MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Rains, lately my daughter's chinese teacher started to teach her picture composition. Initially, a picture with few words to write 5 sentences. Now, a picture with few questions to write a composition. Her teacher doesn't teach her fill in the blanks.

Honestly, I don't rely on her chinese teacher. My daughter's school keeps on change chinese teachers. Her chinese teacher changed again and this is the fourth teacher.

Rimilyn
Your girl's school is very advanced for Chinese. I suppose she is doing Higher Chinese? I don't think my boy is doing Chinese compo in school yet although he is being taught that in Berries.

Rains,
I think your girl's teacher is very brave, but I think if children are taught to say sorry when they are in the wrong, adults should set a good example. That what we practise at home. We expect the children to apologise when they do wrong things and likewise, we adults apologise when we are at fault.

Jess, my daughter is not doing Higher chinese. May I know how Berries teach Chinese Compo? Can PM me if you wish. Thanks.

Rimilyn,
They practise picture story telling. The children are taught to give an intro, describe the main story and then give a conclusion based on pictures shown. They are also given descriptive phrases to make the sentences more interesting.

hello mommies, appreciate your advice

Now my elder girl (5.5 years old) is taking 3 subjects at Kumon but I noticed she is struggling to complete all 3 sets of worksheets everyday.

I'm thinking of dropping Kumon Chinese and DIY Chinese lessons, to teach her personally.

1) Have you attempt to teach your kids Chinese? Encounter any difficulties?

2) Besides buying assessment books for her & reading Chinese books together, any other tips?

3) Any recommendation for Chinese enrichment classes? no homework type

thanks for sharing

Hippo2002
Berries doesn't give any homework but I think it is more effective if you can help to revise the teaching at home. I only enrolled my boy this year, so I am not sure whether they teach compo for preschoolers or not.

Recently, I'm reflecting on my disciplinary method.

My father and sisters have been urging me to use a cane on my kid becos she's starting to exhibit undesirable attitudes and laziness especially when it comes to doing Maths. She's extremely careless when doing simple addition and subtraction. And it's not becos she doesn't know how to do. She simply can't be bothered and doesn't put her heart into the work. It's so bad that the teacher doesn't even mark some pages of her Maths workbook and I can fully understand why. The teacher even suggested to my kid to go for remedial class or even lsp class since she makes so many mistakes in her workbook. I'm so upset with her.

My father asks me not to give in to her 'hungry', 'sleepy' and 'want to drink milk' requests whenever she's asked to do Maths and said that I should use a cane on her if she continues to be careless and can't be bothered.

I always thought that a cane should only come into the picture when a child (usually a boy) continuously exhibits naughty or destructive behaviours. And honestly, I can understand how my kid feels when it comes to Maths becos I hated and feared Maths as a child myself. I feel that I would cry if I ever use a cane on her becos of Maths, becos Maths itself is really a boring and difficult subject. I myself almost couldn't pass my 'O' level becos of it and now I am supposed to demand my kid to do it well.

I got a feeling that the mummies here have never use a cane on your kids. What's your take on this matter - caning your kid over a subject he or she is not interested in?

<font color="ff0000">Rains,</font>
i personally think that if u use cane on ur DD bcos of Maths, she might "HATE" Maths even more.

How abt getting her to join some Maths Enrichment Class? I put my DD into Sakamoto Maths class, she started her class last Tue & enjoy herself very much!!

rains,
how about using incentives instead of threats? my boy works better on incentives, cos when i use threats, he is so scared about getting the punishment that he makes even more mistakes cos he can't think straight.

I don't cane my girl if she didn't do homework. I use a reward system. She gets to eat ice-cream every 3 days if she finishes her homework daily

I will cane if she misbehaves, like intentionally push her sister & cause her injury.

hi rains, me too!!!! my gal also having prob with her maths.... for the past months, i practically have to scream at her everytime we do maths... of course, crane came into the pic....

the situation got so bad that i think we both cant stand each other's presence...i do admit that i am over kanchong already.... also i felt veri regret everytime, after i craned her..... my hubby kept reminding me to keep me cool(esp my current condition)... so i decided to throw away the crane.... n talk to her... of course, at this stage, it is still trial n error for us....
actually, i am thinking of coming up with a incentives chart... to list down all the stuff that she needs to do n then to reward her when she do them promptly...then she can use the stars awarded to exchange for tv programs or storybooks....

anyone got ideas to share? cos i am a idiot when come to design....

currently, my gal already gt tuition(1 to 1).... i am thinking of putting her at sakamoto maths too(fr what i know they are good in est math foundation)... but the timing is not suitable for me....

Thanks, mummies for your suggestions.
Like what VQ had mentioned, I told my father that caning might make her hate Maths even more. He said,"You cannot say like this. Last time, some children get caned when they don't get 90 marks. It made them frightened and motivated to do well."

I did think of Maths enrichment class, but I'm already struggling to fit the various enrichment activities into her schedule. I'll think about that again. Thanks! Sakamoto is good huh? I used to have a friend who taught there and he said they use a Japanese method to teach. Is that true?

fz and hippo,
Yeah, I know what you mean by the threats backfiring. My husband is thinking of using an accumulative reward system for my kid, but actually I find him very inconsistent in his rewarding system. There're too many systems for different things - ting xie, spelling, Chinese and Maths tests, completion of Maths assessment book. I myself find it very confusing and my kid also forgets what he promised to reward her with. In the end, we all forget and we are back to square one.

dorothy,
Did you really cane your child? Cane where? Hand, legs or backside? My father said,"Cane everywhere!" but I think cannot la.

You really must keep your cool. If not, your second one only gets to hear exasperated tone and angry voice. Not very good for 'tai1 jiao4'.

Listing down what she needs to do and rewarding her when she does them sounds good. Maybe for my kid, I can do it for Maths ie. type out Maths assessment book titles and create a blank table. Everytime my kid does 1 page of Maths (and write down the page number on the table), we stick 1 star on the table. When a row of table (representing 10 pages) is filled with stars, we give her a storybook or matching sum of money. Recently, she's starting to think of ways to get more money and saving it up. I wonder what it's for.

Hmm ... the more I think about that, the more I think it could be feasible. Thanks, dorothy!

Do you all go and buy those CA and SA papers to practise? Yesterday I got my kid to try out her school's Maths CA 2. She only got 70 over 100. Really worrying altho honestly, I would most probably have failed if it were me. I find it such an irony for me to want her to attain 90 marks when I myself can't even pass it if I were her age. I think things are really different now. Those questions are what we would have done at primary three. You mean the children today have bigger brain or cleverer and so they are expected to do more difficult sums? I often feel glad that I'm not born in this era. If not, I think I may not even pass PSLE.

O yes, one more thing, mummies. Do your kids always lose their stationery in school? Mine always comes home with only one pencil when the night before, I'd packed 3 or 4 pencils, an eraser and a ruler into her pencil case. When I ask her where the rest of stationery have gone, she'd say 'I don't know.' Is there a way to ensure that the number of her stationery remains intact?

hi rains,
i dun think we should cane them anywhere... they are not in our era where everyone kanna caned... for me, on the palm only.... at most the backside...i dont think when i was young when i did badly for maths n i got caned, it did not motivate me to do well leh...

on the CA n SA papers, i was veri tempted to buy but hor, i watched one of the local talk show.. they were saying that if we overdo it(as in the kids get to work too many), it will lead to a neg effect..

on 'tai1 jiao4, my hubby also say that...
. he said no.2 prob will think mummy siao one, everyday scream....

on the "to-do-list", i still dun have a concrete idea, but if $$ is one of the reward that u r giving, u got to plan well cos if overdo it, then it will not do the child good....
i am thinking of every few stars will equal to maybe $1... for me, my reward will be more like storybooks/tv program or certain hour on computer. no actual $$ involved....but i still think of the chart....

losing their stationery- my gal dun have this prob.... but she seem to "eat" her pencils... her pencils seem to shorten veri veri fast.... also she tends to overspent cos now she enjoys buying food herself...i usually give her $1.20... most of the time, she spent all or just 20cents back.... so i motivate her by asking her to save up for her next yr trip...

dorothy,

I think my kid under-practises rather than overworks. She has very little homework on normal school days, so there's very few opportunities for her to practise. Getting those papers is also a motivation for me to get her to do some work. I want to see where she stands, so I'll be more 'kut-lart' to make her do work. If not, I'm very inconsistent in getting her to do any work. I'll just flip to a page of assessment book and say,"Come, do this." and go off to do my own work. In the end, she takes the whole day to do one or two questions and I don't get to monitor her. With the papers, I'm more kan-cheong to make her do them, becos she needs to adhere to a time limit. Knowing that it's a school paper also makes me more motivated to want to go through the papers with her. Haha ... sounds like it's more of motivating me than her.

Today, I asked my kid to record down what she spends on in school in her diary. I'm quite worried over how she uses her money. She tells me she spends her money at the bookshop, so I feel that it's high time I monitor how she spends her pocket money.

Up till now, she's not fully recovered from her lung infection. She keeps falling sick and running temperatures. I'm worried that she might have bought cold drinks or eaten some things she shouldn't be eating in school.

My sister got balloted out at phase 2c. Poor them. They are having such a headache over which school to register at for the supplementary phase. It's double stress for them - one for phase 2c and one for supplementary phase.

Rains,
My boy also often lost his stationery initially but now he tries to be more careful because I make him pay for his own stationery if he loses them. I also do not allow him to bring any fanciful stationery to school because it distracts him in class and it gets lost easily too.
Is your girl's Maths really bad or she is just too lazy or not interested in the subject? For my boy's case, he is simply careless and lazy, so sending him to tuition class may not be of use. I think it is ok to do mocked test papers so long as we don't overdo it or focus too much on the mocked test results.
I think disciplining your own kids is a very difficult task and we are often less patient with our own kids. Sigh...

Hi everyone... was just reading about your frustrations with kids doing work etc. Just thought I'd share with you...

I have a "daily goals" chart, and a homework chart for my kids. I laminate it, then use masking tape to stick metal rings to the back, then front use magnets as markers. So each day, they have to go to the homework chart, and decide what they have to do for that day... then they stick the magnets on. After they complete each task, they will remove the magnets themselves, and they seem to feel a sense of satisfaction when they do that. Then they can see like fewer and fewer things to do, then they can play.

As for Maths... yah, for me, it's quite frustrating also because I myself find maths very easy, so when my son struggles with understanding maths, sometimes I get very frustrated... and I will raise my voice... but I try not to. He attends MPM classes, so he gets practice in it, and on top of school homework, it's mostly good enough. I will make him practise more during days before tests, but otherwise i don't give him much assessment, unless he doesn't have homework to do for that day.

My girl is also dyslexic... so some level of frustration there too... and both struggle with chinese.

I don't cane for academics. I only use cane for outright defiance or things like telling lies. So far, I have caned the children only once or twice... in private, and on the buttocks (or thereabouts if they don't stand still... but I try to make them turn around for it). I will sometimes smack their hands if they push their siblings deliberately or use violence... but again, I haven't had to do it much, because they know the consequences lah, and they know I will carry out, so they don't do, unless they lose control.

Money - my son gets only $1.50 on Fridays - no choice... gotta eat lunch at school. So give. Other days, he brings a snack for recess. He doesn't eat much anyway, becos he wants to play, so give him money, he won't buy food, but rubbish instead.

Losing things - so far, so good. He has lost a few of his coloured pencils... so I've since labelled the remaining ones. I have also refused to buy him new ones, because he has to live with the consequences. Mostly he's quite good about not losing things, and bringing letters and notices and stuff home... mostly. I have a homework & notices file that he keeps in his bag... so everything teacher gives him must go in there. If pencils go missing, I will scold, and threaten to use his savings to buy... so maybe he scared lah.

Hope that helps. If you want to have a copy of the charts that they use, PM me, and I can send you a copy via email.

dorieme,
You sure sound like a mummy who disciplines well. I used to implement consequences on my kid for whatever she does until my father and sisters commented that I was too 'strict'. They always tell me my kid is a 'poor thing'. I've since relaxed my disciplining method but I realised it's a mistake. Looks like your method works well.
Yeah, I'll go label her stationery when she comes home so that she cannot say 'I don't know' again. Thanks!

i did buy test papers from other schools for my boy to try. i am curious and wanna check out the diff between his school and other schools.

so far i only gave him 1 or 2 sets to do. will be giving him some (especially those from his own school) to practice before SA2. at first i had reservations coz i don't want to stress him. but i thought it will be good practice and similar to rains, i also want to know where my boy stand.

i'm careful with my approach though. i just tell him that these are test papers from other schools that i want him to try out so i can mark him like a teacher ;p he is allowed to do over 1 or 2 days.

i dun ask him to do assessments at home. i just try to spot his weak areas from his topical test papers. but given that i'm lazy, i haven't execute my plan to help him in his weak areas though i meant to.

as for losing stationery, i sort of gave up oredi and will leave it to him to manage. i guess most young kids have tendency to lose their stuff so i tell myself to accept it :p

dor... didn't get leh... you try again? Or maybe it will come later... will wait and see... but as of now, nothing in my inbox.

rains - umm, I try to be consistent lah. I am an ex-teacher, so tend to be very strict... can't be bothered about what people say... parents, relatives also say I very strict at first, but later, compared to all the other kids, they realise that my methods work... then when they have to help look after them, they also fall back on my methods... so go with what you know is good for your kids lah!

Anyway, as a school teacher, I have had much experience in terms of discipline work (was in discipline comm for a most of my teaching years...) so it has helped lah. My motivation is that I don't ever want my kids to end up like the ones I have had to handle... and most of the time (not all) the kids are the results of their parents not disciplining them from young. Sighz.

Hi ladies who emailed me, Will send you the file tomorrow... it's on my desktop (which is the only comp attached to the printer lah)... and I'm surfing on my laptop now... lazy to switch... OK?

<font color="ff0000">Mommies,</font>
just a gentle reminder... we r not suppose to cane our kids palm bcos they r in fact very fragile with thin skin over there.... my dad was alway been caned on his palm by his teacher when he was a kid n now his palm is very "weak" i do not know how to explain this but i think if u wanna cane, can only cane their butts cos more flesh!!!

i use to hv a chart for my DD too... eg. she will get to paste a sticker onto a column of the task she had completed!!

<font color="ff0000">Rains,</font>
Wen send her DS to Sakamoto Maths too.. u might want to check with her? cos my DD just started her lesson last week!! cant give u much details! But i do receive good comments fm a few mommies fm the maths class!!!

Hi mummies, I used to cane my daughter very often (usually palm or butt). I'm very strict to her. It's like "I talk, you listen, no argue back" type of approach. As time goes by, I realised my daughter is avoiding me. I'm like a wicked step mother and my poor girl keeps on fall sick. Luckly, someone reminded me and I decided to change. Now, it has been months but I'm still trying. I know my daughter may not be able to accept me so soon but I'm willing to wait. At least now we talk to each other everyday and her health has improved a lot.

So, I hope nobody here will make the same mistake like me. To me, two ways communication is very important.

Dorothy, I like your rewarding ideas. Maybe I should have it for my kids too.

hi rimilyn, yr situation is what i fear most!! esp now, we are expecting no.2... i really dun wan my gal to think that it's cos of no.2 then i started treating her like this....

so i threw my cane away...

heehee... thanks for yr comp!!! i still in the midst of planning what to do... thinking of using stickers but am looking at stickers that are reuseable so that when she misbehave, i can remove some away... also looking at magnet(something like nanny 911 type)...

mummies, give me ideas hor....

We have a checklist of things we want her to accomplish on a daily basis

1. Take care of sister
split into 4 time slot, more manageable.
She gets a sticker for each time slot if she didn't disturb her sister. we phrase it more positively
this worked like a dream so far. She is amicable to her sister ever since we start implementing this reward system

2. Happy girl
again 4 time slot. a sticker for each time slot
what we meant is no tantrum, no crying but phrase it positively
she attempts to control her temper, a great improvement from before

3. homework - 1 sticker for each homework completed

buy smiley face stickers from pasar malam. 10 pieces $1 only

If she fulfills every item in the checklist (no cross), she gets an ice cream for 3 days of full stickers
If there is a cross in any of the item, she still gets an ice cream (must reward for effort) for 5 days with cross

I noticed her crosses are all in the homework section. We are very satisfied with this chart, at least she is not throwing tantrum or disturbing her sister. The chart also helped me to realize she is overloaded in homework, hence I have decided to withdraw her from Kumon Chinese

Erm, hello ladies... just sent out an email to about 7 of you who asked for the charts... if you don't get by tomorrow night, let me know. The Net's a little wonky... takes a while for the emails to get through for some reason.

Hmm, I gave up on rewards... nowadays, it's mostly praise... and ad-hoc rewards which I tell them not to expect... so it's a surprise and they don't come to rely on having rewards. I found that my kids became rather calculative, and will always ask for reward after having done something... which I felt was not going in the right direction.

So I use the charts more as a guide for them to manage their time, and to show how on task they are and how much they have improved in behaviour and the likes.

as for the homework chart... they don't do ALL the items listed everyday... that chart shows all the possible homework they COULD have... but they will put up what they HAVE to complete or can complete before they have to go for class or whatever... so that it's a visual reminder to them that they have to focus, or that they still have certain things to complete, even if it's after class (because usually, after the time after class is play and relax time... which is also not much since their bedtime is 8pm).

hope that helps.

Hmm, an afterthought...

The only person I reward regularly still though is my baby... she is 2.5yo (turns 3 in Nov), and she gets stickers (which she pastes all over herself) for accomplishing things like going potty successfully (now not so often already), practising her violin, managing to play her violin properly... sometimes for not disturbing me in the night and putting herself back to sleep...

Again, I'm not absolutely consistent in giving the stickers... only in the beginning when she is learning the behaviour do I ensure that I reward her consistently, but once she's learnt the behaviour, I will give her a sticker if she asks, or I will taper off then tell her she's a big girl already... no need for stickers because she's already so clever at doing whatever.

My other two (whom I use the charts for) are in K2 and P1 this year... so their treatment is a little different. I will be introducing the homework chart for my baby next year, when she starts N2, and I foresee her having more "homework", both from school and enrichment classes (now she's in childcare 4 days a week, so no homework... but I do work on flashcards and violin and reading with her when she's home the one day a week she doesn't go to childcare... not counting weekends lah).

Rimilyn... hang in there... it's hard to know where to draw the line sometimes.

For me, although I am very strict (in that a lot of things cannot do or say, must follow), I always have a certain routine to disciplining. With me, the kids stand in the corner a lot (meaning this is my most common form of discipine)... 1 minute for every year, so baby stands for 2mins, k2 stands for 5mins (birthday haven't come) etc... After they finished standing, I will call them over and talk to them sternly about what they have done wrong... and make sure they know why they were standing in the corner... after I get them to apologise, I will always give them a hug and cuddle them, and then I will continue about the day as if nothing happened. I won't bring it up again if I can help it (human nature, sometimes will want to dredge up the past lah).

Same for caning or smacking... after doing it, and talking to them and making sure they understand why they cannot do what they did, I will hug them and hold them until they feel at peace... then we forget the whole thing... but pray that they remember the right parts and not repeat the mistake.

I try to make the "punishment" fit the crime - hence the very rare use of the cane. I started this standing in the corner business from the time they are about 15mths old... can stand still, can understand, even if they cannot really communicate well. I did this to set the tone, and to establish a kind of pattern... so that when they really got into the "terrible twos", they were already well trained... and making them stand in the corner wasn't a problem.

I also make sure that they are standing in a particular way when I am scolding them (hands by the side, at attention), and not walking away, running around or anything else. I talk sternly and don't smile at all. But I don't hit in anger... it's not a reaction lah... it's a consequence... I find that children respond to fairness... even the big old teenagers...

so if we hit them in response to their action as a reaction... we do so in anger, and they feel unjustified... but if we are rational about it and explain to them that they must receive the smack or stroke of the cane because of what they did, and they don't feel like we do it because we are angry, then they are more receptive.

I hope this helps.

Hi Dorie, can email to me ([email protected]) the charts when you are free.

Hi Rimilyn, can understand the feeling. I got problem to manage my girl.
My girl said that I am the stepmother. I caned her on hygiene, behaviour and rudeness, never on homework. She is now scared of me.
Great to learn from here and hope that my girl will improve.

Hi all mummies, I am in passive mode but subscribe to this thread. I am FTWM to 6yo dd and 3yo ds.
Hope to come in more often.

Hi Dorie, thanks for the charts. Wow, you seems to be very strict to your kids.

Hi Yap, nice to know you. My daughter never say I'm the stepmother but I personally feel that I behaved like one of them. Try to talk to her often. I'm sure she will close to you again. My son also 3 years old (born in yr 2004). Maybe next time we can chit chat about our sons.

Hi Dorothy, do you ever think of using a whiteboard for your chart? I'm thinking of a "things to do" chart for my daughter without any reward. Any suggestion from mummies here?

Hi hippo, why your chart divided into 4 time slots?

Hi Christina, yr attachment veri nice... but a bit ex.... cos me super lazy n dun know this whole thing will last....

hi Dorie, i still din rec yr sample leh@my yahoo....hopefully, office one rec liao....

hiRimilyn, use white board? then can use magnet is it?

mummies, i getting this from the overseas spree called the responsibilty chart.... i think not bad loh cos other than homework, there are other task like brushing teeth, packing up the room, etc....

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/914048.html?1187238837

I suppose this thread has been fairly inactive recently because it is the CA2 season. I think we mummies are probably more excited about it than our kids. Hope all our kids do well in the CA....

Err, you mean you all have CA? My son only one testing season this year, and it's only SA2... which is a misnomer, because it's actually his first SA. He didn't have one at mid-year, and he's been having little tests but all not counted...

hi dorie, same for my boy. only exam he'll have this year is SA2 although there are plenty of topical tests during this 2nd semester.

I am not sure how many schools have CA for P1 students but I think it is a good experience for my son. He had been doing some mock tests at home and short topical tests in school but it is still better for him to try the real thing in school under a more controlled environment. At home, he always has plenty of excuses - drinks water, goes toilet, talks etc... instead of sitting still for 1.5 hours at one go, which is required in exams. I think I will be quite worried if his first test experience is the final term exams...

Hi dorie and wen,my daughter also only SA2 at the end of the year.

Dorothy, have you received your "Mickey mouse chart" already? I prepared one simple task list for my daughter. She improved a lot. Now, I may prepare one for my son.

Rimilyn, i'm also ordering the mickey chart and we've not received yet. i think my boy will be very "on" to complete tasks based on the chart for the first week but will slacken once the "interest phase" is over

next week holiday liao...guess it's a time for them (more likely us) to prepare for the exams. i hope to find a way to improve his chinese oral.

<font color="ff0000">Ladies,</font>
just wanna share with u the Teacher's Day gifts which I had taught my DD to make. These Japanese Dolls!! She had done the cutting for me n i did the pasting!! hahaha.... Our blood n sweat!!
943627.jpg

943628.jpg

943629.jpg

VQ,
Wow! You really are creative! Very nice dolls there. Thanks for sharing! I went to Popular and bought 3 mugs for my kid's English, Maths and Chinese teachers, and got two photo frames for her PE and Calligraphy teachers.
Actually she wanted to buy fake flowers for the teachers, but I know that most teachers just throw the fake flowers away a few weeks later. I thought it will be a waste so I asked her not to buy them.
Have been tied up with my kid's CA as well. And struggling with my workplace's admin department. It's incredible just how inefficient they are - take more than 2 months (and still pending) to process one miserable form. And it has to do with my pay. The admin really makes me highly stressed up. On top of my own work, I seem to have to prepare an extra set of documents for them all the time - left my form on the tray for one whole month, lost my 'certified true copy' transcript, lost the letter that states the reason for my leave, didn't give me a letter that's rightfully mine. And it's just within a span of barely 4 months. It makes me lose my faith in the admin people. I really could do the job for them. It would be much less stressful. Stupid them.

Wah VQ, those looks like alot of effort and the dolls are so pretty! i'm still not sure if i'm getting anything for the teachers leh. You mean all of you are getting ah?

One of his classmate's parent was saying she plan to get cookies and i imagine the teachers having too much to eat if many parents get those hehe..

Wen,
When my kid was in nursery and came her first Teachers' Day experience, I was busy at work myself and forgot all about preparing presents for her teachers. Can you imagine how left out she must have felt when all the kids ran up to the teachers with presents and cards while she didn't have any to give?
In the silence of the night, I suddenly remembered that her nursery might have celebrated Teachers' Day. She wasn't asleep yet, but lying on the bed quietly - unusually quiet for that day. I told her,"We'll go and get a present for your teacher over the weekend ok?" and she immediately answered with a look I never quite forget,"And make a card!"
Guilt overwhelmed me. I promised myself I will never overlook all these details again.
Besides, your kid is in 'that kind' of school. You better prepare something for him to give. haha ...

I have been helping my son with his lantern making competition and Be Yourself Day for this Friday - no time to make anything for the teachers. I intend to teach him to create some electronic cards and email them to his teachers.

I prefer not to buy any gift off the rack because the cheap ones are not very useful and will probably land in the trash bin ultimately and I can't possibly buy expensive ones....

<font color="ff0000">Rains/Wen,</font>
i m not creative... not difficult to make, very easy only.. in fact, i learn fm a bookmark which my fren gave it to me during our secondary schooldays..

i do understand when parents bought teachers' gift instead.. bcos they r busy working... whereas for me, i m SAHM.. m very free mah! hahaha...

i dont usually buy gifts for my DD's teachers. i told her to make them herself as she is a student.

i m glad that my DD's kindergarten teachers told me last year that they alway look forward to receiving gifts fm my DD as they wont know what DIY gifts they r getting.. hehehe....

i think get some gifts for their teachers.. what if everybody give except 1 child. who knows? this child will get "takan" on off by the teacher or not?? hehehe.... no need very exp stuff... handmade cards also can...

hey, need to give teachers in enrichment classes or not?