Mummies in Australia?

<font face="tahoma">mngo,
we have feelings... maybe your #2 really on the way! hehehehehehehe

Hello mommies,

MIAed for longgggggg time. Busy busy at home despite hiring confinement nanny as i delivered on 19 Nov 07.

So panicky with being 1st time mom, BF got problems, nipples become sore and bled, so nw its really excl. pumpg and putting bb on EBM. Really got so scared abt all the screamings and cryings and nw hvg 2nd thoughts to go Ozzie nxt yr or not since visa expire aug 08. Not sure if I can be a gd mommie n take care of bb myself or not since like all of u said, no help there at all.

Only had time to fill in the immi forms for my bb now and got some qn dun really know how to answer also and might need help from u all. Let me digest everything in detailed before asking expert advice. Hee...hee....

Hi Tweetie

Congrats on ur new baby. The first few months are toughest..feel that it gets easier as time passess, esp when baby starts to sleep through the nite.
as for the baby's visa, u can get it in a month. Very fast one, just need to provide birth cert, marriage cert, ur passport with PR label on it plus photos.

Mngo: hehe.who knows, u go Aus...relax , enjoy..really have No#2 :p

I got one question. If my passport is expiring, and I make a new one. And the PR visa is on the expiring passport, what will happen? Always bring 2 passport when traveling, or transfer to new passport?

hi Tweetie,
It will get better. After the baby gets pass 4 months, you will find it easier to cope.

hopeac,

You have to go to the Aust High Comm and get a new one. I just got my PR but my passport is expiring too. So will be making a new one this trip back. The lady at the Immigration Dept told me to get a new visa from the High Comm.

Tweetie,

It will get better, trust me! My mom was the main caretaker of my boy for his 1st yr. I was basically bumming around and had very little hands on. I dun even know how to bath him! I have the exact worries you are having now. Was so scared about moving here since I know nuts about taking care of him. But after moving here, things are not that bad. It took a while, but everything will turn out fine. And it's true that when baby gets older, will be easier to handle. So do hang in there! If you ever need a place to vent, we will all be here for you.

sunnygirl
huh? relax , enjoy .. have no 2?
then if got no2 hor.. means cannot relax and enjoy liaoz ...

sob sob sob!!!

i can give birth... anyone volunteer to help me look after? keke

Tweetie! u r back!!

tweetie
congrats..may u n ur gal are in the best of health..

ozziemum
bz packing it it?

meet up in jan(weekday) no prob...but i haven't got PR..still waiting but really wanna get 2 know u gals for networking in AUS in future

Hello

Thnks yeah!

Jus called a friend juz nw and she went to AU to request to extend her PR and it got approved. I dunno wat reason she gave. It gave me some hope, mayb i might juz make a trip dwn to AU to do the same as well giving some bullshit reason and c how.

Hi ryatie, I want to meet up but hard for nw as u know my little gal barely a mth n i hvn brought her out before, dunno if she will misbehave or not.

Oh, update of my status.

I intend to leave mid 08 but hubby got a better job offer in Spore, so nw caught in dilemma lor.

Mngo and I have decided to initiate a meetup. This would be a good time for us to get to know each other and exchange more stories on Aus.For those interested, pls vote for a date that u think is best. Timing is likely dinner time @ about 7pm and location is @ Marina Sq.

4/1/2008 Friday
1)

11/1/2008 Friday
1)Sunnygirl

18/1/2008 Friday
1)
All are Fridays. If anyone got other suggestions please voice out.

Sunnygirl
will confirm later which date i can tag.

Tweetie
u r like me, i also intend to leave asap once i have my PR cos i wanna kids to start pr sch there but hubby got a better job offer in Spore, so nw caught in dilemma lor. Cos' i want him to get more experince here b4 migrating there.
I'm tired of working for almost a decade, need time 2 rest.

just n update on ozziemom....she's so bz packing her stuffs..she dun think she can meet us up

ryatie,

I dun think ozziemummie can meet us up cos she's flying on 1st Jan.

I'm flying on 11th night, so can only meet up on 18th Jan.

hi mummies!!!!!

sorry i MIA for a good 2 weeks at least! too many things to settle lah. finally got my car import approval but last min hubby decided to sell it to avoid risk of paying lots to Oz customs. sold for quite a good price lah so not complaining

then there's just never ending list of errands and dinners and lunches! and since November both hubby and I are "jobless". hahahah...so we've been living on NY time-- watching the stock market...hahahah.....hubby into precious metals investment/futures. so we sleep late and wake up late!

my son's been giving me hell too - refused to eat and wanna play and play!!!-- 'cos his upper front teeth erupting so very needy...need lots of cuddling :p

Mgo,
wonderful of u to organize yummy mummy meeting! too bad i'm leaving 1st Jan - Hidora's right. so u gals have fun ok?

Hen,
good to know u'r doing well. remember Andrea's advice to protect her eyes!!! reminds me of a cute pic of my son in the car @ Perth. he was a bit jaundiced also.

http://picasaweb.google.com/p54321/Baby/photo#5029133114243009682

Hidora,
wah seems like u'r getting a hang of gardening ah?!?! dunno whether i'll ever get to plant anything. depends on the place i'll be staying...make sure u plant the blue ginger for the braised duck lah...then i go your house to cook! hahahah!

we dunno whether we wanna DHL or ship...sigh. my hubby very indecisive one. grrrrr.....

mgo, to answer your question- yes i think u need an Oz adress first in order to DHL. shipping i think u can pay for storage but try to avoid that.

wow .. so many posts to catch up ..

congrats to hen & tweetie ...

me leaving 15th Jan, so wont be able to meet up with u gals. now busy packing up house, in such a mess now ...
anyone has experience applying for tourist visa (for 3mths up to 12mths)? wat are the documents required? need to apply for my mum ...

4/1/2008 Friday
1)

11/1/2008 Friday
1)Sunnygirl
2)Mngo

18/1/2008 Friday
1) mngo
2) hidora
3) mspiggy
4) sunnygirl ??

ozmummie - 1Jan 08
Mngo - apr 08
sunnycake - Mid 08 (hopefully)
mspiggy - in 2 yrs' time
hidora - Already there
Andrea - Already there
ryatie -
Hen -
Evelyn - leaving 12Jan08
Tweetie -
Hopeac -
jojos - leaving 15jan08

18th I also can.

Anyway, those who leaving earlier like ozzie and jojos , we can always meet up again in Perth this time. heehee

Ozzie: Your son so cute...handsome boy

Tweetie:I know your deliemma...it is hard to make the decision to go especially when things are doing well here....guess @ the end of the day, we just have to make the decision that is best for our families

Heh, feel so bad. Like everybody accommodating to my timing. :p

jojos,

You can apply for visa using this site. http://www.eta.immi.gov.au/

Or if you booked ticket for her using zuji or any travel agency, can get them to do it for you. They will only require a photocopy of the passport. The travel visa is valid for 1 yr, but can only stay in AU for 3 mths from date of entry. If your mom needs to stay longer than that, must go to the Immigration Dept to apply for extension. Extension is valid for 6mths? Can't rem, applied for it too long ago. But she will need to go through xray examination if she wants to apply for extension.

HTH.

ozmummie ..
no wonder my fren in perth, asked me if the church i will be attending is zion or FC Baptist.

So...zion is another asian church. i guess i will settle with FC , cos of frens there

<font face="tahoma">ozmummie,
wow, your boy is such a cutie. his eyes so round and big! handsome boy!</font>

Hi, sorry that can only "steal" some time here & there to catch up wz this thread.

ozmummie - 1Jan 08
Mngo - apr 08
sunnycake - Mid 08 (hopefully)
mspiggy - in 2 yrs' time
hidora - Already there
Andrea - Already there
ryatie -
Hen - target by mid or late 08
Evelyn - leaving 12Jan08
Tweetie -
Hopeac -
jojos - leaving 15jan08

As for the gathering, I can only tentatively say I'm ok for 18/1/2008 Friday. We are taking care of both kids by ourselves, by then, hubby just went back to work, so not sure if he can handle the kids if I go out. Ladies only but kids can? If I can bring them wz me, then most likely can meet up.

tweetie, ryatie, I also in the same boat as u. Hubby is considering to make a change in career, so the future is very blur for us now. But I'm still going to go ahead n apply PR for baby first. Plan to quickly get her passport done, apply PR, then fly over to Perth to settle some paperwork (change of address).

Still can't get baby to suck directly, so no choice, manually pumped out milk n feed using bottle. My #1 didn't have problem though she was introduced the bottle since day 1, but this one, she too lazy to suck after being introduced the bottle. Feel so disappointed.

hen
you can bring your kids ... else how?
no one look after... somemore 2 kids.
if 2 is difficult, maybe bring your baby with u.
then the no1, leave him/her with yr ah lao

hahah...thanks for the compliments mummies

he's quite a little rascal now! wearing both hub and me out!

Jojos,

which part of Oz u going? i can empathise with the the mess in the house! mine too!!!!

Eh hidora, my hubby just made the mess worse last month with his stuff that he brought back from his clinic! grrrrrrrr! i almost have no floor surface to mop .

jojos, Hidora have u the necessary details for tourist visa liao. some travel agents r very nice. when they book your tix they do it at no charge for u since u've paid them the standard transaction fees....my travel agent from Fortune Travel @ SMU branch. otherwise via the high comm website still need to pay $$.

what a pity i'm going to miss the mummies meet-up

sunnygirl,

looks like the AUD has lots of strength and bloody YEN refuse to unwind more than we would like it too.
we're speculating for next Feb....tired of watching the AUD...grrrrrr...so hubby decided to channel his funds to precious metals futures.

mgo,

most pple go FC lor. i like Zion 'cos it's a small comfy family church. everyone knows each other...plus i have a few frens who used to be from the same church back here in Sgp also @ Zion. The pastor from Zion is a very humble earnest person.

hi Ozzie

Yah..but today got bit weakness...very volotile. I just changed a small batch 2 days ago @ 1.274. No choice, have to average down.
not that familier with the metals market other than it is at a high. Equity markets are shakey so may be good strategy to stick to the basic commodities instead.

Hen: Can bring ur kids lah, we all help to look after..hehehe...we will choose a kids friendly restaurant.

ozziemummie,

Lol, I hope you can managed to clear everything out before you fly over!

Btw, Subi market is going thru renovation... Most of the shops not there liao.. Haiz..

mngo,

I need to ask my mom whether she can help me take care of son.. cos she's doing babysitting too.. I'm afraid if the parents come to take back their baby, then see my son there, may not be happy.

oh.. i understand wat u mean.
actually is only for 2 hours , so maybe the parents got to understand is only for tat 2 hrs.. and u r here on holiday anyway.

else, bring your boy, we will help look after

sunnygirl, ozziemummie
me not gng perth, gng to sydney ... next time if i plan for holiday in perth then meet up with u gals ..

hidora, ozziemummie
thks for the info for tourist visa, i managed to call thru to Aus high comm to ask for details already. I m applying for tourist visa for stay of more than 3 mths, can't submit online for ETA. Need to submit manually

ozziemummie,
my hse is now full of cartons ...
kao_dizzy.gif

din realise that i have chalked up some much "rubbish" over the past few years, have to give away many of my stuff ...

if u have any unwanted kids/baby's stuff to giv away in future before ur move, u may wanna consider giving it to the orphangae ..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/1041081.html?1197601202

mngo, me busy wz baby. She's getting cranky, waking up every 1-2hr, asking for milk. HB n me both very tired cos we doing confinement ourselves.

tweetie, u applied passport for your bb already? How did u take the passport pic for yr bb? bb's passport is the new biometric one? U applies online or went down to immi personally? I want to apply passport for my bb so that I can apply for her AU PR asap.

I'll arrange wz my hb &amp; mum. Prob will bring my kids to my mum's place in the afternoon n then pick them up later at nite.

hope those still in sgp can meet up as mngo really taking big effort to make it happen!

Hidora,

subi market close?!?!? alamak! then where i go? northbridge/william street? wah i miss my gozlems at subi market! sob!

very headache to pack ah...must separate the "immediately need to use" items from "can wait" items...wah piang....

seems like i won't be here often this coming week!

Hen, hope u'r recovering well from your delivery and having no trouble with your newborn

ryatie, keep us updated ok?

oh by the way this time i go perth then will be back in sgp to visit in Nov'08 till CNY'09. after that stay for another one yr...then i can take citizenship test liao...for those who got their PR before 1st July 2007 need stay 2 out of 5 yr to be eligible for citizenship. thereafter it's 4 out of 5 yrs! so i'm not letting this window slip by.

<font face="tahoma"> ozziemummie,
WOW... so shocked to read that now need 4 yrs out of 5 yrs to get extend!

Am so lucky, managed to get my PR extension in May07. </font>

ozziemummie,

Not really close, it's just that that half the shops not there as the whole market is undergoing reno.. Not sure when will it end. I think I still see the gozlems stall.. The Viet beef noodle stall no longer there thou.

mspiggy,

It's not to extend PR, but the application of AU citizenship. So if I decided to take up AU citizenship, I will have to stay here for 4 yrs since my PR is granted after 1st July.

BTW, Merry Christmas &amp; Happy New Year everybody!! I wish that Year 2008 will be another blessed year for all of us.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!. The New Year will be so exciting for many of us as it will really be a new start and new life!

ozzie: u trying for citizenship? Mus apply before 30June 2010. so do plan ur timing properly and muz do the test before application.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!. The New Year will be so exciting for many of us as it will really be a new start and new life!

ozzie: u trying for citizenship? Mus apply before 30June 2010. so do plan ur timing properly and muz do the test before application.

Merry Christmas &amp; a Great Year ahead everyone

Hi Sunnygirl,
Just curious... is there a reason why must apply for citizenship before Jun 2010?

ozmummie
u going to take the au citizen?
r u going to have the sg one too... err u know wat i mean?