IVF Mummies

Hi Hui,
How many feeds do you give Jovial? So it's every 2 hours once.I gave 110ml, at times dd also can't finish. From 7 feeds reduce to 6 feeds but still drinking the same. Is this right? Stumbled by / Rae / LY, can you comment??

Not sure if you gals calculate the amount of milk base on weight x 150 to get the overall requirement and divide by the number of feeds.Is it normal for 2.5 months to drink 110ml?

jolene,

i give average every 3 hours. Why is yours every 2 hours ?

i din follow the calculation. if follow, my baby still short of 5 ounces I think...a lot...haha

i din follow instruction on FM too.

Rae/LY

can your bbies sleep thru the night already ?

Jolene,
now Jovial will ask for milk abt 2.5hr to 3hr..also 110ml. i didnt us the calculation also..coz that calcuation Jovial shld drink abt 90 to 100ml..which is not engh for him

gave my DS rice cereals & baby food from Heinz (spell?).... he eats verys fast. if we are too slow, he will make noise... :p

stumbled_by,

polyclinics provide FOC 3-in-1 jabs only.... 4-in-1 and 5-in-1 have to pay, they do not have 6-in-1. mine is 5-in-1 & cost abt S$80+ per jab....

my bb still can't sleep thru the night

hui/jolene,
my DS oso. gave him the ml stated on fm tin, he can't finish it most of the time so we reduced it. had checked with my PD if it's ok if bb drinks lesser but more feed, he said it's fine. so long they drink, if not, got to worry..... anyway, fm not cheap leh, rather give him lesser than gg to waste...

Rae

did u try to ignore him if he wakes up at night ?

actually what is the definition of sleeping thru the night ? If baby sleep early, say 8pm, is it 'fair' that he/she will not wake up thru out the night, but only in the 'morning' at 5-7am ?

Rae,
i make 110ml somtimes he can finish..i oppsite from u i rather make more if he cant finish nvm then he drink not engh later start cranky

Hui,
How many feeds does you gives him? Mine is about 6 feeds base on her weight two weeks ago, 750ml per day, 110ml is not enough but she just can't finish. Hope her weight gain is ok. Will be going for 3rd month injection next saturday. You should be back to work soon right?

Stumbled_by,
sorry, it's every 3 hr once. These days, her last feed is before 9 or sometimes 6 plus and she slept till 3-4am for her next feed. So your daughter sleep from 8pm to 7am?? How to train her. Now we slept in different room, so depend on baby monitor, so sometimes heard her making some noise but it goes away after a while. When i go over, her eyes are shut. So go back sleep again. Can happen a few times. Wonder if she is hungry but din wake her up.

stumbled_by,
yes, will wait for a while & see if he's really awake... sometimes, he will go back to sleep after tt....

hui,
actually, what u did is correct - make more rather than less. but we know his "pattern" so gave him less, also he's eating cereals & bb food so think it's ok. He's 6mths today... so fast

Rae,
That is fast, 6 months old now. Mine will be 3 months next sunday. When did you start with cereal? at 4 or 5 months? You add a little to his milk.

Stumbled by,
My boy will sleep thru out the night, but sometimes, he will make some noise, just need to pat him abit will do. But i remember when he is younger , he sometimes cry in the middle of night, can be very loud, which me & hb take turns to smooth him to sleep.

Jolene,

if correctly, gave him cereal from 4mths+ onwards and yes to his fm. since he din drink much milk so add it to cereal & thankfully, he likes it so can have his milk as well

wow,both Jolene's & hui's babies are or close to 3mths.... very fast indeed
in no time, it will be 1yr old

hui

i am okay. going back to work soon. But it's part time basis.

Everything is quite systematic for DD already, except that I still can't train her not to wake up at night. Perhaps I am asking too much, cos she sleeps at 8pm. is it fair to expect her to sleep from 8pm to 6/7am ? Sometimes she will (up to 5-6am), but on other days she wakes up at 3-4am.

Hi Stumbled by,
Seems like we have the same problem.
My DD also slept early sometimes before 8 or 9pm. Most of the time she woke up at 4-5am. At times she slept till 6 or 7am. But that is only once a week only.

I tried once to give her water only at 4am. But think she is not full and will keep tossing around and making noise, so i ended up giving her milk at 6am and she slept longer.

I will prefer that she take one last feed around 10 plus and hope she slept till next morning.Cos sometimes her last feed is at 730pm and could have one more at 1030 but she dun wake up. I also did not wake her. I hope that her pattern will change and we can enjoy her sleeping thru one day. Still waiting.

Have you started solid??

Jolene,

yalor...sometimes she wakes up at 1-2am even, that will be the 'hardest' for me. i read somewhere that children sleep in interval. Thats why after 6-7 hours, they will wake up. Her last feed is also 7.30pm, that's why thereafter she sleeps. waking up at 10.30pm is not possible or even 'unheard of'.

havent started on solids, though she is 5 months. Plan to start in 3-4 weeks time. Any advice ? Seems 'afraid' to break the current schedule/pattern. Very comfortable with just milk (for me) haha

Stumbled_by,
If she wakes up at 1am, do you give her milk? you can try to feed her water, change her diaper and pat her to sleep. This is to get her used to it. Yesterday night, she wake up at 3am so i gave her water although she is crying, think she is hungry and i pat her and she slept till 530am and this time i give her milk. Now my wish is for her to sleep till 5-6am hee.

You check with your pd if she is ok with solid. Maybe with solid she is more filling and can sleep more. I have friends started solid at 4.5 months with once a day and slowly increase to twice a day at 5 months. You have to break that pattern lah, she is growing and must learn to swallow solid food liao.

I will check with pd during 4 months injection and see when to start as she has colic before. Certain types of cereal can also cause colic problem. It's another challenge again....

jolene,

my girl doesnt really complain(cry) if she is hungry. so there is no way to know if she is hungry at night. sometimes she will wake up and talk to herself. If i try to pat her a while and she can't sleep, i go back to sleep. but at times, she still continues making noise, then i just give some milk (less than usual amount). this is to perhaps, 'force' her to 'talk less' and go to sleep.

i dont really have a regular PD. Only go to PD if she is sick etc (touch wood). So far, only goes polyclinic and they(doc and nurse) all say start solids at 6th months. Thats why I say wait another 3-4 weeks when she turns 6 months then start on solids. Sonmetimes she still regurgitates her milk after feed, like after a long sleep. So i guess she may not be that ready for solid yet..

so when your fren's child have solids twice a day, does it replace other 'milk sessions'- as in still every 3 hours, but some of it consists of solid ?

think i am going to polyclinic to attend talk on solids. So i will be less blur..

Its been a long time 'seeing' you gals here

stumbled_by,
I started my gal on cereal when she's 4 months old... I started out with 1 meal a day for lunch. My girl started out with porridge when she's 6 months old also 1 meal a day until when she's about 7-8 months, it becomes 2 meaks a day. Now she's a healthy 9 months old baby.

hihi ladies,

it's been a while..... seems like we are hv the same issue - how to ensure our babies sleep thru the night.... kekekeke his last feed was around 8+ but will asked for milk 12-1am....then wakes up at 6-7..... but sometimes longer - 7+. We will slowly trying to "drag" his last feed to much later, say 9-10pm, soon... hope it works.

mine still wakes up thou he's coming 7mths
but with start of porridge past 2 days, hopefully there's a change soon.... (fingers-crossed)

Rae

i reduce her night feeds in terms of milk amount. Only give like 90ml, sometimes dilute it too. I heard when teething may wake up too. I am starting work soon hope i wun feel too tired in the day.

care to share how u start on solids ? Similar to blue_rabbit ? Did u use any ready made meals or all is cook and grind painstakingly ?

blue_rabbit,

so u started with 1 meal a day as in near lunch ? Now is lunch and dinner ? Milk still have it every 3 hours ? When u plan to have 3 meals a day ?

stumbled_by,

tink i had shared previously..... :p but my method is different from blue_rabbit. it depends on your bb. for me, it's once per day during 1st week but slowly increased the amount of scopes everyday...... i used the brand Heinz. understand from colleague that her sil used to grind the ingredientss till very fine so when she stopped grinding, her bb refused to eat it cos her bb does not know how to bit, chew & swallow...... my mil used slow cooker so it's still ok, i think

stumbled_by,
Yes, my gal has her semi solid for lunch first, now is porridge for lunch and dinner. Milk in-betw. But my my gal has craving for milk one
If I give her porridge at 12nn, she would need a milk at 1.30 or 2pm. After that will be 2.5-3 hrs later then hv a bowl of porridge. I don't intend to let my gal have 3 meals till she's 1YO.

My son is 8 months tmr. I only started with porridge recently, cos his reflux has not fully recovered. Still vomit when he choke on his food & saliva. Thats y i have no choice but to grind food till very fine.
When he is 6-7 months, he just love rice cereal but these fews day, he quite reject cereal, so end up now he has to take porridge twice a day.

I am very very sad these 2 days.... Hope u gals wont find me telling long stories, but i am really very sad.
I was feeling very gulity & depressed cos I had no choice but to put my beloved doggy to sleep last friday. That feeling just so terrible, that i keep remember the scene that took place at the vet. I had neglected my dog after my son was born. Also has little time to spend with her. When i received news from my mum that she is sick, i went back to see her, her limp body was so thin & weak...when i brought her to the clinic, she is already sub-consious stage.I saw the vet poke her with the jab, & with a cried, she just left us.
Am i doing the right thing? I keep reprimary myself for making that choice. I am really down when i am alone.

blue_rabbit

even if its 3 meals the 3rd meal will be breakfast i guess...keke

Rae,

i attended the polyclinic talk. they said use seive to mash in beginning. Then 7months onwards use hand grinder. 10 months onwards chop or cut into small pieces. Sounds easy, like dont need to invest in much tools :p

LY,

don't be sad. With a baby around, its not easy to have pets around, may cause allergy. u did the right thing by putting her with your mum. Don't blame your mum if she hasnt taken care of the dog well, cos your mum is afterall a 'new owner'. Just like us, not easy to be 1st time mums. Furthermore we have more people to teach us how to be mums..there arent many people to teach (your mum) how to be 'dog -mum'..

blue_rabbit,

my boy loves cereal to bits and very excited & anxious when see the bowl, he knows it's meal time. will make angry sound if we feed too slow ;p

stumbled_by,

yes, my mil will use table spoon to mash up the food. we dun hv hand grinder, does those sell at BP ok? ya, dun need much tools but need lotsa strength.... hehehehe

LY,

dun blame urself or anyone...... being 1st time mum is not easy.... we will tend to neglect certain things and our time management went haywire
just think that ur dog may have gone to a wonderful place
when ur son is older, can get another dog?

hui

see my posts above for updates. I start giving my DD cereals last week - abt 5.5 mth.

ya..when she is 6 months, i will introduce solids full fledge, like with veg and fish. Now only brown rice cereals with vegetables and fruits. And its not a big bowl. Like only two tablespoons.

i read somewhere if introduce solids at 6th month, must 'move faster'. introduce more variety of food faster. but must still wait few days before introducing new food. if u start solids b4 6th month, u can afford to 'take your own sweet time' in trying out new food. Cos by 6th months, they really need extra nutrients already.

Stumbled by, Rae,
I am getting over it as days goes by...but something the thought of her make me sad...

anyone has good idea how to get your little precious to sleep at night instead of daytime? Mine stayed awake at night and I am very stressed by it as lack of sleep. By the way, he is colicky too... any way to help soothe the problem for my little precious? Thanks for any advice!

Hi Jeni,
I have the same problem as well. From 2nd month after my confinement lady left and last for 1 month. Is your ds on formula or bm? Have to burp him after each meal. This is due to gas bubbles trap in their tummy. If on formula what brand? try to change to nan ha. At the same time, get medication from your pd. During than tried ridwind but dun seem to get better. Was given Reutefene drop, it's probiotic.Cost $30 for one month of supply, but not sure if this actually helps. During than she can't sleep much in the day as well, so night also never sleep much. It's really tiring. The most important cow's milk can't digest so easily and their body system takes time to adjuste. All this really takes a while. Thinking back is really too stressful. Does he cry a lot at night? Mine cried lot. Than when i succeeded in patting her in my arms, once i let her down, she awake shortly and all this goes on and on...So can imagine how frustrated we are. Are you looking after him alone? How many months now? My girl is better about 3 months, just a few days before i return to work. Now, she can sleep longer and thru out. Very glad. Over time, he will be better. Just need to endure during this period.

Hi Hui,
I intend to give around 4.5 to 5 months. I heard that some bb can take it at 4months and have friends whose bb take at 4 month and gives a little colic problem, think may not digest well. I guess 6 months is really the safest time. How heavy is Jovial now and how much milk he taking now? Just went for injection yesterday, Cherlyn is now 5.8 kg at 4months.

Hi Jolene,
thanks for your reply. My little precious is drinking Nan 1 plus S26 and I think the latter is causing discomfort as he is colicky... I am not sure but definately frustrated. Like now, he cannot be pacified and although he is hungry, he can't stomach his milk. He is upset and refused to rest... I am so tired and my hand is so sore. My hubby who is working quite hard, is too tired to help out much although he tried his best to help. As for my mum, she can help me in the daytime but at night, I am all by myself and I really dread it!!

Hi Jeni,
My girl is also on S26 since birth, after seeing PD we change to Nan 1. Should be getting better with Nan 1 plus some medication. Did you get any medicine? Think S26 is too oily and can't digest well. Try talking to him to be good. Can understand your feeling, cos during that time, how i wish i can carry her to sleep. Even thought of getting baby carrier and sleep while carrying her. Really crazy thoughts. Lucky never do that. How long has this been going? Will get better soon.

Jolene,
you know what? My mom suggested the carrier thingy to me just now too! However, I really don't want to resort to that as he is a boy and I don't want him to be too sticky, especially when I will have to go back to work in about 1 month's time.
This has been going on for a few weeks and I am not only tired but really concerned about my little precious' health... haiz...
Why can't you carry her at that time? Is it because of c-section wound?

Jeni,
Cos, It's at night and i am so sleepy and tire. How i wish can carry her to sleep hee. You talk to him , tell him to be good. Am sure will be better soon.
Your mum also say that, that is the last resort that i will do but frankly speaking at this stage their bones is really too soft and it's not advisable to use that.

Did you try "fat zhai shui" , it might help.

I also worry as she day time also dun sleep and night also like that. But this is a common problem and so long as they are alert during the day time, should be no worry. Relax.

Hi Stumbled by
How is your girl doing?? On cereal now and how many times a day. Tot of starting cereal next weekend. Just try for one time if she like the taste. It's good to attend talk. Do you know if Polyclinic will have another talk on this? Will be interesting to attend. Really need to learn how to prepare.

Rae,
How are you.Your boy boy now seven months, started porridge or still on cereal.

Stumble by / Rae / Hui,
Do you put your darling in bb cot or on bed? She is always moving around and bb cot is really too small for her to move around. Sometimes can shift 360 degrees.

Do you exercise their neck by putting on stomach and let them raise their head? PD says by now should be able but she still cant cos we never exercise her. She is also very naughty, whenever we do that, she will cried and make a fuss haiz.

hi everyone! Suddenly so many post..

Stumbled by,
guess will start 6mths

Re- Colic,
Jovial get colic when he's 2mth+..it will go away when bb is 3-4mth old..dun wori.. What i do is put ru yi you then keep burping him..I change alot alot milk powder for him but in the end still stick to similac.

Jolene,
i put Jovial in cot, he will turn but i alwaz shift him back

jolene,

u can ask your polyclinic if they hold such talks. better ask during your jab session. THe one I went belongs to Singhealth polys. they have.

she is on solids once a day. At times also give fruits (apple) in between meals. tried twice a day solids but she doesnt seem to take it that well. even solid once a day can be a challenge. esp now my mum prepares food on weekdays and i do it on weekends. The consistency and taste of cereal maybe different. And how we mash the food..We put fish and veg too. but she doesnt really like to eat solids..but her milk intake seems to drop too

my girl sleeps in cot and hammock. Ya...she will turn (and lie on her stomach, head lift up) in cot, and move up and down in cot. Luckily got bb bumper, else sure kenna bumps on head :p i exercise her on tummy after she 'fails' the test at 3rd month. initially she also doesnt like it, esp when her neck not that strong. Slowly she will get the hang of it. now she turn and lie on her stomach very often. Even at nights (middle of night)

My bb doesnt like to sleep once she wakes up at night. Any pointers ? she can take up to 1.5 hours then fall asleep, after milk. I didnt give her a lot of milk cos she cant finish too.

~impatient mum~

Hi stumbled by,
I played music for my boy while he was having his feed to solve that problem. Now, I just need to rock him when he wakes up for his feeds to get him to sleep...

All the mummies,
does your baby sleep on you? I mean literally sleeping on you, like a koala bear... my boy seemed to like that a lot and sleeps longer that way...am I cultivating bad habit?

jeni

seems to be cultivating a bad habit, cos as your bb gets heavier, hard to rock him to sleep. I am experiencing this problem now. My bb is nearing to 8Kg. how longer can I rock her without hurting my back ?

Play music in the middle of the night ?? Hmmm....mine wakes up like 3am.