Lonely SAHM...

loppi_tan

I am a lonely mother of two kids. Most of my friends drifted apart from me as most of them are either not married or without children.

I enjoy cooking, educating my children, art and music. Any lonely mother shares similar interest and want to be friends with me?

Hi Lonely Mother

It normal to get drifted apart with friends when you are a SAHM. Also I guess we don't have much time to meet up with them, kiddies would have taken too much of our time. Don't get too upset over it.

Hee... I also enjoy cooking. My baby is too small so cannot educate yet.

Hi. I'm a SAHM of a 6 yrs old gal and a 8 mth old gal. I also love cooking, baking. Looking forward to hear from you soon!

Hi.

I'm a SAHM and new to this website. It would be nice to know more SAHMs. If anyone knows the active threads for SAHMs - let me know so that I can join.

I wish I could dedicate more time to my interests but being a SAHM to boy (4 yrs old) and girl (2.5 years) is trying! Know what I mean.

i'm a SAHM with 2.5 year old boy. no full time nor part-time helper so always feel that housework is never-ending even though i only have 1 kid. i like to cook too, but nowadays i only stick to simple dishes due to time constraint.

nice to know all of you!

I'm a SAHM with 22months old boy.. i agree that housework is never-ending.. n it's sumtimes very tiring to look after him.. n still have to deal w his tantrums..
Nice to know all of you n hope to hear from all of you soon!

Hello! Yes! A SAHM thread =)

I am taking care of 8mth old bb girl. Currently staying with mom so can take care together but would be moving out in July when house is ready =)

Hey playfulfairy, I am learnin to bake too! Used the Planta, yucks.. the cupcakes are awful!

I stay in Yishun... How about you mommies?

And soon, I will be doin the never ending housechores....

I am not a SAHM but working mother. I am also looking for like-minded mothers to gather with. I am also residing in Yishun. PM me for chat whoever is interested. I have a 3months+ BB girl.

Hi, how about enjoy baking with your children? Would like to share this VERY KAWAII Hello Kitty Cookie Mould, winnie-e-pooh Cake Mould & various Mickey Mouse moulds too!
http://toyhobbyspecialist.blogspot.com/
2619519.jpg

I'm a SAHM at Sengkang,
will be back to work in January when our #3 is 18mths old to go child care center.

Hi, I am SAHM with 3 kids at Hougang, same as yoou, my friends also drifted apart from me, moreover I am a foreigner, my life even more lonely and helpless, tears and sorrow are my friends who accompany these years

<font color="aa00aa">poormum,

My heart goes out to you. I'm a SAHM with a 3mth+ baby. My hubby works overseas and hardly comes back.

It can be really lonely, stressful and frustrating. My friends are either not married or don't have children so they don't understand what being a SAHM is like. And because I'm so busy with baby, I hardly meet up or talk to them anymore and so naturally, we drift apart.

Where are you from poormum? And how old are your kids now?</font>

Hi, highheels,
I am from Malaysia, but i hardly go back as very difficult to travel with 3 kids, they are 5 yrs old girl, 3 yrs old boy and 17 mths old girl..
family also seldom visited me as they feeling insulted where in in laws( FIL,SIL) all look down on Malaysian...sickening!!!

Not only I am a lonely SAHM but also a LAZY one too! Hahahahhaahaha!!

Actually is my gal not very friendly leh. Very clingy to me, I go out also no fun wor!!

Wonder if got kids around then she'll go mingle and leave me alone? =)

<font color="aa00aa">jntt,

Ya, we should but maybe we shd wait till this H1N1 situation dies down. I'm super paranoid now.

How old are your kids??

Katie's mom,

My baby is 3.5mths' old and she is starting to cling to me. I can sense her tension whenever she sees strangers. Guess it's like that when mothers are the primary caregivers.</font>

highheels, good to see u here! How are u managing?

Mine just turned 1 YO and still clingy and afraid of strangers. I always bring her out one leh!!! When others carry comment that i should bring her out, i told them i did!!

Then I tot mine got Autism cuz she like afraid of people. I brought her to the PD for the 1st time n I became joke of the day.......... doc told me it's normal that when others carry her she'll be afraid cuz she's only 1! Hahahahaahhaa.....

Poormum, 3 kids!!!! I tink got good and bad right? At least they will play with themselves and u can do your chores but I hope your ears are still good then! Hahaha! I so bad. Cuz I been watching Jon &amp; Kate Plus 8, the american family with twins and sexuplets (6 babies). I think they powerful lar! Can tahun the noise and endless diaper changing and wow, the laundry!

If you are bored at home, why not spend some time to watch 弟子规? (Standards for being a Good Student and Child) It is an ancient book based on the teaching of the great Confucius that emphasises on the basic requisites for being a good person and guidelines for living in harmony with others. The source for the main outline of it is from Analects of Confucius, Book 1, Chapter 6, where Confucius said:

A young man should be a good son at home and an obedient young man abroad, sparing of speech but trustworthy in what he says, and should love the multitude at large but cultivate the friendship of his fellow men. If he has any energy to spare from such action, let him devote it to making himself cultivated.

And here's a translation more faithful to the original Chinese text than James Legge's 19th century version above:

A student should be good to his parents at home and respectful to elders outside, be reverent and trustworthy, love all universally, and draw close to kind-hearted people. If he has energy to spare, then he should study writings.

There are altogether seven chapters in Di Zi Gui with each chapter listing one duty that a good person should follow in life.

This will help you in teaching your children to be a moral and responsible person in the future.

I have several copies of DVD (in chinese) available, I will mail to you for free if you are keen. Thanks.

Hi michael,

Thanks for the offer, I like these kind of teachings too.. But my girl too young leh.. Only 1 YO, for me still need few years than can show to her!! So I hope that mommies with older kids can watch it!!

Hi Katie,

Kids learn through adult's action. When adults learn it and display it through their actions, the kids will learn them quickly as well.

aiyoh...3 kids, thats y i m going crazy, they r fighting each other instead playing..snatch toys, things, ...etc..disturbing each other, only work together to drive me into nuts and work together to throw things and mess up the house....fainting!!
sometimes, i feel like just to walk off from the house and dun bother liao..but cant bear to leave them..............

poormum,
educate them to keep their toys,
kids learn thru fighting &amp; snatchings,
like in animal world.

How old are they?

they are 5 yrs old girl, 3 yrs old boy and 17mths girl.. i did educate them, sometimes I persuade softly, sometimes scold them and use cane to frighten them, but none can make them listen to me....only when i say I m going off without them, n i pretending to go off...then eldest will cry n start to keep things n toys, trying to be good with siblings...but, i dun think that's good to them..sigh

Poormum... Me only got a YO gal n I am already having the same thouoght as u liao!! She's so clingy man. Yanking whole day then i do things she hug my thighs and then I like dragging her around most of the day! hahahahahahhaha! Dono to laugh or to cry....

tanlengleng, how u educate ur darling to keep toys? From how old can teach. Mine like living in her own world like that. Teach her things she not interested. I sometimes think that something is wrong with her leh?

Wah, poormum!! Such hectic workload u have! OMG!

Imagine having PMS and then gotta face your 3 little devils! I was getting dizzy spells even without PMS now.......

Really at lost facing her! Always seem like other kids more obedient leh?

Katie's mom,
about 18-20th months old,
child care center taught them too.

Clingy is a problem with having single child,
with 2 or more, they'll play (or fight) together.

Grass is always greener on the other side,
other people's children are always more obedient...

poormum,
wah biang, this age can use the cane already!!!
I ever gave my elder 2s a good caning that they'll never forget,
now talk about cane they'll be obedient already...

I have a 5yr old girl, 3.5yr old boy &amp; a 1 yr old boy,
quite close to yours.

highheels, yes we should wait until the H1N1 situation is not so terrible! me now in bkk, had wanted so much to bring my girl with me, but think the situation here is worse! so had to leave her @ home....

btw, my girl is 6months 3 weeks old.. just a couple of months older than yours. where do u stay?

aiyoh... Leng Leng, quite difficult leh, I am staying with in law, he is my kids' super strong 靠山, whenever I scold them, he black face already, if I cane them, he refuse to talk to all of us and hide himself into his MASTER bedroom....sian!!!

poormum,
yah, at grandma's place my daughter will also hide behind grandma,
there was once I'm so mad, I told her,
I'll cane grandma with you if grandma sheild you,
my MIL went to her kitchen &amp; hide, without my DD.

Leng Leng,
You are so cute!!!! but if I said that sentence to my kids, the old man surely not happy one lah.... he is a very strange person...sian..
when my kids sick, i say xx is sick, then he'll scold me,"dun any how say hor!!nothing happen, only u always say they r sick..&amp; if when they r really very sick, then i cant say the word sick also, only cant say not feeling well...he is siao right???this is only 1 example, walau..everyday encounter different funny things, sometimes, i really feel like commit suicide leh....

katie's mum,

work load really too much for me....so no need to go slimming centre, no need to take slimming pills...nothing..after gave birth 3 times, still at 52 kgs although during pregnancy, my weight can shoot up to 75kgs.....haha...there is once, i m only 48kgs, now gained some weight liao...
really siong!!!!

poormum,
that's call "denial"...

Sometimes by denying, then will not be sick,
when you say sick, the child may act more sick to catch attention.

<font color="aa00aa">Katie's mum,

My baby is almost 4 months' old. She is more aware now but also naughtier! Plus, she has learnt to flip and can't stop flipping. Middle of the night also want to flip. I have to watch her constantly.

Tan Leng Leng,

Wow, you have 3 kids like poormum! I wanted 3 kids when I first got married but now...no way!!!</font>

my kids like to sick, cos they can take the medicine, always asking for those syrup type medicine even they arre not sick, i think maybe it's sweet, my bb girl can even clap her hands when she saw I am giving her, and cry when I did not give to her....

Highheels, it must be tiring now as bb likes to flip so much! She's zzzz in bed wz u or in her cot/playpen? Mine in playpen cuz she's a very chor lor. Wakes up dono the head facing where liao...

Poormum, your FIL got so many comments but never help out that type? Then must be very irritating and shiong man!

My gal got 2 knobs on her head... Born devil. I gotta buy 3 canes and tie together make it into a thick rod, cuz 1 cane no power!

<font color="aa00aa">Leng Leng,

I used to really love big families and really, truly wanted 3 kids. But this baby of mine is driving me crazy. She naps in the day in 30min spurts, wakes up every 2 hours at night, don't know for what. And she doesn't settle back to sleep easily.

Really tiring and frustrating. Plus hubby works overseas so I have no help here too.

So after this baby, I'm terrified of having more. Plus, having a baby is tremendously expensive...

I really admire women like you who are able to handle 3 kids though. I doubt I would be able to do it.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">poormum,

Wah, your baby likes medicine! When my baby developed fever after her jab last week, and I gave her liquid Panadol, she screamed and struggled like crazy.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Katie's mom,

My girl is very chor lor too! She sleeps in her cot and will keep wiggling throughout the night. Sometimes will accidentally knock her head too.</font>

highheels,
she's still very young, this is only a growing up phase,
at about 2 yr old, it'll be worse, cause she's lonely &amp; need you as a playmate,
if she has a younger sibling, then they'll play together,
won't bug you as much.

highheels,

i stay in yishun. do u feed ur girl daily with water? it would be good to feed her with some barely or gripe or glucose water 2-3 days before u bring her for jab.

my girl sleep also super chor lor.... i thought i am the only one with this problem... haha!

Highheels.. Seems like ur gal and my gal same pattern when still baby stage! She don't like to sleep and drink milk since birth lor! Everyday yanking here and there. Almost gone crazy liao. N so as tanlengleng mentioned it's a passing phrase, I am really hopping she'll be more independent! But... It still have YEARS to talk about!