Premature babies support group

Didi
Yes, thats the bag.
I usually fill the bottles with room temperature and carry the hot water in a flask. So, I dun put in any heat pack.
The bottles are place horizontally.

KKF
My boys are seeing Dr Argawal now at CDU. She said she will see them until they are 7 years old.
The first IQ test took quite long. They will be tested on motor skills, fine motor skills, understanding of instructions etc.
There was a questionnaire to fill up. My boys were tired after the test so I took the questionnaire home to complete.
ABC- My boys are singing the ABC song... When it comes to L-M-N-O-P..... It becomes L Nan Nan No Nee.
Nice art works!

DisneyMickey
Your gal looks more than 8.3Kg leh. So cute. Makes me drool....

Chloegal
Have not started toilet training them.
Dylan is sick fever and running nose. He cannot sleep at night due to the blocked nose. Apply VICKS on the chest and he was still not very comfortable. He woke up every 2 hours and I am now very zombie. Feel like taking half day to go home and zzzzz.
But a lot of work today.... So sian. So tired of working...

Any remedy for blocked nose? Costa what is the name of the nasal spray KKH gives? Is it use to clear blocked nose?

morning mommies,

first of all,thanks 4 all the compliments

mich,
yes, my ger is only abt 8.3kg. like wat i say, when i go pd this weekend, i'm afriad the weight will be even lesser. but i can't b botherd alrdy la. she's eating well, shitting almost everyday & happy.

re blocked nose. i always use fan instead of air con when my ger got blocked nose. realized she can breath better w/o air con.

jane,
no la, i not pretty.when i sort out my HK trip pics, i try to post 1 with me & my ger *pai seh* haha

kkf,
not bad, ur boy can do art alrdy. last nite my sis bought a doodle drawing board 4 my ger. she's happily scribbling away. i like tat board. cos there's alphabet on it. can let her learn her ABCs too. dun think will send my ger to any classes. talked abt tat w hubby & both of us agreed to let her learn swimming only.

last yr when we brought her to sentosa, she din even wan to step down on the sand. this time, we went with her cousin. think she saw gor gor go play w sand, she also more willing to try. so dun b discouraged when ur boy rejected beach/sand the 1st time. go zoo! v fun! we went last month & had so much fun tat she even missed her morning nap! haha

lindah,
looks like u enjoy ur shopping trips in JB? went w hubby when i was pregnant. we took a bus in & went to city sq & walk walk only. din really like it leh. but maybe tat time we din buy bb stuff so nothing much to buy heehee

Harlo, mummies,
So busy, dun even hv time to go thru all the posts...

Mich,
When was D and E's IQ test?
Rgding nasal spray?hmmm, let me think....there is one that is used just to dry up the nose..i cant remember the brand but its found on the KKH pharmacy shelves...(dun need prescription)...recently,i ran out of it and bot at Guardian(dun noe if its same brand but tink the brand i bot from guardian is IIadrin )..cant remember the exact spelling....

mich,
PD gave me saline drops (supposed to be for eye but she gave me for my son's nose) cos i told her sometimes his nose makes sounds, as if got mucus... can buy off the shelf but dunno if suitable for dylan...

disney,
yeah, i enjoy myself. city square quite ok. but i guess i go to the "inside" so can find cheaper food. my family loves JB so it's become part of me like that.

jane,
my son got fever after the jab. yesterday nite 39. today 37.5. much better. gv him paracetamol. tt time BCG he din get any fever.

Lindah, your boy has went for jab ? mine too last of 5-in-1 yest and this morning around 5 plus they are quite warm and its 37.5, really hate the jabs !!!!

Morning.. wow so many posts overnight.

Jacelyn, the sleeping bag so expensive in Malaysia and Singapore? Over her I think you can get one for less than S$50. Maybe because of the higher demand so less expensive.
Wow, you even bath your child in boiled water. Oh dear, I think I very slack in these after reading wat you have done. I'm feel like a lazy mummy. At first when she came back, I also sterilized after every feed, but she drinks very 2 hrs and at night also 2 hrs interval so I cannot keep up with her. So end up, I only sterilized once or twice a day in the steamer and the rest of the time I soaked in hot water. At first, I didnt even use detergent to wash cos I don't know. Then one day, I wonder why the teat oily oily one, so I ask my mum and she says must use a bit of soap. After that, then I buy those detergent for baby's bottles.

Lindah, i guess it's easier to wean your son off the pacifier than the yao-lan. My gal also use the pacifier. In fact, we train her to use it cos she always cry at the beginning and you know of her belly button problem, it will pop out so much when she cries and strains herself, so we introduce the pacifier to soothe her. I guess it's the lesser of the two evils. And we had to hold on to the pacifier for her and put it back when it drops off as she always sucks so hard. Nowadays, she getting the hang of it. And we let her use it before bed, but she usually won't suck it once she falls asleep as it will drop off. Well, at least, we can bring the pacifier wherever we go, but not the yao-lan! But I think my gal is sleeping better in the yao-lan now, probably because of the hot weather. I wish I had it earlier when she first came back. I'll think about weaning her off it later. Now what I do I stop the shaking motion once she falls asleep and we don't use it at night. My MIL loves to leave the yao-lan shaking non-stop (cos it is electronic) even when she is fast asleep and within these few days, I can see that my gal is getting so used to it. Once I stop it, she will wake up. So now, we have to slowly correct it. I guess every method has it's pros and cons.

Disneymickey, we also looking at the swim diapers! We thought of buying before we return to Singapore this year end so can bring gal to swimming ( provided her tuqi ballon gets smaller).. so it's not recommended? Why? Is it because it's one-off and it's a waste to throw away after 10-15 min of swimming?

kkf, wow the hospital in singapore so thorough. I dun think over here they run tests for them until they are so old. Do you think I should get my gal referred to a doctor when I go back? I'm not sure if i'm over paranoid.. then I'll end up seeing doctors everywhere I go!

Costa, finally went to visit your blog. I found a way to enter the site already. Remember I told you I can't enter .blog sites here. So encouraged by the growth of your son. You really went thru' so much for your boys. So touched and encouraged. God bless you.

Mummies, is it true that as babies grow older, they will drink less frequent. My gal is drinking interval of 3 hrs now and last night, 4 hrs (compared to 2 hrs last month). It's better for me (more sleep), but i'm not sure if it is normal. Her overall feed still hovers around 900ml to 1000ml and it hasn't increase for a month. Which means last month, she drinks about 90ml every two to two and half hrs, now she drinks 120ml every three/four hours.
Also, is it true that their poo poo frequency also decreases? Now she poos only once a day. Last time, she poos 4-5 times a day, then slowly twice a day and now once a day

mich,
I use this two thing to clean their nose when they have water or dirty inside. use the thing to suck the water or dirty things in thier nose, after that spray the sterimar, the sterimar not bad, is sea water, can use everytime.
hope can help you
932218.jpg

hi jacelyn, this nose cleaning gadget looks interesting. I use a tiny pump and it doesn't work. Sometimes, the milk reflux goes thru' the nose and then the nostrils will be watery, I just use a cotton bud but does not work very will. What is the spray for? To clear blocked nose? Where did you get it?

lili,

where r u now? sorry, din hav time to re-read all postings, so guess i missed out something.

re swim diapers, think it;s q a waste of $. not recommend by me la. cos i think bb only swim max 15mins each time, can juz go w/o diapers la. i let my ger wear a panty & go into water haha. now i let her wear a tankini. got chance i upload her pic in her swimwear

re drinking lesser. yes, it's true. there'll b a period of time when u noticed the intake of milk is much lesser. but not to worry, think bb knows best. they'll cry when they r hungry.

after u introduce solid food to her, the milk intake will b even lesser.

lindah & jane,
dont worry the fever, normally baby will fever after jab, just give them more water.
For my boys , they only fever at the first time they accept the 5 in1 jab, after that the 2ns and 3rd all no problem, and pnemoccal also never fever, as i give them more water.
mich,
my pd advise me try dont use the drop medicine when they blocked nose , unless serious. try to give more water and spray the sea water. more natural.
lili,
ya, here very expensive, i cant get through my sis,so maybe cant ask her to buy for me lioa. Maybe i try the bellyband first, if ok, than i no need to buy the sleeping bag. Oh, as our boys was prem baby, so we must be more careful. some time i also feel very lazy lei, but, i told myself, cannot, if not my boys will be sick.......so i carry on until now...
Lili, was normal if they decrease some, i think your girl drink amt very good already.
costa,
ei???how to go in your boy blog?

lili,
hi hi, i also use this as my 1st twins was a vomit king. ha..ha..normally when he vomit, the nose also come out the milk. than i will use that thing(dont know call what) to suck, some people use their mouth, i feel very geli, so i use this, very effect, can suck the nose milk and water out. after that use the spray to clean his nose lor,,,the sea water will go into and clean his nose. He very like to use that. my 1st twins very sampat one, when he vomit , i bring the sterimar spray, he will up his head after i spray he smile.
I get it at pharmecy, malaysia sell at RM25.90

mich,
the picture that jacelyn had shown is also wat i use for myself..i wanted to post it but i din hv time to shrink the photo...so thanks to jacelyn who put it here..

its a seawater spray which is used to wash out the mucus in the nose..so that viruses dun get into the system...an ent doc told me its safe for both adults and babies..

lili,
thanks for your praise..tink every mummy here deserves a pat on the back...you too..i dun tink i wld be able to make it like you did in a foreign country dealing wif work and a baby...

jacelyn,
wats yr email address?u dun accept private message?

disneymickey,
i just pm you......u can start a blog for your ger...its not too late....i just started not long ago..also chin chai do one

hullo mummies,
i m getting rid of some stuffs... can someone help me post my photo link at WTS thread?
if not it's ok lah...

Hi Mich, oh i see, still see doctor argawal but only different place right?
Wow, the test so long? Seems like very crucial like that...me maybe taking leave to go with my boy then.

Talking about block nose, my colleague got one very special treatment. She will use small onion, break manually into half or smaller piece to rub on her gal's two sides of forehead, and will cure leh!

Disneymickey, what doodle board? fisherprice?

Lili the nurse explained to me that it is quite important for premature babies to go thru iq tests leh...

I also got lots of items to sell leh lindah, but sad leh, only people who register earlier can post in that thread.

Btw, anybody bought crocs shoes? good or not? me tempted to buy for myself and my boy, but so expensive...heart pain.

Hi disneymickey, I'm in shanghai

How about poo poo? Also decrease with frequency as they grow older. Also I got another question...
Mummies of BABIES GIRLS, do you clean the in-between of their pee pee area? I see a lot of white stuff inside and I try to pry it open and clean with cotton wool occasionally. But I don't know if I'm hurting her. Of course, she will scream and struggle when I do that.. but it looks dirty dirty lei. How do you all clean it?

U mummies make me cross eye again with so many posts. Disney mickey, I seriously think ur weighing scale spoilt liao. How can that cute as a button of yours weigh only 8. something kg?

Lili,
Yes. As they grow older, their milk intake frequency decreases. However, when they have a growth spurt, they will demand more. Then when the spurt is over, they will demand less. Many mummies often wonder why their babies drink less when it's actually normal. Most important is to read your dd's cues. If she's hungry, she'll tell u. Don't force feed and give yourself stress.

Yes. They poo also less frequent.

I also clean between the pee pee area. I use water and cotton wool to wash. I have to be that anal because my dd has history of UTI. So I am super anal about cleaniless in that area. No choice. Open her legs and clean even though she protest.

Harlo, lili,
How are you?Hows the weather over in shanghai now?

Rgding bbs poo poo movement in general, when they mature, their system is able to digest better and they can hold their food longer so they dun poo so often...thats what a nurse told me before..even for normal gestational babies,same..when they mature, they poo less often...

lili,
think stressed has ans ur qn. i hav the same ans as her. re washing the vagina. it's v important. last time when i use j&J top-to-toe wash, will use the water (which alrdy has some bath) & cloth to wash. now i juz use hands to clean while bathing her.

i hav a colleague who has a boy, but she say whenever she change diaper, she juz put on a new diaper - w/o any cleaning with wet paper or diaper cream. until now, i still use diaper cream. cos my ger not toilet train yet. i dun wan her ass or private parts to b in contact w urine or shit w/o any cream, juz in case i dun change fast enuff.

stressed,
really la, she's skinny. but she does look fatter in photo than in real person. tat's wat a lot of my frens say.

kkf,
my nephew (almost 2yr old) has a pair of crocs & it does look very very comfortable! but i dun think i'll b getting a pair 4 my ger yet cos 1)even the smallest size can't fit her haha 2) think they outgrow q fast, so dun wan to spend 2 much on shoes

costa,
i din get ur PM leh. try email to [email protected]?

Thanz stressed ad disneymickey. Will do the cleaning everytime I change her diaper now. At first, I thought those white stuff were the remnants of the cream and powder I use. But then, even when I stop using them in that area, it still appears. Now I only use cream and powder on her buttocks and I try not to put anything near the pee pee area.

So having less poo poo is a good sign that her digestive system is more mature now. Great.

Stressed,
she has improved so much now from the last time I emailed you about GERD. Less cases of reflux and less incidents of kicking her legs in the air in pain. Praise God.

costa,
wah, so great to look at your boys blog, bernard not skinny la...ok lei, wah, really take care in good of him. His eyes very big, now very handsome liao, but if more chubby lagi handsome. So you need to jiayou or...will go in again to read all the story , yesterday nightno time to read all.
stressed,
Ya, i agree with you, must be weight machine spoil, disney girl cannot be 8.3kg. Never mind, see what the result for next monday... ha...haa

Thanks for sharing the remedy on blocked nose.
Brought Dylan to PD last night, he has Tonsillitis. He is now on antibiotics.

Costa
D&E went for the IQ test on 17 Jan 2007, 2 weeks before their 2nd birthday.
PM me your blog too. Thanks!

KKF
The tasks required to be performed during the tests are not very difficult. It depends on the concentration span on the child and whether he/ she is cooperative on that day.
Dylan did pretty well. Evans did not.
The questionnaires which i filled in is used for some studys, if i remembered correctly.

Costa,
Thinking to do one for my twins too, is it easy to do? but, my english so poor, dont know able to do or not, as will be have so many speiling mistake.ha..ha..got chinese one?

mich
what you mean of tonsilitis? sorry ha..pls explain? as now my 1st twins got water come out from nose, and night a bit blocked too, but not very serious yet, dont know need to bring him to see pd or not? My 2nd twins a bit cough . they have a lot of phelgm, thinking to give them ventolin as still have in house, how you think?

kkf,
solee,4got to reply u. doodle drawing board. not fisher price brand. but the 1 my sis bought not bad. got ABC on top, she can press & it will read out the alphabet.

Bena
How are you doing?

KKF
Saw your blog... you are a young and pretty mummy.

Lili
I hope we are not making you "gan cheong" when you see some our bbs going thru tests, reviews and your gal, being a preemie is not undergoing such tests.
Some of our bbs are born very premature and the purpose of the reviews/ follow ups is to identify if there is a need for early intervention.
If the PD/ neonatologist who sees your gal is happy with her development, it means your gal is doing great!

mich,
thanks for info on d and e's iq test....after getting the results for d and e, wat are they supposed to do next?sounds so formidable...tests for so young children but i guess kk really monitors the preemies vy vy closely...

i just texted you...

u brot evans back to kkh to see paedi or smwhere close to yr house?tonsilitis, is it smthg to do wif the throat and the hanging thingy inside the throat..we can do with it or without it, tio bo?

wat did the doctor say abt the tonsilitis?how long does he need to be on it?

jacelyn,
thanks, my son vy skinny..dun like to eat too much or drink too much and vy active, like a snake, always wriggle here and there..now wif my backache and stiff neck, got not much energy to play wif him..u can do one also, tink can do chinese one but maybe must set yr language preference to chinese...

Jacelyn
Hope this gives you a better idea:
http://www.kidshealth.org/kid/ill_injure/sick/tonsillitis.html

Didi
Dr Argawal refer both my boys to Speech therapists, occupational therapists and physiotherapists after reviewing the test.
My reply:
1) Yes, KKH call us to inform us about the test. The test was taken in KKH but by an external party.
2) I am not sure if it is only for preemies or for all babies born in KKH.
Costa - can you help with this please? Thanks!

hi kkf -- saw your blog..hehe you a pretty mum like what mich say... OH you bought the BIG POLO shirt? wow...family wear somemore. i order one for my husband but have not arrive yet.

hi mich... oh that time the lung doc mention (because i told her my boy got snoring issue) that my boy got tonsilitis in the throat area..but she say its ok..but still she say seldom see so young baby have (i am confuse..if ok..then not common..then???). anyway, she say leave it... but my lao gong got the same problem. so dunno is it something to do with family background...

costa...haha..my boy now too. everytime like a worm (not a snake) like to go down on the floor and keke...

jac -- have not found the magazine yet :p oh ask you a question. do you do any meat for your boys to eat? i meant pork?

hehehe...kkf is young and creative really.

hi disneymickey.. you too ah ;-)

today me still trying on mathzzz sigh. but too long no come in and chat...so die die must come in (one day no chat here..its like something strange haha)

saw kkf go tthe mcclaren QUest for her boy...

me just purchase a mcclaren TEchno XT stroller for my boy..so pocket really siong. then yesterday he toke his first jab of peunomoccal ($170). wow this month really broke kekekeke.... 'where can i find money ler' haha!!

jane sianzzz keke haha..

Jane, hope you get a good bargain for your boy
Baby hyperstore got quite gd price for Maclaren
aiyoh you are better leh, me sahm lagi no $$$ don't siah lah, give your boy boy a kiss lah

disneymickey, sure.

I only pat powder on her buttocks and back. And I use cornstarch powder. It's quite effective because it doesn't cake up when it touched water like talcum powder. I read in a magazine that you can warm up the cornstarch powder in an oven before use. i tried doing that by because I don't have an oven here, i did it over the stove and burned it.. so I gave up and just used it on its own.

Mich, yeah.. me getting paranoid if my gal should go for tests!! Never mind, i shall ask the PD what are the follow-ups here for preemies like first. Because she also never really tell me much, just say first 3 mths must go every mth for checkup then subsequently, every 3mths.

Costa, here still very hot!! Recently got typhoon in Fujian area so last few days the strong wind here brought some relief to the hot weather. Sometimes it's so ironical. We get to enjoy the cool wind when other areas are suffering from the floods caused by the typhoon.

kkf, ur blog very bright and cheery. Actually I also got a blog.. but I *paiseh* to show after reading all your blogs. My blog very boring and background dark dark one.. and I blog my grouses only!!! No art sense!

WOW.. Your boy's room got so much toys! So fun! I saw the gym play mat on ur blog. The mat looks very soft. Is it true? The gym mat i intend to buy does not have such a soft base. My friend says must put a mattress under it. What brand is the one you have? My hubby says don't buy first cos my gal don't like to lie flat on the ground but I'm so keen.
Will the kid really bat at the hanging objects? My gal still don't bat at hanging objects yet. She just wriggles her hands in excitement when she sees something she likes. so i don't know if it's too early to buy yet.

hi didi, well..me got to work hard..now have to work harder and solve the math puzzle so that i can buy insurance for my boy keke...

oh i brought the macclaren techno xt stroller from bb hypermaret at kaki bukit there keke...

hi li li - talking about plat mat...its worth buying (if you don't mind a resale one is also good). and oh yes, they will reach and try to bat the hanging objets (its very good for their motor skill development). hahaha, it must delight you to see her wriggels her hands in excitement ;-)

oh li li ..share your blog...we love to see your gal and you..so far away yet feel so near each other. no world aparts :)

kkf,
i like ur boy's bed. realized it's low, so it's q safe. where did u get it? how much?

ya, noticed YOUR BOY HAS SOOOO MANY TOYS!!!! wat a lucky boy. last nite juz scolded my ger 4 not keeping the toys after playing. when she's at home, she'll keep them b4 bath at nite. but last nite at ah ma's hse, she's transformed herself into a notti ger again & refused to cooperate. i "threatened" to throw the toy away & really threw 1 into the wastepaper basket, then she guai guai keep it.

costa,
still haven't got ur email on blog address leh. maybe u try sending to [email protected]

lili,
share ur blog...

mich,
so young got tonsilitis? so poor thing! i got tonsilitis myself twice n felt miserable, cannot swallow without pain.

disney/didi,
i was a taka just now. the i-play swim diaper was only 5.90 (for the one with absorbent padding. for the waterproof wear over diaper type is $5.90 for 3. i cudn't resist. bought the first type for 18mth bb. Hahah. Now have to keep properly. Hope by then he can tahan the pool water lah n can stay in the pool longer.

jane,
i tried the bumbo seat at taka. not bad lah. still hv support for the back. now seriously looking out for resale one.

tdy i brought him to see the gurgeon for hernia follow up. First doctor tt uttered the word "discharge". my goodness, cant wait for the other doctors to say the same word. hehehehe.

disneymickey,
okay, will email you now....

lindah,
tis diaper thingy wear one time must throw right?
my boy got runny nose leh, cant start swimming...

congrats on the hernia discharge, guess that hernia is a minor thingy to get over...

lili,
take care of yrself during the hot weather in china..make sure yr child is sufficiently hydrated and not too hot.....

mich,
thk the IQ test is for preemies and perhaps other children who hv issues and are being followed up by kk...my elder son was born in kkh and we din go there for paedi checks and he din go for iq tests...

u are right..guess as usual with wat i always say..early intervention is always good for everyone...after the tests that d and e went...hv you gone for the follow up already?

hi costa...you are brining your boy to swiming!!

hope your boy running nose recover fast fast..

my boy love water hehe...hmm...but have not yet bring him to swim..think he will love it..but again scare catch cold or wat :)p jane scare this and that keke)