Premature babies support group

jane,
my boi is still drinking so slowly and just pulled out his tube last friday...

i really dun noe wat to do...if he put tube, he is nourished but i dun want him to be too dependent on it and yet i scared if dun put...he is not drinking enough..

the doctors checked and there is nothing wrong wif him but yet dunoe why drink so slow....sigh...anyone can help?

i iso bot the ba bao shan...so far havent "open ceremony" yet..how much your mum give yr boi, huh, jane?

hi costa...

hmmm....is it the teat that u are using for ur boy?... maybe u can try let him latch on more?? perhaps it will encourage him to 'stay away' from the tube?

somehow..if he is pulling out the tube, i think he really dun want to be tube feed ler... (i meant based on my feelings la.)...

that time my mum give him half a bottle...she just wet a bit water..take the powder..then put into my boy mouth..then after that let him drink a bit water :p...sound horrible hor... keke

jane,
i dun tink can latch on as his sucking is weak and he turns away..oso, i m working, not possible to latch so much..

tink he really finger itchy and grab tis and that and somehow, pulled the whole tube away...

sounds logical, leh, the way yr mum feeds him the ba bao shen..everyday must take, one, is it?

hi costa,

hmmmm....i had almost wanna suggest u bring ur boy to my mama house...see if my mama has a way to feed him :p... i dun mind sharing..when my boy first come home, his sucking also weak...re i told u about the method of 'half fill the teat'??

u gotten work..ya so difficult for him to latch on...

hahaha...all bbs is like that. they like to grab whatever they can...

oh no no no...not everyday take. take only when like lots of phelgm and the bb very xin ku..

jane,
i did wat you told me..its a good method and smtimes he can drink some fast..sometimes slow.....wat to do?

u noe anythg about pearl powder?i bot also from eys last wk?

hi costa...

hmm.. glad that the method works. continue with it...keep on trying. the day will come soon. give ur boy the space to learn to suck...i am sure his skill will improved by laps soon...

i heard of the pearl powder (think is for phelgm too)..but am not very sure how to use it ler...

jane,
thanks, wif yr encouragment, i really hope he can be better leh...everyday after work, when i go home, i vy stressed one you noe....

tink i better go and open ceremony for all those eys powders.....

costa...

can understand ur stress. at the very begining stage when i bring my boy home..as and when he bottle i also very stress cos...i need to balance the milk flow and got to take care he is sucking and swallowing...

i am sure with patient and effort. your boy would soon 'bottle' up ;-). give him chance and time...don't give up trying.

my boy succeed using that method. i am sure your boy will too...

if your boy does not have any phelgm...don't give him..

Jane,
thanks, will take note of the ba bao shen...yterday he cough a few times then stopped..

does yr boy need to take any puff which the scn prescribed?

costa...

dun need thank me...we are all mummies who just wish the best for our kiddo

puff? what puff? no puff ah...

hi all mums!

i've been out of this thread for so long and am glad to see a great discussion going on!

chloe,

wrapping baby up - another term for this is swaddling. the nurses at kk swaddled the babies all the time. i think, at this stage, the babies are not really aware of their body parts so when they move their hands and legs, they'll get frightened by the movements. i swaddled my girl up to 3 months.

mucus in the nose - if you are referring to breathing loudly thru the nose as though the have mucus in it, my girl got this too. in fact a lot of preemies face this. according to the neonat, this is normal as their nasal cavities are pretty small. it'll go away as the babies grow bigger. my daughter who's 10 months now has already stopped having this problem quite some time back. i wasn't sure when exactly it was but it gradually stopped after a while.

jane,
the puff is the one which is like you have to put it over the boi's nose and let him breathe in ten times...

my boi was discharged wif two types (ventolin and pneumicort(dunoe spell correctly or not) then slowly cut down to one type twice a day..then when he was coughing...we were advised to put back the other one....until he can breathe properly....

guess maybe yr boi dun need it.....

hi telly... long time no see.
how's yr dd? 10mths old is when the fun starts

hi costa & jane,
my boy is down with the cough bug again... he had barely recovered 1 week ago

costa,
i've checked with PD abt Inflammide. it is same as Ventolin, to reduce inflammation of the respiratory tract during cough/cold/flu.

Yvonne,
Hows yr boi now?
U brot him to Doc Yong again (the lady paedi which the neo nat recommended)...

did u take leave to take care of him and is he coughing vy badly?as parents, we really heartpain to see them sick....

thanks for checking the Inflammide for me....no wonder the doctor never prescribed...bec my boi taking ventolin..i oso scared too dependent on it but bo pian...

my boy was in ICU for 2 days then transfer to normal ward for 3 days(for monitoring).The day when he was admitted,I brought him to see a PD coz I thought my boi caught a flu.His appettite n breathing was not gd.Then PD say it could be his heart failure.She wants him to admitted immediately.When we reach A&E,he breathe even harder.They put him on oxygen immediately n push him to ICU.Took Xray & found out that it is not the heart but some blur image on the chest.Could be viral infection which don't need any medicine.He could not be bottle feed,so they put him on tube feeding.When he is transfer to normal ward,the doc decided not to stress him too much since he look ok already.Then he was discharge.Hiaz....

hi yvonne,

hope ur boy recover from the cough soon...

Jolene, wow...think you must be really stressed out that few days. send our hugs to your boy... hope he is better now..

costa,

he's given a cough suppresant & also standby antibiotics (if he's no better by end of the week).

i took time-off yesterday afternoon to bring him to PD at mt elizabeth.
din see Dr Yong cos it's like a continuation fr his last cough/runny nose which the PD treated.

my concern was whether he's whizzing or not. luckily, he's not.

the coughing comes in spasms, if started, he'll cough non-stop for 30 secs. otherwise, he's alright with no other symptoms, most of the time.

PD says he must have contracted a new bug.

i had planned initially to see neonat on thursday (tomorrow; her clinic day) cos the coughing just started.
but my maid called up at lunch time saying that he having cough spasm whole morning, till face red red & couldn't nap much.

i'm sure all parents heartache to see kiddo not feeling well.

jolene,
how's yr bb now? u must be very tired too. take care, ya.
no treatment for the infection? wudn't recovery be quite slow?

Hi Jane & Yvonne
my boi has recovered.Not so breathless now.We gave him pearl powder and his phlegm is not so much now.

Oh ya, I forget to share wif you all.My sis ask me to put a flow restrictor on the teat.I use pigeon bottle n NUK teat.The flow is not so fast,thus he don't get breathless.

jolene, hope ur baby will get well soon. i am sure it must be very stressful for u when baby was admitted. Take care.

Yvonne, hope ur little one gets well soon as well. Hopefully his cough will go away so that there's no need for medication.

yvonne,
so yr boi improved after seeing the paedi at Mt E..?you gg to continue seeing tis paedi?its really a headache when the medicine that the doc gave doesnt work and we have to see another doc to get a new diagnosis/medicine

Chloe,
hws yr bb's mucus?hope its better alrdy...

hi jolene,

so your boy toke the pearl powder? from yu ren sheng?? how much amt you give him? i heard pearl powder is good but not sure of the usage. My boy toke yu ren sheng ba bao shan for his phlegm...there is improvement too.

what is a flow restrictor?

Hi jane

I din't buy the pearl powder from Yu Ren Sheng.My hubby bought it from the medical hall near our home.But I heard pearl powder can't be used every time.

The flow restrictor comes together with the pigeon bottle.It's a white pc stopper with a small hole.

costa,

yes, it's frustrating when our kids don't seem to recover.

the PD at mt e is the regular doc i consult outside KKH. my boy did his jabs there.
i find tis PD ok, basically doesn't like to medicate much, always ask me to go "au naturale".

when my boy doesn't recover after seeing her, i go back to KK, either Dr Yong or neonat.
quite kiasu... but seems better to have backup measure in place.

hi jolene,

ya...i know the pearl powder and the ba bao shan cannot everytime used...

oh oh..that one is the restrictor keke... i know what are you refering to now..

hi yvonne,
yes, i agree with you. we shld have a back up measure in place...

Yvonne.
OIC..its good to hv back up as wat jane said....smtimes no choice lah..me oso last time brot my elder son to another paedi (who is so called famous one) to get 2nd opinion when he kept hving fever every month......spent a bomb oso...
my frens oso say shld let our kids go au naturel but the pblem is we as parents scared the kid may take a longer time to recover on their own and oso the neo nat said that preemies immunity not so good better go and see loh koon when sick...

backup vy important after all knowledge is power...

costa

no leh... there's still mucus in her nose... i saw some hardened mucus at the entrance of her nostrils, and i manage to pull out gently using tissue paper (roll part of the tissue to form a tip), wow, i was surprised to see a string of sticky mucus... they will be seeing PD next monday for review, will check with PD.

chloe,
guess babies cant blow out the mucus themselves thats why we hv to help....
see wat the paedi say?u bringing yr bbs back to the hospital where you delivered? kkh, is it?

hi costa

Just managed to cool down my twins, and steal a bit of time to login.
They are required to see PD about 1 month after discharge and also time to have their HepB jab.

mummies,,,

i need some help. i am seriously considering to find a nanny to take care of my boy...

my mum house is really too far and i cannot be every night spending the night at my mama house..my lao gong be so lonely...

(of course weekend we bring my boy home)

anyone know any very very good nanny???

Hi, I am jacelyn here.

Great to know have such chat place here. Can I join?

I was a mother of twins baby. 1st twins 1.51kg, 2nd twins 1.19kg was born on 14/8/2006. only 32weeks. stay in hospital 57days.

Hi Hi mummies

My boy got flu too...guess nowadays weather really quite bad. Really heartbroken to see him having difficulty sleeping due to running nose as well as blocked nose. Hope all our babies will be healthy everyday. Hope the weather will turn good soon.

Btw, while packing my bookshelve. Saw these two books which might be of interest to some of you.

The Premature Baby book (Everything you need to know about your premature baby from birth to one year old) by Willian Sears, M.D., Robert Sears, M.D., James Sears, M.D., and Martha Sears, R.N.

Your Premture Baby and child (helpful answers and advice for parents) by Amy E.Tracy and Dianne I.Maroney, R.N.

You may be interested in getting for reference. I have bought them when my boy in NICU, still very new. One (forgot which one) was ordered from overseas. Hard to get these kind of books in singapore. Original price for each is $30 plus. I will like to sell it for $15 each if you are interested. Let me know.

Hope you don't mind me posting here selling the books cause I think these books will be more relevant to us mummies on this thread.

667550.jpg
667551.jpg
667552.jpg

kkf

Not just my daughter, now my son is also having running and blocked nose.
Will be seeing PD this coming monday... meanwhile, i started using the pigeon nasal aspirator to suck the mucus from their noses. Quite effective but does not cure the root cause, hopefully the weather will become better so that their running noses will go away.

jane, u got yr bb sitter already?

jacelyn, welcome to tis board....hope you can share yr questions/knowledge wif us...

kkf,no pblem abt posting yr selling here....me oso bot books when my boi was in nicu..

chloe,
try to keep yr kids warm whilst sleeping....do they sleep in aircon room? a mummy here suggested letting bb wear socks when sleeping..maybe you can try it if its not too hot..

Hi dear (costa) & all friend

Let me share my story with your first.

on Feb/06 I know that I was carry twins baby. The delivery date will be on 22/10/2006. But doctor advice me that the change for premature was high. I was preparing and hope wont happen on me. But....

on 14/8/06 5am, I was not feeling well and feel stomach pain, feel like going to delivery, but my hubby say wont so soon cos only 7.5month only. But we still go and look our doctor, 7.30am, unfortuanally my doctor say, being open 3cm. need to admit hospital immedially. When I reach hospital, was delivery on 11am. I was delivery by normal and my 1st twins 1.51kg & 1.19kgonly. I was so worry when I saw them after that, their body organ was not mature and need the oxygen support cos they cant breath themselves.

When my hubby bring me to ICU, I was cry cos They was so small as I never expect it. They was so weak, I was so angry on myself why never take care myself and let them come out so early. During the 1st month, I went there every day, and cries when look at them, I got no brave to touch their hand too...And doctor always told us must prepare it cos our baby was too small and lungs function was not stabil. I was so hate of the doctor...

They was a lot of things happen during the first month, my 2nd twins always forget to breath and always in emergency case, 1st twins had blood in brain (2nd grade), lung infection too. I dont care the old people say during the month cant cry, if not, will become blind when old, but I dont care. I just hope I can bring them home, finally doctor say my 1st twins ( terry) can go back first cos the weigh gain at 1.55kg, I bring my terry back, but..next day, I bring him back to hospital again because he dont want to drink milk and his breath was very weak, his face turn to purple colour. He go and meet his brot again. They all say twins want to go back together.

From day onward, I start stay in the hospital to take care them, they was the hard time during my life3, in the hospital I can see a lot of baby there, they was so unhealty.

2nd month,Problem come out again, Doctor say my 1st twins terry was more weak, and he have a lot of problem, exspeacially his lung, he need the oxygen support same with his brother even his weight in 1.8kg...they say bryan can go back if his weight gain 1.5kg,(only 1.2kg). Finally 1/10/06, doctor say Terry lung was stabil and he can breath himself, his blood in brain turn to 1st grade. I was so happy, because bryan the weight hit 1.5kg too. Doctor say can go back tomorrow if everything ok.

But, on the next day, I got the bad news, doctor say bryan got ROP stage 3, Need to do laser, if not he will become blind.....he was so small, only 1.5kg! but he need to do the laser. My brain was blank, doctor told me the chance only 50% he can live if he do the laser cos sometime premature baby they will facing problem which, they in sleep when laser, but they wont wake up. He told me not to worry, he say I had twins, If this case not succesfull, I still have terry. Oh my goodness...

I was discussing with my hubby, I say I wont let bryan for laser, I dont want to lose him, want to bring him home 1st, cos he haven go back to his own house yet...but my hubby say let him do, if we never let him do, he will blind, at least have 50% chance. If not he will blade us when he grow up. So we decide to let him do, I was so worry cos bryan always forget to breath....Doctor ask me whether want to bring terry back or not, but we say want to keep terry at hospital first for waitting for his brother.

on 8/10/06, he was arrange for laser, but, do your know what day was that day? our 1st anniversary. My goodness, why become like that. Bryan went in 2.30pm, we never wait for him there, what we can do is go and pray for him, 5.30pm, we go to the operation room, nurse say , my bryan was sent back to ward(ICU) cos he complete the laser and he wake up himself without the oxygen support. We look at him in ICU, we know that bryan want to follow us back , he was so brave.

on the next day,9/10/06 doctor say bryan can go back. We was so happy, on the day 2 of my lovely son follow us back to their house.

It was so hard time for take care them, every 3 hour need to give milk, they dont know how to suck, what I do is pump the milk out. So lucky that every day I can have 800ml and enough for one day support. Terry drink 40ml, bryan 30ml, Took 2hour for them to finish the milk, Iwas so tired because I dont dare to ask my maid to give them milk, she only help me to do the housework only.

During the 3 month at home, they grow up bit by bit, I notice they drink milk very slow, doctor say their heart got sound, suspect them have heart problem, so we bring them to echo. Luckly they was health, all the organ was health, blood in terry brain also gone.

I was so careful to take care them, even their water for bath also in cooked water, change and change of the milk bottle, they cant take the avent bottle cos too hard, finally I got the brand of Dr.Brown. It was usefull, colic free. and easy sucking when they drink.

Finally now 5 month, terry from 2kg come back now reach 5.6kg ( milk from 40ml to 180ml), bryan 1.5kg now 4.8kg.(milk from 30ml to now 140ml) But I still worry their weight, still think they was small, How your think? Now bryan always cry when he drink milk in half, some time he only finish at 90ml, he will reject the milk, I always force him, sing song , walk aroud, some time can finish but some time not too. What should I do?

Now they was taking similic LF, cos my milk only enough for once a day only, some time not enough too, they dont like the breastfeeding, always cry when i give them, so I stop it.

Actually, I was give them similic neosure as for them to gain weight faster, but they always vomit or burp little bit in the mount after 1hour, and they will start cry, after I wipe off their milk in the mouth, they will stop crying. Do you have such problem too? so doctor ask me to change to LF which without lactosa. Now they ok, no such problem again. But their weight was go up slow, I afraid they not enough nutrition as Lf without Lactosa, What should I do now?

Ok , chat till here, my 2 baby wake up, Thank for listening my story.

Have a nice day.

hi jacelyn,

one word. you are a brave and courageous mama.

you must be really busy even right to this stage.

my boy came out in gestation age of 26weeks...so you see...

all of them is fighter.

as for the milk poweder issue, i am afraid i don't have much advise to share.

perhaps some of the experience mother can drop a note?

It is quite common for young babies to have reflux, whereby they vomit a bit of milk. My boy also tends to do that when he was young.

Now my boy got flu and cough...and vomited his milk when he coughed especially when sleeping, sob.

Just took him to see doctor, and me on childcare leave today...

Do you mothers worry more about your babies when they fall sick especially due to their prematurity? Me will...haiz.

Wow, jane your baby was borned on 26 weeks...I just joined this discussion not long ago. What happened? Mine was borned 27 weeks. But it was because I have a very weak body, my first baby was borned at 23 weeks, but couldn't survive. How old is your boy now?

hi, kkf,
tink it must be the weather..many pple r falling sick even adults..wat did the doc say about him..

me oso worry alot and even worry that his crying is so soft that i cant even hear when i am dead asleep...

how is yr boi generally?my boi was born at 24 wks and now at home..but still small sized...hows yr boi now?

hi kkf.

for me...my waterbag burst when i was in my 24 weeks...then i was hospitalised total bed rest (for 12 days). then...i was hit by fever. hence doc say cannot liao..baby must come out (in order not to risk me and my baby life).

hence my boy was delivery via natural on 12 aug crying loudly...

todate...my gyane has no diagnose why my waterbag give way...when all the checks etc show i am strong as a bull....

for me...i treat my boy like normal baby... cos my mother ever say. since he is ready to come out..he is ready to face the world.

like all mothers, i am sure (no matter the bb is premmiers or not), we are all so troubled when they are sick...

my boy now - corrected age is only 2 mths. but he is 5 mths old... to me, he is 5 mths old

he now shld weight about 5-6 kg?....

When I was at dd's PD last Thursday, the nurses there was in the frenzy. They were trying to rush all their not-so-urgent patients.

Reason: My doc is on stand-by for a 19weeker.

My heart fell.

welcome, jacelyn.
like jane said it... u're a very strong mummy.

re LF formula,
not to worry abt lack of the nutrition level, it's the same level as other starter formula.
LF formula is easier to digest, so it works for yr twins.
i still give my boy (now 17mths, corrected 14.5mths) Isomil LF whenever he has diarrhoea.

hi kkf & costa,
1 by 1 of my family are down with viral & the weather is not helping either.
really hard to recover fully.. my cough has been dragging for a month now.

hi yvonne,

oh...me also been coughing...i always wear a mask at home..my boy see me...like alien. but now he used to me with a mask kekeke...

you take care...drink more water...

Hi Costa my boy is 15 months now. Generally he is gaining quite good weight, 10.5kg now. His main problem is having this moderate hole in the heart which has been patched up thru surgery. He is very active now, learning to walk. But these few days got cough and flu...sigh.

Hi Jane thanks for sharing. Your mother in law said this very well, since the baby comes out so he must be ready to face the world.

Hi Yvonne, yah, nowadays weather quite bad. My mother also got flu so she cannot take care of my boy today. Today got to take childcare to take care of him myself.

Hi Stressed, really hope the 19 weeks baby can stay on in his/her mother's womb...I know that baby who is 24 weeks and above has higher survival chance...really wonder why premature labor is getting more and more common!

Hope everyone will be healthy and the weather will turn good!

kkf,
good that the hole in his heart has been patched up.....he is at a vy good weight and must be drinking well...

my bb took out his feeding tube and we hv been trying to feed him via bottle but he drinks vy slowly........

i hope the bb will stay longer in the mummy's womb as its the best place to be...

yvonne,
you oso coughing...?
must be tough for you oso....hope the weather changes for the better soon, manz....

jane,
hv you found the baby sitter for your boi?

stressed,
19weeker.... oh.. i really really hope the baby will stay in the mummy's womb. praying hard for the baby..

kkf,
u r very brave to hav a 2nd one after the 1st one's case. i dunno for me is it due to my body is weak too.... anyway, things have over, we all hav our cute little one with us...

Jacelyn,
u r very brave mummy too. hope u r coping well. split milk is quite common. every baby has reflux more or less, they' ll pass thro the stage.

All mummies,
take care of ur ownselves, and hav a happy CNY!!

hi costa..

haha ... sigh...i think for now, i just have to be xin ku a bit. cos my mother is still the best person to take care of my boy....

oh mummies, i wanna share. January Edition of Mother & Baby feature 3 story of premature baby...you all may wish to buy a copy to read. really touching and inspriation...

morning everyone!

jane,
when my boy was younger i wear a mask whenever i'm sick.
now i can't cos he'll pull the mask off my face.

kkf,
10.5kg is very good weight. my 17mths is only 9kg.
it's getting tougher to get pump him up now cos he's very active.
also, the weight drops faster when he's not feeling well & has no appetite.

costa,
is yr boy completely off the tube liao?

Yvonne,
there was once my boi pulled out the tube and then he wasnt drinking enuff but when he had the tube, he oso merlion out the milk..

then about two fridays ago, again he pulled out the tube and then my mum said dun put it back..so no choice, we had been feeding him thru bottling but very slow but bo pian...becuz put long term tube oso "bu4 shi4 ban4 fa3"......

I dun noe wat we did is right or wrong but to see him put the tube in and gagging and pulling out and the whole face turning red when he struggled..vy xin1 ku3....

hopefully he can drink faster....my colleague told me her son last time premature oso lidat (not vy premature) but still drink milk vy slow...tink not all preemies drink slow, maybe just happened mine is lidat....

tink 9kg is okay right?not underweight and just right for his height?

irenelovej,
hows yr cny preparation?vyu fast, abt two more wks cny liao but i not mood yet leh....maybe too busy n stressed liao....hv u bot new clothes for your bb?

hi costa...

your boy big liao...let him bottle. slow is ok...people always say ah, slow does not means they never succeed. its just that they take longer but it does not means no good ah.