Pine Close Mummies

Bbethan,
U mean phase 2C izzit? Phase 3 is for foreigners & KH won't have any vacancy left by then. Yes, I would strongly encourage you to be PV.

jamie,
U haven't minus the sch holidays, public holidays, sports days, special events & exam days... Anyway, they have a lot of ad-hoc assignments so if you tink is too slow, u can try to take up a few. Tat's my 2 cents worth of advise.

Cat_tail
Oh ya I totally forgot abt all these dates, thanks for reminding! Yes agree they hv alot of adhoc duties, hv received quite a few emails recently asking for volunteers.

jamie/cat_tail
yes... i mean Phase 2C.
so for 2014 registration, I have to register my interest to pv by May 2012 right? can we register or start earlier so that we have more time to clock the hours?

btw, anyone knows when is KH moving back to our area? WHere is their current premise now?

also can i know if the school has student care facilities? I heard from some ppl that they have but don't seem to find any info on their sch website.

Jen,
You got other schs in mind other than KH? If I am in your shoe.. would probably wait for the last day of Phase 2C to decide whether to go for KH. If it's too overwhelming, better dun risk. From the last yr record, there are only Cannosa & Eunos Pri left for 2C sup in our Geylang region.

jamie,
Heehee.. welcome. I was a bit KS, so I completed my 40hrs within half a yr. Then the remaining mths, I take it easy. :p

Mesh...just curious, if you get to become one as Pv, will you get the chance to enrol all 3 under 2b? If yes, worth to try leh...kekeke

BbEthan : Current KH is at circuit road. Heard they will move back mid 2012 but nothing is confirmed until nearer date. Previously they said could be ready by end 2011 but delayed so you wont know until nearer.

cat_tail : do you know how many PVs for this yr pri 1 registration? I was told less than 35? But i remember when i went to the PV interview last yr, the principal said they will shortlist like 40 or so...

Bbethan,
If u reg P1 in 2014, then u shld express your interest to be PV at KH after July 2012. PV selection will take place ard June 2013 & then u start your work from July 2013 - May 2014. Just a rough guide.

KH is at circuit rd near Macpherson MRT. There's a delay in sch upgrading... maybe completed in 2013. No fix date yet. I heard the sch got some kind of student care service for those waiting for their CCA.

Ginger,
It's ard there, can't reveal too much since this is an open forum. I think shld worry more on SHHK & RC. Really dun noe how many will come in.

cat_tail, we gave up the slot on Pei Chun as my hb is the ex-student there. If KH doesnt get, no choice but to go for geylang methodist or macpherson pr.

Cat_tail,
thanks for the details.
so the pv period is only for 1 yr? I always thought had to clock the 40 hrs in 2 yrs.

ginger
I agree with cat_tail. we still have SHKHK members to take into consideration unlike other schools.

fyi the bulk comes from PV and Rcs. Hokkien clan will only issue recommendations 2 days prior to 2B registration and I don't think they give many.

Anyway under 2B, its a total of PV/clan/RCs..

Good luck to all plus myself for 2b and 2c...kekeke

Jen,
Haha... Take yor time to tink. U still got yrs b4 u join the reg. Who noes MOE may change the phase thingy.

Ginger,
U r a pv too?

Mesh,
R u the mommy wif triplets?

Jen,
Oppss.. sorry very blur of me. So u r reg tis yr. Pei Chun is a gd sch too but travelling to/fro quite tedious. Ever tot of Tg Katong?

Then Bbethan, u got lots of time to think. :p

Well looks like it's me, Jen & Ginger that are going to reg our child tis yr. Yeah, gd luck to all of us! Tot of going to Joo Chiat Guan Yin Tang pray pray on tis wkends. Lol

cat_tail, Pei Chun is quite far. 1st one to board the school bus & last one to get down. I checked with the school bus driver of Pei Chun.

Last year i knew of 2 boys, one at my blk & the other at blk 30. They doesnt get into KH. Ended up one at Tg katong & the other one went to Stamford pri... Many went to MP too, but no use lor..

Jen,
So sad your neighbours r staying so near & yet kids hv to travel further for schooling. Overall, think this phase thingy is a little out of control. If u realise, every yr the vacancies left for phase 2B onwards are shrinking. Really hope MOE can do something abt it soon.

Yeah, 60 vying for 47 vacancies to date. Feel like in a hot seat for General Election.
Tmr still got more to reg. Balloting is unavoidable so now playing at distance leh. *sigh

I hope the number wont go up to 70 !! Heart attack man..

Its going to be tougher each year even at phase 2B!! So those planning to send their kids to KH, start planning !!

Hi cat_tail,

U mentioned u joined Hokkien clan. so how long b4 the 2B registration did they send a recommendation letter to u? & mind sharing how long u hv joined the clan? my neighbour told me this morning they didnt send them any letter. & he mentioned thru school they know. I am quite puzzle what does he mean. Without recommendation letter from Hokkien clan can registered under 2B? My DS1 will be registering next year. *worry*

Hi wkltay,
U need to be a active member for at least 2 yrs. When your child is going to be due for phase 2B say a mth before, u have to let SHHK noe u needed the recommendation letter. After phase 2A2 or ard a wk before phase 2B, they will shortlist the parents & send their recommendation to the sch. The sch will give u a call & give u an appointment to reg. U won't get the letter physically & I have to emphasize not everyone will get the recommendation from clan.

Btw, how long have u join? Try to particpate whatever activities from SHHK.

Hi cat_tail,

Tks for ur reply. Then jialet alr lah. Sent the application juz last mth till now no reply..

So think even I joined also no use already. Sigh..

They only recruit members like twice a yr... N frankly speaking, yor chance of getting recommendation is very slim. Hope u got some alt plan.

hi hi cat_tail, gen, ginger.... how? u guys manage to get in KH? anyone else? hope its not sensitive info.....

Mummies with children at pcf Mountbatten, old airport rd.
Can I check if registration is anytime after certain date or is it if I missed the openingdate, I can't register anymore?

Other than old airport branch, where are the next nearest ones?

Hi BbEthan,

you can call them up or go down for register. Speak to Mrs Mas, the principal.

Other than old airport branch, katong pcf is the nearest. They're at tanjong rhu side. Old airport rd & katong pcf always gather together for events.

jen
thanks for the info
can i check if there's any difference in the 2 branches? How's the teachers and standard at old airport rd (no offence)?

am considering my 2009 gal for nursery class next yr. this age group is mainly just learning thru play right?

BbEthan,

i'm not sure abt Katong branch. I only knew 3 teachers there, one admin assistant, 1 aunty (who assisting in providing food) 1 principal & another admin in the office at Old Airport.

For nursery, yes, learning thru play.

U can call up both branches to ask for more info.

Jen,
Wow, 82 is quite a lot. Understand wat u r going thru! The most torturing part is the wait for balloting. Will u be going? Wish u gd luck!

cat_tail, am really stress & upset over it. Just doesnt has the luck. I think only Macpherson is the only choice and nearer. Eunos primary seem a distance away.

Jen,
Cheer up n dun look back leh.
When a door shut, u can still open the window. Do a transfer if yor ds fare well at later stage.

Jen,
Dun feel so bad, it's really a rational decision u made. No point tired him out by sending him to such a far away sch or rather bad traffic. It's a 6 yrs, daily to & fro tedious journey. Dun forget when CCA kicks in P3, it will be worst. I hope time will help u get over it soon n move on wif your life. Get some info on Macpherson or parents support from there. Maybe it's not as bad as what u think.

Dont be sad Jen. For all you know, it might be for his good, cos i heard that in KH, ( i believe in all good schools too) only the top class get the school's attention.... the rest of the class are so so only. so it does not really matter. i think Geylang Methodist Pri School is quite near too.... unfortunately its not convenient by MRT.

So by when you need to register for the school now?

advice needed.... anyone of you frequent the hairdressing shops in our neighbourhood? or even any other location? can recommend your hairdressers?