Premature babies support group

Hi vine, hernia operation is very commmon and is a very simple surgery. Nothing to worry about. Normally it just takes 2-3 days to recover, and around 2 times check at kkh for the wound, then will discharge. As for how much me not very sure.

My son is coming to 3 years old liao. He went thru hernia operation during his 2nd month.

dm, dun think so leh, he is already very timid before my pregnancy. But maybe you are right. I shd really start thinking about how to make him accept his new sibling...hmm.

Hi Yan, your hubby is the photographer ah?

I have wanted to join in the bulk purchase before too! haha. Cause every year I will have dash photos taken at studio.

kkf
A used to be a little timid when she was younger. Now she is bolder except that we just move into our new apartment and she does not walk into the bedroom as readily as when she was in our old flat. For the last few nights, she wants us to bao bao her then she will fall asleep in our arm then we put her down to bed. So children react differently at different stage and different time. CHANGE is a very scary thing to children perhaps, though it is supposed to be a constant in real world. Anyway I second DM that his ultra timidness got to do with the your current pregnancy. He is at this attention seeking stage which is very very common for a toddler when he knows there's a new baby coming, somehow they will feel threaten. After the baby arrives, he will either love or hate the baby for a start. Many love their little sibling.

costa, ur pd is better, kate's ex pd always uses neubiliser when i dont think its effective... woow..must have scare everyone when u fainted... express bm with drip..wow....

daec..congrats!!!!
chubby thighs is good.. buay tahan those chinese gals with their chopsticks legs,.. esp when u know they dieted for it... i thot salt is not good for bp?

dm, ws is so fillal to her ah gong!

precious_one, o i c... must be very weak after being confined to bed for so long...

didi..hahaha..me lagi worse.. i had oily scalp plus curly/frizzy hair... so have to wash my hair everyday one... one of these days maybe i cut the pic that my hb took of my terribhle hair during confinment and show u all for a laugh :p i am still using black box! :p

powerful, xbliss, sorry.. dont thnk vicks brand have bb version.... the brand i use is robinson or something...

shelllow, busy with paige at home? update us when u r free ok

kkf, how abt getting those sudoku books? maybe check with dash why he is scared? and maybe next time when those advert comes hug him tightly?

xbliss..i canot conceive easily leh.... hahaha..msw must be super worried abt u....

wc chew, thanks for the link!

yesterday my gal jump on the sofa until she almost jump out...gimme a scare!!! this gal is always like that..now she likes to step onthe seat of her rocking lion (lion version of rocking horse) and stand and rock..jia lak.... she got absolutely no sense of danger...

bloom,
yes, dunnoe why my experience has to be so drama.....fainted a few times in the hospital..before that, choy choy..dun noe wat fainting feels like

it has been really nt easy for me during my long stay in the hospital...really dun thk i want to go thru all this again...yes, i was on drip for the whole of the 40days stay in hospital....even after birth...my two hands already bo swee and now wif the needle holes for d drips look even uglier..

wc chew, thanks

vine,
sm babies here went for hernia operation....hope the mummies are able to advise you...

bloom,
looks like kate is another char lor girl like my ws
almost every few days, she'll come back w a blue black on her shin.. i gave up asking where she kenna haha.

tell u another funny episode. last nite when i came back, my parents were quarrelling.then ws went home & told her daddy this: "ah gong scold ah ma, then ah ma scold ah gong, then ah gong scold ah ma again" haha.. hubby & me laff until peng.. somemore can tell u, they r v loud

Bloom,
I also use the 'black' box for a LONG time, until 1 mth ago then change it to Digital cause some channels are not offered in Black Box

bloom
I also thot salt no gd. I likely go and use sea salt. of coz, if u tell dr all this, they say it not wrong. but seem work for some ladies. another thing I read is to have enuff daily magnesium.make sense the way dr will give u magnesium sulfate like siao to lower BP if admitted to hospital.

contacted Di of Parentlink again. she's also the lady in charge of the support programmes at the hospital including KK for the pregnancy w complications. gave me 2 links to read. thk i have spoken to 2 dr,3 doulas, 1 midwife/nurse. she the only one give me a different light on this issue. she used to be based in US

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0ISW/is_256/ai_n6258848
http://www.blueribbonbaby.org/

..' This diet will prevent toxemia, other maternal complications, and all kinds of neurological, physical, motor, and behavior abnormalities in the child. I tested this diet for over 30 years on thousands of patients and those who followed it never had eclampsia, anemia, abruption of the placenta, severe infections of the lungs, kidneys, or liver, low birth weight babies, premature birth, or miscarriage, and all of their children were healthy.

It takes courage to adopt this diet because the concept behind it, that malnutrition is the cause of toxemia and other diseases associated with pregnancy, remains very unpopular in American obstetrics...'
Instead of focusing on food, they focus on drugs. They keep looking for a remedy that will cure toxemia. They prescribe diuretics for edema, hypertensives for high blood pressure, and drugs that suppress the appetite for weight loss. Those do nothing to prevent or reverse Metabolic Toxemia of Late Pregnancy, they just make it worse.

People have been recommending supplements, too, like calcium, fish oil, and an aspirin a day, all of which are supposed to prevent toxemia. But research published in the medical journals show that these aren't effective, either. (76-79,81) Calcium, aspirin, essential fatty acids, and other supplements can't take the place of good food.

wow daec, you really work hard to find solutions to the root of your problems.

But sadly, my problem is not the same as yours. Mine is not due to high blood pressure. Mine was just early contractions that led to babies been borned. Gynae said its not incompetent cervix, and had no explainations for that. So even if I want to find the root of my problems also not possible. sigh. I think most likely genetic factor, cause my mum had my sis and I early too. The only solution I can think of is to rest more. So thats what I am doing now...

felt a bit funnie, think going to have flu, I really hope not, cause I dun want to eat medicines.

kkf,

oh, he is a freelance photographer.
trying to earn some extra income..hee...

find that the coffee afternoon session is quite useful. everybody giving each other support. like what the speaker said,, only we who have premies know the pain and so we can understand better.

last 2 days, i nearly break down.. i work so hard(i think i did lah) to pump milk every 3hr, if possible i will try to do it every 2 and half hourly, but my supply still doesn´t seem to improve..
still the same 10-15ml... have been thinking , should i give up.. but i don´t wish to.. really devastated.. disheartening... it have been 3 weeks plus already... y other people seem so easy...

there was this china lady at the coffee afternoon session. she pump 40ml in the 1st week she still think is little.. alamak.. then i how.... ok lah.. she din know tat starting the milk will not be much lah... but after the coffee session,, few moms stay back to chit chat.. i told her this is my 2nd baby.. then she said... 2nd baby already still no milk supply ah.. i feel a bit hurt lor...
she tot everybody so easy like her meh... sigh...

Dun mind me saying, china people are very straight with their words. Dun bother about her.

I understand your agony and fustration. Last time my milk supply also very pathetic...

I tell you wat, dun give yourself pressure, pump as much as you can and let you dd drinks watever milk you pump for her. dun give up. Some is better than none right?

If really bor bian, formula milk is ok one, dun worry. You know last time when I was in nicu, my mum didn't even pump any milk for me. But look at me, I still survive and is 172m tall with a good weight, dun worry. (bloom not trying to show off my premature status again hor...hee).

Dun give yourself pressure, wait go into depression how? Dun think too much, just pump watever you have. try drink more soup, esp green papaya fish soup.

Last time me also like that, not enough bor bian.
I just give my boy watever I had, until the 3rd month, really demand cannot meet supply and I am going back work, then I stop. I tell u sometimes drinking formula can gain weight faster!
My boy drank neosure, and he gained weight very fast.

Yan,
don't feel sad, you have tried your best
ignore such people, next time must steer far far away from them
they are so inconsiderate of people's feelings
but can I know which breast pump are you using, as I felt some of those breast pumps not so effective to yield good amt of milk....

kkf, at least u can supply your baby till 3rd month,, mine.. now she gotto take a few meals of formula liao leh..

didi,
at 1st i used medela mini electric then now switched to medela swing.

ever since i start pumping (3 weeks ago), my breast pain pain till now.. hmm... my upper back is aching.. hmm... my fingers are aching cos i use my hands too..

Hi Yan, no leh, my supply till 3rd month is mixed with formula milk at times too cause not enough and I finally gave up!

Did you breastfeed your elder gal?

When dash was in nicu, he drank a couple of formula milk too.

Btw, tell you, I have 4 milk pumps! imagine? Because that time I had not enough supply and was like you, very upset, I have one nuk pump, 2 medela electric (bought another thought the previous one was spoilt so my milk could not come out, haha), and one medela manual!

You see, not only you like that. Just gave your dd watever you can pump. Try your best. thats enough, anyway, little is better than none.

recently kept having migranes or headaches, really want my life. wonder wats wrong with my head.

dunno if its due to pregnancy, but 2nd trimester liao still like that...its like every 3 days will have one headache that kind, and its like very painful until sometimes I really need to take panadols.

costa...wow... poor u... *sayang*

dm..ahahah.. ws so funi.. but at least she is not tramatised by ur parents quarreling..

didi, my hb is already always sitting in front of the tv with the black box (and not helping out much)..canot image if we switch to digital!

daec, thanks for all the URL!
now i am trying to eat more (protein and carbo) to prep my body..but frankly speaking.. its very hard for my stomach to contain more food liao.. not so big apetite...

kkf, i think urs is the same as another mommy i know.. her gynae said the womb/cervix (cannot rem which one liao) cannot sppt the bb beyond the wgt...but of course no reason given on why that happen... u better tell ur gynae abt the headaches..cos headaches is a sign of high BP (the pre eclampsia mommy talking again)... wahh.. u premmie is 1.73m!!!! i am full term and i am only 1.53!!!!! ahahahahah

yan, the rest are right..ignore her.. some pp are blessed with abundence of milk... many of us are not... if u r really concerned, do u wana ask the nurse to give u the meds to increase the ss? last time i also use my hand alot (cos my funny boobs cannot work well with machines)..in the end my wrists and fingers all in pain for months.... it only recover months after i stop bf-ing...

Bloom, thats interesting! so the mummy has children?

Yah, my worries too about high bp. I will tell my gynae. But for my last two pregnancies, I also had headaches. But not sure if so frequent. I remembered I vomited before during my pregnancy due to the nasty headaches.

Yan,
I see, think you have to keep on pumping, dun give up, just give your bb whatever you have
bloom is rite, you can ask the nurse to get the prescription for you to increase your supply

kkf
me like do research hehe. magnesium may help too. anyway brewer diet cld be relevant to premature labour too.

' The evidence is clear, in our opinion, that the large majority of premature, or preterm, babies born each year in the United States are the direct and indirect result of maternal malnutrition and hypovolemia. Clinical research shows that all but about 1 percent of these early births can be prevented.
http://home.mindspring.com/~djsnjones/id38.html

me too havin nausea. dunno if its coz I dun eat enuf. at home not much food coz everyone fasting. want to go out buy - most of the malay shops are closed too.

i used to have headaches too for 4th mth but my high bld only came ard 6mth. I not so scared for headaches coz menses always have headache anyway. norm I drink milk I feel better. guess its the calcium and magnesium in it. heard tt help for most ladies. can try tt ?

hehe some dr will say mummy sick like dis is 'gd'. means healthier baby.

yan
jia yuo! just ignore those others, do remember we here all in same boat. every single drop ( not matter how little) is great. just give what u can and dun worry k.

hehe my hubby also turning freelance photographer

costa
so poor thing. glad got thru that alredy and happy with healthy babe now.

bloom
I also tryin eat more protein but not easy either. maybe u try bit bit every few hrs ? also read water retention can come due to lack of Vit B6.for me that was first indicator of high bld.

kkf,
dun be too border by the headache. try doing something to distract yourself over the pain. or take white panadol, my doctor said it is alright to take.

i tried to breastfed my elder gal, but got to top up with formula for most of the time.

wah.. u win liao lor.. i used 3 pumps. tried avent manual, medela mini electric and now medela swing..ha..

ya i won´t give up.. though is tough.. i really dun wish to give up..

bloom and didi,
i m on 2nd course of the med now. the nurse even doubled the dose for me liao...

hmm... must work hard! work hard and work hard!!

Costa,
Just went to Bern's blog, hey, he is guai hor
allowed your maid to put on the mask
that time when Dylan needed the mask, aiyoh he is so reluctant to put on.....

daec, how much your hubby charges har? hee

I ate a lot a lot, think in terms of nutrition, I def no problem, haha, maybe too much!

I really dunno the cause of my problem, I just hope every pregnancy is different, and this one of mine will be a smooth and successful one.

wah. so much of psyching going on. all the preggy mummies jia you! all the nursing mummies also jia you!!

yan, u so cute! i remember those days when i was so stressed like u. i can't imagine how i could have been so hardworking if i had an older child to care to at the same time!! dun worry yan, my milk supply only came in "strongly!" around 2nd week.. i.e. about 30ml per pump. after that; everytime i bring to fridge, my MIL will sneak a peek and ask "got one bottle or not?" guess how stresful!! in the end, the result was her whole freezer was bursting with milk that she complain!!

kkf..................

i dun think i can poo with a digicam pointing at me and recording lehhhh...... (NB: referring to dash's blog) u really too free ah!!!!

xbliss, haha, not me leh, me not so bor liao, my hubby went to record one.

he taught him "emm...bong" when poo poo, and recorded down.

you can see dash in the end buay tarhan and covered his own ears liao...

hello all...

long time no post again... appear once in a blue moon ...hahahaa..

kkf, daec
congrats!! take good care, must eat well & rest well...

kkf,
dun be too stressed or worried ok?? take this chance to rest lar... i know can be quite boring at times... u can read lar, surf net, update dash's blog...hehehe... is it convenient to visit u?? if i going my parents place, maybe can drop by to visit u... only if is ok for u lar.. wont want to trouble u mah..
wah.. 1.73m!! u r so tall!! omg...

bloom,
*waves* if dec mummies have any gathering again, can trouble u to sms me?? cos nowadays i dun check forum so often le... sometimes wld just quickly scan thru the posts if got time... hehe

ok, gals, here's our table... anything to update??
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>2-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>600g&amp;720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&amp;SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_one</TD><TD>6-Feb-05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>710g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-5mths 28 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1164g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-27days, SCN-53days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>5-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1510g&amp;1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>7-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bloom</TD><TD>15-Nov-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1810g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-22days </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1118g &amp; 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&amp;4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>4-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1520g &amp; 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&amp;9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD>1-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alicia</TD><TD>3-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1500g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-21 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>jewel</TD><TD>9-Oct-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>45 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaowanzi</TD><TD>31-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>635g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>14-Nov-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2260g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-8 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairylander</TD><TD>15-Nov-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1628g</TD><TD>36</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>strawberry</TD><TD>16-Dec-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1239g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-52days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mimeole</TD><TD>28-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>1520g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sweet_rose</TD><TD>8-Jan-08</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>2100g &amp; 2100g</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>SCN-1 day </TD></TR><TR><TD>xbliss</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>925g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-1mth SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1500g &amp; 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

harlo, mummies,
got no time to read thru all the posts now...

nana,
thanks...think maybe got to update yan's details..i am lost too....too long din read...

just an update on purebliss..she just texted me...she is in hospital now on ventolin and both bbs' heads are engaged now.....and she is hoping that she can have some time so that one of her gers wld cross 2kg...the doctor is trying to delay the opening of cervix....hope that all wld be fine with her and that both bbs and mum wld be fine...

kkf
I PM you later ;)

nutrition - onhind sight,I think I got eat but prob not enuff of certain foods. more of carbo, rather than proteins or veges. I tend to eat less when pregnant

thk stress big factor - even if u eat ok, when stressed u need more than the norm nutrients to function well. then the nutrients may not be absorbed properly coz body havoc.

Nana

hi nana, can help to update the below 2 mummies girl details? thanks

Shelllow - Girl. DOB Wednesday, July 02, 2008. birth weight 1.18kg. gestation 28 (NICU 34 Days)

Yan (bess) - Girl. DOB Tuesday, August 12, 2008.
birth weight 815g. gestation 26

shelllow and yan

hope you don't mind me providing the details to nana
. i too keep a file on all the babies details

xbliss &amp; kkf,
dash so cute.. can entertain himself when poo-ing.
the other day while ws is poo-ing, she told me, da-bian bz.. i was like har??? then she repeat say, da-bian bz, i ask her bz w wat? she point 2 her tummy &amp; ans me, bz eating the food in her stomach, haven't come out yet *faint*

she oso make lots of noises when poo-ing, like to 'report' tat she poo how much.. can say, the da-bian splash water on her backside somemore *faint*

wow shelllow's gal is 28 weekers and just stayed 1 month in hospital??? wow, thats very good leh! wat a great fighter!

haha, i also find the video very cute...dash also talked a lot when he poo poo leh...but ws so cute describes everything!

btw, me got nothing to do so start planning for dash's birthday liao. Have booked mini buffet with stamford catering (last time went to my friend's house ate their food, very nice hee), and will just involve my hubby and my family, around 13 people, so mini buffet will be great (caters to 10 people).

I am sourcing for cake now. Any idea where to get mcqueen cake? cheap cheap one? haha. cause last time got from ecreative, not cheap leh, but that time invited colleague, so ok, now small affair, cheap cheap can liao. any idea?

I ask dash wat type of cake he wants, gives him option "barney, elmo, car", he says car, and points to mcqueen, so bor bian.

nana, thank u for your thoughtfulness to visit me. Actually its ok to visit me, but then hor, now I have one problem, problem of low self esteem, feel so ugly. haha, with pimples and so many fats around me.

So I dun even dare to step out of my house unless going to my gynae.

I really feel quite lousy with my look.

need all your help &amp; experience. trying to help my girl friend who has a premeei in NICU, she needs to go back to work and with regards to expressed breastmilk, how can one co-ordinate with the hospital with regards to feeding? any advise?

Secondly, with regards to hospital bill, since we have downgraded patient, it could be affordable, but I just found out it's going to be about $10K per month!!! goodness, that's really expensive. May I know if there are any financial aid schemes for mothers whose babies may be in NICU for extended period of time?

if anyone has lobang/information to share, please tell me or email me [email protected]

MANY thanks in advance

harriet

hi kkf
regards to the number of days of stay for paige...erh..i think that needs confirmation from shelllow (the days i quote is estimated)... from the day shelllow join us...

com'on, don't feel bad about your look now...

oh dash birthday coming hor

harriet
As long as baby is still in NICU/hospital, the hospital decides on the feeding amount and feeding time. Your girl friend has to continue to express her milk and have someone delivered the ebm to the hospital on a daily basis. Milk can be stored in clean freezer (as in freezer compartment at home free of meat etc., just milk)and deliver by hand in an ice packed box. The shortest travelling time the better. Get from NICU nurse the label with mummy/baby's details on it for the milk bottle. Milk bottle and caps are also available (complimentary) from NICU. Please check with the nurse. Please wash the bottles and caps thoroughly before use.

My daughter stayed in NICU for almost 6 months and was discharged from NICU directly. She was warded in 'B' class for one night and was downgraded to 'C' class from then. As she had breathing difficulty and underwent surgery, her hospitalisation was about S$10k amount after govt subsidy. We paid using medisave and cash.

Your girl friend can approach the hospital welfare unit and the family will have to undergo means test to see if they qualify for financial aid. I understand the hospital allows other family medisave if parents medisave is insufficient.

Hope the above info helps. BTW, your name rings a bell and I think I saw it at the maids forum.

If your girl friend needs support in any way, please ask her to join this forum.

kkf, what low self esteem becoz of your current look.....i quote what my girl friend said who's currently preggy with no. 3, she claimed that she had tummy after no.2 arrived about one year + ago. She tried to cut down her food, exercise etc. but the tummy just won't go away, in order to avoid people asking if she is preggy, she got herself pregnant again so that she could eat all she can again w/o being embarrassed. I like her optimism.!

May I know what kind of finger food should I give my boys ? really no idea what should I give them

Finger food? biscuits? bread?

so quiet...

I finally decided to get mcqueen cake from ecreative again.

I will be holding a family celebration on 11th october. That day happens to be dash's chinese birthday. His actual birthday is 15th that falls on wednesday. Anyway, that day, he will be busy going kkh for reviews, just nice all the reviews falls on his birthday. I have a silly thinking, is it not very lucky to go hospital on one's birthday? shd i postphone or bring forward?

kkf
Follow your heart. When it comes to matter like your own "silly" thinking, always do what you will find peace within your heart. I was also like that previously, I chose/postpone date etc. especially for surgery when it comes to A, but I chose date according to "mummy's feel" so that I didn't have to dwell or worry over it.

Mother's instinct is most of the time accurate and best for her child.