Pine Close Mummies

mesh

i'm still using cloth diapers only in the day, u really save alot!

jamie.... i dont find it save a lot using cloth... my boy uses 20 nappies and we wash twice a day.... i have 3 babies... think i need to get 100 nappies, then wash once a day.... else all detergent, electrical and ater bills add up to cost more than that of using disposables

mesh,
Yup, it's ok to burp a little milk out. Cannot imagine your washing machine is going for full force when all 3 are back..keke..
Well to console you, I rocked & strapped my gal at my side till she's 3 mths old cos she dun sleep & simply want me to carry her all the way. To add in salt, she had developed colic during the 1st whole mth from 8pm to 2am. *sweat

hmmm.... thanks cat_tail..... that's reassuring... hehe

how to tell if it's colic.... sometimes my boy cry non stop too... we thought he's hungry... cl keep rocking and rocking him

Hi mesh..

Just wondering do you still wrap him up like in the hospital ..I have a method which works very well for my son and I read it in a very famous book...

If you keen i can let you know the method..

cat_tail
Edna is difficult to look after as an infant, hope your #2 will be a breeze...

mesh
wow you CL seems very experienced, do you have to pay her more since there are 3 babies for her to handle?

mesh,
Heehee... if u compare with me, that will make u feel luckier.

re: Colic
It hits at certain time everyday but mostly in the evening during the 1st mth. For my gal, she got it at 2nd week & cried at ard 8pm.
We were panic & do almost everything like massage, wrap, gives gripe water but all useless. It was until we chance that certain carrying position help to settle them. I carried her in a way that her tummy facing mine accompanied by walk & humming music. I heard some parents even put their baby on top of the running washing machine. I tried too.. but it doesn't help. Haha..

jastan,
I will pray very hard....keke..
But if suay suay I got another difficult baby, I think I should be able to cope since I am immune to it. :p

dreambabyd, sure , pls share the wrapping methd... anything for these 3 little darlings... (darlings so far.....)

jastan.... of course look after more need to pay more la.... i wish she said otherwise... hehe

cat_tail... i'd observe ont he colic thingy

Just to share, I also had a colicky baby. it started when he's abt 4 wks until when he was almost 3 mths. my boy wld transform into a little monster when the sky turned dark. he wld only settle down at 2-3am. he just wanted to be pat and carried all the time. the moment u put him down, he wld start crying even though when he was asleep. so we end up having to carry him most of the time. it can quite stressful caring for a colicky baby cos he's always crying and u are at a loss on what u can do. we tried giving him colic drops but it didn't really help. however, things got better when he was reaching his third month. once he got over his colic problem, he could sleep thru the night so that's the consolation part for me.

mesh, I did hear baby cries last few nights but not sure if it's coming from ur unit. don't worry, there are quite a few babies in our blk and my boy contributes to the orchestra too.

mesh,
Hope yor boy is not having colic.

Petals,
Oh no, u also went thru that too? I feel that was the most difficult time I ever have. Sleep not enuff plus mental torture by the monster. Lucky we pull thru all these ordeals by keeping the minds positive.

cat_tail,
yeah, it's was indeed very tough then. I was so worried how can I go back to work if he remained like that after my maternity. luckily he got over the problem just b4 I went back to work. I really hope ur no.2 will not be like that cos u will hv 2 to handle then. how's ur pregnancy so far? first trimester over?

Petals,
I am still in the 1st trimester. Dun feel much different from my previous preg except poor appetite. Think tis time I am really laxed. I can still drink coffee everyday & chasing my gal.

Btw, how's your boy doing in the CC? I have to take into serious consideration of putting Edna in the CC before my no. 2 comes.

Cat_tail,
good not to be too stressed up. Just make sure u hv enough rest and dun carry heavy stuffs. Do u still carry Edna now?

My boy is not in any CC. He's <18 mths. My mum is still looking after him now. Don't intend to put him in CC too soon unless my mum wants to resign!! Edna is almost 2 right? Yeah, it may be a good idea to put her in CC before ur no.2 arrives.

mesh

It's call the 5s method...

Step 1 : Swaddling - wrap them up like in the hospital when you receive them using a muslin cloth coz not so hot..do not let their hands run freely..suppose to be tight enough to have their hands in place

Step 2 : Side or Stomach - meaning their resting position ( still in wrap hor )

Step 3 : Shhhhh - make the shhhhh sound ( must be louder than them , if softer than them it will not work )

Step 4 : Swinging - meaning rocking motion ( dont have to rock too hard )

Step 5 : Sucking - meaning pacifier or other things that you allow and also satisfy their needs...

Note : It will take a while ..not immediate effect..these methods will calm them now..BUT if it doesn't work..probably i show you better coz sometimes reading through it you may not understand why use these methods..

Give me a msg if you need me to go down n demonstrate ...

My edd will be in MAr 25th next yr.

Cat_tail, so envy you! still have the energy to chase your girl.

think i will put my boy in CC when my no.2 comes out next yr. My MIL does like to look after two at the same time

Mesh,
glad that u are back.

yes colic baby is very hard to take care. I let Julian sleep on tummy. If u are carrying the bb then place the tummy on to ur body. Like u are breastfeeding them.

I give my kids pacifier, despite of all the bad saying abt pacifier but is the best solution to soothe them. Some bbies just have strong urge of sucking, so not to stress ourselves we give both pacifier. Easier to wean pacifier than finger. My nephew like to suck on his finger, my sister has big problem weaning off his habit.

I on aircon cos the older generation just refused to let the bb blow fan. Saying will make the colic worse. I will cool the room down, turn to 25 deg then 26 deg when the bb need to sleep in the room. As long as they are well covered, they wun catch a cold.

20 nappies are not alot to me. I use the nappy to place on the bb head, cover him etc.. so end up more than 20 nappies a day and that is only one 1 baby.

Regurgitate - My ger regurgitates everytime she finishes her milk. As long as she is not merlion or choking herself i just leave it. The doctor told us cos the infant tummy is not very well develop to "close in" the food they take so they tend to vomit some milk but they will overgrown this problem.

babywei, did ur kid manage to get into Kong Hwa? Did u consider Tanjung Katong Pri?

Cat, Chen Li is having a open house.
Anyone interested? I go and check the date and post it here.

Petals,
Sorry, very poor memory nowadays. :p
I must have confused between you & the other mom who is putting her child in NTUC. Yup, still carrying Edna... I wanted to stop but she whined so badly & hugged my legs like a panda bear. I tahan 1st. *sweats

Queen,
How u doing now?
I am lucky that I din hit by MS except poor appetite.

hong,
Before no. 2, Chen Li is quite a gd choice. But now, I doubt my maid can handle 2 at the same time so I have to look at CC. Anyway it's gd to post the open house dates. I have neighbours interested to send their kids there.

Cat_tail, i having MS and my son also very clingy to me nowaday. I'm so tired... hardly any rest in the night time.

Hong,
May i know where is chen Li?

Ya...it's me. My son in NTUC CC now.

Mesh, do you want bibs? They are useful when your babies are older. I have a few "heavily" used bibs wanting to give away. Just thought mayb ask you 1st before i put them under the FOC thread.

Didnt count how many, maybe 5-6pcs, mostly Carter's brand. Some do have stains though. I am upgrading my son's bibs to those crumb catcher one cos now when he eats, damn messy. Let me know

hi hong, we went to Kong hwa to register on 2 Aug and was told we need to ballot on 13 Aug. So we will know if we get a seat on 13 Aug. My 2nd choice which is geylang methodist is not available too cos the number of registered exceeds vacancy liao
Now got to think of another sch in case ballot not successful..

Babywei,
did u consider TK? One of the mummies is a teacher and her feedback abt the school is not bad.

Anyway, all the best. Hope u kid can get into KH.

mummies, sorry.. i was back home pretty late. I tried to post the date tmr. If i am not wrong is in AUG.

Queen, Chen Li Kinder is at the Chen Li church. Beside the Fatty Weng Restaurant.

Anyone knows where to find Thomas the Train underwear for boys or any nice design ? Not spiderman that kind..

ginger, any comment on NTUC CC? and where is it located? i plan put my son there at the beginning of 2008.

Mummies, thanks for concern. today i'm on MC. having fever and sore throat. Will rest well for today only....

Just want to update, i went down to buy some profitroles and mini pizza (new) from www.99partytime.com
thanks for hong's recommendation!

Quite good, but seem like it's the same as Amosco. It's quite near us, worth trying!

Hi Queen,

NTUC CC is opp Chen Li, near badminton hall there.

The selection of food is quite good. Teacher wise, so so. Not sure if other CC is the same cos for this one, it's 1 teacher and 1 auntie assistant to 8 kids. Not sure if other CC also gives 1 teacher and 1 auntie or 2 teachers to 8 kids.

Jen,
i only tired the eclair. The other items are gd? The lady very nice right.

Ginger,
May be we passby each other every morning when we sent our kids to CC and school.

dream,
pasar malam type can or not? How abt kiddy palace? Robinson or JL selling?

hong,

Bought some from pasar malam already but is the Cars picture... seems like nobody has Thomas the Train..but i manage to find it in Robinson today....

Hi all Pine Close Mummies, Good News to announce. My son finally get in to Kong Hwa after the ballot this morning. A VERY BIG THANK YOU to those mummies who have wished me luck. I am so relieved now!

babywei,
congrats. Is the balloting exciting? There must be alot of disappointed parents.
How abt seats left to be balloted and how many applicants?

Hong: Atmosphere was tense. You can see it on the parents' faces. Vacancy 54 seats, registered 74 within 1km. So 20 parents have to walk away disappointed and empty handed. Both me and hb so relieved that this is finally over for us.

babywei,
Congrats! Cannot imagine myself going thru the same with you in another few years.

hong,
U ready for next year?

Yo ladies,

my boy, age 2 always have this problem. He have been telling me his penis, gu gu pain pain leh. The tip of his penis always red. Any advice?

Ginger, my boy is aug 05 baby.

On and off, he will tell me or my mil. Abt 2 weeks or so lor. Am thinking of bringing him to see Dr Veronica @ Raffles this sat.

Hahaha Ginger, might not choose Kong Hwa leh. Hb wanted Pei Chu (Toa Payoh) as he was a student there before. Anyway, still long way!

Jen, Pei Chu is also popular right.
Btw, did u bring the forehead skin down to clean ur boy penis? May be a minor infection.

My boy like to hold his penis and will laugh when he does that.

Cat, wat for next yr???

Chen Li open house. Mummies who interested. the Open hse and enrolment is on 25 Aug - 12:30pm onwards.

Jen,

my boy experienced this redness at times too. I think it's a form of nappy rash. Try and ensure that you pull back slightly the foreskin and wash it well when you bathe him. Thereafter, dry it properly and can apply some nappy rash cream. That's what I normally do. You can try it for a few days b4 going to the doc.

Petals,

what nappy rash cream u use? Since birth, he doesnt have nappy rash problem so i dont know what to use on him.