Mummies in Pasir Ris

juxta,
oh yes... not so much..
i kop my hb's pillow which is firmer/higher so seems like betta

but still wake up in the middle of the night, cos before preg i sleep face up so tend to end up in the face-up position, den 13kg weighing on me jerks me up...

charmaine, i had the wrist pain since third trimester... now baby is abt 3 months old and the pain is hurting more...prob due to all the carrying and bathing.Hoepfully it will go away, i massage my hands every nite to ease the pain.

p1nk1e, glad to hear ur bloat is better
pregnant quite hard to have good nite sleep...either wake up to go toilet or wake up due to uncomfortable sleeping position. bear with it...u will see ur 'reward' soon ! jia you...

mbb2, i gog back to work soon, will not be able to check the forum frequently. pls PM me once you get the address or rough location of that hougang medical shop. many thanks in advance

Hi Mom2nat,

Heartiest Congratulations to both you and hubby. Your baby boy looks so adorable : ) I like the smell on baby skin. Mmmm, so nice. Have plenty of rest and leave the hardwork to others. kekeke.

Mummies who experience wrist pain, you may want to read up. Don't worry, it'll eventually go away. Relaxing and stretching of your fingers offer temporary relief. Hope it helps.

http://www.medicinenet.com/carpal_tunnel_syndrome/article.htm

Enjoy seeing so many baby photos. Let me share with you my 3 little ones taken around 4 mths of age.

Happy New Year to all!

1219967.jpg
1219968.jpg

woah, good to know that i'm not the only one who prefer not to shave bb's head.

as for confinement, hb went on leave the 1st week to help me but becos he no experience with tkg care of bb, i helped him. 2nd & 4th week my aunt came frm m'sia to help me then 3rd week my mum took leave to help me. Altho i got the help that i need, i cant say i was able to rest very well lor cos 1st time mum, and when heard bb cry i cant cont to sleep, will wake up to see wats wrong. admittedly, becos of BF problem & lack of sleep, i suffered post natal depression. it got even worst when one period my gal suddenly didnt want to drink milk, kept crying when time to feed her. it was finally over when she was abt 6mths then something made me change her bottle then she started drinking milk again. wah lao, really no joke being a mother!

pinkie,
got to tahan one more month then when bb come out u wont suffer the bloatedness but cant say that u'll get better sleep after that....;)

yami,
i thk we have same problem with our wrists. my wrists did get more painful especially the left hand (cos i'm left handed) after delivery cos of handling bb. my gynae even gave me some kind of gel to apply but it didint work. massage oso didint work. and like i said earlier on, the pain gradually went away, 1st the right hand then the left hand. i'm sure the pain will gradually go away for u too, dun wori.

sincerity,
your babies all very well taken care of leh. allso chubby! so cute! especially the bb in the 2nd pic.

i heard someone asked for table hehe tml then post okie? the file in office comp lah..... i look at all the bb photo i drooling leh

mom2nat
my old gal nw k1 young gal gg 1yr

Hi Charmaine and P1nk1e,

Thanks for the compliments. I FBM my 1st child for 6mths. Hence, loose weight quite fast. My twins were only FBM for the 2 weeks, thereafter, their intake increase, even though I EBM, not enough for them. Every 1.5hr need 300ml, not a cow leh. Have no choice but to supplement with FM. After consulting BFSG (Breast feeding Support Group), was recommend to consume lean meat to increase BM. Tried the green papaya with thread fin fish bones and GNC Fenugreek too. Desperate, right? hahaha.

P1nk1e,
Just to share, it's good to standby a small can of milk power for infant after delivery at home, just in case, BM have not establised yet. Please try to engage the baby direct feed after delivery if you're well. Continue to do so every 3 hours on a regular basis. You're doing Great! Hope you'll have a safe and smooth delivery when you're due.

Hi P1nk1e,

You're up huh. Can try to hum lullaby twinkle twinkle little stars to sleep. So far, I only tried Abbott brand. Similac for infants. You can sign up for member, they will deliver a can to you when child reach 6mth, 1yr etc. My sister tried Wyeth brand. If you're feeding FM, get the small sipper from nurse while you're in hospital. This is not to confuse the infant between nipple and teat.

By the way, you can also borrow the dual electric b.pump from hospital after delivery to start and stimulate the milk glands. It may take from 4days to a week for BM to establish. Once BM arrives, seems like turning on the tap. Hope it helps.

sincerity,
yeah.. hahah me went out for dinner (muz eat more before i deliver mah) so came back late... den "chase" hwanjini end up past midnight still awake.. bet my bb oredi zzz inside liao... kekeke

went to supermarket, so many brands/types... nearly fainted. remember last time we only have dumex and nespray..

my fren say Similac not bad, my mom say if got "spare cash" can feed S26.. think i need to read up a bit on their webby before i decide..

so, we have similac, S26, what other brands should i check out ah?

sipper - what do you mean?

hospital pump - need to pay? i bought my pump liao so stlil dunno if i need to bring it...

Busy spring cleaning, on holiday, shopping or baking huh?

Hi P1nk1e,
Breast milk is the best form of nutrition for your baby. Try to BF for at least 6 mths or longer. We also want the best after BM so after sourcing out the no palm oil added and there's Isomil if the baby is milk intolerance (back up), we choose Similac. You may want to check with other mummies on what other forumula they gave to their babies. There are Enfalac and Dumex with immunofortis that you & hubby wish to consider too.

Sipper, you can get from Medela brand, usually can be bought from baby department, hospital pharmacy. Mine was given by the hospital staff nurse. It's clear and made of plastic with ml markings till 30ml. Advised to go easy on them during the 1st week. Don't worry, your lactation nurse will advise and teach you on how to latch on your baby to your b and various position of cuddling to suit your comfort. That's why must buy sterilisng tablets and a seperate container with cover to sterilise those items that can't be sterilise using steam as they will melt.

Most hospital provide pump, heavy duty type from Medela as well. The nurse will provide you with 2 glass bottles with caps for pumping, of course, it's sterilised too. It's available upon request and free of charge : )

Glad to see that you're determined to BF your baby. You may expressed out your EBM to allow your hubby to feed your baby and he shares and play a fatherly role besides changing nappies, bathing and cuddling. Get ready the camera.

I also chiong and wallop the good stuff during my last trimester, hence my weight gain is on baby/babies. But my intake is small and frequent meals type. Can't digest well and suffer from heartburns.

Beside your delivery bag, you can bring along your cosmectic pouch. Am hiao, right? ok, please include a swaddler to cuddle your precious home.

Yes. The one the hospital provide doesn't have any contours but have ml markings. Slightly different in design but serve the same purpose.

I only put on make only when my gynae was carrying our baby in his arms to snap pics. For memory sake. Yeah don't want to look ugly in the pic lor. kekeke.

sincerity,
ic.. hmm... but this one from medela says "disposable" - means need to stock up ah..
u were saying, can get from hospital?

den save $$ :p

oh btw, what u mean take pic with gynae? he'll prob come on 2nd day? ok, den make sense - have "energy" to makeup and take pic :p

sincerity,
i read in a magazine that interviewed the lactation consultant, Sister Kang at Mt Alvernia. She was suggesting to not be tempted to supplement FM as bb will be filled up as FM is heavier and also bb will be used to the fast & easy flow of the milk bottle teat. The advice was to keep trying to latch bb on every 3hrs and that if u dun feed bb FM then bb will be hungrier and will suckle harder on the breast thus stimulating the breasts even more. My mistake was to feed my gal FM on the 1st nite after delivery as my gal was crying when she suckled and cudnt get much of the colostrum so i felt pity for her that i told the nurse to give her FM when she asked me if want to feed FM. I shd hv tahan lor but being a mum for the 1st time i didnt want my bb to go hungry even tho i know that fact that newborn babies can go w/o milk 3days as they have the reserves in their bodies. Another problem was that arms were too tired from holding back my legs during delivery that i cudnt BF my gal immediately after delivery. Too bad for me i only BF my gal for 1.5mths including supplement FM as my supply was somehow very low. Guess i'll re-learn to BF should I have bb no.2.

So Pinkie, if your arms not so tired like mine after delivery then i strongly suggest u let your bb suckle at your breast immediately after birth as bbs have very strong instinct to suckle right after birth. It's amazing when i watched a video during antenatal class on how a newborn bb could search for its mother's breast w/o the mother having to put it directly at her breasts!

my pic was taken in the delivery room once my gynae finished stitching me up. can u believe that? i had to force out a smile despite looking all sweaty and tired.

charmaine,
ic - hmm... so no nid to standby FM afterall :p
anyway, i'm trying to find samples, just in case

erm... take pic straight after? wah *faint*

ya lor, take pic straightaway. my hb lor, so kan cheong. anyway good also lah cos my hb was not around on 2nd day when gynae came to check on the stitching.

yeah, for my case i didnt buy any FM b4 birth cos i was so pro BF but becos i sim tia so i told nurse to feed FM in hosp on 1st & 2nd day wor. The nurse fed my gal those ready made milk that comes in glass bottles and so my gal started on enfalac. So when i came back frm hosp i told hb to buy a tin of enfalac for standby. In fact hosp gave me 1 bottle of that ready made milk for standby too. Just to let u know that its not true that the no palm oil in similac renders bb's stools to be soft. My gal had constipation when i let her try similac. And just to let u know that milk samples are for 6mths & above cos the gov encourages BF. Looks like u have to decide whc brand and buy a small tin for newborn bbs for standby.

charmaine... ur scenario is exactly the same as mine. also told myself to try harder at BF for number 2.

p1nk1e, i told a photo straight after delivery too...think they were still stitching me up. they just place baby on my chest and my hubby snapped a pic.

Hi Charmaine,

Agree with you on your reluctance but heartache to see and hear the infant crying. Furthermore, it's newborn with family gathering around, added pressure, give in to FM.

That's why I encourage P1nk1e to try to stimulate her milk glands by borrowing the breast pump from hospital. She can always try to introduce a 2nd let down of b.milk by introducing the infant to her breast. To avoid nipple/teats confusion, they improvise sipper. Therefore, the best person suitable for the job would be the lactation nurse : )

P1nk1e,
By all means, you can read up on various FM and suggestion from family/friends, then both you and hubby must decide which is best and suitable for your child. I'm sharing with you my personal experience and hope it helps. Here's a link that you might consider reading,
http://www.babycenter.com/400_whats-the-normal-color-of-a-breastfed-babys-bowel-movement_505546_1000.bc
Oh yes, babies fed on all FM, their stools tends to be firmer as in form pastry. As for those who are breast fed, it comes in colours from green to mustard colours and soft and seedy. I only gave my children water to gush down after feeding with FM. Yup. Abbott only provides samples from 6mth onwards so does other FM companies as they strongly encourage mum to feed the best milk in the world = Breast milk. Enough said, don't give yourself too much stress on BF, it will comes naturally and do enjoy the special bonding with your child. You can always check out at enquiries.http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/help-corner.html

Memory,
If your hubby is gungho, can let gynae know inadvance your birth plan, he's allowed to be with you during delivery, with surgical gown and gloves, he can have the honour to snip the umbilical cord after it stops pulsating and clip at both ends. That will give him lasting memories too. Don'r worry, both you and baby won't feel pain at all during snipping and the blood will not splash in all corners. Infact, your gynae will collect some blood from the umblilical cord for investigation and cord blood banking purposes.

Placenta,
The nurse will ask you if you need the placenta. Please request them to check and confirm placenta is intact and ok and let them discard away. There are ppl with diff request, some took back to offer religious prayers cos we're a multi racial country, mah.

Charmaine,

Aren't we glad that the delivery is over? Hmmm, can i ask why do you have to hold your legs during delivery? Thot the stir-ups are there to support both your legs, or maybe your delivery postition is different. I've a gf who delivers sideways position.

My sis couldn't bf her baby as she's in pain after c-sect. She couldn't sit upright for long period and like darlie, waddles her way to the toilet with her hubby assistance. Let alone, BF the baby. Don't feel bad about it all. The mummy needs rest and recuperation in order to take good care of the baby. Hope you're successful in BF your 2nd child and please BF for at least 6mths or longer to benefit your baby and build up the immunity he/she needs. : )

By the way, both her children are on FBM for 1st 3 mths and Partial BM till 18mths. Pei fu her for her endurance.

sincerity,
yeah, i'm glad the delivery is over. Admittedly i feel it's easier to be pregnant than having a baby around. haha! As for holding my legs, there are stir-ups and my legs were rested on them during labour but closer to the time when my gal was going to come out, the nurse told me to hold back the back of my knees to make it feel as tho i'm squatting so that it's easier to push. So yeah, next time i must strengthen my arms...haha...so that i can hold & BF the next child right after delivery. Of course i hope to BF as long as possible cos its so beneficial in so many ways especially save so much $$.

erm... talking abt nappies...
do i need to standby nappies?
i have a cL so intending to use cloth nappies for the 1st mth at least...

Hi P1nk1e,

Just came back....okie. do check up healthy placenta under search and it'll offer explanation and pictures (not for the weak heart) to view. Basically, making sure it's alright will determine the health of the baby and your next pregnancy. Intact as it's expel out from your body. I don't want to go through operation to scrape it out, hor!

Infant can use up to 10 nappies per day. You can come up with a easy task list of chores she's supposed to do. My main priority is taking care of the infant and prepare meals for me. And I use disposable to avoid nappy rash. So...dear, you'll need 2 dozens for standby if you're using cloth nappies and multiply by 1 mth for newborn size disposable diapers. Some baby jump to S size mid way. : )

sincerity,
hmm... my mom say cos dunno bb's butt big or small so dun buy first wor...
after discharged liao den she help me buy

ok, me go research on placenta... will the gynae advise on this?

haha, pinkie,
your mum sounds funny, said about duno if bb's butt big or small.
frankly, i didnt buy NB size cos like wat sincerity said bb's diaper size may be S size midway so no point really in buying NB size, better to buy S size straightaway. Actually pureen brand is not bad to me cos its material is very soft. Absorb ability may not be as long as other leading brands but for daytime use its actually not bad. Anyway, not sure if the hospital u are going to give birth at may give a pack of diapers as part of the goodie bag? I gave birth at Mt Alvernia & they gave a small pack of pampers NB size together with some other stuff so i used that 1st then used S size after that for my gal.

As for cloth nappy that your CL is intending to use, tell her u prefer to use disposable lor. If she still insists & u dun wanna argue with her then i guess let her use lor. I have quite a lot left, u want?

pinkie,
better let u know that the cloth nappies are used ones but already washed, they are actually hand-me-downs from frens, so in a way they are "3rd-hand". u let me know if u wan.

P1nk1e,

hahaha. I'd recommend Mamy Poko Diaper cos it comes with a nice cutting exposing the clipped umbilical cord. Beside Pampers, Mamy Poko rank 2nd followed by Nepia. : p

Packet of Diaper,
The hospital do provide diaper at the base of the baby plastic cradle (trolley like) Please remember to remove all diapers/wipes as it'll be billed into the final hospital bill.

If you're using cloth nappy, do consider to place 1 pc of nappy liner on each nappy before use. This is to allow easier cleansing later on should your baby poos in it.

pinkie,
n i recommend A-B-D (i think its this brand lah) washing powder... it totally removes any stains on any clothing... even if its the poo of TBF bbs...

charmaine/sincerity,
acherli, it's my preference to use cloth nappies...
my cousin was telling me cloth is airier and helps reduce nappy rash...
and she passed me a pack of a dozen hand-me-downs

me at mt e, i think they dun give anything so i've already tried to buy everything i could...
my fren who delivered at mt e was even telling me to bring everything (even maternity pads) cos they'll charge everything i use to the hospital bill.

oh yes, and i bought 2 boxes of nappy liners liao...hahaha... kiasu mommy
i heard first few days poo poo is blackish and will stain the cloth nappies so i'll prob use the nappies that's left over from hosp...

anything else i need to take note?

was watching the tyra banks show on BF - one of the lady interviewed commented that BF is like having your tits in the food processor... yucks!

pinkie

juz to warm u first me gave up on cloth nappies within the first week coz one day 24 nappies.... no plc to dry the nappies n diapers more convenient.... as for nappy rush is really up to how u use the diapers.... n plus my kids all golden butt... use pampers.... n really burn holes in pocket... coz if peepee onli up to 2-3 pee i throw is poo is immediately throw..... i use the diapers quite fast also.... till my mum shake head.... no choice pd fee more ex leh n plus heartache if butt butt all red n pain n the little ones cry n cry...heeheee

sheris,
my concern also... so maybe after CL comes, den see if she can handle bah...
hehehe, bb's butt also will choose diaper brand one ah? what happens when u used cheaper brands?

Sheris,

Hi 5, all my children got golden butt too! I spend few hundred dollars of pampers alone for both of them till I switch to Mamy Poko.

Hmmm, my boy experienced quite serious infection around his gential areas when i try to introduce cheaper brand. The Pd assured me that basically there's not much difference in various diaper. If cheaper diaper, you need to change more often cos the absorbency is not as good as the better = exp ones. Agree with Sheris, I learnt my lesson well, would rather invest in mid range diaper then cheaper ones from then onwards. My living room was occupied and can see colourful flags (laundry) hanging around with my twins. hahaha.

pinkie,
wat sheris probably meant was that her kids' butt sensitive to cheaper brands. My fren's gal oso like that, they tried to save $$ & bght cheaper brands but her bb's skin sensitive, got rash. It all depends on the bb's skin sensitivity lor. Like my gal can use any brand so lucky for me i can save some $$ by buying cheaper brands. Even the diaper for nite use is petpet brand.

sincerity & charmaine,
ic! Hmm... hope my bb's butt can tahan cheap cheap brands, help mommy save $$.. kekeke

btw, i signed up for free samples on dumex webby..
they called me up and told me they can't gimme samples for 0-6mths - is this the "govt is pro-BF" thingie you guys were telling me abt?
i find it quite dumb lah...

pinkie,
re the FM thingy... i suggest u see wat the hospital give to the bbs... then use back the same lor... previously i was not able to bf my boy immediately cos i got a c-sect mah... so the nurse got feed him FM... they feed him NAN so after dat i continue to give him NAN lor... tried to switch to Similac cos i think cheaper... but think he used to NAN liao drink liao Similac become very cranky and got constipation... so not only bbs "choose" the diapers they use, they oso "choose" the FM they drink wor... juz my 2 cents...

pinkie,
its another FM by Nestle... i suggest u take a walk to any supermarket when u can... heard dat NAN has a taste closest to BM... but one thing is it has alot of butter fats so its very oily compared to other FM... but like i said, its up to ur bb which FM is suitable...

zion,
ic ic...thanks!
so many brands of FM, me pingsan already...
it's really a "skill" to be a mommy... kekeke

pinkie,
take it easy... i used to be like u oso... everything oso blur... wasnt even prepared for the little one's arrival... when he arrived then i realised there was so much to do... till now then i got the hang of it... but still lots to learn... very soon all the supermarkets will be ur "shopping centres"... hee...

zion,
hee... guess we all have to go thru it once

now i'm juz busy talking to bb everyday - ask him to wait till after CNY :p
everything else, i take it one at a time

i totally agree with zion! supermarkets are like shopping ctrs to us now. Every week is a must see location. I dun recall going there ever so often b4. 1st time mothers are really not easy, no matter how prepared you think you are already, there's always something new coming up. Really have to take it easy and go with the flow.

I also wanted to exclusively breastfeed my boy, so for the 1st and 2nd of his life, he was literally starved but the lactation specialist told us they're good for 4 days w/o milk. Cried the house down and everyone so heartpain, finally subcumb to FM (Similac) until BM came in.

Is impt to keep pumping or latching on even if nothing comes out. Cos the 1st milk (colostrum) sticky yellowish stuff supposed to be the best and also will keep your flow coming.