Mummies in Pasir Ris

hi juzta & darlie,
hmm... i semi-swaddle his arms only, cos my CL told me he'll sleep more soundly like that...
i dress him up in L/S PJ so never use a blanket even though he sleeps in aircon room with me and hb.

thought of not turning on the aircon for both his and my room when he goes 'solo'... so not sure if still need to get a baby monitor..
problem is his room has no fan and i can't open the windows cos the rain will come in even if it's a slight drizzle...
headache...

p/s: juxta, what's this zipper blanket you referring to? where can i find it?

hi pinkie, it's true that newborns feel more secure upon swaddling but i think ur bb already starting to move about in his sleep so still safer to remove the swaddling lor. mine always have nightmares when younger but po pian, still can't swaddle. lagi dangerous if he trashes ard and gets himself entangled. also try not to use blanket if u can help it for the same reason lor

u can find the sleepbag in mothercare but theirs quite ex leh. think 60+. personally i just leave them in the cot wearing normal short rompers with 2 fans blowing. no blankets until now also! heh heh....

juxta,
i oso bad mother cos when i weaned her off her pacifier at 7mo she was crying like mad for it. with the pacifier was worse, she would wake up whenever the pacifier falls out of her mouth, sometimes one nite can wake up 10x to put back her pacifier. i've read this book about training bb to sleep by themselves and its best to not pat/rock etc bbs to sleep, better to sleep by themselves and have to jus let them cry but go see them at certain time intervals but no carrying or patting or rocking. i actually did this for a few days but the training was interrupted by my mum & hb cos they cudnt take her screaming whc was very loud. so have to re-train her when move to new house.

pinkie,
there is this bb monitor with a video screen and i'm thinking of getting that cos not only can hear but see bb at nite/day. but not sure how great it is as in clarity of sound compared to philips. but the the video screen is very clear. check out the website:
http://www.4ucam.com/Daisy-Baby-Video-Monitor-Color-LCD-IR-Night-Vision-Wireless-Camera.html.

i came to know about it when i started a thread looking for bb monitor and one mum had this and wanted to sell me hers. she said she used it to monitor her gal when doing homework and said that it's pretty good.

as for zipper blanket, u can find it at any children's dept store, can even find it at kiddy palace. but i feel not necessary to get that if your boy is wearing LS PJ to sleep. U can try to let him sleep w/o being swaddled and see how well he sleeps. btw, why dun u buy a fan to put in his room if dun wanna turn on the aircon? otherwise it can get a bit warm and stuffy w/o a fan with the windows closed.

i used to swaddle my gal when she sleeps to let her know its nite time and to go to sleep but i stopped swaddling her at 3mo when i realised one morning that she was sweating under the arms when i unswaddled her. my gal is hot type, can even perspire with the aircon at 26deg wearing shorts & spaghetti strap top. faintz!

pinkie, me not the one with zipper blanket. my boy broke out of his swaddle b4 he's 1 month old, then we never do it anymore cos somehow he can get himself free. We just dress him up in warmer clothing if sleeping in aircon and socks on. My mom's belief that feet must always be kept warm. TCM got this saying, head cool feet warm is the most ideal state. Eh, but i always feel head warm feet cold lah and very uncomfy so is quite true loh.

dsii, i also want!!! i love the durian coil, so nice so sinful. hahahha

charmer, lucky i dun stay with either parents otherwise my boy will be a monster lor. My mil will never even allow him to fuss let alone cry. My dad will get kancheong if he starts fussing, so how to train?! I always let him cry when we've to start a new routine, is a phase of growing up ba. The least things they're dependent on us, the less fussy they are.

My boy also went through this if he wakes up and finds his tutu missing he'll start wailing. His bad mummy will scold and tell him, look for it urself otherwise i'll take it and throw away. hahah surprisingly he does understand, dun belittle them.

yah, wear socks enough already. mine still do everyday, until now, heh heh... on rainy days mine also dun use blankets, at most we just switch off the nearest fans and leave 1 at far end to ventilate only. they sleep in the hall so there's no lack of fans at anytime!

my niece is so used to aircon that she can't take it if she goes out. she'll sweat like mad and then start to whine *sigh* so i told myself no aircon for my terrors lor

re positive infants
for those who wan more info on the free trial, can PM me your email add and i forward the email to u?

i can't remmeber how i got the email but i think the class is similar to what babies and cream has which is the postivie babies class. think it is to help bb to feel more confident etc

mbb2
my boy loves the book goodnight moon too! i shall look out for some of the titles as well.

re sleep
my boy still sleeps in my room but on a separate mattress. but recently think cos of #2 coming, he has been climbing to my bed very very often.

re aircon
my boy sleeps in aircon also. no choice. sleep in aircon also sweat. and i realise he sleeps better in aircon. exactly like the father.

hi dalrie,

yup...my gal has been wearing socks to zzzzz even till now..no blanket....she will wear long PJ with a singlet in it with socks and zzzzzz in air con room...

Hi charmer,

my gal also the hot type...sweat non stop everyday!!!! she is like me must zzzzz in air con and also zzzzzz better and longer....we even turn on fan too with air con and she still sweat!!!

heh heh, newmummy, no leh, wanted to but the weather was quite hazy and my gal still coughing so we stayed indoors. cut their hair and my gal now looks like a boy!!! i cut the sides too short and she has a 'tail' behind originally so now she looks like a chao ah beng!!!

darlie_toothpaste
Wow she's really a doll to let u cut her hair. She didn't move ard when u cut her hair? You're a Hairstylist Mummy now. How abt your boy? Hair too short to be cut again?

juxta,
u are not the only bad mummy who scolds her child. i do that too when she cries so many times at night. yeah, grandparents always spoil their grandchildren. my mum gives my gal watever she wants even tho sometimes the object is not safe to let her play with. sigh!

nuah couple,
i've to hand it to your gal, fan & aircon still can sweat, she's a hot babe! haha!

darlie,
yeah, wonder how u cut your kids hair cos most kids will cry when it comes to haircutting. i've no experience in haircutting yet cos my gal still very botak.

SY,
juz PM you

Darlie,
i will be away till 22nd.
my SG hp dun have roaming. pls PM me when the items arrive n i will pop over to your place asap to collect.

mbb,
oh no... forgot abt the vodka... u flown liao? if not can help me get the Absolut Vodka Mango (if there is such a flavour dat is), if not, any new limited edition one will do... TIA...

hi newmummy / charmer (aiyah, must remember to use this, cos used to calling charmaine liao!), my boy is easy to cut his hair. my DW distracted him so i quickly quickly cut lor. when it came to my gal's turn, i only managed to cut 1 side cos she has lots of hair! and was getting restless. heh heh, she looks too gangsta now.... oops!

wah darlie, u so good can cut by urself, i never dare to do it in case i lop his ears haha. my dad used to do it for him as he had this phase of refusing to go barber shop, think is the sound of the shaver. Used to have to bribe him to go cut hair, now he's over that stage liao

why kids all scared of heat these days. Mine is definitely cos of me lah. I'm the auntie that walks ard with an umbrella in the day time, so my boy also needs shade leh. He'll ask me sometimes, mummy so hot why u never bring umbrella. wahahah

aiyoh juxta, u so cute leh. just fold the ears down can liao lor! no scared no scared! kekekekeke

when they're older will bring them to a proper shop, now they dun take instructions very well so very hard to manage them outside. dun want to embarrass myself oso by screaming at them!! wah har har!! i had to seat them in a bathtub and let them play with water while cutting. else sure cannot cut a single strand lor.

darlie
my boy needs a hair cut but refuse to cut hair. we use to bring him to a shop to cut but nowadays cutting harder. before we can even walk there, he already walk the other side in order to avoid the shop.....

darlie_toothpaste
That's a good idea to let them play in the bathtub while cutting but since they move so much can cut straight?

SY
Your boy so smart to avoid the shop. hahaha!

newmummy, i use thining shears so the hair wun be cut too straight. after the last fiasco with my mum cutting my gal's fringe waaaay too high & straight (she looked like an ah tood), she switched to a 'friendlier' pair! heh heh heh, so now at least no one will look like a bowl head lor

trial & error, this is the 1st time am using the thinning shears so i suay suay messed up her hair again. i promise to do better the next time!!!

I cut my gal's hair myself too! But she is very "kuai", will not move ard too much.. but hv to cut very fast as kids get bored easily.

For my twins, my FIL help me shave them botak! Very difficult! haha.. need to constantly distract them! We put them in their bumbo seat for a while, them move to bouncer, then carry, then let them crawl ard! haha.. maybe next time can try the bath tub.

juxta,
i oso carry umbrella when the sun is scorching hot, like auntie loh. my gal folo me & hb, both of us scared of heat. but your boy so cute to ask u to bring umbrella.

darlie, wat is a thining shears ah?

yeah i heard of some parents using the bath tub method, put some toys to distract them and quickly cut the hair.

darlie,
i c but where to get that kind of scissors? seems like its better to get that type than the normal one cos normal type too straight and the hair cut can look toot-toot.

Hello Mummys, just wanted to show off a bit! I finally get to do the shoes for my gal! The yellow one is for my girl, the ladybird and butterfly can be changed, I made watermelon and strawberry for her too.

1356736.jpg

1356737.jpg

Made these for my SIL, aiya i made ice-cream and lollipop to be changed with the plane and car, but cannot upload leh..
1356738.jpg

charmer
there's this shop near my office that sells such scissors. cheap too. near circular road. if i go past u wan me to help u buy?

hi charmer, think u can get those scissors from any provision shop :) must ask my mum where she got heres

yk, the shoes very nice leh! u mean u made all those puffy felt pieces yourself also ah? cool!!!

darlie, me very clumsy lah. i leave it to my dad who takes great joy and pride in doing it. hahah then we've to entertain him also, he's hyperactive so have to let him watch his fav cartoon then he'll stare and keep still.

charmer, me also super scared of heat loh, i get heat rash easily, then my boy also like that, aiyo all the bad things he got lah.

YK, is sooo nice!! you can branch out into a biz liao.

Hehe.. thank you thank you. Ya, I did the puffy thingy myself, in fact I like doing those, very fun.. but the painting part, me not too good in it, as I am not that patient! Haha.. actually I drew the pictures and got my SIL to paint it..

My gal wore it out last weekend, the shoes are actually too big for her, but she insist on wearing them, and she keep checking out the puffy things after every few steps! Very funny..

Dsii, the paint should be able to withstand wash, but I have not try it yet.

RE to cutting hair, anyone know where can I get those electric razor for cutting hair? How much is it?

YK,
your creation is very nice!
i tot it looks very much like Keds but with better design

SY,
the Positive Infant email.....i cant view anyting.
can fwd to me again?

Zion,
noted.

SY,
thnx for asking but i dun think i'll be needing that any time soon cos my gal still botak. i'll let u know when i need it.

darlie,
it's ok, no need to bother u to ask. i jus ask ask only. my gal's hair growth as if stunted, haha.

juxta,
i perspire very easily hence get rash at my neck too. actually last time dun have rash, only got it when i was preggie and have it till now. have to apply cream every time the rash itch. sigh. wat pregnancy did to me....out of shape and rash.

YK,
i really admire u for having the patience to do up those shoes and being so artistic. the shoes look so cheerful.

charmer, i always have it, eczema cos asthmatic. But during pregnancy i had a very bad bout of rash on my neck and chest, abdomen and hip loh, till now still got scar. you're right lor, sighs so many marks just after 1 pregnancy!

hi juxta,
paiseh got the wrong names *blush*

thanks, charmer - i'll check it out soon!
so are you going to get it?

i tried not bundling my boy's arms 2 nights ago and so far, he's doing quite well... juz a bit more fidgeting when i'm trying to get him to sleep + waking up for milk an hour faster...
hope it'll go off soon :p

btw, how do i know if my boy is well-fed? cos i latch-on now so hard to gauge if he's drinking enuff... and how often should i bring him to the pd?

p1nk1e
think u can gauge by the number of wet diapers he has to know whether he is drinking enough. can't remember the number. like 6-8 diaper change or something like that.

u can refer to the health booklet on how often u need to rbing him for the assessment checks. last time i very blur and missed the one at 3 months.

actually when u go for the vaccination, u can let PD do assessment check also.

pinkie,
i'm no expert in BF but if he has about 5-6diaper change a day should be ok. as for bringing him to PD, go according to his health booklet. did u bring him for his 1st jab when he was 1mo? if not can go bring him, not too late. his PD will oso do a physical examination to see how well he's growing etc.

ya, jus saw that kind of clothing this morning at a shop in the market, was oso wondering how a baby is supposed to wear that...??

heee, cute, like a dress lor; similar to sleepbag w/o closed bottom! i had a few also but din let my terrors wear since they dun like l/s clothes. just wear it with socks can liao. but will ride up lah, so not very practical too.... best is still one piece pjs :p lazy mommy lah

pinkie,
i'm still deciding whether to get that flower bb monitor with the video screen or normal type like philips brand. the pro about that flower one is that can see bb during the day & night but no intercom to talk to bb whereas the philips one can talk to bb but cant see. so headache...

p1nk1e (p1nk1e)
I've got one of these too but did not get to wear also cause weather hot and not sleeping in air-con room. Think its easy for mummy to wake up in the middle of the night to change also. Maybe should try it tonight since weather is cold. HEHEHE!

darlie_toothpaste
For your one piece PJ issit short sleeve and long pants type? Where u bought those because most one pc comes with long sleeve long pants?

SY,
I had PM you to check with u abt the positive infant class, let me know the details. K.

pinkie,
I have a brand new philips monitor to sell.. but no video one, pure analog.. People give me hamper with it, retail selling at $120, I wanna let go at $80.

hi newmummy, my terrors have 2 types of rompers they wear at night. 1 type is s/s with no legs for hotter nites. 1 is s/s with long legs (cover thighs or knees) if weather is slightly colder.

for the s/s, toe-covered or long pants types can buy from mothercare or gap. otherwise no legs but wear socks will also amount to be the same and cheaper too! :)

====

jshoppers update - items have arrived at my place! yippee!!!
will sort and pack later hor. can come by to collect from tmr liao. my mom is at my place so anytime also convenient