Premature babies support group

Jane,
Good morning...i oso dunoe when my boi phlegm will go away..did you still let yr boi take the medication from the doc near yr mum house?

today u gonna bring yr boi back to your house?so everythg must buy double?

evyday you wld go to mum's hse after work...u must b quite tired lidat..right?

jane, did i tell you my boi oso has to go for hearing test in march..after that, i will update you on wat it is about..

hi good morning costa,

really hor...phelgm phelgm go far far away from all bbs....

nope, i have since stop all the medication (upon advise from Dr Awagara...).

now my boy just stuck with the nose phelgm thingy lor... make me so angry (helpless ler)...when will it go away ler!!!!

yup yup..its friday so home he go yippy! no la, so far i never really buy 'double' thing. even his favourite smelly hole pillow :p i bring back from my mama house...so the pillow is like following him everywhere hahahaha!!

ya...you are right...i am very very exhausted ... day i work, nite i see my boy (then my boy night feed cannot miss one...)...

oh is it? think that hearing test your boy is going is routine one... for my boy is he has gone for 2 testing he failed both. hence in april he gg to see the specilsit. your boy is going to the ENT centre rite?? don't worry, your boy be ok...

harlo, jane,
doctor agarwal nvr prescribed any medicine for yr boi boi right? not even nose drops...that day at kkh, i too keng chiong until forgot to ask doc khoo abt the nose drops...everytime go, sure forget smthg one......

i oso dunnoe wat is the test he going for leh..will update u after that...

i oso vy exhaused after work...becuz i got my notti elder boi whom i have to check his school bag..homework etc..

irenelovej,

i apologise if you misinterpreted what i wrote yesterday. i didnt mean that i was happy that your boy had it last time. what i meant was that i was relieved that the noise and gek action that my gal makes will eventually go away...as you had experience it from your boy. Im glad that your boy does not have that sympton and action anymore.

irenelovej,

Just to add that i would never want another mother to experience the funny symptoms that my girl has. Im am glad that all of you have shared your experiences with me, and by you implying that i would ever feel happy that another mother has experienced that with their child is very uncalled for and untrue.
i guess when i wrote that statement it was in a rush and i didnt have time to re-read it again. i do apologise again.

jane,

sorry if you already explained in your previous post, but how did you know that your boy has phlegm? my girl coughed up a huge chunk of phlegm yest...

hi costa,

haha..like you, i always kanjong and forgot to ask the KKH doc this and that whenever my boy go for review..then go home then remember sigh...

dr A did prescribe some nose drop for my boy...but i thinking..if can i dun use.

oh by the way, the tampinese clinic doc not bad. just rang me to check on my boy condition
quite professional...

i can imagine how tired u are..having to care for your elder and younger one... take care ah... esp you are still giving BM...

hi puppyduppy,

GOOD question! how i know...i hear the sound make by my boy.... :p i never explain how i know...kekekeke...sorry. may seem as if i really blur mama. but ...really its i heard the noise he make from his nose lor... the sound is like us (adult) when we got phelgm in the nose / throat, we will cough and we will have the nose block sound...

erh...anyone can give a better answer on how to know if our bbs have phelgm.

but wow...puppyduppy..ur mil must have given somethng very good..till ur gal can cough out the phlegm... (to ME...its good thing...) I meant the phelgm come out 'of its own' and not stuck in your gal throat...

hey jane,

sorry hor i think my questions sound quite silly...everyone knows now that im such a blur queen...:p
me then blur mama....haha...cos i hear my gal make that sound in the nose..i thought she got cold wor....then my mil say its phlegm...

my girl actually vomit out some milk and in the meantime cough out some phlegm..haha..dont think she knows how to cough out the phlegm by herself..hehe..

jane,
you completely never give bm already or still giving some?
the nose drops that Doc A give is it the Merck brand one,small small selling at the pharmacy for about $2..Did she say when to give or is it give when you feel his nose is wet?

my elder boi quite mischievous type, if dun monitor him, dunoe wats gg to happen to him

puppyduppy,
tink smtimes my bb will cough up some phlegm....like dun wanna drink like that then cough until quite kang kor and then spit up the phlegm..i oso dunnoe when it wld go away...

the neo nat din give any medicine but just said that if we find him like having difficulty in breathing, we have to let him use the Ventolin Puff (to breathe in)....

costa,

u must have tons of energy to look after an active boy and a baby...:>..must be super tiring...

my girl seems to be breatheless when drinking milk...her PD didnt give any puff for her to take though..he just say to let her drink slowly...think she too greedy..always suck very fast in the beginning..then tire herself out...haha

hi puppydupy,

haha..don't worry and don't be pai say to shoot any question... that day got one collegaue tell me she dunno how to clean her gal tongue...then i share with her on how to use the hanky or cotton butt slide into the gal mouth... so ... i think generally there is many things we won't know unless we ask ;-)

actaully like u..i feel that the sound is like having cold... wow, ur MIL really experience...think if i were u (joking hor) i will kaya her more hahahaha (for the sake of bb) hahahaha....

costa - i have stop giving BM..now my boy on Full Formula liao... (neo sure lor).

no ler...doc A did not give me the Merck Brand... she give me is steriod something... i heard liao like so powerful hahaha..i dun dare to give...i monitor and see how...

ah ya...if boy not mischievous, how they learn ;-) boy got to be a bit playful..then is boy mah...

hi puppyduppy... about breatheless while ur gal is bottling... that one u got to do 'pacing' which i am sure the SCN nurse has taught u...good pacing really help... and ya, my boy too at first very greedy...

there is one saying...we control the bb not the bb control us hahahaha (saying is easy la keke).

what teat did the speech theraphist recommend ur gal to use?

just to share something.... i always wanna my boy to poo poo..cos when he poo...he poo out the phelgm (jane is a wacky mama...)...

please please...phelgm go away....

hmm ... i wonder if yvonne has any adivse to give on this phelgm thing

jane,

yeah i must be extra nice to my mil..hehe....for sake of bb...

my gal didnt see any speech theraphist. im actually using the pigeon teat size S.

the SCN nurses told me must pull out the teat every once in awhile so that my girl can breathe...but sometimes my girl will clamp her gums very tightly on the teat so very hard for me to pull it out..hehe..

jane,
how did you stop yr bm?slowly cut down until no more is it?

you are right about notti children but you shld come and see my son..he is not the pu1 tong1 (normal) notti type......

tink my elder son paedi had said that smtimes the phlegm can go out thru the poo....

sigh..tink if im a full time housewife sure vy jialut one because currently i feel more relieved when i am at work..and over wkends, im vy stressed becuz got so many thgs to do and so little time..

at work, still can chat wif you all......

hello mummies!

costa,
was abt to asked how's yr elder boy coping in school?

yo! wacky mama (jane lah),
thanks for seeing me so up... i've no better idea abt the everlasting phelgm thingy

actually, i din noticed any snorting sound, phelgm noise or coughing in the early months... must be really blur lor
i try various methods to compensate for my boy's aircon sleeps.

costa,

i share your sentiments bout being a housewife...cos i actually just quit my job to look after my girl...but after 1 week...wah...was so overwhelmed with taking care of her 24 hours a day...think i wanna go back to work NOW! haha...think i not experience enough and so blur so everything also kancheong...

yvonne,
my elder boi okay but thats because i dunoe wats the real thing happening in school...everyday no homework, notebook oso never write anythg much.....i oso worry for him....

tink my boi dun hv the snorting sound so much as last time..tink maybe when they mature, the nasal muscles develope better.....

yr boi still sleep aircon room?did you put a cup of water or a wet towel to compensate for the air?i read smwhere that in aircon room, can do that to add some moisture or smthg lidat...

re GEK till face red red...

that... i can relate to cos my boy was constantly doing it in the early months, sometimes, GEK till he turns blue!

if i don't recall wrongly, the GEK is actually a way of muscle stretching, something along the line of muscle growth like that lah.

also, the older generation believes bb who GEK will grow quickly, so it's a good sign.

costa,
yes.. my boy sleeps in aircon every night! even in this rainy weather.
guess i spoilt him liao. he perspires easily till hair all wet even while in aircon, so to let him sleep better, it's either fan blowing directly at him or aircon lor.
then, i'm not quite for direct fan blowing myself.

i use a humidifier in the room, it's more effective than a cup of water or wet towel cos the mist gets dissipated into the air.
some nights i also burn eucalyptus oil to ease the breathing & esp. blocked nose which u get fr the dry aircon air.

hi costa,

about how i stop my BM ah... (i think i am using the wrong method). i just stop pumping..when engorge..i just use hand to massage and squeeze out the milk..then one or two weeks, my breast just strink lor...then now no more engorge ...

talking about coming to work..ya. me too like to come to work (not that i dun enjoy taking care of my boy la). but somehow, coming to work makes me diversify my thoughts....

hi yvonne - having brought up ur kids..am sure u have some valuable experience to share...

my boy does not sleep in aircon room..hence not much i can share about compensating the water...

hi puppyduppy,

my boy also used the pigeon size (silicone) S. recommended by the speech theraphist.

actually about pulling out the teats..its not really good because in this way ur gal will 'take in wind' :p

Yvonne,
actually my boi even wif fan also perspires leh But then i cant put him in my room because me bot a cot which was too big to fit into the door and i put him in the open space outside my room where got no aircon and only fan...

which humidier you use?is it only in aircon room can use it? i saw it at best denki, so tempted to buy but i thot better ask you all here on the thread the how/whys of humidifier..

if you burn the eucalyptus oil,do you still use the humidifier?i just bot one little bottle of the oil from pharmacy but tink tis is the type to put on the pillow, not for burning (not aromatheraphy)...

jane,
tink you use the correct method..i read of tis method before...squeeze till got comfort and then slowly it wld stop....
i also vy lazy but tink for the sake of my boi, i will continue whatever i can....i can understand the reasons on why you stop..its really vy tiring to pump, work and then rush here rush there....

my boi using the M hole pigeon but still slow....
when you seeing doc agarwal again?did the physiotheraphist see you together wif doc agarwal ?

how do we pace besides taking the teat out?many times the maid was the one feeding him bec i either had to look after my elder boi or express bm and smtimes miss feeding him myself...

hi costa,

next mth then we gotten go see Dr A... yup everytime before seeing Dr A, the physiotheraphist would review my boy development stage...

oh your boy has started to go on M hole...mine still at S..i wonder if i should change...

hehe...i just tilt the teat....

jane,
it's good that yr boy doesn't rely on aircon.
hv to agree that too much aircon is no good cos it's recycled air.
my mum used to say that my boy will hv a tough time when he does his NS in future... hee

costa,
actually, i also bot a cot too big to fit into my room, so end up, he sleeps on the bed with us.
only few months ago, i started him on a mattress on the floor next to our bed.
but i'm still sleeping with him cos he still wants to snuggle next to me when sleeping.

i can't remember the brand. i've been using it even before i got married. will check & let u know.
there're alot of models in the market now. don't confuse humidifiers with ionisers leh...
think there're some 2-in-1 types now. try to shop ard 1st.

i burn eucalyptus essential oil even when using humidifier.

fyi my son too started with Pigeon latex S teat (recommended by SLT), now he's using Pigeon latex L teat.
if u find that bb is drinking slower than before, it could be a sign that it's time to change to the next teat level.

yvonne,
tink the cots are standard sizes but still dun noe how come cannot fit..when they delivered the new one (my elder boi's old cot spoilt liao)..i measured the door frame but not the hinge so cannot fit in...

there are alot of humidifiers and when i saw the mist coming out, machiam so impressive and so tempted to buy one but since if i dun use aircon, dun noe shld buy or not...

so you have ionisers and humidifiers on at the same time, correct?

my boi using M size, just heard from my mum that she went to puncture a hole........in the teat...

costa,

it's not advisable to make the teat hole bigger cos the flow may not regulate properly & flows faster.
bb may not know how to control & can choke easily.

mine is only a humidifier, without ionising effect.
since yr boy not sleeping in aircon, might as well save $$. buy later on if he starts to sleep in aircon.

Yvonne,
me tink same as you......can choke but my mum says she find him okay..sigh...i oso dunoe wat to do?tink go home, see how?

Wow, just been back to this thread. Saw Dr Agarwal name appearing, my boy is seeing her too.

Saw the discussion about baby's coughing, TCM etc, how familar!

Used to bring my boy to YU GUO at kembangan for TUI NA when he coughed. It helps to relieve the phelgm because they will give us a packet of chinese medicine to be put on his (erm...how to call the small little hole we all have on our stomach?) and soon his phelgm will go away.

Just to share the above information with you all.

How's everyone? Sorry, i've not been following the thread cos need to visit my babies at the hospital everyday. Just a quick update, both babies are now home with us. We are all trying to adjust to them and "teach" them to adjust to our lifestyle as well. Although it is tough looking after 2 babies, we are glad that they are finally home with us!!

kkf,
me oso saw some mummies bringing their babies for tui na..its smthg like massage izzit?
can tell us more..i oso read they put some like ko yoke on the body,like wat you mentioned..

chloe,
glad tt your babies are back..we welcome you to join us anytime you want to share information wif us..hope you coping well as its not easy to handle babies......me still learning, man....

Hi Costa,

I've been there before. I think I mention before. Anyway, it's not ko yok. It's a tea bag filled with herbs. Then u must paste it to the belly button. They say it'll help with stuff nose.

When U go there, remember to bring a cloth eg. diaper cloth.

Check with u all something. i think my gal is having mucus in her nose, cos when she breathes, i could hear some sound coming from her nose. Any idea how to get rid of the mucus?

Stressed,
Harlo, yup, i think you mentioned that you brot yr babe there....can i ask you how long must the tea bag filled wif herbs be put on the belly button....? How regular must you bring bb there?

Thanks for your advice on the cloth..i tink i will bring my boi there when i free..

btw, for bigger children, also can go, right?my elder boi oso got bad sinusitis nose pblem ...me trying all methods to cure it

chloe,
did you buy the nasal aspirator to try if you can manage to "suck" out the mucus for her or did you bring her to see the doctor...

For me, i used the nasal aspirator to try suck out the mucus and the doctor gave me nose drops but that was for runny nose not mucus.....

hope you coping well...

hi mummies.

hi KKF, wow..you appear just at the rite time..was telling all about how to make phelgm go away.

my boy too is under the care of Dr Awagra :)

wow...i see a possible cure for my boy block nose...phelgm...may i know more about the tua nan? is it suitable for all ages? how much is it? may i have the telphone please....

welcome chloe :))

Jane,

tink the yu guo details are as follows:

Yu Guo
tel: 64474761
address: 398 changi road #01-05 castle court

other details like opening hours etc i dun have...it appeared on one of the threads but i cant find it now....maybe you can call before you go...

hi costa,

thank u so beri much.... i shall bring my boy go and try...have always heard massage is good for bbs.

Hi Costa,

They give like 4 bags to use everyday evening time. By morning, u are supposed to remove it. Yes. Older toddlers can go too.

Try to avoid weekends. Soooo many people. Have to wait very long.

Stressed,
Ask you smthg huh..is it they will give you one week's supply of the bags and then next wk go again and after the massage, they give you again?

aiyoh, lidat crowded on wkends...then i think bo pian must go on wkdays liao but wkends easier for working mums leh..how about we go early in the morning and queue, can?

do you still bring yr dd there ?

Hi mothers

Used to bring my boy for tui na because he coughed a lot...

Anyway, heard people say even if healthy kids can also bring for tui na once a week to keep immune system strong.

But it is really crowded during weekends, and I have no patience to wait...haiz, so nowadays never bring my boy there liao...have the name card but dunno throw where. Anyway, cannot book appointment through phone i think, must go there personally to queue to get numbers and book for the next day.

Costa,

Cannn...u can tell them your requirements.

I wish to bring her there but weekdays the daddy very busy. Mummy here not willing to travel from far north to very far east. By the time I reach there even by Taxi, i think I need to see the Yu Guo doc myself :p

stressed and kkf,
harlo, thanks for all your advice..

tink i shld go lah...compared to stressed, my hse considered near liao loh....i dun mind waiting but just scared to expose my boi to too many pple waiting at the clinic, get wat i mean

stressed,

hows yr dd's feeding nowadays? she eating and drinking well? hope she is doing well...

hi costa

Thanks for ur advice on sucking mucus. i will continue to monitor my gal and if she gets worse, will consider buying that.

Not sure whether anyone experiences this. My twins tend to get into a fright in the middle of their sleep. My mom will wrap them up in napkins and that seems to help. However, my hubby is not so keen on this method cos he wants the babies to be able to move their hands and legs freely... Any idea whether wrapping is encouraged?

chloe,
u are welcome...

babies are wrapped to make them feel comfortable/secure like in the womb.......but when they grow bigger, dun wrap them up anymore as they may not like it...

but dun let them lie down prone like in hospitals as we dun have monitors at home to watch over their breathing

Chloe
it will be better to wrap your twin as they will feel more secure.I only let my boi move his hands freely when he is not easily frighten.

As for sucking of mucus,how do you all do it?

My boi was admitted last week in ICU as he was breathing very hard.Doc want to monitor him so wan him to be admitted. Hiaz..he has alot of phlegm and sometimes nose block.Doc suspect reflux but I don't think so.He is discharged already.Went for check up yesterday n doc still can't determine wat's wrong wif him.

mornig all mummies...

jolene,
hope your boy is better now...is your boy still breathing very hard? my girl is also breathing hard and has nose block and phlegm too....getting abit worried now.

last time my girl can finish her milk quite fast...however recently she is taking longer time to drink...and like seem so tired when she drinks..do u all think its time to change the size of the teat from S to M?

costa,
my mil insist on letting my girl lie prone leh...although i dont like it...but she keep insisting that babies like it this way...sigh...

Jolene,
i use nasal aspirator which looks like a bulb...
alternatively, you can use the one wif a tube which the parent will suck and the mucus will go into another container...both from Pigeon brand(i dun work there hor....ha ha)

i use the nasal aspirator as my boi nostril too small...

is it you discover he was breathing vy hard so you admitted him? how many days he stayed?is he okay? maybe preemmies need more energy to breathe, thats why?the doc still cant make a diagnosis?hope he okay..let u noe, ok?

noted the thread about jolene boy...

jolene - hope your boy is better.

last week, my boy was down with cold (nose block and phlegm too...but have recover. i brought him to see Dr Loke at Tampinese clinic

also, my mum got give him the Eu Ren Sheng Ba Bao Shan... think work quite well ;p

hope ur boy ok...

like to post a question. my boy is like finishing his milk quite fast (100 ml at 10mins). does it means i should increase his feed?

He is now still on Pigeon Silcone Teat S Size.

Anyone any experience to share?