going overseas again? I really envy you leh, travel around. WS is very smart leh. I am trying hard to teach dash to speak more english nowadays, at least now he can say a few full sentences like "this is a tree". haha, very simple sentences. For chinese, def no problem he can speak very chim stuff also can.

I suddenly find dash has grown up. no longer as cute as he was a baby, haha. I think babies are cuter!
hope I will have another little baby in my arms successfully!

Powergal, I standby a small basin when dash got cough and vomited. In that way, easier to clean up. Anyway, vomiting is very normal with kids who are sick. Now dash sometimes, even if not sick, he gets choke or wat he will vomit too, but now he is big liao, he will tell us when he wants to vomit so we will quickly brings him to toilet.

Channel 70 got premiees? then I want to watch leh, since I so free at home.

Nowadays the only thing I do is to watch tv, watch and watch. its a routine, 1030-1pm watch scv channel, dash will go play on his own while waiting for por por or mah mah to come. Then nap time for us, then 330-630pm tv again. then all the way 8-11pm watch tv with hubby again.

I think I am going tv crazy.

I will like to learn something like cross stitch too dm, but I simply just lack of one thing "patience"!

powergal

come i teach u.. i the merlion expert.. up til a month ago, bryan usually merlion some of his feeds daily.. standby the wastepaper basket nearby or put diaper cloths (that u don't need or use) around his neck when u feed/burp him. when he got action, at least easier to clean up. dun feed on ur bed.. else if kena bed.. i tell u man.. the mess!!!

i cant find bb vicks so i used snuffle babes brand. it's suitable for infants cos less "qiang4". rub some vicks on his chest area too. Very tiring to have clean their mucus or suck for them rite?! haiz... hate it when bbies sick!!!

Bryan still having some slight diarrhea.. has been on since sat as he is teething despite giving doc medication. ai.. so sian to clean up the mess and attend to the diaper rash too.

daec
u join in the gang! think u are second after kkf in our thread to conceive after having premie? u bring us all lots of hope!!! the only thing i find comfort in is that we all seem to be able to conceive easily as compared to some others who have to ttc alot..
do hope things in ur family work out nicely so u can have an enjoyable preg.

Shelllow,
congrats and happy bonding!!!

Yan
Congrats. this is the best news for u??? after this will be yilin's return home that is the next good news i hope? see.. our prayers work wonders! stay positive

re: NICU

how did u all get into te topic of wheelchair and crying during expressing?!?!?! hehehe..i also wheelchair into NICU. i amthe most chicken.. i only dare to visit bryan on 3rd day cos i dunno how to face him and i scared i flood nicu. so i cry and cry first 2 days on my bed until the msw come. hai.. those were the days..

kkf/jane,
ya, gg bali end sep. rem, was bit hesitant cos gg with parents & MIL?? well, initially, MIl got her sis 2 go together. but her sis fell down, so got 2 backout. think she'll feel lonely or left-out. but bo bian..

jane, 1st time gg bali la. when i come bacck then i let u know if ok 2 bring kids heehee..

xbliss & powergal,
me oso use the dustbin method..cos whenever ws has cough, she'll surely vomit out when drinking milk. bo bian la, when she choke or wan to cough, cannot control one la, so will merlion lor. another method i learnt now is, let her drink frm straw (instead of milk bottle). at least she's standing up/sitting upright when drinking milk, rather than lying down.

hope all our little kiddos recover fast.. i've been sleeping in non-aircon rm for the past 2wks, joked w hubby tat our last mth's electricity bill sure low haha..

Powergal,
yup, got to pay but it is quite ok as it is under basic group and not one of those premier channels

Morning mummies, been wanting to ask you all this question but forgot.

Dash is getting more and more timid leh. how? You see har, when he watches advertisement, like the father who gambles and wants to get her daughter's piggy bank money and say "I will return all to you, I promise this is the one last time", dash will be so afraid to watch! he will run away, or come to us to ask us to cover his ears.

then when he watches the octopus show, got one scene, the cake drops into the lake, his daddy teases him "how? cake drops into the lake liao? cannot eat liao! octopus is very sad" blar blar, he will start to cry! when the caterpillar gets blown away by the wind while holding a balloon, he will start to cry too.

He watches handphone advertisment (i think so) whereby the man suddenly breaks into pieces, he will be so frighten.

Then the leapfrog dvd about phonics, I wanted to let him learn phonics so I switch on for him to watch, but sadly, he doesn't want to watch, because there is a scene whereby a big snowball rolls down and he gets very scare.

He doesnt even dare to walk to the bookcase in front of our bed to get books to read! (it is just in front of our bed, and i am lying down there!).

When I go toilet, he will say "pa pa, pa pa" too! aiyo!

he is very timid leh...how har? anybody's child like that?

I know he is one very kind boy who doesn't like bad things to happen and he will get very scare. but then I dunno whether if continue like that, he will grow up to be very very timid.

hello, am new here, can i ask if any mummies with premature babies where the baby went thru operation to remove hernia before they were discharged from nicu? is it normal, how did baby recover? pls advise. tks.

kkf,
i still think dash's behaviour (ie. timid, clingy, etc) has got something to do with ur pregnancy

anyway, u know abt the ad on soya waiting outside the delivery ward, then the nurse came out & announce "it's a bar"?? ws oso v "scared" of this ad. she'll say, "i dun wan 2 watch.." whenever this ad came out. then i juz tell her, then dun watch. then now, she's ok w it alrdy. sometimes she oso gg crazy when her cuz wans to watch barney vcd, she'll b v 'scared' & say dun wan barney, so i tell her, gor gor wans to watch, if u dun wan 2 watch, juz turn away..sometimes cannot give in 2 much la..

shellow
Congrats on ur babe going home

powergal, xbliss

yes hope this time will be better pregnancy

its true being able to conceive is already a blessing. as someone reminded me, start premmie but later on - it will balance out ;)

kkf
erh I dun remember when my last menses etc to calculate EDD. I guess it will be ard may to june period

vine
my girl went for hernia op. Its quite common. The op went smoothly and she recovered fast. Didnt seem to feel any pain or anything before/after the op,she was more upset that she cant have milk couple of hr before the op. slept a lot after op.

She was still in SCN when they operated. was discharged 3 days later.

Dear moms, i'm Yan's husband. wasn't able to attend the Monthly Thursday meet at NICU yesterday. Thus asked wife to record the conversations down.
Am still listening to it, thought there are some useful info to share, attached the mp3 file here for you all to download.
not super clear, i did a bit editing and with earphones you should be able to hear most of the conversations.

NICU 4 Sep Parent Meet.mp3

(www.babythingy.com is our own website, so dun worry about virus

note that it's an hour plus long, the file is 32MB..so be patience when downloading.

Thanks to all for the support.

vine
yes in KK. think less than $500. mine is at C-class rates so depends on that too. My girl is now 1yr 4mths (actual). she had the op done when she less than 2mths old. after discharge, there is 2-3checks every 6mths.now no more already. hope it helps lessen ur worry.