Mummies in Pasir Ris

mommies,
the bag of clothes posted previously has been reserved. I have this radio toy to be passed on. A little koyak and the top cover has lost its spring. the discs dun work but there's still music

3003621.jpg
3003622.jpg

nana,

oh u also hv diahorea? u feel sleepy and tired?

hv been feeling beri tired and keep wanting to zzzzz

Went to see gynea today and the scan show 6 wks plus bt gynea said shld be ard 5 wks 3 days as the sac too small....will hv to see her 3 wks ltr......

mbb,

ya during my 1st preggie....i need spicy food leh and even now...... ;)

have another large pile of bibs to be given away. anyone keen pls beep me.

char,
the bundle of baby boy clothes have grown considerably larger since
anytime u wanna pick up, just let me know yah

Hi Pasir Ris mummies
kao_kiss.gif
....wondering if u all still rem me. I finally got a flat in Pasir Ris. will be moving to my mum's place (also pasir ris) temp till my flat is ready in End Jan 2010. I will be getting my keys mid Dec and doing extensive Renovations, so targetting to move in before CNY next yr --crossing my fingers.

Any mummies staying around White sands pri that cluster? my new place is blk 184.

Re: Pre-schools/ childcare
My girl (2yr old) is currently attending Playgroup at Talent plus (pasir ris). I intend to put her in half day childcare (then switch to full day aft she get used to it) cos the timing for Talent plus is quite short, kind rush for me to send/fetch her within 2 hrs i cannot do much things.

Can mummies share with me which childcare is good (culture/curriculum)? Or which ones are your kids attending currently? I was thinking of Carpe Diem & Learning vision, any comments to share?

hi s@l, we're practically neighbours! think i'm nearest to u
am opp the small park with a feeder bus stop right in front of my block *wink wink*

most tods here are in Carpe Diem. i intend to register mine for childcare beginning next year, haven't decided which one though, heeeeee. super nua...

lianrongbao, oh really? which blk is that? me still not 'that' familiar with that area yet.so ur blk is just next to the whitesands pri?

i am glad most of the tods here are with Carpe Diem. i am staying at Sengkang now and almost enrolled my girl in Carpe diem @punggol. i like the environment very much, but held back becos i sold my sengkang flat and moving away soon, so it wont be a wise decision to ferry her to n fro and they didnt have any bus from Pasir ris to Punggol.

But i know that the environment of punggol n Pasir ris carpe diem are fairly different. not sure abt the curriculum though. hope to see more comments from mummies regarding this as i also wish to enrol my girl in a childcare by Jan.

Lianrongbao, how old is ur child ?

s@l,
am nearer to loyang sec school side

my tods are coming to 2.5 years, b/g twins. ah girl is quite keen to go to school, hehehehe. everytime we ask her if she wants to go, she says yes

welcome s@l! I'm not that far fr u too! stay at 20X.. within walking distance to pasir ris primary. I hv a 4YO gal and a pair of 2YO twin boys! My gal is at Carpe Diem (CD). Hv nt decided when or which cc to place my boys in yet. Hv actually spoken to the director of CD, she advise me to start maybe middle of next yr. Am considering YWCA(nearest to my place) or CD(same sch as jiejie)

Bao, if u intend to place ur twins early next yr, think u hv to start choosing now, they may run out of vacanies soon (at least that's wat the sch directors told me)..

hehehehe, YK, the place i'm eyeing for them can take in students anytime de :p that's why still super nua, that's my fall-back choice

lianrongbao, err...ok. I m really not very familair yet. only know my mum's area 47X and 180+. Anyway ya i agree with YK (YK thanks for sharing yah) that you hv to register a place real soon. From what i gathered, CD is a good CC and usually hv long waiting list. i m thinking if i should start my girl in CC by Jan or not . she will only be 26mths old then. My son (K2 now) started half day CC only at 3.5yrs old.

Besides CD and LV, any other Childcare ard PR that mummies are sending their kiddos to?
YK, where is YWCA? is it a CC curriculum?

Oh another thing, any kiddos here from / going to Nan Chiau Primary school (sengkang)?

yk,
nissi at blk 403 lor. quite spacious with shelter for outdoor play and they have individual rooms for each class so they dun get distracted

we went to CD also but hubby din like the teachers' attitude so we'll skip that.

baobao: i still around, just busier at work :p now on block leave... !! your girl wanna go school ah ? mine is coming to 2 soon and she always say she dun wanna go sch

S@L: i remember u ! from the nov 07 mummies thread... now our kids nearly 2 liao. So fast! welcome to PR ! U lucky la, staying near baobao, easier to collect stuff from her haha...cos she is our 'in house' lobang queen

dsii: 3 votes for the name Isabel/Isabelle, still counting !

hey i am in near white sands pri too! block 140+

i am not sending my son (17 months) to childcare since i am a SAHM, but just enrolled him in Little Neuro Tree coz sometimes i dunno what else to teach him anymore... but honestly it seems quite pricey. does childcare teach the children things too?

thanks bao, maybe will go there to take a look. hehe..

yami, i had the same problem, my sons keep saying no whenever i ask if they wanna go sch, i even bring them to one of the cc to see the kids playing in class!

scubababe, according to wat i understand, during this time Toddler class, it is more abt learning to be independent than abt studying, if u r a SAHM, shld be no problem to teach all these ba? but once they reached ard N2 time, it is best to introduce them to CC or some form of classes, cos that's the time CC starts to really teach stuff to kids, and we (without the proper childhood training skills), may not be able to really provide that kind of appropriate training ba? That's y the sch director advise me to start my twins in CC latest by mid next yr (when they will be 2.5 going to 3 soon)

Just curious, wat do u mummies teach ur kids at home? My sons learn A-Z, 1-20, shapes, colours, opposites, animals, body parts, 5 senses..etc at home. Wat else can we teach for 2 yr old? I'm also running out of ideas wat to teach (other than Chinese).

yk, thanks for the info. will go check YWCA out too.
Hmm, yes 26mths not that young but i feel guilty la..cos i m actually a WAHM. but with her ard i am not productive at all. And i dun wan to rely on my mum daily. I see my son learn alot from CC. And i also prefer them to hv a routine.So aft 'warming up' at 2hrly playgrp, i slowly transit her into half/ full day CC will be easier.

scubababe,which LNT branch are u with? I used to bring my girl to the one at Serangoon (hougang) for abt 2 terms. It's fun and my girl enjoyed it. But I find the time spent in class is too short, and on a weekly basis. so decided to send my girl to daily playgroup instead. the main reason is i DO not need to sit in the class with her! LOL
I guess we Probably cannot compare CC and LNT cos they are quite different as sending kids to CC also to encourage independence/routine life etc. LNT is more of an enrichment programme that stresses on the memory and right brain development. CC i would say is kinda all-rounded.

yami, oh really? hahaa i love shopping and lobangs!are u still active in nov 07 thread? i seldom hv time to read/post recently.ya time flies! some of the mummies even had their 2nd baby already!

YK, same here. thats why i prefer to send my girl to playgroup (started when she was 18mth)cos i also ran out of ideas!

s@l,
yap, 443, pai seh typed wrongly earlier. larger space, individual rooms. overall impression is much better than CD generally. nissi has childcare services from infant care to after-school care so there'll be lots of children of different ages ard, some might it a negative (and perhaps distraction) but to me it's ok, can mingle with more jie jies and kor kors instead
the infant care rooms are at the back of the centre and generally quiet. the time when i visited was ard noon and some classes were having lunch, all were very well-behaved and independent
the centre looks to be very well-run. can pop by and pick up some brochures from the gate or at the counter

yk,
ur ah boys got do puzzles? mine love doing puzzles & lego as well as drawing & coloring
now starting to teach E do simple addition & substraction. he loves $ so i use that to make him do simple maths

bao, they are doing simple puzzels now, dun really like lego.. drawing colouring ok lah, they enjoy colouring the walls though! Wow, addition & substraction.. hmm maybe can try, we are trying to teach them word blending now,but I think either we are not teaching it the right way or they are too young to understand, no interest at all.

By the way, do u allow them to watch TV/CD?

bao (saw everyone add u as this),thanks for your input. yup i guess i will start hunting for a CC already.

nana, yes thats me!finally things are more settled so i m bk to this thread again. Saw that u are expecting no.2? Congrats!

YK, bao, wow i admit i m a lazy mummy in this aspect. i rely alot on my hubby to teach my son now that his working hrs are more flexi. he has the patience la...hahaha.

oh but want to share one thing i nvr regretted sending my son to is abacus class. but only much later when ur kiddos are abt 5-6yrs old. so only for abacus homework usually i will take over frm huby.
addition and subtraction for my girl now..i hvnt tried. wonder if she will understand

yk,
har har har, yah, took a while to find out what they really like, turns out they like puzzles and coloring best. also into electronic toys with sounds. TV ah, i let them watch BabyTV on starhub only, no cartoons on other channels cos some very bo liao / do stupid stuff. for VCDs, C used to like Dora, now obssessed with Mr Bean of all things *faint*

my parents do most of the teaching since i'm not home most times. so quite heng they speak in english and can read to the terrors.

char/newmummy, will u be able to collect your respective bags of clothes asap pls. heeeee, am decluttering like mad now so lots of things all over the place. kam sia much much. lemme know if u can make it this week, then i bring over to my mom's place for easy collection

yk: i still have some time to persuade my girl haha.... she coming to 2 next month. I was thinking of starting when she is abt 2.5 years old la. YK, maybe can let ur boys draw or learn a song & dance routine?

s@L: me no longer active in nov 07 thread
didnt know some mummies have 2nd baby liao, tat's fast!!

I used to let my boys watch leapfrog, barney, wheels on the bus and Mio's baby first.. but rencently I had spoken to a teacher friend, she discourage TV.So i sort of cut down their daily tv to almost weekly!(Am wondering if I'm too drastic). So now really trying very hard to replace their "TV time".

Try the dance routine, funny yoga pose, marching, balancing book on head etc.. can only keep them occupy for like 5 mins! haha

I'm also a lazy mum, but am lucky to hv a good & patient maid.. she's the one who taught my boys most of wat they know now. In fact, I'm trying to teach her Chinese, so that she can teach my boys Chinese! haha..

Yami, my girl is just the opposite. she loves to go to school. i rem there was once we brought her to class and me, this blur mummy forgotten that it was a school closure day. in the end we had to turn bk and walk towards our car, she cried like mad when we told her no class for the day.
u can try to start her off with such playgrps rather than CC straight away as it might be too overwhelming for her.

bao,

wow u teaching E maths....wowowowow....

YK,

am not teaching much at home now as C is in full day CC and by the time we come home from parent's hse...will read books to her and time to zzz liao...on wkends, she will be doing colouring, puzzles, role play, legos, cutting of paper etc...nothing much though and of course watching Barney ;) and she loves singing and dancing...kekekeke...next yr will sign her up for enrichment classes like berries.... ;) and music in school....

I hv been asking the director in her CC to try her out in Speech and drama for both English and Chinese as these are only available for N2 kids...but I realised she learns quite fast in her class as she is the eldest and gets bored at times.....so the director will let her try out next yr ......

Hi! I didn't know that there was a thread for Pasir Ris moms here. :) Glad I found it.... :) I'm staying at Pasir Ris too and my girl is 13months old. :)

Just wondering....

What is the Pasir Ris estate like during Halloween? Do you guys dress your kids up in costumes and go 'trick-or-treating' with them around the estate....? Or are there special Halloween parties for our kids organised by the Pasir Ris Town Council etc? :-D

morning mommies

welcome ladyl! haven't seen any Halloween parties in PR
we're not into celebrating H in S'pore (well, at least not for kids!) Mid-Autumn Festival is prob the most festive with kids carrying lanterns around the neighbourhood! hehehehehe

nauh, my gal loves cutting paper too! how come she's the oldest in class? she's a Jan baby?

welcome ladyl! agree with bao, lanterns are more "in" in pasir ris! haha.. will most prob bring my kids to play lanterns and candles this weekend!

yk,
yeah! this year i can finally bring them for some lantern-carrying fun! time to get some lanterns too, saw some nice ones at marine parade previously, hard to get from ard my place
hehehehehe

hi ladyl, welcome to the thread ! halloween is not realli celebrated by the kids here. where do you stay previously? the kids there celebrated H ? I tot most sporean kids dun celebrate H

bao, i intend to get cheap lanterns for them to burn! haha.. last yr my gal burn up 2 lanterns liao!it was quite fun..

nauh, me jan baby, but am seldom the oldest, usually got 1 or 2 older than me by a few days! haha

Yami, is it my little campus? how do u find the environment there?

bao, this morning i went up to nissi to take a look. agree with u i like the big open space in front of the school too. but i didnt hv time to go in to walk ard the classes . jus grabbed the curriculum info and went off.

i also went to see Carpe Diem and Jude. next week will prob start to check out more in details. but CP and Nissi no vacancy for this yr. will hv to start my girl only in Jan 2010.

YK,
heee...tis year i am also buying latterns for Meg to burn.
my condo have celebration with magicians etc.
looking fwd to it!

Nuah,
C wanna join Meg at Berries?
it's Meg's 2nd term. the class is really fun.

Ladyl,
welcome.
you came back from abroad?
the kiddo in SG hardly celebrate Halloween.
only the adults uses it as an excuse to go party nia

Pinkie,
date for register over liao but no harm trying la.

Nuah,
Berries is not at Tampines One.
it's at either Tampines Junction (Meg's class) or Tampines Mart.
Tampines Junction's branch is new.
very clean n bright.

This year intend to let the kids bring lantern out jalan-jalan.. hopefully no rain le

welcome ladyl!

nuah
your little activities with C is A LOT liao hor..wait till u know what I do with the kids hahaaa

mbb,

yayaya I type wrongly..I know is not at Tampines one ;) So u enrolled Meg when she is in N1? may I know how much is the fees and which day is Meg attending?

Ibs,

activities a lot for C? kekekeke no lah....sometimes I also dun bother and let her play or do wat she wants...kekekekekeke....sometimes just bring her out to Tree top walking etc

calling for dsii... pls check lobang thread and advise, thanks!

s@l,
thanks! will prob drop by Nissi and get them registered for next year
too lazy to scout out other locations also! har har har! i'm super bo chap. since the location is in between my place and my mom's at st 21, it's pretty ideal if i shd decide to walk them to sch either from st 12 or st 21. we sually bring the terrors over to her place in the mornings but if hubby is away, she'll come to my place instead. so Nissi is really very convenient for us

there's another one called Sherwinn at the CC (polyclinic), can check that out too

ya lbs, v long time no see ! will try to join if there is another session. missed the tummy exercise!

S@L, i think it should be my little campus. i find it convenient cos i stay near the place. but i nv been in there to racee yet. :p

yami
now dsii grounded liao le, if meet up i have to go over your side. hehe

I also super miss our tummy exercise, so long boh exercise, flabby liao!