Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

hi diamantz my boy is same age as yours.
so i suppose you are also looking to enroll in april next year? is there a safari at North One? thot only dover and intl biz park?
do u know if the one at N1 runs a school bus to west coast/clementi?
right now best choice for me seems to be little skool house at ayer rajah cc. nearest home n w school bus.

hi diamantz, my boy is same age as urs
so i suppose you are looking to enrol in april 2012 too?
is there a safari at one north? thot only dover and intl biz park (opening in 2012). do u know if N1 safari has school bus to westcoast/clementi?
right now best choice for me seems to be little skool house at ayer rajah cc.

glow10, He's starting in Mar- sept baby
yes, Safari at Dover and IBP only.. Most schools offer buses from N1- when the kids are more independent. Think everything can be discussed cos I even ask if my son PG can take bus with a companion, they also say can be discussed.

Have you checked out any schools? Some of them have waiting list lor, so better hurry. Little skool house is the one that uses the Montessori methods? Think it's quite good too. Have you visited them? Maybe can share ...

hi diamantz,
ya i checked out quite a few. dun think LSH uses montessori tho, there is a new LSH centre at ayer rajah cc, with bus service. you can take a look. i also visited learning vision at IBP, prefer this one but no bus service unfortunately. so you are considering safari at dover or at ibp? feedback on safari at dover seems to be not bad. but i think dover/one north/science park area all too far especially with the bad traffic.

glow10, i am considering safari at dover. .. why did you prefer LV to LSH?

convenience is an important factor to me too, but if possible prefer to let grandparents send him rather than take school bus.

the LV at ibp is on ground floor, so easier drop off and pick up. LSH at ayer rajah cc is on 2nd floor. LV also has a lower teacher:student ratio vs LSH. Also LV has been in operation for 2years plus while LSH only since Jun11, so i feel the system and teachers there are more stable.
actually i called safari at dover prev and they say there is school bus to clementi. but i tink the journey is too long for a toddler to do alone.

glow, ayer rajah cc is at pandan there right? You stay clementi? Isn't dover nearer?

For me , I shortlisted LV because my JC teacher friend place her kids there ;p

Do you know of Safari uses phonics for their N/K levels? What do you think of the place?

Maybe can PM me? I can't PM you

hi all, can i join in?
my girl is 18ths and i enrolled her in Agape at clementi central. but she will only join in Dec11. Distance was the deciding factor as i stayed nearby and it's a 5mins walk. hope to know more mummies in clementi

hi xynn,
welcome

i have also enrolled my both kids at Agape but hvnt started yet as hvnt confirmed dates.

Anyone else who put their kids in there too? any comments or feedback on the new Agape cc?
Wish to know more.

good to know a few mummies who enrolled their kids in agape @ clementi through this forum..my elder daughter will be joining in Jan 2012 so our kids will be schoolmates
are there any mummies who already started their kids at agape?

I have enrolled my boy in Agape Clementi too! Starting mid december N1 class! ^^

Within Clementi central, this is the only mid range CC and newly opened, for me I just grabbed the opportunity le! Went there twice, spoken to the principal and N1 teacher, overall ok and decided to enrol (didn't consider too much le since the curriculum is ok). Logistics is very very important to working mum like us.

perhaps we shall update one another here at this thread or open a new threadjust for Agape @ Clementi or create a group within ourselves so that we can get 1st hand news of our kids than waiting for teachers or principal to call. hee

<font color="0000ff">Warm welcome to the new mummies who joined this thread.</font>

Think I'm the only "oldie" left who's still active. If I rmbr right, I joined around Feb 2007 when my B1 was born.

Glad to see most of you hv settle CC arrangements for your lil ones. New CC is always better - like when my B1 1st entered the Infant Care @ Agape One-North. From experience I wld just like to encourage that u all kp a gd relationship going w ur lil one's carers. This is great for getting inside scoop e.g. what went on/wrong during the day, what mgmt is up to (fee change, transfer of staff), whc child is giving problems to others, whc parent is giving problems to e staff... E latter's impt coz in the past e carers/tchrs hv shared w me abt demanding or unreasonable parents who's expectation's like their kid's e only one there. One example was a mummy (a MOE tchr) who gave e Infant Care tchrs a schedule that her child was to follow inclusive of when to snack &amp; when e tchrs were expected to do a set of flashcards w e child (supplied by e mummy).

End of e day my B1 stl has veri fond memories of her time in Agape @ One-North -- she was there fr 3.5MO til she was 3Y10MO. She was one of the veterans there
Now and then she wld tell me she wants to go back and visit her tchrs bt I'm nt sure if they're stl there

<font color="ff0000">Any1 keen to hv a gathering?</font> Nxt Wed's the Deepavali holiday. Wonder if any1 like to mt for tea, say 3-5pm? We can go some where in Clementi Mall?

seems a few mummies have enrolled their child in Agape Clementi... my girl will be in PG in Dec11. how about your child?
i think she will cry everyday coz she's super sticky to me.

Hi Xynn,

My boy is starting N1 in Dec too. I think he will be fine because he has being nagging every day to go to new school (probably is the common playground) at the back of the school.

Hi j_pastries,
my daughter, who will be starting in Jan, will be your son's classmate! good that your son is looking forward to starting school..I will be pulling my girl out from her existing school which she is actually happy in..really hope she is fine with the change of school. Moving her to Agape which is nearer to my home. Decided to start her in Jan so that I can lso see how the curriculum is conducted while sitting in for her 1st 3 days. Dec is school hols so there will be no curriculum.

Hi Preciousthot,

It is still too early to tell because he hasn't really go to this new school, he is just excited abt the playground. Haha.

I am also switching him from another school, cos Agape is much nearer and a well known mid range school. His existing school's principal told me it is a good school but also depends on the teachers lo.

Ya, do feedback after u observe the curriculum ya!! Hope they really stick to the curriculum and not just for showing on paper..

Hi Pastries and Precioustots and xynn,,my girl is going to Agape at clementi too!!!
Actually I enrolled her in cc in CCK before,,but later change to agape,cos we will be staying in clementi.

She is born in aug 2008,,should be in N2?
She will start in december too!

When I first visited the school,there are not many people signing up..So I'm a bit worried..But now so glad at least found some mummies there;)

Pastries,preciousthtos,xynn...anybody else?;)

The curriculum seems interesting and the school is neat. Most importantly, only 5 minutes walk from our house;>

What's the name of the Principal @ e new Agape in Clementi? Wonder if I know her from my girl's time in one-North coz One-North was one of the earlier branches and the teachers there keep getting "promoted" or transferred out when new Agape centres are opened.

<font color="0000ff">4qookids</font> Agape confirmed with you that your princess will enter N2 in December?

Agree the curriculum established by one of the founders, Mrs Lim, is good. Btw are they offering these weekly classes:
1) Gym Kids programme -- 20mins sessions by external vendor. Already including in the fees.
2) English Speech &amp; Drama -- 30mins sessions by Apple Pie. Parents must pay extra.

My girl enjoyed both. Gym Kids was available from when she was able to stand and walk while she was in infant care.

Speech &amp; Drama is only from N1 onwards and she liked the teacher, Max, very much too.

Btw mums with kids entering N1 @ Agape, do note that sometime during the 1st Parent-Teacher Meeting (PTM) they'll tell you to stop packing milk powder for your kids. The aim is to wean them off. The replacement offered is a monthly subscription to Marigold packet milk (250ml).

In addition to Marigold milk, can also subscribed for Yakult (12 bottles a month).

Hi Hi Kidz_skiz,

the priincipal should be cynthia?
Oh yes, they say they promote the kids in december,so mine will be in N2.
Gymkids will be part of the program,,but for other enrichment, they will start in january when there are more students.

Bath themselves?Jialak! Won't they be too small to do so? She hates washing hair too ;(

yes, principal is cynthia. and she looked young.
my girl hates washing hair too!
i heard the principal will chase parents away after breakfast time... so that the children can settle down.

<font color="0000ff">4qookids</font> Cynthia sounds a bit familiar bt I can't quite place the face. Nt sure if she's who I think I know
Bt each centre hv an operations manager too so that's the other person who usually conducts tours of the centre.

The bathing training comes later in the N1 yr. It's part of equipping e kids w skills for daily living. I think u need not worry coz herd mentality and peer pressure are very effective "motivation" when our kids start school

The nice thing abt a new centre is low enrolment = more attention. So if ur kid is new to sch or very shy, it's a benefit. Bt once enrolment goes up, can always expect things to get bit more sloppy/slack/messy. I think this can't be helped coz end of day it's group care VS 1-to-1 care.

Even for me staying home with my two, I sometimes overlook helping one child with something when the other need my full attention.

End of the day I've learnt to be receptive to certain margins of errors e.g. teachers packing wrong kid's things into the bag. My kid getting bitten/smacked/pushed -- it's very much part of toddlers growing up behaviour too. Just a matter of whether my child is the aggressor or the victim. More often than not it's a matter of both as these are also learned behaviour...

<font size="+1"><font color="119911">Registration for 2009 Babies @ Berries (Chinese Programme)</font></font>

For those who may be thinking of signing ur 2009 babies up for Chinese Enrichment prog. This one is very popular and interesting for toddlers. My B1's already start there in March &amp; loves it so now that the 2012 schedule is out I've decided to booked a place for my B2 to too. Here's info about the 2012 schedule for 2009 babies @ the West Coast CC branch:

乐乐班 First Bite Class (N1):
Wed - 1430-1600, 1915-2045
Thu - 1630-1800

Tel: 67758990

Hi Xynn,yours will start in dec 1st also? We may bump into each other that day!

Hi kidz-skidz,,you seem to know alot of enrichment courses!hahah!;)
I'm actually keen on the music workshop that you mentioned before. Thought of letting my 3YO go for the MWS, while my 6YO goes for drumming. He had some exposure to drummng before and realy loved it!
Btw, I'm also a SAHM! ;)

<font color="0000ff">4qookids:</font> I do quite a bit of research + a lot of my friends hv kids a few yrs older who hv "been there, done that" &amp; can give me gd recommendations =)

The thing too is that my B1 really enjoys going for classes. So my hb let me do the "research" &amp; he handles e "investment". Of course some things hv come down to being just "Summer Projects" whc we try, B1 liked for a while, then we move on to other things =)

<font color="119911">Music Workshop:</font> I asked for late afternoon time slot for the music &amp; movement. Bt til now stl no reply from them. I realised they're occupying the upper floor of the shop nxt to Post Office -- ground flr is a clinic. I think to access Music Workshop, must go by the back &amp; use the back door to go up the stairs. Dunno if can go by 2nd floor as this shop unit is right next to a walk-up staircase...

I'm staying at clementi and have a 4 yrs old gal putting her at LV @ biopolis.

Keen to know more mummies to exchange ideas and knowledge abt the kids

Hi all, just wondering if anyone has experience with eager beaver or eureka ccc in clementi? Thinking of placing my 2.5 year old there as I need a ccc with school bus service. Any advice or feedback warmly welcome! Thanks!

<font color="ff0000">Hi mums!</font>

How r u all? Hv ur kids settled in their new CCs?

I'm helping my friend get info abt sch/CCs in Dover. Any1 sending their child to Safari @ Dover? Can fdbk?

I had told my friend it seems a good option since there's outdoor play area w/i their private compound. Otherwise, I told her to consider Agape @ One-North (my B1 was there 3yrs) coz the centre also can use all e private facilities @ e club.

Appreciate any1's fdbk abt Safari.

Hi razzle, where is eager beaver and eureka ccc? If you need one w bus service, can try also little skool house at Ayer rajah cc n learning vision at icon intl biz park. No feedback for you yet as my boy only starts next year.

Can I join? I'm looking for reliable weekend part time cleaner as I'm returning to work in Jan. if u have good recommendations, pls PM me. I need someone to clean the house thoroughly. No ironing required. Willing to pay $32 per session (3hrs). Weekly Sunday mornings.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">I just want to take the oppotunity to wish everyone a Blessed Christmas - may your holiday abound with precious moments with your loved ones.

And may 2012 see us create even more magical memories for our children!
</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">
Hi i am back!! Thought it will be good for me to share here..
My girl is now attending Agape N2. She has HFMD.It is 2nd case in class. For those who are attending Agape Clementi, you may like to stop bringing your children there.
For those who plan to send the kids there soon, you may like to postpone..

Overall, I really like the school..It is clean, well-organized, nice teachers and my girl loves going to school everyday.
*sigh* such things are avoidable.

Anyway, will isolate my child until clearance...

Updates!!!
6 cases all from N2 class.

Don't send your kids to N2 class for time being..

Sorry, I'm not 'bad-mouthing ' the school,,cos I really like the school.

But I just want to share..cos I received an email from a mummy who enquires about the school and she sending the kids to the school next week.

Thanks for the update , Veron! I was also planning to send my girl to N1 at Agape next week but now I decided to extend her in current cc n start her in feb after CNY. How many students r there in N2 now? N1 n N2 r separate classes rite?

N2 - total 12 students. They are seperate classes.
But then, they have 'activties area' in common area,e.g. 'cooking',music. I don't know if they sill allow the kids to play together or not.

Last time they used to have assembly every morning with all the students. But since such things happen, they don't have any more assembly.
Hopefully will not spread to other kids..

Hi, went to agape ytd to check out the situation and thought of sharing the info I gathered- Agape has taken preventive measures to stop all interaction between classes with no more assembly, outdoor activities and playing at interest corner. Even toilet usage they separate the n2 fr the rest. Let's pray it doesn't spread further

My boy was attending Agape N1 since December. Agreed with preciousthot, the school has taken all preventive measures to stop the spreading of the HFMD. We are quite happy with the way they responded with this HFMD situation.

For parents whose child is going to start Agape Clementi soon, you can always call &amp; like what preciousthot did, visit the school &amp; decide for yourself, don't just based on the forum.

Hi Pastries,

good to know that you are happy with the way Agape responded to the HFMD situation. I also feel more assured after speaking to Cynthia. For me, I decided to still take the safer approach to let my girl start N1 in Feb instead so as not to risk getting HFMD before CNY. It's great to have mummies sharing through this forum. Veron was really kind enough to share with us the HFMD updates as HFMD can spread very fast, sometimes even when preventive measures are taken (which is what happened in my girl's current school). Thanks Mummies

My girl is the unfortunate victim here ;(
thus it is natural for me to panic.

But I am not trying to influence any mummes' decisions here. I am just sharing.

As her class is the affected class, I definitely will not send her back so soon, even after she is confirmed cleared of the virus. Hopefully things will be under control.

My elder boy is now staying at grandparents' house,so as to seperate him from the sister. My mum called to say he has sore throat and fever. Lucky doctor says it is just throat infection,not hfmd. Imagine he is starting P1 next tuesday!

*sigh*

Hi Preciousthot &amp; Veron,

Sure, it is good to share &amp; update. :)

Veron, don't worry, I definitely can understand the anxiety.. I think it is unfortunate that the school has HFMD cases so fast.. Actually my boy previous CC has real bad HFMD outbreak in Nov, we being kiasu, kept him at home for 2 weeks, then now new sch has HFMD again.. Sigh.. was telling hubby we cannot afford to keep keeping him at home whenever there is HFMD outbreak. So hope this will stop soon..

Your girl was in N2 since Oct? Cos Dec was the holiday period whereby they do not have any curriculum going on..

I think overall Agape Clementi still can improve on some operational matters, give them some time. What we did was keep giving constant feedback, helping them and helping ourselves &amp; the new kids to settle down as well. The principal, Cythnia was a nice person. My boy was taking this new sch badly (out of our expectation), she has being kind &amp; reassurance and even noticed what could be the difference between this new school &amp; old CC that my boy had difficulty in adapting.

Just when he finally adapted to new school (with much drama over 2 weeks), then came the HFMD... But from this HFMD, I saw how the school deal with it and feel more secured &amp; confident in the sch management.

Ya,,hopefully this HFMD will go off soon..

She is in N2 since Oct. She cried for first 4 days, now just say 'bye bye' to me at the entrance;)

U r right. Cynthia is nice. I was like 'mad woman' at first, but she can assure me and cool me down. At least I feel that the school is responsible and professional in handling things.

Think my girl is recovering,starts to eat a lot. 2 pieces of cakes for breakfast and 2 big bowls of porridge.Phew!