Mummies in Pasir Ris

yalor, my PD also said best is after 3yo then send, if want to send, then just have to bear and manage. anyways not say 3yo wont get sick, still will but maybe less susceptible and severe ba

YK, they not even 1yo leh?! u thinking so far ahead liao ah

re chinese
same here. my boy mostly reply in english also but sometimes he will reply in chinese. he can understand fully what we say in chinese but just dun wan to reply in chinese. i think it's a phase.

XW
do what u think is best for your kid. when i first started to send my son to pre sch at 2 years old, my IL called me heartless cos my son got to take sch bus. my parents had their reservations but they never say much. but after 1 week when my parents went to pick him up ( was having problems with sch bus) my mum told me it was a good decision that i made cos my son was very happy and adapted well.

and after a few months, my IL also think that it's a good thing. so initially u may face a lot of objections but if your son likes it, they will realise it's a good thing. but different kids adapt differently.

oh... liddat ar... then ask u all ar... izzit true dat after the child hits 12kg, the immune system will improve and the child will fall sick less often? if true then abt when will hit? dun wanna send ethan to cc only at 3yo... but oso scared he fall sick very frequent... he has been taking vits and supplements to improve immune system tho...

mbb,
how do u cook lentils? i bght a pack of orange color lentils and only cooked once, put a bit into porridge. but think it gives her gas but i would like to try it again and see how.

eva,
how come spinach cant give everyday?

as for picking up english, i find it to be quite true cos my bil & sil speak cantonese and mandarin to their son since bb and i'm very amazed that once he went to school, he can speak english pretty well too. i guess i've to start speaking mandarin to my gal. my hb speaks to her in cantonese. haha.

XW
that's what i heard and also noticed that as my boy passed 12kg, he did fall sick less.

char,
i put into porridge. think dun take too often cos lentils can cause wind.

pass 12kg? eh my boy already pass 12kg at 1yo heheh so not very true in my case.

spinach is supposed to be a "cooling" veg, so cannot eat too much according to my mil lah. So i'll have it stir fry with ginger or if i boil it, add some ginger into the water

juxta,
wah... sean pass 12kg at 1yo liao ar??? so fast??? ethan now not even 11kg yet wor... n he like put on an average of abt 30g per week nia... faintz~~~

Juxta, me thinking so far ahead cos me now considering if I shld employ a 2nd maid (in case my current maid cannot cope liao, esp when my boys start walking).. and if I employ a 2nd maid, the contract will be for another 2 more yrs.. so hv to consider wat to do with my sons and ger, go full day while the 2 maids laze ard at home? or boys stay home and maids teach them? or wat.. sigh.. dun want to hv 2 maids if possible, and seeing the growth in my ger, I actually hope I can send my boys to cc full time, but yet worried abt them falling sick, and if they fall sick at the same time, can 1 maid cope? Sigh, not easy arrange!
Not sure if the saying of hitting 12kg is true or not, but I did notice my ger is better nowadays, or is it due to sambucol? I hv recently started her on sambucol (ard 1 mth plus), and she only had very very slight runny nose for 1 day so far (touchwood)!

It's one of those health supplements lor, I read in some forums, a lot of mummys highly recommend this for flu prevention. It is made fr elder berries, according to the sales assistant, it can even help for HFMD (dunno true or not). Anyway, if u really interested can check up their web, under VitaKids.

juxta
dunno how true leh. that's what a fren's PD said abt the 12 kg thing...

xw
my boy also not that heavy. at 2 and half years old, he's abt 15 kg. at 2 years old, he hovered ard the 11-12kg mark for really long.

zion/SY, should have some truth ba, he only gain alot during 1st yr, after that stabilise, took almost a year to reach 15kg, and now he's ard 17kg. only in ht, no grow meat tsk tsk. looking at me, is not that surprising he's big right!

YK, true lah, alot of decisions. unless is health issues lah, i feel that DH are as they are called, good for helping in the house, for learning, i rather send him to a childcare. Just recently, there's an article that wrote abt the increasing demand for infant care. I think more ppl are realising that these ppl are better at raising a kid compared to a DH

i havent check out the sambucol yet, no chance to venture there, his multi vits seemed to be working too. or is cos he has fallen sick so much over the past months since he started school? haha

mbb, acma books lai le! yeah!!!

i gave eytan cod liver oil and he ran away after tasting! chloe okay leh, ate up the whole spoonful! what other vits can i give them? obviousbly those chewy 'sweets' type still can't since they dun know how to really chew yet

darlie,
ethan loves cod liver oil... and i give him appleton chewables... there is a liquid type oso... u can consider dat as well...

har har har! zion, my eytan hates fish smell so i'm not surprised that he rejected the oil. even i also dare not taste leh, aiyoh, so fishy siah...

where do i get the liquid tt u mentioned?

darlie,
i guess all leading pharmacies shld have ba... the brand is Appleton, the box is top-green, bottom-yellow... u can try guardian for a start... shld have...

darlie
if he scared of fishy smell, can try the chewables. i ever did smell before. even after chewing, i can smell the strawberry flavor. so maybe it can hide a bit?

i got sample to let my boy try first before i starting buying.
if he can chew on it then i let him take. if cannot take i jsut give him the normal cod liver fish oil.

Zion,

Just to share, I enrolled my child to Tots house (playgroup), you may want to give them a call to check the location now. The previous one we went was ard st 12. BlK 19x. During that time, Tots house offers nursery & kindergarten class onwards at BlK 5xx.

http://jeniustotshouse.com/totshouse.html

Agree with your FIL, start out playgroup first

If you decides to place him at child care, starts on half day, bring him in at least 15 minutes before class starts at 9am (usually) and bring him back after he have his lunch.

Let your child familarise with his peers, teachers and new surroundings. Once he comes to terms, he'll understand as the day changes, from bright sunny day, noon and sky darken means Time to GO HOME!

Weight,
All your kids weight are good and show they are well fed. Not complaining. Mine still lingers ard
13kg+ age 3+. Petite size. hahaha.

Juxta,
Swing back to my busy timing after the mth long holidays.

YK,
Submitted your sui won won dd project alrdy?

Darlie,
Take good care and rest well. Speedy recovery : )

Can I feed my girl medicine for cough and block nose? She is 14 weeks now. Dr Sim prescribe them for her yesterday. Don't feel like giving her but she is still coughing leh. How? Is it safe to give?

chewwy, ur girl sick ah? poor thing to be sick when so young.
I think Dr Sim taken into consideration her age when prescribing the medicine. If you really feel uncomfortable, how abt getting a second opinion? basically becos she is till so young, better to be kiasu and careful...

to share, the first time I fed my baby girl medicine was when she was abt 1.5-2 months old... cos she had fever after her injections.

char,
i soaked the lentils for 30 mins then add n boil with the porridge (add carrot, potato n tomato).
lentils do cause winds so i dun feed Meg very often.

Zion n Darlie,
FYI, Appleton is to give bb better appettite like Pediasure milk.

Darlie,
i come over tmr ard noon?
how much IOU again?

re: school.
i still stand firm not to send Meg to school till she is 3 but then hor i am worried le.
next year, my mum is the one bbsitting her....wat if my ger end up knowing nothing??

she is doing very well at the nanny's (due to her children). how? how?

Juxta,
Pat's schoolhse n Eton have branches in East Coast. not as far as Alexander Rd.

but tis Eton's school fees is crazy la. i doubt i can afford.

i bhgt pharmaton kiddi frm my gal's PD. its a multi vit for kids above 1yo. can be bght frm pharmacies as well. my gal loves cod liver oil.

mbb,
damage this time round is 45.86, incl GST already :) will let my mum know, she'll be at my place tmr

i have 4 SNS stamps, anyone wants?

also, SNS has promo for Pampers (red packaging) at $9.95. wah, cheap cheap leh! gonana go tmr to grab cos no other sizes except XL today.

zion, just look ard and see what arrangement makes u feel comfy. I also started him on playgrp to test test.

darlie, so duh, i was at home whole day, went shower only the delivery came and missed it! gotta reschedule for sat

mbb, eton is ex, pat's also not cheap wor. 1 only can lah moreover PTWM got income. eh shop lesser, next time cannot buy liao tsk tsk tsk. u teach meg when ur free loh, they absorb very fast at this age.

sincerity, guess as much, never hear from u, maybe when u complete ur driving then u'd have teeny weeny time? jialat, i havent finish project, i'm a last min mummy hahah

yami, ya lor, I very "sim tia" Will bring her to raffles on Sat.. suppose to take her jab, guess I will not do the jab and consult the PD of her cough and block nose instead.

Oh dear! I forgot totally abt the project! Jia lat, no brain juice liao.. dunno wat to do! Any suggestions?

My ger loves Sambucol so much that if I forget to give her, she will remind me! haha.. hv bought the nordic fish oil too, but hv not started her on it yet, it look so oily leh, dunno if she will want to take it or not..

YK, u got creative juice one, still got time tsk tsk.

sean dun like fish oil last time, maybe i should try again, chewables got that fishy smell anot?

pinkie
yah its ok to bf even when you are sick as long as you are not on medication as mother nature is very wonderful.

chewwy
Is Dr Sim a GP or PD? If he is a GP better consult a PD before giving any medication to her as she is still so young. I was told not to give any medication to my gal b4 6 months old especially for flu as she might stop breathing.

Juxta,
nowadays dun shop much liao. kee keee keee....

wow! got project huh? kids go to school, parents also kena these days..tsk tsk tsk.

Darlie,
muck muck.....tomolo i go pay aunty another visit

NewMummy,
so scary, stop breathing?

God morning all mummys.. today is a sian day for me, woke up with a block ear! feel very uncomfy, cannot hear properly.. dunno y, think once i get too "heaty" I will hv block ear.. being drinking liang, but still no help leh.. any suggestions?

YK, drink lots of water..and salt water 1st thing in the morning, before brushing your teeth if you think you are heaty.. it works for me

Newmummy, Dr Sim is a PD but I also skeptical as I heard babies shouldn't be eating medicine.. She is better today although still having a bit of block nose.

yk, maybe u can try to swallow saliva? u know like when we have block nose on plane takeoff, thats what we do.
dunno leh, dun have more concrete medical solution,, paiseh.

i have a situation here n hoping some mummies to share your views? my bb is 9mths n i have been feeding her porridge at around 6pm as dinner, then she will have a small milk feed at 7.30pm, follow by one more milk at bedtime.
my mil is excited that she can eat already n she has been saying that next time, bb can have dinner with us at table, i m happy n appreciate that she is so keen to prepare dinner for her, but their dinner is at 8.30pm or slightly later.
i m not very keen to let bb eat so late? esp solids dinner? n it will definitely affect her bedtime milk intake..

but if thats e case, my bb will definitely move her mouth if she sees us eating n in laws might feel she veryb poor thing, cant eat lor..
may i know what time do bb eat dinner at this age or in general? do u accomadate to adults eating timing?
when u bring bb out, u bring food along in the warmer or let bb has other food instead? maybe sub with a milk feed?

thanks all!
btw, i have dinner at my mil around 2 times weekly, but i hope to follow bb routine daily. ie, dinner ard 6pm.

Jasmine,
i got my lentils from oversea.
i did see NTUC organic section selling it. red lentils is better coz it dun need too long cooking time.

tis is how it looks like (the right side)
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/legumeslentilsbabyfoodrecipes.htm

Eva,
for me, i let my ger have her porridge ard 1730 everyday.
my hb and i normally have dinner ard 1930. i will let my ger sit in the highchair when we eat our dinner.
if she is interested in our food, i let her have some for fun.
dun really let her eat much coz it's almost her bedtime.

for a 9 mth old to have porridge dinner at 2030 is kinda late unless you feed her more milk earlier and skip her be4 bedtime feed.

i still bring porridge out. homecook food is always better then outside food.

YK,
if it's too heaty. i take ling yang.
buy from medical hall and slow boil with rock sugar for 1 hour.
very effective coz i am those super heaty person.
always have fever n sorethroat.

i hope you get well soon.

Auroa,
welcome abraod

morning, mummies...
thanks, ladies... for giving comments on the cc and playgroup thingy... have decided to put ethan in playgroup for now... but Tots House only take in 2yo and above leh... n ethan is only 18 mths... hmm... shall see how it goes when i discuss with mil again...

auroa,
kao_welcome2.gif

eva,
re ur situation, may i suggest 2 options:

1. adjust adult dinner timing to accomodate bb dinner time.
2. stick to bb dinner time if adult dinner timing cannot be adjusted... explain to in laws for not letting her join the table unless u wan her to have a taste of adult food...

try not to let her join the table w/o letting her eat anything...

my boy's dinner was oso abt 6pm b4 1yo... basically we try not to eat out too often... we try to accomodate his timing and make sure we bring his porridge out in the warmer... then 1 adult will feed him while the rest are eating... we try not to give him adult food then unless its like toufu or plain fish... then now we slowly adjust his timing to ours and he eats wat we eat outside... hope this helps...

mbb2,
thanks for sharing & show me how the lentils looks like.
so, no chance to get it in sg hor?

hehe...forgot to introduce myself. i have a 20mths old boy & stay at loyang.
i'm always follow this thread but shy to join you all. hehe..

jasmine,
ar... another 2006 bb... welcome welcome... was wondering how come PR so few 2006 bbs... hee... ur boy in cc or playgroup??

darlie,
when i read you all post, feels like you all known each other so well, very hard to join you all.

ok..no shy. i should 'talk' to you all more often.

had not be posting for a while.. had been reading but this thread very fast.. cant catch up..

My sil who is staying with us have chicken pox today.. now I am worried that my 5 mth old BB will get it from her. GP says too late to bring BB away cos normally the virus will be spreading 2 weeks before the blisters shows up.
I had chicken pox b4, wonder if my bb will have that antibodies since he had been drink my breastmilk.