Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

hi pastries,
ouch..looks like 1k is the norm.
i just feel that LV is better value than LSH coz lower teacher:children ratio.
LSH at ayer rajah only toddler and N1 class for now. teachers all look very young. but principal and assist principal are experienced.

<font color="119911">Glow10:</font> Lower ratio for now. When more kids enter, the class size wl always swell to the MCYS permitted max. ratio -- or worst cross the ration till they hire more help. When my B1 started @ Agape, there were like only 5-6 babies. Now a lot!

Btw, think there's a Wee Care IFC @ Ghim Moh, operated by Presbyterian Community Svcs. I chked it out b4 deciding to put my gal in Agape. Last yr I also enquired abt putting my B2 there under Flexi-Care Prog (I was considering returning back to PT wk) bt they had no vacancies for Flexi-Care then.

Thank you mummies for your welcome and information.

Yesterday morning still thinking whether should I change my girl to another IFC, in the afternoon boss called me and told me maybe I should stop work and look after my girl. Hence, conclusion is no choice but I have to withdraw her from her current place (without sub is $1.5K too ex to maintain if I am out of job). Maybe I will go to look for a PAP IFC and enroll her part-time. If I take care her full day, I think quite stressful beside I am planning for no 2 soon so want to relax for a while.

Any suitable enrichment/play to recommand for below 1 year old (infant)? She now only want familier faces to carry her so need to let her in touch with more people (no sure can work or not)

Glow10, I oso prefer LV then LSH. Yup, $1k qte common now, Kinderland oso ard $1k. Some only one branch CC does chg cheaper, ard $800+. MFS is v reasonable, only $650+.

Kidz_Skidz, yup Weecare IFC at ghim moh, I also chk out the place before.

Ru, yr boss come across as..... You can consider Zoo phonics or music classes?

haha i also check out wee care at ghim moh. but didnt do it coz not near home not near work.
Ru you can consider, it's the lowest cost IFC... think less than 1k before subsidy. ya...very tough to be a full time working mother when boss is not supportive.
Kidz..ya know what you mean. either teacher:student ratio go up or fee go up. sighsigh

Patries: He said he always worry I will call him to take urgent leave wow, anyway he said like that then no choice I told him I will resign lo.
By the way, where is place that you mention?

Glow10: In fact, my current IFC is my girl third centre. the first one seems ok but doesn't like the principal when I asked whether I can sit in for 3 days, she said no why you don't trust us ah.. Second centre is good (LV at NUS) for mobile infant (those can craw and walk one). They really play and engage them a lot of time. Poor thing is my little girl has to put one corner (because I think they too concentrate with those mobile infant leow). Third one is so so. There was few incident made me quite upset anyway since I will be SAHM it is very ex for me to continue to enrol her in her current IFC. That is why I am thinking to find a PAP IFC to enroll her for half day (I think slighly over $700 without sub). Or do you know anywhere has flexi care? not sure whether expensive or not ah?

Can I join in too? I'm staying at west coast road n am looking for a good infant care for my 4 mths old son next year.

Any advise pls? Feeling very confused n lost as me n our husband can't seem to find anyone to help us look after our son.

Hi Glow,

I work in raffles place and my hubby work in Tampines.

Any recommendation? Heard that babies get sick very easily if placed in IFC.so in a dilemma now.

Was thinking of learning version at Kent ridge area.any advise pls.

forever81: my girl is in IFC now. At first I was very concern but no choice at home no one can take care and we don't want to employ maid so the only way is sending her to IFC. Sick issue, is very common even in childcare or home so really no choice.

If sometime you neeed to work late then like glow10's suggestion,can place your bb near to your office area, otherwise you will be late to pick up your bb and when you see he is the last one to go, you will feel very heart pain one. Learning Version has new branch at UOB, you can go and check it out. Besides, there is another near Scient Park 2, the one in NUS is going to shift to Scient Park 2 soon.

Hi ru,oh your girl also in IFC. Saw your previous post u change 3 IFC.any suggestions which IFC to use?

I was thinking of little skools at Ocbc. Since now you say there will be one in Uob think I will have more choice.I'm quite ok with science park area as it's quite near my home.But as you say if working late it will be a problem.

hi forever81. at raffles place suggest you check out the following:
learning vision at uob
cherie hearts at cecil street
citikids at china square central

i think little skool house at ocbc not as ideal, colleague placed there in 2009 and came down w HFMD, when i went to see them last year they were having an outbreak again.

i prefer placing near work, so easier to pop by if need be. and like ru say...no need to worry abt not getting to centre in time after work. also ideal if u intend to breastfeed during lunch time.

Hi glow!!thanks for your info.

Will check it out.I tried searching but didnt manage to find so many IFC.

What should I look out for when I visit the centers?

You're welcome, I went thru the same search last year so happy to share.

Ask for the daily routine, experience of the staff, staff turnover, health record of the centre and hygiene practices.

<font color="0077aa">Forever81</font> Hi &amp; welcome to this community! Hv u thot of using a nanny? Coz nanny shd b a much more flexible arrangement in terms of pick up time. Also it's more contained environment so less instances of infectious diseases. Definitely once our children enter group care or sch, they'll catch bugs here and there. It's worst in an aircon environment as I learnt fr my B1's time in Agape One-North IFC -- she was there fr 3.5MO til end of her N1 yr. When she was born I actually tried looking for a nanny bt cldn't find one thru word of mouth recommendation. I know some ppl hv told me they actually advertise and interviewed a few candidates before settling on one. Nt sure if this is a viable option for u to consider?

Hi kidz!

Actually hiring a nanny did cross our mind but it seems quite hard to find one ard our area.

Any advise from anyone on nannies?

Thanks glow! Will try to arrange a visit with the IFC. Actually how does the registration works? How do we pay the fees? If we have registered and don't like it can we withdraw from the IFC?

Foreever81: There is one recommanded by Thomson Medical Nurse Wong,
http://www.columbia-academy.org

Actually I wanted to transfer my girl to this centre 2 month ago but later because my hb wanted to change job and need the car so we think without own transport, it will be a bit troublesome to carry her iin a public transport. So we drop the idea to send near my office area.

Kidz : Any nanies to recommand. I am also thinking to put her for half a day at nanny place or PAP infant centre so that I will have some my own time after I become SAHM.

Thanks ru!

When do we start to register our child for IFC?
Seems like some start registration for 2012 but need child name.

I'm due in mid nov,am I too KS? He!He!

Hi forever81 now is a good time to start searching for IFC. you can place a deposit to secure a place, but if you are not sure, then dun place deposit first. just leave ur name and contact and then say you will only confirm the place next year.
coz once baby comes, you will be so busy the first few months.
i didnt want to consider nanny just like i didnt want to consider maid option. coz while it's one-one, dunno how the caretaker handles the baby when alone. at least in a center, there are more pairs of eyes. just my view.
i didnt take my four months of maternity in one stretch. i placed in IFC when baby was 3 months old, and then took the balance maternity leave as time off few days a week. this was also in preparation for if baby falls sick in IFC, which thankfully he didnt. he had some minor bouts of cold and diarrhoea, but nothing serious. also before he entered IFC, my PD recommended he be given an xtra immunization jab for rotovirus (i think), to boost his immunity to gastro-related problems. i also breastfed during lunch and provided bottled bm for the rest of the feeds until baby was 6 months old.

Forever81: No need to hurry. There are plenty of IFC now compared to previously.

Glow10: I forgot to ask which PD (clinic) is good? Currently I have to travel to CCK as hb's friend recommanded the PD is good..but quite far. We tried Clementi (lady PD) before but don;t really like her. Never give us advice at all when we first brought our bb to see her. We did tell her we are first time parent no experience, she looks like so ...

Hi Ru,
my PD is at mt e...not exactly near either. actually now that baby is older no need to go pd so often rite? for normal flu etc i just bring to GP. there are a few at west coast plaza, and behind the market opposite west coast plaza.

<font color="aa00aa">Gantei:</font> The lady PD is near to Clementi SS &amp; PS rite? Yeah, we tried her w my B1 b4 &amp; her bedside manners r bad. She like nt focusing on the questions I asked her abt bfdg &amp; give me answers like 'shd be ok rite?'. Anyway we now stick to e PD assigned in Mt A. So everytime I take taxi there and back. Bt at least it's in Mt A so can do blood test &amp; get results in 1hr when e kids hv been running fever into 5th day.

My hb insist we bring kids to PD till maybe they're 6-7YO coz PD take one look know what's happening (e one in Mt A lor). &amp; can deduct fr CDA acct so quite ok. Also coz PD stock proper meds for babies &amp; toddlers.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Other PDs in Clementi vicinity:</font></font> When I 1st joined this thread in 2007, I learnt fr e other Clementi mums that there are the following PDs whc r quite gd. I've googled for the addresses:

1) Sunset Way: Dr Yvonne See Clinic for Children &amp; Babies
http://directory.st701.com/dir/search?querystring=Doctors&amp;uuid=2058448920&amp;collection=businessweb
==> Hear she's gd i.e. clinic's always busy. She's been known to snap at her staff &amp; parents on occasion. Bt seems she's really gd lor

2) Bt Timah Plaza: Dorothy's Baby &amp; Child Clinic
http://search.insing.com/business/dorothy-s-baby-child-clinic/upper-bukit-timah/id-354d0200
==> Brought my B2 there last yr when he had high fvr. She's veri nice &amp; I walked in on a Sat 12nn w/o appt. She was attending to another toddler &amp; entertaining the patient while carrying the consultation. Was good w my boy &amp; very helpful w answering my queries. I do recommend her. Bt only went there coz my B1 had ballet in Bt Timah Plaza that day so it was convi location.

3) Henry Park Apts @ Holland Grove Rd (opp Henry Park PS): Kinder Clinic
http://www.kinderclinic.com.sg/holland.html
==> Part of a chain. Resident PD is a Dr Ravin. I've nt heard any fdbk abt him. Bt on Mon evenings there's veri popular Dr Terrence Tan who consults fr 6-9pm. He's suppose to b veri friendly.

HTH

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">GPs in Clementi:</font></font> On occasion I just bring my kids to our family doctors @ Central Clinic &amp; Surgery (facing MRT tracks, nxt door to DBS Bank). The resident doctor, Dr Lye, has entertained my kids quite well. On Wed &amp; Fri there's a Dr Margaret Ng who's semi-retired. She's also another who wl give lotsa info &amp; even recommend me some herbal remedies. This is a 24hr clinic so on wkends &amp; @ nite they tend to rooster locums who can be young residents fr hospitals. These type I've nt been impressed by...

Bt I must tell u dat one time when my B1 was only 1YO I brought her to Central Clinic abt her persistant cough. E Dr prescribed a reduce dose of a syrup usually given to children 3 &amp; up. As e cough did nt clear I had to bring my B1 to her original PD in Mt A. He scolded me for letting the GP prescribe such medicine whc is nt suitable for babies. He said it can induce cause excessive drowsiness possibly coma too if the baby's system cannot take it. So that was a big lesson learnt for us =(

Ya I second what kidz say about gp. Convenient and cheap but do exercise some caution. So far the gp I've been to all very careful about prescription. No cough syrup except prospan but cough very hard to clear. But so long as baby can sleep can play can eat I learn to let it be lor.

PD in Clementi area:
Seems like everyone try Dr Chia but didn't like her, haha! My boy's PD is Dr Dorothy Ong at Bukit Timah Plaza - as listed by Kidz_Skidz. She is good.

GP:
So far I have tried Dr Lee at Blk 325 and Dr E L Chin at Blk 43(?) forgotten the blk no.. Both are ok. I only bring my boy to GP when it is very minor issue like slight cough or runny nose. I stocked up on alot of med from PD too.

Any mummies currently placing her child (Infant centre )at My first skool located blk 339-Clemnti Ave 5 and 375 clementi Ave 4, would like to hear your feedback. Thanks in advance.

Hi mummies, very disappointed called many Infant centres (PAP, NTUC) but none of them offer half day care. I question them then why they put half day timing and the price..I think all these centres want to make money so don't want to offer half day...

Hi ru,

My boy was in MFS 339, he is in the IFC since 8 months old and now in Toddler group. Yup, they do not offer half day / flexi care.

Btw, Agape Little-Uni is opening in Clementi Ave 3 Blk 453, starting Oct.

Pastrie: Thanks for your info. But Agape is private one so the fee must be ex. I will be a SAHM but planning for 2 so decide to continue to put my girl now 7mth in IFC. Her current IFC is private so every month after sub need $900 and if without sub I think is $1350.

i m new here. can i join too?

Nice to know about this thread, Staying at in clementi too. thanks for the news n updates of new cc, courses which i didnt know

I have 2 kids and now looking for cc. any good n clean cc to recommend?

Where is Safari school house?

any of ur kids with art vision enterprise? good? flexible timing?
how much is the fees?

btw, anyone has any private piano teacher to recommend in clementi? prefer gg to her house.

any idea how much is the music n movement program?

pastries:
which cc increase price to $200? so much. nowadays cc so ex!

ru,
i also heard for this new cc recently. Agape seems quite not good reviews on other centres??? Not sure how abt clementi one since its totally new cc.

Agape at Clementi starts to take in kids at which age since not started from IFC?

Kite: Called them, 18mth then can leow. Because below 18mth is considered infant care. They already open so interested can go and find out. I think now there is openinig promotion has $214 discount each month which she told me one la. Anyway, their fee is super high. Example infant is $1.7K after $214 is still higher compared other private one.

hi, I go to one PD in Jurong East st 21. Anybody need address let me know.

Also I have a rarely use playpen to let go.

Dark blue colour(exterior), Nickelodeon (spongebob) theme interior. Dimensions are 24.5cm x 24.5cm x 81.5cm height. 11.9kg. Very spacious Can be folded to keep away during festive periods or when need more space.

Letting go at a nominal $100. Self collect in the west. If you need delivery, we can discuss.

For any queries, please msg me at 9117 8727.

ru,
Thanks for the information. oh, they only starts from 18mths old. Wondering do they offer playgroup like for 3hours that kind?

their price is very high meaning this cc is quite good in term of academic or other areas? any idea?

Kite: Sorry i can't give your further detail. But I have visited the centre in One North before. The reason why I dind't enroll my girl is their IFC's fee is extremely high when compared to others. The other reason is their infant play area is too small when I see there are 10 infants.

just chanced upon this thread..can I join too? I also stay in Clementi

I have 2 kids (4.5mth and 26mths old). I am also checking out for a new CC nearby for my 26mo girl to transfer to.

Kite: I am considering to sign up with Agape at clementi. Are you also thinking? How old are your kids? Not sure if you are aware- Agape @ Clementi has a opening promo of additional $200 discount with free registration till 30 Sept. This means the amt payable after subsidy is $677. This discount will apply for at least one year fees. I am still in a dilemma as I have a concern with their limited outdoor and waterplay area as well as their teacher-toddler ratio.

hi preciousthots,
i m looking to enrol my 5 yrs old girl. ur 4.5mth girl is at which school/cc now?

yup their outdoor i m also concerned! sharing outdoor playground with public and somemore with PCF kids. feel like not very clean n personal?
somemore they dun hv much outdoor activities like waterplay n sand play. all indoor. whole day in air con room also a concern. so how signing up? but overall how u find the centre?

The playground is also shared by the playschool in the RC centre in nxt block, 462. I made enquiry there regarding their 3hr prog for 18M to 4YO (they dint get licence to offer K1 &amp; K2). The kids there hv once a wk PE lesson @ e playground =)

I visited agape @ one-north &amp; clementi central. safari school house @ Dover. LV @ biopolis, creative twinkletots at blk 462, and walk past PCF opposite Agape ;p

I registered my son at agape @ clementi central, but am thinking of putting him in safari from N1.

Would appreciate if I could ask some questions to any mummy has a kid attending safari schoolhouse. thanks in advance!