MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Wen,
I'm not too sure yet...he came back with a black face. Anyway, I dare not expect too much after he said Maths and Science were tough.

80 for Chinese is good

When my son missed out 1 page of questions during revision, he told me the pages were stuck together too. Like you said, it's clear he just didnt' bother to check. Hopefully he did not do that for SA2. It's such a silly mistake and heartache to miss out precious marks.

Exam stress...now waiting for results equally bad. I hope my efforts will be paid off too.

Last week, my son came back with a sad face and told me that he didn't get Band 1 for a mocked English Exam Paper because he didn't have the comprehension passage. By the time he discovered it, it was too late and he didn't manage to complete the comprehension questions. This really taught him a lesson and I told him to check for complete set of papers before doing and after completion.

Jess,
Fortunately it was just a mock paper or else it will be such a heartache. Really gotta teach kids to check for missing pages and questions, not just their work.

My kid did very badly for her SA2. She got 69 for Science - Band 3. I broke down when I looked thro the papers. It was a terribly easy paper and the marking was so generous. And she couldn't get the textbook facts right even. It only tells me that she hasn't been paying attention in class.

I cried bcos I felt like a complete fool for cooping myself up at home for her sake for 9 long years. It's always work and home, work and home. I felt so cheated that she didn't even give two hoots about school when I wake up at 5am every day to prep her for school. She's only interested in playing a fool in school.

I was so angry I told her that if she wants to play in school only, we don't have to wake up at 5am every day and pay $130 school bus fees to play. There's a school right next to our block and she can rot there.

P3 has been a playing year for her. She always comes home with rubbish (literally) and doesn't pay attention in class. I thought as long as she knows what she's doing, I'm fine with it. Apparently, she doesn't. I told her she'll have to study every day for the holidays since she hasn't studied for the whole year. And she'll need to revise her P3 work altho technically, she really ought to be prepping for P4 instead.

I've let her have her way for too long.

yawn yawn,
sorry that i did not go into this forum for so long. Joanna Chu Language Centre is located at Clementi Central (Clementi MRT station). They have creative writing classes for both Eng & Chinese. But, Chinese classes are quite new, started only beginning this year. My girl attends their Eng creative writing class only. So I do not know much abt their chinese class.

Rains,
exams are over, results are confirmed. Do not feel so depressed. Children can't perform well now are not confirmed to have bad results in future. Don't demoralize them. I believe with lots of encouragement, your girl will excell one day. Don't be so sad la, accept her results now and help her to prepare for next year.

Rains, back when my boy turned in a poor result for his MT, I was as upset as you. I can't believe he can fail a test after we've spent so much on his enrichment. If he gets such results in P3, I can hardly imagine what it'll be like for his PSLE. I was really frustrated but I didn't scold him coz I can sense he was feeling demoralised. Instead, I grumbled alot to those around me in the hope that I can find a way to help him.

In extreme desperation, I had thoughts of loading him with never-ending MT practice papers and assessments. Then I spoke to his chinese speech drama teacher. He advised me not to push him too much as it may have adverse effects. Give him more encouragement etc. I agreed and decided not to carry out my desperate plan ;p

Instead of forcing him to revise everyday, I eased up and just asked him to do the assessments I bought beginning of the year if he has time. I praise him when he gets correct answers for the whole section but secretly I lowered my expectation (to avoid getting heart attack again). Of coz I added a carrot and told him he gets to exchange a completed assessment book (without too many mistakes) for any new story book. It sort of worked coz he was actually desperate to finish it (it's thin anyway).

Rains, I hope you feel better after you have calmed down. As parents we can get worked up easily over our kid's yo-yo results. But we have to recognise that the kids themselves are likely stressed out and feeling demoralised when they turn in lower than expected results even though they don't show outwardly.

Mommies, any holiday plans? We're planning a trip to Perth in december...ya I know it'll be hot but we're there to attend something and take opportunity to tour since never been there. We'll be staying with relatives most part but plan to drive south to Albany for 2 nights...heard it has nice scenery. Looking forward

Err, sorry for the long post ;p

Thanks, keyt and Wen,

Yeah, I've calmed down and mulled over her poor results these few days.

Yes, I was worried over her PSLE results when she's bringing home this kinda shitty results at P3. She has a dream secondary school and I told her that she would not be able to go there even if she gets 85 for all subjects, much less this kinda results.

I plan to get her to finish up the P3 assessment books I bought her this year as post-exam revision since she's done so badly. It shows that she doesn't even have the content knowledge of the textbook for Science in particular, so I would like to go thro with her on the content. I thought your method, Wen, on hanging a carrot for finishing the books was ingenious. I'll do that as well. Thanks for sharing!

Actually, I did have plans to take her to Australia if she did well for her SA2, but I've decided to call it off for obvious reasons. In any case, I took her to Taipei during the Sept hols, so she's had her 'reward' even before she earned it. I suspect this is largely why she doesn't see the need to work hard.

I wonder if VQ and dorothy are still around.

Wen, we are going to Perth too, can't wait for the holidays to start!

Rains, does your kid feel bad about getting poor results as well? I think if the kid is "bochap", it spells a bigger problem. But if she minds, then at least she will want to do better the next time and that is where you can help her. And it shouldn't be too late to catch up because she is smart.

If she is the "bochap" type, you will need to find out more. I know that some kids thrive better when they can lead from the front. In your case, your child may feel demoralised if she fails to see results after working hard because it is very competitive in her class.

Jess,

I wouldn't say she's either. She only knew that I'd be very upset with her results, but she wasn't too bothered by them herself. I thought she was complacent. All along, she doesn't put in alot of effort and it's ok at P1 and 2 becos the work was alot easier. I suppose she feels that the same will apply at P3.

I'm not sure how to handle her becos she likes to compare herself with classmates who don't do well. I know that saying "You have to compare yourself with those who are better" won't work becos I was like that when I was young.

Rains,
Comparing with someone who is worse off is for self-consolation and sometimes a form of self-denial.

My boy sometimes does the same thing too. But I always tell him that when the test or exam is over, it is already a done deal. It is no point crying over spilled milk but looking at how well the better ones did can help him find out what he could have potentially achieved. That is healthy competition and that is what he has been taught in his fencing class - accepting defeat with grace but always striving to do better the next time.

My son didnt do well for his SA2. For Maths, he has 60% only. For his results tis year, he didn't do well at all.

I guess the kids didnt realize that there is indeed a big jump from P2 to P3. Hopefully, he will strive and get motivated to work harder next year.

Wen/Rains,
I've given my son 1 week off after his exams. For the rest of Nov/Dec, he will have to finish all the rest of his assessment books. Or else I dare not imagine what will be in his brain when school reopens. Now, I dare not imagine what his overall results for P3 be.

Thanks, Jess,

That's some education there for me ie. about comparing with someone worse off.

Yesterday I chanced upon my kid's photographs when she was 2 and 3 years old. I was "Gosh! Was she ever so little? I always treat her as if she's a big kid, and she looked like she was a baby!" It makes me feel guilty for being so harsh on her oftentimes.

I really wish I can be like you mummies. You always sound gracious, encouraging and loving to me. How do you do it? What are the encouraging words you use? I lose my temper at my kid easily, especially when she doesn't listen to me, or does things slowly. Now I get flustered at her results and tend to lose my patience with her even more easily. I feel like the lousiest mother on the face of this earth.

Hi Rains,
I do feel extremely guilty after punishing him. He is in a SAP school, and the papers are getting tougher. Carelessness wise, I see a drop fortunately.

I caned him yesterday for talking back...something which I cannot tolerate. Hubby & I are upset over his results, but what can be done ? My son should learn a lesson to strive and be motivated to work harder.

Starting from today, he will have to finish up the rest of the assessment books.

I am sure all sane parents don't feel good scolding their kids. But I make it a point to explain properly after a harsh scolding or apologise if I over-react.

My boy managed to get 90 or above for all subjects but he knew that he could have done better if not for his own complacency and carelessness. We hope his has learnt his lesson and will do better the next time.

rains,
Why don't you try this method? I write short note to my girl in her sch students' dairy (at the parent's column) everyday. She will read in sch and reply my message. I write encouragement words and loving words there, and remember to end up writing "I love you". When she got problem, she will write too.
I read to them a goodnite story, give a goodnite kiss and hug every nite. They enjoy all these and always understand that we treasure them.
Of course, in time of misbehave, we score and punish them by taking away their favourite past time like computer or tv time etc, remembering to explain clearly their bad behaviour. We refrain from buying cane and allow them to tell us their views openly.
My girl did very well in this exam. She is not the clever type but think that she is motivated.
Use "carrot" method. We discussed and came out a list of rewards when near to exams. The list : if 4 band 1 then ....; if 3 band 1 and 1 band 2 then .......; if 2 band 1 and 2 band 2 then..... No punishment if she didn't do well in exam, she would only lose her rewards. Rewards can be also like going to a meal at an expensive restaurant which we very seldom go.
Hope these help.
Janet,
When children talk back and you cane them, don't you afraid that they will seal their mouths in future? I'm always afraid of this because my sister's son is like that. My sister will not allow her son to talk back when he is a child, ended up her son talks lesser and lesser to her till now her son will keep everything to himself. I won't stop my children from talking back because I want to listen to their views too. But, will guide them along.

Dear marks-concerned mummies

Only when I signed in this morning, i didnt know this thread till Jess highlighted 'Nov 12'' scolding post -- did i chance upon yr group.

I dont post quite often unless i feel,basically i come in on and off to feel the "atmosphere" of the moment and heated discussion Test papers- i specifically all ears -
I rest n relax in Jan 2009 while taking care of my new born and my P3 Son is .. performing below his par- To give a specific eg. he didn't hand me
the results of his Chinese compo and onlywhen
he's supposed go school in the morning did he pass up his 'lame 11/20'' compo marks for his
dad to sign -- I think he''s scared tt i would scold him badly -- So I agree to simmer like the rest of you and take one step at a time ,
following comments by Rain n JessChan.

Looks like the above passage is badly post. Sorry, new to the system n would like to learn the ropes of quotin ''certain '' threads but wasnt sure how. i a bit shy cos I'm quite direct person- dunno how to present ''nicely''open statement. Plus quite a impatient and bad -tempered mom, esp. when P3 gets to irritate my younger new born. Am reading certain post on how to coach/guide child in telling truth..I sx wonder whether it's becos son feelin jealous and how i should be 'better'' to him so he don think i luv his younger sis more.

Wow, I seem to strike Gold fm Keyt's Advice,

Bravo Keyt! Good, Sound "Jing yi liang yuan.''(?How to type in chinese character here)
Yep, Hightime to write to miboy how i feel than just nag over his results. As usual,Chinese Culture seldom give encouragement and ,guan1 xin1;hug hug ; notes but i think Good to Try

Keyt,
He was rude...something which I couldn't tolerate.

Familyfirst,
Welcome

I can understand your feelings...a newborn and a 9 year old son. Tendency for older child to have some jealousy esp after 9 years being the only child. Explain to him slowly that he is the 哥哥 and have to look after younger siblings. Occasionally, leave your newborn with reliable family members and bring your son out to let him know he is still loved.

Janet
I can't stand it too when my dd is rude. She has mood swing & get agitated easily & always take it out on me. I know I can defuse her with humour, by teasing her or telling her a goofy joke. But sometimes she stretch my patience too far so I can't be bothered to tolerate her nonsense then we start arguing. We are a squabbling pair

keyt
My dd did alright for her SA2, slightly below my expectation as I feel that some marks were lost unnecessarily. I don't have reward system. I feel that she should study for her own sake, not because I ask her to. Nevertheless, I surprise her with a present because she did put in effort.

hi janet , keyt, yawn2

thks for the welcome. It always feel good when someone take time to respond.just asked my hubby how to write 华文 and realise took me a few clicks to look for chinese words. Btw, like to highlight that myson simply dislike learning to write chinese words -i give him 听写 n he refuse
to copy out and write properly. After correcting his mistakes, he just scribble the corrected words all over the paper! he even cries if I ask him repeatedly to recopy! Holiday period now is worse- cos i give him additional worksheet without adult supervision- he willwrite and cancel and rewrite answers in ugly handwriting and say he skipped becos very difficult.

yawn
I havn't reward him yet, all i mention is i wait till i receive his rank in class.
Was wondering what presents did yawn buy.

yawn
just wondering
i thought my boy will be more rebellious and didnt think yr gal is also same - i just don't really know how to joke - i get irritated when
i feel that he always don't pack his own bag and
dad always get ready his stuff for school- such as forgotten pencilcase and homework to passup.

Familyfirst,
My 4-turning-5 yr old daughter is rebellious too...cant imagine what I'm going to do with her.
He has to write out the Chinese words for spelling but that is what his teacher wants him to do. My son's handwriting is ugly too.

hi janet, jesschan rains, keyt, yawn yawn, wen
i not sure whether did i miss out anyone

just recently i checked into american website, 'www.twittermoms.com 'n realised that they have very practical methods to 'stop' bad behaviour to quote an example, one mum suggests to 'deposit savings' by minus the 'child account'whenever the child misbehaves. A lot of mum praise that it works, on children about K2 to14 years of age. if you like to read, can visit <An Idea On How to Make Money Repeating Yourself
Posted by Beth Ann Bentley on November 3, 2009 at 9:48am> .

hi familyfirst,

Thanks for sharing the link! It sounds like a great tip for getting the kids to behave, but it may not work for mine becos I never let her spend her savings. Once it's saved, it's off to the bank account. I'm thinking of letting her spend some money after saving up, but I haven't thought of an ideal situation. I don't want her to starve herself during recess just to save up for what she wants. I know she's capable of doing that.

hey familyfirst,

I just want to let you know I just tried it out on my kid. I announced to her at 7.45 am that I'll confiscate 20 cents from her if I have to repeat what I said and she reluctantly said it's fair.

So within 30 mins of the announcement, I got 20 cents liao. She made me repeat "Play the song on the correct keys".

But it was effective in getting her to brush her teeth and using her seretide (for asthma). Usually I have to repeat myself to death before she go brush her teeth and use her seretide.

Thanks for the great tips!

To all moms n Rains

Great to hear yr feedback, for cases that i repeat, please don't lie on the floor,remember to
switch of the internet, don't disturb the baby
and keep yr hands to yourself - i have 30X3 =90c.
Becos P3 is a case of wilful non-compliance, he is not so forthright in handling over his money and he drew me fake coins. Irefuse to accept and reasoned that this will teach him the valueof money so that he can be good in maths. ( He luv
to calculate (literary) n quite proud of his math

To all moms n Rains

Great to hear yr feedback, for cases that i repeat, please don't lie on the floor,remember to
switch of the internet, don't disturb the babyand keep yr hands to yourself - i have 30X3 =90c.
Becos P3 is a case of wilful non-compliance, he is not so forthright in handling over his money and he drew me fake coins. Irefuse to accept and reasoned that this will teach him the valueof money so that he can be good in maths. ( He luv to calculate (literary) n quite proud of his math)

Rain
My younger sister used to have asthmatic condition from young and till abt 20year of age.
We stop her fm drinking soft drinks and orange juice ..hav a tendency to cause phlegm in the throat. Anyway, allthis has help her and her conditioN is much better becos she's not on any medication now and is a BELiever of 'organic food'. aLSO watch some documentary sometIME ago
that said certain exerciSe like swimming -- might help because aerobic Exercise.

hi familyfirst,

I had asthma myself so she inherited it from me. Yeah, we always tell her to abstain from cold drinks and sweets but I'm not sure if she follows the instruction thro when I'm not with her, plus my sisters and father will 'give chance' whenever I'm not around - they always say 'only once or twice, so it's ok' - so it's problematic for me to control her tendency to take cold drinks.

Rains,
Having asthma really gotta take care.
I know of a friend who has this and loves to eat cold stuff...wetting her bed often as such.

hiya mummies,

Have Wen and Jess gone to Perth?

Share with us what's fun there when you come back ok?

Although I told my kid I'm not taking her anywhere, for the benefit of my parents, I'm taking them up north to genting, so that means I've to bring my kid along.

Janet, keyt yawnyawn and familyfirst,

What are you doing during the hols?

Hello hello, I'm going on Thursday...will share when I'm back. We are not animal nor wine people so unlikely to visit farms or vineyards though.

Mommies, you bought next year's assessment books? So far I've gotten Chinese published by SAP and will be getting Andrew Er's maths. I've not decided on English and Science. Any recommendations?

From his SA2 paper I can see he lost marks in cloze passage (the section with no helping words) as well as compre so I'm looking for assessment books in these areas. For science, will try to look for those on processing skills.

hi wen,

I thought people go to Perth to hug the koalas and get up close to the kangaroos, and feed the lambs.

For assessment books, my husband bought one Maths, which also happens to be written by Andrew Er, one English (Grammar and Vocab MCQ by Educational Publishing House - which I thought is a waste of time to practise becos I find that this kind doesn't help to retain), one Chinese (4A 冠军王) by EPB. I thought it too easy, but my husband said my kid can't even do simple Chinese now, so it's good for her.

I vaguely remember buying a Creative Writing book for my kid, but I don't know where it's gone to.

Ya, haven't got anything on Science, basically becos I haven't finished with her on the P3 Science book yet.

Oh oh, wen, has Learning Lab got back to you yet? I actually faxed over a form to them a few weeks ago for English, but they haven't got back to me at all. So inefficient ah?

Rains, jess, wen, keyt
Happy Holiday - enjoy the Xmas joys and breath the fresh air ( take in plently to recharge for the new year ) Everyone needs it!!

I'm kiasu now - have signed up him for Chinese compo enrichment for holiday program. Will keep him busy for now. Yesterday wanted to go fishing
but the weather was so hot late in the afternoon around 4- 6.00pm.

Oops, janet and yawn2 &amp; anyone i missed in this forum also mummy dears

This few days i seem to lose temper easily.. Anyone has any tips on calming down.. like b4 you speak, do sth..! I just got irritated as my
helper sometimes gives baby"non-edible yakult bottle "to bite." Also she will just take any cloth to wipe her if she did not find the 'face towel'.
I don't think i have overloaded her with our housework .. becos there only hubby, me and my 2 kids and she need to do basic cleaning of household - like mop/ washing dish/ clothes.
Anyone have experience in training ? please advice?

haha, familyfirst,

Your maid sounds like my mother leh. My mother will also use soiled laundry to wipe my baby's face if she finds my baby's face dirty.

Er, what's wrong with giving the yakult bottle to bit huh? Is it the ink or the plastic contains some chemicals not suitable for babies? I let my baby bite almost anything leh. Sometimes I feel that too hygienic also no good.

As for calming down, how about counting under your breath till 20 or more till you don't feel so angry anymore before you speak?

Rain -
i dunno if i can try to do counting..i think
Maybe it's part of the "wait for school to reopen'' Blues .. as Nobody to take charge of kids idleing !!
one mum comment that becos'hot explode temper' due to feeling unable to accomplish sth that aim to do '

just to share, browse thru 1parentblog n it give advices on pick up a hobby, relax and importantly.. to keep family together..
Yap, wonderful that you really book a trip
out of town.. i've been Genting twice n its so good with the buffet!

Hi! I just came back from Perth on Saturday. It was a nice break from the hectic life in Spore. A typical day for us starts from 10am and ends by 8pm - there isn't much night life in Perth.

My boys enjoyed feeding the farm animals, playing by the beach and doing simple stuff. They also saw a real fire place for the first time at a farm house in Margaret River. In fact, when I asked my older one to write about the trip, he described at length about having fish and chips while watching the sunset at Cottesloe Beach and chasing birds away from our food!

Now it is back to Singapore lifestyle. I have also signed up my boys for a week of Chinese enrichment class this week.

Wow, Jess, that sounds so good and relaxing! How many days were you there? Was it a free and easy or group tour? Did you take pictures with koalas? Hahaha, I sound like a kid huh.

familyfirst,
You wouldn't believe it. This is my first time I go Genting. I bet the whole of Singapore has been there before. The thing that deters me from venturing there is the long coach trip and the cold air for my kid's asthma. I get carsickness. So I hope I'll be alright for this trip. And I heard that Genting is no longer as cold as last time, so I hope my kid will be fine too.

Rains,
Nothing exciting this hols. Every morn, getting my son to do a few pages of Eng &amp; Maths...mainly finishing up as many P3 assessment books as possible b4 end Dec. Boring right ?

My son was taught 'Systems' and 'Diversity' this year, so the other 3 topics will be covered next yr. I bought both the 'Lower Block Science P3/4'. Next year will be using the other P3 book.
For Eng, he is doing Yang Su-Yin's Grammar &amp; Vocab (EPH), Cloze, Comprehension. Have to keep him on his toes. But we will play Wii when he has done his work.

Rains, Learning Lab hasn't given my boy a place yet...they only called me couple weeks ago to ask for his SA2 results. After that no news, maybe low priority since he has average results. I'll let you know when they do offer him a place.

Hey Jess, I also plan to watch sunset at Cottesloe Beach
Any flies while you were there? Heard they appear during summer.

Passionkids, I signed my boy for Robotics workshop at Science Center. So far no academic classes for him during this holiday. He's still attending student care.

Janet, I am also asking my boy to complete remaining assessment books. The Chinese past year papers that I bought few months ago are still untouched. Luckily I didn't buy other subjects else will be such a waste.

Wen,
I usually keep aside some assessment books for him to do during June/Dec hols...reason is to keep his mind working.

Familyfirst,
I think you gotta tell the maid that she HAS to use the baby's towel to clean her and not anything within her reach.
I have cloth for drying bowls/cleaning dining table, cloth for cleaning the stove, cloth for tabletops/TV tops. Very fussy, but no choice.
Set her a time-table, it will help somewhat.

School holiday

Shortlisted holiday writing classes for my dd1 at nearby CC. None for my dd2. I try not to sign up too many as Dec always raining, very troublesome to send/fetch lor. My plan for this holiday is let them practice piano at home &amp; maybe catch up on the left over assessment books. Ad-hoc basis bring them for mall shows or movies

I brought them to Orchard for 'fantastic Mr Fox' last week. My kids said movie nice. They have read the book so they find it amusing to watch its movie adaption. I've not read the book, movie so-so leh. We also went goat farm &amp; Qian Hu. The koi very well fed there, we bought the koi food but they obviously had a feast, not interested in eating

mommies

your kids taking piano? with music school or private?
music school more expensive leh, $40/hr very heartpained lah. Since all leading to same graded exam, I'm thinking of switching to private teacher. But hubby said school better, has chance to perform twice a year. Aiya, can't decide

by the way, popular bookfest from 11 Dec at Suntec. usually good discount for assessment books although now popular also having 20% for members

yawnyawn,

My kid is taking piano with music school.

Yes, I agree that school is better. I've tried out 2 private teachers. Not as good. In fact, the last one cheated my money. Private ones don't have a sense of obligation and responsibility to prepare your kid for exam, and some, like my last tutor, don't have integrity.

And from what I know, private ones are more expensive, esp full-time ones. When it comes to tutoring, it's better not to go for cheap ones - the previous two tutors are cheap, but two years of my kid's time is wasted. The cheapest I sourced online recently from those tutors' websites is $180 for 4 hours. Another one charges at $220. They are all for grade one.

typo, it's $40 per 45 minutes.

rains

thanks for your feedback

wow! $180-$220 is expensive. Master teacher?
I thought market rate is around $120-$150 for every block of 4 lessons for teachers with diploma.

Does your dd's music teacher teach aural every lesson?

My dd seems very weak in aural...
hopefully not a hinderance to her piano learning

No lah. They are also very young teachers. But I can't remember their qualifications. Maybe degree?

My dd is still playing pieces prior to learning grade one. I don't think she's started doing aural yet. I've only started with this school for three lessons.

Rains,
We were there for 8 full days - free and easy. I did the trip planning and preparations and my hubby did the driving, with the help of a rented GPS. No, we didn't take pix with koalas, did that during the previous trips to Sydney and Gold Coast. My older boy really loves feeding animals and the younger one prefers theme park rides, but both love the beach.

Wen,
There is no flies at Cottesloe Beach, just plenty of birds eyeing our food. But Margaret River has plenty of flies and other bugs - quite irritating. The weather is generally ok, but can be quite windy from late afternoon onwards. So unless you are watching sunset, it is better to go to the beach in the morning. Are you on own driving plan as well? Where are you visiting?

My younger boy used to take piano lessons from Musictec but he has since stop taking lessons - because he is too lazy to practise at home and his teacher left for Canada for a 6-month study attachment. The teacher is very good and patient and my boy really enjoys taking lessons from him. In fact, recently he was asking me to let him take piano lesson again but it has to be the same teacher.