Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

apple: pumping wise, i usually use hand squeeze. i seldom use pump. if i wan hasten the process, i'll attach pump to breast n on it. at the same time, i'll use hand to squeeze breast to speed up milk flow.

i think is bb fair. ya. preg time i nv stock up on wipes. only little. backside wipes i dun allow hb to use as tissue. i buy wet tissue for tat reason.

hi apple, the correct name is: Traditional medicinals organic mother's milk, tea bags (16 tea bag in a box). You might like to join those spree, found it's selling usd4.19 in Lucky Vitamin website. It dees helps to improve milk flow as it contains fenugreek but you need to drink 3 times a day. Oh you nipple skin a bit tear can use purelan or lanosinoh cream or breast milk to moisturise?

Carlson wipes is cheap and good too, my friend help me buy last sat at john little, off 20% with ocbc card another 5%, so only $4.14 for 3 packs of 80s, very worth it.

I'm also looking for a good preschool for my boy who is 2 tis year. Am staying in Dover Cres, any recommendation?

I have two Malaysian gal colleague, need to rent a room ard CL or near West area.

Mummies, who dun mind to rent, pls let me know ya.

My Company is also looking for a whole unit to rent as a qurantine purpose.

Let me know if there is any.

Any Mummy Plan to go to the baby fair at Expo on this coming 5th-8th June? Just when to the motherFair in apr that time, nothing to buy. wonder this time round will it still be the same? Coz I need to buy stroller and Car Seat..

apple: becareful if you take those milk tea or fenugreek cos you DO NOT have low supply problems.

elaine: if you want to look for those things, I think you can just find cheaper and better deals from shopping centers now instead of going to the expo, I normally hear mums saying there is not much good buys there, mostly those milk powder companies and insurance booths.

elaine: apple is gg. i dun think there's anything to buy also...
now everywhere sale... u'll prob get a better deal there... or if u wan a cheap pram, i can sell u mine.
1mth old pram - lucky baby... Model: S-200

keke...

hi petrina,
well i try that way too...but still squeeze onli 4oz..ai..but i m still trying hard tho drink lots of water n milk..feeling like a cow since day 1..my hubby use them like tissue in a way like he wipe bb bottom use 1 pc then throw n my bb dono y c till him will poo n pee while he help to change diaper so veri messy..

hi myfairlady,
is that some kinna herb or what?hmm..well i just put some breast milk n air it lo..but i hope to see more dis during motherhood fair..

hi elaine,
i just got my car seat n pram at robinson..it's a 2 in 1..$525 aft dis..i dono if it cheap..the brand is graco..

hi sleek..
i m just intrested in it..just scare if i run low 1 day..btw i dono y my bb sleep so much now..aft every feed he sleep for 5 hr le(is it normal??)..i just give him 4oz of milk..dono if it enough for him le..

apple: I am sorry but i already told you 2x that you dont have low supply issues yet you keep asking if 4oz is enough & even that it is 'fun' for bb to latch on often and long, to me it seems like you are not really interested in others advice but just want ppl to tell u 4oz is not enough for a 7wk old.

Thank you kidszkidz and sleek. I will not have time to read the archive to know all that has happened but i will certainly drop by on and off. I am nite owl and recently catching repeat telecast of channel 8 shows ... so very busy and tired in the day. I only login after kids sleep.

I guess i will not be able to be very paricipative cos my kids are older and i do not hv bf experiences. Just hope u guys dun mind me following the thread.

cheers and good nite now.

hehe, sleek... u sound pissed...

apple: 4oz is definately enuff for a 7wk old bb... haha... my boy @ 2mths is drinking abt 150ml.. after which i nv measure liao... pumping wise, i usually only managed 100ml per breast @ each pump session.
i dun pump so frequently. only once a day for emergency storage purpose. now i stop pumping altogether.. cause i prefer latching.

save time n energy...

good morning. I'm home today on childcare leave as baby Dana was crying non-stop the entire day (according to my helper) when I was at work. Brought her to Sunset PD y'day evening but I've to stay home today to monitor her at doc's advice. She seldom cries so inconsolably, really scared me stiff. Almost wanted to cry along with her!

Here's how baby Dana looks like at 7 weeks.

1446424.jpg

Anyone free to drop by my place for an afternoon chat?

hey pretty Dana...
She's one happy baby...

Her crying: Maybe she misses you? What did the PD say?

Aiyah angel...I was on leave last week. This week back in office liaoz.

apple,
each pumping session you yield 4oz? Then how often do you pump? If your baby sleeps for 5 hours after each feed, you can pump in between the 5 hours. then can slowly stock up yoru EBM in the freezer. 4oz is like...120ml? Assuming ur 1 pumping session = 1 feeding seesion, I'd say 4oz is quite good already leh.

My gal is now 6 mths. I pump twice a day (other 2 times I latch her on), I get 5 - 6oz each session. So if your 4oz is little for a 7 week old baby, mine is pathetic lorh...for a 24 week old baby. hahaha.

Impt thing is...does your baby cry for more after each feed? If not, your baby is fine lah...he probably cries for more after a "latch-on" feeding session, coz he didn't drink enough. He most probably fell asleeep while at the breast. It happened to my gal too. It's so comfy that she just dozes off. So end up not drinking lorh. Ended up sucking maciam like sucking pacifier like that. They know how to control the flow of milk, such that they can just suckle like sucking pacifier, and not drinking. So gotta wake baby up to drink drink.

Alternatively, you can pump out the excess milk after latching baby on. Then 2 hours later when baby cries for more, you can offer what you have just pumped out. Gives ur boobs some rest too...

sleek,.... cool... *fu-sa*...

Apple, 4 oz for a baby of 7 weeks is good. For breastmilk, you cannot compare to formula in consumed quantity. Cos they are different.
If your baby is wetting 8 diapers in a day, she/he is having enough, don't worry....
as for increase in feed, how to increase supply is simply to just PUMP MORE OFTEN. no tricks and gimmicks. just pump more often, your body will get the signal and in 2-3 days time, your body is able to supply more milk already. You do not have a low supply problem. just that now, your body is accustommed to the 4oz per pump demand. I have seen mummy who can pump and fill up the whole 8 oz bottle! that is like after 4-5 months of adjustments.
Breastfeeding is easier if direct latch on, i can latch my baby and walk around, watch tv or read book, in her younger days. treasure these times, where you can still quietly carry your baby and nurse and not rush to finish chores and work.. just enjoy your baby's company for now, cos very soon, your baby will be running around, and you will have another set of problem! ;)
so for now, baby will only be sleeping, and crying, and feeding, and pooing... but baby's grow fast, b4 you know it, they are past this stage and you will miss them then.
oh yeah, pumping will yield less than direct latch one. that's a fact cos the baby's usction is more effective than a pump, no pump can pump more than a baby's mouth. scientifically proven..

Hi sherlyn, we all learn togther and share share exp and tips.

Angel, dana very sweet...sweet... sweet... you so lucky, got pro to capture the moments for you.... *envious* sleek, jordan, can have another choice of gf. :p

Flower, how is your breastfeeding?.. better already?

was thinking of going to expo, but a bit far leh... anyone going to see barney here?

petrina, sleek does sound pissed :p
but I guess we are just trying to provide any advices we have for apple to encourage her.

apple, that's herbal supplement if you need to increase your milk supply but if you are pumping 4oz each time, I must say you are doing very well! If your baby feel satisfied after each feed and is growing well, don't worry too much. Important thing is you need to relax and rest well and when you baby starts to drink more, your brain will tell your breast to produce more, so your milk supply will gradually increase over the months. So give yourself a pat, you are doing a great job as a first time mummy.

oh yah...one more thing apple,

I read somewhere, that for BM, there is no need to increase quantity. There's a need to increase the amt of FM for baby after every month or so. According to the article, it's because the amt of nutrients in FM is fixed (1 scoop of FM can only have X amt of iron / calcium etc right?). So in order to give more nutrients per bottle to the growing baby as their requirement increases, more FM powder needs to be used lorh. Whereas for BM, the body automatically adjusts the composition of the BM to meet the baby's requirements. Hence, no need to increase amt of BM or EBM for baby to drink.

If I recall correctly, I read that article on the Kellymom website. Let me try to find it again. hee...

apple, Dana is also 7 weeks old and we're feeding her 120ml every 4 hourly. She's totally on Formula. PD told us last night that for 7-weekers, as long as they're consuming btw 600-800ml per day, it's good.

sherlyn, you will have more to share since your children are older and not all of us in the thread are exclusively nursing our children. Since you are a SAHM, you should join in when we have our June gathering soon.

Of course I am pissed cos I feel like an idiot saying the same things again and again and thank you mummies for adding in your knowledge, cos if not ppl may think that I am talking rubbish since I am the only 1 saying that.

angel: I so wish I wasnt working today, would love to meet up with baby dana and you, she looks so adorable in the photo!!! Nmind 14th june coming soon, heehee...

cmm: but Dana is too young, jordan likes BBW .. hahah

hey sleek..
well tis is my 1st time being a mum with not much support for feeding bm..as i stay with my mil she sometime will ask me to go for formular as me bb keep crying sometimes cz of wind in tummy but old ppl jz tho that the bb is hungry..n she say her 1st son 1 week ard drink 4oz..n y i m giving my bb 4oz now..well u noe..i just hope to mk more milk..but aft reading i feel better..as my hubby is still studying and i m the onli1 looking aft bb so reali need to split myself up...the only plc i can get more info n comfort is tis forum..hope u understand..

btw..
thanks mummies for all the info n adv..will put it to the test n wait for the results...btw have any1 been to robinson fair?how is it?
o..n the coming motherhood fair any1 going?

hi apple, dont be discouraged by old folks or other people who think that BM is not enough (BM is the best and like csi says, it constantly changes to suit your baby). your bb girl looks really healthy and chubby. you are doing good girl, keep it up!

csi: big beautiful women... heehee, cmm's girl is bigger size than my boy

haha... sleek... big beautiful woman.. ya. jordan loves *ba ba* gals?
u working??

wat's gg on for 14 june? i'm the only blur mama here...

i went out wif MIL today... shopping spree!! bot so many osh kosh & levis for ryan... came home, kenna left right centre frm hb...
MIL also kenna... haha

in the end, MIL offered to pay. haha

hope to maintain good r/s wif MIL... seems to benefit my shopping itchness.. hmm...

hi sleek..
it's a boy actually..
but u r not the 1st that say he looks like a gal..lol..wen i go out shopping my mil will always carry him on hand n ppl will ask is it a gal or boy..even i give him wear blue..hmm..and he is a big bb at birth so have to c-section he's like 3.8kg at birth n now ard 5kg...thanks for the support..atleast i have more here then at home..

hi petrina,
that's gd to hear that u n ur mil have gd r/s...
just wana ask..cz my mil reali treat me veri gd she spend on my wedding album,dinner,doc fees n ops fees..i m reli*3 bless to have her..but..wen the bb is out..she seems to be like go gaga over him..like everytink wana do her way at times..but i have diff view on upbring n wt to give him..so we have some conflict at times..n my hubby is like sandwhich inbetween which makes him wanna blow..
eg:i dont like to carry the bb to sleep..but my mil say must carry n sing song n pat him so he feel love..(now my bb is so use to it that he will cry for carry n i m going crazy cz i cant do anytink at all..)so i tell her how i want it to be n she blow like a bomb..hm...feel reli sad cz tis not the onli issue..i belive there will b more wen the bb grow..any remedy?

petrina: haha.. Wah... U so lucky, got mil so sayang u! Glad tat things working out for u.
sleek: lol.. Ty ty.. Bbw. Ba-ba woman.. Upload send pics to u later. U working liao? Apple: dun worry, my mil too keep saying & run me down in front of everyone cos my elder quite small. Ur bb looks gd! Dun worry & keep up e gd work! Kidzkidz: if my memory serves me rite.. Pureen is plastic stickers but very soft thou. Softer than drypers. Yeah & wats wif 14th june too?

apple, you have a big baby just like me! My boy around 3.7kg at birth too, in fact both my kids are big so I have c-section too. My mil take care of my kids so I can understand your position. I think you could let your hb knows your views in bringing up your son, and perhaps let him do the talking to your mil instead?
Sometimes I also feel frustrated that I have to follow her pattern of doing things but then I tell myself that I should be grateful for her help in taking care of my kids and trying not to make my hb become the sandwich between us. Believe me, it really takes a lot of patience and compromising to maintain at least a healthy relationship with in laws, and I'm still trying after so many years

pet: I think he only loves bullying cmm's girl for now!!! heehee. Oh I've been working (I teach swimming) since 2 mths after I gave birth on tuesdays only thats why i dont like to have gathering on that day, haha :p
14th june is a special day, you forgot liao you dont want to join cos your hb dont want??? eh lucky la, go shopping with mil and she willing to pay for you!

apple: hahah, oh my I dont know why I thought you have a girl (before seeing the photo) so I just say your girl looks good. I also had that problem with my son in his earlier mths, ppl will ask "girl or boy" ah!

cool: ok, i'll send the photos to you too. I showed my hb and he also say "wah she's bigger, j better be careful not to get squashed"

as for in-laws, my FIL said I should stop bfeeding cos I lost too much weight, 'bu(4) xiang(4) yang(4)'.
I just brushed him off that ppl pay $ to lose weight and I have maintained my weight, not losing anymore.

sleek: oh. i rem liao... PS... haiz... maybe i ask hb again?
i also wan learn swimming.. *paiseh, i can't swim*

coolmm: hehe, though ur gal is bigger, she too guai already. jordan will bully her leh...

spple: if u r free to backtrace my posts, u'll realise tat i had my fair share of D-MIL probs... so much until i quarrelled wif hb almost everynite as my MIL is capable of being doing the sobbing talk in front of my hb. so end up MIL was the angel n i was the devil.

so i was very happy to sort all differences out... cause it's very tiring to live this sort of quarrelling lifestyle everyday...

angel: if my hb say ok, do u think u can squeeze us in? not confirmed though.. juz a thought...

Drinking water can hurt babies under 6 months
Sucking reflexes can put them at risk for water intoxication, say doctors
updated 3:16 p.m. ET May 21, 2008

Babies younger than six months old should never be given water to drink, physicians at Johns Hopkins Children's Center in Baltimore remind parents. Consuming too much water can put babies at risk of a potentially life-threatening condition known as water intoxication.

"Even when they're very tiny, they have an intact thirst reflex or a drive to drink," Dr. Jennifer Anders, a pediatric emergency physician at the center, told Reuters Health. "When they have that thirst and they want to drink, the fluid they need to drink more of is their breast milk or formula."

Because babies' kidneys aren't yet mature, giving them too much water causes their bodies to release sodium along with excess water, Anders said. Losing sodium can affect brain activity, so early symptoms of water intoxication can include irritability, drowsiness and other mental changes. Other symptoms include low body temperature (generally 97 degrees or less), puffiness or swelling in the face, and seizures.

"It's a sneaky kind of a condition," Anders said. Early symptoms are subtle, so seizures may be the first symptom a parent notices. But if a child gets prompt medical attention, the seizures will probably not have lasting consequences, she added.

Water as a beverage should be completely off limits to babies six months old and younger, Anders and her colleagues say. Parents should also avoid using over-diluted formula, or pediatric drinks containing electrolytes.

Anders said it may be appropriate in some cases to give older infants a small amount of water; for example to help with constipation or in very hot weather, but parents should always check with their pediatrician before doing so, and should only give the baby an ounce or two of water at a time.

If a parent thinks their child may have water intoxication, or if an infant as a seizure, they should seek medical attention immediately, she advised.

Copyright 2008 Reuters.

<font color="0000ff">think it was also reported on Channel 8 news on the Saturday just passed</font>

CSI: so shld i be glad my boy hates water? he doesn't seem to have the water sucking reflex... when he's hungry but can't drink due to colic when he was 1-2mths old, i mix ridwind wif water. he drinks abt max 1oz per time.
but if no ridwind, only plain water, he'll suck but nv swallow. all the water will juz leak out frm side of his mouth.. then he'll stare blankly at us... hoping we get the idea n feed him wif milk instead... haha

Just saw this thread. Can join? I've just moved back to clementi a month ago... i have 3 boys, age 3+, 2+ and 1 month old. heard a gathering going on? can join?

petrina,
hahahaha...erm, guess so. haha. But horh...they also never state how much is too much water lorh. 1 oz is still ok mah, according to the article above. So, yah...maybe u shd be glad. heehee...

pet: haha, I dont teach adults, you want muscular guys to teach you??? :p

csi: good that you post that article here.

welcome jan!! yeah we intend to have a gathering soon but day and place not cfm yet, normally it will be on a weekday after 2+pm.

Sleek,

You want to start a class for the children here? Maybe my girl will be interested. Can use my pool here. I can talk to the management. Anyone interested?

Jan, welcome, I have 3 children and age are very similar. Aug 04, Sep 06 &amp; Dec 07. WHich part of Clementi are you staying?

flower: currently I would prefer not to
Also it is better for the children to be >4yrs cos they are normally more ready to learn and their motor skills are more developed so they will progress faster.

sleek: conduct lah... i also wan my boy to play water... i'm gonna buy e float for him..
eh, now cannot muscular guys... i too many stretchmarks liao.. haha
wait till i prettier first... haha

Pet: I want to spend time with my boy le!!!

Anyway baby need what lessons?!?! swim lessons for babies is a waste of $, you can just bring ryan to the pool, sing abit of songs with him, move him around in the water and that's your 'swim lesson' liao.

hi myfairlady, petrina..
i did ask him to do the talking..then he kana left n right all the time..till an extand that the mum was screaming at the top of her voice..that's not a veri gd sight rite..hmm..sometimes i also kana by my hubby saying that i m selfish n childish..well i sometimes tink of giving up tis family n just let them do what they wan..cz both of us r veri young n trying veri hard to put everytink together but always kana pin point over little things..like if bb finidh feed i put him to sleep den mil will say "cant carry..what's the use?bb is take n play wan what..everitime eat sleep like a idiot like that..not fun at all..n u guys dono how to show love for ur bb!"...wow..it realli hurts u noe..aft that we did try to sort out but she is still screaming at the top of her voice saying that i m not a gd mother as my mother never show me love that's y i m like that...etc(all those hurtful words)..hmm..n my hubby just say okokokokok to everitink(at least he is supporting me in all ways)..hmm...well all i can say is she pay alot for us..n she reli treat me gd..so sometimes i feel bad if i go against her even i dont like it..i m veri bad at expressing myself..if i do i will say words that r not bice..so i just shut up n pass day by day..ai..reli hope she will listen one day..

pet, just saw ur pics of ryan.

wah, he has really grown a lot since his 1st mth party....now so big size...my gal only now then 7+kg. hahaha. Boys really grow and put on weight very fast, compared with gals...

CSI: no lah.. not because of gender... u nv c coolmm's gal... i think abt 7mths? already 11kg... then sleek's boy ard 10mths? only abt 9kg...

i think because my boy tam jia.. tats y... eat n slp eat n slp... haha

also good for me.. then i can feed n slim, feed n slim... haha

Petrina,

Ryan is such a cheerful baby! My Dana has been cranky and fussy these few days, keep crying. I dunno what's wrong
I'm back at work today

Hi Angel

Mayb colic? Is she given anything for colic? Try to carry her upright position and pat her... I dun know but both my bb love that...

My bb kept fussing around starting from 11pm onwards and wont sleep till 1-2am, anyone knows why? Sometimes she will get very agitated while drnking milk then will merlion...these few days she slept late and wake up late also...wonder how to make her adjust back to normal sleeping hrs.

csi, pet: you must also see the baby's birth weight and length and compare to the current wgt/ lgth. my boy was only 2.5kg, 47cm at birth (3 weeks early), now he's about 9kg, 70cm and he's super active, cannot sit still gone in 60secs type. When I am not paying attention, he can crawl from my bedrm to the living rm so fast, hahah.

angel: maybe she is growing through a growth spurt? sometimes also if you are rather anxious in general, babies pick up on that and they become anxious and cranky too. or else she just wants to be carried and loved by your hb and you and no you're not spoiling her if you carry her 'too much'.

apple: seems like your mil is using the fact that she is paying alot for your hb and you as a form of blackmail to control you. I think it is best if your hb and you just try to ignore her as much as possible, perhaps sooner or later she will grow tired of being a tyrant.