Mummies in Pasir Ris

juxta,
hard to find true blue peranakan nowadays. by our generation, usually mixed liao, like me half peranakan & half cantonese. nonya food super nice right? but tedious to cook i feel. so many things to prepare and then when cook liao, finished in no time. it'll be good for your boy to know some malay too. like me & my sister & other cousins all can speak some malay, good to be bilingual.

another lobang...

http://www.mumcentre.com/enews/partners/Megcorp/megcorp2.htm

1349207.jpg

charmaine, it'll be good if he can understand another language, cos dialect already cannot make it. The grandparents all dun speak to him in dialect anymore. They're no longer forced to learn like us when our grandparents can only speak dialect. My hb and his siblings all can speak malay too. I can comprehend simple malay vocab but is cos of the DH previously hahah.

u're right about the cooking, so tedious. always see them preparing the spices in huge amt and so much work. i kowtow to my mil, she can whip up 5 dishes 3 soups to cater to different tastes when we're all there for dinner.

juxta,
ppl like your mil tok kong hor? last time when i lived with my grandma who took care of me & my sis, she oso cooked our meals daily except weekends lah. siong man, see her prepare the ingredients and blend them. some more nonya ladies are so refined especially in their cooking. i remember when i helped her to cut long beans, must be same length, cannot too long or too short. everything must be swee swee. can faint.....

Sy,
thank you for your offer but i think i cannot wait for you to help me to buy the G2000.
i will buy them tmr myself.

i kept forgetting to wish you HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Darlie,
stop tempting me. kee kee keee

juxta,
i see... 6mos still a long way to go! :p

seldom forum these days cos my boy is keeping me busy all day :|
btw, what can i do with my 6wks+ boy when he's not zzz? do you moms read to your baby? what kinda books should i buy?

pinkie,
frankly i forgtten wat i did to my gal when she was 6wks old. i guess jus carry around and talked to her.... u can also read to her too, never too young to read to a child.

charmaine, housewives those days really very "sud". my mother also cooked 3 meals a day 7 days a week. She tells me is different times, they've no choice. My mil told me she wakes up at 530am to make breakfast after she got married, was she hinting?! haha. Yalor they very meticulous and there's only 1 way, that is THEIR way!

pinkie, i sang alot to my boy, nursery rhymes, pop songs, silly songs, anything goes. Is good to talk a lot to them, they pick it up along the way. Bedtime story is a nice routine. Dun feel guilty if u just want to lie there sometimes, i used to feel so bad then try to find 101 things to do. When he reached a certain age, they dun give u chance one hor, so enjoy the do nothing period!

Hi SY,

yeah..my gal also started aking cold liver oil when she turned 1 yr..luckily she likes it...;)

Hi ibs,

yes, ur new office where huh?? Will most likely going to raffles plc next week....

yeah...bought my gal to tui na also when she was 1mth old...very effective.....

Hi Darlie...

aiyo dun tempt me leh..trying to refrain myself from buying liao...i still hv a few more books to buy bt trying to control leh.....

Talking abt shoes...wow piang..my gal has more than 10 pairs in the shoes cabinet...some bought by me, some my mom and some passed down from nieces.....i also faint whenever I see her shoes...anyway, like mummy..likes shoes ;)

charmaine,
read ah...read what? *blush*
muz buy books to read to him?

juxta,
singing ah... i juz can't make myself sing.. so weird.. keke
agree, me very lazy.. very happy when my boy sleeps after milk.. lazy mommy

pinkie, haha i cant sing for nuts b4 that too. Even my best fren was like I cant imagine you doing this last time but is just so natural now.

pinkie,
agree with juxta about being able to relax now cos once they reach an age where you have no time to rest. like my gal now prefers me to carry her and play with her. actually u can hum to your boy if u cant sing. thats wat i did sometimes. u can read any books for kids too but i dun think u have to purposely go out to buy one. i'm sure he must have had some books as gifts when he was 1mo. or u can show him different objects and see which one interests him. i remember my gal liked to see this pic of a giraffe on her pillow. she would smile at it so sweetly whenever we showed her that. and there were other objects like a fan that she found interesting & smiled. it was so funny & entertaining to see her smile. jus try out different things to entertain your boy which doesnt require u to spend money. anyway babies that age sleep a lot so thankfully we dun have to entertain them for long.

nuah, yalor they pick up very fast thru songs, he knows many nursery rhymes and loves to sing too. I taught him like colours and days of the week by learning the songs from barney CDs haha

sing hum whatever u can. Sing the ABC song!! ur baby will remember it somehow. I'd bring him downstairs for walks and tell him birds, bus, trees etc, anything excites them cos everything is new to them. Ha, looking back i realised i put too much pressure on myself for trying to entertain him, really once they get to like charmaine's gal age, is GOODBYE rest for us!

Have been following your thread for a while and wow its such an active thread and wanted to join but unfortunately I am not staying in Pasir Ris. The only consolation is I also stay in the EAst. Hehehe.

I hope its ok for me to join in.

pinkie, dun stress....! just make weird noises, sing, hum, squeak, grunt or whatever, ur boy will like it & find it amusing! can consider buying soft/cloth books for now lah. i make it a point to leave 1 or 2 in the terrors' cots. they are still 'flipping' cloth & plastic books cos i dun trust them with board books, they'll chew everything up! or may can consider crib boooks, just tie to the cot and let him amuse himself with the graphics

think at that age, mine were just lying around lor! my boy liked to look at curtains fluttering in the breeze. sometimes we hang a balloon or plastic bag at the window and leave him on a mattress & he can watch it for a long while. :)

as i'm writing this now, my DD is just lying in her cot humming to herself, cartoon!

Pinkie,
haha...i am now like doing musical on stage.
every now n then, i will burst into singing. keee kee keee.

NewMummy,
welcome onboard!
where abt in the east?

Nuahcouple,
my ger also have a rather wide collection of shoes. tsk tsk tsk.

i often remind myself not to spoil her.....tink i fail badly!
juz got her a pair of boots.
now cracking my head....when n where she can wear it be4 she outgrown it.
stupid rite?

Good Morning.

mbb2
Hi I'm a SAHM staying in Marine Parade area and dun think there's a thread dedicated to it.

darlie_toothpaste
Good Morning, u r early today. So r u chionging for the Sales again? HEHEHE!

newmummy, welcome aboard. i've relatives staying in marine parade, very near PP.

darlie,
your gal sounds cute leh, can hum to herself.

my gal at this age start to want attn liao. she'll play by herself if no choice but once i'm with her in her play area she'll keep coming to me and wants me to carry her and touch my laptop. even when she wakes up she'll cry for attn, so irritating sometimes cos when she was younger she wouldnt cry but play by herself, guess older liao so knows how to get attn. sigh....

charmaine
is likett de.... my enen also .... nw super gd crawler n climber...see thg climb... see me crawl onto my lap n sit there.... on the fone cry....muz hv undivided attn on her.... kor kor come to me she hit or bite kor kor.... mummi n ah ma is hers alone lor

charmaine, she quite cute leh, before she dozes off, she'll hum softly to herself and scratch her head while sucking her thumb and smelling her hanky!! cartoon right? she has her habits before sleep lor.

just now she was humming cos it was still dark after drinking her morning milk and she was just lazing ard, waiting for someone to play with her. then the hum got louder and louder until she was screaming for attention... duh...
kao_dizzy.gif

darlie
someone doing a BP in the thread for acmamall books. not sure close already or not but discount is 27%.

mbb2
sorry can't help to buy the clothes for u. no chance to go G2..

long time no post! Had been busy with bb and pumpings.. feel like a cow.. I am getting more and more lazy on midnight pumping sigh.

So tempted to let BB drinks FM.

Hmm...tks for sharing the tips, mommies...

so do i get the books from places like toys 'r' us?
oh, and how soon can i start using rattlers? i rec'd loads of rattlers as presents... :p

gd morning mommies...

welcome newmummy!!!!marine parade ah?? hmmm....think got a thread for mummies ard east coast leh...but nvrmind lah..still can join us ..hehehhe

p1nk1e
I do some simple yoga for my boy where I learn in class, also can put him in gym and let him practice grabbing things.. talk a lot to BB, then very fast BB will start to coo. :D It is so cute!

p1nk1e
u can try those warehouse sales to get books when they have it at expo. the bb books are quite cheap.

hmm, i din really use rattlers last time for my boy. not much interest. i ahve some black, red, white flash cards that i use with him, sing songs, do those action songs etc.

talk lor, just talk to bb..

hi newmummy,

welcome..u staying at MP...can meet up with u at PP leh as currently staying with my parents at Tanjong rhu and my gal is a "member" at PP...one week dun know go how many times..heheh...u working or SAHM?

Hi juxta,

ya kids learn beri fast if u keep singing to them and tell them this is a bird, ants etc....my gal also remember a lot of nursery songs....barney etc also...whenever she hears this song..I love u..she will comes hug me ;).....she also learns a lot of animals by watching baby einstein and looking at the flash cards......

Hi SY,

ya my gal dun really like rattles...she prefers books and drawing on her magic doodles.............

Hi P1nkIe,

dun be stress lah....just keep talking to your bb..........relax urself eh

juxta
haha..u missed me ah? yesterday i sent isaac to sch early for his badminton lesson..thenw ent compasspoint with fren till 2plus 3 then reached home...after that...made ian sleep..and as usual..i dozed off too...woke up already 6pm...then dilly dally a bit here n there...fetch isaac,...like that loh...

Reading through the posts here bring back the good old memories when my gal was a baby and toddler. Hmm, i was even smiling to myself when i read what your babies did, so cute, so familiar yet it was like so long ago for me.

Enjoy your time with your babies while you can, don't be too stress up with deciding what to do with them, relax and you must enjoy your time together. I don't read to my gal when she was a baby but I do talk to her alot, it really helps in her speech subsequently. I only started to sing to her when I watch VCDs with her, think when she was about 1 year or slightly earlier. She watched alot of Hi 5 and barney then and that's where I picked up all the songs.

the nuahcouple

hi I'm a SAHM but need to tend to DD but sometimes I need to relax by going marketing in PP during weekdays as weekends too crowded there and my parents will help me to look after her. PD advised not to bring her out now as got HFMD and other diseases ard also and she hasn't finished her full jab so not advisable.

You might think I am KS but better to be safe then sorry. I know of someone who still bring the kid out when the kid got chicken pox. So inconsiderate.

Will sms u when I go PP when will you be at PP?

nuah

Same 'road' but the building is further down a bit..u sms me if u coming loh..sometimes we work from home one..

sheris,
didnt hear from u for quite some time, how r u? your enen so aggressive ah...bite ppl wan..scary..haha! i hear some kids are like that, push other siblings or bite them etc jus to get attn. my ex boss' gal thot she was not being watched and slapped her bb brother. and she's the type who loves to be the centre of attraction.

darlie,
your gal so cute leh....

hi icy, very long time no hear frm u, how r u & bb? re: flash cards, u can try to browse thru the WTS corner and see if anyone selling off. i like to look thru that corner, managed to buy BN sandals and shoes for my gal for less than $10 each.

dsii,
ya la, didnt hear from u yday, miss u loh. haha!

newmummy,
how old is your gal?

btw, wat do u apply on your bb's skin when they get insect bite? my gal yday got a big mosquito bite on her thigh and it must be very itchy for her as she kept scratching and irritated her when sleeping. so cute to see her scratch. anyway i apply aloe vera gel on her cos i think its so far the safest as after scratching it, she will put her hands into her mouth so cant apply other cream like mopiko.

icy
u can get the cards from most shopping centre. under the brand kids tool. they have some red, white black flashcards

the nuah couple
yeah my boy din have that many rattles. he likes books too

charmer
i apply thursday plantation tea tree oil on insect bites. very effective. this was actually taught to me by a PD when my son had a very bad case of rash. it was triggered by mosquito bites. so she recommended this tea tree oil to me. very effective i find. and the good thing is can use on ourselves also for pimples...

Hi charmer,
I am doing fine with BB, Bb getting older so need more attention.

This is my boy, 12 weeks old now..

1350916.jpg

I am quite confuse abt flash cards, it is just cards with picture and words?? Wondering why some brands are so expensive.

hi icy, for the black/white/red ones, usually pretty cheap cos only a few pieces :)

1350986.jpg

those sold in bookstores tend to be geared for toddlers & preschool, usually $10+ per box. with real-life pictures, sometimes with the corresponding word below. i KS lor, bought A LOT!! and even the GD ones from another mommy, 1 big box, in storeroom now, collecting dust!! buy and keep...

hi sy, yah, saw that, but lazy to collect from the organiser!! want to be delivered to my doorstep. heh heh heh!!!

pinkie, rattlers can play liao loh. at least now got something else to keep him occupied!! quick take them out!!!

darlie
i have this set of cards too!

anyone interested?

from positive babies...i plan to go for the 11th May one.

Join us for a complimentary play session on 1st May and 11th May @ eXplorerkid:
Positive Infants: 2pm - 2.20pm Positive: Babies 2.20pm - 2.40pm
Positive Tots: 2.40pm - 3pm Positive Kids: 3pm - 3.20pm

icy
the ex flash cards wd be those like Glenn Doman ones. u notice the font size is much bigger and it is in red. this is geared towards younger babies.

For those cheaper ones in bookstore, it is for older kids. one thing i learnt from anotehr mummy is that for the chinese ones, try to buy those without the pinyin but really hard to find.

sy, u looking for chinese ones w/o words under the pics ah? hmmm, what age group u looking at? my hubby in china now, can ask him to keep a lookout for u. he bought one whole stack of big flashcards, posters with popped out pics and chinese pic books (like flashcards but bound in wire) for < SGD20 only!

darlie &amp; SY
Thanks for showing me. I will hunt ard for it

SY
I actually sign up for positive infant class at Baby Breeze at Square 2. Already attended 4 classes.. it is very fun for both mummy and babies but then again.. it depends on who is teaching. The relief teacher that we had last monday, made the lesson so theorical and boring.

heee, i went for the open house for MyGym at parkway. the adults were more tired than the babies at the end of the session! thnk will try again when the terrors are older and can walk. now they are crawling all over the place and can't enjoy a lot of the activities... *sigh*

darlie_toothpaste
hihi, didn't go there today. Wah lucky you still can go there after work to shop. hehehe.

Went Charles and Keith Sales in the morning and it was quite pack oredi. When going off around 1130am, the q was up to the gate liao.

Sales quite good boots going for only $25 and shoes range between $9 to $30 but cheaper ones odd sizes only or shd say big sizes. Bags going at $15 to $25.

The crowd was very fierce. They were already standing by the carts when the staff brought in somemore $15 bags. Then the staff starts to open up and put one by one into the carts, the crowd immediately snatch the bags some of them even have like 10 bags in their hands oredi. Wah Phiang.

I just stand there and look at them. My thoughts "Ugly Singaporeans". Sorry but its true when you see it. They even fight for the bags like its for free.