Premature babies support group

Hello, me still in school, but then got time to post now.

hee, jane is right, psle starts today! Actually, me very free now, no p6 (Yeah!!! can stop seeing them for 1 week) but got to relief other teachers who are invigilating p6 psle.

xbliss, desaru not far, 45 minutes ferry ride from tanah merah. Me likes to take ferry...hee

I have booked my desaru tour liao, jane, me bringing dash along leh...hopefully weather dun be too bad...

twiggy, my bed rest I still can walk about in house, but cannot go out lar. My bed rest not really that strict (maybe I wasn't that strict with myself. :p)

Costa, 23 weekers can survive really? I think you said before, and I was saying how I wish my elder son survived too...haiz. Btw, dunno what flu medicine I am taking, I only know 1 pill in morning is white color one, and 1 pill at night is red color.

No time to ask my colleague about his wife yet leh...

hi ladies, saw you discussing holiday trips.... hb an di also hope to go but now even going out for short while also sian... must schedule the bath and fee dtimes and carry so many bottles and diapers..... but i definitely hope to make use of the free travel for bb below 2 before they turn 2yo....... looking forward :)

i have a few qns:

1) anyone of you had bbies diagnosed with NEC or Bilateral renal pelvis dilation? Please PM me... i need some sharing...

2) anyone seeing Dr PL Tan in KKH? Pleaes PM me too.... not nice to discuss doctors online, not that i have any complaints.

3) i'm lookig for a PD in the east, cos dr Tan only has clinic on fridays and only for 2 hours.... so wondering if we have any problems outside her clinic hours then how..... any recommendations?

lindah,
yes, i got appt today...

dem sian lah, just came back from appt wif neo nat and the physio..my boy is abit slow in his fine motor skills development...and he was irritated wif so many pple touching him and looking at him that he cried his eyes out...

he couldnt put some cubes into a cup and threw them and it bounced all over......and conclusion is must go for occupational therapy..

mich,
shld hv listened to yr advice last time and kuai kuai do some activities they mentioned last time.....

me intend to stay in school till around 6pm, then go compass point collect crocs shoes, and wait for hubby to drive me to tampines to meet up with my friend...wow, from 2pm to 6pm another 4 hours!!! think will eventually give up and go home, want to mark books but too lazy and tired....dunno what I want also.

alamak costa. now my turn to worry. the last time they told me to exercise my son, i nvr do...

hopefully next time your son do better and in better mood? our kids poor thing lah. before school already kena stress.

didi,
2-3 day trip still can do. long trip will be more difficult. logistics more difficult, of course. my 2cts worth, i dun think you shud go jakarta or bangkok... these cities tend to be packed and not so hygienic... but if bali and bintan, may be good idea!

hello mesh, i happen to know one PD (she is specialist in neonat) she is Dr Loke of children and baby clinic. her clinic is at Tampines. not bad. i like her but then i live in jurong hence never follow up with her. their tel is 67831955. hope this help. or other mummies have other recoomendation?

sorry i do not know PL tan of KK. which clinic is he/she under?

costa - har? cannot put cubes in cup? is that how they test..oh gosh....then i better teach my boy. anyway, the last appointment my boy alreading seeing occupational teraphist (under the 9 month review). mich is really hardworking one...me too kind of lazy.

*pat pat costa* don't be stress ok. your boy already doing very well. i see he can stand in the cot.

i think come end of this month..the physio sure ask again why my boy still cannot crawl
but then he can stand and walk around (hands on sofa and such)...

lindah..ya our kids quite poor thing hor small already so stress.

that day i want to teach my boy how to hold biscuit to eat. KANNA scold by my mum for being 'crazy' cos she say. 'please la, all baby is born with the survival skill'. and hahah. ya he can hold the small biscut and eat himself :p....

while disneymickey dream about phuket, wow kkf must be dreaming about desaru liao ;) dash sure happy... oh oh. can play disc at the sea coast. very nice.

costa last time think my son was evaluated as slow in motor skills too, haha. but now think when he almost 2 years old, really catch up a bit.

hi lindah, holiday inn is at waterfront city right? I'm not familiar with that area cos it's more ex than both batam view and harris at nongsa. But i do know the spa at hol inn is supposedly the best and got award one! except i think its a bit ex as compared to batam view's which is really good in my opinion (about $100 gets u a marvellous 3 hr spa package). anyway, there's no shopping in batam unless u take taxi (abt $10/one way) to nagoya where there's the diamond mall or to matahari megamall at batam centre. See if your hotel has free shuttle bus? I tot it's quite cheap to get certain things from their giant there.. so u may wanna buy some bb stuff if they have!

kkf, i din know desaru so near! same time taken as to batam actually. enjoy!

i wish i can go now..
sorry to out of topic here!

Hi Mesh

My boys are seeing Dr Sim (A Male Doc):

Pasir Ris Baby & Child Clinic
Blk 625, Elias Road, #02-322, Elias Mall, Singapore 510625
Ph : 6581 0032 ; Fax : 6582 221

Hi mommies, can I check something with you ? if I am feeding my bbs with Enfalac and can I use Similac Neosure to mix with cereal (as I have to have one last can left and do not wish to waste ?)

Another question, did you bought sort of grinder thingy to grind fruits for your bbs ? if yes, any recommendation ? I have bot the pigeon strainer and wondering if I get a grinder (eg Munchkin as well

didi

i whack both enfalac and similac. so far ok leh.
think you finish up on the similac first lah, then change to enfalac to be better...

xbliss

hah? realli... then maybe shud go batam view instead... hehehe... yes holiday in provide shuttle to nagoya - $3 one way. but only on wed, sat and sun.

Lindah,
the OT lady gv him some cubes to put into a cup intentionally, our fren went to throw the cubes and it jumped up and nearly hit the lady..it was quite hilarious and he lost his temper when another poor physio guy carried him, he cried until red in the face and the veins all machiam can see.....so dem loud..dem embarassing but farni....

didi,
tink shld be ok..but i not doctor leh

i din buy grinder.....

kkf,
dash did not nd to see occupational therapist, did he?

mesh,
did you update yr data wif us?i cldnt find it on the board....rgding NEC, did you find out more fm the doctor and is it smthg that needs stroma but later it wld be okay..sorry if i m wrong as i cld hv misunderstood it..

my son goes to a paedi in the east...but he is not specialised in neo nats....my 2 sons go to the same paedi..maybe you wld like to go to a paedi just to stand by for flus etc simple illness and provide the discharge document for him/her....and for like wat you said emergencies, maybe you can ask the doctor in such circumstances how..can you go a and e and then asked them to page for her...

im not sure if i gvg you the wrong advice as its just off my head......

didi,
i nev buy any grinder. i bought a strainer (those cheap frm hardware shops or ntuc). i cooked the veg until soft, then used the strainer & mesh up the veg. meat i'll mince, add some water, b4 cooking. as for fruits, i use hands haha. for eg. papaya or apple, i'll cut into small small pieces, mesh with my fingers then feed my ger. i find this way better than meshing everythng up, cos noticed my ger can chew better than her cousin (where my SIL mesh everything up).

costa,
dun b sad or discouraged ok. maybe ur boy is irritated w so many pple ard. try to teach him more at home. i rem the last apptn, the nurse if my ger can point to her body parts, i say yes, but when ask her to do, she doesn't wan to do. make me so malu haha.

hihihi... costa, well at least it's good you saw the funny part of it.
poor physio. your son probably din like him lah. tt's y dun want to cooperate... hehehe.
aiya, what to do. kids of course hv temperament. wont participate all the time, rt...

Hi Costa,

Don't dispair. Last time alot of people were uncomfortable with dd not crawling. Now she can walk very well. Like my insurance agent's son didn't talk for a long time. He brought him to see a speech therapist. Now cannot stop talking.

Kids take time. They really take their own sweet time. No point rushing just to satisfy the stated milestone.

I got this from another forum

Following are extracts from Dumex on baby milestones for 11 month old babies.

*twists objects such as handles and knobs
*building towers
*makes lines with crayons
*more precise when using a shape sorter
*may want to take part in dressing and undressing himself.
*may use up to eight words with meaning
*He remembers people names, and follows conversations,
and will often try to speak in the gaps of peoples conversations
*He responds to instructions and can make you understand what he wants.

Sorry hor. Even my dh has problem doing some of the above - esp the last one. So does that mean he has to drink Dumex? hahahaha...

Hugz. Let ur cutie pie develop on his own pace.

Costa and lindah, thanks for the info. Will try and see how tmr, keeping fingers crossed

Costa, bern bern, so young, already got 'character'
cute

Hi costa, dun think dash needs to see, not in his appointment.

His iq test is coming up on 18th october, hope everything will turn out well.

me soo sleepy

harlo, mummies, good morning,

stressed,
thks for the info...now must really make sure his motor skills are developing well, manz...

the onli word my boy keeps screaming out is "ah char"...dun noe wat he means..maybe he wants to eat achar..hahah...

for the rest of the items u listed..he cant do most of them

didi,
yes, he nonstop and really got character...told doc k tt his bad fine motor skills are from me..i was never good wif handwriting etc..

kkf,
great tt dash doesnt hv so many appts....wow, so fast, his appt is coming up...let us us noe after the event...

Are these tests expensive? Is it with the normal PD or special occupational therapists for such tests?I don't seems to have such things here. I mentioned the other time that what they did was to take a video of my girl playing on her own for 5 minutes and observe the video. I'm going to do it again next thurs. I wonder if I go back to Singapore, can I register with KK for such test? I'll be charged private rate if I go to KK directly hor?

lili,

good morning..greetings from Singapore to Shanghai...

the neo nat wld see my boy together wif the physio (for both gross and fine motor skills) and now he needs extra help, we need to go to the rehab (separate appointment at basement of kkh)..dun tink its that expensive,..the nurse just briefed me yterday..shldnt be more than $60 to $100..

u can pm me if you want to discuss or email me...

the OT is wif kkh but tink private companies also have...if nt, we can do some practice in spore..

maybe wat i can do is to help you ask the next time im there...can?

tink like wat some mummies mentioned...our preemeis may be laggging behind..must monitor more closely...

i did ask the neo nat abt relocation and she said it shld be no pblem for me.......as i said, really admire your bravery...

hope u ok..hows yr ger?maybes its too easy to check her motor skills or maybe kkh is more conscientious..but do share yr thots here..we can discuss

stressed,
u so funny. my hubby oso got same prob. maybe they can make an apptn & c dr costa together? haha

costa,
maybe u shld bring achar & show him tat's achar & confirm if he still wans?? haha

but i'm wondering. how come my ger dun hav all these tests? is it becos she's not borned in KK? i'm q pleased w her motor skills. only tat she still can't talk. she can only call dad-dad, ma-ma, mum-mum, ah-ma & yi-yi.. but she knows wat we r talking abt & can show us wat she wans. my sis say when she start to talk, it'll b like verbal diarrhea..

disney,
maybe cos yours not as premature? 34weeks is maybe quite ok in their books?

tt time in KKH, i think they only held the 4part talk for mummies whose bb spent a long time in KKH and are less than 1.5 or 1.25kg, cant remember already...

lili,
i suggest you email them lah. maybe wif a letter from your shanghai doc, it can be considered a referral and can charge you subsidised rates... ? you can choose one of their emails here: http://www.kkh.com.sg/ContactUs/Emails/

costa,
r u on leave today? say hi hi to your son for me and tell him to be good, ah...

haha...Disneymickey, our hubbies can also drink Dumex!

Seriously, until now dd dunno how to build towers. But I dun care. As long as she happy and dun scream in my ear, I am a contented mummy.

Dd also dun have all these test. I check with a Neo Nat before. He don't agree with doing OT. He is for letting the kid develop on their own. Of course with a few exceptions. Like if the kid is 10 months but has the motor skills of a 2/3 months, then he'll raise the alarm.

BTW, my dd doesn't speak English. She speaks russian. wige wige wige...croc kok kok...eeeeee..

hahaha....very entertaining to hear Chinese baby speak Russian.

disneymickey,
lindah is right...maybe she wasnt born so preemie..maybe considered as "preterm" instead?tink maybe kkh is more "on" in their care and closely monitor preemies for their future tests or writing of research papers..me oso not sure....

hmm, maybe must show him the achar when i eating my dinner....heh heh...

lindah,
im not on leave today....still must work..already got clients grumbling to me ask me whether i cmg back or not....

lili,
wat lindah says is true, maybe can get some referral letter from shanghai...do they write in english?or bring back a zapped copy of her medical reports and give it to the paedi or gp here just to let them hv a feel of wat is going on?

costa,
y your clients so on, one? something happening later today, so must be on guard is it? anyway enjoy your day... finished the poster yet?

stressed,
aiya, so cute, your dd babbling!!!

my niece speaks malay, english and korean and she oredi 3.5 yrs old leh! one moment, i understand what she said, another moment, i have no idea... it sounds very much like korean to me, tho!

how coincidental, i made mine a week after melbourne!!! so next time our frens wnt to make one, tell them to go melbourne? hihihihi

disneymickey,
becuz i wking in financial industry....being away can mean loss of money for clients..but bo chup lah...

i doing two posters...finished one but its 3 leg cat kung fu....and the second one hvnt started yet..
wish me luck...

Costa, I also have the same query like Disneymickey, why my boys are not send such assessment yet ? think I should ask the pd during the next visit too
Can I know if the appts for the OT pre-fixed or arranged by the pd's nurses, thanks hope not being too kiasu

lindah, yep, you are rite think the 4-part talk is more meant for bbs below 1.5kg, at that time I was wondering somehow they didn't informed me abt it. so I check with the nurses and it is what they told me, but told them I am very keen to attend and in the end they allowed me to attend, anyway my elder boy is only 1510g (exceed by 10g only). Btw, don't be surpised your hami will speak korean, you are a Korean-drama fan rite ?

didi,
how old are d and e now?
maybe they are performing up to wat they are supposed to,...tts why dun need...

the neo nat wld see the bb together wif the physio(both fine and gross motor skills) and if need an appt, the neo nat wld write a form....and then bring the form downstairs to rehab to arrange....

i dun noe why they missed me out for the parent support group talk also last time..maybe they left a note in the file n the mee see missed it and din tell me....

didi

i think your bb are still very young lah... got see physio or not?

aiya, rt now my son is only saying ah eeh oooh... yet to make out anything yet, hehehe.

costa

2? so rajin? hehehehe... good luck! i havent pass up yet, maybe this coming monday...
say hi to buzzbubbly if you see her.

disneymickey,
blur me, directed my answers to you when it shld be lindah...

lindah,
time away fm the desk can mean havoc for my clients..tts why kena from them but heck lah...alrdy gv ample notice tt i wld be away..

my malay onli noe basic..rajin means hardworking is it ?

buzzbubbly wked yterday nite, tink today she not around.....

oh yah before i forget..the flyers just printed yterday..so kkh mummies wld be gettin it soon......

but just a sneak preview,

poster can occupy a space of up to 90 cm x 90 cm and there wld be a book launch on that day entitled " A journey with my child" stories by parents of premature babies....

tink the book is written by a lady doc Doc Lim..

there wld be a talent show and if yr preemies wanna perform can also

costa,

yes, rajin = hardworking...

wah sounds like you managed to catch up a lot with them on monday.

talent show, hami can show them how to laugh. hahah. that will clinch him thw top prize, hihi

lindah,
eh, tink i not as rajin as you..you completed yours in like less than a day..tink i better faster faster do..the more i delay, the worse....

hami likes to laugh ar....so cute...he is a happy baby..

costa,
4 a moment, i need to scroll up & read my own postings, cos dunno wat ur ans was abt haha. it's ok la.

stressed & lindah,
my ger made in japan..does it mean she's gg to speak jap? haha. but my nephew can speak good jap (he's 2yr old) cos his grandmother is jap, his parents oso can speak jap well. next time he can teach my ger haha

wan bb can go japan oso
there's this temple in tokyo, when we went in jul, happened to be 1 of the 2 days when u go pray, u r blessed for (something like) 300k+ days. after we came back, i'm pregnant. my hubby kept asking if i prayed 4 bb, y nev pray 4 toto ?? haha.

hahahahahaha

disney, baby or toto... tough choice, ar...

costa,
depends. he usually like to laugh but wrong tone he will cry...

yest was funny... i was talking to him and he was laughing... then the daddy came back, i raised my arms and said, ' yeah! daddy is back, can take care of you... and i have time to surf the net a bit!! whoo-hoo'

then he cry leh! alamak! jialat. you think they dunno what you talking abt... but they know!!!

Good morning, lindah

How are you and how is little Hami? Just reading thru all the past posts that you gals sent after my night duty. Read until I am "gong gong" now.

Hmmm...looks like most mummies are looking forward to have a short break. Well, you gals have done a great job looking after the previous ones so a pat to every mummy here. Rest well and take care too.

hi buzzbubbly!

wah! taking time on your precious off days to pop by see us?
yes hami is fine... i will be heading to kk hotel on mon and wed next week for his follow up.

lindah,

Next monday, will not be working...after night duty. Wednesday, I am on day duty, can pop by to NICU if you want to...kekeke.

hahahah Lindah,

i also like that. When my mum or hubbie comes, I'll say "Yay! Byeeeeeee...."

then I disappear fast fast! So fast that dd gong gong. :p

Costa, D & D is 5 and 1/2 mths corrected (actual abt 7 and 1/2 mths). They also didn't informed me about the parent support talk too
only heard about it when one of the mommies mentioned at the bf room, didin't attended any of the talk as well

lindah, my boys haven't seen any physio yet, they are a few days later than Hami's arrival

buzz, hihi... okay see how...
but a bit paisei lah... pop to NICU.

stressed, we very bad, hor?

didi, i think your baby not so small so they don't follow up so intently? my son started seeing physio when he was 12 weeks corrected...

buzzbubby,
ytday you on nite, right?

bern has to go for occupational therapy......after review yterday

didi,
so you go see neo nat alone lah, no other pple to see?

lindah,
tink right fm the start my son was seeing physio leh...

disneymickey,
my elder son made in spore so tts why speaks singlish...hahha....so younger one also i guess....

Costa and Lindah, thanks. I think I'll send an email to them to ask some general questions. Lindah, thanks for the link.

Costa, I kind of agree with you. SOmetimes, I suspect these hospital do all these tests for their research purposes. Well, I guess I wouldn't mind if as it is for medical advances. But sometimes I don't know. Because long time ago, when my sis is hospitalized, those medical students always come and 'harassed' her and ask her a lot of questions until she pretended to sleep when she sees them coming!!! Maybe these are the aspiring doc who are over zealous!!!

costa,
ya, from the start. but he was out when he was like 8weeks corrected so by the time he saw neonat/physio at clinic he was 12 weeks corrected liao.

lili,
no problem on the link...

ya agree. those interns, on one side, they can realli annoy you but on the other side, if they dont go ard, how can they learn right? for the purpose of overall better accessibility to good medical facilities, i guess we have to continue being like that...