Mummies in Pasir Ris

Hi darlie,

u went to Mygym at Parkway...is it gd? currently my gal is attending gymboree..left 1 or 2 classes and she just started in JWT at Kallang...yes, adult tend to be more tiring then the kids ;)...how is MYGYM?

Hi NewMummy,

used to be at PP every Tuesday bt soon her gymboree class gonna finish liao..anyway, u can just sms me...me to PP very fast one lah provided hv car lah as sometimes hb drove to work...my dad's car no car seat....if dun bring my gal along then it's fine....

oh yes, mothercare at PP hving Pre-reno sale...

newmummy, i try to go shopping after work to destress & have some time alone before i go home to face mayhem!! with 2 babies, a maid and my parents, there's always someone to complain to me when i return home. even the babies dun spare me! *faintz*

hi nuah, it was okay lah. prob becos during the open house, there were kids of various ages so very messy with older ones running all over and we were concerned for the babies' safety. basically they had large foam blocks for the kids to crawl thru, climb over, balance. and a large ball pool, a trampoline, a slide & hand swings attached to the ceiling. then story telling at the end. the 'teachers' are very energetic and each of them made an effort to come speak to each child. but becos parents were also participating, most times we were left alone with our kids (that's why we so tired lah!). my hubby thinks it's not worth it to join now, so i'll wait and see lah

oh yah, wonderbox will be delivering the items tonite, will sms u when arrive hor

Shopping Updates

Robinson sale has started. Baby stuff has up to 20% off.

JL has 30% rebate till this Sun. So u will get 30% off in rebate vouchers for your shopping.

SY,
yeah tea tree oil is oso good for insect bites but i a bit worried to use it on my gal leh cos the oil may be on her fingers then later she will put her fingers in her mouth.

icy,
your boy is so cute!

darlie
it's ok. my parents are going to china. my dad is stationed there. i can foresee my mum buying lots of stuff back from china

icy
i went for positive babies before at great world. i like the class too.

i only went for trial.

darlie
i m going for the museum toddler workshop on 4th May.
u going?

charmer
actually must teach them not to put in the mouth. if not next time if they have rashes etc then hard to apply medicine. my concern for my boy is that he likes to rub his eyes and sometimes after applying all these, he touch and go and rub his eyes. so usually i wait till he is asleep then i put for him.

iSY,
i've been telling her not to put things/hands into her mouth since she was few months old and till today she just wont listen. i even use my fingers to flick at her hands when she does that but she still not scared. very stubborn!

hi sy, no lah, waste money bringing them! har har har! wait till next year... :)

charmaine, yah yah. my DD also like that... very stubborn. the more u ask her not to do it, she lagi do it in front of u! sometimes she'll sit quietly (and we'll be thinking she's such a good gal, no peep coming from her) and scratch at her mossie bite until it bleeds... wah piang. she very clever at hiding actions from us until we discover too late lor

wah kao! scratch until bleed....did she cry? i must say your DD is very intelligent and elderly ppl will advice to watch & guide them cos if they can learn things fast now then they can learn bad things fast oso especially during the teenage years. i shudder to think about the teenage years for my gal & future kids altho its a long way to go cos one can never know how one's own child will turn out in the future.

hmm looks like stubborn kids are aplenty. haha. my boy also, the more u ask him not to, the more he'll do it, as if like challenging you. i normally put aloe vera for his mozzie bites and is a brand that can be injested so lesser things to worry. But if is other cream, i'll do it when he's asleep. I guess they curious loh just like us last time, parents say cannot all the more we want to do it!

charmer u changed ur display name, for awhile i was wondering who is this. blur me hahah

huh huh, this gal ah i tell u, she scratch until bleed but dun cry cos she curious lor, want to see how much damage she can do to herself.... yikes! she very seldom cries if she falls and hurts herself also; this gal quite tough.

teach her once and she can understand. the other night i brought her down for a stroll, so i taught her new words like 'lamp post', 'tree', 'grass' and 'plant'. i repeated and pointed to her a few times. so afterwards i asked her, she can point to the correct objects. wah......
if it were my boy, he wun be bothered!! gals really learn much faster.

Hi darlie,

yes, girls learn things faster.....comparing my gal and my nephew who is 6 wks older than my gal..my mom also said gal learn faster...bt guys are faster in their motor skill though....

mothercare....trying not to enter if not sure buy clothes one...their clothes beri nice leh..........am controlling not to buy clothes for her as will be going to europe coming july....wanna buy for her in europe instead ;)

hi darlie... my hubby is a EYS member and this month is his birthday month. the thing is.... he dun remember where his card is? IC can or not? If can, then maybe i can meet u at whitesands after work.
u have my hp rite, so sms me should you need to contact me .

thanks yami! my colleague also has april birthday month, so i tompang her to buy already. :) spent a bomb liao, tsk tsk tsk. now looking for may onwards mommies! every month buy a little bit, not so sim tia, kekekekeke

nuah, yah lor, i totally agree, if possible, try not to step into mothercare, else sure will buy something! esp the gal clothes, hard to resist lah!!

darlie_toothpaste
r ur terrors sleeping oredi? Mine just slept. Today very naughty not drinking milk eg gave 130ml leftover 50ml and kept screaming not sleeping well. Aiyo shack man!

newmummy,
woah so late then your gal sleep ah. not drinking milk; reminds me of my gal who gave me that problem everyday from 3mo-6mo. had to feed her while she just dozed off. i was so stressed that i felt i was literally going mad.

huh, my terrors sleep b4 11pm, can tahan thru the night lor. tired from playing the whole day lah!! my gal from young seldom naps during the night, so she really conks out at night, no need to drink milk, can last until morning :) very easy to look after in this aspect

wah really envy u leh mine usually have several naps during daytime and sometimes early evening. If she didn't nap she will b cranky at times. Usually give her milk ard 11pm or 12am and she will usually wake up again ard 4am or 5am.

Usually how do u make your terrors sleep at nite eg patting or sarong.....

I need to pat her to sleep and she will take a long time to sleep.

no leh, no patting required :p for my boy he likes the sarong, so after he falls asleep in the sarong, we trf him to the cot. he will whine sometimes during the nite, looking for his water bottle or pillow only. for the gal, she usually falls asleep in the cot cos we dare not let her sleep in sarong anymore as she flips and turns and tries to sit up! just dump her in the cot whether she likes it or not lah! she's a heavy sleeper so she doesn't get disturbed by her brother's whining/crying during the nite.

mommies, finally gotten round to installing yahoo messenger on my laptop. my ID is gerrykhoo_sg.

I really like your gal leh so chin chai and easy to look after. Mine is not heavy sleeper so need to on the radio or TV when she is taking her nap.

JL 30% is given in voucher form. not very good deal.
20% for limited toys in Robinsons too.
overall, the sale is nothing

btw, where can i get good durian cakes?
i never like durian but am gonna get one for hb's birthday.

mbb2
did u see last week's sunday times lifestyle? got the top 50 cakes in Singapore. dun have any durian cakes but got a lot of choco cakes...

i kept the article. let me know which one u want.

re making my boy sleep.
when my boy was young, i need to pat him to sleep. as he got older, i just lie in bed n let him roll abt until he falls asleep. nowadyas we usualyl chat until he falls asleep...

huh, buay sai add ah? it's [email protected] :)

there's a good durian cake shop at jalan kayu called jane's cake station (the choc cake was featured in sunday plus too). the box packaging is really obiang but the cake is chokeful with durian. think it's almost $40 for 1 cake. if u drive towards jalan kayu from Pasir Ris via TPE, it's on the right side. same row as 7-11

Wow... very busy thread :p

Hi SY,
what's this Positive Infant you're talking about?
free trial? min how old for infant class?

SY,
oh...i better go dig for last week's paper.
i loveeeee chocolate cakes

i would like to know more abt Positive Infant. any more details?

Yami,
emi cake is the first one tat crosses my mind

Charmer,
goodwood park is kinda out of the way for me to do cake collection.

Darlie,
tkz...sounds good.
will ask my BIL to help to collect it for me should i order from Jane's cake stn.
i am planning a special birthday party for hubby.
so gotta do everyting behind his back.

Pinkie,
here's a list of books tat my ger loves.

birth to 8mths:
Big Fat Hen by Keith Baker.
Ten,Nine,Eight by Molly Bang.
Play Rhymes by Marc Brown.
Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown.
Rosie's Walk by Pat Hutchins.
Have You Seen MY Duckling by Nancy Tafuri.
My First Mother Goose by Rosemary Wells.

8 to 18mths:
Moon Bear by Rank Asch.
Will I Have A Friend? by Miriam Cohen.
Corduroy by Don Freeman.
Where's Spot? by Eric Hill.
Mama, Do You Love Me? by Barbara Joose.
Peter's Chair by Ezra Jack Keats.
Pat The Bunny by Dorothy Kunhardt.

18th to 36th (i am still looking for some of the titles):
The Little Red Hen by Bryon Barton.
Clifford The Big Red dog by Norman Birdwell.
Wait till the moon is full by Margaret Wise Brown.
Stellaluna by Jannell Cannon.
The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle.
Millions Of Cats by Wanda Gag.
Chicka Chick boom Boom by Bill Martin Jr. & Lois Ehlert.
Curious Geroge by H.A. Rey.
The Cat In The Hat by Dr. Suess.
The Bunny Planet by Rosemary wells.

all tis titles are developed at the American Library Association.
its not too easy to find but i really find them better compared to most children books

these books are all old fav.

oh boy, am drooling over the new Gap babywear liao.... can't wait for the sale to start for the summer pieces.

sorry ah, e shopping demon has just possessed me.... am surfing for online bargains again!

hi darlie,

pai sei leh cannot collect the item from u tonite as hb hving stomach flu and high fever since this morning, hence, we did not go out today...

btw, are u working if yes, where eh? raffles plc?

talking abt cakes...my bro out of sudden craving for cakes for these few days and we asked him go joo chiat plc rd to buy noistette tat was advertised on last week paper...wow he told us small small shop bt super crowded..no space to park car...then he went to tanjong katong...dun know this Miss clarity...advertised on the paper too....wow the cakes cannot make it lah....toooooo sweeeeeeet.......and taste awful!!

how come they nvr advertised awfully chocolate huh.....yummy leh

mbb2,
jus came back frm west plaza & saw emi cake shop with their slogan: singapore's no. 1 durian cakes. i havnt tried their cakes b4 but since yami has tried it b4 maybe u can buy a slice to try 1st.

hi mummies, hows weekend coming along? Jane's cake station's durian cake is not bad, the choc cake is nice and not overly sweet. Can just call and order, dun be surprised if they sound "rude", dun issue receipts also. Yalor, awfully chocolate is nice too but alittle "heavy" so cannot eat too much. Jane's is much lighter but like darlie says, packaging is extremely obiang. Goodwood Park has one of the most yummy durian cakes for me

my boy quite easy to look after at night also. just give him his milk and send him to his room, after his bedtime stories, he'll soothe himself to sleep until morning. Only early days we'll lie down on the bed while he sleeps in his cot then when he's abit older we walk out while he tries to sleep in his cot in our bedroom

Hi mbb2,
tks!! wow, that's a long list!

you still can remember the titles!!

american library association - how to find the books?

juxta,
weekend was ok for me. brought my gal swimming this morning, it was her 1st time in a pool and she enjoyed herself. about self soothing to bed, my gal doesnt like to be put into her cot straightaway so have to put her with me on my bed for a few mins then put her in her cot and tell her that she has to sleep there by herself. it works but the problem is she still wakes up at night crying and i have to help her find her pillow and give it to her then most time she'll settle down by herself. i was wondering wat to do once she sleeps in her own room in our new flat. cant possible go into her room every night to help her find her pillow wat....was thinking by then perhaps jus let her cry and soothe herself.

charmer, must be real fun to see her enjoying herself right! if you can bear to let her cry alittle, that is a good way. I'm a bad mother, i believe in self soothing and always train him to be able to sleep back on his own. So in the initial stage bound to have some crying and tantrums. We just moved him to his own room, he wakes up once in awhile in the middle of the night and calls out for us. So i'll tell him b4 he sleeps that if he looks outta window and the sun is still sleeping, he should be sleeping too hahah

hi nuah, hope ur darling is feeling better today. if ur hubby is working in RP, i can pass to him. otherwise my mum is ard on weekdays at my place so can collect once ur darling recovers :)

pinkie,
most books can get at big book stores

the titles are compiled by ALA nia.

i dun remember all the titles, have a list with me whenever i go out. so tat i can fish it out if i step into the bookstores.

Charmer,
hmmmm...me cant stand the smell of durians!
Emi Cake is the best location for me coz Downtown east have a branch.

my ger sleep on her own since her 3rd mth.
the initial period is VERY TIRING coz we kept having to run over to her room to check on her.
but after the adjustment period, we are trained liao.
certain noise, is she talking in her slp etc. so no need to rush over.

we still walk over twice to check on her even if she din wake at all.

the only complain abt my ger is tat she needs me to pat her to slp.
at the nanny's she is ok wor.
tink she manja la.....

Wow mummies....my gal is still co-sleeping with me leh....at times and also training her to sleep in her own playpen...till now she is already 13mths plus and still keep waking up middle of the nite to drink nai nai...she sill bf........when she zzzzz..will carry her to her playpen bt after a while she will wakes up and start crying and sitting down in her playpen...then must start to carry her to zzz or drink nei nei......sigh......my gal beri stubborn ....... is it ok that my gal still waking up middle of the night? she has nvr sleep thru the nite b4 leh......

hi darlie...

RP....can pass to my hb hor.....bt most likely will drop by ur hse on sunday to collect of possible..will let u know again.

hi mbb2,
i'm also contemplating to move back to my own room and let my boy sleep in his room...
are you using a baby monitor? or you leave your doors open? my boy now sleeps 8hrs stretch through the night, but i'm still worried 'cos i still "semi-swaddle" him (using cloth nappy) & put a security pillow on him... afraid halfway everything might be on his face

cos some mornings, i find he struggled outta the nappy... half cover his mouth liao

heeee, i refuse to have my kids sleep in our or the maid's room so they have to make do with the living room. so they have np sleeping thru noise. no need to tiptoe ard them when they sleep and we can continue with our activities.

pinkie, ur boy sleeping in aircon room? if no aircon, actually no need to swaddle leh. errrr, it's even more dangerous since he's now learning to dislodge the cloth leh.

Pinkie,
i am using bb monitor coz we (hb n i) slp in aircon room.
my ger dun slp in aircon coz at the nanny's plc no aircon so we train her to slp with fan.

agree with Darlie, you can stop to swaddle your boy. if he slp in aircon room, you may wanna buy those zipper blanket (tat wraps the bb except for the hands).

once your boy knows how to flip, then you dun have to worry too much.
of coz, we still need to check on them from time to time.

till now, my ger juz slp with a bolster nia.
she dun like blanket or pillow.

oh...if you buy bb monitor, do consider Philips.
i cant remember the model no but it's ard $200.
it's very clear n quite.
even pin drop can hear!
worth the price

the best way is when we go pee at nite. juz pop over n sneak a peep lo

mbb2, am so impressed with ur long list of books. hee... i been repeating Humpty Dumpty and Mary Has A Little Lamb to my baby.

Re: durian cake
i am not a big fan of durian, but emicakes is good enuff for me. mbb2, agree with Charmer that u can buy one slice to try first :p All these talk abt cakes is making me hungry...

nuah couple, I also like awfully chocolate. but my entire family dislike it...they say it's overrated. anyway the location is a bit off at katong mall. Did you try Gobi? Also at katong mall... looks realli delicious.

weekend passed in a flash again.... how come always so fast?! for durian lovers, there's this durian 717, they mostly do roadshows, very yummy durian pdts like durian rolls, puffs etc, almost close to the real thing.

Hi Ibs,

yes, most likely will be in town next week..will inform u 1 day adv...either meet for lunch or kopi break loh ;)

Hi yami,

awfully cho tastes so nice..u try the banana one?...yummy....Gobi...no nvr try b4..shld try eh since at katong mall....

Hi mb2,

yes, Philips monitor is really gd..we using that too......