Mummies in Australia?

mngo, i really like your comment:-
"There is no good schools here.... there are only good students that make good results!!"

i'm planning to move there so my child can go to school in Aust.
hoping that all the "kiasu" parents frm s'pore don't bring their "kiasu-ness" to laid-back Aust...

just my opinion, don't mean to offend anyone...

athlete
haha - it's true lor.
Just look at our singapore RI and RGS. The reason why the school produces good results is because of the students.

Just sharing with you... a lot of kiasu parents came to Perth and they actually brought their kiasu-ness with them!

Thats the reason why i enrolled my boy in a school that 's full of aussies.

Actually, dont think only sg parents kiasu. From my exp in mel, 8P sg parents consider mild. They know they go aussie to slow down. But alot of the kids from china and hongkong. They have a tougher time. At enrichment schools, their parents sign them up for chinese and maths, levels 1 or 2 levels above their current level. And even the teacher say do X amount of page, their parents ask them to do extra! They have swimming lessons, music levels (at age of 8, they are like at least grade 3 to 5). They are very driven to succeed. If you talk to their parents, they say compared to china, this is very relaxed already.

So if you are going to stay at places with alot of asians, or public schools with lots of asian. This is one reason why the public school naplan results are so good. It may not the result of the school education. 8P. And this is one of the reason why alot of schools top students are asian.

Yup, you can install a satellite dish to receive those channels.. But I am not sure if you can install it in a rented house if you are renting right now. And some of the channels are not very clear.. the colours are a bit off, very oldish looking. But at least you get to watch Chinese programs.

hidora
yes, heard abt the satellite dish too but may not be possible if the landlord doesn't like the idea. which cable is good for hollywood movies etc? hmm looks like a safer bet would be dvds, downloading from online etc hahah

glad to find this thread! hubby is going over to australia either in perth or canberra to take his phd and we're probably moving over during his studies as a family. so i'm trying to find out more.

Anyone has experience with student visas and their families who go to stay with them? we won't be able to apply for PR until he graduates though.

Also, what are the pre-school enrolments and fees like? my girl is 3yrs old this year and i'm wondering on whether to put her in pre-school while we are there. then again, we're not sure if finances permit.

skye,

Of course you can come over. Not a problem. ON tourist visa.

As for your kid to study here as a non-pr.... I am not sure if that's possible.

You can always try calling up a school and ask... Here, let me save you the trouble, you can call up my son's school. +61 08 9456 1144 Caladenia Primary School.

In case you are wondering why did I give you a primary school number when your girl is only 3.. Kindy here starts at 3+ of age.

This is a state school. So if this school doesn't allow, then it will be the same for all the other state schools.

You can always go private if you are rich. One semester cost around $10k - $20k. Then again, everyone wants to get inside private school, so you won't be on the priority just because you are willing to pay because everyone else is willing to pay for their kids too.

p/s: If the govt allows the entire family to come over with student visa, then AU will be filled with non migrants. So no, it's not possible. But of course if you are damn rich, that's another issue. Things like medical bill is a bomb for non PR/ citizens.

I strongly suggest your family applied for PR first, then come over here to study when the PR is approved.

Kids of parents on student visa, have to pay foreigner rates for the kid even in public schools. That means,you need to pay AUD 8 K for public schools. But it may still be cheaper to go public than private.

It is ideal that the family to stay together. But you have to be prepared that medical and schooling is going to be expensive.

hi skye,
i used to study in aust, and one of the condition of having s student visa is compulsory medical insurance. and i think there was one policy that covers the visa holder's dependents ie family.

like previously mentioned, medical treatment in v expensive in Aust if you're not PR or citizen, that's why insurance is a must.

in any case, do check out the link re student visa that was posted above.
the australian immigration website is very informative.

here's also a link about health insurance for overseas students.
http://www.medibank.com.au/Client/StaticPages/OSHCHome.aspx

hi mums,

thanks you very much for the valuable info, they are very useful

hidora,
ok to share how the fees are like for yr son's schools?
i don't think we can apply for PR for now...as one of the scholarships that hubby is applying requires that he cannot have PR or stayed in AU for a certain period of time. meanwhile we're just praying we can get some form of scholarship to ease the financial burden.

hopeac,
seems like 8K isn't really cheap! phews...worse come to worst i'll consider homeschooling, esp since my girl's still young.

skye,

If your child is PR, schooling in public school is free. Private school is not any cheaper, but at least in public school, you only have to pay a sum of like $60 a yr as voluntary contribution.

Also, if your child is PR, medical bill is free for her up till the age of 16.

<font color="aa00aa">hihi mummies,
i introduced to this thread by hentang.

my hubby is planning to migrate to melbourne.
i had one million and one doubts of migrating as i feel so attached to my family and close frens here in sg.
i'm not sure if i can cope without any family support in a foreign land.
when i read thru the migrating to melbourne website its even mind boggling..sighh</font>

hi Lynzi,
If you cannot cope without family or maid support, and you are not able to be comfortable by yourself. And supposedly long periods of no one to talk to. You should not even consider migration.

Things now in melbourne are relatively expensive. Schooling is definitely more expensive than perth. State school is free, catholic is 2 K a year, christian schools average 5 K, private up to 20 K. It has highest immigration rate compared to all the other states, so housing is also booming. And is very expensive. Jobs though is created, but immigration is increasing faster. So for every job created, there is 5.2 person going for the same job. For perth, it is 2.5. You can find more about this in news.

Singapore population in Melbourne is actually quite small compared to malaysians. However, there are 2 or 3 places specialising in SG food. But all the asian condiments etc are ready available. So if you can cook, you should not be a problem.

You will get used to the extreme hot weathers in summer in Melbourne, the possiblely 20 degrees difference in temperature between day and night. But I love the weather, you know that it is not forever hot. 8P.

You will make friends, get closer to people. Find your own space. Join a church or organisation, it will help with friends and give you support. THis is very important. People who you can talk to. This is what keeps you sane, and understand what you go through. Friends who help you babysit in emergencies, friends who become your children pick up contact. But you will need to be emotionally strong, be used to the uncertainities of life. If you cannot adapt physically or emotionally, it is really better to stay put in singapore.

Migration is NOT for everyone and the faint hearted. There is a high financial cost, opportunity cost, you need to adaptable and emotionally/mentally strong. Things does not turn out the way you want it to turn out.

If you need to talk, hentang has my msn

Hi Lynzi
I agree with Hoepac on this... if you have a strong support base in Singapore, you will probably find it difficult to adapt when you move (initially).

If and when you do make the move, it is important to try and meet new people -- through church groups, organisations, hobby groups... people you meet become your support base in a new country... More importantly, remember that your immediate family (your husband) - becomes your confidant. Both of you will need to lean on each other for support.

Talk things through with your husband about what you have found out migration and discuss how both of you will work things out when you migrate. Is he set on moving to Melbourne only?

Hi Andrea
Long time nvr c u here..how's u n family? How tings in downunder? i'm comin for 3 weeks trip nxt mth...lookin to buy a 2nd hand car n prefer a 7-seater ...any good source of whr to buy reliable car dealer....

i'll reside in riverton during my stay n finally will move in feb 2011 @ forest lake.

anybody know that if my hub have a FIFO job base in overseas, will he be tax in oz. Cos i check tat he will not be tax in sg.

lynzi
i'd pmed if wanna kno further abt migration...anyway it took me almost 4 yrs fr the yr of my PR appln but we had discuss this way b4 we got married actually..so like wat the others had commented if there's so many commitments try not to migrate. For my hub side, relatives as usual always huha abt us goin away cos they r not relli tat supportive especialli he's the only son in the family. As my hub is very dtermined, he shun all the torments..but my family r very supportive towards my migration...cos in sg i mostly reli on my mum n siblings rather than my hub side althou my PILs stay wit me.

glad to see the thread alive again...

lynzi,
i've also PM-ed you, if you need further info. but like what the others have said, its not an easy decision.
1stly, its good if you and hb have a clear goal / reason for the move.
then from there can start to make a pro/con list.
then decide.

ryatie,
hmm, we're planning to move over around the same time as you also.
i must admit that initially i was abit apprehensive witht the decision, but now, im actually kinda looking forward to it.

ray,
If he is base in aussie. He will be taxed in aussie, even fly in and fly out. Becos this is very common here.

athlete
hope 2 c u around..how old r ur children? mine is 6, 4, 2 and another 1 cumin in late october...whr will u be residin and have u chose schs for ur children....now findin kakis to share their thoughts. This May Trip, i'm tryin to go to a pte sch n the public sch to warm up my doters

hopeac
the co is in sg but his base is overseas not oz....so i guess no tax la...

ryatie,
my boy is only 1, so have a few more years before i need to think about school for him!
we'll be staying north of the river, cos most of our friends and some family stay that side.
wow, you'll have #4 in oct?
planning to give birth there?

<font color="aa00aa">hi all,
thanks for your response.
its just a bit too overwhelming for me at the moment.

hopeac,
oh yes cooking is no rpob for me since i love cooking.
kind of miss it now that im working..haha.
i will feedback my hubby on what u said.

andrea,
yup hubby's heart is set on melbourne.
we got 2 frens there so they are assisting us in whatever they can.

ryatie, athlete,
hey long time never hear from u gerls.
i cannot access my mail now so will read your pm and reply when i'm back.
oh wow ryatie u took 4 years to plan all these?
but with more kids i guess u will need more time to prepare.
are both of u moving to perth?
athlete,your boy is lucky to move there at such a young age.

i have basically narrowed down to settle at either coburg, northcote or moonie ponds.
hubby wants to take a trip down there in late july but thats winter time rite?
aug is perfect since there is the long weekend during the national day but then hubby's leave os freeze due to YOG..sighh.
think i have to wait until after hari raya then can go down to recce and take a look.</font>

athlete
yup still tinking whr to give birth...as waitin for green light fr my co if they'll still pay for my maternity leave althou i'd checked with mom thats not a prob to them to pay my maternity leave...
i'm so use to the south side n more kakis there...hopefully we have time to meet

lynzi
yup it took us very long as nid to stablize income n make sure we du our homework well...but wit all tis there's still ups n downs...currently my hub is sourcing for job as he will enter there in june.

hi lynzi,
I am not sure why you chose those areas. Those areas though are near the city, but are not the areas I will stay and bring up my kids. Those are relatively high crime areas.

Melbourne is not like singapore. Not all areas are safe. The better areas are in the east, south, south-east. The newer estates at the west like caroline spring, sanctuary lakes, mt cook seems ok too. Those may be cheaper than the east, south.

<font color="aa00aa">ryatie,
your hubby is going over first is it?
then u will join him next year?

hopeac,
then which suburb will u recommend to me?
i was thinking of coburg cos it will be easier to do marketing as in getting halal meat.
i'm not sure if over there we can call and they will deliver to the doorstep.
what do u think of geelong?
how bout kew? but the rental price there quite high.
camberwell? malvern? st kilda? brighton? pakenham?
st kilda also quite ex rite the rental?</font>

Geelong is is 1.5 hours drive to melbourne. Camberwell, malvern, brighton are good and safe areas, but rental is expensive. Pakenham rental most likely to quite cheap, but it is really at the edge of the melbourne metro. It really depends where your working place is, how much you willing to pay for rental. If your working place is not in the city, u need not consider places close to the city.

I know there are 2 halal meat shop in clayton, but clayton is not as near as brighton,camberwell to the city. Clayton has a train station, warung place which sells nice indonesian food, and asian grocer. There and the surronding suburbs will be a much a safer option than coburg,monee pond and not as expensive as brighton, camberwell etc. Maybe you want to go a google on halal meat. The nearest mosque to brighton,camberwell, clayton is the one at caufield

One thing you must remember is, victoria is 10 times the size of singapore. So 15 to 20 mins drive is consider near.

You can also do marketing at brunswick area,there seems to have alot of halal restuarants and arabian/muslim stuff.

Hi Ryatie
How are you? Everything's good here ... the kids are having a two-week break now, so I've been bz bringing them to parks and playdates with friends... it's exhausting :p

Good that you are coming over soon
WRT 2nd hand car... I'm not really sure which is a good dealer... Just do lots of research and get the best possible deal
We recently got a 2nd hand Kia Grand Carnival at a really good price -- and the car is nice and spacious. Road trips are very comfortable now :D We got this one at a dealer near our place in Rockingham.

If you plan to buy private, check the Quokka... (www.quokka.com.au). Otherwise, get hold of the West Australian papers on Wednesday... Narrow down to a couple of cars that you like and go car-shopping. Dealers are open late every Wednesday

By the way, where is Forest Lake? Did you buy and build there? When you are here, do buzz us... the Perthies could all have a get-together

Hi Andrea
i'm fine with here n there morn sickness...hope it'll b over when i cum over in may..i could understand with the 2 weeks holidays there's lot of thing to du....
forrest lake is at thornlie...my hub bot the house n land package tentatively he said that it'll be ready in aug10 hopefully....actually was sourcing for resale hse back in apr09 but we didn't like the design r very old n sum of the ones we like we damn expensive...
i hope to meet u guys ..maybe we can go to Charchos and eat...
wrt the the KIA Carnival ..how's the petrol consumption, is it ok...we drove a kia cerato that had very good consumption but recently borrowed my bro KIA sportage n the car drink petrol like milk...1 week more than $100...that's double the cost that i previously use....it's burnin our pocket...
i'll check the website n thanks for the tips...

<font color="aa00aa">ryatie,
oh wow..so when your hubby is there u are here alone with the kids?
and u going on the flight just with the kids?
are u going to bring anything from sg to there?
im so sorry if i seem to be bombarding u with qns..hehehe.
oooh..a land with house sounds great..how much did u buy that for?

hopeac,
hawthorn is good is it?
my boy loves the beach which is why partly im thinking of there.
camberwell seems ex.
im willing to pay AUD$500 for rent.
is that a lot or too little?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">andrea,
are u now renting in perth or u bought a house?

hopeac,
what about u..renting or u bought?
if u are renting then how much are u paying monthly?</font>

Hi Ryatie,
The Grand Carnival uses abt 12.8litres per 100km... My husband's not complaining...so I guess that's ok

Hi Lynzi,
We bought our house. We rented for about 2.5 years before moving to our own place. It really depends on where you rent... The first place we rented, we got it for just under $300 per wk. In the last place we were at, it was about $360 per wk

ryatie,
Long time no hear, was just wondering if u hv moved here. Hope to meet u in Perth. I'm not too far away from u, am staying at Willetton now. I bought my 8-seater Toyota Tarago from a car agent in Vic Park. Abt few weeks aft we bought the car, we sent the car to Toyota Service Centre and was told that the car is not in as good condition as expected. We had to go back to the car agent n get them to check n service the car again. They also din fixed a few things which they promised to fix during sale time. My hubby was very fast in signing on the dotted line, so we missed out on checking that all r written in black n write. So we couldn't get them to fix it as it was not written down.

Sigh, since moving here, I have learnt many lessons. Like buying car, be careful of car agents who dun tell u a lot abt the history of the car, promise u many things n in the end, never get it done, etc... Good sales service but bad after sales service.

For those renting, read your rental agreement carefully - look out for clause that says increment of rent aft 6mths, chargeable re-inspection if u fail the regular inspection, etc. A lot of the agents are aft your money. When u 1st get the keys to the rent property, make sure u go thru every inch n corner of the house, take pictures of any damages that are present n report them to the agent before u even move in. Anyway, its a long sad story. I made all the mistakes n now having challenges wif the agent.

Andrea,
Bigger names also can be trouble maker. Jones Ballard is one of them. :p

Ryatie,
Don't go to Park Autos in Vic Park. Sales time very friendly n helpful, once signed on dotted line, everything is "can't be done".

lynzi
i'l b stayin with my mum when my hub not around in sg for abt 6 mths..anyway 2 of my doters r in childcare here...my hub will accompany me when i move over n my mum will cum along to help up....still have not decide wat to bring over cos all my items in the hse will be use for rental ..i'll be bringin mostly clothes, bed lines n documents... the children books n toys still KIV...have not decide whther to sent by movers or not..as i dun relli have cooking utensils at home...i intend to buy over there but not sure whther is cheap...any good bargain to buy fr..worst to worst buy fr ikea....

hen
i'm very bz with werk n the kiddos n the shifting to my mum's pl...i went to Professional House Agent...their staff who served us was good n very frank abt buying system there..we look around for about 5 -7 hses...juz can't fine a suitable ones as our stay there was too short...My cuz reccomend me Don Russell cos they also build my cuz 1st hse back in the 90s. Since Don Russell has a base in sg, it makes tings easier for us so we nid not travel to perth to settle paperwork,...choosing for interior of the hse is dun here cos the builder brot the items for us to choose fr..the exterior is choose online...and they sent updated pixs every 2 weeks
will take note on Park Autos....since i'm there for 3 weeks, we intend to buy a car as rental for 3 weeks is abt more than 2k for a 7 seater...we love the tarago..now looking at pajero too...carnival was also in our list...

Andrea
thanks for ur info on Carnival...fine prints sumtim we miss out ..out of excitement,,,,,hahhaha...
we'd nvr bot 2nd hand car before n i'm very worried of after sales service...pte seller give a good deal but also got their downs...head now spinning...

ryatie,
When we were shopping for a 7 or 8 seater car, we were looking at Carnival too cos its cheaper. The car sales agents did advised us that if we really want a Carnival, go for 2007 model or newer. The older model not so efficient I think.

Yeah, we also missed out the fine print out of excitment which ended up causing us much inconvenience, distress, $$$, etc.

U renting a place in Riverton while u r here for 3wks? Give me a buzz if u need anything, am nearby, no problem for me to pop over to your place anytime.

Which schs r u looking at for your kiddos? U looking at enrolling pte sch for all of them? Thatz quite a lot of money leh.

<font color="aa00aa">hi ladies..i just got back from a much needed getaway. Seems like im missing out a lot.

Hen, your story on the rental agent n car dealer is scary..thanks for the tips. Is your eldest girl in school there?

Andrea, 2 yrs of rental n now owning your own house is a very remarkable achievement. Im sure it wasnt easy for ppl who are just starting out like me.

Ryatie, what kind of job is your hubby looking for over there? Oh with your mum around, im sure u will adjust better. If u dont mind me asking, how much did u spend to buy the land n build a house from scratch?</font>

hi hentang / andrea,
which real estate would you recommend in perth?
best to avoid jones ballard and GOW, huh.

hy lynzi,
welcome back.
so when are you planning to move over and have you got PR yet?

Hi Athlete,
We used LJ Hooker, and they were quite good -- professional. I think Professional should be good too.

Also take note, service may differ from office to office. The one we used was the South Perth one -- not bad.