Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

HI, all mummy.. I have a very big problem right now. My baby is now 3week only, everytime when i try to burp her after drinking milk, i need to spend at least 1 hour to burp her. sometime she dun even burp and will vomit milk after that. I'm getting very tired and stress because of this burping issue.. does any mummy have any info or tips on how to burp baby better, in another words, how to make baby burp faster?? I really need help.. Thanks!!

Elaine,

my baby Dana will regurgitate milk too if we dun burp her properly and I too find it very distressing after the midnight feeds if she takes forever to burp! We face this 'gas' problem even up till this day as baby Dana's totally bottle-fed, hence she tends to suck in gas which gets accumulated in her tummy making her very uncomfortable.

You can try burping your baby over your shoulders. I find babies burp easier that way as their bodies are aligned straight. If after few minutes of burping over shoulders does not work, place her flat on the bed or couch, let her do a lil stretch (hold both her feet together, move them up and down, raise her hands, tickle her tummy, tuck in her shirt etc). After she stretches, place her over your shoulders again and burp. That should do the trick. We sometimes also rub our palms with 'Ru-Yi' oil and place them on Dana's tummy to help her expel air. Hope that helps!

sleek, heehee.. All melting.. Giving her frozen teether. How to given frozen BM? As a snack? Will it be sticky? Very gd idea.... How's ur boy? Walking yet? ^^ Hi elaine, hi blissfuldim! Elaine, i staying at 511 west coast.
wat i used to do wen bottlefeed is feed 1/3, burp, feed 1/3 burp. Taught by nurses in hospital. If she dun burp, we will "exercise" her. Lie her down for awhile, bring her up again, & repeat. Agree wif angel, put over shoulder easier than sit on lap. Sit on lap, her tummy compress. Generally, Not much prob burping my gal. So hope urs get better soon. Gotta c how to meet up again. Miss u peeps! Nite mummies & babies!

cool, yeah just freeze your ebm into cubes and let her suck like a teether, but it's quite messy la. haha and you know how bm is sticky like another bodily substance :X I actually bought a BPA-free ice cube tray for that purpose from america but so far he doesn't need it cos not teething... He's not walking yet, but cruising and standing on his own for a few secs, everyone keeps telling me it will be soon *eeks*. what about your girl?

Koori: Have added your order. PM me your cellphone no. so I can sms you when it's delivered. Pay me when collecting.

Elaine: One way is as your baby's sitting upright, gently roll her body in a clockwise circle (anti-clockwise also can) so that she's stretching more too. All this while still supporting her chin and around her armpit. My colleague taught me this method coz her boy was also very difficult to burp. It worked for mine when she had her "moods" -- otherwise she usually burps easily and LOUDLY!

Mommies: Just to share one of the joys of co-sleeping -- last week our girl talked her baby talk in her sleep. Woke us up as a result. Then the following AM, she laughed in her sleep. Quite hilarious to see. Any of you had such experience before? Truly endearing but impossible to catch on camera

Kidzskidz - yes my ger did laugh in her sleep and make alot of noise, sometimes we tot she is awake. I pm u my hp.

Would like to join this thread if possible
I live in Sunset Way.

I'm looking for a place to have a birthday party for my boys in June, they will be 1 & 3. Any suggestions for kid friendly places that don't cost too much?

Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

welcome mummyo, we're staying in the same area
I dont know of any that don't cost too much, but have you considered globe trotters or 1 of those kids gyms?

kidz: haha my boy has to make sure he touches 1 of us when he's sleeping, sometimes he will stick so close that we have no space!!!

kidz: my boy already started giggling in his slp... suddenly can chuckle during slp... as if he's having fun during slp.. hehe

sleek: my boy slp near e wall. i slp middle, hb slp on exterior.

pet, cos your bed is against the wall. I wanted to do that too but there is a wall plug between the wall and our bed frame

railing also no use, it doesnt extend all the way around the bed and since he can crawl so well now, it'll be less than a sec for him to crawl to the end where the railing doesnt cover. also he can crawl over stuff, so it'll be even more dangerous if he were to go over the railing off the bed!!!
kao_scared.gif

i'm teaching him not to go off the bed by himself and to turn around so he can come down butt first, also he seems to be more afraid at this age and will be more cautious, staying at the bed edge and looking off, hahah not like last time fly off the bed himself!

how's ryan?

Welcome all the new mummies here!

Mummy O, you can consider McDonald @ West Coast Park. Near our place too.

Elaine, my mum stay in Blk 704. I go there everyday for dinner. Maybe can meet up someday tgether with Coolmama.

Coolmama, this is the 1st time I encounter the bleeding as never happen to my the other 2 girls. I guess I'm pumping more compare to the other 2. The boy really a good drinker. I hope it doesnt come back again. Is so hardpain to try away.

Anyone tried Pureen Dry 5? Giant having sales, $14.95 Free Baby wipe. But only can purchase it with a min of $30 spending. I bought a pack, but dont know good or not? Any comments?

I stay at Dover Crescent. I would like to seek your advise. My girl will be 3 next year and I want to put her in a pre-school. Any recommendation around Dover that your children are attending now?

flower, pureen dry 5 nt bad, absorbant & soft. but their M size cutting is slightly smaller than huggies & drypers. Gotten too tight for audrey's chubby thighs. Glad tat u are alrite nw.
sleek, e ebm ice cube seems like a cool idea.. (pardon my pun :p )Wil try & c how. She's now crawling thou slowly.. Stil grasping the technique of balancing. I cant wait for her to walk! Then dun hav to carry her so much.. She is taking a toll on my back... :p

cool, I can imagine how bad your backache must be since she was bigger than my son when we met at flower's.
did you get a new sling already?

flower, great that your problem is over! actually no need to throw away the milk, but i understand if you dont feel comfortable.

Sleek, you mean still can drink? The milk look so red, quite 'er'. Actually this morning, the bleeding comes back again. Throw away 1 big bottle. Really heart pain.

hihi mummies...

Haven't come in here lately. How's everybody?

Me on leave today...

I started Louisa on solids today!! yeah!!! hahahaha. It was sooooo fun. I mean, it's just brown rice cereal...but still, it was fun. It was so exciting to prepare and get everything ready...all for just 10mins of fun. hahahaha. she seemed to quite enjoy eating / slurping from the spoon. heehee...so cute, so cute.

petrina-
is pampers comfort from malaysia? i saw it at cold storage adn wondered if it was a new line of diapers from pampers..

csi- begining solids is great fun! we were a mini factory when we 1st began. pureeing week after week but it was sheer joy watching him down the different foods and savouring his expressions.

Thank you all mummy
All notes taken.. u gals have given me very good advise.. I will try and use the method that u all have taught me. Thanks!

Hi Flower and Coolmama, Nice to meet you
I'm a first time mummy and very inexperience looking after baby. Thanks for sharing tips on burping baby, my baby now can burp better le. I tried the shoulder method and it works! I now still on confinment, next time see when, maybe we can really meet up ya..haha.

Btw, Mummu Flower and Mummy Coolmama, how big is ur baby already?

flower: yeah can still drink according to the book I have from Paul Newman (bfeeding expert), and bm is also made of similar cells to blood, but if you find it er xing then no choice but to throw
are you having blocked ducts recently?

Sleek, the blacked ducts was few weeks ago, so I didnt thought it could be from that. But seems like I've to keep applying the nipple cream to stop the bleeding. See how it goes. Thanks for your advise.

Elaine, I got 3 kids, 4 yrs, 20 months and 5 months old. Coolmama has 2 girls, 1 is 4 yrs and the other I cant remember.
BTW, you just move to WC or have been staying there for long?

Hi Flower, I Stay at west coast for about 2year+ only. ( Staying with my husband and mother in-law) previously staying at Chai Chee for 20years
Wow, You have 3 Kids, must be very tiring and 'xiong' looking after them. I only have 1 already wan to die liao..haha

Thanks all mummies for their suggestions. Will look into those places. Might just have it at home but I'm worried for my antique furniture

CASEY:
My almost 3 yr old son goes to Children Vista at Pandan Valley. Very good teacher to student ratio, there're only about 6 kids in his class and there's 1 English and 1 Chinese teacher. I haven't been able to get him to speak mandarin at home as my husband and I converse in Eng but since he started attending playschool in January, he's been picking up a lot of Mandarin and Mandarin songs too which he sings for his little brother so I'm very happy with his progress.

Next year he will start nursery and I've no idea where to put him as this Children Vista is only a playschool for 18mth to 4yo.

I have anmun milk powder sample pack(6pkt in a box). Gift from KKH but I dun breast feed so wanna give away. Intrested pls sms me at 96960155. Collection at 702 west coast road. Thanks!

hi sleek,
she's exactly 24 weeks old today...2 weeks short of 6 months (if going by the date of birth...hahaha). But she's been very interested in adult food for the past few weeks. She's been been getting hungry and irritable earlier than her usual fixed timings, even though I increase the amt of EBM for her at each feed. Her weight has also more than doubled her birth weight, plus she can sit up...so, she's quite ready for solids already. No need to zhun zhun wait till 6 mths lah...hee...

Hi all mommies.

This is a very active thread. I "free" today to browse and happened to chance upon this. I am a SAHM, staying in Blk 458, Clementi Ave 3. I have two kids, age 5 (k1) and age 4 (N2). Am I welcome?
Anyone with kids of similar age near me?

Sherlyn: Welcome to this thread. I have a 15M girl, we stay @ West Coast Court

Coolmamma: Does Pureen 5 diapers use plastic adhesive tape or paper ones (like Pampers, Nepia)?

CSI Fan: Understand what you mean about readiness. Used to be babies are introduced to solids as early as 4M so our babies natural curiosity and reflex are there already. I exclusively BF for 6M but before that can see my girl "eye-balling" people as they eat. She would even mirror their chewing action -- as a result kena labelled "tam-jiah" by some friends before
kao_drool.gif
. Advantage of waiting is baby's definitely ready and more than willing to open mouth wide

<font color="0000ff">NEED FORMULA MILK SAMPLES</font>

Mommies: I'm looking for formula milk samples. My girl has yet to find one she likes -- already rejected Gain, Enfagrow (?), Mamil. Would anyone happen to have samples from other brands to pass to us? She's 15M old. If you do, could you PM me? Not going PD's yet so not able to get any --they also only give one type at a time...

csi/ kidz: I would just like to share about age to introduce solids. A baby can start showing interest to eat adult food at 2mths, but it's not appropriate to start solids then nor is it ok to start at 4mths just because baby has been showing interest since 2mo, there is alot of evidence-based info to suggest that starting at 6mo or later is best for an exclusively breastfed baby as shown at http://kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/index.html.

welcome sherlyn! you're more than welcome to join us. I think there are 2-3 moms here with children who are about 4-5yo, while the rest of us have children 2 yr and younger.

hi mummies..
new on tis thread..just wanna check how to get more milk as i dont usualli let my boy suckle as he is veri*3 slow..can go up to 2 hrs or more for 1 breast!so i usually pump it out...but i cant onli pump just nice for his feed cant pump more than 4oz...any remedy??
thanks...
btw i m staying QT...n there will b a motherhood sales next month on the 5th any mummy going??

shauna: pampers comfort is new line.. ya... my frens say it's quite comfy n absorbent.

sleek: i got my ergo!!
Yay. metro 20%. $151.30

elaine: my boy is juz gonna 3mths...

apple: expo motherfair nothing to buy... i heard, except diapers. but now GSS, diapers r cheap everywhere...
i stay holland area.

tiam jia
haha, my boy is very... cause everytime after he see me eat, he'll cry for milk... cause he wans to taste the foods i eat. he'll stare at me eating n he'll move his tongue in n out as if salivating... he'll wait for me to finish my food, then he'll ask me to feed him...

sleek, kidzkidz...
yah lorh, best is wait till 6 mths. anyway, slightly short of 6 mths...so start slowly lah. heehee...agree. the advantage of waiting is that the babies would be more ready and more willing to open mouth wide. Think my gal likes the cereal. hahaha. she keeps lunging forward to grab the tiny bowl. hahaha. she finishes 1 tsp very quickly...probably coz it's mixed with EBM ba...more watery, when mixed with EBM. So she eats it faster...? hehs...

Petrina,
your boy very cute. wait for u to finish your food then ask you to feed...hahaha. Quite guai...

Petrina,
well there is a mummy that post the poster in one of the thread...it said that it ill have like bb cot,mummy's wear..etc..diaper i have alot..the last bb fair i brought like 4 carton diff size at cheap price plus free delivery also dryper brand..n i got a carton of pureen bb wipes..u noe.ks mah..hmm...just wanna go n chesk out for good deals lo..u went b4?

btw..any mummies wanna get prelove pump?
i have got tollyjoy manual, medela manual n medela mini dual ele(use onli a few times..warrenty till next year 27 april warrenty card not fill have recp)..will exchange for good stuff or cash..wanna get rid to clear space..thanks...

and any adv on producing more milk for bb?

welcome apple, how old is your baby now? the best way to produce more milk is still to latch-on demand as long as possible or to ensure you make an effort to pump regularly. if you have already started supplementing with formula, you must be aware that that you must be even more disciplined to latch on / pump during that supplemented feed if not it will be considered a replacement feed and your body will not make the milk for that feed. Basically demand = supply.

good morning.
I bought a 2nd hand sarong set with stand and motor on Sunday (24 May) from a mummy in the WTS thread for $150 as she claims she has 2 sets. I realised something was fishy as I chanced upon her WTB thread (for a Sarong set) posted on 21 May. I contacted the lady who PMed this mummy. This lady told me she sold her complete sarong set on Sat (23 May) for $80 only! Which means this mummy resold the sarong set which she bought at $80 to me at $150
Feel so stupid and sad to be cheated of my $
What should I do?

hi sleek

well i m total breastfeeding..cz stay at home mum..hm..well he is like 7 weeks liao..he drinks ard 4oz ba..but can go more..last week i try 4.5oz for a few days but then i tink it's too much or what he puke all out a few times den i reduce to 4 oz lo..i pump every3hrs now some times 2hr..just praying that i will get more milk to store incase i run out..i gv him latch onli like once to twic a day cz he is relli slow le..hmm..if i latch him on he will wanna drink every 2hr if i pump out he will have his meal every 3-4hr le..

angel, wow that mummy really a cheater! Possible to tell her that you know she bought the set at $80 and if she refund you the excess, I mean even sell you at $100 than $150 since its 3rd hand, not even 2nd hand! This mummy is selling at $150, is really day light robbery! I bought my 2nd hand sarang set without motor for about $35 and my baby din even use it, end up pass to sil.

apple, you can try fenugreek or mother's milktea to boast your milk supply. But every 2 hr pump out might be too frequent as you lack of rest, maybe 3-4 hrly is better for you. I also pump and store after my confinement, end up too much and need to throw, now milk supply dropping and running low on stored milk, but since baby is starting on brown rice and some solid, might be moving to formula soon.

apple: all I can say that at 7wks old it is normal for a bb to latch on every 2 hourly, it has nothing to do with your lack of supply. as for being slow, perhaps you need to check with a LC if your latch-on is correct, then if it is correct, it is also normal for a baby to drink for very long periods. Even now my 10mo son can sometimes latch on for 1hour plus and if he drinks ebm, he can only drink 120-130ml/ feed.

angel: I think you should speak to the mum who cheated you, tell her you know she only paid $80 for it 2nd hand, see what she says. Personally, I am currently also dealing with a somewhat unpleasant mummy and I hope to just finish the transaction and be done with it, hope not to hear any rubbish from her after. gd luck dear.

angel: u may wanna contact the moderator... so bad, the mummy... how can cheat in this forum...

CSI: cause he wan to taste my food mah... if i haven't finish, how to produce similar taste milk for him? haha... but if he's not interested in the food, he wun wait de...

yesterday very funny, my hb was carrying ryan... then ryan kept staring at me. my hb asked him if he wans me to carry. then ryan practically bend forward... haha. i so happy...

apple: tat time i went was when i was preg. so i realised tat nothing much to buy except diapers or wipes.. so i dun wan waste my time travel all the way to expo again this time.
anyway if there is anything good to buy, some of the mummies will post. then i'll go if i need the item..

now i'm using tollyjoy wipes. cheaper &amp; wetter &amp; bigger pc. sometimes i use carlson wipes also. cheaper... pigeon is too expensive.

hi myfairlady,
what is mother's milk tea?is it safe?reali works??hm...well i recently pump till my nipples skin abit tear..*sob* but still hve not give up yet..well u atill can store i can onli pump the amount he wants to drink.hope he dont increase his feed so soon...

Hi sleek..
well i feel veri "fun" if he keep latching n sleepin n wakeup n cry again..veri siean le..hmm..i dono y..so that's y i express my milk out...ur son 10 month still 120ml?he onli 7 weeks den the bb doc ask me go 120-140ml le..i dono how to squeeze that much out le..*sob*..

Hi petrina
is it the bbfair?i went wen i was preg too..lubky i buy alot cz my hubby use wipes like tissue like that...hm..well that time i get the pureen was cheap too..$5 for 200 pcs...hm..i will go...will update u guys...cz i need more wipes..hee