Mummies in Pasir Ris

i oso agree with zion & juxta. indeed now i frequent supermarkets & kiddy palace, always on the look out for offer on Fm & diapers. It is sooo true wat juxta said, u are never really prepared no matter how prepared you are. I know thru experience as i thot i can deal with certain situations but couldnt. However with family & fren's support i managed to pull thru the most difficult times. So pinkie, if u have any problems do keep in touch with us.

RE: colostrum
it is filled with antibodies that helps to protect bb from infection so like wat juxta said, let bb suckle every now & then to get the colostrum cos the 1st 3-4days only the colostrum will flow out, then the transition milk after the next few days then the breastmilk. Be prepared to encounter engorgement & sore nipple which can be very painful. Do u intend to have a massage lady to massage u during confinement? If so she can help u to relieve engorgement & teach u how to massage your breasts. I remember when i had engorgement, the massage lady was a godsend, she taught me how to handle the problem so if u want her contact u let me know.

charmaine,
yeah, i've already booked my massage lady (malay)

think she only do 1hr so dunno got help me with engorgement or not...

ya, be prepared for the engorgement pain, is REALLY VERY agonising. My flow came in 3rd day, and so unlucky my pump broke(1 of those many unforeseen circumstances). i had to wait whole day until my hubby brings me a new one. I tried to massage myself, hurts so badly. By the time hb is back, i hardly can move. My boy doesnt know how to latch on and has a tongue thrusting motion plus I've a short nipple. So ended up I expressed for him for 18 months.

Was initially very frustrated, you've gone thru all the prep and blah blah but still he cant latch on. And I've aunties visiting giving their 2 cents worth. Really I just wanted to be left alone and rest, so darn tired and with the engorgement, i think i was also rather depressed.

Come to think about it now, i seriously dunno how i did it. I was expressing every 2-3 hrs and would wake up at 3am and 6am to express so he can have milk for next feed as doc says if bb doesnt suckle and i dun pump enough, supply will drop. Maternal instinct is wonderful right!

pinkie,
the massage lady i had massaged for more than 1hr & she is really really good. So do let me know if u want her contact.

juxta,
my hat off to u for expressing every 3hrs & until 18months!! for me, i was too tired to let my gal latch on at nite cos i know she's not latching on properly after 1hr so give her FM. She doesnt open her mouth big enof and so she was nipplefeeding instd breastfeeding & like u, i had a short nipple so ended up had very sore nipples. I didnt have relatives giving me "advices" but i got depressed becos of the lack of sleep and BF problems & the reality of having to care for another helpless human being permanently was so daunting .

oh ya pinkie,
if u have engorgement, the massage lady should massage your breasts to relieve it if not then she's not doing a good job. And if she does, be prepared for the pain but once u expressed your BM after the massage u'll feel so much better.

yo mommies! am baaaaack from my shopping spree! alas, nothing much to buy this time, everything looks the same after the second shopping centre.
have been catching up on this thread while 'opening' up the house after 5 days of 'shut-down' time. am doing household chores in the middle of the night now. will slowly read thru the posts again in the morning when i'm not in a daze..... hiak hiak hiak

Good Morning! Mummies,

Darlie,

Welcome back! You sounded soo charged of energy. Essence of love? kekeke. Do let me know when i can dingdong at your door. Thank you.

P1nk1e,

You can design a door sign. And hang outside the knob, 'Breastfeeding in process and in Chinese characters too.' In this way, visitors and CL will not come knocking/barging at your room door. Absolute privacy. Entrance by permission/request only. : p

sincerity, heh heh, yah, this shopping biz is really back-breaking! after 2 days of chatuchak chionging, my feet were aching and back almost gave way.

hmmm, BF ah? i was so miserable in the hospital cos the milk din come in and there wasn't engorgement. but the nurses kept asking me to try pumping. my boy was on FM since i couldn't BF the 1st day becos of the c-sect and i guess he liked FM too much and din want to suckle and wait for the BM to come in. hungry little fellow lah....

so every 3 hours, the nurse will carry him in and ask me to BF him, no milk then keep trying and trying. middle of night also come in to my room and they sound so cheerful at 2am calling out "feeding time, mummy" when i was feeling like a zombie. wah, almost wanted to kill them every 3 hours cos it was torture time!

sincerity,
good idea! i already have a DND doorknob sign so can use that... dun think i'll expect visitors tho, cos during confinement won't put makeup..hahaha

darlie,
you're bacccccckkkkkkkkk!
so shiok, i miss shopping *sob*sob*
update us on your harvest soon lah

Hi Darlie,

So envy on your shopping spree. Take it as toning your legs muscles lah. kekeke. Bet A & C miss you and hubby v.v much or is it the other way around?...

Have you submitted your order on jshopper? Will tag along if it's still open. I'll email you on the feedback of qnoo diaper...

welcome back darlie. Must be nice to travel alone with hb & w/o the twins ah......which reminds me....i missed travelling!!! Let alone shopping....sigh...

Darlie,
shopping spree huh???
so envy.....

Pinkie,
you can actually tell the hospital wat FM you like to feed your bb (should you need to feed FM while still in hospital).

every hospital will have a specific brand but upon request, your prefered choice of brand is allowed.

did i hear shopping!??! i also so in need of holiday. darlie, did u go platinum mall? is like chatuchak but with air conditioning.

yah pinkie, DND sign very impt cos got many that will just stormed in wanting to look at the baby regardless of what you doing. And you'd feel so awkward adding to your stress.

The massage lady will help relieve the engorgement, really she's godsend and is quite funny when she massages your womb, milk will start to flow. hahah. Make sure your milk ducts not blocked, my gf had to go A&E cos of that. Can be real serious.

charmaine, i only pumped that often during first 2-3 months. after supply came in and enough for him, i just did about 4-5 times a day

Oh motherhood does bad things to your memory. I left 2 bolsters in the taxi boot yesterday!! so duh!

har har har! yah, the short trip was a nice break from the babies and all mundane things at home. hubby missed them terribly though.

BKK not as attractive as before liao, everything getting more ex and a lot of the cheap cheap tees, shoes, bags are now no longer available. i went round and round platinum mall, suan lum night bazaar and chatuchak but couldn't find any good buys; the clothes all so tiny, can't fit lah! ended up buying lots of baby clothes and NA hello kitty/pooh items. now the shopping centres have sales so anyone planning to make a trip there to chiong?

sincerity,
will order from jshopper tmr. u email me your interested items lah. but the links dun really work becos of the time-out session contraint. mabe easier if u gave me the item codes, sizes, and colors.

juz to share - anyone hooked on the korean period drama hwanjini?
i'm superhooked and this weekend last episode!!

sad to hear that BKK not a shopping paradise like b4. I only went there once but unfortunately i didn't go to chatuchak.

heh heh pinkie, am watching only the weekday series coffee prince. tonight last episode, AIYAH! i missed out 3 nights' worth while away, so depressing.... so tonight die die also must catch it.

charmaine, yah, was quite disappointing leh. remember chatuchak used to have 3 for THB100 tees that are good for home wear, now 1 pc of the most ugly tee aready going for THB100 minimum. my mum always make me buy tees for her so have to sniff out bargains. free size still can get cheap ones at THB100. M or L go up to THB200... wah piang. so no choice also must buy, else how?

erm... i'm nutz abt blue eyeliner these days!
any suggestion on whether i shud get liquid or pencil? intend to use it on its own w/o eyeshadow...

pinkie
Pencil easier to draw to me. but liquid stronger colour.
You have to standby diapers though you using nappies, cos maybe bring baby for check up. I have a CL too, but wont use nappies. Too troublesome and I dun see the point to make the person wash and wash the nappies. Heee... Nappies not cheap oso hor. You wan to make it worth it, gotta use for long time.

mom2nat,
u r back in action again!

liquid i scared too harsh like ghost :p

maybe i get diapers too bah...juz in case

thanks pinkie, will check it out! i really like this series, even my DW also watches it when she's free after the babies are snoozing. very farni watching the 2 main characters liking each other. hiak hiak hiak.....

disposal diapers sure must buy as stand-by. hospitals usually give u the balance of the pack that your baby has been using or maybe samples only. think can get NB pack first to tong for days when u are lazy to do any washing!

my son loves to cry when wet so no one has any peace cos he was shishi-ing every hour in his cloth nappies. so we fed up, put him in diapers!

hmmm... our PR marketplace thread is lost liao. buay lak ku. think we'll just join the East Mum's thread for swopping instead.

darlie,
woah hahaha....so funny about your comments on wat is crunchyroll....something to eat for breakfast... :D i oso duno wat is that...another suaku.

pinkie,
i find pencil easier to draw cos i'm not good at using liquid. Abt diapers, c so many of us encourage to buy some diapers for standby.
I only use cloth nappy after cleaning my gal's bottom then bring her go for her bath, dun want her to wet my pants when i wash her head b4 putting her into the tub.

hee i mia for a few days already so many post this thread getting active xiaz.....

here comes the table again n plz let me know wat update i missed... lazy to read back the thread thk thk....

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Location </TD><TD>ftwm/sahm</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Age </TD></TR><TR><TD>gerrykhoo/ darile</TD><TD>st 12</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>b/g twin</TD><TD>8m,8m </TD></TR><TR><TD>juxta</TD><TD>dr 1</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>boy </TD><TD>3yr </TD></TR><TR><TD>lbs</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal</TD><TD>3yr, 4m </TD></TR><TR><TD>mom2nat</TD><TD>dr 4</TD><TD></TD><TD>gal,boi</TD><TD>edd 12 jan 08 </TD></TR><TR><TD>p1nk1e</TD><TD>dr 4</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi</TD><TD>edd 22 feb 08 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pii pii</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal , boi</TD><TD>4yr,8m </TD></TR><TR><TD>sheris</TD><TD>elias road</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal,boi,gal </TD><TD>k2,k1, 30m, 11m </TD></TR><TR><TD>sincerity</TD><TD>st11</TD><TD></TD><TD>?, gal/gal twin</TD><TD>6yr, 3yr,3yr </TD></TR><TR><TD>xWpInGxW/zion</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi </TD><TD>13m </TD></TR><TR><TD>yami</TD><TD>st 72</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>gal </TD><TD>2m </TD></TR><TR><TD>bcmummy</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>charmaine</TD><TD>dr 3 </TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>Flora Road</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>b/b twins</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elitemom</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>emoments</TD><TD>near west plaza</TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fluffy</TD><TD>st 72</TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>magd</TD><TD>st 21</TD><TD>ftwm </TD><TD>boi,gal,boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mashimaru08</TD><TD>dr 3 </TD><TD></TD><TD>boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>dr 4 </TD><TD>partial sahm</TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mom of 2 angels</TD><TD>dr 6</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>muaw muaw</TD><TD>dr 1 </TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>gal </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rach </TD><TD>pie pr?</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>boi,?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>taitai</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

darlie
whr the thread for east mummies swapping em got lots of bb items to sell swop or give.....
1. maternity wears
2. medela electric plus bought for a yr ( with 6 bm containers)
3. sarong stands x2
4. safety gate ( brand new ) not opened
5. bouncer
6. avent steriliser ( old model)
7. nursing cover/ shawl
8. toys??? still thinking about it

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Location </TD><TD>ftwm/sahm</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Age </TD></TR><TR><TD>gerrykhoo/ darile</TD><TD>st 12</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>b/g twin</TD><TD>8m,8m </TD></TR><TR><TD>juxta</TD><TD>dr 1</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>boy </TD><TD>3yr </TD></TR><TR><TD>lbs</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal</TD><TD>3yr, 4m </TD></TR><TR><TD>mom2nat</TD><TD>dr 4</TD><TD></TD><TD>gal,boi</TD><TD>3yr, 2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>p1nk1e</TD><TD>dr 4</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi</TD><TD>edd 22 feb 08 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pii pii</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal , boi</TD><TD>4yr,8m </TD></TR><TR><TD>sheris</TD><TD>elias road</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal,boi,gal </TD><TD>k2,k1, 30m, 11m </TD></TR><TR><TD>sincerity</TD><TD>st11</TD><TD></TD><TD>?, gal/gal twin</TD><TD>6yr, 3yr,3yr </TD></TR><TR><TD>xWpInGxW/zion</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi </TD><TD>13m </TD></TR><TR><TD>yami</TD><TD>st 72</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>gal </TD><TD>2m </TD></TR><TR><TD>bcmummy</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>charmaine</TD><TD>dr 3 </TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>gal</TD><TD>10m </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>Flora Road</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>b/b twins</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elitemom</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>emoments</TD><TD>near west plaza</TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fluffy</TD><TD>st 72</TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>magd</TD><TD>st 21</TD><TD>ftwm </TD><TD>boi,gal,boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mashimaru08</TD><TD>dr 3 </TD><TD></TD><TD>boi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>dr 4 </TD><TD>partial sahm</TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mom of 2 angels</TD><TD>dr 6</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>muaw muaw</TD><TD>dr 1 </TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>gal </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rach </TD><TD>pie pr?</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>boi,?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>taitai</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi mummies plz check the year born if is correct.... a lot bornon 2005 maybe next time all classmates/ school mates hehe

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Location </TD><TD>ftwm/sahm</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Year born </TD></TR><TR><TD>gerrykhoo/ darile</TD><TD>st 12</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>b/g twin</TD><TD>8m,8m</TD><TD>2007, 2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>juxta</TD><TD>dr 1</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>boy </TD><TD>3yr </TD><TD>2005 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lbs</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal</TD><TD>3yr, 4m</TD><TD>2005, 2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mom2nat</TD><TD>dr 4</TD><TD></TD><TD>gal,boi</TD><TD>3yr, 2wks</TD><TD>2005, 2008 </TD></TR><TR><TD>p1nk1e</TD><TD>dr 4</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi</TD><TD>edd 22 feb 08</TD><TD>2008 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pii pii</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal , boi</TD><TD>4yr,8m</TD><TD>2004, 2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>sheris</TD><TD>elias road</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal,boi,gal </TD><TD>k2,k1, 30m, 11m</TD><TD>2002, 2003, 2005, 2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>sincerity</TD><TD>st11</TD><TD></TD><TD>boi, gal/gal twin</TD><TD>6yr, 3yr,3yr</TD><TD>2002, 2005,2005 </TD></TR><TR><TD>xWpInGxW/zion</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi </TD><TD>13m</TD><TD>2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>yami</TD><TD>st 72</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>gal </TD><TD>2m</TD><TD>2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bcmummy</TD><TD>st 11</TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,boi</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>charmaine</TD><TD>dr 3 </TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>gal</TD><TD>10m</TD><TD>2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>Flora Road</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>b/b twins</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elitemom</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>emoments</TD><TD>near west plaza</TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,boi</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fluffy</TD><TD>st 72</TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>magd</TD><TD>st 21</TD><TD>ftwm </TD><TD>boi,gal,boi</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mashimaru08</TD><TD>dr 3 </TD><TD></TD><TD>boi</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>dr 4 </TD><TD>partial sahm</TD><TD>gal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mom of 2 angels</TD><TD>dr 6</TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>boi,gal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>muaw muaw</TD><TD>dr 1 </TD><TD>ftwm</TD><TD>gal </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rach </TD><TD>pie pr?</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>boi,?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>taitai</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>boi,?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>gal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

thks darile

wow...really lotsa 2005 bbs!
so which primary school you guys planning to send your kids to? or still haven't tot of it yet?

hi mommies, want to check. anyone using flashcards on your darlings? which ones are better and where can i buy them? dun think i want to spend too much on 1 set, maybe just to test the waters first. as it is, my gal can't even be still for a second, can't imagine how to flash the cards at her! at least the boy still can keep still for a while to flip thru a simple book.

Darlie,

I've bought a set from DaYi comes in chinese characters singular and forms, words and dots sequence. If you want, I can pass to you those with colourful pictures that I've bought from Popular for you to trial first.

You also can surf for free download at singapore parenting. If you have time, print and paste. Can buy those white cards at popular or join those bp printing. Some were saved in powerpoint. Can flip to your twins when they are in the mood.

Here's one that I've came across, haven't tried yet. Hope it helps.

http://www.montanaplaza.com/rightbraineducation/Home/pages/rightbrainproducts.htm

thanks sincerity! oh yah, shd have tot of doing up my own but no time! heh heh heh.... now i have a valid reason to work OT liao.... only if my boss is not looking over my shoulder!

darlie,
sometimes there is a bookstand selling children's books &amp; flashcards at elias mall. there are those with pics to intro them to various objects, alphabets, numbers etc. i bght 1 pack but i cant remember how much, maybe around $3+. If u want i can look out for u &amp; buy for u.

har har pinkie, so can enjoy CNY first, worry later!
and eat as much goodies as u can! hiak hiak hiak

my aunt who stays at marine parade bot for me packs of confinement red dates tea. other than red dates, there're some other herbs included. u planning on taking this drink as well? supposed to be better than normal red dates tea leh. and if you need to buy green papayas, MP market also sells them - the ones sold in PR not so nice.

oic!
i watched a tv prog and got a "recipe" for red date tea:-

红枣
黑枣
党参
杜仲
龙眼

Is this the one?

ah dui, no idea leh, the sinseh at the med hall will pack each portion accordingly. my CL just brew and I drink so haven't seen what's inside! heh heh heh.... but heaty lor, so i took only 1 pack per day. plus i had to drink the ginseng soup with pork twice a day, lagi worse. i broke out in zits almost at the end of my confinement cos too heaty liao (i was horrified cos sooo many pimples leh!). totally no water intake, all the 'por' soups and tonics for 1 month can kill you!

darlie,
haha... ya, very heaty... but lucky u, only have zits... i have nose bleed 4x in the mth after confinement!!! some more like open tap... can drip on the floor some more... i almost fainted upon the sight... so scary... drip all the way to the bathroom... once my nose bleed while i was having a shower... finish showering liao then stop bleeding ar... told my hb i got to take in more iron in case i loss too much blood... hee...

wah, zion, u that heaty ah!!! i was quite depressed abt the zits cos we had so many visitors for the 1st month celebration and of course i aiswee lor, want to look my best!

aiyah, the DMK receipt hor, i gave away to another mommy who posted earlier than u.