Preggie Friends Since 2003

Serena
Yah today biz v good...hehe
U gotta see the overall package... 10%...hmmm...also depending on base salary, $2K is $200, $4K is $400... annual leave?

m2b
Here is the stick for blisters... go to Watsons'..they have 2 other products. One called "Glide On", another I think is "B3".. can't recall. If u go to the foot cream section, u wl find it.

1450760.jpg
$11.30

cherly
There was once we put chara on the seat, she looked so terrified...haha
My maid ah, gotta keep bringing them to pee at intervals... haiz...

How old is Jesse? The drawings look like it comes from age of a 10year old child. Very nice..
I just signed up my girl for Arts in Ten Mile Junction. Not expensive. Only $100 per month. Besides drawing and painting, they do one craft work in a month.

Ya, mummies I think 10% is little and this is the second time that I'm offered. If the increase is about 20%, then I would really consider. No point in leaving a familiar environment for just 10% increase in pay.

Good morning mummies.

stylobb,

Jesse can draw well hor, very nice. I have never see charlene draw anything.

Shoes-You like red shoes? I never own red shoes b4. Your shoes looks comfortable lei, why become "killer shoes"? Maybe take awhile to get used to it?

good morning mummies!

stylo
do the cream really work? i always have problems with new shoes hehe
i own 2 pairs of red shoes. usually i will wear all black then wear my red shoes.
nice drawings! ash likes to draw too but she usually draw flowers. jesse's bus looks very complex!

serena
sounds like u stay at my area?! i live diagonally opposite ten mile junction. i oso looking for art class for my girl. can you give me more info abt the class? is there any min age? your girl is born 2004 rite?
i oso tink 10% is not attractive enuf to leave current place unless you are very unhappy there.

Gd morning,

Serena,
10% of ur monthly salary? Not alot. U shld calculate base on annual income (inclusive of bonus).

NOIF,
Janelle still using the bottle. I see no harm so i let her continue. Infact, she find the milk yucky if she take it from cup.

Chris,
Ash is at the right size and she loves food. So u wun have much worry abt her.

Stylo,
Jesse really draws well.

Morning.

Minnie/Chris,

Looks like the KL sale is better than S'pore sale. Chris, so u planning to chiong up north? Hehe..

The oni time I've worn 4 inches heels was during my wedding. Otherwise, I dun tink I will buy so high heels. Too high ones I oso scared, wait trip & fall in the canteen then no image liao.

Stylobb,

The black pair looks nice. I stimes oso hv prob wz shoes like u - fits well in the shop but gives me blisters when I wear them. The last few pairs I bot are fine though.

Noif,

CY is oso drinking wz bottle but it irks me whenever he chews on the teats. M tinking of weaning him off once the stock for his bottle teats runs out. But see how 1st, I rbr drinking from a bottle myself when I was in kindergarten.

M2B/Preggie,

Govt announce mid year bonus liao.

My fren sms-ed early this moring & ask if I am getting. When I told her no, she said aiya, she tot can get a treat from me. So irritating.

Good morning mommies,

My headache has miraculously disappeared! Maybe it's really due to a lack of sleep. My maid changed the sheets and i slept very well last night. Today, feel so refreshed and energised.

Joey is still drinking from the bottle. Can't bear to wean her off the bottle coz she looks so cute sucking on the bottle like a giant baby.

Hi StyloBB,

The bus is very well drawn. He really paid attention to the details.

Hi Trans,

Wah.. you are the bearer of good news! 0.5 months and $100 like very little.... but then, i'm grateful that at least there's something la.

Thanks. Yes, seems he has the interest in art and craft. In school, he makes his crafts v nice too.
When he draws, he wl guai guai draw. That day he even used a stencil (which has all sorts of shapes) to form /draw cars and trucks.

Milk - I think it's good that they still drink some milk.

Serena
jesse is Jan 04 kid....so that makes him 4 yrs, 4-5 mths....
Do you know of any other art schools for kids? I thot I shud encourage him in this area....
Somewhere convenient would be better. I am in toa payoh..

trans
The black pair's design is nice but nearly 'killed' my feet that day. Wl give it a second try after I apply the cream...

Talking about teats, I need to get new ones for jesse...he also bites them...

Btw are u sending CY for the 3-day programme?
My mom is already telling me to find chinese lessons for him....

chris
My gf says the cream works... so I'm trying this one but didn't wear my 'killer' shoes today....haha

cherly
Yah they look comfy, I also don't know why, think is my feet bah.... when I wore the loafers, all the toes macham are squashed.
Yes, I like red shoes! hahaha....

m2b/preggie
So nice hah.. so it is half mth + $100? Wah, can shop more ..

Good Morning mummies,

Ally enjoyed drink her milk from the bottle.

If i try to wean her off the bottle, maybe she dont want milk anymore cos she find it yucky too when drink from the cup.

Now I dont need to worry cos at least not only her drink from bottle....hee :p

Then again, wish her wean off the bottle soon..

StyloBB,
Wow! Jesse can draw very well.

Hi Chris38! Oh! we are neighbours then! We can meet then if you come with your child to Ten Mile Junction. Why don't you send me your email? I will forward all the info to you by tonight because all information at home now. My email is [email protected]

Stylo, Jesse is only 4??!! wow!! Do you know the more details you see on his drawing means the more intelligent he is? My girl can't draw for nuts. Jesse never go for any art class? Wait no more!! Enrol him in NAFA kids!!!!

BTW, I detect there are my office lurkers around. I'm going to change my nick soon. So, mummies please take note of my new name "periwinkie" Will set up my new account tonight. Don't forget me!

periwinkle *wink*
ok shall email you! thks in advance!
tink u can change ur full name in your profile.

stylo
i shall go and hunt for this cream too hehe, i am into pumps now, but often get blisters at the sides and back.

chris
The B3 cream is on sale, 20%.
But the two stick ones aren't. "Glide On" is $15.. a bit exp. I find the stick ones easier to carry around, instead of the cream which comes in a tube.

periwinkle
Alamak, you announce like this, ppl can still find you..haha...

But he only draws vehicles leh...haha...
Yah I will go and search for some art classes. If I'm not mistaken, I think nafa has waiting list...

Stylobb,

I hvnt register cy for the class, mayb not registering. My mom says let him hv a break from sch during the hols.

Chinese lessons - Yday I notice the tuition centre in Blk 97 offers enrichment class for Hanyu Pinyin, but its for K2 onwards. I may enrol CY in that next yr. Just spoke to my coll who has taught in Kumon b4, she said Kumon would be good for maths. I chked the Kumon website, the centre in Blk 85C offers Chinese prog, u may wanna chk it out.

minnie
Hah? U waited for one year liao... my gf told me if they accept, still gotta go and queue up to register.. so particular one ah...

trans
Ok. But do you realise if they don't practise their writing or chinese, they tend to forget after playing too much over the holidays? My mil has been tutoring jesse everyday for an hour...!

Thanks for this!... I have checked with Kumon. If they do conduct Chinese, then it'll be so convenient for me. I hear their method is based on repetition... (just like the workbooks that I bot that time) ... not sure if ok or not...

Stylobb,

Actually I am not too worried abt dat. My mom already bot Chinese assessment books for CY and she is personally tutoring him. As for English and Maths, I tink can depend on my younger sis who is oso hvg her sch hols now. Plus he oso has his music class homework to do.

My mom is e one who insist he still has to do some homework daily cos she tinks he will go 'lazy' after a long hol. She always complain dat I throw them off schedule if I am on leave at hm, cos I will say no nid to do work! Hahaha.

trans
Maybe we are more laid back but now the gramps are more gan jeong... seems like it.

minnie
I always wonder about art - some ppl just can't draw and hv no interest ... then how ah?? I mean, art is not sth that can learnt right..

Stylobb,

Ya, I waited for a year and still waiting!! Not sure abt the registration process. The lady said will send me a letter when its finally my turn to register.

Art to me falls under interest and talent. Its whether one has it or not, cant be forced but can be easily nurtured if the child has the talent. I find Josh is more the arty type also. He enjoys the keyboard and drawing too. He will bring along a notebook to draw when we go out and just doddle anything. Of course, not as nice as Jesse though. Haha.

Trans,

Wah.. your mom v ON! Josh nanny says she doesnt know how to teach so I bought some writing books to idle away his time at her place.

I am not an advocate for Kumon Maths. Prefer the CMA method.

trans
My understanding re Kumon is they teach based on repetition... I may be wrong.. they wl start from simple to difficult practisting the same thing...

periwinkle
Er... u must be ......... periwinkle! hahaha

chris
Forgot to comment re the black outfit and red shoes... yah yah I am thinking of wearing like that.. next time if we go dinner, must warn each other if dressed like that.. btw I saw u just now at citylink...hehehe...

cherly
I popped into the coach shop, the bag costs SGD900, my goodness!

Talking about maths, can I ask who is good in Maths here? (No need to be shy!)
I'm hopeless in Maths... the other day I overheard this gal telling her mum why should she learn differentiation, after all, what we need in real life is just add and subtract, the usual stuff...hahaha. That was what I thot so too....

Hee... dunno why out of a sudden I went to look at the number of posts each mummies had.... I'm surprise by some of them! Not good with words like Stylobb... but can look at the figures to give out award!

The campion goes to.....
1) Hong!
2) Stylobb
3) Chris
4) Cherly
5) M2B
6) Minnie
7) Trans
8) NOIF
9) Linda
10) Periwinkle

Guess I'm the laziest mummy here..... But heng Periwinkle came in to save me from bagging the last :p

Good morning mummies.

Its Friday again!!

stylobb,

That's so much exp, almost double of the price.
Maths - My math also hopeless with all those formula. See already headache, was telling ben must get a tutor for charlene's math next time.

Good Morning Mommies!

Stylobb,
I bought the same cream as you…cost $11.30…the Glide-on one is $11.85 (if I’m not wrong)…haven’t tried it though…

Homework – as Raine is having holidays now…I plan homework for her everyday…she will have English, Chinese, maths and spelling to do/learn…then when I reached home, I will check and then evening time is piano practice and story-time…

Stylobb & Trans,
http://www.cma-sg.com/

good morning mummies!

periwinkle
hi! :p

linda
laziest? luckily u never say u are the shyest. that award belongs to me! hehe

stylo
issit? where r u? how come din call me?!
yday shop until totally forgot abt the blister cream. walked past watsons a few times but cant rbr wat i need from there. reached home then rbr haha..
now i looking for a pair of pumps that has black infused with silver. this time influenced by trans, bcoz she has a pair of ballet flatties in this colour.

I find I Can Read classes quite good...after attending them for abt a term, Raine can read the workbook stories quite well and I find her pronoucing the words better than me...hahaha

Tien Hsia classes also make her more interested in chinese liao...my neighbour recommended me CMA too but I said I'm not printing currencies leh...now Raine having english, chinese and piano classes on top of her nursery class (with computer and speech & drama) liao...no $ to spare aldy...

stylo
oh ya, the maths qns, pf is the math expert, i need tuition to pass my maths one hehe.. his is A1 without tuition.

Morning! Me very good mood today cos its Fri!.

Stylobb,

I think for up till pri sch Math, I can consider myself ok bah. But can't say the same for Sec sch & above. I din even do A Maths for O Level! :p

My coll told me Kumon is good for Maths cos of the repetition since one nids lots of practising in Maths. What it is not good for though, is prob sums. From what I gathered, Kumon is more to train the basic arithmetics so that kids know it at snap of the their fingers. Sounds to me a bit like the concept of learning abacus.

When it comes to prob sums, I find that the sums test the kids' English more than their mathematics concepts. Cos some of the qn are phrased in such ways that even adults need some time to figure them out.

Linda,

U so cute. So got award for the most 'talkative' mommy?

Good morning mommies,

My heart beating very fast now, coz i've just officially started the war with Etonhouse. I hope the teachers won't take it out on Joey coz the nasty email is sent out in my name! and although it's supported by over 20 parents.... the school may think i'm the indian chief!

Hi StyloBB,

I'm dyslexic when it comes to numbers... even with a calculator, i can punch in the wrong numbers. I can still remember that i got 16 marks for secondary school maths.

But surprisingly, i did very well for International Banking (which requires calculation) during my Uni days.

Hi Periwinkle,

*wave* who are you? hahaha

Hi Chris, Trans, StyloBB,

I've not started my GSS shopping yet! When is it ending?

chris,

My colls is planning a trip to Melacca but they are not familiar with the place? Where to shop and which hotel is good?

Good Morning Mommies,

Stylobb/Trans,

Yes, CMA teaches mental arithmetic. They child is trained to have a mental abacus in their mind. You can bring the child for a trial at their premises if you are keen.

For Kumon, I have a colleague whose gal became v v competitive after attending it. She always wans to be first and fast as dats wat Kumon trained her to be. Eg, she has to complete certain number of worksheets within a stipulated time and the time gets shorter and shorter. So she took her out after she noticed the change in her gal and placed her in another program. Now the gal is much better and not so stressed.

Stylobb,

The cost of art at NAFA averages $76 a mth for 4 lessons of 1.5hrs. Not ex at all. Perhaps dats why there is a long queue???

cherly
they can stay at holiday inn, last time i stayed, its ard S$111 per room per night. shopping wise, there are 2 very big shopping malls next to each other near to the hotel. on the way in or out, they can go jusco near the malacca zoo too. at nite, they can go jonker's st for pasar malam.

Quite pleased with myself as managed to clear some work well and settled some stuff.... Quite good mood today too but later got a task to do, must finish by today...haiz...

Maths - I admire ppl who are good with figures. I always had phobia, that's why my nightmare recurs, rember?
When I sat for those finance/accs papers, took me so long just to read the questions!!! I barely made it for the finance paper...!

linda
So can I safely say that you are BEST with numbers here? Haha... Kui you can think of this list!!! Tkfully hong overtook me liao or else my hb wl ask me if I go to forum often.. actually lately I didn't right, only yesterday..

chris
I was rushing to meet my hb cos we both went to the wrong place!

Tried the cream today, it works!

m2b
Tks for the website, wl take a look later.

I think the Glide On is $15+...I didn't buy cos it's more exp.

Wow, raine is so bz... looks like I better buckle up to plan some chinese writing homework for jesse...
Tkfully Mil is teaching and giving him homework everyday...

cherly
Hotel Equatorial is supposedly the best there loh.. I hear recently got new hotel, Hyatt or sth.. not sure. Must try the peranakan food ...

Coach - Yah, there was a black one on sale but told myself never to get another black bag.... most of the leather bags on sale are scratched, wl need to polish them.

minnie
Oh that's reasonable, but hb says forget it lah, no need to go for art class...

preggie
So the parents sent out an email to the school? What are u all expecting to happen in terms of improvement?

trans/minnie
I also learnt that one of the mummies in another thread mentioned re kumon.. how the gal got competitive.. Repetition ah? Hmm.. no so good leh... I went down to the centre to take a look, seems they are more like hving tuition leh.. so quiet, everyone was doing their own work.

I just asked jesse if he wanted to attend, he said No, he rather go to his class (meaning the hol programme one).. it's quite good cos he rembred the teacher there.

periwinkle
It's safe to appear here... !!!

cla
Where are u??

Stylobb,
Now Raine is enjoying her holidays coz all classes except piano break for holidays...heehee

But I always make sure I asked her if she enjoy the lessons and it is always a YES so I let her be.

The "glide-On" is having a promo at Watson (Funan) for $11.85 leh...glad the cream works so I can start wearing my shoes again. :p

hi Mummies,

Very busy!

Linda, does that mean I am too idle? May be got to tone down a little.

Math - I find pri school math is so difficult. the kids cannot use algebra to solve the problem. I may consider taking up course to understand how the teacher teach Maths in future so I can coach Janelle.

When I was in Pri school, I scored the highest in my Math in the class althot my English cannot make it but the classmate who always score the highest in the class always fail her Maths. The teacher totally have no idea why it like that.

Look like i need to get the glide-on cos I have the same problem with my shoes.

I think Janelle school have some reading program incorprate and she is able to read simple story book. Infact, she can read 70% of simple story book after I went thru one round with her.

NOIF,
I dun think Janelle will wean off bottle soon cos I want her to continue drinking milk. She tired Meji milk and she likes it but hubby doesnt like the kids to take too much fresh milk. He scare their tummy cannot take it.

Homework - I think i am the laziest. I never give Janelle much homework. Infact, she is the one who will pick up worksheet and practise.

Linda, so glad to b a hero for a day. Ha...one question, how come Preggie not on the list?

Preggie, it must a real issue to warrant an email like that. Care to share?

Hong, if you're keen to wean Janelle off and yet still wants her to continue with milk, why don't you try feeding her from a bowl. If she drinks from a cup, it may take ages and she may not empty it. Feeding her means she has no choice but to finish what you put out for her.

Pertaining to the math issue, think both Kumon and abacus involves lot's of drilling exercise. Both have homework and requires parent's involvement.

periwinkle,
I am not really keen to wean her off from bottle. I dun think there is a different drinking from cup and bowl leh.

m2b
SO which one did u buy? There was no discount at the Watson's outlet at my side leh... but glad it works, my feet didn't hurt today!

chris/hong
Rembr to buy ah!!! haha.

periwinkle
Wah ur eyes are so sharp, I think jas also not on the list....

trans
Maths - I rmbr that time during my nephews time, I tried to read the maths problem.. wah, not easy leh.....

So bz just now....!

Nua-ing at home now.. What are ur plans tomorrow?
Think hb not 100% to go for swim leh....

preggie
I dun know when GSS ends cos I hvn't shopped yet!!

Mommies
Can figure out this one??

1455290.jpg

Compare these.. v1 and v2...

1455291.jpg
1455292.jpg